Former President of CLICO Holdings Barbados socializing with Minister of Finance on Gold Cup Day at the Garrison Savannah

A picture is said to be worth a thousand words. BU will not ascribe any meaning to the picture which appears on the back page of the Nation newspaper today (8 March 2011), other than to suggest it smacks of insensitivity on the part of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. No doubt Nation reporter Gercine Carter, credited with the picture, could not believed her luck for what can be surely be described as a ‘kodak moment’.

The CLICO issue has become a concern given its implication for local and regional economies, especially at a recessionary time. We should not forget British American which is owned by CLICO parent CL Financial. CLICO and its figurehead, until recently,  in the personage of Leroy Parris has become one of the most politically charged  discussion ‘pieces’ in recent months. We are where we are because of a lethargy which the Office of Insurance and the political directorate have exercised over CLICO which spans several years. Despite the foregoing the government of the day has the responsibility to manage the CLICO problem with minimum fallout to Barbadians. Who can envy the government at this time!

Of late the concern for BU has morphed to the issue of allowing Leroy Parris to remain as Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). BU respects Leroy Parris for what he has been able to achieve, big chip on his shoulder not withstanding. In many ways his ‘rags to riches’ story bears a parallel to that of Cyril Duprey, who was able to build  a financial empire which had Colonial Life Insurance at its foundation from a relatively humble beginning. The fact that Parris is still able to command an invitation to Sandy Lane’s Box on Gold Cup Day speaks to how he has position himself on the social ladder in Barbados.

Parris’ relationship with the late Prime Minister David Thompson was no secret. In the absence of campaign finance legislation – which both parties have avoided over the years – means we can only speculate at the level of campaign financing Parris in his capacity as President of CLICO Holdings Barbados would have directed at the Democratic Labour Party. If BU were to hazard a guess, the DLP has received a significant sum from Parris to fund their political campaigns. Is it unreasonable to question those who believe that Parris received the privilege to Chair the CBC because of his financial support rather than on the basis of competence? Hopefully the Attorney General will move the Second Reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2010 in parliament today. We hope!

Along with the expected Cabinet reshuffle, it will be interesting to observe how Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart treat with the issue of Leroy Parris at the CBC. Does the Prime Minister believe Parris is still able to mobilize significant financing which might explain allowing him to continue at the CBC? Now that he no longer ‘lords’ over the CLICO entity in Barbados will Stuart deem him dispensable and jettison what many believe is political baggage with a general election on the horizon? The report last week that Parris intends to sue CLICO makes for interesting theatre from here on. Perhaps Parris should be reminded of government’s role in  rescuing CLICO and British American. Do we see a conflict?

Maybe the ghost of late Prime Minister David Thompson under the direction from a re-emerging Hartley Henry remains a factor in the decisions by cabinet.

1. Or is it…How Will Leroy Parris Manage The Fruendel Stuart Government?

😉

2. I agree with Crusoe…Parris will have more control than Stuart over the moves made in the endgame of this saga…

3. Not allowing politricks to be one of the things I feel strongly about because perhaps I would grow old vex, all I can say for those who have lost all….is it just not shameful? Anywhere else in the world a government would have been brought down, a man or two in jail.

Visited Sam Lord’s Castle the other day and tears came to my eyes…and I thought about all the damage across the land to humans and buildings that CLICO has done. Rape at its best. And now both heads of this company want to return to help it get back on its feet…both heads who have suffered nothing…but have continued their lifestyle as though all they got was a mosquito bite.

There is a house in St. John…close to Redland’s Plantation…in total disrepair. I could turn that into an art centre/farm/deli that locals and visitors would visit, some even staying there as a retreat. A percentage of the profits could go back to the group who have lost money. In fact projects like these could be done with all the properties lying to waste, and being burned down just for so…at least some little pittance could come out of such projects (not necessarily the same, think diverse) so that some likkle monies could begin to trickle into the pot that is now empty and belongs to so many young and old on the island. Perhaps this might be considered.

4. And to top it all he calling fuh his BONUS. Green verbs is still suffering from a never thought.

5. I feel that this matter, more than any other, will bring this government down if they do not distance themselves from this man and deal with him as with any other alleged criminal. Let’s face it, this matter is not too different from the Dudus Coke matter in Jamaica. This government is in effect thumbing its nose at all those policy holders who have lost their savings in CLICO. It is mind-numbing that it is now over two years and NOTHING has been done.

6. At least we never saw pictures of PM Golding partying with Dudus Coke. How do policyholders feel about seeing the Minister of Finance drinking champagne with Leroy Parris when this business is still unresolved?

7. The volcano is beginning to rumble, if the DLP government don’t start dumping ice into the crater to cool it off, it will erupt at a crucial time for the party and that is at elections time. I previously stated that the DLP ardent supporters should not laugh the B’s to scorn because their time will come if they don’t put their house in order. It appears that the party has not taken this Clico issue seriously and it is beginning to come back to haunt them or they just don’t care about the voters, they have gotten a piece of the sweets and just don’t care if they are returned or not because some or most of them have hit the jackpot. How long is too long, when it is ……………?

8. It probably wasn’t deliberate but a gaffe never the less. Isn’t this the reason we have Protocol Officers in the Civil Service?

Sinkcler must appreciate he has been catapulted to senior status and a simple thing like requesting the guest list and making adjustments in agenda is par for the course.

9. david
    You are so right but certainly, these guys are so caught up in the spirit of living the big life that they don’t stop and analyse the negative reprocussions that can come out of it. Let’s face it, being invited to that prestigious box for him was only a dream come true and he would not decline the invitation. That’s why many of our politicians from both sides of the divide are so gullible.

10. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

But David perfectly ordinary, sensible Baans are asking if Leroy Parris is mad? I had 4 people ask me so just this weekend, including one person who was a long time employee of Clico?

How can he be asking for bonus (I thought that “bon” meant good, and that bonuses are only paid if a company had done good?) and to cash in his policies when other people, including this former employee are still waiting for money that CLICO owes them.

Parris was head of the company, and the company mash up.

Surely he bears some responsibility for the company’s failure?

It seems to me that Parris and Henry and this DLP government are banking on the mistaken belief that Bajans are stupid?

Bajans are NOT stupid.

We have never been stupid.

Bajans can’t wait to go to the polls.

We are a very patient, but not a stupid people.

11. That picture indeed is worth many thousand words. Kudos to Gercine Carter!

12. BU’s position is that Parris can sue all he wants but given government, and by extension taxpayers will be CLICO benefactor of last resort he needs to resigned or be fired from his position at the ‘government owned’ CBC. Is he a board member at Invest Barbados?

13. BarbadosFirst Avatar

Look at the photo (a million dollar shot, isn’t it) Sipping champagne up in a box watching the prestigous Gold Cup race yet people such as the BARP pensioners cannot get their money out of CLICO and British American to meet their everyday living expenses. BARP complained to the Minister about how the rise in cost of living has affected them, being on fixed incomes. Ordinary everyday Barbadians – is it because we are foolish or dont make large campaign contributions at election time? Or does our vote not count too? Yet this is the same Minister who just two months ago on the platform in St. John piss paraded about the increase in mauby, the poor man’s drink but can be seen in the company of the chamagne sipping elite. Is Mr. Sinclkler the Minister under whose portfolio the Supervisor of Insurance/Financial Services Commission falls? Come on now, time has long past for him to speak to why the policyholders have not been repaid as yet. Sitting and waiting on judicial managers just isn’t enough. Meantime he and his associates enjoying champagne at Gold Cup, pensioners and ordinary hardworking Barbadians who put money in CLICO and British American have to beg to get money to get by, pay the doctor and send school their children at a time when they thought they would have had the benefit of their nest eggs. Take note – 2012, when the majority of those CLICO annuities come due is one year before the constitutional due date for next elections. If wunna think bajans sleepin because their eyes shut, wunna got another thing coming!!!

14. negro Man Again I feel vindicated, even though I wish it wasn’t so, but I said the DLP is going to let their massive victory in the St.John’s by-elections go to their heads. For some stupid reason, they were of the belief that St.John was speaking for the entire country,so they have become more arrogant, somehow they though they had convinced the voting public that Owen was “pass his expiry date’ and they can do as they like, well I still think it isn’t too late for them to get their house in order but time is running out FAST.

15. Well the article seems to be written for publishing yesterday. Though far as i recall while listening to some of the discussion they didn’t mention the bill.

16. @BarbadosFirst
    I don’t think that I would EVER describe Leroy Parris as “elite”. “Lower than a snake’s belly” would be more appropriate.

17. BU is making a request to anyone in BU public to email us CLICO’s most recent financials, asset register etc. Of concern is how CLICO Barbados was able to capitalize the Rayside company. Where did the money come from?

18. That was a misguided photo-op for Sinckler…but then how do you deny your chief benefactor? As I said earlier, Barbados and the DLP are being run by a dead man!

19. It was 2005 david. Clico was still solvent and had excess cash to invest anywhere. The bad deals/ELFs matrurity to follow would be the doom of the company.

20. @Anthony

Define solvent in this case.

What have you based your assessment?

The solvent causes cold sweat for many nowadays.

21. Solvent in this case would mean they had money to reduce the companies overdraft facility so that the bank didn’t seize property and that they paid out rayside for his company share which I assume would have been the lesser of the cost of takeover. They then had funds to pay the staff salaries and pay the company loans. In total inject a good amount of capital into the company.

That of course means nothing now compared to expect losses clico might have when ELF come to maturity next year.

22. Well, well, well, when will Leroy Parris cover his head and hide in shame. Does he know the feelings that looking at his grinning face bring to mind for thousands of Barbadian, CLICO POLICY holders? Does the DLP know that by associating with him and posing with him, all broad smiles while poor Barbadians are scrunting after losing thousands of dollars in mature policy money is excruciatingly wrong? Is Leroy Parris a madman? How could he be taking his company to court when he has already raped it of its assets.
    Millions have been invested in the education of Barbadians. We are neither foolish nor asleep. We continue to watch the continuous association of Mr Parris with the DLP and the deafening silence on the Clico matter and its effects on thousands of Barbadians.

23. @anthony

What was the Supervisor of Insurance saying about CLICO operations at the time? Do you know? Especially as it relates to the reserve requirement.

BTW did the Supervisor of Insurance have a problem with investment/buy out of Rayside?

24. To the point why the government is silent on this matter Minister Sinckler is on public record that he will issue a ministerial statement when the judicial manager is appointed.

Until then hang ‘tuff’.

25. Folks don’t forget that if David was alive his picture would have been replacing Snickler’s.

26. @david

Haven’t clue I don’t think he release public reports. I do know the clico finical report for 2005 weren’t submitted till 2007. Has clico ever submitted a finical report on time in last 10-20 years ?

27. Not necessarily Islandgal, Sinckler was the beneficiary of the blue jaguar that was owned by Parris shortly after elections. It was then placed in Simpson’s motors show window when it was thought that to drive around a car so early in the game would be to blatant an act.

Green verb has no shame.

28. The only man missing to complete the total DLP picture was Hartley Henry. Did you notice that these were someways off from the PM?

I could not believe my eyes when reading Sunday’s Sun. The nerve of the man saying he will sue CLICO for his bonus after having raped the company. I heard an old man last week nearly in tears on Brasstacks saying that he invested all the money he brought back from Canada and now cannot get a cent out of CLICO. He said he now has bailiffs running him down. I was moved to hear the plight of this 80 year old man, in the evening of his days reduced to hiding from bailiffs and Leroy Parris got the nerve to be demanding bonus and his matured policies. What about these folks?

Leroy Parris and Lawrence Duprey should be locked up like Alan Stanford and Bernie Madoff!

By the way, I heard that trouble is really brewing in the DLP. The big headed arrogant Chris Sinckler, I was told, told off the PM because the PM did not allow him to act as PM recently. I was told that that he told the PM that I am important, I am the minister of finance and you cannot do without me! I should be acting PM when you are not here. This is what I was told!!!

If this is true, as PM I would have done what I have to do and show him how important he (Sinckler) is!!! Maybe, this is why Hartley Henry arranged the retreat when the PM was away!!!

29. Why the surprise that Sinckler would be in a VIP box with his party’s biggest financier, Chairman of CBC and provider of all those plantation lands for government’s $5/sq ft programme? Stupse

30. Humm wonder when the pm going to do the reshuffle. might see a shift in power then

31. Is the DLP government going to still get their hands on those plantation lands now that Leroy Parris is no longer in charge?

Remember all the well laid plans went awry too soon… CLICO went bust and David Thompson died unexpectedly. CLICO was to build and sell a lot of houses to Bajans aboard to make back the money they invested in the DLP. On one of the first overseas trips by David Thompson he took Leroy Parris to the UK to push this project. But things went south very soon!

So the government may be screwed if they are still looking to CLICO for cheap land. If and when they ever appoint a judicial manager he may not allow this!

32. Melvin Skeete Avatar

Bullshit. Mr Parris is not head of Clico anymore so it should not have any bearings on any actions government may have to take with this company.
    Melvin Skeete

33. @ melvin
    Who is heading CLICO now?

34. Who? You mean me? Avatar
    Who? You mean me?

Leroy Parris is not mad, he knows more about CLICO than any of you all. If he say he gine sue dem, then he musse know dat dey cud pay. Wunna should start looking around for a good lawyer to sue them too.

35. He the is the chief one who pleaded with people not to sue clico. maybe they should all sue already.

36. Who? You mean me?
    You are so right, everyone who is due money from Clico should sue them NOW. Parris isn’t a fool, and he is just trying to retreive every cent he got in there before they go flat broke.

37. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Well, well, well, the usual suspects!

*islandgal246
    *peltdownman
    *The Scout (FRAUD)
    *Random Thoughts
    *anthony
    *FRAN
    *Prodigal Son
    *Rosemary Parkinson

Corrupt Barbados Labour Party members and supporters who don’t have a sensible thought between them. Clowns who relish in childish, I take that back it would be a disservice to children, in mindless babble.

As the bible says if the blind lead the blind they will both fall into a pit. Here on this thread we have the BLP blind leading the BLP blind. No prizes for guessing what will happen to them, we don’t even have to wait for the next general election.

38. To CCC

Carson you are babbling and making no sense at all. You sound very incoherent. Now things must be really bad with you having to resort to the bible. Take a pill and chill!

39. @CCC

At least try to make a sensible argument. Since emera bough bl&p shares your argument have gotten worst by the day. now they contain no facts other the you believe the dlp is the best thing since slice bread which you can’t even show us how.

40. @david

I wonder if cbc would ever be so bold as to do the same here.

41. @anthony

Surely you jest?

42. @David

after pulling a show becuase the former minister of tourism was going to speak on it I think i cbc has no bark left.
    Barbados today is report the pm is to address the country tomorrow night with their sources saying he going to announce a reshuffle and plans for the economy.

43. @anthony

There is too much politics at CBC which maybe strange to say.

For example didn’t the CBC state they had issues with soliciting sponsorship for the show Best and Mason and that is the reason it was pulled?

Have they not replaced the show with a similar show?

On a side note, BCA president Joel Garner has always refused to appear on Best and Mason, guess who appears on the Mid Wicket show last night?

44. David indeed way too much politics who ever is in power. Might as well make these entities run by elected officials at least then we have some chance of changing it up quicker and it being fairer.

45. Cabinet reshuffle tomorrow night?

46. according to barbados today hants

47. re. rumoured Cabinet reshuffle; Where is it in Barbados Today? I can’t find it.

48. @checkitout

Would be page 5 bottom left corner. It was on page 3 till the extra tourism part was added.

49. Question for the BU family.

Where do you get your information about the rest of the world ? CNN? BBC? CBC Canada?

just asking.