1. Where well-‘BREAD’ Adrian Hinds reappear from all of a sudden? Look this ‘Queen’ talk was well planned. Remember HH had a big story in the newspaper claiming the ‘King’ was dead and as the ‘Kingmaker’ he was done too? Well if Mara is the surviving wife of the ‘King’, she must be a ‘Queen’ and HH will become a ‘Queenmaker’.

2. Checkit-out

Man you is talk too sweet man … You string this t’ing together so neat dat I would rather shut my foolish mout’ than oppose you …

What it all boils down to is a distinct lack of confidence in the sincerity of purpose of our political parties… Man I absolutely hate the masses, and this is why I gun tell you straight that in my considered and unbiased opinion … Democracy as we know it …. is bare pup …!

3. The PDC was alive and well up to Saturday when I saw him (them) in Bridgetown

4. Jazzy wrote “America does not allow dual citizenship”

Dear Jazzy: this is not true. People are applying for American citizenship do indeed have to renounce all previous citizenships, but other countries do not have to accept that renunciation, and to the best of my knowledge Barbados does not accept renuciations of Bajan citizenship

But common sense would tell you that American law cannot deny a person citizenship of other countries to which they are entitled by birth.

And in fact because Eric Holder’s father was a Bajan by birth, Eric Holder the son of a Bajan is entitled to citizenship by descent. Barbados’ law says so. However Mr. Holder was born in America and chooses to identify as an American.

But if he wanted to move to Barbados tomorrow all he would have to do is dust off his father’s Bajan birth certificate; show his own birth certificate as a son of a born Bajan and welcome home Eric.

Barbados’ citizenship law is very generous.

And in all likelyhood Mara has long been a Bajan citizen.

5. I don’t see what all the fuss is about. Mara Thompson said she wasn’t interested in running. The ONLY reason she decided to do so is that the PEOPLE of St. John demanded that she represent them. Why should anyone be upset about her running when the people of the constituency in question are the ones who chose her? The elections are for St. John. The people of St. John said they want Mara. Here she is. What is wrong with that??????????

She still has to go through the electoral process like everyone else. Nothing is being handed to her without process. What is wrong with that??????????

6. simply anonymous Avatar

@Jazzt

” To add insult to injury they are giving her the safest seat in country, one that has been held by the same party for over fifty years.”

if this statement is true and it is, what does he hope to accomplish then? he has literally admitted that they have lost the battle, so why then does he still carry on with this gutter foolishness and the nasty insulting advert? what about Indar Weir? he’s foreigner 2. is he suggesting that as long as ur accent is not bajan, u have no right to hold such an office? if that is so then when he was in power he had no right choosing beverly miller (jamaican) as chief medical officer, marie mccormick, etc etc. yes they were not in politics but they held leadership roles. isn’t his grand dad guyanese? my argument might be weak, just like his but i’m no politician. he cannot find anything negatives about mara hence, he has resorted to infantile tactics. all this will lead to her willing by a land slide anyway

7. simply anonymous Avatar

@Jazzy | January 10, 2011 at 2:49 PM |

what r the views of bajan women that mara would not be able to represent? what is so different about them? please, grow up. u mean the majority who r interested in attending some dance, fete, or dub? or the ones who must have some kind of wig on their heads of various degrees in sizes each time they leave home? certainly, she can represent the views of the bajan woman who has children with no father’s support, or those unemployed and searching, etc. a bajan woman’s views is ABSOLUTELY no different from that of a st. lucian, jamican, vincentian, british, japanese. come with sensible points. what are the bajan woman’s views that she cannot represent?

8. Bajan women’s genitals look different, you din know..?

9. @BAFBFP ”What it all boils down to is a distinct lack of confidence in the sincerity of purpose of our political parties”

—————

One of the most accurate and to the point statements ever made on BU.

10. Enuff re. your post of January 10, 2011 at 9:58 PM;
    That has to be the missing link to all the “Queen” talk.
    HH is working even if gratuitously.

11. @Paul Barnes. I like the way you write and your reasoning, although I do not always agree. I think our friend John Locke answered you very well. Also Jazzy is wrong on many points, the most important of which is that we are indeed a monarchy. Our head of state is Elizabeth II. She REIGNS in right of Barbados. I find it amazing that someone who purports to have completed all three levels of education available in Barbados does not know this. Thus, I renew my call for basic law to be taught in schools.

May I therefore state that I would rather be represented by a St Lucian who has lived in Barbados for many years (and probably become a naturalised Bajan) and who knows our government structure, rather than some Bajan lady who had not got a blasted clue, but expects to have first bite solely upon the claim that she is a โ€œborn, bred and educated (at all three levels in BARBADOS) Bajan femaleโ€. Jazzy is offended, she says. Well, what I find even more offensive is Jazzyโ€™s obvious pig ignorance.

There are many of us Bajans who live, or have lived, outside of Barbados. We are allowed by law in the countries in which we live, to hold more than one citizenship. If any of us live outside of Barbados, we expect to become members of the community in which we live and we expect to have the right to vote to select our political representatives at all levels. With the sole exception of the office of President of the United States, we are allowed to hold public office in all common law countries in which we hold citizenship and to stand for election. Remember that the recent past governor of the State of California was born an Austrian. So what is Jazzy proposing? That Barbados should deny full citizenship and rights to a person who has lived here over 20 years? That Barbados, alone amongst common law countries, should discriminate against citizens? It really is as basic as that!

It is permissible to question Mara Thompsonโ€™s eligibility on many grounds. But to question it upon the basis that she is from St Lucia displays an insularity and naivetรฉ that is beyond belief. Only the supremely ignorant with head buried in the Greenland dump, could possibly try to make that objection fly.

My recommendation to Jazzy is, chile yuh better go back and repeat some of those โ€œthree levelsโ€ of education, cause, like some vaccinations, it clearly did not take.

12. BAFBFP;

You said “What it all boils down to is a distinct lack of confidence in the sincerity of purpose of our political parties”.

Yes. Any thinking person would come to that conclusion. But imho this is probably true for every country that operates within the Westminster system or variants deriving from that system.

There may be individual politicians who start out with demonstrable sincerity but they soon become corrupted by the trappings of power, financial inducements, etc. There are a few on the DLP side here who strike me as sincere from looking at their pronouncements and reported actions. These include Richard Sealy, Steve Blackett, Haynesley Benn, Stephen Lashley, The Minister of Finance, Adriel Brathwaite and Freundel Stuart who is really an enigma. But sincerity is not the only attribute for moving the country forward.

On the BLP side at the present time I can only see Cynthia Forde, Rawle Eastmond and Mia Mottley but there might be others out there waiting in the wings.

13. If there is an argument to be made it is for the St. John people to put it. Whether we believe they are foolish or not it is their decision to vote for a candidate which is legitimate in law. If we are saying we want the law changed then bring the argument but to politicise this in the way some are doing is unjust.

14. @Jazzy, Check-it-out,

you guys make some interesting points, and i find them to be balanced. My problem with Mara running is this foolishness of creating a dynasty, and why do the DLP think that they need to coronate her a queen, is there the subliminal message that they think we in ST. John to be of a colonial mentality, hence the need for a queen.

All over the world, people are laying aside the monarchy, and where they haven’ t it has become ineffective in its role. Why in this day, when we are supposed to be mentally liberated, we could still be trying to concoct a ‘queen’.

Unconsciously , ‘Why are we still looking for an individual who we can bow down to?, WE DON’T NEED NO DAMN QUEEN.

David Thompson and Mara was a package, and i can only assume that the Clico issue was known to Mara (she was office Manager of the legal firm) Ask her about that property that was bought in St. John for cash by herself and Parris’s wife.

WE NEED THE TRUTH. WE WILL NOT BE HOOD WINKED ANYMORE

15. Well stated, David.

16. Checkit-out

Oh dear Oh Dear, let’s not go too overboard with this sincerity thing … Miss Mottley may come across as sincere now, but only a crocodile should spare a tear for this two faced member. She ain’ nah sweet bread … As fah the Minister of Fin., I refuse to forget that as an NGO head he stood vehemently opposed to the EPA, then came his pick …! What a hypocrite …!

Stephen Lashley and Adriel Brathwaite now come, but again like so many others of the Jack Ass community they WILL disappoint. These people were put on this Earth to serve corporate interests … not really a bad thing on the surface, but when the serious conflicts arise you could bet that ordinary citizens will as usual be left out in the cold.

As for Haynesley “over my dead body will there be a roundabout in St Peter”, well St. Peter got one now … Richard Sealy, Steve Blackett and Freundel Stuart should be forced to respond to questions of effectiveness ahead of sincerity, but I believe that that would be asking a little too much of our elected people …

17. A legitimate representative is needed in St. John who can help to improve the lives of people in the parish and contribute to the management of Barbados……..NOT MARA!!!!!!

I have listened to this lady and unless something is written down on paper for her, she does not seem to have a clue!!!

Her husband having been the previous representative and PM is not a good enough reason!!

In addition the current PM sounded and looked rediculous referring to the opposition leader as being caught in a mouse trap!!

I have noticed that many of the DLP members instead of discussing issues, plans and proposals they launch these personal attacks that they then hide behind!!

18. Fair and Balance Avatar
    Fair and Balance

I understand that gas prices were to be increased substantially but the increase was pull by government until the byelection is over. Can you confirm David?

19. Mara, Parris and CLICO Avatar
    Mara, Parris and CLICO

I have nothing against Mara running in St. John even though Hartley’s Queen talk is not to my taste.
    However, my big question is – WILL SHE DO THE RIGHT THING AND GIVE BACK THE CLICO MONIES THAT HER FIRST FAMILY PROFITED FROM OVER THE YEARS TO HELP THOSE WHO LOST EVERYTHING IN THAT DEBACLE?
    Remember that she was manager at Thompson and Company while CLICO was its biggest client so she cannot deny knowing what went on with CLICO.

20. BAFBPF re. your January 11, 2011 at 9:14 AM post.

I stand corrected, Sir.

21. I now am convinced that the DLP are masters of spin.

They put this queen talk out there and knew that this is only what people would talk about.

The DLP has a sorry messy record on which they cannot run so this is the politics of distraction, they are good at this, I must say.

Are we discussing the DLP’s performance for the last three years, no, we are talking every day about the Thompson dynasty and queen Mara……. politics of distraction.

We need the DLP to answer and defend their dismal performance so far. There are problems in every minister’s portfolio and they do not answer questions, only block as the young people say and use their boggy defence ……BLP’s 14 years of corruption. Under the BLP, Barbados prospered, there was positive development in the country, not what do we have today, a lack of confidence, Thompson’s legacy………………….

1) High cost of living….. this was Thompson’s job #1,2 and 3. Leading up to the 2008 election, he was going to deal with the unscrupulous merchants and that the BLP was in bed with the merchants. He was to set up Cost you less.

2) High unemployment and Minister Byer Suckoo says in a cavalier manner, oh we will go up to 11%

2) Escalating crime with no solution to the problems between the leaders of the force and the inability to appoint a CJ. You had a PM who was a self recommended QC and a then AG would professes to be so brilliant and they did not know the law or had the commonsense to consult the constitution. But you see how life is, Thompson insulted David Simmons by not extending his contract, David Simmons live to see Thompson’s day come.

3) The DLP had all the answers to the QEH before the election, now what do we have, a total mess and the QEH is in a sorry state and all the minister can say is that he has faith his board.

4) Education is in a mess, education officers leaving left right and centre. The minister promised hot and sweaty that Foundation and St Michael would get sixth forms by September 2008, where are they?

5) The Minister of Finance brought a budget and every week there needs to be clarification on taxes introduced. The government is borrowing money from NIS to pay bills, the deficit is out of control and they dont seem to have a clue on how to solve the problems.

6) Tourism is wandering along, the government keeps putting money into foreign airlines and wasting taxpayers money.

7) We have a PM who is doing the same work as a dying man and with the government so cash trapped, he is now saying that he will give money to mothers if the fathers dont pay up. Do you think that if dead beat fathers hear this that they will make any effort to pay up. But the DLP believe in social policies, keep poor people poor by giving them handouts and they would continue to vote for the DLP

8) We have people like Harry Husbands, Darcy Boyce, Jepter Ince, Irene Sandiford and Arnie Walters drawing big salaries for doing nothing.

9) We have a minister of housing raining down fear on the staff at NHC doing as he likes and bragging about how many houses he building but would not tell you how many have been sold, therefore the NHC is cash strapped.

10) We have the big CLICO mess and David Thompson told Bajans how well managed the company was, next day he pumped $10 million taxpayers dollars into it and he, Parris and their friends got out their money but poor people cant get their money for months now. And not a word from the DLP.

These are some of the issues we need to deal with. Demand that the DLP account for their stewardship.

22. A Bewildered Bajan Avatar
    A Bewildered Bajan

Mara has the IQ of a grasshopper. She will win the election but she will be a liability to the DLP. And that asshole StuarT, HAS he looked into mirror recently? Talking about the seats he’s gonna win in 2013. He better watch for his. Noel Lynch unseated Sandy in St. Michael South and win unseat him too!

23. @ A Bewildered Bajan
    Cuddear, the licks from the DLP platform and the outpouring of support for Mara on the call in programme at the moment giving you bad feels, nuh? You’re really bewildered fuh true if you think that pompous constipated fool has a chance of beating Freundel just because it is not a ‘safe seat’?

Poor Owen must be sorry he troubled that fine lady that the people of St. John have embraced so warmly. He can treat Mia like scruff, but when he’s dealing with a true queen and lady he can’t come scruffy. Wheel and come again Mouse Trap!!

24. @A Bewildered Bajan | January 11, 2011 at 11:08 AM |

grasshoppers are very intelligent creatures. they know where and when to get their food. they wait until the farmer has done his work, when he is about to harvest, then take the takings for themselves. is this the character that u speak of in mara.

she right

25. “unseat”?
    The Dems have the files on Lynch now so they will make sure he gets nowhere near Freundel’s “seat”.

26. By the way where Lynette Eastman come back from? We the people of St John called for Mara , we said the king is dead, we want the queen.Mara is always there for all of we,Mara did not come out her house and come in St John ,for more than 20 years she is always in St John even when David was living. Arron Truss run for the BLP and win he was not no bajan, he was a minister in a BLP government .You forget Lynette Eastmond? Mara ‘s husband told her to run she said NO , but we the people of St John wanted her and it is we the people of St John that convinced her to run for the seat,we went to her house not no DLP.Lynette Eastmond you was on Free Press thanking Owen Arthur for taking back over the BLP, but you forget what you do in Dieghton Griffith School last year? I left you to Mia Mottley, how long you think Owen Arthur got at the helm of the BLP? This by election, and the next general election and Owen Arthur out because the people of Barbados would never ,ever,ever want him back and Mia don’t want you , you don’t like we QUEEN but we fell in love with this beautiful, humble,sweet, adorable, lovable human being and we will make her our representive on the 20th. You talk about safe seat, you can come to St John and run for it, you don’t have to go and butt up on Rudy Grant or whoever else that want to run in Christ Church West Central. Jagan’s wife in Guyana ,run for President in Guyana after he died. Peter Morgan was a Canadian and run for the DLP and win and was a minister in a DLP government.Lynette Eastmond go and look for some employment and you and all the BEES like you ,know all you all holler and shout the QUEEN is her to serve for a long,long, long time.Ya JA!!!

27. Rose girl you hit the nail on the head. Don’t mind stupid Lynette. Her real problem is that Mia dumped her from Ch Ch East Central in favour of Duncan Carter’s son Desmond Sands. Duncan Carter DIED and WILLED the BLP ticket in Ch Ch East Central to his son Desmond. Poor Lynette cursed and carried on and stormed out of the meeting. She was hoping to get a easier seat to run in because she was tired getting lick up by David Estwick in St. Philip West. She stupidly figured she could try her hand against Ronald Jones, but couldn’t even win the simple nomination within the branch because of the DYNASTY in the BLP Ch Ch Est Central branch! She is one educated fool if ever I see one. Let her stay there pimping behind Owen.

28. On what possible basis can it be said that Mara Thompson has no brains? A more ignorant and unmannerly assertion I have yet to hear. The decision rests with the people of St John to elect the person they think can best represent them. This squabbling and name-calling by outsiders is completely out of order. If the people of St John want Mara – and it seems that they certainly do – that is their right. If the BLP wish to oppose Mara, let them put forward a candidate that the people of St John think is better. How dare anyone impugne the rights of the people of St John and, for political milage ONLY cast aspersions on one who those people have clearly come to see, not as a queen, but as a favourite daughter.

29. @Bewildered
    If Cinty from St.Thomas can go to parliament, it can’t be a difficult thing for most to so do. LOL!

Who advising the BLP though? Where is Mia? Has she appeared on the BLP platform yet?

30. Freundel got DIABETES? Avatar
    Freundel got DIABETES?

All this talk bout Mara and queen moving the talk from where it should be…WEAK LEADERSHIP AT THE DLP!!!
    Freundel bring a man from Canada for the safe St. John seat but Hartley push he aside and contrive a “popular” acclaim thing for Mara.
    HARTLEY 1 FREUNDEL 0
    Freundel now caught up in this “David Legacy” bullsh*t and can’t set his own agenda
    HARTLEY 2 FREUNDEL 0
    Freundel never reshuffle his cabinet even after David force him to accept his greatest rival Chris Sinckler as finance Minister, a post usually held by the PM
    HARTLEY 3 FREUNDEL 0
    But the reality is Freundel too weak and sick to even make a decision…and he not known for mekking those fast lol!
    He had a DIABETIC COMA at the platform on Thursday and DOC GLOCK ESTWICK has to call “for sumting sweet”….DIABETES FOR SURE!!!
    Now I hearing that Freundel lost toes to diabetes….No wonder he has the smallest portfolio of any PM across the Caribbean….NO WONDER HARTLEY RUNNING THE COUNTRY…and nuttin sweet bout dat!!!

31. You cannot have it both ways. Either the post of PM in the Barbados flavour of westminister is demanding, and deadly per Owen’s opinions and we let it remains so, or we seek to make changes along the lines of what pertains in the Country that gave us westminister. There is no relevance or importance to the PM being the Minister finance, unless we like for this person, to become old in short order, have to take 6 months sabaticals, or die in office.

32. Do you see how the DLP yardfowls monopolise the airwaves?

Do you see how they can come on this blog and brag about how how much praise Mara got from callers on Brasstacks today? I could tell that the calls were organised from George St and that some of the callers were reading from a script. The DLP are masters at propaganda.

All of a sudden a new set of DLP yardfowls are on this blog and being disrespectful and as usual if you do not agree with their point of view. I am going to glad when this election is over and all of them go away because as the country slips further down the hill, they will be ashamed to blog.

But why are the Dems spewing so much vitriol and being so nasty if this seat is so safe? They are missing the point, no dying man should will a seat he held to anybody. But I wonder how Leroy McClean feels now he has found out that this seat was willed to Mara in June 2010 and he came home only for a sham. To think that all this time, Thompson and Hartley Henry staged managed his sickness and foolish pastors in Barbados fooling Bajans that Thompson will be back at his desk soon. God made ugly but he does not like it!

Dems deal with the issues and stop talking foolishness about queen. If she is, long may she rule up there. Enough is enough!

33. This blog don’t belong to you, any person can write on this blog,people like you don’t like the truth, the BLP know how to mobilise people,even to bring up people to St John for spot meetings.You don’t get the point,for over 20 years MRS MARA THOMPSON “OUR QUEEN” has been amongst the people of St John , I could understand if she was now coming out in St John , people like you and the BLP would have a case to put, don’t she have Barbadian children? Every one of our Prime Ministers married non Barbadian women.Leroy McClean knew before he left Canada that The Queen was contesting the nonimation, he was over heard saying he is still going to come home just in case Our Queen change her mind so don’t worry about Leroy Mc Clean. All the BLP got to do if or whenever they ever see power change the law so that no non Barbadian can run for parliament.When Owen Arthur was dis-respecting people when he was PM where were you Prodigal Son?The 20th coming to put all like you out of your hurting. YA JAS!!!

34. The last point it very simple Floyd. The amount of students that registered into bcc or A level school fall far below the amount that can be registered into uwi. Therefore if we wish to implement such a policy we need to expand bcc and a level student capacity first so that is not bottleneck into getting into uwi. Now as for the lower matriculated student when i was at the campus they didn’t need to be part-time but need to complete a year of prelim to be fully matriculated. Therefore i say this is just cart before the horse policy and they really didn’t think it thru.

35. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Bonny Peppa

I missin’ you bad,bad,bad.

Wha’ happenin miss Peppa?Wha I do yuh soul?

36. In Social sciences and Humanities lower level maticulation stduents have to do their first two years part-time.

The government has to start somewhere and i think this policy staement is a useful start in dealing with the issues of higher education policy in barbados.

37. Mara Our Queen my rass****
    wuh kinda **** you is ROSE ?
    ————–
    I dont feel Bonny Peppa is well
    SHE MIGHT NOT BE ABOVE GROIUND

38. They trying to fix a problem backwards. until you expand the a level and as degree program such limiting on uwi is counter productive in any form other than saving money.

39. I think you are far too dismiisve and ignoring some crucial issues. To me the policy says that university education is expensive and should be for serious students, rather than a free for all. I like that message.

Maybe you should wait anfd see if there are more places at BCC and A levels before you rush to jufgement.

40. @Floyd

Your submission was posted HERE.

41. Look mah hey …. ha ha ha

42. Every woman is a queen,you don’t have a woman?Is she not your queen?Mara is the people of St John queen, you got a problem with that, we love her, we going to pump the votes on her, we don’t care how much you a BLP pimp and all the likes like you are hurting we are going for the kill, deposit must be lost.By the way Huston Griffith get back his passport yet? The BLP is yet to respond to the allegation, in his passport it say’s born in St Vincent Our Queen passport which has always been in her house say’s born in St Lucia.You could talk until the cows come home the BLP will get smash up and lick up.KISSMYA.YA JAS!!!

43. @ Prodical Son you wrote” David Simmonds lived to see Thompson’s day come “. I offer you the benefit of doubt and beg for your explanation .

44. @Rose .. wait wait Leroy McClean knew before he left Canada that ‘The Queen’ was contesting the nomination so that means that she was projecting lie on the people of Barbados to suggest that she has to consider if it the right thing for family and our country because Barbados isn’t hers.. Did she renounce her citizenship to St. Lucia or is she going preside over 2 countries…

and FYI Queens don’t contest elections they get coronations… So I guess after winning our Independence from a British monarchy were are reverting to a St. Lucian dynasty .. well well well well what is my country coming…

We can’t get Min. Sooko-Buyer as a Queen we had to get one from over and away.

45. @ Bonny Pepper | January 11, 2011 at 10:27 PM |

Look mah hey โ€ฆ. ha ha ha
    Seems like de Bowman was right after all! ๐Ÿ™‚

46. Rose would appear to be an insider. She intimated here that Leroy McClean knew before he left Canada that Mara was contesting the nomination.

Another poster suggests that Leroy was the Freundel Stuart’s choice for a candidate (which would explain why he came) but that HH outmanouvred the PM through stimulating the grassroots support for Mara, publicising it to the hilt and making sure that the organs of the DLP would have no choice but to take it into account, thereby following his late master’s bidding. FS therefore would have thought he had no choice but to remove his support from McClean and embrace Mara.

If the above facts are accurate it suggests that serious spinning was at work (nothing new in an election campaign) to fool the public. It however adds a further data point to the metrics that suggest sub optimal leadership by the PM. But didn’t HH say that he leads from the stern (rear?)?

In the meantime it would appear that little of substantive import is being addressed on the DLP platform, and indeed on the BLP’s own also. Although, to be fair, the BLP’s platform offerings are being grossly underreported in the media. Strangely, the usual BLP spokespersons on the blogs also seem to be sleeping to a large extent. Where is Royal Rumble? I would have thought he would have given us a few earthy insights of the BLP take on the issues. Even if only at least to balance the outpourings by Rose et al.

Bonny Pepper. Good to see that you are around. We need your comments.

47. George C. Brathwaite Avatar
    George C. Brathwaite

Notwithstanding my personal sentiments of praise for Mr. Arthur’s leadership in respect of CARICOM, or for my respect for the current Prime Minister, I am from St. John (born, lived, and schooled there). I am also a member of the BLP and a friend of the late Prime Minister David Thompson.
    I do not take kindly to any ridiculing of the people of St. John regardless of the architects of such fumbling comments as have been reported in the press. Barbados has too many issues that have potential to wreck the livelihoods of many for politicians of whatever persuasion to be wasting time discussing personalities and origins rather than economy and society. Let us deal with the issues and show in my opinion why the BLP deserves a look in as potentially better representatives of the people. No Hutson or Mara bashing! Unnecessary and definitely not what the good people of St. John need as they grapple with rising unemployment, increasing crime, meteoric rises in goods and services inclusive of food. Way too much at stake for politicians to be spewing so much venom that can only cast the reputation of Barbadians in a bad light across CARICOM. Always remember, I am in no one’s hip-pocket and I shall call a spade a spade.

48. What I would advise the BLP to do is to ignore this queen talk, leave that to the Dems and deal with the issues. I hope that those who are calling her queen also rate themselves as queens. I think many of them are suffering from low self esteem. A queen is usually crowned not elected, though.

The DLP and its supporters will continue to push this queen talk to get away from their record. They have a sorry record which they cannot defend.

Every productive sector is down and all we can hear every quarter from the most political Central Bank governor ever is we hope, we hope. Barbados is the only country still so deep in recession.

Dems deal with the issues:

1. Cost of living, cost of living, cost of living
    2. The sorry mess at the QEH
    3. High energy costs, I understand the prices will skyrocket and they are holding the announcement until after the election
    4. UWI education for part time students for only 4 years
    5. The giving away of taxpayers’ land to Bjerkham at Coverley
    6. The mess at NHC due to Michael Lashley’s autocratic rule
    7. Out of control crime
    8. High unemployment, it is now at 11%, the BLP left it at 6.5%
    9. Non payment of income tax refunds

When you really analyse Dems, you have to smile. Can you imagine these same Dems lauded and applauded David Thompson when he rounded up Guyanese at 2 & 3 o’clock in the morning and bundled the Guyanese out of Barbados fooling them to come in for amnesty and very few of them got, it was a trick to get them out.

Just last week Donville Inniss said that other nationalities who have been legally living here, paying taxes and NIS cannot get medication from the Drug Service. The voices I heard were of Caribbean people, why did these same Dems not stand up for these same people? Are they only standing up for one person.

I dont understand why the Dems are so vitriolic in their campaign, yes you will will the seat, the BLP does not expect to win and as one DLP blogger said if the DLP brings Donald Duck he would beat the BLP.

The BLP is happy for you but deal with the issues tell Barbados how you are going to get it out of the mess the Dems have created!

49. I could not believe my ears when I heard the Minister of Health in Parliament yesterday saying that they, the DEMS are selling the old St Joseph Hospital property to foreigners. Wow, the Dems selling our birthright, our land to foreigners. Did they not say they would NEVER sell our land to foreigners!

What hypocrites!!!!

50. P.M. Stuart had apparently attained a reputation for spouting latin and sweet little constructions of the English Language.

But how shocked, disappointed and repulsed I felt when I heard him characterising The Hon. Owen Arthur as “a rat”

That is so unbecoming of Prime Minister Stuart, especially when he was referring to an outstanding son of the soil, who has made a tremendously outstanding, stellar contribution to the development and international image of our country Barbados.
    But I am not surprised …… an examination of Mr. Stuart’s past references to Mr. Arthur would show that he has developed a deep personal dislike. almost hatred for the former P.M. and therefore his language is couched in these uncouthed terms. This is a “gentleman” who burst out of the election starting gates with the comment, that the DLP platform would be running a “clean” campaign.
    Mr.Stuart, your carefully crafted and manufactured image of a cut-above-the-rest statesman, has been seriously fractured with this, the latest of your disrespectful references to Mr. Owen Arthur. A CLEAR SIGN OF FEAR!!