A reliable source has advised that an aspiring politician nominated to run in the East is to be charged for the disappearance of BDS500,000 shortly. Barbados Today is the only media outlet to date to have carried the story as far as BU is aware which raises the issue of freedom of the press in Barbados. The matter is not yet sub judice which is the ‘crutch’ traditional media often uses to explain its silence on stories the public has a right to know.

Here is a quote from a note circulating on email which BU intercepted:

“More and more it appears that for the Barbadian public to be well informed on current affairs they seem to have to turn to Blog Sites and Barbados Today for those big news stories.

I heard since Friday last week about the case of the missing money at Sagicor – only $500,000.00 of it – but I am yet to see a single mention of this news breaker story published by the Nation or carried on VOB. I seriously wonder how this could have failed to capture their attention, or did it capture their attention but set aside hoping and wishing for it to go away ? Then again some are so busy trying to elevate certain characters that the real news slides by them. It is with interest and I will wait to see if either the Nation or VOB set about reporting the story to the public as they ought to do.

I eagerly await Mr Price’s same energy in reporting this story (with the names of all the players involved), as he has applied to his most recent forays into journalism and his writings on the lack of health care.

The players are known to all and sundry in this theft and I will wait to see if their names make it into either the Nation or VOB.”

The vigilance of the public is needed now more than ever. Some in the traditional media question why social media is gaining momentum? Here is another reason.

138 responses to “Politician Could Be Charged Shortly With The Disappearance of $500,000.00”

1. Carson C – A — DOG –
    The next date for the END OF THE WORLD IS October 11, 2011.

My name is Roach
    not Camping.
    Some of you are real cunts in truth though !
    I came here and I commented on what a lot of people worldwide were talking about just like a CNN news person would do and from then on you all asking me cunt bout END OF THE WORLD/

WHERE DID I SAY THAT I BELIEVE UM
    Man yuh all worse than fucking lil children

2. Carson C – A — DOG –
    The next date for the END OF THE WORLD IS October 11, 2011.

My name is Roach
    not Camping.
    Some of you are real c–ts in truth though !
    I came here and I commented on what a lot of people worldwide were talking about just like a CNN news person would do and from then on you all asking me
    c—-t bout END OF THE WORLD/

WHERE DID I SAY THAT I BELIEVE UM
    Man yuh all worse than FRIGGING lil children

3. sam cooke and duppy Avatar
    sam cooke and duppy

truthman burton is probably raquel gilkes or one of those other fat, vile blp bloggers.

4. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Owen walking with a stick???

He had the stick at a funeral at St. Peter’s Tuesday.

Someone was heard to say, that he said he had a pinched nerve and someone at the gathering replied that should not be a problem for him to fix with all the money he thief he could buy a solution or buy a new back or thief one, but the other persom lamented that it would be impossible to find one that was a crooked as his is, another was heard to say that he could drink the Pain of his back and Pain of the Party away all with a few bottles of his Eternal Saviour And Friend ESAF White.

5. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

When one looks at the back page of Barbados Today it strikes a very sad picture to view two crooks in a warm embrace, guess each one maybe saying to the other catch me if you can,

Smith to Owen, Owen I know you have accumulated more than $ 25 Mill but I coming at you with haste I am at in excess of $ 2 Mill and counting and growing, or it was growing until Sagicor open their eyes and halted his advance..

http://www.barbadostoday.bb/launch.aspx?referral=other&pnum=&refresh=m18QD2o01fC6&EID=3b6919f0-4cab-44a5-8b26-da30435f19b5&skip=true

6. The Barbados Today has made the connection between Roger Smith, who has been suspended from Sagicor and the withdrawal from the St. Philip West nomination for the BLP.

Of course Barbadians will now want to make certain inferences.

A reminder that all that has been discussed is ALLEGED to have been done.

7. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

@sam cooke and duppy | June 10, 2011 at 10:19 PM |

“truthman burton is probably raquel gilkes or one of those other fat, vile blp bloggers.”

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

“sam cooke and duppy”, “pooposition is at sea” , “Carson Reudon Eversley Cadogan”, “just only asking”, “ryan” .

What an odd bunch of garbage and carrion peddlers!! I challenge anybody to go back through their postings on this blog, and then tell me if you don’t shudder at the ,disgusting,horrible, intolerable level of discourse that these imbeciles, these morons bring to this forum. Their contributions all seem so similar, it is manifestly clear this bunch is really a cloned organism operating out of the LIE FACTORY at George Street.

One thing I know, same person or not ….dey all frightened!

8. I find it passing strange that he would all of a sudden withdraw from the political race. Information on the ground in St. Philip west was that he was licking cork up there. Spending money like crazy and really buying his way into the home and hearts of the constituents. People were afraid that he was going to give the doc a hard time because of the preceived clout.

One must really stop to analyze the sudden withdrawal without much explanation. I hope these personal reasons would not affect his presence in the constituency. The relationships which he was building would suffer for it. Further, this is really strange and unexpected. It is almost like a man who fell off a precipice and we are left to wonder, did he jump or was he pushed.

Giving the on going battle for power within his party I am wondering if he was a sacrificed political pawn. Sacrified to exposed the queen or lead to the checkmate of the king. When you look at it closely, he was more closely linked to the queen. Did the King play a master stroke to replace her pawn with one of his.

9. sam cooke and duppy Avatar
    sam cooke and duppy

seems like we have touched truthman burton’s bee button, tell me truthman did you receive any of the stolen sagicor money? and if so how much did you take?

10. Colourless Kaleidoscope Avatar
    Colourless Kaleidoscope

Bwahahah.. Where there is a WILL there surely is a WAY. BLP complained about not having enough money so the Mighty Roger Smith, in an attempt to gain favour in the eyes of the drunkard, stepped up to the plate and did the most sickening act in the corporate world- embezzled the funds of the reputed Sagicor general.

The BLPs campaign materials should be SEIZED as they are proceeds of an act of crime, The house in St. Philip want foreclosing and the Kia Cerato want confiscating!

Imagine if these dirty brutes were in power!!! In government and out, teefing is all they seem capable of doing.

11. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Colourless Kaleidoscope it certainly is their claim to fame, having been involved in nearly a $ 1 Million dollars in cost overruns in every project they molested, ask Mottley she molested a few projects herself.

12. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Your funds written to Sagicor could be part of Roger Smith’s collections, so you may have assisted him in paying the $ 200 .00 for the Fours stuck in his sponsored cricket match or the $ 10,000.00 prize money for the Karaoke competition

13. @ Pooposition

It was nearly $1 billion dollars. Don’t let people like Truthman Burton accuse you of trying to mislead the public by spreading propaganda.

Wow those are some big prizes. Lord the people will miss that. On his way to becoming another Alan Standford. He was the only person who paid out such lavish sums in cricket.

14. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@@sam cooke and duppy | June 10, 2011 at 10:19 PM |

“… Their contributions all seem so similar, it is manifestly clear this bunch is really a cloned organism operating out of the LIE FACTORY at George Street.”

i know for a fact that “just only asking” does not belong to a political party but strongly identifies with the DLP. don’t put everyone in the same barrel just because it SEEMS that their comments are similar.

on another note, not having read all previous comments yet, i am thinking that this guy who dropped out of the race is the same person who has been suspended from sagicor for that money missing. i read in other news previously that someone seeking a seat in the same constituency, was handing out money etc, so, i can only come to the conclusion that if it looks like a duck, quacks like a duck, and waddles like a duck, then it must a fowl. why go to those lengths to get a seat? it must be that he knows that untold riches from the poor man’s purse, lies ahead for any who secures any seat in the Barbados parliament

15. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@Pooposition Is At Sea | June 10, 2011 at 11:55 PM |
    “When one looks at the back page of Barbados Today it strikes a very sad picture to view two crooks in a warm embrace, guess each one maybe saying to the other catch me if you can,”

u should change that pseudonym…it seems offensive but as to ur comments..lolololololololololololololololol

16. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@Rose Art | June 8, 2011 at 10:35 AM |
    @ Pooposition Is At Sea

” Either a party pratices corruption or not, so far neither is immune from corruption…You seem concerned about who practices more corruption than the other rather …This is a one term Government’

i agree with ur sentiments. i’ve lived long enough to see corruptions in each party but this time around, it seems so much worse. my fear is that because bajans cannot let go of the B or D, we would not give another new party the chance to prove that they could come with fresh and new ideas that would completely change this country around.

we want a party that would mandate that:
    1. No foreigner can purchase land in barbados or that if land the bajan buys cost $10, then the foreigner must pay $100 for the same property. (This was done in the 17th Barbados, when it was mandated that no black man must have more than the white, so if land was valued at $10, the black had paid $100, one reason the whites in barbados today own so much).
    2. A party that would really look after not only the poor but those who work for $3000 – $4000 and could borrow money at $4% to buy property or fulfill some economic need. ( this group always fall the cracks).

3. A party that would give the owners of second-hand business/re-conditioned cars a fair chance of competing with simpson motors etc.These big companies can bring in cars and not pay duty on them until the car is sold. but the small dealer MUST pay duty UP FRONT or forget about it. This is pure ‘UNFAIRNISM’ and DEAD WRONG for any government

4. A party that would ensure that single moms get their child support by garnishing the father’s pay etc.

5. A party would ensure that Personnel Administration Division appoint people to post on an equal basis – not because of friendship, political affiliation or somebody sleeping with somebody.

6. Really and truly remove VAT from food items. Give pensioners food vouchers.
    THE IMPOSSIBLE DREAM

just a few of things that could be put right with a new party

17. Colourless Kaleidoscope Avatar
    Colourless Kaleidoscope

The 14 years of BLP tenure have significantly changed the culture of this country. They encouraged reckless lifestyles and overindulging. Namely overeating, excessive drinking of alcohol and spending (and borrowing) large sums of money on unnecessary items. The worst of all being encouraging people to live like there is no tomorrow. Now, that the ‘tomorrow’ has come, people are blaming others for their actions in the past.

The BLP set the tone, reckless spending, cost overruns, embezzlement. Now that the public has started to follow that standard, they can sit and laugh and attribute the blame to somebody. Life is a continuum, it is a good thing that we have the DLP to show us the light and restore hope for the disillusioned, stamping out corruption and steadying the ship.

18. Who ever runs on the BLP ticket in wake of Roger Smith it will be messy for them.

On can expect a distrustful and unforgiving electorate.

19. The 14 years of BLP tenure have significantly changed the culture of this country. They encouraged reckless lifestyles and overindulging. Namely overeating, excessive drinking of alcohol and spending (and borrowing) large sums of money on unnecessary items. The worst of all being encouraging people to live like there is no tomorrow. Now, that the ‘tomorrow’ has come, people are blaming others for their

THE ABOVE BY ‘Colourless Kaleidoscope ‘| ON June 11, 2011 at 12:58 PM | IS THE BIGGEST AMOUNT OF SHIT EVER WRITTEN ANYWHERE AT ANYTIME BY ANYBODY
    Colourless Kaleidoscope —>| YOU NEED A HEAD EXAMINATION !

20. Every time someone criticise this government about something done wrong, the DLP yardfowls are ready to talk about something the former government also did wrong. We’re FULLY aware of what the former government did wrong, that’s why they were changed, the DLP promised us a party for change not one to make the same mistakes the former party made.

21. just only asking Avatar
    just only asking

@Scout

Erick Williams is known to have said to understand the present, you have to go back to the past.

You know what the current administration is doing wrong, tell the bloggers what you consider your adminisration did wrong.

People are paying a premiun for yard fowls the world over. It is your view that the administration is doing something wrong. That is a figment of your imagination.LOL.l

22. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

David | June 11, 2011 at 5:48 PM | Who ever runs on the BLP ticket in wake of Roger Smith it will be messy for them.

David it is not limited to St Philip West Either, the unforgiving electorate will be well reminded about the BLP’s track record of being the most corrupt Gov’t to rule Barbados since the 30 th November 1966, without any challengers or without any doubt the most corrupt bunch of thieves the public put there turst and confidence in and look what they did with that trust and that confidence.BLEW IT AWAY.

Colourless Kaleidoscope it certainly is their claim to fame, having been involved in nearly a $ 1 Million dollars in cost overruns in every project they molested, ask Mottley she molested a few projects herself.

23. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

the Scout ,
    Your defence is childish and simplistic, some would suggest that you maybe more sensible and moreneducated than that of your post, the BLP have a bad a very bad track record and they will be hammered despite your protestations and your pleads to ease them.

David | June 11, 2011 at 5:48 PM | Who ever runs on the BLP ticket in wake of Roger Smith it will be messy for them.

David it is not limited to St Philip West Either, the unforgiving electorate will be well reminded about the BLP’s track record of being the most corrupt Gov’t to rule Barbados since the 30 th November 1966, without any challengers or without any doubt the most corrupt bunch of thieves the public put there turst and confidence in and look what they did with that trust and that confidence.BLEW IT AWAY.

24. Investigative reporting at Nationnews.( Hellhole”)

25. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Hants, You are absolutely correct, absolutely correct Nation News is a waste of paper.

26. David it is not limited to St Philip West Either, the unforgiving electorate will be well reminded about the BLP’s track record of being the most corrupt Gov’t to rule Barbados since the 30 th November 1966,

THIS IS ONE OF THE BIGGEST LIES IN THE HISTORY OF BLOGGING

THE DLP WON AN ELECTION ON TELLING LIES —AND THE LIES CONTINUE………………

BUT LIES WILL NOT HELP THE DLP THIS TIME AROUND
    I AM TIRED WITH THIS GOVERNMENT—THE TINKERING , THE EXCUSES, THE YARDFOWLS. THE LIARS—

HEALTHCARE, CROP OVER, CHIEF JUSTICE, 17.5% VAT, OIL PRICES, IMMIGRATION MATTERS , DONVILLE INNISS ALL HAVE THE SAME THING IN COMMON–ALL ARE IN TROUBLE

I DEDICATE ADRIAN CLARKE’S SONG ABOUT STUART TO ALL THE DLP YARDFOWLS EVERYWHERE

27. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

JEROME WALCOTT IS IT NOT FUNNY YOU CHOOSE TO CALL YOURSELF TINA ROACH ????

Now we have no doubt of where you really stand on the matter Man Versus Woman issue.

The old people always would say if crab don’t walk crab don’t get food, and it was intersting among a circle of friends this revelation came to the fore, keep it up Tina Walcoxtt.

28. It’s a sad day in Barbadian politics when we’re looking for the leaders who are teh least corrupt, as opposed to the leaders with integrity. God help us.

29. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

Quitting of Smith shocks
    printshare0 comments Roger Smith. (FP)
    By Mike King | Sun, June 12, 2011 – 12:06 AM
    Roger Smith’s exit as a candidate for St Philip West has come as a “comprehensive shock” to political leader of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP), Owen Arthur.

Smith, a Sagicor insurance executive, has written the party, withdrawing as a candidate for “personal reasons”.

The sudden resignation was reportedly accepted by the BLP’s national executive council Wednesday night.

“It comes as a great shock,” the Opposition Leader said yesterday.

“He is a young man with a family and there is no graceful way to have to go through these things in public life, but that is what it is. The party will have to go on.”

30. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@Tina Roach | June 10, 2011 at 9:50 PM |
    “..I came here and I commented on what a lot of people worldwide were talking about just like a CNN news person would do and from then on you all asking me
    c—-t bout END OF THE WORLD…WHERE DID I SAY THAT I BELIEVE UM”

when u kept posting that crap, ur actions dictated that u believed it fool…u are acting like someone confused with their identity and if u are that ugly, unmannerly gorrillafant, jerome walcott, then i can understand

31. @Truthman Burton………..Let me doubt my lying eyes and tell myself that the (Truthman…?) would never spit in the air ,then let it fall in his face.Are you not guilty of the very practise of which you accuse Mrs.Richards? You told this site that Carson C. Cadogan was none other than Ruedon Eversley,and then on a William Duguid like tirade you blasted this person from here to hell and back. Challenged by me to tell all about Mr.Eversley, and the circumstances that brought him from a comfortable seat at the Advocate to the unemployment line,all I got was a promise to get back to me. Remember our spat as it related to that creep O’brien Trotman ? Just about that same time when challenged about the veracity of the holy fraud,the very faked Harold Crichlow, you promised to get back to me with evidence to bolster your claim.Lets forget the creep and the fraud(not you scout) for the passage of father time shall prove kinder to their souls than the God of this universe .Show us Truthman that you are not like Mrs.Richards.Show us that you Truthman, is quite unlike Carson. Show us all by answering the simple question of how Reudon Eversley came to be on the bread line ? Let sleeping dogs lie,we were always told.Had they done such perhaps C B C would have been just a pipe dream, and not your party’s nightmare.

32. when u kept posting that crap, ur actions dictated that u believed it fool…u are acting like someone confused with their identity and

SO you came to a conclusion based on the above
    tut ! tut !

33. To call you ‘ SMOOTH CHOCOLATE’ an ASS would be an insult to an l ASS

I dont like the idea of getting

34. We now live in a political climate where truth and falsehood are indistinguishable.This is the new politics and can be applied to Fruendel’s Barbados.Yes the political climate has changed,but the question is when did that change occur.One begins to wonder if Truthman Burton has full control of his faculties.EARTH TO TRUTHMAN… Nothing has changed,and if anything it got worse since the advent of the Arthur Administration. Owen S. Arthur owns the ignominy of leading the most corrupt government in the history of our country,and to this very day you and yours do and say little to refute such claims .Why is that? Apply this logic. Daytime sightings of nocturnal vermin (rats would be my choice here) speak to their proliferation.You see my dear Truthman Burton, corruption or simply put good ole bajan tiefing was so rife under “The Messiah that it was hard to miss.Mia Mottley now struggles not to save face, but to bring a new face to your party.Stout and stubborn is the texture of the resistance she is facing.Lets move on to your claim about insulting language directed at “The Messiah.” Firstly I must remind you of the euphoria surrounding the election of Barrack Obama as President of the U S A. Remember ? Now let me direct you to the archives of NATION NEWS.com .January 20th.2008.Under the rubric “The Money Factor” ,it was written ” newspaper photographs of his swearing-in ceremony last Wednesday protray a smugness that reflects his inbred sense of entitlement.” Mixed parentage in the case of both Barrack Obama and the late David Thompson yielded in one instance euphoria, and then that INBRED sense of entitlement in the other.In the cramped constricted mind of Albert (Rum Puff) Branford,this vile repugnant and clearly racist deduction emanated. Perhaps you Mr.Truthman Burton can save me the trouble of searching the archives of B U in hopes of finding just one piece authored by you that sends even just a hint of repudiation .Till then spare us your tears ,for The Messiah and his bunch of bandits are yet to face the hottest fires.

35. Hamilton Hill can write too sweet. Someone described Tina and Kerry Symmonds aka Chris Browne aka Truthman Barton as vile. The person is correct, But Truthman and Owing have a lot in common when it comes to women so he will defend him to the hilt. Mia kicked him out and Owing brought him back. They understand each other. Especially when it comes to how to treat women.

36. How my name get mix-up in the above

I dont understand

All-yuh people are sain else yuh !
    e-salop !
    Bon ja !

37. @Cat Eyes….For your compliment I thank you sincerely.More importantly,ah does write right.

38. Pooposition Is At Sea Avatar
    Pooposition Is At Sea

HAMILTON HILL, That you certainly do and you do it very, very well, congrats.