Dr. Esther Byer-Suckoo, Minister of Labour and Social Security

The U.S. Department of the Treasury will pay all federal benefit and non-tax payments electronically. Benefit recipients can choose to receive their payments by direct deposit to a bank or credit union account or to a Direct Express® Debit MasterCard® card account. You must make the switch from paper federal benefit checks to electronic payments by March 1, 2013. Learn more or sign up now.

Source: www.godirect.org

The decision by the National Insurance Scheme (NIS) to retreat from distributing pensions to bank accounts only is the correct one. To inflict such hardship on our most senior of senior citizens reflects a level of uncouthness and inconsideration by those responsible. BU surmises that if Director of the NIS Ian Carrington recommended the change in policy, the Board headed by retired banker Tony Marshall – who reports to Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo – should have blocked the idiotic proposal. It has the smell of Tony Marshall, who possibly rammed it down Minister Suckoo’s throat. Whether it occurred as described or not, it demonstrates weak leadership on the part of the government and in particular Dr. Byer-Suckoo.

Did the NIS complete a benefit analysis which measured not only the financial impact but social as well? Barbados is a small island which is partly defined by its personable makeup. Would it not have made more sense to run a campaign to encourage pensioners with bank accounts who are receiving cheques to switch? Such an approach would have tested the appetite of the pensioners for making the change, sensitize pensioners to how NIS principals are thinking and intelligently inform the right decision. It is ironic that in the most impersonal of countries, the USA, the same same move is currently being processed but on a phased basis.

Why would a government about to enter general election mode try to rollout such a disruptive policy? Is our government so out of tune with the reality of the situation? Are they so driven by the economics of the decision that every other consideration becomes inconsequential? It challenges the perception that the DLP is more easily persuaded to implement more social programs compared to the BLP.

It is scary to contemplate that these are the people we are making decisions everyday which will impact our lives and those of our children now and the future.

1. @David

Trained Economist is confirming the costs beyond the mailing of cheques that applies to processing and delivering them to pensioners. It should be the goal to get the payments into the hands of the beneficiaries as quickly and efficiently as possible and direct deposit should be the target. I will repeat we should all be interested in efficient delivery of Gov’t services.

If the Board and the management of NIS can’t seem to get a coherent message out it points to the ham handed effort at public relations which more often than not appears to be the norm for some Gov;t agencies.

Is it your suggestion that Gov’t request that Banks establish a “No chargeable Pension Account”? Why should Gov’t have to do this? Shouldn’t BARP be in the forefront of lobbying for Senior Citizens? Two of the three Canadian Banks operating in Barbados have senior accounts where service charges are waived in Canada, I would hope they have the same in Barbados and if they do not it should be BARP’s position to fight for its members and by extension “Senior Citizens”.

I would also hope that BNB given its origins from the Barbados Savings Bank would have accounts that would be cognizant of the needs of the Senior citizens of Barbados.

2. caswell i fully agree that the impression from been conveyed that it is the official policy of the NIS, which would imply sanctioned by the board.

The information coming to me suggests that what the board wanted was for direct deposit to be the default option and persons wanting a cheque would have to request such.

If my sources are to be believed than I would surmise that the NIS statement either did not capture that nuance, or was a tactic to draw a response from pensioners.

3. Bim remains the same, burdened by a government it cannot afford at this time, blundering from one fiasco to another. Some DEMS will continue argue and seek to persuade us despite overwhelming evidence to the contrary that Barbados is blessed by this DLP government. Couldn’t want or get better. Every action of the DLP points to a party winning an election with no plan for governance. It still fails three/four years later to have an overall direction to govern how and what is put in place. Not even the slogan ‘ Barbados is more than an economy it is a society’ truly governs what they do and how, especially in relation to the elderly and the middle class. Evidence of this is the drug reform fiasco for which no courage or humility has been found to correct the injustice. And secondly the pension cheque saga which is mind boggling because so called intelligent ‘caring’ people from the Chairman to the board to the Executive Director to the Minister and Cabinet seem to have their societal caring emotions switch in the off position, when approving this policy. This should be phased over time, where you target a specific age that would have transitioned to technology. For example the current 55 year old group who have bank accounts and can be put on notice that when they come to get pensions it will be done electronically using bank accounts. The older less tech-savvy groups will continue by option until they leave the system. But again it was more about the money than the society. Government by this DLP administration is really more of the same, working it as they go along and doing it rather poorly in a period of crisis that badly needs competence.

4. @Trained Economist

Who can believe it was a tactic to gauge response given the political implication for Byer-Suckoo who will have her hands full with Sutherland.

5. @caswell

I have interpreted what trained economist said, that the director might have miscontrued what they have said and hence he issued the letter. The board minutes of that meeting should be evidence, dont you think. I will give trained economist the benfit of the doubt until proven otherwise. You should indicate that he is a liar. He was relating what he was told.

6. @Bajan Truth

In your zeal to criticize the Gov’t over this “fiasco” as you termed it you overlooked one salient detail, it has not been implemented yet, so the opportunity to pour money down the drain will continue indefinitely.

And since you mentioned “transitioned” one can ask why didn’t the great economist who leads your party transition the nurses at QEH who wanted to remain there under the terms of their employment rather than join the new board. Why did he insist on my way or the highway instead of “grandfathering” those who were there before the establishment of the Board. The Gov’t then spent time scouring world capitals e.g. Manila; Lagos and New Dehli seeking replacement for those nurses.

One can safely add that the fiasco of the QEH nurses is one of the elements that has continued to bedevil the institution’s ability to deliver quality service.

Just another example of your Gov’t in waiting “competence”

7. @obediant
    I’ve noted it and I’ll hold you to that. history, current events, swings, sentiment and on the ground info tells me otherwise but hey. let’s meet back here the day after elections on that one.

@Sargeant
    It most definitely is more than an economy. But, if you’re going to trump the society card as a political panacea, then you had better damned well get the solutions right and at the right cost.

8. @Sargeant

Suggested the NIS run interference with the banks because it probably carries more weight.

Although BARP has done well it has not yet attracted a reputation for being militant or activist ,its participation in the recent FTC BLP rate hearing not to be ignored.

9. @David

I did not deliberately refused to espons to you, the fact is i did not genuinely saw your question. The emperical evidence is the magin of victory by whcih she won the seat and to lose that amrgin after one term, will take a tsuname.

@Observing

I am in the constituency and i am also talking to constituents, any how if i am alive we will meet here a day after the elections

10. @obediant
    did you factor in that it was a BLP stronghold and that in the 2008 election it was an open seat with no incumbent and that that election happened during a swing year which favored the DLP? Plus the good doctor’s popularity would have been based solely on community association as a physician and the absolute weakness and absurdity of Mr. Gill? Now that she has a national and constituency record to run on and the potential for a swing of some sorts in the BLP’s favor I’m still hard pressed to predict clear victory for her. I mean, she has a good chance but still, you’d have to point out Dwight’s basic weakness(es) and then maybe I”ll have a second thought.

11. @Observing

We know Dwight’s strength which is: he was raised in the heart of this bellwether constituency and his father was a Louis Tull lieutenant, Tull who remains vastly popular in the constituency even today.

12. @David
    I am aware. Hence why I’m lost as to obediant’s “certainty”

13. The only bank where nis may have that pull is bnb because they own some shares

14. @anthony

Maybe but you should remember the NIS is known for having the deepest pockets as in investor in Barbados.

15. It may have the deepest pocket but it use most of that to buy government paper. If they threaten the banks and then drop then as part where a pension cheque can be exchange people will down cry the nis. Most of Nis fund are not liquid it at least 70% government paper right now. What liquidity they do have it probably kept at bnb.

16. Maybe there is something fishy going on in the NIS, too much of their money is being used by both parties while in government
    anthony
    BNB might not be that inclined to make a special deal with government because maybe soon their name will be changed.

17. WOULD Owen Arthur agree that the best way to fight this election is to have strong individual candidates who can win on their own steam ?
    ISNT this the best way to ice Mia Mottley, her threat to disrupt Party Unity and the struggling DLP -all in one go ????

JUST ASKING

18. Qouting David of BU “if Director of the NIS Ian Carrington recommended the change in policy, the Board headed by retired banker Tony Marshall – who reports to Minister Esther Byer-Suckoo – should have blocked the idiotic proposal”

But David boy what if the idiotic proposal came from the Board itself?

19. By the way, is this the same Tony Marshall that is to be returning to the call-in programme at VOB? I thought they said they were not using any moderators with political affilications?

20. David it is arrogance and stupidity plain and simple. No point in dressing it up to make it seem pretty.

If you are going to do direct deposit only you must FIRST TALK TO THOSE PEOPLE who will be affected. And it does not matter that they are old and poor and don’t belong to the same lodge as the big shots. If fact those are all the more reasons to TALK to the PEOPLE.

Government and banksters too find it easy enough to take people’s labour and money when they are young and healthy but when those same workers become old and poor that same government and banksters want to treat them as though they are idiots.

Look if the U.S. government can givetheir people 2 or 3 years notice before rolling out direct deposit only, why can’t Bajans do the same. Why do we always like to treat our own people as though they are nothing and nobody?

21. Quoting Caswell ” as a means of getting their friends and family employed.”

Probably friends and family who can’t hold a job anywhere else because they are so lazy, dishonest, or want to take 6 weeks “sick” leave a year.

22. @Random Thoughts

Agree with you 100%.

It should be a reminder that our buses have steps which are very high from the ground compared to those in Sargeant’s neck of the wood.

The full picture must be factored.

Whoever made the decision it is scary to believe Minister Byer-Suckoo would have been ignorant to it.

23. I have a lot of respect fr my late father (and not much for politicians) Just before the last election both parties came to his home and offered to take him to the polling booth. I am not sure why the parties felt they had to do this as the old man was an excellent father and had nearly a dozen dutiful sons and daughters to do for him. The old man died shortly after the election and not a fella from either party, called, sent a card, flowers or showed their ugly faces at the funeral. Even though the old man had lived in the same constituency for more that 70 years. Somehow the politicians were too busy, or haven’t yet noticed that their constituent has died. Damn rascals.

Anyhow he told both parties. I am not voting in this election, because I know that I will die not long after this election, and I will not cast a vote when I know that I will not have to live with the result of that vote.
    A scholar and a gentleman. And an honest man.

Wish I could say the same about any politician.

24. The real problem, government would like to see a drastic reduction in the elderly population of Barbados. Governments have misused so much of the NIS money that they are trying any way possible right now to save every cent they can; the same thing for the health programme. Pensioners are now treated like beggers and a burden to the government, the same elderly folks who gave their hard worked blood, sweat and tears to build this nation which is now being destryed by selfish politicians who are just paying lip service to the elderly.

25. I do support the direct deposit of NIS. My greatest concern is the pensioner being able to ascertain that the amount deposited is the amount due. My first query when I heard that it was happening was “did the respective pensioner agree?’ only to learn afterward that it was mandatory without consultation.

This is the era of technology and advance technology. Each bank has issued a bank card and they are all phasing out books. We the children ought to work with our parents and encourage them. When computers came in after many years my mother took computer classes.

Why was the pensioner going to the corner shop? Does that corner shop have banking machine? The same way then they can continue shopping at the corner shop – swipe the card. Tell the sales assistant and cashier how much you want to spend and don’t go over that amount ‘please.’

Yes, we can work with our elderly to bring them alongside of us. WE don’t have to sit on the side line and watch them. They told us to go ahead and get higher education but not for us to leave them behind. We will dialogue with them and be patient. WE will encourage them.

The move by govt was indeed hasty, however, it is time to discuss, sensitize and mobilize direct transfer of pension funds.

26. @scout

you are one uneducated dunce. You need to get real. You came with that drug service agrument and you were shown to be hopeless. How can u make make such stupid statments over and over. IT SEEMS U LIKE TO READ THE NONSENSE YOU CONTINUE to put on this blog. As a friend of mine once said to a manager, you like u aint responsible for the junk u does write..

27. @David and Observing

We will see that all I have to say at this time. She is from the community also.

28. But David, no board decision to make direct deposits mandatory would mean no board minute to that effect and the Minister would likely be unaware.

29. Obediant
    Maybe you should be renamed DISOBEDIANT, you’re certainly looking above the average elderly bajan. I’ve seen the way outpatients are treated at the QEH like they are the outcast, then to find out that the medication prescribed by the doctors are not in stock so the patients have to come back. Some of these are very old persons, some with walking sticks , some with walkers ans some in wheel chairs. Do you think the elderly, who have given so much to this country for little financial gain, should be treated this way? If I’m talking foolishness, then you have your head in the clouds, the problem is too many of you are so attachjed to a political party that they can do no wrong in your eyes. I would continue to speak on behalf of the down troddened and those who cannot speak for themselves. the fact that bajans are living long is posing a major problem to government whether DLP or BLP, than is why the pension age was raised to 66 or whatever, it is to the benefit of the NIS when a retired person expires within a month or so after they stop work, the family gets a $1000.00 funeral grant and the rest goes into the treasury; over the last year or so much of this is happening. Obediant, stop sticking your head in the clouds and face reality.

30. @Trained Economist

Then it means the Director acted alone?

Don’t believe it!

31. It might not be so simple. It seems to me that a mandate to step up the direct deposit program was interpreted or communicated to the public in a particular manner. The board members I have spoken to are very clear that there was no board decision to make direct deposits mandatory. There appears to have been agreement for direct deposits to bepromoted as the default option as opposed to the current situation where cheques are the default.

32. Trained Economist is making valid argument but my problem is that if the nation was reporting the story wrong why the nis didn’t take them to task about it. When there was an outcry of the policy that the nis didn’t state all of the policy, to deny that it was mandatory that the program was largely optional and a way of streaming payments for more efficient delivery and access of funds. I think that a scape goat it being looked for either in the nation or the board.

33. Agree Anthony, there is a missing piece of the puzzle.

34. Trained Economist is flying a heavy kite.
    No Board and no Director of the operational arm of a board in Barbados acts in the way he suggests unless the director is totally inept and inexperienced. As for the Minister not being informed of the campaign to change the methodology before it got rolling, that boggles the mind. Somebody slipped up and it could be as simple as the Chairman telling the Director exactly what he wanted to be done and the Director following through without giving the matter any significant thought.

35. Checkit-out wrote:
    “Somebody slipped up and it could be as simple as the Chairman telling the Director exactly what he wanted to be done and the Director following through without giving the matter any significant thought”.

That sounds more like the version of events that I heard.

36. But check it out and Caswell, the scenarios you just mention would be consistent with the board and minister being unaware of any position of mandatory deposits.

37. Trained Economist

I never said that the Minister, or any of the Cabinet, was aware of the decision to discontinue cheques before it was communicated to the public. I am informed that the only reason the decision was reversed was that a particular Minister was fearful of losing his seat, because of the backlash.

38. I understand that it was the arrogant Tony Marshall who made the decision to change the system of payment of pensions. Employees said that they thought Jepter was the worse Chairman but Phony Marshall takes the cake.

Poor Mrs Byer Suckoo could not stand up to him. NIS now has to worry about expenditure because the NIS funds are being used up daily by the government to pay its bills and as such has no control over its cash flow.

By the way, has Phony tendered his resignation, he is to return to VOB to do his DLP promotion as election draws near.

39. Prodigal
    Would you pleeze stop calling my husband’s name? Tek he name out ya mout/snout.

TONY MARSHALL I luv you wid a passion. muahhhhhhhhhhh.
    Cannnnnnnnnnnn wait til ya get back pun Brass Tax. De show did deadddd widout you. ya too swoiteeeeeeeeee Tony. I luv de laff bad. Doan mind de parasites like Prodigal. Rentokil gun tek care a dem fa we.

40. You dont know this man, he is the most arrogant person you can ever come across. I would know, I worked with him.

VOB should be ashamed to let him back on their airwaves. If he was spinning for the BLP, you would not want him back on the airwaves, you’d be cussing him like you do most people on this blog. But he spins for the DLP, so he’s lovable for you. I pity you.

41. @Bonny

You mean i have to put he in my fruit basket, you are becoming very avaricious. I am going to ask that something be devloped to cut your apppetite for all these men in public life. lol

42. @Scout

I suggest you check with nis about pensions benefits viz a viz those who would have worked in the private sector and those who would have worked in the govt sector. Also check out what happened if the pensioners were married and if they had dependents at death. Check out if there is comething callled survivor’s benefit. Are u sure the funeral grant is still $1000.

I await your response.

43. I guess it was only a matter of time before NIS had to back it. With the iadb application ( still hasn’t been approved i guess on of the conditions would be government co financing ) giving a first loan of 52 million us and second long of 30 million us for the 137 million us project. they still need another 55 million us in finance. With a 80 million bds injection they just need to get another 15 million us.

44. They have no other choice because the government talks before it thinks. How is the Pickering project?

45. Prodigal
    You rale jellus. dat is your probalem. I luv Tony Marshall wid a passhun n you cannnnn stop um. be he arrogant or ignorant, de luv still flowin. N who tell you dat i doan prefer arrogant ova ignorant? stupseeeeeeeeeeee. you does mek me rale sick , hare? Jellusies doan stir na mo. N eff he was spinnin fa de BLP, you would welcum he back wid open armz. Ah lie?? ya tu one-sided but ya inherit dah frum ya ‘party’. wunna-all rale one-sided.

obediant
    LOLLL
    Now why ya want ta cut a good gurl like me appetite? but ya notice dat I luv de men wid ‘brainz’? afta ‘rall, ya know wah does happen when two fools collide? LOL
    Rite now de one dat I gine crazee bout is de CJ. Oh my gawd. whenevva I see he in de papah, I does get whet all ova n my tong does get a hard-awn jess tinkin bout wah i cud do wid he. He look soft n suck-ulent. Hare’s a fu moe ta add ta de ‘basket’ fa ma. Sir Gary, Sir Don, Sir Carl Hooper, Warwick Franklin,n he brudda Vallan. LOL

46. Caswell Franklyn | September 25, 2011 at 11:21 PM |

Checkit-out wrote:
    “Somebody slipped up and it could be as simple as the Chairman telling the Director exactly what he wanted to be done and the Director following through without giving the matter any significant thought”.

That sounds more like the version of events that I heard.
    —————————
    TRUE !

47. @Bonny

I like i dont know what to do with you, you to hot bosie. i gun send u a sloar pwoerd aidcondition union, i gun soon get one installed bosie.

@Scout

You took very long to repsond to me, so i am going to start you off. I checked with a school mate who works at nis and she told me that the funeral grant is $1815. As I have said before u does write junk on this site and mislead people. If i had the personality like my fried bonny i would tell you that you does write bear shoite. I will make you wiser on the pesnio issue as i confirm what in my memory is what currently obtains.

48. obediant
    I don’t life on the blog, so I respond when it’s possible. If there is an increase in funeral grants, then THANKS for telling me, since quite recently I was Executor to a friends estate and I only recieved a funeral of $1000.00. I didn’t wait for information from a friend, this is what happened to me. I don’t play games with politics, since I have no political friends, I do have friends who are politicians from both sides.