Former Chairman of the NAB and BLP Supporter

At a time when the country is crying out for serious politics; serious and sober policies and a Team that knows what to do, we are hearing about: “A Kadooment Budget!’ But Barbadians must reflect on the wise counsel of National Hero, the Rt. Excellent, E.W Barrow – who cautioned in his ‘Mirror Image Speech,’ ‘not to let politician bribe you with your own money.’

Even at a time when the DLP is making reference to the Standard & Poor’s (S&P) Report and telling the country that it is on top of things and that the economy is sound – we are hearing that even more Barbadians are going on the bread-line, while still others will be asked to work reduced hours: increasing unemployment and massive under-employment.

Barbadians must therefore guard against accepting political-hush-money and must remember the famous words by Laocoon to the Trojans: “Trojans trust not the horse.  Whatever it be, I fear the Greeks even when bringing gifts.”

That Barbadians will not be called upon to pay higher taxes during the forthcoming Budget and talk about a tax-free budget – is either a realisation that Barbadians are already ‘taxed to the max,’ and could not reasonably be expected to pay anymore or any new DLP taxes or a case of the DLP being trapped by its own propaganda, as regards the recent S&P Report.  How could the DLP use the S&P Report to convince the country that the economy is good and that all is well and then not reduce fees and taxes in an up-coming budget?   However, it would seem that the DLP had not noticed but the entire country was struggling for some time now to avoid dying of thirst and starvation, as a result of its high cost of living and its 60% water increase. That is how you know that the DLP is merely engaging in the “politics of politics,” while people are suffering.

Never in the history of this country have Barbadians been asked to pay such high taxes, as they are now forced to do, under this DLP Government  –  even though (except for keeping a huge DLP Cabinet employed) there is nothing to show for the sacrifice the people are being called upon to make. Already there are reports that some 30,000 might be driving without Road Tax.  People are hurting and are in severe pain, while our society and economy are crumbling under the DLP’s economic whip and dangerous mismanagement.

But, what “ease” could the DLP possibly give Barbadians?  Is it going to reduce the VAT from 17.5%? Is it going to reduce the Excise Tax; give Public Servants upwards of a 3%  increase; reduce the VAT on Electricity Bills as promised; reduce the $104 million in taxes and fees imposed in the 2008 Budget and adjust the Land Tax bands or rate?

Unless the DLP has (a) finally found a way to reduce the high cost of living, as it promised in 2007, (b) decides to resign or call general election or (c) is prepared to roll-back the $104 million in taxes and fees it imposed in its 2008 budget – then there will be ‘no ease’ in its up-coming budget It will just be: “A Gravy-Train Kadooment Budget” intended to serve as a distraction tactic, in the hope that Barbadians  would make the error and say: well things real hard but the Government still giving we an ease!  Barbadians, guard your minds!  “Trojans trust not the horse.  Whatever it be, I fear the Greeks even when bringing gifts.”

That type of old-style-politics has to end.  Still, there are people out there who do not care if Sunday comes on a Tuesday, yet they are making judgments that negatively affect other people’s lives.  It is like a man who speeds on the road and crashed into your car, even though you are a safe driver.  In a way, the DLP is right!  That Barbados is in this economic crisis today (even though – faced with the same global conditions the DLP likes to complain about – the Guyana economy NEVER once went into recession) – is not entirely the DLP’s fault: others have to share the responsibility:  Those who ‘might’ have voted for it based on incentives received and those who gave it campaign contributions.

But while the DLP might not be totally responsible for the mess, as the Government of Barbados – it is ultimately liable. Unfortunately, the DLP does not want to be held accountable and so – it blames the global financial crisis, oil prices, the BLP and everyone but itself.  Let’s get serious!  If the DLP is sincere about wanting to give Barbadians an ease, the only sensible option is to call elections.

18 responses to “Give Barbadians a Real Ease: Forget the Gravy Train Kadooment Budget – Call Elections”

1. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

What the hell am I seeing?

This fraudsters and crook that stole food items that were provided for the poor and the elderly to put in his stores, really has balls to come here and have this rubbish placed here, a man that stole at every opportunity he could get to steal, and he wants to lecture people about honesty in gov’t ? Give me a break from the crap of that imbilcile and idiot.

2. sam cooke and duppy Avatar
    sam cooke and duppy

lol

3. Carson C.Cadogan Avatar
    Carson C.Cadogan

Pooposition Is At Sea

Don’t you know that Barbados Labour Party supporters have no shame?

4. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

Is that Henderson Bovell?

I read your rantings and found nothing from them to stimulate my brain cells, i though i would have read something to massage them, perhaps your hight prevent you from reaching my head to put something on top of it to make me gain something grom your ramblings.

You of all people got the balls to come here and talk about caliing electionss, the govt will do so in its own time and the people of babados will decide whether they want s bunch of quzzlings like you in power.

Short people are normally powerr hungry.

5. You just got to love the politicos, a Kadooment budget indeed!

6. But Henderson was a Dee and a serious one at that before they lose and his economic situation cause him to look far and wide for relieve. He even contacted former Lodge members of the mechanics logde at number 10 sand street (now defunct) seeking a meal ticket in the US. I am not surprise that he found it in the BLP. His partisan bellyaching isn’t about any social conscience, or love of country, it is about Henderson Bovell. The one and only, that former Allyene school mates said was always a selfish concieted little fellow.

In my Barbados politics “memory palace,” an example of a yardfowl is represented by an image of Henderson. He is nothing more than the little tommy tucker of Barbados.

7. This article lack substance and is erroneous to say that only the party in the present government does such things. It must be made clear and constantly repeated, BOTH PARTIES ARE GUILTY OF BUYING VOTES IN THE PAST AND WILL CONTINUE TO BUY VOTES IN THE NEXT ELECTION, unless the electorate understand and know what is the purpose of an election and their vote.
    Need I say it again, the Barbadian electorate are corned beef and biscuit voters so they will go with who give them the best “brand name” corned beef and biscuit. That is the reality of Barbados yesterday, today and tomorrow.

8. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

The swamp creatures (nearly said sewage creatures) from the GEORGE STREET LIE FACTORY came out in full force lastnight ,@11:18 PM with POOP-AT-SEA leading the charge, SAM COOKE AND DUPPY @ 11:18 PM holding centre lane, and @11:53 PM CARSON C. CADOGAN (AKA REUDON EVERSLEY) bringing up THE REAR, a position he LOVES to be in! (Anybody talk to HUMPHREY MERTZEN yet to find out how come Reudon(Carson) was pitch-forked into high position at the Advocate, and subsequently discarded?)

Henderson Bovell bowls them a Charlie Griffith snorter, and instead of playing the ball with a straight bat, or getting out of the way, they come out swinging wild, and cussing.

Oh my …. this mildew, rancid, rank smelling, junk pile of LIARS. Barbados’ first ever one-term government (if my memory serves me right) is on the cards, and they are running scared. The least you can do is to clean up some of the mess before you are thrown out.

9. And vote back in the BLP, TB? Whatever for?

10. @jack spratt | June 18, 2011 at 9:46 AM |

And vote back in the BLP, TB? Whatever for?

Jack Spratt …too much red meat aint good fuh yuh, yuh gine get sick eff yuh continue eating de same bad food all de tyme. A change of diet will help. LOLLLL

11. Take Aim! Fire ! Shoot the messenger like they did in days of old. I am neither B,D or any other thing that the cat has dragged in. The man is saying what most non-blinded non-affiliated Bajans are saying. Enough is Enough.

12. Henderson

Do you have any ethical standards at all? What kind of mirror image do you have of yourself? Do you expect anybody on this blog to take you seriously.

13. Henderson
    You have to be very careful what you wish for. Another election defeat for Owen Arthur with the aid of your friend Mia Mottley.
    Were you one of the persons accused by Owen Arthur of carrying away all the hard drives from the opposition leader office and helping to spend some of the party funds?
    You said Guyana never once went into recession.
    Well they were not encouraged by their leader to have a car in every garage; they did not borrow money for a rainy day and spend it when the sun was shining. Owen Arthur with his policies led this country to the position it is in now. They were not encouraged to live a lie with borrowed money. In fact the Guyanese leader like he encouraged them to migrate to any country in the world and send back foreign exchange to Guyana.
    Mr.Sinckler you are doing a good job but just follow Dr Blackman advice and tell the people of Barbados the truth. Show them that things tight, tight, tight and to stop living that lie that Owen Arthur conveyed.

14. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

All this BS about who did,or who didn’t isn’t helping the Little Man. But for sure it’s hurting him. I am not really into politics. I always thought that it was the biggest con game ever invented to fool the common man. People who are seeking office can come around and shake your hand on the regular, until they get that seat they were trying to get. Then you have to look for them when something needs to be done; I always though elected officials were for the people. But that’s a big joke. It’s about what that person,or persons seem to be able to accomplish,or accumulate for **SELF**; Barbadians needs to make all of them accountable for the things they all do. Show me where my tax dollars are going for a change; Cut back on the number of people who you have for all these different jobs that could be done by one. Try **DOWN SIZING** to save tax payers money. Cut down on the expense accounts that are given to the elected officials. If they are having a problem with that. Then they for dam sure aren’t for the people;

CHANGE in the way things are being done for all these years between these different parties is truly a sad state of affairs that’s not getting any better while money is steadily being borrowed, and squandered. Cut the BS and the lies and **MAN UP** for a change; Finger pointing isn’t cutting it anymore. If you don’t like what’s going on then something has to be done; No one should be above the law. And if some of these elected folks spent sometime behind bars when they have committed a crime against the people. Then others might think twice in doing the same old BS.

15. I support the comments by Charles Cadogan above
    especially the following statement
    “”””””It’s about what that person,or persons seem to be able to accomplish,or accumulate for **SELF**; Barbadians needs to make all of them accountable for the things they all do. Show me where my tax dollars are going for a change”””””””””
    ————————————————
    Bajans got this stupid thing that when they like yuh they like yuh and you can do anything . Bajans got to tell the BLP or DLP when they doing shite whether they are members of the party or not.

Having said that, I think they do at the polls however.
    For example : Both the BEES and DEES were reduced to single digits at one time –BEES 3 BLIND MICE–(who lived together quite well)
    THE DEES—2 BOAR RATS (who could not live in the same old)

16. Dr. Anon - xyz (Hons) Avatar
    Dr. Anon – xyz (Hons)

Robert Lindquist

17. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@CC Senior

I think that I have read somewhere in a blog that you were living over and away, so i wll forgive you for not in tune with things. In an effort to send a message to barbadians, the current government has made a concerted effort to ensure that barbadians contribute for for the services and there was a hue and cry from a lot of barbadians who would spend sometimes over one hundred dollars a month on cell phone bills, purchase the most expensive cell phones and dont think twice about doing that. I dont spend more than $20 a mont on cell phone bills to compensate i took off caller ID and if push come to shub will take off call waiting as well. Barbadians over the years have been encouraged to prsctise conspicous comsumption and wher has it got us. look at the lavish houeses some us either build or aspire to own with the atetndant consequences when something goes wronge ,

What expense account are you talking about? Politicions do not have access to Public Funds, there are not the accounting officers in their ministries. I know that they were given huge allowances, which are nos taxable and i hope that that policy is not reveres even thought the government said that it is only for 18 months. Look at the hue and cry as a result of that action. The private sector was abusing that with consumate ease. I konw where an accountant allowanes were more than his salary. The Governemnt’s effort must be commended to stop this abuse and hall in more taxes.

it is amazing that most barbadains will pay their utility bills regularlyl but when it comes to paying government for its services, what happens. VAT was introduced under the BLP administration and the cureent goverernment inhabited a massive amount of vat owing. This should not be, as vat is borne by the consumer. Clearly the managment systems were/are not functioniong and there has been political involvement in preventing the VAt department from acting in some instances. Similary for water, and land tax to mention a few. Every Tom, Dick and Harry continue tp pressure governemnt continue to pressure the government for wiaver in vat, the selfish tent managers who believe that they are the only ones amaking a contribution to Barbados’ development. Quite recently i read in one of the papers, the president of BHTA calling on government to give tax concessions to barbadains who participate in staycation. What a load of rubbish. Should the consumers be asking for the removal of vat an all activities as they contribute to the econmy as well.

Governemnt has a responsibility to protect the most vunerable in society, but too often the rich and those connnected are the ones who continue to amass wealth. Governemt must reform the the tax structure, look at the mega churches spinging up all over barbados, whould churches be paying taxes on their income and should there be an audited financial statement, i think so.

When governments are forced to make harsh decisions, people who should know better are the first out of the block to score cheap political points. I keep pointing to the reform of the drug service. a lot of mis-information was deliberately fed to the public until the recent town hall meeting put as lie to the misinformation. The government is trying is best to adjust the economy, but in these recessionay times it is difficult and I commend it for not laying off people, hower to cut the wage bill, it should take a policy of attrition, The private sector to must be commended for playing it s part in tryinng to keep its employees on the payroll.

Mr. Stuart you are doing a good job, but you need to talk to the nation on a regular basic and provide a format where journalists can ask wuestions. We barbadians are a sensible people and are cognisant that the chao in the world markets are impacting more on small countires that suffer from material insufficiency.

18. to just only askin- ‘your comment mr stuart is doing a good job’
    enighten me on just one positive thing mister stuart has done to move barbados forward or inadvertently backward since he was acting as primeminister or has been primeminister in his own right. JUST ASKING