Former President of CLICO Holdings Barbados socializing with Minister of Finance on Gold Cup Day at the Garrison Savannah

A picture is said to be worth a thousand words. BU will not ascribe any meaning to the picture which appears on the back page of the Nation newspaper today (8 March 2011), other than to suggest it smacks of insensitivity on the part of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. No doubt Nation reporter Gercine Carter, credited with the picture, could not believed her luck for what can be surely be described as a ‘kodak moment’.

The CLICO issue has become a concern given its implication for local and regional economies, especially at a recessionary time. We should not forget British American which is owned by CLICO parent CL Financial. CLICO and its figurehead, until recently,  in the personage of Leroy Parris has become one of the most politically charged  discussion ‘pieces’ in recent months. We are where we are because of a lethargy which the Office of Insurance and the political directorate have exercised over CLICO which spans several years. Despite the foregoing the government of the day has the responsibility to manage the CLICO problem with minimum fallout to Barbadians. Who can envy the government at this time!

Of late the concern for BU has morphed to the issue of allowing Leroy Parris to remain as Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). BU respects Leroy Parris for what he has been able to achieve, big chip on his shoulder not withstanding. In many ways his ‘rags to riches’ story bears a parallel to that of Cyril Duprey, who was able to build  a financial empire which had Colonial Life Insurance at its foundation from a relatively humble beginning. The fact that Parris is still able to command an invitation to Sandy Lane’s Box on Gold Cup Day speaks to how he has position himself on the social ladder in Barbados.

Parris’ relationship with the late Prime Minister David Thompson was no secret. In the absence of campaign finance legislation – which both parties have avoided over the years – means we can only speculate at the level of campaign financing Parris in his capacity as President of CLICO Holdings Barbados would have directed at the Democratic Labour Party. If BU were to hazard a guess, the DLP has received a significant sum from Parris to fund their political campaigns. Is it unreasonable to question those who believe that Parris received the privilege to Chair the CBC because of his financial support rather than on the basis of competence? Hopefully the Attorney General will move the Second Reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2010 in parliament today. We hope!

Along with the expected Cabinet reshuffle, it will be interesting to observe how Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart treat with the issue of Leroy Parris at the CBC. Does the Prime Minister believe Parris is still able to mobilize significant financing which might explain allowing him to continue at the CBC? Now that he no longer ‘lords’ over the CLICO entity in Barbados will Stuart deem him dispensable and jettison what many believe is political baggage with a general election on the horizon? The report last week that Parris intends to sue CLICO makes for interesting theatre from here on. Perhaps Parris should be reminded of government’s role in  rescuing CLICO and British American. Do we see a conflict?

Maybe the ghost of late Prime Minister David Thompson under the direction from a re-emerging Hartley Henry remains a factor in the decisions by cabinet.

1. @islandgal246,

I am sympathetic to people who lost their money.

I think that in a perfect world, every thing Clico, Parris and the Clico executives own should be sold and the proceeds distributed among the investors.

This is on the assumption that all investors were warned that they could lose their money and that Parris and Clico mismanaged the investors money and caused the company to fail.

2. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

Hi all, I have been away from the blog for a while. My heart bleeds for Japan, but the signs portend more bleeding on the horizon, because Barbados has better prepare for a Tsunami to hit us too:
    “The Leroy Parris/CLICO/Thompson/Stuart /DLP Tsunami”

Carson, I am terribly embarrased for you. What Prodigal Son and the others have been trying to point out to you, [as if they haven’t made their case clear enough], is that the MARKETPLACE usually pays a man his value.

Based on the returns and the long term viability of the companies he has been managing, Parris’ value in the marketplace is NOT commensurate with the enormous $80,000.00 p.m. salary and perks he is receiving, not to mention a TEN MILLION DOLLARS BONUS.

These matters have nothing at all to do with the colour of the man’s skin! You are the only one screaming the race card and you are so off-based, that I feel stupid just telling you this.

If a private company is performing solidly in an independently sustainable fashion [no Gov’t subsidies, no bolstering with tax-payers’ money like the Ten Million from the Central Bank] the shareholders, the policy holders, could have no reasonable objection to paying Parris the sort of salary he is receiving.

But you mean that (1) policy holders can’t get their money, (2) BARP pensioners $500,000.00 in investments looking real doubtful, (3)Parris’ organisation belatedly placed under Judicial Management, (4) no money seemingly available [except by Thompson’s promise out of tax-payers’ money] to settle THREE HUNDRED MILLION PLUS DOLLARS in annuities immently due, (5) insolvency setting in hard … all these things and more …. and you talking about skin colour CARSON?? What kind of foolish excuse is that? You can’t see the amount of suffering Parris’, Thompson’s, and Duprey’s plundering and mismanagement has caused? And yes, blame Stuart too … he has been the docile/compliant one!

3. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

That’s “imminently”

4. Truthman Burton Avatar
    Truthman Burton

That Unquote on page 9 of Today’s Saturday Sun is truly a gem.

Could The Nation publish the whole series of photographs from that Sandy Lane Private Booth encounter between Sinckler and Parris, so we could see the entire range of emotions exhibited by these bosom-buddies on that Gold Cup ocassion?

Should be hilarious, but instructive too!

5. Read some of the TT papers on Lawrence Duprey’s business dealings
    …………………………………………………………………………..
    The forensic auditors are looking at funds disappearing by the issuing of cheques. The auditors should be looking into the enormous salaries by certain high-end personnel. If Leroy Barbados is receiving 80 Thousand, you can guess how much Duprey Trinidad receiving. Instead of auditing the company, the emphasis should be the individuals. What say you Anthony or Prodigal Son and other intelligent bloggers minus the robot brain CC.

6. PM Stuart is in a fantastic position to garnish support from the electorate by distancing himself from this debacle. It might be risky, but I will remove Sinckler who was a close associate of Thompson/Parris and place neutral Estwick in his position. Then I will call in a JM or a Forensic Auditor to go through the financial transactions of CLICO. If Owen Arthur received $7,500.00 from Clico, do tell me how much money Thompson/DLP received.

7. As tempted as I was ,I resisted based on the premise that all the facts are not yet in .C.C.C was able to change my mind. To advance the argument that Leroy Parris is being bashed because he is black ,is the type of comment that negates any and all salient points that may follow. Are you kidding me? They who lost their monies ,what colour were they? All white ? Even so would that be all right? I think not. When all is said and done those who can least afford to take the hit not just should be, but must be the first to be made whole. As they say the longest walk begins with one step. Let this action serve to be the first in that right direction.

8. Yes it is said that a picture is worth a thousand words ,but must we take everything in its literal sense? Truthman Burton wants to view still shots and deduce confirmation about bosom buddies . Did he see arch enimies as he looked at the stills of Mia and Owen? Just wondering and at the same time trying to keep the focus where it belongs.

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TELL ME WHY
    “we have to stop and listen and keep our mouth shut, that’s the only way we can gain knowledge”

Where on this thread do I find this knowledge?
    Or do I have to use my electron microscope to find it?

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Truthman Burton | March 12, 2011 at 5:04 PM |

I have just wasted a whole two seconds of my life reading your comment
    It is really amazing to me. All of these Labourites on one thread and it is extremely difficult to find one sentence by them that make any sense at all. If this is the best of the Barbados Labour Party, no wonder you are warming the opposition benches.

11. Well i would suggest the jm need to go today rather than some time in the future. They need a whole team of forensic auditors to go thru the books to see where the money has went. I won’t be surprised if they are huge short term loan to the parent company back by it assets. Further from that you need to examine the accounts of the executives to see if money pass thru them. Currently most people view the government unwieldiness to act as supporting the same people who made massive contribution to their party and as such are angry at them

12. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This thread should be renamed,

“Barbados Labour Party Scare tactics gone Wild”

13. CCC if you haven’t notice your point are all falling flat. you should really go visit the doctor. He may prolong your life some more at rate your going at.

14. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Yes Man CCC..tell them!! Go for it! Or better yet, here is Sir Humphrey, explaining it better…

15. I saw this quote in today’s Sun newspaper in England “DEPUTY PM Nick Clegg yesterday declared he wanted to “wring the necks” of selfish bankers. The Lib Dem chief spoke of his fury at multi-million pound bonuses still being paid out – calling the greed “a red rag to my bull”.
    This is the same way I feel about Leroy Parris.
    How can he at this stage be looking for a 10 million dollar bonus.
    I hope none of my taxes are used to give him any bonus.
    First of all, his weekly salary is more than my yearly salary by 2 and that should allow him to live a comfortable life for the balance of his life here on earth.
    I think there was a ponzi scheme like behavior in CLICO.
    The BLP s people trying to link everyone with this man must recognized that for fourteen years this company was allowed to go unchecked. Now the DLP is doing the same thing.
    It is IRONIC that the DLP campaigned on Freedom of Information and integrity legislation and when they got into office recognized that there is free money to be got like the BLP.
    A new party that pledges to implement these corruption busting legislations in one week after winning the government or they will resigned immediately, will win the government.

16. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

link did not work ..here is the URL

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_pxeRT8pcTo&NR=1

17. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting CCC March 12 at 10:29 “I have money in Clico too but I still have two daughters and a wife at University.”

You idiot you can afford to boast, but the only reason you can have 3 family members at university is because the tax payers are paying tens of thousands of dollars a year to keep them there.

But maybe the taxpayers AKA the electorate is getting sick and tired of this. It is not so much that we like the BLP, but it may be time to trade in this set of rascals for the other set.

And if you are not worried about CLICO why does Leroy Parris seem in such a desperate hurry to get his money? Since you are so patient, why can’t you teach him patience too?

I don’t have any money in CLICO, but I have relatives and aquaintances with money in CLICO. Some have been trying to get their money back for many, many months now and can’t get a cent back.

I thank God that I used such money as I had to feed my children and if I need to ask where my money went I just need to look at the shit in the well out in the yard.

If I had put money in CLICO the result would have been the same shit.

But at least my children enjoyed the food.

18. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Quoting GBL at 11:34 today “…a clico financed government …”

Except that this is not a CLICO financed government although the DLP and CLICO may like to think so. CLICO may have financed the campaigns of both parties, but the Barbados government is financed by the money and sweat of hard working, over burdened, overtaxed Barbadians.

We need to remind BOTH parties of this.

19. I hope Parris is getting good advice because I don’t think he can be paid while Investors are owed money.

If I were him I would be quietly working to help Investors get their money back instead of taking the Company court.

Bad judgement imho.

20. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

We Bajans are a bunch of jokers.

A man who cannot speak, read or write English is the Chariman of CBC.

But if ya say one ya gotta say two. A few years back the BLP appointed as Chairman of the Child Care Board a man who by his own admission had shamefully neglected his own children.

Night does run till day catch it.

21. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear CCC:

If Leroy Parris loved black people so much how come he routinely fired his unmarried employees who gave birth?

The man a bastard himself and the father of a bastard seemed to have a problem with unmarried black women giving birth to black babies.

Who then is full of self hate?

You CCC is a joker and piecea man.

22. Truthman Burton Avatar

@HAMILTON HILL | March 12, 2011 at 7:18 PM |
    “Yes it is said that a picture is worth a thousand words ,but must we take everything in its literal sense? Truthman Burton wants to view still shots and deduce confirmation about bosom buddies .”

Hamilton, you could not help but take a shot at me, couldn’t you? And as if dragging some irrelevant remark about Owen and Mia will clarify the nasty CLICO MESS, and remove the shameful activity from the bowells of the DLP!

Look at the Photograph heading up this thread, Hammy, and tell me if you don’t see great happiness and a sense of comraderie akin to Bosom-buddies, as these big cheeked, high-on-the hog, fatted-up guys sip what looks like pink Sandy Lane Grade champagne?

Then take a look at today’s Saturday Sun picture on page 9, and tell me if you don’t see a completely different emotion.

You wouldn’t be curious to see all the pictures? Incidentally, the hype about the queen seems to have died down. Is she in the island? Hartley not playing that card anymore? Maybe as the Office Manager, she can shed some light on this CLICO mess.

Carson, I am really sorry for you. You should have spent more time reading my comments, since you appear to have a slow brain.

Maybe you have been drinking too much of Leroy’s favorite brew, “decapitated coffee” (that’s what Mr. Malapropism/Green Verb-Leroy calls decaffeinated coffee) and now you have gone and lost your head.

23. Carson. Don’t you think it is about time that you start using your ‘virgin’ brain. You are behaving like a mechanical toy emitting only programmed sounds. Be a man, use your brain and you will gain knowledge. Here endeth my time with you.

24. Truthman Burton Avatar

Carson, man you are a glutton for punishment! SOS TO GEORGE STREET! WOULD SOMEBODY COME FOR CARSON?

25. @David

There is a normal risk which is inherent in any investment made in any financial institution.
    And the greater the risk the greater the reward but I digress, now I know that CLICO was offering a higher interest rate on GIC’s etc. than the Banks, did anyone stop to think that the investments were riskier or were people expecting to find a pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

One of my close relatives had a substantial amount invested in CLICO and when it came renewal time ( a year before the implosion) he sought my advice. I hemmed and hawed and made some general comments but being on the ground he saw which way the wind was blowing and decided not to renew and laughed all the way to the Bank.

It is strange that among the claims in Parris’ suit is his “bonus”. If a company does well under your management you are entitled to a bonus but the company seems to be on the verge of insolvency, the man has what people of Jewish descent would call “chutzpah”.

Perhaps there is method to this madness and Parris is staking his claim to be first in line as one of the creditors when the inevitable happens.

26. @Truthman Burton

Don’t make such a fuss over those pictures we were not born yesterday. The rich and the well connected have always wined and dined politicians and Bajan politicians are not shy about being wined and dined.

Sinckler is still green behind the ears so he allowed the Nation Photographer to take pictures of him enjoying the festivities, a seasoned BLP politician would have told her where to stuff that camera.

I also remember seeing your former Minister of Tourism bedecked in his finest bling drinking that Sandy Lane lemonade (Chanpagne) during the PGA tour event at the Green Monkey.

A picture can tell a thousand tales now if we can only find those pictures that George has of Owen……

27. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I am still desperately trying to find something useful on this thread.
    I hope to find it before the next century.

28. Yup we keep look @ your comments CCC and say how could he be lacking so much brain matter. It just shocking.

29. @ Truthman Burton that pot shot was sent as a gesture of welcome back. We all know that you would prefer not to send me on a mission of recriminations , for I can sight many other instances ,other than the one sighted by Sargeant . The point is that they all do. The difference is that Chris sipped champagne ,while your boy guzzled cool aid.

30. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Okay, okay..lets lighten the mood again..

-Two politicans were having a heated debate. Finally, one of them jumped up and yelled at the other, “What about the powerful interest that controls you?”
    And the other politician screamed back, “You leave my wife out of this!”

– A little girl asked her father, ‘do all fairy tales begin with “Once upon a time”?
    The father replied, ‘No, some begin with – If I am elected.’

– It’s tough being a politician. Half your reputation is ruined by lies the other half is ruined by the truth!

– Redundancy: An airbag in a politician’s car!

– There are two sorts of politicians: those who can talk nonsense on any subject under the sun, and those who don’t need a subject.

– During Britain’s “brain drain,” not a single politician left the country.

– Statesmen tell you what is true even though it may be unpopular. Politicians will tell you what is popular, even though it may be untrue.

Yes, all cut and pasted…but who cares??

;-))

31. Contrary to some on this blog who would want to make it a political issue, this CLICO AFFAIR goes beyond politics even though there are political threads running through it.

THIS IS ABOUT POOR PEOPLE’S MONEY!

People who saw an opportunity to invest their money and now cannot get back those savings, and in most cases this was all the money they had.

This is about the insensitivity and the lack of empathy on the part of our politicians to speak out on the behalf of those who funds have been extorted.

This is about the need for justice for these individuals who can least afford to be robbed.

This is about a company that engaged in a scheme offering much more than the market could bear in order to coerce people into investing.

This is about the lies that are being told concerning this whole matter, and the lack of guts on the part of our government to do something.

This is about your friend, your cousin, your relative, your daughter, your son who cannot get back his/her money.

This is about people feeling hopeless having lost their investment.

When Trade Confirmers went belly up, I know of individuals who committed suicide or ended up at the psychiatric hospital, because their money was lost.

So for the idiots that would want to make this issue a partisan political one, think again. Yes politicians were and are involved but THIS ABOUT PEOPLE’S LIVES WE ARE TALKING ABOUT.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

FRAN

Don’t fool yourself this is all about politics and the need to pull down a Black man who made it.

33. Cough as we see CCC still need to go to doctor. It about getting back the money that was given in good faith to clico.

34. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“BU remains steadfast in the position that CLICO is being dismantled at an unholy pace by respective Caribbean governments. This is a Black owned company which up to 2 months ago was held up as a symbol of a successful Caribbean company. If Prime Minister Thompson is able to get the life insurance sold and keep the other parts of CLICO in tact resulting in protecting jobs and policyholders not only in Barbados but in the EC, history may yet speak very kindly of him. The fact that he had the courage to take a different route from the other Caribbean governments may demonstrate why Barbados is considered a leader in the Caribbean”

Do these words sound familiar to you?

35. Carson wasn’t that before the truth was found out 🙂

36. Do these words sound familiar to you?
    ………………………………………………………………………..

People ain’t lookin’ at words, but action. Carson, get a mirror and look at yourself whilst reading the diatribe that you keep writing defending your political cronies. Deal with the facts like a man and stop decrying fellow bloggers who understands the pain of all those insurers who might loose thousands of dollars.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“We agree with you. Again this is another issue where Barbadians should feel that there is a bipartisan effort to ensure we are able to ward of financial disaster. This is critical against the global financial challenges facing no(t) only Barbados but the world. It is a very sad position we find ourselves in. POLITICS RULE

The question we have for Mottley if you want to play politics: what were the reserve levels of CLICO just a year earlier?”

Doyou remember these words especially the part, “POLITICS RULE”?

As I said earlier, I will need my electron microscope to find anything worthwhile on this thread.

Again:
    FRAN
    Don’t fool yourself this IS ALL about politics and the need to pull down a BLACK MAN who made it.

38. CCC keeps stretching for some points that we all know that was killed by revelation of fact that latter came out.

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

TELL ME WHY

“Here endeth my time with you.”

You are back!

40. to carson.c. i hate to have to defend the blp but the truth must prevail. based on your comment, it would mean that no one in the dlp had any commonsense for the past 14 years when they warmed the opposition benches. i tell you that they should thank owen seymour arthur for the political mistakes which allowed their return to government and to keep it for another term. you remember the song-rice gone up-sugar gone up-flour gone uo-everything gone up. good luck my diehard dlp friend

41. all i have to say about the photograph evoking such comment is that sinckler is a true friend not prepared to bite the hand that fed the party and that is what true friends do; not jump ship at the sight of trouble. the apocrypha says a tur fried is a stong delight and those who have found him hath found a treasure.

42. I waan get somting strait. Effing de banks offering me 2.5% and a man come and offer me 8 or10% pun de dollar, and me ears prick up, me eyes open wide and me mout start tuh run wata. Effing I decide to swallow he bait and gih he all o my back money and den later on I hear that he company in trouble and I mighten not get back me money, you feel that I shud hold he and he boss responsible fuh not explaining dat dat was one o de possibilities or dat I shud blame myself for gambling wid all o my back money?

43. the revelations arising out of former chairman of clico Mr Leroy Parris’s lawsuit against clico for outstanding monies are to say the least nothing short of astounding and smells like a dead rat. it should be also noted that the chairman of the oversight committee Mr William Layne pointed out in his interview published in today’s sunday sun that he encountered no political interference in the execution of his duties. he said too that work of the committee was hampered by the lack of information and presentation of contractual arrangements. it is inconceivable then that cerain contracts sought by the committee through the life of its existence without success and bearing the name of the late great prime minister can now surface before the court in support of mr parris’ claim. i am loathe to cast asperions on the character of persons alive or dead without having been seized of all the facts but it does indeed boggle the mind as to why in heavens name did the late ghreat primeminister not persuade or encourage his client to assist the committee in the proper execution of their duties by handing over the contract to the committee which he appointed or was the setting up of the committee intended to be farce or reflect impending criticism. it is instuctive to note too that Mr Parris in his seemingly dontcarish response to the concern of the comittee over the writing of new plicies in breach of the instructions of the committee allowed all and sundry to know that he had informed the Minister of Finance which could lead to the reasonable inference that he was performing this illegitimate act with the blessings of the late great prime minister. i am left to wonder how much damage this irresponsible statement could have done to the health of Mr Thompson. bro cas- am i right in the inferences drawn. now over to you carson c.cadogan the corruption czar.

44. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Parris is to the DLP as Fields was to the BLP. Deeply involved in strategy, deeply involved in business, both Chairmen of CBC. Under BLP BS&T went under Trini ownership, under DLP Clico was under Trini ownership and went into financial seizure. Field et al have also now sold out Banks Holdings to an essentially unknown (to the public) buyer. Night does run till day catch it.

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Nuhbody | March 13, 2011 at 4:29 PM

“effing I decide to swallow he bait and gih he all o my back money and den later on I hear that he company in trouble and I mighten not get back me money,”

That is the same thing that happen with Trade confirmers.

As I said before some of us getting older but not wiser.

46. @ nuhbody

The depend on when you got in the bank where offering 4-5%. It wasn’t just any man. It was one of the largest insurance companies in barbados if not the largest then back by government regulations that said that fund should be manage properly.

So stop trying to make it seem like the people was greedy and this was back alley deal. It was all above board. The only thing you can fault people for it putting all their egg in one basket nothing else.

47. A picture is worth a thousand words, but I only need four. Sinkler is an idiot.

48. @ anthony

No man, I am not saying dat people were greedy, I wuz jus trying to find out ef it neva cross dem minds, given de Trade Confirmers debacle that CCC mention and whichin most people over40 hear bout, if dem shudda been more skeptical and not put all o dem eggs in one basket like you said.

Now effing you saying that guvment, by their actions or lack thereof, caused people to believe that everything wuz proppa and above board, shud they not now accept some liability?

Who should be responsible for educating potential investors as to the inherent risk in any particular venture?

49. Stop worrying about that picture and ponder how many more meetings occur away from the glare of the cameras and with whom.
    The picture should be seen for what it is; the tip of the iceberg.

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

AT LAST, this was like pulling teeth.

After all the garbage on this thread which is masquerading as “wisdom”. I have now encountered only one post that makes any type sense.

A lot of the problems being encountered by these jokers stems from what?

To a large extent GREED. Their money were safe and sound where it was. But just like TRADE CONFIRMERS they were enticed with promises of milk and honey. The Banks, Credit Unions which are properly regulated and where their monies were relatively safe even though the yearly returns were small all of a sudden appeared to the gullible not to be the place to keep their hard earn currencies.

One of these days I hope my Black people will learn. Things that happen to people in the past are warnings to us in the present and we ought to learn from the misfortunes of others. We all know that Black people commited suicide, we all know that Black people wound up in the Mental Hospital after the collapse of TRADE CONFIRMERS yet we ignored all of this and remove our monies from safe havens with what effect?

What did the Barbados Labour Party when TRADE CONFIRMERS ran into trouble?

I can not help saying that we are getting older but not wiser.
    We also show that we know little about money management. Black people should never put all their monies in one place. Some funds, should be lodged in investments, some should be in the Credit Union, some should be in the Banks etc.. This mitigates against calamities.

I made the point that I have two daughters at Univerity and my wife also even though I have money in CLICO I am not worried. That is why. My risk portfolio is spread wide.

What we are witnessing here is people with more money than common sense!

As “NOBODY” said:
    “I shud blame myself for gambling wid all o my back money?”

These people are in no position to demand anything. They have their hands in the Lion’s mouth so they have to ease it out.

As DAVID said when he was speaking with common sense:
    “Again this is another issue where Barbadians should feel that there is a bipartisan effort to ensure we are able to ward of financial disaster”

All the POLITICS which are being played out on this thread is going to help no one.