Former President of CLICO Holdings Barbados socializing with Minister of Finance on Gold Cup Day at the Garrison Savannah

A picture is said to be worth a thousand words. BU will not ascribe any meaning to the picture which appears on the back page of the Nation newspaper today (8 March 2011), other than to suggest it smacks of insensitivity on the part of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. No doubt Nation reporter Gercine Carter, credited with the picture, could not believed her luck for what can be surely be described as a ‘kodak moment’.

The CLICO issue has become a concern given its implication for local and regional economies, especially at a recessionary time. We should not forget British American which is owned by CLICO parent CL Financial. CLICO and its figurehead, until recently,ย  in the personage of Leroy Parris has become one of the most politically chargedย  discussion โ€˜piecesโ€™ in recent months. We are where we are because of a lethargy which the Office of Insurance and the political directorate have exercised over CLICO which spans several years. Despite the foregoing the government of the day has the responsibility to manage the CLICO problem with minimum fallout to Barbadians. Who can envy the government at this time!

Of late the concern for BU has morphed to the issue of allowing Leroy Parris to remain as Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). BU respects Leroy Parris for what he has been able to achieve, big chip on his shoulder not withstanding. In many ways his ‘rags to riches’ story bears a parallel to that of Cyril Duprey, who was able to buildย  a financial empire which had Colonial Life Insurance at its foundation from a relatively humble beginning. The fact that Parris is still able to command an invitation to Sandy Lane’s Box on Gold Cup Day speaks to how he has position himself on the social ladder in Barbados.

Parris’ relationship with the late Prime Minister David Thompson was no secret. In the absence of campaign finance legislation – which both parties have avoided over the years – means we can only speculate at the level of campaign financing Parris in his capacity as President of CLICO Holdings Barbados would have directed at the Democratic Labour Party. If BU were to hazard a guess, the DLP has received a significant sum from Parris to fund their political campaigns. Is it unreasonable to question those who believe that Parris received the privilege to Chair the CBC because of his financial support rather than on the basis of competence? Hopefully the Attorney General will move the Second Reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2010 in parliament today. We hope!

Along with the expected Cabinet reshuffle, it will be interesting to observe how Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart treat with the issue of Leroy Parris at the CBC. Does the Prime Minister believe Parris is still able to mobilize significant financing which might explain allowing him to continue at the CBC? Now that he no longer ‘lords’ over the CLICO entity in Barbados will Stuart deem him dispensable and jettison what many believe is political baggage with a general election on the horizon? The report last week that Parris intends to sue CLICO makes for interesting theatre from here on. Perhaps Parris should be reminded of governmentโ€™s role inย  rescuing CLICO and British American. Do we see a conflict?

Maybe the ghost of late Prime Minister David Thompson under the direction from a re-emerging Hartley Henry remains a factor in the decisions by cabinet.

1. @Josquin

Did you take the time to read what I wrote in this thread about this subject? Or do you think you can score cheap points by referring to me as a DLP supporter? It is pretty strange that you wrote that documents were hidden for 14 years to make CLICO appear to be strong; do you know something that the rest of us donโ€™t? Or are you trying to distance the former BLP Govโ€™t from this issue.

There is enough blame to go around for both parties and I believe the DLP made a mistake when this issue first surfaced. The root of that mistake lies in the relationship that Thompson had with Parris. If the Govโ€™t had done what the T & T Govโ€™t did with regard to CLICO then they wouldnโ€™t be in this bind. The DLP failed because this was their first crisis and they had no experience in crisis management, Thompson should have jettisoned Parris and let the chips fall wherever they may.

Now to the BLP, for 14 years under a BLP Govโ€™t with a PM as Finance Minister and a Superintendent of Insurance reporting to the PM we were led to believe that CLICO was a well run entity. Now that the $hit has hit the fan and the assets supporting those high interest Investments are found to be of dubious value folks like you try to distance the BLP from all the crap. Where was the BLP Govโ€™t when it was supposed to be looking after the interest of Bajans?

2. When all is said and done CLICO remains a private company. Until the JM is appointed the incumbent management can do what is pleases. Does anyone think Thornhill, Brewster and the lot have the balls to go against the man who made them?

3. David wrote,”Does anyone think Thornhill, Brewster and the lot have the balls to go against the man who made them?”

No David, they fraid de Trinidadians they are taking instructions from.

Surely you can’t credit Leroy Parris with masterminding this debacle.

4. @Hants

Parris cracks the whip.

5. @ Sargeant

“It is pretty strange that you wrote that documents were hidden for 14 years to make CLICO appear to be strong; do you know something that the rest of us donโ€™t? Or are you trying to distance the former BLP Govโ€™t from this issue.”

You accused me of not taking the time to read your contribution. Surely you have not read mine. If you actually read and understood what I wrote, I am sure that there is nothing stated or implied that you, sir, are a DLP supporter, nor did I insinuate, {either directly or by innuendo} that papers were hidden from the BLP, as is suggested by your above quote.

I stated that BASED on the fact that a contract that was signed in 2005 has now come to the fore, one can conclude that it is possible that other documents were hidden.

You quote is actually misleading, and in future, please take time to read and understand what has been actually written, before being consumed by your exuberance in your haste to reply.

6. Truthman Burton Avatar

Right on Josquin!

Now this:
    (1) @Melvin Skeete | March 9, 2011 at 1:47 PM |
    “Bullshit. Mr Parris is NOT head of Clico anymore so it should not have any bearings on any actions government may have to take with this company.
    Melvin Skeete”
    Melvin my friend, have you not heard? Parris IS at the head AGAIN! And we all thought he had resigned/retired, but HE IS BACK, sneaky, underground style ….. meaning that NOBODY out here knew, and despite grabbing $3.5 MILLION as recent as 2009, grabbing four payments of $30,000 each, as recent as 2010 along with salary, he wants $10,000,000 (TEN MILLIONS) right now!!!
    Political strategist Hartley, what you got to say about this BIG-UP GREEDY DEM, who is still “AT THE HELLUM” running things …. oops, I meant RUINING things up at CBC DLP TV & RADIO?

(2) The queen has resurfaced! Saw her tonight on CBC DLP TV in a PR opportunity talking ’bout land up St.John. If and when she gets up in Parliament in the Estimates debate, maybe she can spend a little time to update us on the CLICO DISGRACE. As Office Manager at Thompson & Associates, and privy to the files, she should be able to shed some light, and even so, seems she might be the ONLY one (maybe HH as well) that the dead king shared with before he left.

I am betting that MARA will not unbuckle her teeth one iota about CLICO tomorrow in the House! And talking about houses, what about that MILLION DOLLAR house allegedly jointly bought in Martins Bay by the queen and PARRIS’ wifey ? With a cashed-in CLICO policy maybe? OR!!

7. @Josquin

Quote โ€œWhenever a situation occurs in Barbados that has a direct link to the Barbados Labour Party, all and sundry come on this blog to attack Mia Mottley and Owen Arthur. People like you, Hants, Sergeant, Carson C. Cadogan, et al.โ€

Quote: It seems to me that you people are firm in your belief that the Democratic Labour Party is beyond criticism. Because when the DEMS are involved, we should take a non-partisan view of the matter.

Quote: If in 2010 Layne could not find evidence of a contract that was signed in 2005, which only came to the fore during the law suit proceedings, then only God knows what other documents were hidden or partial presented to make the company appear as though it was financially sound during the 14 years you are always so quick to talk about.
    The above quotes are part of your earlier submission and twist it however you will but the implication of my support for the DLP is quite apparent in the first two excerpts. As to the last quotation I concede that you did not state that documents were hidden for 14 years but questioned whether documents were hidden or partially presented during that period.

For the record I did support the DLP during the last election and I have made the reasons for doing so abundantly clear in past posts, however I will not hesitate to criticise them if warranted.

Finally, there was nothing hasty about my response, check the time stamp on your post and the time stamp on my response.

8. @Truthman

Why would Mara speak about CLICO when Minister Sinckler implored the press to stop throwing gas on the issue to inflame a nervous public? The government’s position is clear, it will say nothing to jeopardize the matter given it is sub judice.

9. Truthman Burton Avatar

Wifey Faye is fair game yuh know. She not only good for posing with pink Sandy Lane champagne in hand ‘longside her man who loves “decapitated” coffee, and smiling sweetly for confused Sinckler. (Remember the photo at the top of this thread). She also good for suddenly buying million dollar houses for cash, in her name!

10. Truthman Burton Avatar

David, as far as I know, it is not sub judice. Have you been informed of this matter being officially lodged judicially, and do you know who is the judicial manager? Mia called for this to be done must be ’bout three years ago? Nothing, nothing ain’t happened yet to the best of my knowledge.

Confused Sinckler playing for time to ease the pressure off him, Stuart and the boys. Right Honourable Owen really stung today, like an energized Bee. Amongst other things, this careless out-of-its-depth Government borrowed nearly TWO BILLION DOLLARS (was it in one financial year?) and only spent $148, 000 on developmental capacity-building capital works.

11. @Truthman

Three questions for you:

Isn’t the government waiting on the court process for a JM to be appointed?

Hasn’t Parris filed a law suit against the company?

In the Sun this weekend didn’t Layne agree with the decision in the first instance to sell the companies as going concerns?

12. Truthman Burton Avatar

If confused Sinckler wants no gas thrown to inflame people, tell him that instead of hobnobbing in private, privileged booths with Parris, (who appears to have no compassion, nada feelings for his poor disenfranchised clients), he (confused Sinckler) should douse Parris with some cold water …. extinguish his hot passion for aggravating an already enraged public.

I agree with Right Honourable Owen Arthur’s suggestion that Parris’ peculiar action to obtain a queerly conceived hefty bonus, should be unreservedly condemned.

13. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Re my above statement:

“Amongst other things, this careless out-of-its-depth Government borrowed nearly TWO BILLION DOLLARS (was it in one financial year?) and only spent $148, 000 on developmental capacity-building capital works.”

I meant to say $148, 000,000.00 The actual reported figure is $144,000,000.00 Sorry for the inadvertence.

14. @Truthman

The issue of the 1.5 billion dollars was discussed at detail on BU a while back.

15. Given that the ruling DLP government, has not done a good job of running this country, I still thought that they would have won the next elections, however, that is not possible right now and CLICO would be the main reason. David Thompson used the ABC h/way as his main weapon to destroy the BLP but that is in no way as bad as this CLICO affair. The solution, arrest Leroy Parris, charge him and anyone else with him for FRAUD and this would bring back some credibility to the DLP but allowing him to remain in job plus chairmain of a State run institution means that this government is also in bed with him and is proving themselves just as guilty. Mr Min Barbadians are much more intelligent than you think, all the “so-called” good work your party did to win this massive by-election in St John will backfire in your face very shortly. it is unfortunate that Mara had to be mix-up in this confusion, but she was warned to stay out and she ignored the warnings, now I hope her children don’t have to bear the cruel bajan public when this whole thing unfolds. After all they are innocent children that is going to need the support of genuine friends.

16. If we are going to jail Mr Parris a number of DLP minister will also go with him. Do we really think that Parris will not spill the beans on all and sundry? So donot expect this DLP government to lynch Mr Parris a number of them are in his back pocket!! He has been wielding a great deal of power and influence in the party for a number of years. Parris also had input into who should have been candidates. I will not be holding my breath hoping that this government will throwLeroy Parris under the bus.

17. Truthman Burton Avatar

David, why on earth have you dumped this popular thread near to achival status, but insist on keeping dead, almost uninteresting topics like the “Jagdeo Thing”, the “Israeli Psyche thing” and the “Caribbean Stock Report thing” on the front page?

This is topical man! The people want to know about this. Confused Sinckler frighten you?

18. Truthman Burton
    Canโ€™t you see that this topic is dominated by six BLP votes and your arguments are going nowhere? The Barbadian public, as a senior citizen said on the radio today are watching international news and are seeing that Barbados is holding its head above the water.
    How come we are this miserable position and savings in commercial banks and credit un ions are still so high.

19. @ Charlie

Simple economics, read any text book. During periods of recessions, there is an increase in savings. This does not translate into the fact that Barbados is holding its head above the water. One cannot conclude that there is corresponding economic growth through domestic savings.

20. Nobody pays that old man on Brasstacks any mind.The only moderator who tolerates the nonsense he spews out everyday is PHONY Marsahll because he sings in the DLP choir.

This man has been telling the policy holders of CLICO to hold strain and be patient. In light of all the revelations, I have not heard him say a word of Leroy Parris’ naked greed or told him to hold strain and dont sue the same company on which he sits on its board.

You Dems continue to bury your heads in the sand and think that this CLICO thing is going to go away.

I would like Chris Sinckler to tell Barbados who is the judicial manager.

21. It was not a man. It was a mature female voice that I heard for the first time. She gave the government credit for the handling of the country. You see, most Barbadians understand that his is not just about an economy but about building a society. That point is killing Clyde Mascoll because he does not understand the society he is all about numbers and that is why he will never make a good leader. He knows his stuff but most bajans do not pay him any attention because he always sounds like it is my way and no other person can prove him wrong. You know what I am talking about when you opposed him.

22. Actually from what i heard most bajan are pissed on clico and that will cost the dlp the election if they continue doing nothing. the fiscal measure done are also hurting people quality of life. most retired people are wonder if too waste the day trying to deal with government pharmacy or to go to private and spend the money. food bill are hurting everyone.

23. Oh my! Here we go again with slogans that make absolutely no sense. I thought that that economy vs. society one had been firmly put in the rubbish bin.

24. Check it out here is an example
    Owen and Mia paid no attention to what was going on at Glendiary and the prisoners conspired and burn it down. The management of the prison was crying out about the overcrowding. No one listen. That fire then cause the economical geniuses to build a new prison which would have cost more money than a new hospital. You are getting the picture. This new government is now faced with a bill every January of 30 million dollars US.
    The economy was the focus, like sell land to the highest bidder etc, bolt projects which allowed some fraud to take place.
    Just a simple thing like free bus fares would have favoured the society where parents do not have to look for money to send their children to school.

25. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting charlie “Owen and Mia paid no attention to what was going on at Glendiary and the prisoners conspired and burn it down. The management of the prison was crying out about the overcrowding. ”

But Charlie: The old Glendairy was built in the 19th century for 350 people and had exceeded that number by 1950. In 1950 Owen was in short pants and Mia was not conceived yet.

The truth is that planning for a new prison was not on any government’s priority list.

You should stop trying to fool people.

26. Glendairy should not have been allowed to be burnt down. In that way you would not have been forced to build a new prison so fast.
    In the rush to build no one paid attention to the tremendous costs of the new prison.
    St.Lucia built a new prison too but not with the costs overruns as this one here. Too many persons get rich using these scenarios.

27. “Glendairy should not have been allowed to be burnt down”.

Which planet are you on? Did the authorities light the fire? You were there with the fire chief?

You are like many living in the past tense. That is why this country is at a crisis point. We are trying to move forward with the same tools that were used in the 1800’s.

28. Charlie
    People like you see through a defected one eye, if you purchase a Suzuki car and I a Toyota bus, can they cost the same thing if both are bought new? What isthe size of St.Lucia.s prison as compared to Barbados’? What is the difference in cost? that is the construction cost and the mortgaged cost of both? I’m sure if you peeped through the other eye and focus with both, you would find that Barbados’ prison is a much better deal. It is time you fishcake politicians stop twisting the truth .

29. Charlie you said:
    Just a simple thing like free bus fares would have favoured the society where parents do not have to look for money to send their children to school.

TmW is socking it to you that “Free Bus Ride” is not solving the problems with parents. The said money that parents used to give students is now going to the purchase of cell phones and donkey hair for the weekend and even school. Social assistance could have remained where the entire populace benefited from the fuel subsidy. That subsidy had a financial impact across the board. So stop with your political rhetoric and bring sensible programs to the fore.

30. Perhaps the prisoners should have been housed at your home Charlie, to save the tax payers money.

31. BTW. Barbados would be better off with the abolishment of the so-called Community Council. and the Free Summer Camps. Let Government work with the Private Sector and give alternative programmes for the children. Do tell me…. Can anyone state the true benefit that children achieve during these camps? Forget the food aspect.

32. Charlie. Barbados would be better off with the abolishment of the so-called Community Council. and the Free Summer Camps. Let Government work with the Private Sector and give alternative programmes for the children. Do tell me…. Can anyone state the true benefit that children achieve during these camps? Forget the food aspect.

33. Sorry for the double posting. An error message appeared when posting the first message, thus the reason for re-submitting.

34. “This new government is now faced with a bill every January of 30 million dollars US.”

I thought it was $30 million BARBADOS.

35. you are quite correct enuff.

36. The DLP is encouraging Bajans to look to government for everything. I hate to heard this foolish statement they are about building a society, well see how far you are are getting building a society of mendicants and not looking after the economy. I cannot believe, yet I was saying it all along that this government has been using NIS funds to pay its bills. Owen Arthur confirmed during the estimates that 69% of NIS revenue is now being used up by the government, this surely cannot be right.

Tell Me Why is right, parents do not have to pay bus fares and now but they are buying expensive brand names for their children. I went into LIME, Sheraton sometime ago to get a new phone as the one I had for over three years stopped working. A teenager was ahead of me, she must have been under 18 years old as the service agent sent her to get dad. When she returned the agent told the dad, $1399.00. I do not get into person’s business but I could not help but gasping that a parent would buy a school child a Blackberry for$1399. I bought one for $300.00. But you cannot be vexed with the people, government will provide for them.

Did you hear PM Fumble saying in the House today that Leroy Parris has the right to sue for his money, is he for real? And the nerve of Mara Thompson telling the BLP stop making CLICO a political football. She had better prepare to tell what she knows as office manager of Thompson Associates and how much of the policyholders’ money is in FAMILIES FIRST account and how much her husband plundered as well.

These people are shameless.

37. I would hope you heard wrong prodigal for pm to say the one person has more right to the money than all the rest of shareholders is bordering on ludicrous. Didn’t the former pm in his plan for bailing out clico issue that none of directors or manager/staff policy shall be reimburse for their polices ( http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/314m-clico-rescue-plan/ ). So maybe that why parris is making issue with his with law courts. One would hope the law courts rule that due to judicial management coming to company they will not hear the case and let the judicial manger deal with it.

As to mara it is not political football. it political Gibraltar that is not moving and not easing. they need to do something. bajan are not impressed by these speech to defend parris while they have yet to do anything to further the recovery of money for policy holders.

38. On his deathbed, David Thompson told Barbados that cabinet had finalised a plan for CLICO, I am sure he did. Also during Darcy Boyce’s press conference (when he was forced to do it as Bajans wanted to know who was in charge of the economy), Darcy said that cabinet had finalised a plan. Where is this plan, has anyone ever seen it?

I am told that Thompson set up the Oversight Committee to apease the policyholders as Mia at the time was stoking the fire. But behind the scenes, he allowed Parris to let the agents write new policies in breach of the Supervisor of Insurance warning not write any new policies. He allegedly told Parris he would cover him but pancreactic cancer took over the…….. . Remember Parris admitted that he wrote to the Minister of Finance who was David Thompson.

Thompson was a devious pos. I laughed then and I laugh now at all the LIED tributes paid to him. He intended to protect Leroy Parris that is why the Oversight Committee had a specific tenure but the grim reaper had other plans.

As yet the government has not had the decency to tell the policyholders who is this supposed judicial manager. Chris Sinckler is saying he cannot say much because the company is under judicial management. Where Sinckler? But lo and behold, I heard Dale Marshall today saying that this supposed judicial manager has been seen visiting Leroy Parris’ home.

What kind of crap is this? Lord have mercy, man. This is becoming more unbearable.

And to think our PM has the gall to say that Leroy Parris has the right to sue for his money. The policyholders in CLICO need to make a stink in front of the PM’s office and demand JUSTICE!

39. Indeed who is this mysterious JM.

40. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Prodigal son and all the other BLP yardies are so liar – ed.
    The P.M. said that like every bajan, leroy parris has the right to sue since this is a democracy.However he said at least parris understands the rule of law, and used the appropriate channels and that it is up to the courts to deal with parris’ law suit..

Typical BLP shannigans to keep repeating a lie,that the prime minister said leroy parris had a right to sue for his money,therefore implying that the P.M was behind parris supporting him in his law suit.

Pure lies

Check out the open bias at VOB they are leading with a story that the P.M. defends Parris and says he will not desert him.

What I heard the P.M. says is that Parris is not a leper and should not be disowned.He also said he does not always agree with Parris but like a number of bajans,parris worked his way up through the company and had his success and his failures.

A balanced approach I think.

41. @Mash up and break down

“However he said at least parris understands the rule of law, and used the appropriate channels and that it is up to the courts to deal with parrisโ€™ law suit..”

So is the PM is implying that the policy holders do not understand the rule of law? Instead of disassociating themselves with Parris it seems that they are tightening up the bonds. Time will tell, it only takes time.

42. I may be `late `to the party, but is it true that Clico insurance agents are all being paid salaries as though they are still selling policies?

43. Mash up

The pm open a can of worm defending parris , he should have said nothing as he says the opposition should do. It never looks good for a former ceo/chariman to sue his own company for non payment while it own policy holder have not been paid yet. It look idiotic of him and greedy regardless if it within the rule or law or not. defending such action make the bajan more pissed each day about how clico is being handled.

Not leaper yes I think he should go defend madoff and standford with such words and see if the crowds don’t call him an idiot.

44. Prime Minister Stuart has made another error in being seen as siding with Parris.

He can be friends with Parris all he wants but as anthony explained above if he is serious about retaining the government in an already bad situation i.e. recessionary climate and the ClICO crisis, what advantage would he seek to gain by his mouthings?

It is as illogical as one one get.

It is easy to predict at this early stage that if the BLP gets its act together it will be plain sailing for the BLP come next election.

Bear in mind that the BLP gave the last election to the DLP.

45. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Anthony

Agree totally that parris suing his Company is pure idiocracy.

Nevertheless whilst I agree that those innocent policy holders like those with medical insurance,life insurance etc should not be made to suffer,I can’t see how the hell we can be cussing a government for not bailing out risk takers who invested money expecting quick,large pay outs.

This Company Clico should not be allowed to fail because of its large agriculture holdings,historic and valuable property at villa nova and sadly former sam lords,a large home grown barbadian road construction company etc.

Clico Barbados is a barbadian success from a one door insurance agency to this large outfit, and say what you will,lerpoy parris however arrogant he is,had some part in that Company’s success.

What I don’t like about the BLP style politics is how much they are willing to destroy the whole house to gain political mileage.

Mia mottley started it,owen arthur and dale marshall along with their cohorts at the Nation newspaper and Vob are carrying on this destructive behaviour without a care about the long term effect on this country.

International investors are listening and looking and in the long run these politicians will all get their pensions after their 2 terms but it is we the tax paying,struggling public that will be left holding the bag.

46. If I had money in CLICO, tomorrow I would be a one man band demonstrating in front of the PM’s office demanding justice since he is defending Parris to the hilt. They are friends, the PM says. This is the most talk we have heard from Fumble and it is to defend his friend. Jackass for you! And Chris Sinckler got the nerve to tell the media and the BLP do not whip up a frenzy. I like Sanka Price’s article in today’s Nation.

Wait and Mara got into the act today. She needs to tell the policyholders about their what happen to their money as well.

She is/was office manager at Thompson Associates, a house was purchased in her name with Parris’ wife, all the campaign money went into FAMILIES FIRST account. Mia Mottley never told the policyholders since she was David Thompson’s friend how much David Thomspon took out as well. Mara should account to the policyholders and stop the foolish rhetoric about “we as lawmakers cannot get on etc,etc yet we send children to conflict resolution classes”. Did Hartley Henry write that nonsense for her today?

I just do not understand how people can be so blind and come on this blog to defend the indefensible. Just like Leroy Lynch, Leroy Parris should be up at Dodds. People are hurting and you DLP supporters cannot be fair at all. Leroy Parris was a lackey for Duprey, I can tell you that for sure and that is how he made his way to the top. It was not by any skill or intelligence that he possessed because we all know he is an idiot.

How could a man mash up a company say he resigned (this was only to cool down things) and now because he opened his ignorant mouth, we now know that he is back on the same board he is now suing? Can he really go back to a board meeting after his actions??? Did he ask for his money and the board refused, hence the lawsuit? Why did Fumble not tell policyholders today to sue CLICO as well??

Only ’bout here!!!

47. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

This too shall pass David!

This too shall pass.

Hopefully the Dlp will see an up turn in the economy before their term is over so they can stop playing catch up with the hand that was dealt them by the BLP and their bad policies.

Even if not so,the Clico happenings implicate first, the owen arthur administration government, and the consequent action or lack thereof of the DLP.

The majority of the people on the ground are not concerned about Clico,but about feeding their children and thankful for the free bus fare to see them through these rough times.

The public servants are happy that they have retained their jobs,including the BLP plants who Owen flooded the civil service with.

Clico,I am saying is an issue for a small but vocal section of the population.

48. I seem to remember last year there was the issue that the prision cost 700 million. the dlp people went wild with it. never mind it wasn’t true. This story is true.

Imagine if madoff and standford had the balls to sue their companies after the scandal broke. Imagine if obama had said it ok for them to sue their companies. You know the senate/congress would impeach him claiming corruptions. The pm best interest was the keep quiet on the topic and not say a word. By supporting parris it continues to show that parris has the dlp in pockets as he always did.

Now as for mia. the same advice she gave 2 years ago is the same advice they now doing. putting the company in judical management. You think any jm worth who has integrity would want back parris on the board overseeing the company. NO. they would have shot down parris appointment back to board. Chris said they would be in jm. It not almost 4 months since the budget. We know british american has a jm. does clico have one. that is million dollar question. Now the part here is these risk takers bought Insurance annuities as the rest of buisness. they annuities are back but the goveremnt regulation. as such if they failt to due lack of goverment oversight they have as much right to sue the goverment/clico and barrack did. Clico has wafts of assests that some people are dying to get their hand on. The land acquisition budget for this year is 6 million that not even 1/10 of sam lords value. Far better to sell it crane as they wanted it so they can develope it right away. this would inject cash into the company and payout start. the farm lands would be bought by any number of investors that are waiting on heels to snap them up.

Internation investors/ IFI are also looking @ barrack saga and look at it as government not want to pay it bills. The pm has little options in this. Install a Jm immediately and set the forensic auditors on clico assets. See what toxic for what not. Sell good assets . the difference would then be financed thru government bond issue.

49. Mash up and buy back ought to shut up and step back.

50. somehow i don’t 40,000 people are small. these 40,000 have wives/husbands, daughters/sons, brothers/sisters. the end result might be majority of the population effected. This isn’t a small problem, it is a huge/expensive problem that needs to be dealt with today.