Submitted by Rickford Burke
COMMENTARY: ANTHONY WEINER GOES UNDER THE BUS: A distinguished career goes down to defeat by a oligarchic hegemony with a false sense of moral rectitude
President of the New York based Caribbean Guyana Institute for Democracy (CGID) Brooklyn Congressman Anthony Weiner, after lying for several days, last week admitted sending lewd and sexually explicit photos of himself to several women via the Internet. Although reprehensible, his admitted acts do not at this point appear to constitute a crime.
Yesterday, Democratic Party Chair, Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Democratic Leader in the Congress, Nancy Pelosi, used carefully crafted diplomacy to prod his resignation. Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi posited that “Congressman Weiner has the love of his family, the confidence of his constituents, and the recognition that he needs help” …. “I urge Congressman Weiner to seek that help without the pressures of being a Member of Congress.”
Democratic National Committee Chair, Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Fla.) said “the behavior he has exhibited is indefensible and Representative Weiner’s continued service in Congress is untenable.”
It is inconceivable that Pelosi and Wasserman Schultz would make such devastating statements against a colleague; which in essence eclipsed his political career, without initially consulting President Barack Obama, the Leader of the party.
Therefore, their harmonious positions signify (I) an emerging consensus in the Democratic party that Weiner’s conduct is potentially more abhorrent than the public record suggests and (II) there is unanimity amongst the Party’s leadership that he must go, in order to save the image of the party and end the spectacle that has become an unbearable distraction to the Party’s national agenda.
I know Congressman Weiner. He is genuinely a nice human being and an
effective congressman. He has been a “Pit-bull” who has fearlessly fought against republican classism, class-warfare, xenophobia, extremism and hooliganism, and has been an energetic, forceful advocate for the progress agenda.
I believe his conduct was highly inappropriate and that his lies constitute an egregious breach of the public trust, for which some form of sanction, consistent with congressional rules and precedent, is warranted. However, I do not concur that, provided all that he has done is what he has admitted to and what is currently in the public record, he should resign.
After all, the reputation of Republicans who are driving the campaign that is calling for his head stinks to the high heavens. They are unqualified and morally unfit to judge Anthony Weiner. Republican Majority leader of the House of Representatives, Congressman Eric Cantor as well as Republican National Committee Chairman Reince Priebus, have opined that Weiner’s conduct was indefensible and that he must resign immediately. But their sanctimonious postulations are replete with pharisaism and duplicity. Some of the most immoral and criminal acts by Members of Congress have been committed by Republicans.
David Vitter, United States Senator from Louisiana, a Republican, who is not only a hypocrite but a pervert and an admitted criminal who falsely claimed to be a family values republican Senator until he got busted transacting business with a glorified whore, committed prostitution – a serious crime of moral turpitude which can carry jail time and for which an immigrant can be deported, but was allowed to remain in office.
Former Sen. John Ensign, Republican of Nevada, an extramarital affair with a staffer’s wife and his parents allegedly paid a bribe to her husband in exchange for his silence about the sordid affair, after he found out. He later resigned in disgrace for fear of criminal indictments and after polls show his prospect of reelection was impossible.
These incidents of criminal wrongdoing notwithstanding, the leadership of the republican party never called on the perpetrators to resign. They remained silent, and in so doing give complicity to their members’ criminal behavior. So who are they to tell us that Anthony Weiner should resign? The double standard in the Republican party is breathtaking!
Anthony Weiner’s unpardonable sin is apparently his effective campaign against republican fascism, fanaticism and oligarchism. Hence, Republicans are exploiting this scandal for all its worth, and seem bent on drawing blood from Democrats. The distraction created by Republicans has been ruinous to Democrat’s agenda in Congress and pestilential to democratic leaders generally. Consequently, the rug has been pulled from under Weiner’s feet. He is now under the bus and is about to be brutally run over.
The statements by Pelosi and Wasserman-Schultz have severely diminished his stature, completely shattered his integrity and infinitely stymied and crippled his effectiveness as a congressman. They constitute a Congressional “Obituary.” Unless completely exonerated; which he cannot as he has admitted to inappropriate conduct, his continued occupancy of the office of Congressman is unendurable and indefensible.
No wonder he has since announced a leave of absence from the Congress. This portends his pursuit of a gradual strategy to demit office presently.
It is insufferable to watch this spectacle, as the distinguished career of another servant of the people goes down, in a crescendo of deceit, recklessness, hypocrisy and a false sense of moral rectitude, to defeat!
I do not know what all the fuss is about. The man is a wanker and if he gets his kicks from wanking or exhibiting his dick what is wrong with that? To err is human but to be not careful is idiotic. Tiger Woods learnt his lesson, Arnold is learning his; needless to say Bill Clinton learnt his so……….its a trend.No one is pregnant so far there are no known law suits so let Weiner be! His acts does not prevent his job performance.Seems to me given the size of his weiner as outlined in his boxers it stood at attention.A toothpick….just a tooth pick. Nothing to die for!!! LOL!
I agree LOL
What a wanker. Hehehehehehhe
David – I can see why his own party members want him gone. He’s shown very bad judgement, not only in the initial acts, but in lying so foolishly and pointlessly to cover them up. If he had come clean on day 1, and admitted that he’d done these things, the fall-out would have been less.
If he was on a team that I was a part of, I would want him gone too…
@Paul
The man demonstrated very poor judgment and he will no doubt have to pay a price.
What a DICK! Why can’t these POLITICIANS ever learn? Is this a disease? Why are these type of men so STUPID? It is very clear that they are all LIARS until they get cornered. Thanks to the FREE PRESS in the USA that they are exposed. I wonder if and when we will ever see OUR POLITICIANS exposed for their deviancy. POWER POLITICS MONEY and SEXUAL deviancy goes hand in hand. I just love the internet! http://photos.tmz.com/galleries/anthony_weiner_at_the_congressional_gym#tab=most_recent&id=93539
Politicians feel that they are untouchable and they can do whatever they want when in office. We have a long road ahead of us in the Caribbean to rectify this.
The usual ruse “I have gone into treatment”. Treatment for what? For being a low life? Puleeeze. At least they make great fodder for the late night shows. His poor wife…..she didn’t know what type of weiner she married.
u bajans don’t have anything to do…what he does does not have anythng to do with Bim. Get a life pleaseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee. stupesssssssssssssssssssssssssss
@smooth chocolate | June 13, 2011 at 7:05 AM |……. So eff yuh gotta life, What de shoite yuh reading dis fuh?
@smooth chocolate, your comment is a manifestation of insularity at it best. Barbados is a part of the “world,” and hence not an Island that stands alone in isolation therefrom.
@ Islandgal246, I couldn’t have said it better. Your’s is the comment of the day!
American Politics: “Lie To Me”
by Joel S. Hirschhorn
What is the main lesson from the recent fiascos of former Senator John Edwards and Representative Anthony Weiner? If you follow the news shows you saw a number of video clips where each of them had lied many times about what eventually they confessed to, their stupid, sleazy sexual misconduct. As I watched the videos I was amazed how good their lying behavior was, without any hint of their blatant dishonesty in how they looked or sounded. Of course, I was also reminded how terrific a liar Bill Clinton was when he went on television to lie about his sexual misconduct.
As a fan of the TV show Lie To Me where the experts can detect minute physical signs of lying or micro-expressions, I felt that the politicians had developed the talent and skill to lie without giving any sign of it.
Here is what Americans should learn: All elected Democrats and Republicans have succeeded because they are excellent liars and, therefore, not one of them can ever be trusted to be telling the truth.
When you vote for any of these two-party politicians all you are saying is: LIE TO ME.
And when they get elected that is exactly what they will do, and not just about their personal behavior. The larger lesson is that American politicians will also lie effortlessly about public policy and just about everything they have anything to do with
http://globalresearch.ca/index.php?context=va&aid=25244.
Is dat a baton in yuh pocket Weenie baby? Or are yuh jes glad tah see muh?
Dis is one man dat does love swinging oops I mean beating his Baton.
Bonny……BONNY ……..whey yuh is dis mawning?
Typical for a Caribbean politician to stand up for another lying wanker.
The sooner the whole house of cards is shown to be the biggest house of prostitution ever, the better for the USA and for world peace.
Get rid of them all – except Ron Paul is my mantra.
again u Bajans need a life…u have nothing to do…what he does is his business and if he resigns, he will still be in a better financial position than most here. mind ur damn business…he exposing his privates has no effect on barbados.. are u people for real? stupessssssssssssssssssssss, pleasssssssssssssssssssssssssss
AND DON’T WASTE TIME RESPONDING
What this guy Weiner has done is symptomatic of the dearth of leadership which the world and Barbados is suffering.
Here it is you have a married man in a job which is in the public’s eye and he would do this crap?
The learning out of it for Barbados and the wider Caribbean is to ask what higher standards should we hold our politicians.
Is it enough to say they are doing a good job as a politician by divorcing from what they do out side of their office?
@smooth chocolate | June 13, 2011 at 11:03 AM |
AND DON’T WASTE TIME RESPONDING………You IGNORANT piece of cat doo doo…….Why don’t you pay heed to your own advice ?
@DAVID
Ploticians and priests are the same, so what do we do, and who do we elect if they put themselves in positions to be elcetected or chosen.
Leadership is about positional power to be used to influence your folllowers to do what you want done in the business place or in the political sphere, you better believe it. that i why i never looked up to those guys or ladies as role models because we dont know what go on behind closed doors, or in the board rooms where dealing goes on.
I really dont care about what goes on the american political scene any longer, my first introduction to politics with george belle is that politicians are actors, They know that if they put themselves up for election ;that at some point in time some of them will be elected to serve, and i believe in voting so what do we do. politicans in the Caribbean from both divide support one another in their corrupt or promiscuous or immoral behaviour and the electorate as well. Have we seen any politicains get prosecute for corruption in barbados, have we ever seen any polticians that beat they outside women get exposed, have we seen any politician that have children outside of marriage get exposed. So david it will be business as usuals as those things are considered normal in barbados with church leaders too..
@ just only asking | June 13, 2011 at 12:51 PM |
Your closing argument has been well presented.
The situation with Weiner is the same chip that has been going on for eras, it’s just a different day.
I am glad he got caught and I hope he is forced out if he does not resign. If he has such bad judgement in managing his own affairs is he suddenly going to have good judgement in managing the affairs of others? A lot of the same nonsense has to stop here in Barbados also. We currently have a parliamentarian who this year was caught up in a scandal where he too showed singular bad judgement in having an affair with a woman who was charged with a heinous crime. That scandal like many others here has been sweep under the carpet. No wonder we have such bad government in this country. Next election his party will probably again present him for re-election as if nothing happened. Hell yeah!
I have never heard such nonsense. Are we expecting human beings to be angels worse a politician.? People get real and get over yourselves. What the man did was a private affair nobody’s business but his family. We are so obsessed with othe people’s private lives when in fact some of us are just as bad. Because if truth be told the same people who are condeming this gentleman who know what they do behind close door. What about the christian principle of forgiveness that you all preached? The man committed no crime, he raped no one, and was just living out a fantasy. If people are looking for perfect human beings to look up to then they should wait until they get to heaven. Mr Weiner is my congressman and I support him a 100%..
@49 acres
Interested to read your position if for example a social worker is exposed as a domestic abuser but the work record is exemplary – do you believe that social worker should continue in the role as social worker?
Forty acres …..Weiner put those photos out there in the public domain so it is not a private matter. Normal people don’t do that sort of thing or are you saying that type of behaviour is normal?
Every time I click pon dat picture pon dis blog I does get faint an ah got to get muh smellin salts. I wunder eff he aint padding he jockey shorts because it looks like he gotta cannon in dey. LOLLLL Bonny I cahn believe yuh missing out pon dis one!
@40 acres
You are aware that in the Barbados laws there is something referred to as ‘public morals’?
If only every action by a human being on this earth was isolated then we would not have a problem.
How we live our lives at an individual level all comes together to affect the whole eventually.
For a scientist like yourself that maybe a little too wishhy washy (philosophical for your blood :-))
That is what most people don’t grasp.
Islandgal
I rite hay, I in missin out pun nutton really. ta be hones wid ya, I doan get tu cawt up in dese sorta tings. I only sorry dat he in sen me sum a dem pictures dat i could get a ring side view a he. from wah i see, he in look bad a’tall.
and I kinda agree wid 40 mules. He widout sin, pelt de firs rock.
We forma PM breed he secre’try while still marrid n nabody in sah a word. He tun rong n marrid she n get anudda baby. I kun believe all de hullabalooo bout secon child dat was ‘still-born’.He life din squeaky kleen needa. Now bajans comin ta ridicule Weiner.Wunna-all had laryngitis when de forma PM did playin ‘Village ram”? Evva body now wannna kill Weiner. Bill resign when de get ketch wid Lewinsky? He did denying um at firs too. Ya doan expeck a man ta admit upfront bout dem tings. He would hope dat um blow over n he escape de gallows. Human natur, I guess.
Weiner n he wife would sort out dem bizniss.Leh de ded bury dem ded. Site?
I would like ta see sum a dem same pics wid Obama. I would dribble alll ova he.
Bonny yuh tink Obama gine do sumting like dat? Lawdy loh Michelle will hang him by he gonads. Nuhbody bout hey gine talk publicly bout dees politicians bout hey but every body know dem business. If only we had some journalist with some balls.
Islandgal
Obama in gotta do um in public. He could hold a party jus fa two. Michelle cannnnn kno evryting dat he do n vice-versa.
De journalist kno who ballz ta pull dah is all.
But honestly, i doan really k wah dese peeple do but doan cry dong one n upliff de udda. Rong is rong, regardless ta who doin um.
A lotta dese politicians, local, regional n inta-national is a unscrupulous lot so i doan lose na sleep ova dem nor nutton dem say or do. A lotta women jus leh dem use dem in exchange fa material gain. Money does mek de mayor fly. True dat.
@ David. Matters of heterosexual indiscretion, fantsy etc between grown people is just not on my moral radar.Mr Weiner is a legislator , what does is sexual fantasy got to do with his job as a legislator?. If the guy was involved in domestic abuse, rape, corruption then that would be a diffrent matter because all those stuff are illegal.
@IslandGal. Dearest sweety, you are right he compromised himself by publishing all those pic online. But you know what, even then I refused to join in this online voueryism. But that’s just me. People sexual private lives just dont interest me .
Al least Obama is showing more common sense on this issue than our resident mule:
“In an exclusive interview with TODAY’s Ann Curry that will air on Tuesday’s show, President Barack Obama said that if he were Democratic Congressman Anthony Weiner right now, he would resign in the wake of the scandal in which Weiner admitted to sending explicit photos of himself to women online.
“I can tell you that if it was me, I would resign,’’ Obama told Curry.
Weiner has been the talk of the nation since he was caught sending lewd photos of himself to various women on multiple social media platforms, prompting the head of the Democratic National Party to call for him to step down and House Democratic leader Nancy Pelosi to demand an ethics committee investigation.
“When you get to the point where, because of various personal distractions, you can’t serve as effectively as you need to, at the time when people are worrying about jobs, and their mortgages, and paying the bills — then you should probably step back,’’ Obama said.”
http://today.msnbc.msn.com/id/43385259/ns/today-today_news/
Hypocrisy of all Hypocrisy! are these the same Democrats that supported Bill Clinton sexual exploits with Monica Lewinsky. Don’t make me laugh. ! stupeseeeee!
@ David. My brother, Come on man. Are we still living in a 19th century victorian puritanical society.? And back then sexual scandal was not scarce. Why then the law didnot not apply to the former PM when he impregnated is secretay as Bonny Peppa alluded to.Daivd the truth of the matter is that if that law was to be fully applied in Barbados only a very few would get elected . My friend, If the night could turn to day you would be surprised to see a lot of people “swimming naked” .The weakness for the flesh, has been since time immemorial, the biggest downfall for a lot of powerful men. It will never end. That’s why I donot put peple on pedestal or view them as role model.
Personally for me, I know I love women and getting married was not fair for me or the woman. Because I view monogamy as unnatural as homosexuality but that’s another issue. Therefore I decided in order to live a truthful, peaceful and uninhibited sexual lifestyle I choose not to get married.
@40 acres
You being single does bring back memories and you are correct not to cross the line until you are ready.
Is it not strange how we use the circular argument not to throw stones at glass houses?
We all do wrong but does it mean that we don’t try to establish standards which allow for creating ‘order’.
waait ………forty acres and a mule yuh is a village ram? an yuh available?
I got sum sheep to inseminate how much yuh charging?
@ Bonny. you are funny. Forty is no village ram but I am a man that from the get go decided to make my life a open book on sexual matters in dealing with members of the opposite sex. A lot of women can’t deal with my honesty but that’s all good. Less headache for me. My father was the typical caribbean village ram he had 8 kids on three different Island. I have only one grown child on my own so you see Islandgal I am not a vilage ram I just love the variety of life.
Fortyacres and a mule. | June 13, 2011 at 8:40 PM |
Dem say de apple doan fall too far from de tree sooooo be careful. I hope yuh good looking too and not some bugly Methuselah. good nite ah gone!
to rickford burke- the references in your comments about the role of the republicans in mr weiner’s impending demise are dishonest. mr weiner’s problem is not with the republican’s but with his own party. calls for his resignation have been made by the hierarchy of his own party not by the republicans. your comments might have been more apt if you had posited your comments to reflect the hypocrisy of the leadership of the democratic party in dealing with mr weiner’s misdemeanour as opposed to the support they gave to president clinton who lied to the country for a whole year about his relationship with miss lewinsky and is still held in high esteem. like you , i do not think mr weiner’s behaviour is as reprehensible as that of president clinton’s.
@ ruth arnetta, obviously you did not read my comments regarding republicans or your ability to discern and interpret said comments is gravely encumbered. As I have said, Republicans wee the ones driving the call for his resignation from day one. I quoted the two most vocal ones. They are the ones that have made it into a national distraction. The democratic leadership feels that the conduct of the source of the distraction, which the republicans are exploiting – Weiner, is indefensible and thus in the interest of party have called on him to step down. As`President Obama’s Press Secretary, Jay Carney, said Monday “the continuing scandal surrounding Weiner is a distraction from important national business,” What is dishonest therefore, is your intentionally distorted and jaundiced analysis of my comments.
From JOHN EDWARDS (former PREZ. nominee) to ARNIE* (“I’ll be back”) The Governator* to IMF Head Honcho STRAUSS-KHAN to WEINER (can’t keep his “WILLY” in his trousers) PORNO*buff – ALL THESE “KNUCKLEHEADS” HAVE BEEN DRUNK ON THE MOST POWERFUL INTOXICANT KNOWN TO MAN – “power”…
Read more from my tweet-peep & friend Alaina LOVE*…
http://www.washingtonpost.com/national/on-leadership/the-intoxication-of-power/2011/06/13/AGwI35SH_story.html
I cannot help but ask, will Lowdown see fit to comment on the how a Weiner should behave in public life?
Sorry…..
Quote’Yesterday, Democratic Party Chair, Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz and Democratic Leader in the Congress, Nancy Pelosi, used carefully crafted diplomacy to prod his resignation. Minority Leader Nancy Pelosi posited that “Congressman Weiner has the love of his family, the confidence of his constituents, and the recognition that he needs help” …. “I urge Congressman Weiner to seek that help without the pressures of being a Member of Congress.”
Democratic National Committee Chair, Congresswoman Debbie Wasserman Schultz (Fla.) said “the behavior he has exhibited is indefensible and Representative Weiner’s continued service in Congress is untenable.””’
——
Please forgive me but…
That Mr.Weiner was a Member of congress, said Member then being prodded to resign, thereby said Weiner no longer being of service in Congress, is distinctly amusing.
Ruth arnette you are so right. when one compares the disgusting reprehensible act by Bill clinton to mr, weiner posting his dumb as..s naked butt on the internet there is no comparison. The man should be reprimanded . I f bill clinton could keep his job after bringing disgrace to the highest office. Why shouldn’t weiner keep his job. Bunch hypocrites.
40 acres
LOL. ya in gettin marrid becausen ya tink dat monogamy is unnatural nah?I agree wid you causen I feel dat polyandry should be allowed bout hay. Dat way you cud be my secunt husban. Negroman is numba one , as you shud kno by now. LOLL
Ya tu bad 40 acres but I luv ya badddddddddddd. smoochhhhhhhhh.
ya in lie. Bill did phoopin dah lil young ting mornin, noon n befo he ga sleep pun a nite. Weiner only expose he weiner. I wood like ta see he weiner too. I got ‘cock-eyes’ ya kno. LOLL
SOME HOW when I see the words –smooth chocolate , I think of ” shite’
yeah its true !
uh huh !
yeah !
Look back next time you are on the throne people and see if what you see does not look like –smooth chocolate–
@Tina Turnover LOLLL….smooth choclick wouldn’t like dat at all. Yuh talking bout milk choclick or dark choclick? RFLMAO
Tina Roach
SOME HOW when I see the words – tina roach, I does tink of a cunny.
yeah it’s true. fa real. a real real cunny.
what says you now?
Bonny give Tina Turnover a break nuh ……..she trying real hard…… she try cussing in patois the other day and had me laughing.
O.K. Girls be nice to oneanother. Share de love! I be watching and reading all the woman comments. You know you girlsmake make more sense than de men. So show support fuh one another. No more cat fighting! de guys like that when we fight! I be watching! Hi Tina ! Hi smoth Chocolate! be good! Bony and island girls keep dishing it out ty to avoid infighting with de sisters!
Hate to spoil the day of the forty mules on the acre but this just in: http://bcove.me/5y59gqsv
Why did it take so long?
What a twitt!
Weiner’s 4-minute resignation speech in its entirety http://wapo.st/juRae7
What a twitt!….What a dick!
and to think Bill clinton remained PRESIDENT OF THE UNITED STATES. after Monica Lewinsky suckedon his cigar in the Oval OFFICE ! HA! HA! HA!> What a bunch of Hypocrites
to rickford burke- people like you masquerading as columnists and rater than educating the public with unbiased analysis but distorting the truth to push your own agendas should hang themselves in shame. the ones pushing the agenda for the resignation of mr weiner were miss pelosi and miss wasserman , leading members of the the democratic party, if you are vnot aware, the party of slavery who up to 1960 were opposed to meaningful civil rights legislation.
to ruth arnetta: “Flush it”
to rickford- you are so right, so-called commentators like you who set out to mislead an uninformed public do need flushing down the toilet with the garbage and filth you write..