Former President of CLICO Holdings Barbados socializing with Minister of Finance on Gold Cup Day at the Garrison Savannah

A picture is said to be worth a thousand words. BU will not ascribe any meaning to the picture which appears on the back page of the Nation newspaper today (8 March 2011), other than to suggest it smacks of insensitivity on the part of Minister of Finance Chris Sinckler. No doubt Nation reporter Gercine Carter, credited with the picture, could not believed her luck for what can be surely be described as a ‘kodak moment’.

The CLICO issue has become a concern given its implication for local and regional economies, especially at a recessionary time. We should not forget British American which is owned by CLICO parent CL Financial. CLICO and its figurehead, until recently,  in the personage of Leroy Parris has become one of the most politically charged  discussion ‘pieces’ in recent months. We are where we are because of a lethargy which the Office of Insurance and the political directorate have exercised over CLICO which spans several years. Despite the foregoing the government of the day has the responsibility to manage the CLICO problem with minimum fallout to Barbadians. Who can envy the government at this time!

Of late the concern for BU has morphed to the issue of allowing Leroy Parris to remain as Chairman of the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC). BU respects Leroy Parris for what he has been able to achieve, big chip on his shoulder not withstanding. In many ways his ‘rags to riches’ story bears a parallel to that of Cyril Duprey, who was able to build  a financial empire which had Colonial Life Insurance at its foundation from a relatively humble beginning. The fact that Parris is still able to command an invitation to Sandy Lane’s Box on Gold Cup Day speaks to how he has position himself on the social ladder in Barbados.

Parris’ relationship with the late Prime Minister David Thompson was no secret. In the absence of campaign finance legislation – which both parties have avoided over the years – means we can only speculate at the level of campaign financing Parris in his capacity as President of CLICO Holdings Barbados would have directed at the Democratic Labour Party. If BU were to hazard a guess, the DLP has received a significant sum from Parris to fund their political campaigns. Is it unreasonable to question those who believe that Parris received the privilege to Chair the CBC because of his financial support rather than on the basis of competence? Hopefully the Attorney General will move the Second Reading of the Prevention of Corruption Bill, 2010 in parliament today. We hope!

Along with the expected Cabinet reshuffle, it will be interesting to observe how Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart treat with the issue of Leroy Parris at the CBC. Does the Prime Minister believe Parris is still able to mobilize significant financing which might explain allowing him to continue at the CBC? Now that he no longer ‘lords’ over the CLICO entity in Barbados will Stuart deem him dispensable and jettison what many believe is political baggage with a general election on the horizon? The report last week that Parris intends to sue CLICO makes for interesting theatre from here on. Perhaps Parris should be reminded of government’s role in  rescuing CLICO and British American. Do we see a conflict?

Maybe the ghost of late Prime Minister David Thompson under the direction from a re-emerging Hartley Henry remains a factor in the decisions by cabinet.

1. Random Thoughts Avatar
    Random Thoughts

Dear Hants:

Mostly the following: NY Times, BBC, CNN, Toronto Star, and fa’ bare sport the Daily Mail.

Have ta get my Daily Mail fix daily.

2. Anthony;
    Thanks. I found it!

Hants; Re your question about sources;
    Mainly Internet newspapers/journals, eg. Daily Mirror, Space Daily;

Blogs:-Antiwar.com; Information Clearing House; Salon.com;

Real TV news-MSNBC; CNN and BBC infrequently; FOX almost never.

Yuh doing a survey?

3. Anthony.
    Solvent in this case would mean they had money to reduce the companies overdraft facility so that the bank didn’t seize property and that they paid out rayside for his company share which I assume would have been the lesser of the cost of takeover.

ANTHONY you made the above submission. But the birdie in the room said…..”You should have stated that the bank (owned by the said Clico Group) reduced the overdraft facility, thus causing the company to suffer because of a cash flow. So the bank didn’t seize the property, it paralyzed the financial status of the company and leaved it to die, then fool us that it rescued the construction company.

They then had funds to pay the staff salaries and pay the company loans.

ANTHONY you made the above submission.

Again, the birdie in the room said “Remember Clico paid salaries on two occasions on behalf of the construction company. You must also take in consideration all this drama took place during/prior to the award of the ABC extension. Read between the lines and see why the urgency of the take-over”.

In bajan parlance, if yuh friend buy clothes fuh yuh wife, give she money, tek she out and den on top of it sleep in yuh matrimonial bed wid yuh wife. Remember, he aint horning yuh, he just helpin’ yuh out. Mek sense from dat. Bonny, where are you?

4. leave it to die

5. Clico policy holders and average Bajans on the whole are spineless wimps who bend over to take licks time and time again from the B& D parties..by the time you wimps wake up it will be too late and Leroy will be long gone..watch and see.Can you blame him,instead of a lash or a good beating he will be met with praise while smiling all the way to the bank..bajans want the ten million David and Marion release to this fraud and we want it like yesterday..lol just kidding i not a policy holder but it made a good joke didn’t it..lol

6. It is unfortunate that we have not been able to ban together the way the Trinidadians have done.

7. What’s up Carson? Got YOUR money, did you?

8. I thank tell my why for more the back story. So basically clico screwed over rayside just as they did the policyholders.

As for Bonny she was suppose to have gotten an eye operations by now so i guess she recovering still.

9. Carson Cadogan cannot face the truth so he is not making any sense. Any type of criticism of the government makes us an enemy in his eyes. Carson I am neither BLP nor DLP and I really cannot follow any party blindly with total obedience like you. I can think for myself without the bias. I know that you could never get to that place and I almost feel sorry for you. So adieu! Hasta la vista baby! Scram, Vamoose!

10. MIA wid Dem. lol.

“The Queen’s Counsel (QC), who is representing Four Seasons in her capacity as an attorney-at-law, stressed the importance of having a brand name hotel like Four Seasons in Barbados, and LAUDED GOVERNMENT for its intervention.”

11. Hants
    That’s what is called dividing one’s career from politics

12. Honestly in this case I think government should have done something sooner. The collapse of this project is one of main factors for the hurt of economy in 2009.

13. I smell a rat, HH organised an elections retreat in the absence of the P.M, it is alleged Sinckler was mad because he was not made acting P.M when the P.M went overseas, Denis Lowe returning to work before his sick leave is over, Denis Kellman not giving up until his three months period is up and now an alleged cabinet reshuffle by the P.M. My predictions are that they will be drastic changes in cabinet with David Estwick becoming Dep P M.

14. What will Freundel tell the nation tonight? Will Sinckler be shuffled?

http://news.barbadostoday.bb/barticle.php?ptitle=PM addresses country tomorrow&article=3303

15. I won’t bet one way or the other on Freundel addressing the nation tonight or announcing a reshuffle. At this stage, announcing a reshuffle would mean that Freundel would have taken a decision on his own steam without having been backed into a corner to do so and that is not like him.

But someone might say, the mere act of HH organizing and being DLP spokesperson for an important meeting of the DLP attended by various organs of the party, would have necessitated swift action by the PM immediately on his return even to the extent of removing the portfolios of those who dissed him in full view of the public. After all a PM must show that he understands the power he can wield. But Freundel has shown that he has endless tolerance to things which would have been enormous slights to mere mortals. Freundel has returned over 1 week now and nothing has happened as far as we know.

Some might argue that what will happen will be revealed tonight in the putative address to the nation and that Freundel will act in his innimitable ponderous style when he absolutely has to, having taken over a week to cogitate on the matter.

With another PM I might think that there will be a reshuffle soon, with Freundel, the inscrutable, anything can happen, but very slowly.

16. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

The BLP desperate for a distraction.

I never see an opposition party push for a reshuffle in the government like this before.Ha,ha.

17. News reports are now saying it was just a rumour…no PM address tonight.

18. Hants | March 10, 2011 at 9:07 AM | MIA wid Dem. lol.

😉

19. What is that about ‘many a true word…’? Criss cross…

A clever person bides their time, till the right moment for reaction to a backstabbing…

20. According the DLP defenders like Mash Up & Buy Back and CCC, all is well with the Dems, it is all the Bees’ fault. Continue to bury your heads in the sand and say that the Bees want a reshuffle. It is you all who are not managing the country properly and people are crying out under the pressure.

When the estimates are laid in the House next week, the government has said that there is a one BILLION DOLLAR deficit between government’s revenues and expenditure and this is on top of the FIVE HUNDRED AND FIFTY MILLION DOLLARS from last FY.

This is what we need the DLP to focus on. Things are going to get ugly about here. Meanwhile, you both get agitated when people point out that the cabinet is fighting for power amongst themselves and the PM labours along on his merry way not addressing the Nation. What happened to the weekly press briefings, oh the late DT then started quarterly press conferences, hey he’s been dead for more than three months!!!

Hey CCC is Dennis Lowe back at work yet?

21. My brand of patriotism is as follows:

Any attempts to bailout CLICO, and place that burden on the tax payers will be meet by swift, silent and severe retribution. DLP you have been warned. Bailouts are immoral, RAPING masses of fellow Barbadians is a crime punishable by……..

No company is too big to fail, and the executives if found guilty of fraud, should be jailed. THERE I SAID IT, JAILED…..lube up and don’t drop the soap.

As for CLICO, seized the assets, and liquidate.

Neither the BLP nor DLP can save us, there is too much greed and selfishness. It is the duty of all patriotic Barbadians to restore the values of honesty, decency, and service. Politicians are not our Lords they are servants, and the youth of this country are not sheep, do not underestimate the message this corruption is sending to them, they will not pay for this with taxes……this will get very ugly, and heads will roll.

22. @ David,

When will you be getting on the Save Cove Bay blogwagon (new word created by Hants).

23. Be more specific Hants.

24. Page 3 Barbados Today

25. AOD
    Well said, neither the BLP nor the DLP can save us now, bajans are going to hacve to show their true worth and let both parties realise that we the voters are their managers.

26. At some point Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart will have to explain his decision to manage the slim ministry he has when compared to previous PMs.

27. Random Thoughts Avatar

David Thompson went ‘long without explaining heself. Maybe this one will do the same.

28. Has anyone seen today’s Nation re. Leroy Parris? Even the most patient and tolerant of person’s would be fuming.

29. It seems a 101 strategy with the death of Thompson, the DLP government would have sought to distance itself from Parris and CLICO which currently translate’s to political baggage. There seems to be a dithering culture which has enveloped the government even if it is a perception.

30. Check out Today’s nation article by Timothy Slinger
    http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/parris-suing-clico/

Very Interesting! Especially the part about David Thompson

31. more hilarious each day checkit-out. I think the policy holder should sue paris to get their money back now since he done this nonsense. he was 3 policy total valued @ 3.5 million and want them back what about all the other than want their back and you begged them not to sue the company. Further from that how is it you can’t find contract for the committee then find them when you want to sue. Yet even more our late pm witness the said contract the committe was looking for :(. On side note anyone also notice how the sueing amount is exactly equal to the capital inject by the central bank. Maybe it was for parris to get his money ?

32. Sounds like a contract was signed and witnessed long after the fact.

33. @CCC,
    YOU FOOL, I don’t care about D, B, P, I am interested in my country and the slide that is so evident in all spheres of this society.

Anthony,

You are quite observant. Imagine David Thompson was a witness and signatory to this contract yet when the oversight committee ask about contracts, none can be found and D Thompson was Prime Minister at the time of their appointment . Was he operating at the time as Prime Minister, Friend or Lawyer, and as Prime Minister shouldn’t he have had the interest of policy holders first above all else.

If Leroy Parris is suing CLICO, it tells me that he knows the financial position of the company and that their can payout $10 million, so I do hope that those policy holders whose policies have matured or want their money will band together and also sue CLICO.

This country is really corrupt and people’s rights are being eroded and they seems to be no justice.

34. Anthony; Good analysis! Let Parris talk and sue to his heart’s content. I am sure that in the wash a lot more will come out about David Thompson and his involvement with the Clico infelicities.

Parris. Keep it coming!!

35. This seems to be the backlash from the massive spending during the general elections campaign. There is much more to come, some information that will shock this country like that earthquake shook Japan. David I can’t say anything more, you will soon get the report. Not me and that Pele case .

36. Wonder what reports shows that would be so shocking.

37. Nothing can shock me about David Thompson and his involvement in the CLICO scandal.

38. Oops! I meant to say nothing can shock me about David Thompson and his involvement in CLICO before and after the scandal.

39. Is it true that the last cabinet meeting chaired by David Thompson and attended by the present PM Stuart and most of the present cabinet members, agreed to an over $300 million bail out of Clico? If so … what do we expect Government to “do” about Clico?

40. anthony
    Like the Late Burton Hinds would have said ” I’m minding my business but I would like to know if it is true that there is the possibility that there will be another by-election before the end of the year. While still minding my business, is it true that certain members of the ruling party would like to have a snap elections before the news is leaked out. Is this why there was this rushed election preparation meeting recently?

I’m an alarmist so I’ll sit back and watch matters unfold. I WILL SAY NO MORE>

41. A snap elections wouldn’t be in the dlp interest at this time. The mass of people are mad at measures all over. I would hope they not that dumb. Guess we just have to wait to see this report.

42. @ Carson C. Cadogan

Please explain:

Dennis Lowe and Allard; Michael Lashley and Johan Bjerkhamn;
    David Thompson and Leroy Parris;

As you would say Carson, 14 years of the corrupt BLP.

Corrupt DLP… three years, and counting?

43. anthony
    You’re way of course but I cannot say more. This is too big for me, I don’t fight in that dividson. When would the mess hit the ceiling is the millions dollar question. Time longer than twine and when you dig up in mud you got to get tainted, there is much more in the mortor than the pestle.

44. Ok you just have me even more confused now. I guess I just have to wait.

45. Let the fish gather, after this we will not hear a word from certain people on this blog shouting on every blog about “the corrupt BLP”. I too am hearing sordid stories, CCC will not come on this blog after the explosion. Sorry to hear that the queen is not well!

46. Prodigal Son
    You seem to know too much, I’m ashame of you. I was listening to the BBC tonight and I didn’t hear anyone say that the Queen is not well. What is wrong with her?

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

One of the side effects of being in opposition is the fact that you have a lot of free time on your hands.
    Being that they have nothing much to do now, the members and supporters of the Barbados Labour Party are using this free time to conjure up all types theories, speculations, false stories and just plain old rubbish. I guess this is their way of keeping each other’s company as they mourn the loss of the gravy train.

Just look at the thread:
    SCOUT(FRAUD)
    JOSQUIN
    CHECKIT OUT
    FRAN

A sorry bunch of misfits who can’t even run their own homes but think that they are somehow qualified to tell the Democratic Labour Party how to run this country.

The blind leading the blind.

48. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

anthony

“Barbados today is report the pm is to address the country tomorrow night with their sources saying he going to announce a reshuffle and plans for the economy.”

when is the reshuffle again anthony?
    You guys are more fun than a barrel of monkeys.

49. Well I’m fuming about the article in the Nation today. As you said so many people being told that the company is under judicial management and you can’t get a cent! Yet I suspect Mr Parris will get his and as far as he is concerned too bad for anyone else. But as they say the more money you have the more you want. If that’s how you are when you got money, let me stay poor.

My consolation is that everyone in life gets their comeupance. I will get mine for my wrong doings and he will get his. Just leave it to God.

Meantime I agree that Clico Policy holders need to stand up and be counted. I vaguely remember at one point Mia Mottley was trying to get a group of people together to fight Clico. Whatever happened with that?

50. CCC
    Nice to hear from you, I’ll enjoy every nasty remark you make about me now but remember “he who laughs last, laughs best.” I’m NOT a supporter of any party. I’m just an honest bred and born barbadian, who when I see dishonesty and downright nastiness I will speak out about it. I will NEVER be so blinded that I would allow anyone to tell me that two and two is five when I know differently; thank God I can think for myself.