Submitted by BPWCCUL Concerned Members Coalition

Paul Maxwell,Treasurer of BPWCCUL, a Director of CAPITA, a Director of BPW Financial Holdings and was recently named as CEO of CAPITA – accused of conflict of interest

Members of the Press

The Annual General Meeting of Barbados Public Workers Cooperative Credit Union will be held on June 18th 2011 and will be a watershed as a large number of fed up and concerned members will be there to let their voices be heard.

The major issues are:

• Two cases of fraud which are being covered up by the Management, Board and Supervisory Committee. These fraud cases were not reported to the external auditors or to the regulator as required by section 215 of the Cooperatives Societies Act. Indeed the CEO and Management did not follow the procedures set out in their own anti-fraud policy — which should have seen the Internal Auditor immediately alerted and the necessary investigations conducted. Two staff members have lost their jobs so far and dozens of members whose cards were created by one particular individual are at risk. While these two staff members are no longer with the organisation, there is evidence that they did not act alone. The members are therefore concerned about any involvement by others including supervisory and management staff.

• Excessive travel by Paul Maxwell, a member of the Board who is also Treasurer of BPWCCUL, a Director of CAPITA, a Director of BPW Financial Holdings and was recently named as CEO of CAPITA. These also represent major conflicts of interest. He is already booked to attend conferences AFTER he vacates his seat on the Board on June 18th in contravention of a Board Policy which was used to get rid of then member Mr. Caswell Franklyn. Mr. Maxwell was instrumental in bringing down Mr. Franklyn now is completely ignoring the rule he created to oust Mr. Franklyn at the time.

• The recent naming of Mr. Maxwell as the successor to Ms. Clorinda Alleyne – current CEO. In a recent memo to the Board, she named Mr. Maxwell and another member of staff Natalie Holder as her choices to succeed her. Ms. Holder as General Counsel if she is interested would be fine but the naming of Mr. Maxwell is offensive to the members. The Credit Union management positions are not part of Mr. Maxwell’s fiefdom to be handed down from one friend to another. AT this stage we would recall the fact that Mr. Maxwell contrary to the organisation’s policy used the CEO’s and other BPWCCUL vehicles while he served as President with no regard for the organisation’s rules.
  • Excessive travel by a member of Staff – Tracia Pounder (search for photos of her travels on facebook) She (as a supervisor) has travelled more than any member of staff including the Chief Executive Officer during the last year.  Only one other person has travelled more and that is Mr. Maxwell.
  • The ineffectiveness of the Supervisory Committee. this committee is chaired by Cedric Murrell, the chairman of CTUSAB, VP of the NUPW, Chief Air Traffic Controller, Director of NISE, deputy Chairman of the St. Philip South Constituency Council, Regional Executive Director with the International Association of Air Traffic Controllers. He also plans to run for the Board – How can this represent good governance? How can he assure members that he will have the time needed to be an effective Director? There is a conflict between his role as a leading trade unionist and the potential role as employer/Director of Barbados’ largest Credit Union.
  • The fact that Mr. Maxwell encouraged a Kieva Cadogan to run and mis-led members into supporting her as a Director when he knew that she was a BANK INSPECTOR at the Central Bank. Under the Financial Institution’s Act, CAP 324A at Section 52, as the owner of CAPITA, BPWCCUL is subject to regulatory authority from the Central Bank. How can she therefore sit as a Director of BPWCCUL and effectively perform her role as a Bank Examiner. In past years the Central bank has actually carried out examinations of BPWCCUL in association with the substantive regulator. Ms. Cadogan should do the decent thing and resign as a Director. The Central Bank Governor should also be asked to explain this clear conflict.
  • The fact that one Director Ms. Marilyn Mapp works outside of Barbados in Grenada (as Finance Officer of the Caribbean Knowledge and Learning Network) and therefore cannot attend Board meetings with any regularity. Our information is that she has not declared this information to the Board and while she travels back for a few meetings (4 during the last year) she also travels on behalf of the credit union regularly notwithstanding her very poor attendance.
  • Why does the credit union have to pay for nearly the entire Board to attend a short 1 or 2 hour ceremony to formally launch a 7 or 8 million dollar business in St. Lucia (CAPITA Launch on Friday). Could the Credit Union not be adequately represented by one or two Board members and a couple Managers??
  • Well-documented relationships between prominent Board Members and members of Staff who are rewarded with oversees trips to conferences as a result of their compliance with Directors’ requests
  • The fact that the Credit Union President  Mr. Terrol Inniss went on a birthday bash to Hawaii unknown to most Board Members. It was the Credit Union Executive Society’s Symposium 2011: A CEO/Chairman Exchange.  It was held at the Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa from February 6th to 12th.
  • The Concerned members also wish to know whether a Group Strategic Plan has been devised to streamline the operations of the Group?? If not why not?
  • We also wish to know when was the last appraisal of the Chief Executive Officer carried out by the Board? Given the concerns previously expressed by the regulator was an appraisal done this year? If one was not done is it the Board’s intention to continue to pay the CEO their share of the profit-sharing plan in the absence of any documentation of their performance?
  • What is the status of the Credit Unions Investment in Cooperators General Insurance?? Was this investment approved by the Registrar in keeping with the requirements of the Act in terms of such investments? If not what sanction can be imposed on the members of the Board?? Was this a prudent investment given the credit union’s existing investments in Insurance Corporation of Barbados?

Sincerely,

BPWCCUL Concerned Members Coalition

115 responses to “Concerned Barbados Public Workers Cooperative Credit Union Members Speaking Out”

1. Just Only Asking Avatar
    Just Only Asking

i gine be at that meeting. I aint supporting Mr. Murrel for any position.

2. Most of this sounds petty. More maturity required!

3. @Jenny M

Any demonstration of concern by the people to whom the credit union belongs is petty?

In Barbados we seem to have an aversion to transparency.

What has been coming out with the advent of social media is that traditional organs within the entities which are suppose to offer opportunities for resolution have not been working and people are finding other means.

There is a growing disillusionment.

Don’t worry Jeny M it is coming to a neighbourhood near you!

4. Read carefully. Most of this is petty. If the pettiness is left our then people can focus on the real serious issues. Yes there may be serious issues but when you try to throw the whole sink at everything you cloud the issues that need to be addressed.

5. old man river, Avatar
    old man river,

effort to get a comment from de big boys. who said not comment, can not be reach. or out of de island, i am just and old man by de river…..

6. That should be “left out” not “left our” in the post above

7. @Jenny M

You are splitting hairs.

You have all kinds of members in the credit union who will have different concerns.

It is their right to raise the issues and ultimately have them resolved.

The credit union is owned by the members lest you forget.

8. i am deeply concerned by what i’ve read. i am seriously planning on withdrawing membership, not because of what i’ve just read but because of the fact that they bought some business from CLICO and did not ask board members. a number of my associates were discussing this issue and planning on attending the meeting before withdrawing. this has me really, really concerned

9. @Jenny M

The other point is that if the members remain silent and the thing collapses then you will be the first to blame government to say the Registrar of Cooperatives went to sleep at the wheel and the government did nothing as we did with CLICO and the Supervisor of Insurance.

10. Jenny M you cannot be serious. This is our money that is being used. Should we wait until the —- hit the fan before saying or doing something and as David says become other CLICO? After what happened at CLICO we should all be on alert at the slightest hint on wrong- doing or rule breaking or bending.

11. I am with you but my point it is you weaken you case when you insert petty stuff. Deal with the most damaging issues.

12. @Jenny M

With respect sometimes what appears petty is symptomatic of something greater.

13. David
    As you might be aware by now Jenny M is an ardent supporter of Owen Arthur. Any type of corruption seems not to bother those people.
    I am a member and will be going to the meeting because this credit union has most of the poor people money.
    I am so glad the government is putting the credit unions under the new financial service authority. We need to regulate and keep monitoring these money taking organizations.

14. Clone
    I too am happy about having the new financial service authority but how effect will it be and respected if you have the newly appointed chairperson is before the courts for tax evasion?
    I think we as a people need to be very vigilant in who we appoint to important positions because if they are flawed in any way in our minds we feel that the institution that they head is also flawed.

15. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

My name was mentioned in this post relating to some board policy that was used to get rid of me: I will deal with that first.
    I received a letter from the Board of Directors claiming that they have revoked my membership because they claimed that I refused to return money that was paid to me to travel to Hong Kong to attend the conference of th World Council of Credit Unions and I did not travel. That is only partly true.
    I was selected to attend the conference and paid the appropriate stipend. I applied for vacation and packed my bags. Just days before I was scheduled to travel, I received a letter from the CEO informing me that the Board had cancelled my registration, cancelled my flight and asked for the return of the money. I had already put the money on my credit card and would therefore have to borrow it from Mastercard at 21% and I refused to take that route. That is the basis they used for purporting to revoke my my membership. The Board has no such authority and I have ignored that nonsense.
    Quite frankly, I was hurt when the membership as a whole did not seek to deal with my matter so I have withdrawn until I think the time is right. The writer appears to be self serving only now speaking out about my matter. That said I will now deal with other aspects of the post.

Now that I do not take an active part in Public Workers Credit Union things have gone from bad to worse to ridiculous. I do not agree that the matters raised are petty stuff. Stealing at Public Workers is now entrenched. The attempt to get rid of me was the way to silence the only opposition to the endemic corruption that existed or currently exists. In addition to rigging the annual elections there is also theft/ embezzlement of credit union funds on a large scale.

I reported some cases of theft to the Commissioner of Police, Registrar of Co-operatives, the Minister and the Director of Public Presecutions. I provided them with actual credit union documents that was more than sufficient to prove the case. I received a phone call from a very senior police officer asking me not to pursue the matter. I insisted that I wanted to see the crooks jailed but the police refused to go forward with case despite having the evidence of wide scale theft. The Registrar’s office has now allowed them to restrict information that members would need to make informed decisions.
    Jenny you want another example of petty stuff. The Credit Union purchased Clico Mortgage and Finance Company without getting permission from the membership. I do not know how the Registrar could approve the purchase without a resolution from the membership. The purchase was completed with a loan from National Insurance obtained only after Ministerial intervention.

While I am at it, let me cite another example. The credit union was offered the building on Broad Street for $4.4 m. After we obtained an a number of engineers’ reports we decided not to purchase the building. The property remained on the market for a year when the credit union approached the former owners and offered $6.5m. I was one of the board members who refused to buy at $4.4. Imagine my surprise when I discovered that after leaving the board that the credit union had a renewed interest.
    Then there is wuk and overseas travel for wuk. I could go on but will break for now.

16. should we take our money out? What about people who have land loans, what should they do? What about people’s whose accounts are being held for security for a loan?

Why did you not take your concrete evidence to a published news paper? And blow it open?

17. @Dieter

Did you read the opening i.e. ‘Members of the Press’?

The question though, do you think they would publish this stuff?

18. Mr. Franklyn
    I have no doubts about your information but please become a campaigner to help the many credit union members who weekly and monthly put their hard earn savings into this institution. Hold meetings inviting members to come know what is going on. A lot of people have faith in this credit union and we do not want to see it go the road of CLICO
    This country is all about cover up. Just check the man who run away with people money and 18 years later return and gone again and not a word of being detained like baby doc in Haiti for questioning.
    I expect better from this credit union.
    On another note
    Can you write and inform us how seniority is determined in the public service. It is coming up every so often, workers walking off the job because of persons moving ahead of others

19. The BU family may want to know according to our source the Nation newspaper fired Chris Gollop and Wade Gibbons today.

20. @ David
    If that’s true how sad, but they will soon be PRO in some government department or on the staff at CBC.

21. eyes wide open Avatar
    eyes wide open

gibbons and gollop two of the better journalists at the Nation.

Not only kaymar Jordan BLP slip showing,but all of her underwear.

22. I expect nothing but total hypocrisy.

23. BPWCCUL Concerned Members Coalition, how do I, a member of BPWCCUL, contact the Coalition?

24. I am now a bit late and seeing this post as I heard it discussed around my office today.

Being employed at another financial institution we all thought it laughable that this article (which we all noted is unsubstantiated – making it seem that apparently just writing anything you feel like on blogs seems to make it true and pity the poor foll who gets written about). I’m sorry for those persons mentioned in this post as their names are now being “bandied” around and who knows if the writer just wanted to maliciously do their credibility harm in the two weeks that lead up to this organisation’s AGM – How interesting! Was this not the modus operandi a few weeks ago with the AGM and election at the NUPW.

What we noticed here and which was disappointing for us in the office as all black people, is that this is a black owned and operated 100% bajan organisation and one of the biggest financial institutions in the country doing more for small black people than the banks whose executives (which I can attest to) take their entire Management teams to retreats in Miami. Then have huge expense accounts, ntertaining at the various “polo clubs” and sandy lane lunches and inners.. Aren’t they spending “poor black people money too? Do we publish their “exploits”? No we don’t but dare a black business do the same there’s a big stink

However with our typical “crab in the bucket” mentality as my grandmother used to say we are bringing what is our own into chaos. Again i must say and not with a shred of any real wrong doing or even evidence brought out.

Do we get like this about traveling of Government ministers and our same “poor black people” tax dollars from a government that tells us they can do nothing about the cost of living that is killing us ?

Where was this writer when the nation cut jobs recently and again today if that is proved to be true of more of our fellow black man when the parent company OCM continues to ensure that it maintains it fat profits. Did anyone write aboutthe goings on at Stracom where the CEO has quite a nice array of vehicles yet jobs are being cut there?

From my understanding this Credit Union would have had to seek the approval of the membership or at a minimum make them aware of their purchase of the Clico Mortgage company which by all reports in the press for what that’s worth was a well run company and one of the few in the group worth anything and respected by its regulator for maintaining standards…

Let’s get with it and stop pulling down our own for our own selfish motives when they are other real issues out there that are “killing”
    us by the those who are rich and famous off of our same poor black people and do it with little to no conscience.

25. Bajanguy, I understand your argument. However, how do these expenses compare to the earnings generated for the BPWCCUL shareholders relative to the same relationship within the companies that you mentioned?

26. Why is it whenever questions are asked about any company in Barbados, and if it is Black run, we get this kind of a response.

Some accusations have been made, is there a conflict of interest with the positions of Maxwell and Murrell? This has nothing to do with if the company is well run or not. We are talking governance issues here.

A question was asked about the number of directors who attended the St. Lucia opening. This is a cost management issue and not whether the company is well run or not

We could go on.

We also have some corroboration from Caswell Franklyn who has been on the inside of this establishment.

27. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Bajanguy
    People are stealing money but should get away with it because they are black and other people might be stealing too. Is that what you are saying? Members of the board issued themselves credit cards and then illegally used the cards and called the expenditure entertainment allowance. The Co-operatives Societies Act does not allow that and as a matter of fact made it a criminal offence. The Registrar ordered those involved to return the cards. They refused.

From your understanding the credit union would have had to seek approval of the membership to purchase Clico Mortgage Finance Co, could you tell us when the board sought that approval.

28. O shite !
    A LOT OF IT IN BARBADOS
    who will clean it

29. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

I have just emailed you a spread sheet and referred you to section 68 of the Co-operative Societies Act. That will give you some idea of the mess at Public Workers Credit Union and the non regulation of by the Co-operatives Department. Please feel free to use the information on the blog.

30. Bajanguy
    Do not introduce no race card here as if seeking empathy for Blacks to run our organization into the ground.
    Did you not hear Bizzy Williams say that Williams’s industry operates on performance criteria where if you produce you are rewarded commensurate? That is a successful company. BPWCCUL must operate the same way.
    Bajanguy I have a very vivid memory of these two ladies who lived in my area who are now in the Psychiatric Hospital from the Trade Confirmers collapse. I do not want to see that happen to the BPWCCUL.
    By the way this credit union was started by small people maybe without higher qualifications who made it a success therefore we must watch closely these young smart qualified people.
    Black people like too much bling, yah mean because white people does fete out the company money (which I doubt) the Credit union should do that too.
    The BPWCCUL is not Nova Scotia or Royal Bank.
    As a member I really want to know why the credit union cannot use some of the money they are splashing around with these trips with, to open a super market.
    They now own an insurance company and a mortgage company why not a supermarket and a bank.

31. Clone, I see the investments, but are you, as a member, seeing an increase in the interest and dividends received?

32. See the info attached sent by Caswell: the worksheet is hyperlinked below.

Section 68 of the Co-operative Societies Act sets out two conditions where directors of a credit union can be paid in connection with their duties:

1. If the remuneration is fixed in the by-laws; or
    2. it it is fixed by members by resolution at a general meeting.

Paul Maxwell, Anthony Griffin, Dean St. Hill, Marilyn Mapp and Terrol Inniss were directors who had credit cards and then spent money contrary to section 68.

Section 250A (2) states :

Any person who contravenes section 68 is guilty of an offence and is liable on conviction
    (a) on indictment to a fine of $25, 000 or to imprisonment for 5 years, or to both;

(b) by a court of summary jurisdiction to a fine of $5, 000 or to imprisonment for 2 years, or to both.

The attached spread sheet was made available to the police, DPP, Minister and Registrar.  Nothing has happened to deal with this embezzlement.  The other names on the spread sheet were staff members who used the card for legitimate purposes.

33. Have not seen any mark increase in either over the years. In fact I think the interest for loans make a killing.That should reflect in the dividends they pay out twice a year.

34. Agreed – I will attend the next AGM.

35. Bajanguy
    You see what I mean
    What kind of entertainment was Dean St.Hill doing?
    Not surprising the female SPENT SO MUCH MONEY ON A CREDIT CARD THAT WAS NOT HER MONEY

36. The issue here is not the expense by the directors because what occasioned it might have been legitimate credit union business.

The issue is whether there was a violation of a regulation.

37. With the objective of increasing business and earnings, we know that CEOs of companies entertain prospective or valuable clients.

38. CEOs and other officers

39. Should their expenses on legitimate credit union business not be itemized for scrutiny by the general body?
    If the bye laws are outdated why are they not brought before the general body to be changed or the directors are breaking the laws as they now stand.

40. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Clone
    You wrote;
    “Should their expenses on legitimate credit union business not be itemized for scrutiny by the general body?”
    The answer to your question is: There are no legitimate expenses to itemize. Those expenses are supposed to be pre-approved and they were not. The President and Treasurer receive $750 per month and the other directors receive $650. They have no authority to receive any other remuneration.
    Further, a change in by-laws would not rectify the problem. They are breaching the Act which can only be changed by Parliament.

41. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

@Bajanguy | May 31, 2011 at 7:47 PM |
    “Being employed at another financial institution we all thought it laughable that this article…apparently just writing anything you feel like on blogs seems to make it true and pity the poor foll who gets written about”

u seem to be one of those crooks at the same credit union. i could not read ur entire article as i felt the emotion coming thru.. did u read Caswell Franklyn’s article? he attested to certain ‘misdemeanors’ and here u are claiming that it is hear say, laughable, that when black people do this or that…u fa real? my money is in there and if people like u would keep ur filthy hands off it, we black people would be in a better economic condition than we are right now. i am on the verge of taking every cent out. i can’t even get to travel and they could be licking out my money? 🙁 i thank God for people like Caswell and whoever published the article. people such as u need to put ur head down a toilet bowl and smell the scent – it’s the same scent i got while reading ur ridiculous response

42. It is for this reason that many companies in barbados will not go public and be listed on the Barbados or any stock exchange.

They simply do not wish to have to go through this that you people believe passes for scrutiny or accountability.

@David, no it does not come down to race….but tell me who’s posting Bizzy’s Credit card information on the web or any of the Directors at BNB or Sagicor. Do you think that the Directors at BNB or Sagicor don’t “entertain”. I noted that the whole incident here is disappointing. I don;t recall seeing any bLog posts about companies led by other races and questions about their travel or entertainmnet habits whether it be their board members or officers and yes please remember, those “other companies” got poor people money too.

This is why the Credit Union movement in this country will continue to be treated like “second class citizens” and the Banks find it easy to “squeeze” them.

Where are the governance issues. @David, even you make the point where is the evidence of wrong doing. Mr. Franklyn has amazingly kept information clearly from his days of trying to get this “hot potato” of his front and centre. But is he not guilty of wrong doing by bringing what is clearly confidential information out of the Credit Union, i hazard to guess without their permission into the press or does he have a just as guilty accomplice on the inside. How did he come by the information? Let him tell us that @David. That would be interesting to know because even if he was entitled to the information is he not still breaking some Credit Union rules by publishing it? Yet no one questions that. Interesting, i guess as they say best defence is always offense ehh Caswell….

Anyway Caswell seems to enjoy this kind of thing – negativity – what about the good that has been done at the Credit Union over its 40 years, the services that I’m sure some of these maligned Directors we are hearing about brought. And I dare add without the same “service fees” as the banks who we seem to be saying its Ok what they do with our money cause we cant ask them how much their Directors spend on travelling and entertainment. But we behave like all of our money is with the credit Union and not in these banks and we willingly accept their fees, poor service and policies and see their CEO’s drive around Mercedes Benz and what do we get for it?

@David, it’s not a race issue as I said. Its disappointing is what it is. The organisation has accomplished so much and every year as the AGM rolls around someone decides lets stir up some controversy. I’m sur ethe credit Union has boxes to reports issues to the Supervisory Committees etc. and the regulator is there and this “Concerned Coalition” who i would think knows the rules and legislation could call for Special Meetings to deal with their issues internally. How are they getting answers here, what is this accomplishing?

So people back to my issue stop being blinded and see we black people are always eager to tear down each other this way. RL Seale is not on this blog being torn down or is C.O Williams or Allan Fields or Telsyk from Scotia Bank? Again don’t their directors “spend” on entertainment. @Clone, do you think that Telsyk or Dodridge Miller at Sagicor itemises his credit card for the Sagicor shareholders, other poor black folks some of those same ones in the Credit Union buying policies from Sagicor?

Let’s see through the propaganda….

By the way @David @Clone..Did Caswell ever pay back the money he talked about? I see he said he put it on his credit card but I’m missing the next logical step where he was supposed to pay it back…….#justasking..since he seems to live in a glass house.

43. Bajanguy, It can’t be 100 % bajan if no white people involved. Since I know of many white people who were born here and are white.

So you equating 100% bajan with being all black, you sound pretty stupid.

Hey at least white people aint stealing all that farming produce and causing farmers to leave farming.

44. When executives travel they use and spend foreign exchange … that they DO NOT WORK FOR! When executives from Starcom and Credit Unions buy executive cars, they spend foreign exchange that they HAVE NOT EARNED! And so on, and so on

45. After reading Caswell’s “confession”, he that is without sin, let him cast the first stone.

46. Isn’t the issue here the legality around the directors spending for entertainment through the use of the credit card?

Whether you agree with Caswell or not this remains the point.

47. Bajanguy, the difference is that we own BPWCCUL. The shareholders of Sagicor, etc. will need to address their concerns regarding those entities.

48. Section 68(1) of the Cooperatives Act has been quoted above. The copy of the Act that I found online (http://www.commerce.gov.bb/Legislation/Documents/CAP378A.PDF) actually goes on as follows:

68(2) Directors and members of committees may be reimbursed for expenses incurred by reason of the performance of their duties and functions as directors or members of committees.

This might be an outdated copy of the Act but does the legislation still read this way? Giving credit cards to Board members would seem to be permissible under 68(2), and in any event the argument that this is remuneration under 68(1) seems quite weak.

49. JENNY M – WHY DO YOU THINK THESE THINGS ARE PETTY ,WE KNOW THAT YOU ARE A REPRESENATIVE OF THE CREDIT UNION – WERE YOU ALSO A REPRESENATIVE OF THE NUPW (FORMER DEPUTY TREASURER ) and a good friend of Mamoney(walter maloney )and Dennis(website ) clarke .theiving was there and you defended it .Are you not TREASURER OF CTUSAB ,WE HOPE THAT THE GOVERNMENT FUNDS($100,000,000 SUBVENTION) IS NOT USED TO PAY WAGES ,TRAVELLING AND ENTERTAINMENT TO YOU, MURRELL AND OTHERS .

BAJANGUY – YOU SPOKE OF NUPW ELECTIONS DID YOU READ IN THE NATION PAPERS THE SAME DAY OR THE DAY BEFORE ,NUPW ELECTIONS THAY WALTER MALONEY ADMITTED THE RAN UP THE CELL PHONE BILL BUT PEOPLE LIKE YOU LIKE TO HIDE THESE THINGS , LETS HOPE THAT WE SEE SOME ACTION FROM GOVERNMENT ON THE COASTAL ZONE MANAGEMENT (APPARENT MISUSED OF FUNDS -WHO WERE THE DIRECTORS OF THAT COMPANY –HOPE NOT BOY FRIEND AND GIRL FRIEND ( PARENTS OF THE CHILDREN )

50. Caswell Franklyn Avatar

Brutus
    The Act still reads as you quoted. The only problem is that the directors are already reimbursed monthly to the tune of $750 for the president and treasurer and $650 for all other officers.

You are correct, giving credit cards to board members is permissable under section 68 (2). The operative word there is “giving”. The board members were not given: they took. Only a resolution at a meeting of the members can authorise the directors to have credit cards to be used in the manner that took place. Please refer to section 68 (1).

My scanner is not working, I am therefore transcribing the contents of a letter from the Registrar to me in response to a complaint that I made on the issue:

The Department has sent instructions to the credit union to amend its credit card policy, to recall all credit cards from Board members and put in place a system whereby they can be signed out as required for specific pre-approved reasons. This must be done by December 31, 2008.
    Furthermore, in accordance with Section 68 of the Co-operative Societies Act, Cap. 378A, the limit on uses such as entertainment, needs to be approved by resolution at a general meeting in respect of spending by officers.

Brutus I hope that you were not trying to mislead.