Mara Thompson – DLP Candidate for St. John

Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart is expected to announce the DLP candidate for St. John any day now. There is speculation that the wife of the late Prime Minister David Thompson is favoured to win the nomination.

1. The DLP believes that any candidate they bring will be successful so nothing should be read into the lateness of the announcement. No one should therefore come to the conclusion that it will be Mara or any other.

I have spoken and when I am ready I will announce the name of the candidate.

2. It would be interesting to see the final votes .The BLP even if they lose can send a message by getting a substantial amount of votes i.eif they voters get out to vote.Having a close vote would be an eye opener for the DLP who have been sluggish in the way they have been handling the country affairs.

3. @ david

I ask before and will again, why is there no hue and cry about a St.Lucian becoming a citizen through marriage being GIFTED the safest parliamentary seat in Barbados? Where are all the CSME, immigration, selling of land, selling of businesses opponents?

4. well there you have it.
    I have spoken
    Take it or leave it

5. @Enuff

It will probably shake out during the by-election campaign. It was the Yuletide season afterall!

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Get over it. The people of St. John called for David Thompson and now they are calling for Mrs. David Thompson.

As I said before she will be the candidate and she will go on to win handsomely.

7. Hard Driven, West Wing Avatar
    Hard Driven, West Wing

Owen Arthur began 2011 on the same sad and bitter note he caused the once united and vibrant BLP to end 2010. It is Owen Arthur who facilitated the spit the BLP and caused it to dwarf into an ineffective; slow-paste; irrelevant; tired and obsolete but desperate and power-hungry political entity.

Not satisfied that on the very day the Parliament of Barbados was meeting, he called a media conference at the UWI to cuss then Opposition Leader Mia Mottley but ever since then Owen Arthur has been trying desperately to make Mia Mottley look bad in the eyes of the Barbadian public. But the harder he tries, the more popular she gets.

At the BLP’s Conference late last year (said to be the most disorganized in the party’s 72-year-history) Owen Arthur uttered the petulant comments: “Mia the BLP needs you,” in yet another attempt to make he look childish. This is a tired; cranky but shameless and power-hungry old man who plotted with 4 others to oust Mia Mottley but having executed that treacherous act, pretended to be calling for healing in desperation to regain the “moral-high-ground.”

So Owen Arthur calls for healing within the same Grantley Adams party he has split in two, but now writes to the Clerk of Parliament requesting an investigation of his wild baseless allegation that items being the property of the Crown, have been removed from the office of the Leader of the Opposition!!! Frankly, Owen Arthur must learn the danger of drinking alcohol while taking cancer treatment medication. I hear it is a very dangerous combination.

But, like Mr. Duplicity, through one corner of his mouth, having undermined; plotted and then signed the infamous “Prior Park Accord” which resulting in the treacherous ousting of Mia Mottley as Political Leader of the BLP and Leader of the Opposition of Barbados – a power hungry and cranky Owen Arthur is seeking to create the impression in the minds of Barbadians that Mia Mottley and her former staff are thieves and that they conspired and knowingly and fraudulently stole/removed items belonging to the Crown, from the Office of the Leader of the Opposition without lawful authority.

Why? Owen Arthur wants to create a distraction tactic. Everyone is aware of the circumstances under which he is now leader: It is a deal struck through the “Prior Park Accord,” in which Arthur has been purchased and now serves at the pleasure of George Payne. As part of that deal, it seems like Dale Marshall is being positioned to become the Leader of the BLP while Arthur is required to turn a blind eye to the electoral fraud which the Nation Newspaper reported late last year.

Isn’t it ironic that despite being the Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC) of Parliament, Owen Arthur is writing to the Clerk of Parliament asking him to investigate wild allegations about some alleged disappearance of Crown property? But where is Owen Arthur’s credibility? The gang of five now realise that having ousted Mia Mottley, she continues to received tremendous public sympathy. They are also aware that her approval ratings went up significantly after her speech to the Barbados Chamber of Industry and Commerce (BCCI) and also, after the dignified and humane way she treated the late PM Thompson during his illness. This explains why Owen Arthur and his gang of five are now in: “PANIC MODE.”

But, isn‘t it also ironic that despite being the leader of the BLP, Owen Arthur is yet to explain to the people of Barbados why he put thousands intended as campaign financing into his personal bank account?

* Why has Owen Arthur not called for an investigation into

why someone went into Rawle Eastman’s constituency (unknown to Mr. Eastman) and paid BLP headquarters $560 to register 56 delegates to vote for George Payne?

* Doesn’t Owen Arthur want an investigation into

why “under-aged people had their names on a list to vote for George Payne as Chairman, at the recent BLP conference?

why people who are said not to be even members of the BLP and had never indicated an interest in joining – had their names on a list to vote in BLP’s election at its Conference last year?

why 210 persons were selected by the BLP’s Women’s Leagues as delegates late last year, when there was no meeting of that entity to select any such persons?

* As Chairman of the Public Accounts Committee (PAC), doesn’t Owen Arthur want an investigation into

why was Al Barrack given the contract to build the Ministerial Building at Warren’s for which he did not even pre-qualify? Is Arthur silent on this because he now serves at the pleasure of Payne and Dale Marshall who were the Minister and Chairman responsible for NHC, then, respectively?

* As Chairman of the PAC, doesn’t Owen Arthur want an investigation into

why as Minister of Finance he authorized the payment of $10 million to build a few Terrace Units at NHC – a whopping amount funned to the same Barrack, given the cheap price of building materials then? Does Arthur’s silence again have to do with the fact that he now has power and serves at the pleasure of the same George Payne and Dale Marshall who were the Minister and Chairman of the NHC, respectively and who facilitated that sweetheart deal for Barrack?

* Doesn’t Owen Arthur want an investigation into whether he used the office of Prime Minister to raise funds for his second wedding? You see, Owen Arthur and his gang of five are corrupt and they now want to get the spotlight off them. It seems that they also want to force Mia Mottley to speak but in the process, they only succeed in reminding Barbadians just how corrupt Owen Arthur and his gang of five really are.

Surely if nothing else, Owen Arthur should want an investigation into why under his leadership, the BLP denied its Conference the right to discuss a resolution requiring “one man one vote” but will be going into the upcoming St. John by-election inviting constituents to do that which he and his gang of five prevents BLP members from enjoying!

Owen Arthur does not want healing within the BLP. He does not even care if he smears or slanders Mia Mottley. He just want to destroy her. This is a tired, corrupt, cranky and power-hungry old man who is at war with himself.

His legacy is that of: ‘the sorry-irrelevant-corrupt-old man’ who destroyed Grantley Adam’s party.

8. As expected, Mara has indicated she is ready to represent the people of St John. The election follows. The future analysis of the results will indicate if there was indeed a groundswell of support for Mara’s candidacy or if the perception that St John’s people wanted Mara and no other. A landslide win comparable to David’s will indicate that it was indeed so. Significant gains by the BLP candidate, even though losing, will indicate otherwise.

9. I left out part of a sentence in the above post. I’ll correct it later.

10. Stop calling people old !
    Arrogant snobbish people always look for tags to put on individuals: black; old; low-class; this that the other.
    Stop the nonsense !
    Ah wonder who wrote that comment above Checkit-out’s -The one with the BLP’s avatar
    the one by ‘Hard Driven,West Wing'(Henderson Bovell ?)-Mia ?—Who ???

Why the BLP’s avatar?
    Are you the one who cleaned out the files
    Very interesting that the BLP’s avatar appears here along with such comments. Very interesting
    Where is that third party ?—-

11. @ Under-Disguise,
    On this blog anything is possible so the avatar might be intended to point to a MIA supporter.

@David, “It seems the DLP is responding to who St. John people are clamouring loudest for. ”

The people of St.John have a “Democratic” right to “select,clamour or demand” a candidate of their choice.
    The DLP must give the people of St.John what they want.

12. I laughed today when I heard the Minister of Health saying that once you are in politics, people will say all kinds of things about wealth that politicians acquire. Wasn’t these same DEMS who said and encouraged their supporters to villify the BLP politicans? What goes around, comes around!!
    ———————————–
    It sure does the dems now have to pu up or shut up.
    trading on the Thompson name wont save them they will be out in a couple of years they are totally incapable of running the country.

13. Hard driven,
    After all Owen did for you, against the wishes of the party and allowing you in, this is the thanks he gets. There is nothing worse than when your own dog bite you! You dont have to stay in the BLP, not even the Dems will want you back.

On behalf of all the Bees who always felt that Owen made a big mistake allowing the likes of you in with the most foolish thing he ever did, the politics of inclusion, thanks for trying to destroy our great party.

The BLP is 72 years old and it will survive you. Dont let the door hit you on your way out.

14. I thought this foolishness had stopped. All about Arthur being old when young people are dying! Whoever is doing this is just stupid. Although I find it strange that these posting have come back with HH. Whose PR is he doing?

15. Mrs Thompson should be ever cognisant of the story of the man who rode into a Middle Eastern city one Sunday, and the people bowed before him and place palm leaves on the ground for him to walk on…….. The next Friday they nailed him to the cross.
    How quickly we forget.

16. I hope that now Mara Thompson has thrown her hat into the political ring that she realises now that she is no longer the grieving widow anymore………… but a politician.

To me she never shown any keen interest in being out front in politics just to be the supportive wife and it surprised me that she would want to go into elective politics. What about her children, didn’t I hear one of the girls said in their tribute to their dad that she thought parliament was in Miami? …which I thought to mean that he was never there.

Best of luck to St John, paraphasing what some of the voters said in today’s Sun, after having two PMs represent the parish for over 50 years, it is still the worst off parish, roads are still in a bad way. Sad, sad, sad!

17. Funny, all I can think of is the saying: “people deserve the person they elect”.

18. why is St.John the worse off parish in Barbados ?
    Because it does not have high rise buildings ?
    Give me St. John anytime with its close to nature- back in time feel . I love it
    Why are St.John people thought to be stupid ?
    I think not .
    They have chosen great men as their representatives for the last 50 years. What is stupid about choosing two men that the World thinks so highly of ?
    Tell me
    I am Under- Disguise but I aint under illusions.

19. Frankly! That word sounds familiar. I want to be frank! With the use of the BLP logo I sense that some one is going out of their mind. No one is studying Mia Mottley now. This is Mara’s time and Hudson Griffith’s as well. We are focussed on the Bye-Election. Let Mia settle herself and come again. If she got documents that Owen wants or she knows where they are let her carry them back. Any computer files do the same. That is if she still with the BLP. It is time she stops her bullying tactics and be humble for a change.

20. According to “Under-Disguise” St. John is a wonderful parish. I don’t disagree, but then again I don’t live there. Sadly though, it’s still the poorest parish in Barbados, not so nice for the average folk who live there and who are complaining about basic neccesities such as WATER.

21. BTW I forgot to mention that my parents live there, so I have a good idea of how people there suffer from all sorts of water outages etc.

22. Jenny,

I agree. That whole Mia thing had begun to settle and go away like a nine day wonder and up comes Henderson Bovell again and stirring up trouble.

It serves Owen right, as a supporter of the party, I never agreed with his politics of inclusion. My philosophy is if are a Bee and you have cause to disagree with the party, go quietly and done with party politics. I hate this party hopping. I am sure every Bajan was surprised when Henderson Bovell joined the BLP after years of saying the most vile things about the BLP, like was doing in yesterday’s Sun. I well remember a day he called the call in programme and David Ellis almost had a “heart attack” when he realised that HB was now supporting the BLP.

Now he is practicing the politics of cannibalism that is so well learnt and perfected in the DLP on the very same BLP who took him in.

Talk about biting the hand that fed him! But there again he did it to the Dems, so what do you expect!

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Independent

“…..it’s still the poorest parish in Barbados, not so nice for the average folk who live there and who are complaining about basic neccesities such as WATER”

Thank the wicked Barbados Labour Party for that.

24. Why not thank their MP?

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

ru4real

The people of St. John were suffering from what is known as collective punishment by the Barbados Labour Party.

“wunna won’t vote fuh we, so we gun mek wunna suffer.”

26. Independent
    The talk about St.John being the poorest parish is bare nonsense. Poor in what? It was politically correct to say such in surveys to discredit the persons who represented the parish.
    The Right Excellent Errol Walton Barrow was the Prime Minister of Barbados and the whole of Barbados benefited. St John people had the same benefits as all Barbadians.
    Don’t you recognize that some of Barbados richest people live in St.John?
    Owen Arthur in his politics of spite took David Thompson over the coals for fourteen years denying a people their taxing paying rights of a good housing, a reliable water supply, good roads and employment.
    David Thompson suffered at the hands of Owen Arthur and barely had two years to start to right the wrongs which you see happening.
    That is why his wife has decided that she will run to try to make sure that St.John is not neglected again even by her party.
    An old man told me about the amount of water that is in St.John in New Castle. It is basically poor water management by the BWA that those country districts are not getting water.
    Put aside the politics and think about it.

27. I prefer to think of St. John as an unspoilt parish. Yes, the roads are poor condition and in urgent need of repair. It also needs a police station, an bank or ATM machine. But I don’t see anything else poor about St. John. There’re lots of agriculture going on in St. John, plenty trees, and fresh air. Some very wealthy people also live in the parish of St. John. It also boasts one of the most popular picnic spots on the island, and the Village Bar, and the Souse Factory that people from all over the island clamour to on Saturdays. St. John is one nice cool and unspoilt country parish that simple layed-back people can enjoy and appreciate. I like it just the way it is.

Having put aside the notion that St. John is a poor parish, I think that Mara would be the wrong choice despite what the selfish calls of the St. John people.

28. What does the choice of Mrs Thompson, a woman who never before expressed an interest in politics, mean for young aspirants to political office?

29. It is official, Mara gets the nod.

30. Mara nominated with 60 votes out of a total of 69. mmmmm

@jack spratt.

young aspirants to political office can show their commitment to the people by doing work in the communities they want to represent.

31. Jack Spratt
    She campaigned in St.John for her husband all of these years. The people may even know her better than her husband. How do you show an interest in politics?

32. Let me point out , once again, that I’m neither a Dem nor a Bee. Let me further point out, that in Haiti, the poorest Caricom counntry you will find extremely wealthy families. I don’t really care one way or the other who the MP for St John is. What I do think of is the saying : A people deserve the person they elect. Which is what democracy is all about, ain’t it? Why be defensive???

33. @Charlie, by making a public comment on a matter of public interest.

34. So the BLP has been in power all the while even when Barrow was PM? Where’s the blame for the DLP?

David Thompson was part of the Sandi government, why did he not do something for St John or Barrow? Did Thompson not have the now famous non existent St John Development Plan?

I well remember that Barrow said his people told him dont even bother to come up there, we have your back. Shouldn’t he have more to repay them for their loyalty.

I am not saying that the BLP when in office should not have done a little more for St John, they are part of Barbados and the people pay taxes too but the Dems should have made sure that they did more for St John, dont blame the BLP.

If the BLP is deemed wicked by CC, so must the DLP, after all St John has been supporting the Dems blindly for 55 years!

35. Here are the facts on St John:

Errol Barrow ……Representative 1958-1987
    Premier 1961-1966
    Prime Minister 1966-1976 & 1986-1987

David Thompson
    Representative 1987-2010
    Minister 1987-1994
    Prime Minister 2008-2010

Lots of time for the St John Development Plan to be implemented.

36. @Jack Spratt

How did you feel when MP for St. Andrew sat for all those years in parliament and did not speak publicly to issues? We were told it did not stop him from attending the needs of his constituents. We always find convenience arguments blurred by partisan political poppycock when it suits us.

37. @David
    You are one big joke and a hypocrite. If it were anyone else equally unqualified to hold a seat in Barbados but born in St. John you would be omn your hobby horse talking about democracy and a load of crap. You guys are worse than your enemies. And THAT’S what’s wrong with Barbados today. Who can’t see that this is the WORST possible occurrence EVER in the history of Barbadian DEMOCRACY!!!

Let’s continue the window dressing about openness and freedom of information and equality while we giggle over our rum-punches about the absolute stupidy of the masses.

Now what in hell’s bells is Mara Thompson going to offer the people of Barbados? I know your answer: NOTHING!

Why do you support her?

Because you believe in openness … and freedom … and democracy … and Barbados!

What a joke! I hope you’re still laughing as the flames lap at your ankles. It’s from mistakes like this that greater societies than the Bajan have perished. And it’s people like you who defend the nonsense. In Germany in the thirties, you would probably have supported Goebbel’s wife (or lover). GOD HELP US !!

38. @ David

I notice you have replied to my last comment but it was not posted.

39. I wonder what ministry the late PM bequeathed to his wife?

40. Nice attempt at alliteration,David, but am I the one being political. Are you saying we could do with another George Payne? What has Mara ever said to convince you that she would add anything worthy to an already poor Parliament?

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

George Payne was so hurt by what Owen “see thru” Arthur did to him that he lost his voice for many years.

That didn’t stop the people from St. Andrew from blindly voting for him in the last elections.

He only recovered his power of speech after the last elections. Now he is the Barbados Labour Party’s Kingmaker.

42. @Persnicka_t

What are the qualification to be a member of parliament besides the fact the people of the constituency support you?

@enuff

You stuff as usual goes to spam, download FF and use that when commenting on BU.

43. Henderson is a political wart
    The sooner he is spunelated the better for everybody

44. @Spratt

No we are saying that if the successful model of MP George Payne is followed one does not have to mouth off in public to represent.

45. @Under-Disguise

Does leader of the opposition Arthur has plans to appoint someone to liaise with the blogs and social media?

As it stands a void has been created with the usurpation of Mia Mottley.

46. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Are you at all sure that some one as old and ancient as Owing is aware or knows anything at about blogs or websites ??

Happy New Year to you, your family and the family of BU.

Besides is it not a bad time for the part time leader of the opposition to have taken of on a World Cruise ?

47. @WIV

What cruise is that you are referring?

Thanks for you well wishes and same to you.

48. Why cuss Henderson Bovell. You forget Clyde Mascoll. Criticise the B.L.P. for 25 years; brought a no-confidence motion against them and exposed Jaws/GEMS. Where is he now ?
    Henderson Bovell has democratic rights too.

49. Wishing in Vain Avatar

Cruise Liner Cruise

50. It’s an honor to be nominated. I just hope the people of St. John put a lot of thought into their selection and think seriously what they expect and want from from her as their representative, and do not simply get carried away by focusing on a name.

Before making Mrs. Thompson the St. John rep, I think she needs to be asked some hard questions in terms of what are some of her goals for the Parish; what does she plan to do for the constituents of St. John that would make the majority of the Parish and the Islanders proud.

People, please consider, reconsider and render with fair judgment between now and election.