…take health care for instance. We are educated to believe that doctors and prescribed medication help us to get well. Billions of dollars go into this industry. In many cases ailments can a be avoided through diet and lifestyle and there are powerful medicinal properties in substances that are deemed illegal by our lawmakers. We are educated to believe there is no cure for cancer, and will (like a religious zealot) feel that anyone that claims otherwise is a madman … Maat

According to that ubiquitous source Wikipedia, “education in the largest sense is any act or experience that has a formative effect on the mind, character or physical ability of an individual. In its technical sense, education is the process by which society deliberately transmits its accumulated knowledge, skills and values from one generation to another.”

The above extracts are instructive in the context of the current debate on whether the government is getting value for money given the significant investment it continues to pump into tertiary education. Some like Professor Michael Howard are of the view that we must be cognizant of the harsh economic conditions, a key consideration in the amount government should transfer to the UWI, Cave Hill. Others believe education must be supported at ‘all cost’ if we are to enable our people to compete on a global scale.

A couple weeks ago the effervescent Cherita Howard who often delivers a very interesting commentary in the early morning slot on Voice of Barbados made an interesting observation. As a former athlete her focus was on the importance of sports persons engaging in healthy living. She made passing reference to the easy access our young athletes have to the growing number of fast food outlets on the island.   It is only then there was the realization that on a 24 mile long and 14 mile wide island we have about 30 Cheffetes and KFCs combined give or take one or two. The benefits or lack thereof of fastfood have been articulated by those medically competent. It should come as no surprise that a recent study established one in 10 of the world’s adults is obese. We have surrendered to the fast food revolution and Barbados is no exception if we are to judge by the number of snack boxes in garbage bins. An interesting observation was made in the aftermath of Tomas about the long lines which quickly formed at fast food outlets across Barbados. Those waiting did not seem to mind the wait of up to one and two hours to procure a burger, snack box and other goodies from the fast food menus.

What does this say about our society? This is a country which has allocated over the years 20% or more of the national budget to education. What does it say when despite such an investment in our human capital our people present no qualms to eating themselves to an early grave? Barbados seems to have worn the title of ‘amputation capital’ of the world very well. We are also in close contention for the other  title ‘highest non communicable diseases’ in the world. We have the paradoxical situation where we spend 20% of our national budget on education and then because of our ignorance, which bears no relation to being an educated society, we spend a significant amount on healthcare.

There is a saying ‘follow pattern kill Cadogan”. Barbadians continue to follow the path of least resistance showing no backbone to buck a global trend which is destined to lead us no where, and fast. Despite our boast of being an educated society by our actions we appear to be betraying that fact.

1. Quoting Maat? “there are powerful medicinal properties in substances that are deemed illegal by our lawmakers. ”

And exactly what are these powerful medicinal substances?

Marijiuana like alcohol has extremely negative effects on about 10% of the people who use it.

It is bad enough that alcohol cannot now be made illigal to save that 10% from themselves

But you Maat wouldlike to add legal marijuana to the mix, and so increase the number of users and the numbers of bad outcomes?

You mean nobody is willing to show mercy to that 10% of people who cannot take any drug at all; those people by are challenged by something as simple as over the counter cough medicine?

My Bajans does really mek’ me laugh.

2. @ David
    Cherita ‘Coward’ (Howard) is Doc. Howard’s daughter.

@ Random thoughts
    You trying to prove the moot…?

Question:
    Are Barbadians Educated Fools????

Answer:
    Educated my foot!!

3. @Random thoughts

Education can mean more than one way of looking at things.

Why did you believe that I thought of Marijuana as the illegal substance that can be used as a medicine?

Why is it that Marijuana, of nearly all the plants on earth is classified as illegal? We do not hear of people been arrested for possession of Peyote, coca leaf, poppies and a whole range of other plants that can be processed into narcotics. Yet Marijuana is considered by us educated people to be such a huge problem that we spend millions hunting down growers, traders, dealers and users.

Have you ever heard of the use of hemp oil (marijuana oil) as a powerful medicine? It is not smoked or drunk as a tea, but can be ingested orally or used topically on the skin. Like many other medicines.

Practically all medicines are extracted from plants. Is it impossible that the extraction of THC from marijuana, can have medicinal qualities? Think of morphine. Take too much of it and it goes from powerful pain reliever to addictive narcotic.

If marijuana is such a problem why does the state of California allow it to be prescribed for medical use?

In a very interesting DVD that is making the circuits, a senior citizen from Canada has been extracting this oil from high quality Marijuana that he grows in his back yard. He gives the oil away to people throughout his community and other parts of Canada, with amazing results in curing terminal cancer and a wide range of other diseases.

His website is; pheonixtears.ca and it is worthwhile reading the testimonials, watching the video and opening your mind to possibilities.

Powerful drug companies cannot control the patent for a plant like Marijuana, and the extraction process for obtaining the oil is very simple.These companies have successfully demonised this possibly powerful medicine, while the USA will still make sure it is available, legally within the country.

Dr. A Kweku Andoh, a botanist from Ghana, visited us in Barbados a few years ago and made a point that in Africa, all plants are considered medicines and poisons. Education should be/ is, about what we do with knowledge.

4. Firstly, on the tangential point, of course modern pharmacology derived from Germany and the extraction of medicnes from plants i.e. ticntures etc.

Now, on the main point of education.

One may be taught the ‘right way’ or more importantly for educaiton on HOW TO BE ABLE TO THINK, but it does not mean that one accepts the result of logic and commonsense as their path.

I would challenge anyone to say that the majority of those who eat at fast food outlets do not know the disservice that they are doing to themselves.

But, as per article the ‘path of least resistance’ is often the most popular, that is the issue.

Maybe the issue is more to get across the reality of result i.e. let people see the effects of illnesses by presentations such as Doc GP’s.

Oftentimes, the ‘that cayn happen to me’ is the underlying thought…until it does.

Education is critical, but holistic education is in reality not easy. It involves cultural change and especially lifestyle choices involve significant indicidual understanding and decisions and community decisions.

Individual lifestyle choices also involve significant self-awareness, that borders on (or is) the spiritual, which in itself is a huge change from current trends.

But if education is the issue, then the reason is not that there is too much, it may be that there is too little ‘holistic’ education, too little focus on self development and spiritual (not necessarily religious) understanding.

5. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

On the subject of being educated-fools: are Barbadians typically, white or Chinese?

6. Whether white, black, brown, Chinese, Muslim, Catholic, Buddhist, Anglican, Guyanese, Trini – and whether educated fools or not – it just does not bear one ounce of importance on the fact that our health in Barbados is being ‘used’ as a tool to make money…to get rich. I have no problem with anyone making money or getting wealthy, that’s for sure, cause one day I would like to say I have done the same. But definitely not on the ‘murder’ of others. And if I feed people unhealthy food, and I advertise plastic play-grounds and easy lunches and dinners until children harrass their parents, who then give in, and I ensure that the population looks at me as a healthy choice in general, then I would hope that on my death I would burn in hell for bringing down a population on false pretenses. And if I am a parent or a single person who falls for all of these ‘false advertisements’ without checking them out properly (i.e. understanding what I am feeding my children or myself) then yes! I am an educated fool.

The amount of fast food outlets on this tiny island is atrocious, and that they were allowed with impunity to go up, even worse. It shows me any-old-how that the health of our nation is not taken into consideration when permits are given out willy-nily to them. Now there is nothing terribly wrong with fast-food if it could be made ‘healthy’ (there are some, too few still, right now in the US who have done this with great success) but the large ones we have ’bout hey are simply not. Even a milk shake is no longer a real milk shake…but a load of thick pulp touched with some chemically produced-type ice cream or syrup. Salad bars…check those out…nearly everything comes from a can or bottle and from the US with ingredients that are potentially dangerous hidden within…so totally healthy although better than having pizza or any of the other stuff offered, they are not! Does the Health Deparment look at these things? Nope. They look at if those working in these fast food outlets are clean and healthy and whether the place itself is clean…done. I guess they do check for the oil used on occasion but this is a daily check not a weekly or monthly happening, I do believe…correct me if wrong!

Using these outlets on occasion for a little ‘nasty’ treat…we all like them… is one thing but to be there for breakfast (as for those…nothing but yuk!), lunch and dinner? Then yes! we are educated fools.

The other day someone who I thought should know better because he is a young entrepreneur with a beautiful creative intelligent mind asked me to meet him for lunch at our local US chicken fast-food outlet. I asked him if he was totally mad. He could not believe that his offer was being taken with such disdain. He eats there all the time as he does not cook. I DISCOVERED HE REALLY DID NOT KNOW THAT THIS FOOD WAS UNHEALTHY…IT IS ADVERTISED AS GOOD FOR YOU. So yes! they are a lot of educated fools ’bout hey!

I have found that in most cases, people in Barbados are not aware of the unhealthy practices in fast food outlets and in supermarkets that will see them paying the price for them and their children later on. When I walk around a supermarket and see people pick up a US orange instead of a Jamaican one, I immediately go up to them and extol the deliciousness and lack of chemicals that the Jah one has as compared to the pretty bright yellow ones that are not real…and every time I have explained why I do this, those people turn around and thank me – they did not know that most of the trees that produce these oranges have been genetically modified or that chemicals added to fruit to enhance flavour & look. They just did not know. So educated fools? Yep. I do the same by the way when I see them pick up a US canned product…”read the label” whisper I as I pass, “if there’s anything on that label you do not understand, do not buy it, next thing you could be imploding on your own internal rocket fuel.” Maybe I am an educated fool trying to change a mind-set but I will continue playing that little part ’cause I want the fool taken off of my title. and by the way…please understand, I have nothing against the US except for its bad-food policies…and China not too far behind, the other day I bought some mushrooms in a can (no fresh ones out that day and they are prohibitive in price anyhow), was in a rush, did not read the label, placed them in my spaguetti sauce and as I tasted the first one, formaldehyde came to mind and I spat it out placing remaining mushrooms in the bin! I am reliably told that China is implementing a program that will look at healthy quality as we speak. Thank goodness for that. Thoughts of waking up one day to find I am in a bottle as a biology experiment not my cup of cha!

What can we do about the situation here in Barbados?

1. Those of us who take time to acquire knowledge about what we eat, should expound to others…do not just say no…but also why. In simple language…no big time words that are as bad as some of the ingredients in our foods!!

2. Education at primary level RIGHT UP TO UNIVERSITY LEVEL on substances placed in food that can harm us. A more holistic all-round approach. Not just with food but with medicinal plants (bush teas etc). Let children and young people go home and tell their parents no! to the crap they are putting into their stomachs like many are doing with cigarette smoking these days…(and by the way that works! so it shows that messages through children work!)

3. Government Health workers need to be more aware of food and quality of same being served to those whose lives are in their hands… and be able to ensure that if they are unhealthy, then the product cannot be served. Unhealthy food has no place on the market, and that should be the motto given out. Force the hand of those who already serve it to GET HEALTHY. Not Quasi-Healthy but HEALTHY.

4. Stop the importation of unhealthy foods from any country that has been dumping it on us for years…and of course, this goes hand in hand with using the money saved in imports alone to help the farming community provide a better organic product. Barbados according to entomologist Mr. Gibbs and Consultant David Bynoe (watch those amazing programmes about greening on CBC with Cassandra that should be repeated at least twice a day – even shown in class rooms around the island!!) has hundreds of bio-bugs that can wipe out the bad guy-bugs without having to use pesticides…actually for the last 50 years Barbados is one of the leading ‘storers’ of these sweet little monsters…but instead we allow Monsanto to send us their disgusting products and seeds too – so much easier makes for so much sicker. Educated fools? Well I can now leave this up to you to consider.

As far as the medicinal effects of marijuana, there are medicinal properties in that and in alcohol…as in many other natural drugs, even cocaine in its totally natural form – the latter for instance as hydrochloric coke used for terminal patients against pain. Many extracts from plants land up being labelled ‘drugs’ – some legal and some illegal – why the difference is what blows my mind to be honest. Mis-use of all is what causes problems…in fact I would say that more than any drug alcohol, according to some studies, is the worst of all. But this is another whole dimension of life itself, the discussion of which I leave for those ‘for’ and ‘not for’.

But in terms of medicinal plants…what I do not understand is why the aloe barbadensis (aloe vera) is not grown for local and export use in this country where it is not only indigenous but the soil provides the best quality of this most medicinal plant. Grown in Aruba for these purposes, at least one interested farmer with a large quantity of land could go there and learn how to make this one easy-to-grow plant into a myriad of healthy products that the world is screaming for. We as a people should be screaming for it too, it grows wild in our backyards for crying out loud and a little piece of dat taken daily by ourselves and our children, can help prevent a myriad of internal problems.

Educated fools? perhaps we are.

7. @ DAVID

At the heart of the DEBATE* here on Barbados Underground – WHAT IS THE REAL CATALYST FOR ENGINEERING CHANGE* GIVEN THE PREVAILING MINDSET OF OUR PEOPLE?

Secondly – WHO ARE THE SOCIAL PARTNERS RESPONSIBLE FOR ENGINEERING SUCH CHANGE?

Lastly – IS IT AT ALL POSSIBLE GIVEN THE ENTRENCHED INDOCTRINATION WE HAVE BEEN SADLY SUBVERTED TO?

8. Some insightful commentary so far. TB your questions can be answered this way, often times when new fast food outlets are added to the network can you guess who highlighted cutting the ribbon?

Not sure where the wind of change is going to come from in a world now consumed with greed.

9. ALERT

LIME GIVING CUSTOMERS 1.75 MEGABYTES WHILE THEY PAY FOR 2 MEGABYTES

10. If Doc Susan is correct – we ought to be treating FOLKS* with OBESITY & lifestyle diseases from a NEUROSCIENCE* standpoint given the research…

Holistic treatments which do NOT* take into account that aspect of human physiology/psychology is frankly anemic and lacks substantive bearing…

Food manufacturers have created FRANKENSTEIN* foods (scientifically) engineered (in the same way as drug dealers & alcohol merchants) to infuse a dependency culture which targets specific neuro-transmitters in the brain (in the same way addictions are hatched) by careless, ill-informed individuals…

This applies to both “EDUCATED” as well as the “OTHERS” – no one seems exempt!!!

Bajans are no different to Americans, Europeans, (NOW) Chinese, Japanese, Indians & other Asiatic people who have fallen prey to the MacDonaldization of society…

11. @David….it might be late but we gotta start somewhere…I believe we in Barbados can still be ‘saved’ but the saving better start now because the window of opportunity in this regard is fast closing. Baby steps lead to adult strides. Just do it. Because we can.

12. A thought came to my mind…I have only been interested in what I put into my body for some perhaps eleven years…so in this not an indication that we can change lifestyles, can help a nation heal itself…that nothing is too late?? Remember that my eyes opened and my brain put into gear after over fifty years of bashing me body about thinking that all I ate was the good stuff but not looking carefully into their ingredients! I was an educated fool.

13. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

LOL! But Rosemary, on de subjik of educated-fools, wunna mus know whether a typical Bajee is black, white, red or Chinese!! i jes doan like to b misled!

14. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Looka, fac ugh d matta is dat we all gun ded one day so might as well jus tank d lord an fuhget everyting else hear????

David jus like writing!! Hi Dave! 🙂

15. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Terence, shouldn’t that be different ‘from’ or, is it similar from?!! doan mine dese white people!

16. @Rosemary

Regrettably BU does not share your optimism. We have a generation of people whose lifestyle don’t factor cooking, many cannot!

Then we have a prevailing culture of a society which now celebrates being too busy to do the basics for good living.

17. @BU.David: “Then we have a prevailing culture of a society which now celebrates being too busy to do the basics for good living.

Like, for example, being too busy to read more than one book in one’s lifetime….

18. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

but David, change dat picture nuh?!! everytime i c it it does make me feel sick!! at lease put up a black man!!

19. @David..I understand your comments fully……and I add to that the following:

Unfortunately we have a society that instead of taking some things seriously, take everything as one big joke. And as the ‘man wiv no name’ says we all gine dead sooner or later, and I can add so what if it sooner eh? So what if we leave children behind without a mother or a father. So what if our lifestyle leaves a mark on our children and their children that no health-care system can fix. So what about everything eh?

For all I know, my unhealthy life in the past may have caused havoc in my body…perhaps even in my children and grandchildren…but I will spend my time left on earth trying to make a difference. Even if it is a very slight difference. And I just do not bloody care if it is for black, white, green or indifferent people.

By the way David…it has taken a lifetime of work by Greenpeace, some having lost their lives doing it, but at last some little hope…Japanese people are finally listening and the demand for whale meat has dropped so badly that Japanese Whalers are looking at a dim future that may spell the end of whaling! So you see…one just has to keep the torch lit.

Bless.

20. @Rosemary

You are correct of course, we have to soldier on. It becomes easy when you have identified the purpose of your existence on earth, making whatever objectives are necessary becomes that much easier.

21. @David | February 9, 2011 at 2:22 PM |
    Deep, Beautiful and true comment.

22. So what do we call those well educated people at the PINE HILL DAIRY who are trying to redefine the word FRESH as in MILK. It seems today the real fools are the ones who employ every trick in the book to beef up the bottom line. We are the bigger fools to keep complaining about those businesses like those fast food chains. Why don’t those who have the expertise and money get together and open similar joints selling healthier choices. Just use real advertising showing how FAT and UNHEALTHY you can get from eating greasy oily fast foods. The consumer in the end has the freedom of choice. No one is forcing them to spend their money at these places nor anyone is forcing junk food down their throats. The consumer has to become more educated and demand change from these outlets. They have the power to do affect change, the only problem is many of us are too damn lickrish and lazy to make that move together.

23. @islandgal246: “The consumer has to become more educated and demand change from these outlets.

Or, may I suggest, the consumer actually has the ultimate power: simply don’t buy.

@islandgal246: “[The consumer] have the power to do affect change, the only problem is many of us are too damn lickrish and lazy to make that move together.

But, sadly, few realize this.

If the consumer simply refuses to buy (rather than complaining while or after buying) then things might actually change.

But nothing will change before the consumer stops buying.

Stop buying from those you think are ripping you off….

24. Chris et toute monde bagaie Fast foods are here to stay period. This is an opportunity for investors to provide a healthier alternative. The only problem is that investors want to make a million in profits the first year. We need creative people to work together. It is like the few manufacturers of furniture and clothing…they can do it without designers….and where are they today? Many are still trying to flog the same items they have been selling in the sixties. In the land of the blind the one eye man is king!

25. @David – sweet words…and yes ‘checkit-out’ my sentiments exactly.
    @islandgal246 – we covered Pine Hill Dairy and their unbelievably wicked new practice of selling this 90-day shelf milk as Fresh in another BU blog…David perhaps you can refer ‘island gal’ to this but as ‘chalsall2’ says it is up to the consumer. In Canada, for instance, Pine Hill would’a haff to take that fresh off dat milk carton. Why? Because the consumer would have shown solidarity and not purchase same. We in the islands do not understand the huge lobby we have as consumers…just think of the true meaning of the word…we are the ones that consume i.e. eat, drink, nyam, yam …it is OUR decision whether these companies can survive or not because without us THEY SIMPLY CANNOT. Would you a can of some’ing that said 100% Bajan deliciousness…but when you read the ingredient label it says contains dog poo – 1% ??? Nope. Would you stop others from buying it if you had a choice?? Yes. Would the company have to stop producing this product if people found out that one of the ingredients was dog poo and everyone stopped buying it even if government did not ban it first for whatever reason?? Yes! yes! and more Yes!

So perhaps knowing that some products might contain dog poo and you ent read the ingredient label, you might be more inclined to do so now. I am sure you will not find dog poo in any product on the shelves of Barbados but if you read these labels you will find ingredients that could as well be…might even be more harmful to your body than dog poo to be honest.

Re Pine Hill again…What I have seen is Pine Hill Dairy still providing this milk, with cartons being brought in daily into the supermarket and placed in the cold compartment as if it is fresh milk…and people must be buying it because shelves get empty and are replenished. And this after all that has been shouted out for all to hear in newspapers, on blogs, on Facebook and and and… I will nevah, and I mean nevah buy one of those milks I can tell you dat. And if everyone did as I did/do, today Pine Hill would’a had to either close down, or get rid of their new expensive machinery and gee wee back our fresh pasteurized milk (a kind of a dichotomy in itself but certainly better than a milk you can leave on a shelf for 90 days!).

SO IF WE THE CONSUMERS STOP BUYING PRODUCTS THAT ARE NOT GOOD FOR US, EITHER THE PRODUCERS WILL HAVE TO GIVE US A PRODUCT THAT IS SATISFACTORY TO HEALTH STANDARDS OR SHUT DOWN. WE HAVE THE POWER!!

26. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar
    The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall

@islandgal246: “et toute monde bagaie

If you say so. Was not able to translate.

@ig246: “Fast foods are here to stay period.

I agree to this statement.

But must “fast food” always be provided by expensive third parties?

(Note: that’s a trick question. The obvious answer is “no”.)

27. @Rosemary
    I agree that we the consumers have the power but we are the biggest fools in the market. Listen dog poo will sell if it is packaged and marketed well. All we need is a few so called experts going on TV saying how good it is for you. Especially if it is a product for men who want to remain studs or grow bigger appendages. We are like sheep to slaughter and in the islands we are not always told the whole story. Do you think that Pine Hill Dairy will remain in business if the supermarkets refuse to take their products? If we are given choices we would be able to make better decisions. How can we choose when there is no choice? Monopolies like PHD LIME BST can do whatever they like because they have no competition. Haven’t any of you all noticed the power outages the last few days? We have had four in the span of two days. When you go and make a complaint the BL&P tells you that you must protect your equipment from their unreliable service.

@Chris this is where growers can come together and form co-ops providing fresh produce and healthy food to the public. We lack the business will and we are too afraid to take risks.

28. We always get to this point: is there a role for the FTC?

29. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@islandgal246: “…this is where growers can come together and form co-ops providing fresh produce and healthy food to the public. We lack the business will and we are too afraid to take risks.

Actually, sadly, I think the problem goes deeper than this. (Although I support what you are saying.)

According to no less than the Nation News (http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/robbed-farmers-cry-out-to-government/), those who try to grow food for Barbados find themselves robbed.

…with, it should be pointed out, little apparent interest (or, at least, action) from those in authority who *should* care….

30. Predial larceny is practically laughed at by all governments and persons in authority. If we even wish to think about feeding a nation it need to be stamped out first.

31. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David: “We always get to this point: is there a role for the FTC?

You did, of course, receive your personal invite to this year’s Barbados FTC annual lecture at the Hilton?

Where they spend a great deal of tax payer’s money for an outsider to blow sunshine up their own ass for a job well done?

32. There was so much expectation for agriculture when this government took office with James Paul and Haynesley Benn in the ranks.

33. @David,
    Look at the picture in Nationnews under the caption “Robbed farmers cry out to Government”

What is wrong with the picture ?

A group of old people working and a young fella watching over them.

34. The entity who used to be known as Chris Halsall Avatar

@Hants: “@David: “Look at the picture in Nationnews under the caption “Robbed farmers cry out to Government”

What is wrong with the picture ?

A group of old people working and a young fella watching over them.

My GOD Hants. You’ve solved the problem!!!

Perhaps were not being told the truth all the time???

35. @ Terrance
    If it’s not holistic then it’s not realistic.
    In my opinion much of the problem with education is the boxes that we place our education into in order to gain qualifications. We must accept chemistry, history, religion, law, communications, all these subjects as we are taught them, in order to get qualified.
    Modern formal education is about getting the qualification, passing the exam. I asked a Bible student studying for her pastoral exams if she would answer a question from her own personal common sense, if what she felt she was being taught was incorrect.

Education can be more effective simply by teaching people how to learn and be open to learn. Learning is often about asking the right questions from new perspectives. Teachers need to appreciate that they do not always have all the answers, no matter how highly qualified.

Science is about practising the experiments, experiencing the theory for ourselves, more so than accepting the theory and passing it on as gospel.

My 15 years involvement in organic farming has taught me more about myself and life and love and perserverance and visualisation and patience and compassion and about independent thought and asking questions, than 20 years of formal education.
    eg. Once we had a 2 acre field of an organic crop that was been infested with a particular type of worm. We started to use a recommended organic biological spray and in our spirit we felt it was not the best thing to do, so stopped, before we even touched a 1/4 acre. In an old book we learnt that spiders were a natural predator for these worms and decided to observe nature. The next day we saw hundreds, perhaps thousands of spiders webs throughout the crop. Within a week or two the spiders had brought the worms under control. All we had to do was not enter the field to disturb this wonderful pest control.
    There apparently is an older scientifically tested system of pest control that works from frequencies. We have tried to use this method, but have not being able to see the type of results we hoped for.
    @Anthony
    Having one facility that buys ALL local farm produce and then sells on, with strict controls on pricing; financed from the national budget, but run by private sector, will greatly reduce farm crop theft.

Learn to live and live to learn

Peace

36. @maat

Does sound like great idea. Though you would need to have farmers report what their growing. Other than that would be perfect way to stamp it out.

37. Rosemary et al:
    We are ‘educated fools’, aren’t we? If not, a large number of us are, or appeared to be.
    Agree with much of those comments above!
    In 5yrs,10yrs, 15 years, David or some other person will be writing on similar topics to those gone before.
    CONCLUSION:
    We would have learned nothing.
    A group of old people being marshalled by a younger bloke!
    Sometimes I have my doubts but on seeing the movement taking place in Eygypt, gives me that ‘bit’ of hope.

38. The man wiv no name!! Avatar
    The man wiv no name!!

Am I the only person who objects to a fat, ugly, white man representing our country! Where is Bajan pride!

39. @maat – would you allow me to come to your organic farm to photograph and document same for a book I am writing? A culinary tour of Barbados – Barbados Bu’n-Bu’n. Please contact me through David…or give him your e-mail address/phone number so that I can contact you?

40. On the subject of food. Although we all have certain genetic inclinations and cannot control everything, in the interest of being able to enjoy what life we have, it is obvious that we should maintain our bodies as reasonably best we can.

That said, the issue is to educate people soundly and well on what they put into their bodies and how they use their energy.

While I am sure most know that fast food is ‘bad’, the reality does not hit for a few years, indeed with all of the obesity, diabetes and cancer around, these things take a few years to develop, but develop they surely do.

Wlaking through Barbados, a huge percentage are obese, which in turn will have a knock on effect on our healthcare system.

Our bodies are our soul’s houses while we are here, we must learn to treat them well and just wonder why we need to fill our systems with garbage, whether it be fried fat, alcohol, drugs (both legal and illegal), all of which have devastating effects on the body.

Paradoxically, when the obesity hits and lack of exercise for a few years exacerbates a medical problem, then we turn to put more drugs into our liver to reduce (unfortunately as a last resort and necessarily) the symptoms and abate the disease where it is.

Ironically, the rubbish that we put into our systems such as fast foods are not cheap, so we pay for the destruction and pay dearly in both financial and health terms.

The only question is, to make the right moves…why put garbage into our system. Would we put muddied water or cloggy gasoline into our cars? Why not?

Put simply, we must Think.

41. @ MAAT

Thanks for your comment…And good luck with the “ORGANIC FARMING”… at least somebody is doing something right!!!

@ DAVID

Given the POST by Islandgal246 referring to the damnable state of PLAY* at the P.H.D – my question is – “DOES THE BARBADIAN PUBLIC KNOW THE DANGERS OF ‘milk’ AND IF NOT, WOULD YOU BE WILLING TO POST A POWERPOINT PRESENTATION ON THE DEMERITS OF USING THIS TAINTED FOOD PRODUCT?”

What I find truly remarkable is the fact that we know that eating “FACTORY” farmed CHICKEN* and other “CRAP” foods like BURGERS* in today’s world is NOT* only injurious to your health and to the environment – but we still continue to consume it in vast quantities; then to be told by some so-called “psuedo” super-educated human in a white lab coat (who took a “HYPOCRITIC* oath [spelling-intended] ) that we have a weird & wonderful modern-day lifestyle disease…

The same thing goes for all the imported “CRAP” that cannot be sold in EUROPEAN* supermarkets or American for that matter, but end up on your dinner plate and you relish the thought that you were able to pay over the ODDS* for some “benign” consumable food commodity that the majority of the population could not afford that will ultimately metastasize in your gut and bloodstream creating an environment for the growth of deadly bacteria (if not properly eliminated) …

If you “LOT” who consider yourself “EDUCATED” consumers would stop and THINK* and simply refuse buying the “pus-induced, antibiotically saturated, “steroid” pumped-up MILK product* as well as the overpriced, unnaturally “MATURED” drug-infused chickens which adorns your dinner-plates day after day – just maybe, there wouldn’t be a HEALTHCARE* epidemic on a tiny, little island in Caribbean which some are beginning to call the “AMPUTEE” capital of the world because of diabetes complications not withstanding the ravages of PROSTATE CANCERS, BREAST CANCERS, HEART DISEASE and a whole sleuth of other avoidable conditions…

Time to take more than just a verbal STAND* guys!!!

42. @TB

Agree with Rosemary we have to keep doing things to raise the consciousness. BU as always will continue to make available the ‘virtual space’ to do so.

Here is a relevant video supplied by Ras:

http://wacptv.ning.com/video/food-prices-world-crises

43. @Terence….Go Terence Go! I shout how I feel on this blog but I also try me best to do how I feel. If every one of us would just tell all our friends, and they spread the word…like gossip does fly ’bout de island in de breeze, surely we can make a difference. I am prepared to scream from the hillsides but people do not like this…and I will land up being ‘put away’ as many who have in the past screamed. But I certainly will continue with my supermarket whisperings and putting up as much information as I can on the internet…and as soon as my website is all finished, I will be hopefully able to put up even more information and voice opinions – baby steps perhaps but….

And yes! I try my damnest not to purchase crap anymore, shop as much as I can in the market from the organic farmers (wish there were more there). Have not even tasted that Pine Hill 90-day life resistant milk – and simply will not! USA is definitely not on my list of products especially when it says ‘natural’, ‘fresh’ or ‘good for ya’…no Sah not moi! And the same goes for any product that I see contains words I do not understand…’cause den I know ‘poison’.

By the way question for ‘maat’ why are there not more organic farmers at Cheapside Market for instance…could there not be a whole section organized in there for organic farmers, well positioned and well ‘bannered’?? Surely this is something that government would approve given their mandate of supporting a healthy lifestyle? This could be a great beginning….

44. @David. I watched the MSNBC news clip…and I have to tell you I kind of knew it but the behind the scenes shenanigans of the US government and Wall Street shown up here have shocked me more than ever. I am seriously in tears. People starving because of one country’s desire to protect their own and get rich whilst doing it?? I am sorry…this is a total disgrace.

And any one having a tiny piece of land or a big one in this country should now definitely consider growing organic food and WE THE PEOPLE NEED TO STAND UNITED AND NOT PURCHASE ANYTHING FROM THE U.S.

This country has a majority of African descendants – we even have a Pan-African Movement here and every week we hear about African Heritage so…can you stand by and watch your Africa die of starvation because of US greed? Can you stand by and see your sisters, brothers, mothers, fathers right here in Barbados die because of US & their Wall Street greed? I am not a descendant of Africans but I CANNOT. I am a descendant of Barbadians and I CANNOT. This is insane. I am so angry this morning…

What this video shows is that YES! WE AS CONSUMERS CAN MAKE A DIFFERENCE. AND I WILL NOW DEFINITELY NOT BE SWAYED. I WILL NOT PURCHASE ANY FOOD FROM THE U.S. UNTIL FOOD/HEALTH POLICIES CHANGE.

AND WALL STREET BE DAMNED!!

45. I was just told by a friend that there is a bill in the US Senate right now to make it illegal to grow your own food and criminalize Organic farming! Guess who is pushing it, the Chemical Companies!! Dear God! What are we doing being so closely connected to America the Bad and Ugly?

46. @Rosemary

Who is giving you all this information? Come on, do you really believe that will ever happen in the USA? That is threatening civil liberties and the right to feed themselves. Do you think the American people are stupid? That is one thing I find laughable!