Opposition Leader Owen Arthur (l) Mia Mottley MP (r)

BU has to confess the politics on the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) side at the moment is puzzling. With just over a year to go to a constitutionally due general election the commonsense strategy for both parties is to agree to a competitive slate of candidates and settle any grievances between members โ€“ especially if they are prominent โ€“ have them resolved quickly.

The recent DLP general conference appears to have Jack and Jill lining up behind Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart. If there was plan to hatch a Chris Sinckler plan it seems to have been placed on the backburner for the moment. What is shaping up to be intriguing is unravelling on the BLP side.

We all recall how Mia Mottley was taken out by the so-called gang of five. It came as a surprise if for no other reason it required George Payne to throw his hat behind Arthur. All kinds of reasons have been floated why Mia Mottley lost the support of parliamentary colleagues โ€“ the fear of Mottleyism, concerns about how party funds were being spent, the profile of persons she had following her which crowed out the โ€˜regularsโ€™, her lifestyle, and the list is long.

After a quick bloodletting Mia Motley seems to have come to terms with the role she intends to play in the party. She will play the waiting game. With a couple 60 something old MPs in Owen and George her only potentialย  threatย  to regain the leadership of the BLPย  is from Dale Marshall, a no contest. All of her public statements have been delivered using a studied approach and her positions have taken a people-centric flavour, on some occasions at the expense of the party position.

What has muddied the issue in the past week is Arthurโ€™s public cry that the BLP and Barbados need Clyde Mascoll. It will be interesting to observe how Arthur, who many still regard as a master tactician, will deliver Mascoll to the BLP and Barbados. If it were that simple!

During the last general election Arthur created tension in the party when he described Mascoll as a co-leader although he had previously endorsed Deputy Prime Minister Mia Mottley as his heir apparent. How will Mia, George and former schoolmate Dale Marshall cotton to the idea of Mascoll possibly entering the parliamentary group to bat at 2 or 3 in the batting order?

We know Duguid will not be standing for re-election and there is a question mark around the tired and sick lookingย  Rawle Eastmond. Whatever happens the dynamics of the BLP parliamentary group is about to change. Again BU asks, how will Arthur deliver Mascoll to the House of Assembly?

To add to the intrigue there seems to be an attempt from the BLP party machinery to flex its muscle by supporting Jerome Walcott for the Chairmanship of the BLP, sending a clear message to Mia Mottley who has indicated her interest to contest the position. Todays press quotes Mia Mottley as being surprised at seeing press ads which by accident or design describe Walcott as the incoming Chairman.

What is clear is that Arthur will have to cut a deal with Mia and soon. He cannot continue to alienate her with a general election looming.

1. @David

There are two political dead horses that i would never support, Abed and Mascoll. Tan has never been elected and will nevever be elected to elective polotics and Mascoll will never ever be elected to sit in parliament again. Barbadians will not forgive him, mark my word. Rawle Eastmond will not step aside to accomodate him.

2. @David and Obedient

After the announcement on Taan’s replacement I saw pics of him hugging Fruendel. All seems well on that front. Someone will have to make room for Mascoll -in a consituency that is a good fit for him- or Owen aint gine look so formidable – like a captain of a team who can choose his players. Did not Thompson use that analogy regarding candidate selection? uh tell yuh. Chris Halsall could ask Mascoll what qualities must a constituency have that are to his liking. We wouldn’t want any not to his liking or “fit” to be rebuff by him. We all know he is God send of a representative.

3. @AH… Skilful shit. Don’t answer the question presented, but present another question.

Are you a student, or a teacher?

4. Arthur appears to be tired and needs Mascoll as the lieutenant.

Agree with Adrian that the Mascoll comment gives terrific insight.

5. @Adrian Hinds | September 14, 2011 at 3:35 PM
    “But hear Clyde Mascoll recently in the news. โ€œThe constituency would have to be a good fit for meโ€ Not the other way around. Who in their right mind would vote for someone making such a statement, doing so under the pretext that he will be their REPRESENTATIVE? Uh tell yuh under Owenโ€™s approach, local needs and representation gone through de eddoes.”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Adrian, why are you trying to demonize Mascoll. When he speaks of “a good fit for me” did you not also hear him say that, if for example St. James North was the constituency in which he would run, the full support of the possibly retiring incumbent Mr.Rawle Easrmond, would be absolutely necessary?

Listen carefully to what the man has said. If he did not obtain that full support from Mr. Eastmond, clearly, St.James North, in Mr. Mascoll’s thinking, would not be a good fit for him, simply because he would not want to be embroiled in unnecessary controversy.!

That’s my interpretation of what he is saying, and I see nothing wrong with that. What makes you think that Mr. Mascoll would not be an excellent representative? He is a tremendously qualified, capable, humble and compassionate man, a serious community-minded activist, totally intuned to the needs of the people, and willing to serve his country. What’s your beef Adrian?

6. I have a problem with people equating academic performance with brightness. A lot of our natioanl scholars, what have they contributed to our development overtime.

Mia has to be a bright woman to be able to articulate an issue without written notes, listen to how she present her arguments, and it has nothing to do with public relations. So please give me a break. Dr Lowe do u think he can present in a coherent manner.

I have some resrvation about mia’s performance as minister of education, but the problem with her she politicized the ministry by infleuncing who got promted or was brought into act. Had she not become to partisan she might have succeeded there.

Pease note that i am not a supporter of her, but admire her brilliance. Remeber some people as they mature they get better and better and perhaps mia did, after graduatng from law school, so we should not be referencing how did as a young person but what she can do now. I know of persons who excel later in life.

7. @David…
    Tired indeed, although he attempted not to build up Mascoll to much for fear that it might lead to questioning the validity of the “public” reasons given for his return to the leadership of the BLP. However, with his need of Mascoll, and the public knowledge of at least one other economist listed as his advisor -Brian Francis- this view propagated by the Arthur faction of the BLP that his economic skills are much needed may have falled short of it mark and sustainability.

Oh Chris H you asked a question? lol!

8. @Adrian

Perhaps in much the same way the late Tom Adams put on his gloves and fought for Arthur in that St. Peter fiasco years ago maybe Arthur intends to do the same.

9. obediant | September 14, 2011 at 5:16 PM | I have a problem with people equating academic performance with brightness. A lot of our natioanl scholars, what have they contributed to our development overtime.

Ditto: Duguid was either a Bajan scholar or exhibitionist. lol!

so too was Jerome Walcott. Is he considered one of the best Ministers of Health in Barbados? I think not.

10. @AH: “Oh Chris H you asked a question? lol!

Yes. I did. Which you did not answer.

Must I repeat it?

LOL….

11. @David
    There was a slight difference. Tom did not have to beg or fight to have his people as candidates and while Tom fought -in court- to produce Arthur’s first win, todate Arthur hasn’t been able to do the same for Mascoll. No one in their right mind will cast a vote for Mascoll to be their representative- his knowledge of economics not withstanding- He could be the BLP version of Darcy Boyce. lol!

12. @Chris Halsall

What record? I live in Barbados and Barbados lives inside me. lol!

13. @obediant | September 14, 2011 at 4:38 PM
    ” Barbadians will not forgive him, mark my word.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    “Obediant”, (repeatedly spelt wrong, by the way) Do you think that Barbadians will forget the scornfully classist, disgraceful and contemptuous manner in which Clyde Mascoll was literally thrown out on the side-walk of George Street, after working his butt off, to rebuild the DLP, bringing them from an embarrassing defeat, having only retained their two safe seats in 1999?

While Mascoll was working, where was Thompson? Wasn’t he sulking all over the place, not even speaking to “the other poor black boy Kellie” and smarting from the massive defeat meted out to him?

Do you think Barbadians will forget the back room shenanigans wrought by the bourgeois elders of the Party to get rid of Mascoll, and replace him with their lazy blue-eyed boy?

What did you expect any decent self-respecting person to do after receiving such vicious treatment? Barbadians will not forget!

14. @Truthman

You must be given 2 out of 10 for trying.

Barbadians will remember that the Mascoll led Opposition increased their foothold in parliament as a result of a national swing against the government.

When you come to this forum show some respect.

15. @David | September 14, 2011 at 5:20 PM |
    “@Adrian. Perhaps in much the same way the late Tom Adams put on his gloves and fought for Arthur in that St. Peter fiasco years ago maybe Arthur intends to do the same.”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    You call it “a fiasco” David, but what a blessing it turned out to be for Barbados! We need him again!

16. @David | September 14, 2011 at 5:45 PM |
    “@Truthman. You must be given 2 out of 10 for trying.”
    “When you come to this forum show some respect.”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    David, you have always behaved as though I am your nemesis, so you tend to save for me those little emotive expressions and pejoratives ike “show some respect” But that’s alright!. lol lol lol
    The swing had already taken place in 1994, when the DEMS left a bankrupt treasury, unemployment at an incredible 27%, lots of people out of house and land, and a country in complete disarray.

Mascoll did work his butt off, whether you want to believe it or not, with ZERO help from Thompson and his jealous cronies like Phillip Greaves and Peter Morgan and co.

17. David, you are talking about some swing, but how come you have not commented on the nastiness that the DLP meted out to Mascoll?

But If you want to talk about swing, talk about the one that was artificially manufactured in 2008, when the DLP worked a massive and lying deception on the People of Barbados, talking of corruption, and including pie -in-the-sky promises and talk of : Jobs No.1: Cost of Living – JobNo.2 : Cost of Living – Job No.3 –Cost of living. Are we still going to get the once heavily touted COST-U-LESS?

18. @Truthman

The point is not whether Mascoll worked his butt off, there was a swing and to cap it his parliamentary colleaguest like the gang of 5 decided to throw their support behind Thompson.

19. @ Christopher Halsall | September 14, 2011 at 3:54 PM |
    “Offer an alternative. …Seriouslyโ€ฆ.”

My alternative is wait for it … wait for it …

Christopher Halsell … At least unlike Arthur and Mascoll, he works for himself and unlike Hinkson, he stands prepared to represent consumers in the battle against the most powerful utility that Barbados has ever entertained … ! Where the f#ck was Hinkson in that fight?

20. His someone is going to stand for political office that person must have a track record of representing the causes of common consumers (which of course represents all of us) …

21. @Truthman

The people have always been promised stuff by politicians not so?

Can you pick a manifesto from either B or D and point to promises made which were all kept?

Like Obama who promised hope the DlP promised low prices and you are right they both have failed to deliver.

We can debate why but the fact is they have not deliver.

Here is where we need to get serious in the debate.

22. To Obediant:
    I can not tell you who to like or not to like, but i draw the line when you suppose that you can make a statement about academics not being important and get away with it. when we speak to being bright, one has to have some form of evaluation; that is why acedemics are utilized in the abscence like in the case of Mia, NOTHING. It is a very good gauge of the person’s further development. If you went to the doctor and discovered that he was dumpsy would you allow him to do some invasive procedure on you?

Talking with out notes is nothing big, and if after all the talk she does she can noy present some semblnce of an argument, then she would be worse than we thought. It sems as though you are one of those who are easily led by TALK.

23. @ David

Are you not a constant champion of good governance and transparency? How then do you support the denial of the constituency branch’s wishes by the Executive on the basis that Taan Abed is dead weight?
    If Verla Depeiza has so much to offer, the party should have nominated her to run in the St. John by-election.

Anyway Barbados Today has an update on the Taan vs the Executive saga.

24. Iโ€™m in total agreement with Taan Abed. The DLP executive is totally out of order to dump Verla DePeiza on the people of Christ Church West. The DLP is full of under achievers for parliamentarians, the like of Kenny Best, Michael Carrington, and Denis Lowe to mention a few. They are the ones that need replacing because they are making no valuable contribution to the political landscape of this country. All they are doing is robbing us blind, although on the BLP side itโ€™s just as bad or worse. Both parties need leadership, that is the problem.Stuart and Arthur need to take their leave and let the young brigade Mottley and Sinckler run the damn thing. Just saying.

25. @Truthman
    That added statement changes nothing for me regarding Mascoll carpet-bagging bout de place for a ride to parliament. It is an embarrassment to the good people of Barbados and to Mascoll himself. Good lord! Does he not feel unloved and unwanted; unable to find some place that would accept him while he still thinks a constituency must be a good fit for him?

In the scenario he paints with St.James north; it is not only the current representative’s blessing he must garner; he must also be accepted by the branch, the party faithful and be seen canvassing the constituency so that voters can be informed in their decision to consider him, what is he doing to encourage anyone to look to him for representation at the local level? You see, my beef is about Arthurโ€™s grass-root killing approach to candidate selection more so than about Mascoll. However, he being caught up in it changes nothing.

Now that Taan has given an ultimatum to the DLP I am on board with him. I do not like kingmakers, candidate makers and those too-few who like to ride rough shod over the will of the people โ€“ in this case the party constituency branch- go Taan, the people apparently are with you.

26. @ Aretti

I can analyse and is very good at that. The woman is no dunce as you trying to potray her. Get off her back, as i say before i an not a supporter of her but admire her intelligence. So you wont convinced me otherwise.

I suggest that you re-read my blog before you talk your rubbish.

27. @ Truthman
    I was adamantly against the treatment meted out to Mascoll -the then LOTO- pissed off better defines my view of the whole sordid affair. However Chris Sinkler excoriated Mascoll’s tenure as LOTO detailing intimate collusion of the mind between Mascoll and Owen which to this day Mascoll has not answered.

28. @Burthon

Are you serious that there was not massive corruption under the last administration?

You dont live in barbados. Tell the parties to work together to get the intergity legislation passed before the next election.

29. To Obediant:
    It seems as if you want me to believe that you bright bright. I believe you. Remember your analysis came up with her ability to set out an argument and delivering a speech with out notes as bright. I also believe you. You bright bright

30. Lemuel everybody on BU bright. lmao

31. Agree that Taan Abed has the right to resign challenge the decision.

It would be interesting to know why the DLP executive dropped him.

32. Sisyphus donโ€™t have anything on Owen, he is trying to do some succession planning but he has two big obstacles in his way (a) trying to find a safe landing (winnable seat) for Mascoll and (b) Mia Mottley.

By some stroke of luck he may find a seat for Clyde but that leaves the Sisyphean task of making Mia irrelevant. Try as he might Mia ainโ€™t going away, his latest gambit is to try to parachute Jerome Walcott into the position of Chairman of the BLP but Mia still ainโ€™t going away.

Mia in the eyes of this writer is in the โ€œcatbird seatโ€, just biding her time until the universe unfolds as it should.

I even heard that her favourite song is โ€œTime is on my sideโ€

Poor Owen

33. @David | September 14, 2011 at 6:12 PM |
    “@Truthman. The point is not whether Mascoll worked his butt off, there was a swing and to cap it his parliamentary colleaguest like the gang of 5 decided to throw their support behind Thompson.
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    Hi David, I just got back in, and I am catching up on the postings while I was away.

Your evasive response above is pathetic!

34. @obediant | September 14, 2011 at 9:31 PM |
    “@Burthon. Are you serious that there was not massive corruption under the last administration?
    You dont live in barbados. Tell the parties to work together to get the intergity legislation passed before the next election.”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    First of all “Obediant”, the correct spelling of your name is “OBEDIENT.” I really should not be in discussion with anyone on this blog, who is so stupid that they repeatedly spell their name wrong, even after being corrected!

Now … Come back and talk to me about corruption after you ask your George Street gang to declare HOW MANY MILLIONS of CLICO’S Policy Holders’ Money was plied into the DLP coffers over the years.

35. @Adrian Hinds | September 14, 2011 at 9:20 PM |
    “@Truthman. In the scenario he paints with St.James north; it is not only the current representativeโ€™s blessing he must garner; he must also be accepted by the branch, the party faithful and be seen canvassing the constituency so that voters can be informed in their decision to consider him, what is he doing to encourage anyone to look to him for representation at the local level?”
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Adrian, I hate to think of you as being a politically dumb, rattlebrained “CORNWELL.”

So you think that Clyde Mascoll should actively canvass St.James North, even when the incumbent has made no declaration as to whether he will be a candidate in the next General elections?

36. That should have been “candidate or not”

37. Just asking for what ? Avatar
    Just asking for what ?

Kerrie Symmonds acting as Truthman Burton you are going from bad to worse, nothing you are writing is of any value or sense, you are looking childish and immature, is that what you want to known as ?

38. @Truthman

Your response was predictable.

39. To Truth Man Burton:
    Ease up on Obediant, please. When he gets his bright analysis going again, he shall deal with you.

40. Most people on this blog, and I daresay, in this country have misjudged Owen Arthur’s motives for taking over the reins of the Opposition. I will therefore give you my take rather than tell it to the US Embassy.

Arthur does not really want to be Prime Minister again: he wants to deny that opportunity to Miss Mottley. You would remember that it was Arthur who manoeuvred her to leadership positions in this country. He had time to observe her, and in so doing he has come to the conclusion that she is unfit to be leader of this country. The problem is that Arthur has not taken the people of this country into his confidence as to the reasons for his drastic about turn on Mottley other than to hint about her alleged lifestyle, whatever that is.

Arthur has therefore taken on the role of protector and saviour of this society, and based on his intimate knowledge of Miss Mottley, he has come to the conclusion in his mind that she is bad for the country. However, I would prefer if Arthur reveals his position to the public and let us judge the facts and come to our own conclusions.

From my own personal observations and limited knowledge, it is clear that Arthur thinks that Mia is more unfit to lead this country than he is.

41. Caswell
    I could not agree with you more. I guess rather than let Barbados know the facts about his decision Mr Arthur is holding all the heat.

42. All those who expect (or are counting on) a divided BLP going into the next election, will be disappointed. Just wait and see. Meanwhile…seems like some trouble is brewing in the DLP camp. Will Abed have to resign from the DLP as he has threatened, or will the DLP leadership do the right thing and give him his due?

43. OBEDIANT AND NOT OBEDIENT Avatar
    OBEDIANT AND NOT OBEDIENT

@TRUTHMAN

A DROWNING MAN WILL CATCH AT A STRAW, I CAN SPELL HOW I WANT. THAT IS THE NAME I WANT, NOT U WANT ME TO WANT, STUPID. PERHAPS THE BLP GOT MOST OF IT ELECTION FUNDS OUT OF CLICO’S COFFER. HOW ABOUT THAT.

@LEMUEL

i AM QUITE CAPABLE AND COMPETENT TO DEAL WITH YOU AND TRUTHMAN, NEED NO SYMPATHY FROM YOU.

44. OBEDIANT AND NOT OBEDIENT Avatar

@lEMUEL

sMaLl ThInGs amuses small minds. Since your mind is small,anything will amuse you. I am sure mia will make minced meat of you and your thinking in an open forun.

@Enuff

you still living,

45. OBEDIANT AND NOT OBEDIENT Avatar

@caswell

come better than that.

46. @Truthman
    So wuh happen that you ready to cuss me? You want tuh meet me someway and cuss me to my face over a beer? Lol!

Was there not canvassing in St.James north from other BLP hopefuls? Is there not support from the branch for someone else? Yes the current representative intentions are not quite settle, yet someone โ€“apparently not Mascoll- who is truly interested in representing the constituency and is from the same party, would inform the current holder of office of their intention should they โ€“current holder- ultimately decide not to remain and run. There is no excuse and this is why Mascollโ€™s comment is so offensive. Who does Mascoll think he is????? That a constituency must be a good fit for him?

@Caswell
    Owen does not need to be any clearer than he was in his UWI speech, now that wikileaks has corroborated the reason via Kramer per Philip Goddard. To attempt to โ€œlevelโ€ with the people as you insist would be to risk being viewed as a boldfaced liar. More recently he and the Arthur faction in the BLP told us that it was his economics background โ€“given the current times- that led the BLP parliamentary team to rescind their confidence/loyalty in Mia and repose the same in Arthur; they also told said, โ€œher time will come.โ€ In addition, Arthur clearly told Mia that the BLP needs her. How does he now come and tell us something else?

47. @Caswell Franklyn | September 15, 2011 at 9:06 AM | Arthur has therefore taken on the role of protector and saviour of this society, and based on his intimate knowledge of Miss Mottley, he has come to the conclusion in his mind that she is bad for the country. However, I would prefer if Arthur reveals his position to the public and let us judge the facts and come to our own conclusions.
    ========================
    But you write with such certainty that one would think you already know all the details as to why Owen changed his mind about Mia. Owen said he didn’t believe she could lead the party to victory in next election because public image is not favourable in the eyes of the electorate, and he wants to ensure victory especially with the economic crisis that developed. That seems to make sense to me since Mia really does have some image problems that many people (especially male voters) take issue with.

48. Zack & Obediant

Politicians need to come out and tell the whole truth: they would be respected, instead we often see them trying to protect the party’s image.

I happen to have intimate knowledge of the BLP, but it is not my place to reveal things that I learned when we were on good terms. Sometimes, I might have disagreed but turned a blind eye for the “good of the party”. I can assure you that Arthur can reveal things that might give the country reason to pause.

Just an example of how politicians only tell half truths. Zack you wrote, “Arthur clearly told Mia that the BLP needs her”. What Arthur really wanted to tell Mia is the BLP needs her to shut up and keep quiet.

49. @David, “OBEDIENT” (correct spelling), Adrian, Just Asking For What, and all the others ……….
    ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
    I am really enjoying this. I have riled up you guys so much, and now I’ve got you all gunning for me. Listen up Fellows; I am the ultimate teflon guy …. I can take a punch and get back up! My rope-a-dope Muhammed Ali style will wear you out, and then I will deliver the knock-out punch!

Now to this TAN ABED thing. I thought that that “Freundel Bear Hug”, had solved the whole issue of discontent down in Christ Church West. And please note Adrian, that the Branch Secretariat is FIRMLY behind Abed. I also note that the Bourgeois fellow, Greaves, one of those mulatto shadows that conspired to shamefully oust Clyde, is shadowing his niece Verla, as he conspires YET ONE MORE TIME, to oust Tan. This is clearly a DLP thing.

@Adrian …… No thanks, I don’t drink beer
    @ “OBEDIENT” (correct spelling) …… Talk sense to a fool and he calls you foolish. I am also aware that brilliance is typically the act of an individual, but incredible stupidity can usually be traced to an organization ….. You a DLP member?

50. If only ordinary Barbadians knew what happen away from the glare of the public.

If Taan Abed resigns what will be the fallout if any?