Mara Thompson – DLP Candidate for St. John

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is expected to announce the DLP candidate for St. John any day now. There is speculation that the wife of the late Prime Minister David Thompson is favoured to win the nomination.

1. It is not IF Mara will win the seat, it is by how much. How the voters view the performance by the DLP will be reflected in the margin of victory my Mara Thompson. I hope she can step up to the plate, as she should be told if will not always be plain sailing for her and she has big shoes to fit into. I wish her well

2. I like the face of Mara Thompson. She looks honest and hard working. The only thing I did not like is her remarks during the nomination interview. I am not sure about her ability as a speaker. But then again I should give her chance

3. @Carson C
    What I wrote says that I am a BLP operative???? Good Lord, because I looks like I criticized an action that a particular party is taking I MUST BE on the other side??? Lord have mercy – what an inane and puerile comment! Repay the millions the BLP tief? What ON EARTH ARE YOU ON ABOUT???? How you get there from my submission? I lost.

Let me quote myself : “Rational thought seems to have deserted Bajans yet again.”

Mr CCC, the floor is yours to jump up and down and rant and rave and froth at the mouth. I’m not very good at hysterical and vitriolic partisan submissions so…..when ya start up, all at you, boh…….

4. Random Thoughts Avatar

The truth is that neither the DLP nor the DLP has much respect for women.

If women are as intelligent, as well educated, as ambitious, and as morally upright as men can some party hack explain to me real slowly so that I undertand how come neither party can say with PRIDE 50% of our elected MP’s are women?

5. Random Thoughts Avatar

No Wishing in Vain is not better.

Those of you who are old enough to remember Sandford and Son will remember that “the big one” will come sooner rather than later.

Because the truth is that affluent Bajan men with high blood presure AND high cholesterol do NOT take their h medicine because that fear (quite correctly) that it will affect their ability to have sexual intercourse, as indeed it will.

If you doubt me check the Sunday papers and count the number of dead men aged between 40 and 60.

6. It would pay people better to ignore the comments of CCC, he lacks decorum and has a George Bush mentality – “If you’re not with me then you’re against me”. In other words, if you say anything at all against the DLP, automatically that makes you a Bee.

7. Random
    Can you list the drugs that will cause the men to undergo “Custer’s last stand?”

8. It is not IF Mara will win the seat, it is by how much. How the voters view the performance by the DLP will be reflected in the margin of victory my Mara Thompson
    ——————————–

One cannot use St.John as a test as to how voters elsewhere in Barbados would vote, margin of victory notwithstanding.

Given the voting patterns of St. John period, it would be highly unscientific.

9. There are not any real issues to be dealt with in the upcoming bye-election.
    Barbadians had a nice Christmas with almost all the stores in Bridgetown enjoying good sales.Old years night activities were fully patronized and generally Barbadians enjoyed the festive season.
    unemployment is contained to level of about 10% an acceptable rate for unemployment.Barbadian are not suffering with massive retrenchment of workers and the consequences of such a scenario.Tell me what are the issues to be discussed in this bye-election.
    The bye-election is a breeze for Mara Thompson & the best political party in Barbados – Democratic Labour Party.Mara Thompson is going to secure more votes than her late husband the great David Thompson or even our father of independence The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow.Mara Thompson has nothing to fear.
    The disgrace Owen Arthur is afraid to even venture into St John because he knows the hostility that despicable,morally paralayzed yesterday politician will encounter if he ever visit St John.The goodly people of St John will never forget the insulting language that political scum used in the House of Assembly in the presence of Mara Thompson & her family when the resolution to honour former Prime Minister David Thompson was debated in the House of Assembly.The national disgrace Owen Arthur in his usual manner used the privileges of the House of Assembly to denigrate a fellow Barbadian.
    The Barbados Labour Party is in no position whatsoever to talk about,decency or respectabibilty.
    In the last general election stinking Louis Tull cursed Esther Byer-Suckoo and her family.He told that young lady that her mother raised her in old house with a dirt floor & pit toilet.He said that she does not have the pedigree to be representative for the people of St George.Louis Tull & Ian Gill cursed Esther Byer-Suckoo in the worst way possible.Yes stinking Louis Tull a senior member of the Barbados Labour Party and a former Attorney-General of Barbados stooped to that level.
    Stinking Billie Miller while on the campaign trail in Bridgetown when she was active in politics raised her skirts exposing her undergarments and mentioned that the people of Bridgetown should kiss a certain part of her anatomy.Yes Billie Antoinette Miller a former Deputy Prime Minister of Barbados & former minister of foreign affairs also stooped to that level.
    The BLP parasites on this blog please do not talk anything about decency,integrity or morality because the Barbados Labour Party is bankrupt of those qualities and is in no position to pass judgement on any other political party in Barbados.

10. I’m sure Mara will win by a hugh margin but based on the few words i’ve heard her say ….she might have a problem representing herself!!!!!

Is it enough to be elected to a seat because your late husband held the seat?

Is it enough to be elected to a seat because your late husband was the prime minister?

Will the voters evaluate the person’s ability to adequately represent the people?

My concern is that people will be voting for the Thompson name and not for the best candidate….

Why not have a debate of the candidates so the voters would have some idea what the candidate’s ideas, plans, proposals or direction might be??

11. Charles S.Cadogan Sr Avatar
    Charles S.Cadogan Sr

I would like to take this time to congratulate Mara Thompson on her first victory in the parish of St.John. You have the people in St.John on your side because of the caring person you seem to be; Along with the strong backing of your two daughters, plus some other family members. I hope that you’ll go on to bigger things during your political career. I am sure that the support of your two daughters are the high point in all that you do; I wish nothing but success, and may you learn from all who came before you… GOD BLESS;

Mr.Mc Clean Barbados’ Counsel General in Toronto statement in the Barbados Today was pretty heavy “I don’t think there will be too much of a problem.. I have a job to go back to;” If Mr.Mc Clean was chosen one instead of Mara Thompson he then would be having two jobs. One in Canada, and the other one in Barbados; I find that to be pretty interesting. I thought that if you became a representative for the people, you should be available for, and to the people? So how would Mr.Mc Clean or anyone else for that matter can be in two places at the same to working for the people? I am very curious in regards to how this can be done;
    Allow me to make something very clear for you. I have no idea how Barbados politics works;

12. Negroman
    The silly season has started, are you truthful that there are no issues to be discussed in this by-elections? Yes, Mara will win the elections, I even predict that it is possible she will do just as well as her late husband at the polls, but the proof of the pudding is in the eating, I hope she is strong enough to represent herself in the campaign and most of all in parliament.
    C.S.C. Sr
    Mr Leroy’s remark that he has a job to go back to, is a government job in Canada, Is he the only candidate who has a job? Why use this as a negative against him? Silly season has truly begun.

13. @Charles S Cadogan “Allow me to make something very clear for you. I have no idea how Barbados politics works;”

So why don’t you keep yuh mouth shut? You MUST be FAMILY to CCC the pitbull bout here.

14. Random Thoughts Avatar

Pitbull wuh.

Salmon tot retreiver more like it.

15. @Random Thoughts……..lollllllll luv it!

I meant the wannnabe “pit bull” I luv yuh description “salmon tot retreiver” Man yuh mek muh laff hard dis morning.

16. Random Thoughts Avatar

Quoting whomever in reference to wishing in vain “You got to watch all that good living at the people’s expense…it could kill yuh fast lol!”

Just now wishing in vain wil have to chose between impotence and death.

He is a fool.

He will choose death.,

The kingmaker will join his king before 365 days have passed.

All that high living at the people’s expense will kill them both.

17. @ NoName | January 4, 2011 at 5:28 AM |

I am right there with you and by you. Your comments make a lot of sense to me.

18. Negroman,
    Would it not be odd if Mara were to do better than Barrow in St John? What has she got to be worthy of this? Aren’t the cost of living, failure to pass legislation and the VAT increase issues in the election? What no issues what?

19. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I really wish some of these commenters especiallythe newer ones will try to exercise some decorum on this blog.

Carson Cadogan is a valued member of our blogging community and for island girl or any one else to refer to him as being a dog is totally distasteful.

Whether it is BLP or DLP – commenters should learn something from the late David Thompson who was very cutting in his remarks as he responded to criticism, but never made personal derrogatory remarks about his detractors and crtics.

Please lift yourself up.

20. The point which seems to be going a begging is it is the St. John people to determine who they want as their representative.

21. @Mash up and brek up

So now we have two Salmon tot retrievers bout here. Many people and things are distasteful in life …… including you and CCC.

22. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Islandgirl

Well done.Spoken like a woman with NO class.

Keep on keepin on.Like I said earlier, try to lift yourself up and don’t guh down,guh down,guh down….. please don’t stop down dey,but come up,come up,come up and breathe the clean air up there.

23. @Mash up and brek down

Boy go and play wid yuh marbles an stop gettin into big peoples business. I got clean air where I lives, perhaps you need to tek a cleanse.

24. Mash up and buy back
    I agree with you, I was calling for some time now for bloggers to raise the level of discussion but this MUST be from BOTH sides, both BLP and DLP. I believe we are much more intelligent than some of us display.

25. @The Scout ” I believe we are much more intelligent than some of us display.”

Ahmm…not really

26. lol@alpha

Didn’t Mara say she wasn’t interested in politics? I seem to recall reading that or I could be mistaken.

If the people of St John wish to house a Thompson Dynasty, why refuse them?

27. Tonto’s horse says that Mrs Thompson is a weak candidate. Truth is Tonto’s horse is not so bright.

I saw one shot that she played recorded in Barbados today that indicates that though she goes around with a lovely smile, and is mild mannered, that she has a quiet calm confidence which is what is needed in this fray.

Very quietlty and with no fuss or flourish, she just got into line and gave the ball a caress through the covers!

She said quite accurately THE BP COME IN ST JOHN AT ELECTION TIME AND SET UP AN OFFICE FOR TWO WEEKS……AND THEN THEY DISAPEAR.

sHE AINT LIE? MURDAH!

This woman is a lady wih some pedigree- not like some of the big mouth bull frogs female politicians we have bout here. [ TONTO’S HORSE……….for your edification “female bull frog” is what is called an oxymoron. OK?]

I STILL WOULD HAVE PREFERED LEROY.
    THEY TREAT THE POOR BOY TOO BAD THOUGH ……….TWICE!

28. @GeorgePorgie

And what’s wrong with having a big mout? So female politicians should be quiet quiet and unassuming? Mara will have her style, and others will have theirs. I, for one, love watching the certain bull frog I know you have in mind in her element.

29. Miss Newbie
    You do not have to play at every ball.
    How can you know whom I have in mind?

30. I’m intrigued though, why dress it up so, why not just say the name ( or names) eh?

31. @GP,
    Leroy will be coming back to TeeOh and enjoy life.
    He will be better off away from the nastiness of Barbados politics.

His future is secure, like all you brainiacs who chose to get nuff degrees.

32. Hants
    Getting nuff degrees does not make your future secure my friend. Such folk have many envious folk who seek to stab them in thier backs. We often see this on BU.

But Leroy is probably better off where he is. God knows why he has been denied for the second time the opportunity to attempt to win the St John seat.

33. nuff Degrees give you “options “in spite of the envious backstabbers.

34. Random Thoughts Avatar

mash up and buy back wrote “Carson Cadogan is a valued member of our blogging community”

You may value CCC but I do not.

35. A lot is being made that Opposition Leader is out of island on a cruise by the DLP? Is this a big deal? Let us accept that St. John is a safe seat. Why the call for the token presence of Arthur?

36. Well they must have something to complain about. This is the only thing they could find. Guess as Opposition leader you can’t plan to have a vacation. The deputy leader isn’t good enough for them to stand in his stead if he is away. no wonder everything was on go slow for so many months.

37. I. R. Nottobright Avatar
    I. R. Nottobright

How would OSA know that FS would call the bye-election after he had booked his cruise?
    Why would FS wait until he was certain that OSA would be out of the island before he announced the date for the bye-election?

Why would the St.John polyclinic be an issue for the constituents of St. John now? Under the present circumstances, do they really expect this administration to do anything other than to make more promises about the clinic?

Roads? I could be wrong but I think that more roads were paved or fixed in St. John under BLP administrations than DLP.

If the BLP is guilty of neglecting St. John because it gets little support, then the DLP is guilty of neglecting St. John because it gets too much.

In trying to secure the next election, the DLP has concentrated its efforts in trying to keep those constituencies that are not DLP strongholds happy . St. John will continue to be taken for granted by the DLP.

I lie?

38. IRN I could not agree with you more.Stay tuned there is more to be reveiled!!.Don’t worry about the DLP chatter.

39. David; Owen, like everyone else would have known approximately when the election would be held. When FS called it is merely a red herring. I personally think Owen should have been here to give moral support to his troops in the by-election, whether it is a safe seat or not. This bye election is of some importance for the populace to gauge the chances of the BLP and whether it can rebuild for the general election when it comes. The fact that Owen seems to be taking it so cavalierly suggests to me that either, by his absence, he hopes that the extent of the split will not be so obvious or he really needs the rest and relaxation.

40. Owen really let me down. The by-election could only get called within a short wndow period, is not like Freundel coulda wait til March or June. But Owen thought he could just tek back over and use all of Mia hard work to make himself look good. So Mia and dem carry dem files wid dem.Think dem was forking ground for monkey run pon? Owen want de wuk but running from de wuk too. Or it’s de licks he running from. We need a healthy Opposition in Barbados for goodness sake.

41. This election is all about St. John how all the negatives about each party get in. It is so degrading people out there cussing and bother about the FS, OA, GP, DM,MM, MT and the likes of them. They are all the same in one way or the other. At one time or the other they thief and lie as they all are or do. Money is the root of all evil . I believe all of them go in Politics for money and more money. Let the people of St. John be and stop all the lewd talk.

42. Listen, don’t be petty. The campaigns will be launched tomorrow night and Owen is scheduled to be there. What is all this fuss about? Id Dale so incompetent that he can’t run a campaign after winning two Elections. Come off it! And this thing of Mia going all that work is bare boo. Owen worked hard for ove fifteen years. And this idea that it is correct to walk off with Opposition or Party files tells us why this country is so sick…..after all that Owen did for Mia and that lot…and for Barbados. This ingratitude will take us nowhere.

Meanwhile I must say I am happy for Denis Kelman….God aint sleeping!

43. David & Bu family
    There was a bomb explosion in the bust Stabroek Market in Georgetown Guyana a few minutes ago.One person is dead and numerous others injure.
    The happenings in Guyana have implications for Barbados with our liberal immigration policy.
    Presidential elections are duein Guyana this year and that country is becoming very volatile.
    David & BU,I think the developing situation in Guyana needs to be brought to the attention of BU contributors & to Barbados in general.

44. Jenny M is Racquel Gilkes, the girl that curse David Thompson stink stink stink on this blog after he died. She is especially welcome in St. John. Yes indeed she is.

45. Negro Man
    That report from you about Guyana is very serious, call me insular or xenophobic or whatever, but it is just a matter of time before the indo-guyanese show their true colours in Barbados and they will hit when Barbados is at its lowest. that’s why we bajans have to unite and take back this country. I was BEGGING for this for a loooooong time, it is now that bajans are realising what we have been saying.

46. What of the black Guyanese Scout?Or St Lucians? Are you racist, Scout?

47. It must be the same “Guyanese ” who bombed Campus trendz last year. Scout also blames the foreigners for the poor state of our health system. He accuses them for using it and then high tailing back to their country of origin and leaving Bajans to “clean up the mess”. Scout you and Negro man are racist to the core. Isn’t it strange that The Late PM was not a Bajan by birth, a mulatto to boot and his wife a Lucian, is now taking up his political mantle. Yet certain haters turn a blind eye. The hypocrisy of certain individuals is astounding.

48. Truthman Burton Avatar

@islandgal246 | January 5, 2011 at 5:34 PM
    Isn’t it strange that The Late PM was not a Bajan by birth, a mulatto to boot and his wife a Lucian, is now taking up his political mantle.
    Has Mara been certified as a citizen of Barbados?

49. Please excuse me please!–as my old Headmaster at HC would say.

Please dont say anything negative on this blog about Tonto’s horse please! lol Tonto’s horse knows everything! Ah lie?