Opposition Leader Owen Arthur (l) Mia Mottley MP (r)

BU has to confess the politics on the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) side at the moment is puzzling. With just over a year to go to a constitutionally due general election the commonsense strategy for both parties is to agree to a competitive slate of candidates and settle any grievances between members โ€“ especially if they are prominent โ€“ have them resolved quickly.

The recent DLP general conference appears to have Jack and Jill lining up behind Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart. If there was plan to hatch a Chris Sinckler plan it seems to have been placed on the backburner for the moment. What is shaping up to be intriguing is unravelling on the BLP side.

We all recall how Mia Mottley was taken out by the so-called gang of five. It came as a surprise if for no other reason it required George Payne to throw his hat behind Arthur. All kinds of reasons have been floated why Mia Mottley lost the support of parliamentary colleagues โ€“ the fear of Mottleyism, concerns about how party funds were being spent, the profile of persons she had following her which crowed out the โ€˜regularsโ€™, her lifestyle, and the list is long.

After a quick bloodletting Mia Motley seems to have come to terms with the role she intends to play in the party. She will play the waiting game. With a couple 60 something old MPs in Owen and George her only potentialย  threatย  to regain the leadership of the BLPย  is from Dale Marshall, a no contest. All of her public statements have been delivered using a studied approach and her positions have taken a people-centric flavour, on some occasions at the expense of the party position.

What has muddied the issue in the past week is Arthurโ€™s public cry that the BLP and Barbados need Clyde Mascoll. It will be interesting to observe how Arthur, who many still regard as a master tactician, will deliver Mascoll to the BLP and Barbados. If it were that simple!

During the last general election Arthur created tension in the party when he described Mascoll as a co-leader although he had previously endorsed Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley as his heir apparent. How will Mia, George and former schoolmate Dale Marshall cotton to the idea of Mascoll possibly entering the parliamentary group to bat at 2 or 3 in the batting order?

We know Duguid will not be standing for re-election and there is a question mark around the tired and sick lookingย  Rawle Eastmond. Whatever happens the dynamics of the BLP parliamentary group is about to change. Again BU asks, how will Arthur deliver Mascoll to the House of Assembly?

To add to the intrigue there seems to be an attempt from the BLP party machinery to flex its muscle by supporting Jerome Walcott for the Chairmanship of the BLP, sending a clear message to Mia Mottley who has indicated her interest to contest the position. Todays press quotes Mia Mottley as being surprised at seeing press ads which by accident or design describe Walcott as the incoming Chairman.

What is clear is that Arthur will have to cut a deal with Mia and soon. He cannot continue to alienate her with a general election looming.

1. I note me arthur 21 year old daughter got married, during her birth was he still married to his former wife, is this the said gentleman who referred to mia’s lifestyle which he stated or implied that as a result barbadians will not accept her as a leader. ISNT this double standards here? Only asking a question

2. The BLP will contest the next election as a united party. Its politics.

3. Wait When Arthur told the BLP faithfull at the last conference that the Party needed somebody; was he talking about Mia Mottley or Mascoll? lol!

4. Mia is behaving like the little boy, who owned the bat and ball, that would take up his bat and ball when he gets out and goes home. She lost the leadership of the Opposition, but she cannot stop the play: she must realise that she is not the only body with balls.

5. yes obediant, certainly double standards by mr arthur but my understanding is that our former great leader mr barrow also fathered a child out of wedlock when still married to his wife and there has been no hue and cry, isn’t this double standard too?

6. To Obediant:
    Have you ever heard that people who live in glass houses should not throw stones. Most of them from the BLP and the DLP have outside children. Remember david estwick had to be taken to court; at least Freudel supports his and Mascoll has enough to make a football team. But we know that we can never say that about Mia; procreation is not her style.

7. Please people nearly everybody in Barbados conceives, or fathers or mothers a child outside of wedlock.

What I find surprising is that so many people still need to pretend that it ain’t so.

8. Cut another deal. How much money he has to offer at this stage. I can just imagine the terms of the deal. If you roll over and play dead and allow me to remain as opposition leader IF (and this is a BIG IF) we ever get the keys to the treasury again you can take 25% unsecured. To that she will reply, “You mussy blind drunk cause you can’t expect to silence me with no F@%&… 25%!”

So what is the point of trying to cut a deal. Been there, done that and it aint work.

9. One must ask the question!
    Was Mr. Arthur selected by the same process which Ms. Mottley was selected? If the answer is yes, why could anyone blame Mr. Arthur?
    My understanding is, that the elected MP’s decide who is the best person to lead and the majority voted for Mr. Arthur.If Ms. Mottley doesn’t like the process by which the leader is decided, she should initiate a programme to bring about a change or accept the result.
    No one is bigger than a party. If the process was correct at the time she should accept the result. Life must go on. Her love for the party must be shown as above the disappointment in loosing her position. Her day will come again to prove to those who rejected her that they made a mistake.
    I believe Ms.Mottley can and should rise above this disappointment;join her ‘Brothers in Arms’, with the object in mind to have a positive result inthe coming election.
    Disagreement happens in most democracies; it has happened in the ruling government; it has happened in Australia.
    A true politician can rise above this.
    Ms. Mottley stated her intention of seeking the position for Chairmanship of the party.Mr. J. Walcott has stated his intention for the same position. As long as the ‘normal process’ is adhered to the best man/woman should win. I’ve understood that Mr. J. Walcott has acted in this position before. If he is the winner next time, the looser should abide by the result.

10. What if she is facing a position within the party that she should not lead and she believes it to be based on less than a noble position? Is it not her prerogative to use what strategies are available to her? Political ‘disobedience’ being one option? Mia’s national popularity cannot be ignored in the argument.

11. David I ain’t B nor D but what national popularity you talking ’bout?

Mia is popular in her constituency, but the majority of Bajans who live in rural areas don’t care a thing about Mia or any the Mottleys.

Don’t mistake town popularity for national popularity.

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

The fight to see who gets the most out of our Treasury to put into their secret offshore Bank accounts will never end in the Barbados Labour Party.

13. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Random Thoughts

You neither B or D, you only support the Crooked Barbados Labour Party all the time.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Don’t forget that Phillip Goddard told the officials at the American Embassy that the leadership of the Barbados Labour Party is determined that MIA AMOR MOTTLEY should never lead the party or ever become PM of Barbados and he would know.

15. Random Thoughts | September 12, 2011 at 6:59 AM |

David I ainโ€™t B nor D but what national popularity you talking โ€™bout?

Mia is popular in her constituency, but the majority of Bajans who live in rural areas donโ€™t care a thing about Mia or any the Mottleys.

Donโ€™t mistake town popularity for national popularity.
    +++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    I endorse this message.

16. Mia is the only person with a national profile as far as leadership of the BLP is concerned outside of Owen. If there is a perception that there is a leadership struggle or unsettled relationship between the two it can have be a negative on how people vote i.e. Party above Candidate.

17. Name one politician in the Barbados Labour Party who is more popular or has greater national recognition and appeal than Mia Mottley. Are you people for real? You are fooling yourselves.
    Owen Arthur has lost touch with the young people. Most of the 18 year olds who will vote next election do not even know him.
    If this is the strategy you are using to try and minimize Mottley’s chances of winning the Chairmanship race in your Party you are shooting yourselves in the foot.

18. @David
    You are correct that Owen must play the bigger man and mend fences before the bells are rung. They may still stand a chance of winning without mending but they would definitely be better of if they do

@Lil Boy and Random Thoughts
    Fooling ourselves will change neither reality nor perception. Regardless of what is said, or believed about her she ain’t nuh idiot and the populace is generally fickle. Kudos must go to her on a mammoth about turn and engaging of the public. It will be and has been enough to sway opinion and favour to her side.

@everyone
    It is pretty much clear that lifestyle choices (wotless, indifferent or alternative) are no longer a major influence to political popularity or professional progression in Barbados. We’ve pretty much reached the “turn a blind eye” stage as a society.

19. Observing wrote “lifestyle choices (wotless, indifferent or alternative) are no longer a major influence to political popularity”.

No different from yesteryear except for the hypocrisy.

It is telling that a person’s perceived lifestyle is used to determine their fitness for political life.

Most ah wunna bright so i doan have to read an spell fuh wunna.

20. To carson Cadogan:
    Would you welcome Mia back to the DLP to lead it. Would you welcome her knowing full well that she shall be continuing her various acts of indiscretion regardless of who cares for she is Pa Mottley’s grand child and she has a right by birth to do as she please in this society. When you are talking about leadership there are things that matter. Remember when she goes overseas with her antics she represents ALL OF US.

21. @ lil boy
    I have no scientific evidence but I believe that even in rural barbados Mia is more popular than Owen. Another interesting point is that when Mia was Opposition leader, Wickham carried out a poll that found most people preferred Owen to at the helm. Then when she was kicked out by those 5 Judases, polling suggests that the public wants Mia instead of Owen. Politics is very strange.

22. Another thing people’s lifestyle choices dont have that much influence on voters here than say the States. How much politicans we know that in the house got children out of wedlock or ‘outside children; supposedly closeted; or does got outside women on their wives?

23. Is this the same Mia Mottley who was shown in the last CADRES poll to be less prefered to lead Barbados than Owen Arthur?At the time David Thompson was alive and it was generally felt among the public that the BLP would stand a better chance at the next poll if Arthur was the leader and not Mottley.Her team of supporters seem to be working overtime to create the impression that the nation now favours her to lead.However truth be told the BLP was not gaining any traction under her parliamentary leadership and it was generally felt that she was turning off potential support for the party.She must realise that she is not entitled to lead the party and that the party is bigger than any one person.Her family connection does not give her the right to OWN the BLP!!

24. David @ BU wrote Sept. 12,2011@1.47am:
    “What if she is facing a position within the party that she should not lead and believes it is based on less than noble position?

As long as the same process for ‘Chairmanship is adopted in choosing the position she seeks. If she should loose, the result should be accepted and move on.
    There is no doubt that Ms.Mottley has some respect amongst many. She is articulate and can command attention from most people.The President of USA is articulate and was popular in his early days. Where is that popularity now and where has it got him?
    If Ms.Mottley behaves in a dignified way, whether she wins or looses, she will be accepted by some of those who don’t care that much for her politics.
    She needs to meet with the members of the committe;state her position and come to some agreement for the sake of all;above all is the party.
    If the disagreement cannot be resolved, she should leave the party now; join another party or form her own. I have no doubt she would attract members from all sides. Perhaps this would be healthy for the country. A third party is needed in Barbados; it is not too late to start now.If she can produce a ‘manifesto’ with ‘BOLD IDEAS’ on the environment, the eonomy,coupled with transparency legislation ,her party could form the next government.

25. @Paradox

Aren’t people encouraged to effect change from within the organization? If Mottley wants to democratized shouldn’t Mia do what she is doing and that is to challenged the status quo?

Which is the opposite to jumping ship a la Mascoll.

26. If memory serves well the question about Mia’s popularity in town,country or both was answered in the St.John byelection.It is safe to say that as the Bees enter the hustings the need and importance of that gravel voice at the microphone shall override the urge and desire of The Wicked One to cut her down to size.This master tactician surely has not forgotten the shame his tactics in St.John brought him and that party.Secondly it is going to take much more than his pitiful cries to sell Barbados his inherited basket of damaged goods,namely Clyde Mascoll.Permit me to quote The Wicked One.”Mr.Mascoll is a political stepney….that is the reality that everybody in Barbados is stating.There is no conviction in anything that Mr.Mascoll says.He has not spoken in a serious way to a vision for Barbados”.As I have stated previously Clyde Mascoll’s political acumen has driven him down a one-way dead end that is cluttered with political tombstones,the most notable one inscribed Richard Christopher Haynes.Hand in hand like Kith and Kin those two may take their places in Bajan history having brought testimony to the fact that in their chosen game,the lust for power as opposed to the love for people,the latter wins everytime.Owen no one wants your damaged goods. Be gone.

27. The BLP with Owen Arthur as Political Leader and Mia Mottley as Chairman is recipe for disaster. When both offices are not held by the same person the constitution of the party requires that the Chairman and Political Leader shall consult on matters affecting the party. The BLP members of the House determine who shall be political leader: the general membership has no role in that selection. The delegates at the Annual General Meeting elect the Chairman. The Chairman, Political Leader and one other person appointed by the National Council select candidates.

The delegates tasked with the duty to elect a chairman would be acting against the best interest of the party if they elect a chairman who is clearly not willing to co-operate with the Political Leader when a general election is in the air. They would in effect be saying to the country that we don’t want the Government at this time.

A loss at the polls at the next general election would be ideal for Mia Mottley. She is young enough and can afford to wait five years to become Prime Minister. Hold on before some clown suggest that I am saying that that is her strategy: I am not. I am merely suggesting that the prospect has some merit.

28. The BLP have a serious leadership crisis whereby it has continue to loose the confidence of the people.a house divided cannot stand

29. Quoting TJ September 12, 2011 at 3:49 PM “… How much politicans we know that in the house got children out of wedlock or โ€˜outside children; supposedly closeted; or does got outside women on their wives?”

All????????????

30. Lemuel, Carson (never mind Carson cuss me and call me a “B”) and Mia too.

Nobody cares about Pa Mottley.

Pa Mottley only ever had influence among the downtrodden of Bridgetown anyhow, and the people who knew and were influenced by him are long DEAD and gone.

Pa Mottley had NO influence in rural Barbados (and Mia doesn’t either).

I know I was there.

I am there.

31. Quoting Hamilton Hill “This master tactician surely has not forgotten the shame his tactics in St.John brought him and that party.”

Dear Hammy: Owen has no reason to feel ashamed about the results of the St. John by-election. The people of St.John foolish and would vote for a bullfrog if the DLP sent a bullfrog.

You know that very well.

32. I smell a general election in the near future, every night over the last few weeks, there have been at least three DLP candidates canvassing on the CBC8 Evening News, tonight there were 6. Mia will NEVER become P.M of Barbados until she changes her alleged lifestyle, she tried but, like a drub addict, she seems to have returned to being her old self once again. It appears the alleged truth about Mia cannot be broadcast because of some diplomatic reasons but every body that is somebody is hearing things, whether true or not, but this is Barbados.

33. Let them stop there Avatar
    Let them stop there

Quite honestly this is a lot of long talk about nothing, the trurth is that Mottley ain’t fot to lead the Dog Pound, her reputation precedes her and it ain’t a pleasant one.

When she was the DEPUTY PRIME MINISTER she went to London and without knowing the woman for an hour invited back to her hotel the lady said no she does not have transport and Mottley told her dont worry she would get her home in the morning when she was finished having her, a sick bit__h, or the other time she went back and found a woman police officer on guard at her home and she told her to leave her station and come with her for a good time, she is nothing but a slime ball and a depraved nature.

34. We seem to forget, the DLP was in shambles just before the last elections but regroup quickly and won the government.

35. It is OK for OSA to fcuk all round Barbados, to breed outside his marriage and to become a PM. What a bunch of sick people you all are who have a problem with MIA.

36. islandgal246 | September 12, 2011 at 9:59 PM |
    Cool it – what is a screw between friends with benefits?

37. Let them stop there Avatar
    Let them stop there

We ain’t tekking this Lesbianism crap lying down !!! Nah, Nah, Nah, we taking it like a man.

38. Let them stop there Avatar
    Let them stop there

246 or whatever ya call yerself 181 or one ate one, you is one of Mottley battle and hospital brigade ? ya very touchus ?

39. People:
    I know we are getting our political pants in a twist. Mia’s approach from last year has not changed; she found a red herring and then accuse the same system that allowed her to steal the general secretary position from Caswell Franklyn as being biased against her. Caswell was the only person that year nominate for the post of general secretary and Mia was not even nominated, but Billy Miller, Owen Arthur and the rest of them announced that Caswell had withdrawn when he never did, and she was installed. She KNOWS she can not win any chairmanship of the BLP and again she at the last minute cry foul and go crying in the sunset like the little girl that she is.

40. Let me add my two cents worth to this discussion. The BLP is a political institution devoid of political talent. People love to castigate Mia Mottley because her known sexual preference but we must face an obvious fact that Mia is the BLP greatest asset. As it stands now the BLP is full of political dinosaurs including Owen Seymour Arthur and the incoming Chairman Miss Walcott. As much of I want to rid Barbados of the present inept and lethargic DLP government, I certainly will not be voting for that bunch.

41. Ayub you killing me dead with laff. Oh loss Miss Walcott. The poster ”let me stop there” staying clear of your post. Then there is Muscle Mary. The daughters Owen smiling with in today’s papers from different mothers? How many children Owen really have? Just asking. For a little man who love he alcohol he can breed,neh.

42. @Let them stop there

Cool it!

43. Croo Arthur Croo Mottley Avatar
    Croo Arthur Croo Mottley

Is this what we really want to consider as leadership material ?? Poor and Poorer and Poorest.

Owen Arthur desperately distances himself from arrangements for the new prison – Aug 2011

Or This http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/leaked/

Mia Mottley has been named in WickiLeaks documents. (FP)

Barbados has not escaped the growing international scrutiny surrounding the release last Friday of over 251 000 confidential documents by the global whistle-blower organization WikiLeaks.

On the heels of Sundayโ€™s stern denial by political analyst Peter Wickham, who claimed that he was wrongfully identified in the leaked documents as a source of information on Caribbean leaders, more United States government cables have revealed some less-than-flattering statements made by two former United States diplomats about leading Government and Opposition figures here, as well as the overall state of politics on the island.

In a June 5, 2007 cable, the harshest criticisms were levelled against the then Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley. The communication, which was sent by former Ambassador Mary Ourisman, raised questions concerning Mottleyโ€™s suitability for leadership but also made bold statements about her lifestyle.

This cable was sent by Ourisman following a meeting with Mottley. The ambassador reported that โ€œformer Senator Phillip Goddard, an excellent contact of the Embassy, recently confirmed to the DCM (Deputy Chief of Missions) in a private conversation that internal BLP (Barbados Labour Party) leadership is absolutely determined that Mottley would not lead the party, should they be returned to power in the next elections

Or this idiot ?

Gline Clarke With Racist Undertones Speaking On Behalf of the BLP During the 2011 Budget Debate

44. @ Random Thoughts | September 12, 2011 at 6:59 AM |
    ” majority of Bajans who live in rural areas donโ€™t care a thing about Mia or any the Mottleys”

ASSuming that a poll was indeed taken is it still not true that there are still far more people in the urban than the rural districts?

@ Let them stop there

Miss Mottley has had boyfriends, one of whom is a now a QC and a past head of the legal oversight authority (what ever …). Men in this part of the world shy away from powerful women, so if she has found success elsewhere who the f#ck are you to complain? At least she knows how to get women, do you … or for that matter does Caswell?

45. I always find it funny how the DLP supporters behave as if their party is void of persons with “alternative lifestyles” in Parliament, in Cabinet, on Boards and in their Executive. Too much hypocrisy.

This topic is stale and the same old, tired diversionary tactic being used by the DLP–Mia’s lifestyle (whatever that is), Owen children outside of wedlock (wait Freundel has a daughter was/is he married?), corruption, Mia-Owen battle (why was Wickham really fired?). Instead talk about the accomplishments/failures of the DLP since coming to power; because come 2013 it will not be about illegitimate children, lifestyles or even corruption since there is now evidence of the same with this government. It will be on performance. A small swing and the Dems catspraddled!!!

46. So let’s see, Mia is a member of the BLP, Owen is the leader, but he MUST win the next election or he will be replaced. So why does ANYONE need to cut a deal with anyone?

Mia continues to alienate the core of the BLP supporters by talking nonsense in public, while simultaneously making herself popular with ‘youth’. Hmmm and it is the opinion of you learned gentlemen that this somehow means that the party must accommodate her ambitions and demands? If she is so popular, surely she does not need the party for anything. So what would be her motivation for accepting any deal the party may offer?

47. Poor enuff struggling to find sometime to write on. People in glass houses should not throw stones. Owen wanted to discredit mia by hinting at her lisfstyel, yet he used his positional power to be wutless, there is no little sin or big sin. If she is to be condemned for pereciving to have an alternative liftsyle, he our any ones that breach the vows of marriage should be, you have pledged to be faithful. On the otherhand, the person having children have not made a legal commitment to be faithful. I am not a moralist but you must hold every body to the sme standards, that goes for blp and dlp.

The problem with you is that you cannot think outside your box, and hence your ramting and raging. the electorate will decide which party they want to run the country, Just hold on you will get your chance to vote like every person entitled to do so. Thats what democracy is about, vote in or vote out or dont vote at all.

Hellelulah. Amen

48. Observing | September 12, 2011 at 11:01 AM |
    @Lil Boy and Random Thoughts
    Fooling ourselves will change neither reality nor perception. Regardless of what is said, or believed about her she ainโ€™t nuh idiot and the populace is generally fickle. Kudos must go to her on a mammoth about turn and engaging of the public. It will be and has been enough to sway opinion and favour to her side.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Perception is not necessarily reality though.
    It is interesting that even though you recognize the fickle nature of the populace, you are still willing to take comfort in that fickleness.

*****************************************************************************************
    TJ | September 12, 2011 at 3:45 PM |
    @ lil boy
    I have no scientific evidence but I believe that even in rural barbados Mia is more popular than Owen.
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    So you are allowed to hold a belief without scientific evidence and I am not?

49. People like to pretend that Bajans are not hypocrites.
    Of course there is big sin and little sin. Having children outside of marriage has not been a sin in Barbados for ages.
    I willing to bet that more children born out of wedlock than those born within, are christened every year in churches all over Barbados.
    Most times the parents only enter the church for a funeral.

50. Why are we losing the argument here?

We can’t attack Mia on lifestyle and give a pass to the others. Is this a man thing or some prejudice position?

On the issue of Mia and Arthur negotiating a win win position is ot not obvious this should be the case? Because Mia is in a ‘minority’ position it is here right to fight the party if she believes there is need for reform.