Senator Darcy Boyce (l) Opposition Leader Owen Arthur (r)

It has become patently obvious to the BU household that politicians in Barbados are members of a fraternity who will defend their โ€˜clubโ€™ even at the expense of the national interest. The two political parties have been latched on to a good thing for the last 30 years. Each party gets a chance to enjoy the โ€˜sweetsโ€™ compliments of the taxpayers.

The Barbados Labour Party (BLP) promised to introduce integrity legislation in 1976, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) opposed it. The Democratic Labour Party promised integrity legislation in 100 days of assuming office in 2008, it is now over 1000 days and counting. The legislation reached the lower house as it did in 1976 to be relegated to a sub committee of parliament. It would be an optimistic sort who would expect the legislation to rear its head for the balance of the governmentโ€™s term.

Where the collusion of the BLP and DLP can be seen โ€“ whether by accident or design –ย  is in the loud silence the opposition party has been able to manage on the matter of integrity legislation. It seems a no-brainer that a party which was accused of massive corruption at every turn leading up to the last general election would have held the feet of the government to the fire regarding the promise to proclaim integrity legislation in Barbados to sanitize its reputation.

Related Links:

The revelation that Opposition Leader Owen Arthur will resurrect the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) next week demonstrates how the political parties making mock sport at the people. The purpose of the PAC under our system of government is honourable but it is one working committee which has always been used by both parties to achieve political outcomes rather than to expose malfeasance in the public sector.

Owen Arthur intends, we are told, to use the power of the PAC to investigate governmentโ€™s decision to unnecessarily had over hand over tens of millions of dollars to pay for a redesign of the Barbados marina project. What is interesting is that Senator Darcy Boyce, a principal actor in the investigation served as CEO of the Barbados Tourism Investmentย  Inc. under an Arthur administration. Another actor is Gline Bannister of SMI Infrastructure Solutions who coincidentally worked with VECO to build the prison. VECO also successfully tendered on the Pierhead Project but the process had to be redone when the news broke about corruption by VECO. The insistence by Arthur to force the issue to PAC suggests there is somethingย  more than meets the eye. Time will tell if the sitting of the PAC will be another hot air episode.

BU is thinking this is a political tactic by Arthur to build momentum easing into an election period byย  winning the corruption argument. He can only achieve this objective by politically hurting a member of the club.

1. The tender for the Pierhead marina was never redone, that’s the first thing. VECO went out of business however that was an irrelevant fact given that BTI consultants confirmed that VECO’s bid was not compliant.

The only compliant bid for the Pierhead Marina was Lagan. When Halcrow confirmed this in their tender report was when the then CEO dreamed up the scheme to allege that Halcrow design contained faults so as to sideline them and their professional opinion.

If only DT and the 40 thieves could have listen to and accepted what the 4 loyal DLP members of the board of the BTI (Chairman Thorne, deputy Prescott, Bernstein and Headley) were saying, all of this and it’s most certain outcome could have been avoided.

DB is facing two outcomes or one option alone, the speed of which will surprise even the most experienced DLP supported

Outcome 1 – PAC finds improper conduct and reports to Parliament calling for a commission of enquiry against a Minister.

Outcome 2 – The Stuart administration seeing the seriousness of this matter decides to bundle the whole entire thing on DB’s back and cuts him to the wind.

Option 1 – DB resigns on the grounds of illness or some such nebulous reason and relocates to somewhere where he is out of the reach of OSA.

2. WHEN will we fire the central bank governor ?
    WHEN will we fire Freundel Stuart ?
    WHEN will we fire ***Arni Walters*** ?
    WHEN will we fire the DLP for not making Chris Sinckler the Prime Minister of Barbados???
    IS there some kind of BIAS against Chris or some Chris Sinckler plan, code-named “The Stop Chris Sinckler Plan ??”
    ISNT it shame that Chris has to languish while Freundel appears to be a surrogate Prime Minister who people had to beg to ‘say ‘sain’ (something}—TALK !

JUST ASKING

3. I smell a vendetta wafting through the precincts of the Opposition Office. But nevertheless if they got the goods on Darcy let ’em rip I say. He is the man in the background that advised Thompy on his first Budget and got we all in this mess now. I don’t feel fuh he at all, atall, atall.

4. The DLP and the BLP most certainly are comfortable with the way things are but David you are forgetting another piece of the puzzle that is also comfortable with the way things are, after all they all seek support from the same puppeteers … The Mainstream Media … the official public relations consultants for the status quo ..! The ellis’s and babbs and branfords …

5. Arthur's Witch-hunt and Politics of Spite: Premieres on October 17th! Avatar
    Arthur’s Witch-hunt and Politics of Spite: Premieres on October 17th!

Usually in Barbadian politics, you have to tell lies on your political opponent in order to get something to stick. Not so with Owen Arthur: you just have to tell the truth about him. “Owen Arthur is “A MAN OF DEALS,” and the timely events now unfolding in Jamaica give Barbadians the opportunity to contrast a man giving-up power with one who craves it like air or water.

Around this time last year, this country saw the sorry spectacle of a feeble old-man, leaving his wife’s bed in the dead-of-the-night and heading to Prior Park, to meet with a group of men to sign a “DEAL,” through which he would become: Opposition Leader and Political Leader of the BLP.

Arthur’s power-grab was a direct response to the sad news that our beloved leader, Prime Minister Thompson became the victim of a treacherous illness that had slowed his resonance and mobility. But before Arthurโ€™s mocked-concern for the Barbados economy, he, along with his “Man-Friday – Mr. Hardwood” and Mr. Spitty the Barker – were busy travelling the region, making money working for regional Governments.

Then the “Prior Park Accord” was signed. It was a โ€˜DEALโ€™ by which Arthur became leader of the BLP and through which George Payne is to become Minister of Housing so he can pay Al Barrack and become a multi-millionaire in the first week of any BLP victory, as his reward for elevation Arthur. Barbadians will always remember that it was on October 18th, 2011 when ‘Arthur and his gang of 5,’ ousted the then Leader of the Opposition. The reason given by the ‘gang of 5′ was that they stand a better chance of winning the government with Owen Arthur as their leader.

But, almost a year after ousting its former leader – yet no closer to the finish line, panic has stepped in. Under pressure, Owen Arthur had to do something to remain relevant. He also needs a distraction tactic to gain newspaper headlines because the one he ousted is daily-news and is growing in popularity, island wide. Owen Arthur turns to the Public Accounts Committee and initiates a witch-hunt on his pal Darcy Boyce, who he believes, crossed him.

But middle-ground Barbadians, who are neither B nor D, are wondering how Owen Arthur could be presiding over a matter in which he has a personal interest. Many also feel that if the country is going to amuse Owen Arthur with his witch-hunt schedule to commence on October 17th, 2011 (the day before the anniversary date on which he made a DEAL to remove the former Opposition Leader) he should first be required to swear an oath before a Judge – that neither he nor the BLP accepted campaign financing from British company “LAGAN” or any company to which the original contract was offered (while he was Prime Minister) to construct the Pierhead Project.

But Arthur’s desperation to get back at his long-time pals Darcy Boyce and Bannister, may have opened the door for JAWS (his man-Friday, Mr. Hardwood) and also Hallam Nicholls (his long-time bag-man) to be also summoned to give evidence. What middle-of-the-road Barbadians, who are neither B nor D, also do not understand, is why should Owen Arthur, who is turning a blind-eye to wrong-doings within the BLP (despite numerous reports about election rigging and voter-list- padding) now have the temerity to be pointing an accusing finger at anybody. Is this a distraction tactic to take the spot-light off the corruption within the BLP and try to pin it on Government? A year later and yet Arthur is not connecting! Young people do not buy the nonsense that he alone can manage the economy and he is therefore in trouble, with his approval ratings slipping fast.

It is clear that Owen Arthur is willing to go to any length in order to become Prime Minister and to put his DEALS back on course? That is why he is starting with the Auditor General’ Report for 2009 and not 2008. That is why he is selectively using the Public Accounts Committee – not to probe the ABC highway or “HARDWOOD,” but to go after an issue in which he has a personal interest as well as an interest of the outcome. He wants to downplay the corruption in his own party. Even if there are things in Barbadian politics that need to be cleaned-up, how can it fall to the very man who put $75,000 intend for the BLP as campaign contributions, into his personal bank account โ€“ to be the one pushing the mop, when he should be in the bucket?

Calling Minister Sinckler (who is clean) to give evidence – is nothing more than a desperate attempt by Owen Arthur to try to discredit and pin smut on him, in circumstances where Sinckler is now cleaning-up a lot of the horrible mess, made or left by Owen Arthur.

6. Arthur’s Witch-hunt and Politics of Spite: Premieres on October 17th! | October 13, 2011 at 4:04 AM |
    This clearly shows that OSA is relevant.

7. In the recent budget debate when Arthur clearly made an attempt to distance himself from VECO gave insight that there is some murky occurrence which happened with the marina transaction.

BAFBFP you are correct to suggest that there is a comfort level with traditional media with the status quo although to be honest it seems Ellis has been making a greater effort in recent weeks.

8. This PAC probe as contains an additional nugget for OSA, the records will show that Cabinet in 2007 put MAM in charge of the Pierhead development along with Boyce and Lynch.

We shall see who knew what and when.

9. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ Health & King;

โ€œDB is facing two outcomes or one option alone, the speed of which will surprise even the most experienced DLP supportersโ€

The man to make the decision (bell the cat) on DBโ€™s dumping/future is a known prevaricator and vacillator. He has to be faced with gun to his head (in political imagery, of course) before serious is action. His track record on issues over the last 18 months is indicative of this wordsmithโ€™s modus operandi.

But then again, a delaying tactic, similar to filibustering, can be employed by the DLP representatives on the PAC. Regular postponement, no shows, feigned sickness, other commitments, packed diaries, etc are possible tactics that can be used to stall and frustrate the process until the next general elections are called. The man in the PAC is not a lawyer and could be outfoxed by those trained in the art of delay and time wasting as practice daily in our legal system.

What say, you H&K?

10. To The DLP operatives:
    Was it alright when Sandi gave, allowed and ensured that the St. Joseph Hospital inquiry was done to take out Brandford Taitt. What Owen and his PAC needs to do is to look at Clico, if he has the gumption, Coverley and all the other projects where ministers are turn the sod but no work is being done after that: St. Lucy and Deacons Road. Owen needs to do a PAC on the governor of the central bank, whose interest does he have at heart, political, national or self. Then Owen needs to look to see what deals MIA did with Lime and the Electric company; things that are directly impacting on people’s ability to live and feed their children, if he has the gumption.

11. David BU

You know Ellis was well aware of the Wall Street demonstrations by the facebook posse last week. I know because I heard him mention it in his role as moderator of the call in program. That was all that he did. He made it seem that the media houses were being used by interests that were bent on shaping the image of events … and so on. But again there was no formal attempt, as Director of News to make it an item in the formal news delivery … So you see he cannot claim ignorance. This event was as big as any thing that took place in the Middle East and it was ignored by Ellis and company who made the slip by admitting that he knew what was happening. Why should I find a reason to applaud this guy … !? Seriously ..!?

12. you guys been to google’s home page today? St. vincent got to be benifiting big time from that

13. @BAFBFP

Give the devil his jacket neh?

The Occupy Wall Street movement continues:

http://english.aljazeera.net/news/americas/2011/10/20111011175111944299.html

Sugar Factory Smoke Control Board
    4.27 The Revenue and Expenditure Accounts of the Sugar Factory Smoke
    Control Board for the years ended 31st December 2001 to 2010 have not
    been submitted in accordance with Section 3 (11) of the Registered Sugar
    Factories Smoke Control Act, Cap. 355. The audit of these accounts
    therefore remains outstanding

http://bao.gov.bb/themes/marinelli/files/Auditor%20General%20Report%202010.pdf – page 64

While we may try to understand the issues which prevent the NIS from getting audited financials what on earth would prevent the Sugar Factory Smoke Control Board from complying with the law?

14. How credible would a call by the Bees for Integrity legislation be if they are accused of corruption to the magnitude engineered by DLP and the media especially call-in programmes ably assisted by moderators? You ain serious.

A check needs to be made but the Public Accounts committee can only deal with issues pertaining to the spending of gov’ts money. It may not refer to a disagreement in how to spend but whether the spend meets the standard set for compliance with regulations on spending. Matters like Clico, do not fall within this rubic. Why would he investigate himself to do ABC and Hardwood, that was Thompson’s job. But a PAC investigation could not face scrutiny so non-investigation allows the impressions to remain rather than putting out the truth. Yuh think. All matters are good for the platform , so I am looking forward.

15. @Bajan Truth

How credible would a call by the Bees for Integrity legislation be if they are accused of corruption to the magnitude engineered by DLP and the media especially call-in programmes ably assisted by moderators? You ain serious.

If your party was accused while in government of corruption to the point where many feel it played a significant part in the stumble at the last polls would you not want to join the people in calling for a system which would help to address accusations?

What track record does the PAC have of resolving any issues of public corruption?

You are clearly showing your strips and proclivity to protect the Club.

More of the same is to be expected from the government in waiting. Don’t you people see that the people are restless?

16. @ David

DT broke convention when he exposed OSA is a very public and most cruel (by political standards) manner in the last elections, Haggatt Hall did not cause the BLP to lose the election, the fact was the people were tired and wanted change. What Haggatt Hall did do though is –

1. Damage OSA reputation and legacy.

2. Remove the accepted rules and limits on the party in opposition.

The BLP and more specifically OSA I suspect is quite comfortable with new order and intends to make the most of it so as to return to Government and puts some licks in DB and hopefully some other elected Minister who might have been caught in the mess.

17. Just my Opinion Avatar

I can’t figure out why people are calling for Chris Sinckler to be PM. He is politically and economically green. No one denies that the global situation has had a great impact on our economy but how will this country attempt to minimize the impact here? Certainly not by crippling the economy and burdening the small group of existing tax-payers and eliminating disposable income. Not by jeopardizing the pensions of the elderly and future pensions. After putting people out of work where are the programs which will help them to become entrepreneurs? Why not instead of curtailing spending altogether influence how people spend by introducing tariffs and penalties in particular areas. You want people to spend but not unwisely. We import too much but are not receiving as much foreign exchange from the tourism sector. Tourists spend quite a bit in airfare to come here and have to contend with high food and accommodation prices due to higher VAT and fuel prices. In the tourist sector we compete on a global scale. How can we make Barbados attractive enough cost-wise to the tourists who will come and spend money? Everyone is working with a reduced budget not only Bajans (billionaires are now millionaires etc in other countries). As much as the global environment affects us we also need to be sensitive to the global environment. We cannot continue to cripple a nation. Sinckler’s method is to milk and milk until there is nothing left. There is no common sense in this way of thinking.

18. @Just my opinion

‘ Why not instead of curtailing spending altogether influence how people spend by introducing tariffs and penalties in particular areas. ‘

How can we achieve this given our obligations under the various signatories?

19. Wunna betta spen more money pun law an orda. Uh see Irene get attack an rob in warrens las nite.

20. KOAA-(KISS OWEN ARTHUR ASSHOLE) Avatar
    KOAA-(KISS OWEN ARTHUR ASSHOLE)

Owen Arthur is the best man to be Prime Minister right now

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Hahahahaha,

This is the best joke I have heard all year. I wonder if “seethru” has any more jokes like this one.

22. @ CCC

What will become is DB?

Also, if DB is pulled out of the nest or falls out of the nest or pushed out of the nest, who will feed the chicks?

Pulled out of the nest ______%
    Falls out of the nest ______ %
    Pushed out of the nest ______ %

23. Owen Arthur's Witch-hunt: But Why Doesn't he Clean-up the BLP First Avatar
    Owen Arthur’s Witch-hunt: But Why Doesn’t he Clean-up the BLP First

In an earlier article entitled: ‘Pre-determined Outcome – A Party of Deals,’ I made the point that ‘if you thought last year’s Annual Conference (2010) was the most rowdy and disorganised in the BLP’s 73 year history – then this year’s promises to be the most pre-determined. I added that it will be a political non-event and went on the say that ‘those attending should not expect any buzz or excitement.’

Nothing has changed and many are still saying that the BLP’s 2011 Conference should really be cancelled, especially since there will be nothing new to report: The BLP does not even have a full slate of candidates; the promised public meetings are yet to get off the ground (despite that party having launched its general election campaign five months ago now; the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) never met and even though the BLP alleges that: “Bees Ready,” that party does not even have a functioning Shadow Cabinet.

Owen Arthur is old; tired; has not new ideas and really did not remember any of this. In the recent budget, the DLP (through Minister Sealy) reminded the country that the Public Accounts Committee (under Owen Arthur) is yet to meet. Pressured by these facts; running out of time and driven by his own witch-hunt agenda, Owen Arthur has hurriedly arranged a meeting of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) to throw red-meat to the base of his party (as a distraction tactic) but more so because up to this point โ€“ he has nothing to report at his party’s up-coming annual conference. Arthur is simply being blinded by Mia Mottleyโ€™s glow and is therefore desperate and dangerous. While he is engaging in political trivia and irrelevance and pulling silly political stunts, Mia is doing remarkable things for the people, while coming-up with innovative ideas, effortlessly.

The Nation newspaper (now functioning as an executive arm of the BLP) on Sunday (October 2nd 2011) announced that Arthur has selected the Pierhead Project for a probe by the PAC, which he chairs. The question is: should Arthur be allowed to use people’s time and a State entity, to go after people (Bannister & Darcy Boyce) long-time friends and some to whom he has given lucrative government contracts, like the prison and a sweet-heart; multi-million deal to construct an oil storage facility and the Coast Guard facility? Shouldn’t Arthur be the one being investigated?

Barbadians have not made the error yet and made this man Prime Minister and already he is hunting people whom he believes, have crossed him. In this personal vendetta and one-man-loverโ€™s-quarrel and under the guise of acting in the public’s interest – Arthur is expected to abuse his power as Chairman of the PAC and summon people like Darcy Boyce, Lawrence Bannister; the present Minister of Finance and others, to give evidence and seek to embarrass then.

Why should such a ‘kangaroo courtโ€™ be permitted? Is such a personal vendetta and witch-hunt, using the State apparatus, ethical? Why no inquiry into “hardwood,” or “JAWS?” Why no inquiry into the serious concerns expressed by Rawle Eastmond in 2010 about voter padding and why not a word from him about electoral fraud within the BLP? I feel that somebody should really file an injunction preventing this sort of โ€˜distraction tactic and political stuntโ€ Owen Arthur is attempting to pull, as regards the Pierhead project announcement.

Because, as Political Leader of the BLP, who is turning blind-eye to corruption – Owen Arthur has no moral or ethical authority to call no probe into the Pierhead or anything else. Why is there no probe whether he used the office of Prime Minister to raise funds for his wedding or to pay for his divorce? We are talking about a man who made a deal to be Leader of the Opposition and Political leader of the BLP, yah know! He who is seeking equity should come with clean hands – CLEAN-UP THE BLP FIRST!

Owen Arthur does not realise that government contracts are not his to give, neither should they be given by him with the specific intention to buy permanent affection, worship and social-class acceptance. Why is he so angry that the country is moving forward and people are making it without him, as Bannister and Boyce are showing him? Arthur cannot deal with that! Secondly, using the PAC to investigate the Pierhead Project is an admission that Arthur already knows that he cannot win the next election for the BLP. He is therefore hunting people “NOW” when he is Opposition Leader and Chairman of the PAC but above all – is struggling to get media headlines to close the gap a young; energetic and creative Mia Mottley, continues to wade on him!

24. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Owen
    Is this a case of the pot calling the kettle black or something like that?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Ali Baba of Ali Baba and the forty thieves, looking to find “Malfeasance”.

“Seethru” Owen you are cracking me up!

26. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CCC:
    That man OSA really got your goat! Leave your bogeyman OSA alone!

The man is burnt out (a shadow of his former self) and is only a wind up doll.

What you should be concerned about is Barbadosโ€™ headlong journey to the door of the IMF.
    In a matter of 6 to 8 months your man CS will be at the door with bowl in hand.

Will you continue to live in the past and blame OSA for everything taken place in the previous 4 years?

You too are starting to emulate your scapegoat man; living in the past and unable to see the freight train approaching us.

It seems that your boys donโ€™t have the balls and guts to make those inevitable drastic decisions required for the refashioning of this old style economy. All we are hearing are snippets from the inner circle about poor productivity (RJ on long hours but little to show- sounds like the cabinet and the talk house); keeping people on the public payroll but no work for them to do; loads of hot air about alternative energy and a green economy but still supporting the construction of housing projects that are no more than hot houses (concrete ovens) that will make occupiers very ill.

But ending up in the hands of the IMF might be a blessing in disguise. It would allow the political puppets to place the blame on the puppeteers for the economic and financial adjustments that will ensue.

That is why your boys will be calling an early general elections before May 2012.
    You donโ€™t have to worry about OSA. He knows what is in store and donโ€™t want his reputation as a conjurer economist compromised or exposed in any way. He will not be back in these stressful and politically suicidal times that CS will soon be up against; and FS staying in the background clueless as to what is going on at the economic front

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“That is why your boys will be calling an early general elections before May 2012.”

Don’t fool yourself and others along with you.

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You all were calling elections from Feb 2008.

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You BLP people don’t ever learn.

This predicting of elections is what have the BLP in turmoil right now.
    I hope you remember.
    Your boy “white rum” some how got wind of the imminent demise David Thompson.
    He hastily called meetings in the middle of the night with, of all people, George Pain, planned the palace coup to overthrow THE HON MIA AMOR MOTTLEY. Then the BLP Parliamentary group “jucked” their big knives into the back MIA AND AS THEY SAY THE REST IS HISTORY.

Not a pleasent day has the BLP seen since that treachery.

And you still with this predicting elections foolishness.

As I have said many times on this blog, it takes a special breed of person to be a BLP member or supporter.

30. The perennial focus on political personalities continues while the systemic issues remain unresolved.

31. @Miller

our dollar was not devalued in the early 1990’s and the IMF did not control us, we resisted the medicine the imf wanted to impse and as a consequence other countries emulated the tripartite approach to managing the economy and thus deveoloped the courage to stand up to the imf.

What say you?

32. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ CCC:

LET ME SAY IT LOUD & CLEAR TO YOU: I AM NOT, NOT A BLP OPERATIVE! YOU GET IT?
    Don’t bring your yardfolwism around me! I am not picking at your corn or roaches.

I ask you about the pending visit to the international loan sharks and bailiffs and you referring to stupid domestic quarrels that your party has crafted to an art form, or have you got short memory?

How are your boys (not OSA or MAM) are going to deal with it whether before or after elections, which ever comes first? O are you planning to declare a state of emergency and suspend the peopleโ€™s democratic right to choose whom they want to govern them?

33. Obediant

The current economic challenge has been like none other, four years! Therefore to compare to the 90s period is like comparing Lendel Simmons to Gordon Greenidge.

34. Irene Garner jus’ discover a new way to get mileage … and lemme tell yah, she milkin’ um …!

35. Vote Irene fah PM

36. silly season never ended since last elections

37. After the convention of the Pappyshow And Circus comes another expensive exercise in futility called a Commission Of Inquiry,that Barbados can least afford at this time.To whom do we ascribe blame this time around?Look no further than the man in the mirror. How is it that a people who boasts of supreme intelligence gets duped time and again by public servants?Rain or shine we flocked to Spring Garden and now The Oval for the cause we believe in.When will we make accountability and Integrity for those in whom we repose our trust the cause?The Mighty Sparrow once sang “Teck ya steelbeam and go(we like it so)and one gets the sense that sentiment resonates in Bim these days.The sound of silence sung by the Blowhards And Jokers that make up B A J sets the tone for the Pappyshow where the man that led the most corrupt administration in Barbados’s history now calls for an investigation.Here it is folks, Sandflies Small,Buddy Brathwaite,Barry Jack and Woggy are being guarded by Doctor Rat, and bajans aint saying a damm word. Know why? We like it so.

38. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ obediant:

But Bajans will not forget the bitter medicine that was prescribed by the IMF doctors in return for keeping the dollar tied to the greenback. There is more than one way to skin a cat. The party that administered the bitter medicine paid the ultimate electoral price; leaving the Barrow legacy in controversy for many years while the pretenders to the political throne fought one another for the crumbs while the entire realm looked on and laugh at the comedy.

However, this time around a number of factors militate against your knights in dirty armour. The scenes might be reminiscent of an earlier version of the play (King dies on the throne and, as fate would have it, replaced by an unpopular duke who is constantly undermined by another duke who is in control of the countryโ€™s purse strings. The King is dead, long live the King for his final stab in the back to his pseudo deputy by putting a neophyte and novice to the world of high finance and economics to belittle (outshine) the man at the official helm of state.

This time around the patient has colon cancer and is in need of radical surgery, not a dose of bitter medicine. The cancer manifested itself whilst the patient under the care of the previous doctor. But to keep his reputation the previous doctor saw the early signs of the malignant growth but avoided telling the patient the stark truth and continued prescribing placebos.

The patient is showing all the classic signs of colonic malfunctioning. What is this doctor going to recommend? Palliatives until the patient collapses or refer it to the overseas senior physician specialist at the IMF (Internal Medicine Fraternity)?

39. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ HAMILTON HILL:
    “Here it is folks, Sandflies Small,Buddy Brathwaite,Barry Jack and Woggy are being guarded by Doctor Rat, and bajans aint saying a damm word. Know why? We like it so.”

But there was one guy who was the smartest of them all. Mark Young! I am sure that if he were alive today, he would make an excellent Chairman of the PAC. He knew the criminals both on the Inside and on the Outside; in High places (palaces) and in Low places (the block). If Mark were in the Chair, mark my words (no pun intended) DB would have to come with 10 % of the $40 mill to get Mark to spring the door to let him out of jail. “Who will guard the guards”!

40. DAVID

Your point needs review or rewrite for I fail to see the point.. I know who I will vote for, but I am neither stupid , blindly partisan nor do I believe in self mutilation. From a PR prospective how would a group accused of corruption, ask for integrity legislation. Such a brilliant job done by Dems on the Bees, and they did not have senes enough to take out ads and put their position, giving us nothing to hold on to. People failed to think and ask questions, ask for evidence so it was swallowed hook line and sinker. How would they even hear them. It does not make sense. Think it over.

41. SO Owen is a man who burnt out (a shadow of his former self) and is only a wind up doll ???
    DIDN’T someone say that Owen Arthur had passed his sell by date ???
    WHY dont you all people stop this nonsense nuh ?
    SO age is now a problem and people are being label led ??

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

He being the PAC chairman is like Al Capone being a Bank Manager.

43. As our country dangles at the edge of the precipice we look down upon our southern neighbours T&T who have already fallen,yet we choose not to take heed from their mistakes.Their journalists,the watch dogs of society took bribes,and politics took precedence over good governance and the rest is history.In Barbados if you want the true perspective of a mainstream journalist the social media is the place to look,and through the grape vine the moniker used can be deciphered.The climate of fear that ran them there took root under Owen Seymour Arthur once he decided that the annihilation of the Democratic Labour Party was the best thing for Barbados.When the Labour Party went into the “spread the wealth”mode we saw where small contractors shot up all over the place faster than duppy parasols.Three of them were journalists,whose sudden silence suggested quid pro quo.There are others not of a similar faith,who found safe haven in a moniker on the scene of the social network.Barbados may yet fall further than T& T.

44. To Obediant:
    You are really OBEDIENT to your party. Where do you get this dlp warm soup called history from. The IMF short sleeves white shirts were camping out at Bay street under the sandi administration. All that sandi did was prescribed by them. Which DLP hole were you residing under during this phase of history. They left around 1996. And they are back again under the dlp again. Can I now speculate as to whether this is a coincidence or not, or is it a rule of thumb for the dlp. Yes, under Tom they were here but not camped out in offices at bay street. Owen used the cutusab/ social partnership as a tool, but every one knows it is and will continue to a pappy show. It was no great accomplishment for the working class in barbados. The hand to mout politicians that we have got to go to more white people parties.

45. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@Just Asking;
    IT’S NOT A MATTER OF AGE!
    ITโ€™S A MATTER OF CAPACITY!!
    Been there, done that, wears the T-shirt, you know where I am coming from?

OSA had his moments in the Sun and shone brightly. So bright that we will never forget. โ€œThere is a time in the affairs of men which, when taken at the flood, leads on to fortune (greatness)โ€.
    But there also a time when a man has to accept his limitations and understand he is not Godโ€™s gift to any people. Man will survive with or without an individualโ€™s outstanding contribution.

Many athletes retire at the stage when they feel they no longer have the โ€˜capacity/ability to compete successfully, that is be No.1 in their particular sport. Some retire or are forced to call it a day but make the mistake of returning only to be humiliated.

We donโ€™t want that for our don, do we? Let the man keep his reputation in tact; take care of his health and be the elder statesman, advising the younger brigade in the art of political intrigue.

46. HOW old were some of the best leaders of the past when they led?
    WHY dont you check their ages and see that your argument is null and void ?????

47. millertheanunnaki Avatar

@ JUSK ASKING;

I keep telling you it’s not a matter of chronological age; of course up to point. it’s a matter of capacity, gas in the tank!
    Ronald Reagan was a man past 60; I think 65, or thereabout, when he became President of the USA. But he did not go past 8 years in office.

You are hearing it from an oldster, young fellow!

48. It amazes me that I am required to register to become a voter. This is just to put an X on a piece of paper. But a political party could nominate individuals to represent people like me and gain control over the country’s biggest purse and I am not to insist that that entity also be registered as a legal construct of some kind?

49. @BAFBFP

Why don’t you do some research to see if there is precedent to support your position?

50. BAFBFP wrote “Irene Garner jusโ€™ discover a new way to get mileage”

I hope your white chick will be motivated by Irene’s story and seek to protect herself from the young cowardly thugs who rob women.

Yuh can tell yuh black cropover chick to be careful too.