Submitted by AAA (as a comment)

Chris Sinckler, Minister of Finance

Attention: The Minister of Finance, Christopher Sinckler

Your Budget presentation and wrap up session was keenly observed by many. When all hope seemed lost you then addressed the Pierhead Marina saga. This was under the guise of HMBS Pelican base at Spring Garden and the faults with that design and construction. You attempted to link the Pierhead Marina designers Halcrow to the minor construction problems with HMBS Pelican although you know that reports on the issue of liability have repeatedly indicated the problems rest squarely with the contractors and developers JADA CONSTRUCTION LIMITED and or abnormal sea conditions.

It was a crude mistake made by an immature politician who already on this ice for having tried his level best to leapfrog Freundel Stuart MP for the post of prime minister, has taken on additional political liability which he himself cannot imagine and the likes of which will severely damage is political ambitions including the position of Minister of Finance. Mr. Sinckler has shown his hand the result being he will have a brand seared into his palm for all to see.

This is a man that certain special interest factions sought to have elevated to Prime Minister, its a good thing his fellow MPs realized the problem that would create and back raised him when the vote was called on the morning of David Thompson’s death.

Having defamed the reputation of a company whose annual revenue is nearly that of the total annual budget of Barbados, the Minister of Finance can look forward to lawsuit for defamation from the same company. The privilege of parliament will not protect him, remember Don Blackman and COW Williams? The Privy Council ruled against parliamentary privilege, sure Mr. Sinckler is aware of this.

Halcrow delivers planning, design and management services for developing infrastructure and buildings worldwide. They contribute to the construction, operation and maintenance of the built environment, and the protection, enhancement and maintenance of the natural environment and operate in almost every country in the world. Halcrow has been working for the Government of Barbados for over 30 years.

Halcrow are the designers for the HMBS Pelican. The Government of Barbados has paid all of Halcrows invoices and have not attempted to call in the cash bond held by the GOB nor have they attempted to bring a case against Halcrow for breach of a duty of care owed by Halcrow to the Government of Barbados.

You see, the issue of the so-called problems with Halcrow at the HMBS Pelican are just that so-called problems, no proof whatsover yet the Minister of Finance would have us believe that the GOB Barbados would have to look for bajan 20M to fix the problems there. The Leader of the Opposition has the files which includes the estimates to fix the problems created at HMBS Pelican by JADA CONSTRUCTION LIMITED, they don’t exceed bajan 1.0 M.

Where the Minister of Finance is going with this is to the Pierhead Marina project, which co-incidentally is also designed by Halcrow. That project has been the subject of much debate primarily lead by the Leader of the Opposition and which centered out the DLP contention that bajan 48 M needs to be spent to redesign the Pierhead Marina notwithstanding that GOB Barbados had paid bajan 15 M for Halcrow to design that project. All of the Halcrow designs are conpleted, tested and all that remains is for the GOB thru the BTI to build the Marina.

The allusion of having to redesign the Pierhead Marina has its origins in the fact that when the BTI tendered the project in 2007, the tender of VECO/SMI/Glyne Bannister was twice the price of the lowest tender. Remember Glyne Bannister and VECO are of the Dodds Prison fame, Darcy Boyce was the CEO of BTI at the time the Pierhead Marina was tendered and Darcy Boyce was also on the tender evaluation commitee of the DODDS Prison, remember the Nation newspaper article? Darcy Boyce and Glyne Bannister are close friends and partners in business.

This nastiness at the Pierhead Marina, the attempt to waste 48 M has already cost Sen Darcy Boyce his position. In the last cabinet reshuffle before his death David Thompson removed BTI from his responsibility. Unfortunately the Minister of Finance appears to have taken up where Darcy Boyce left off and is almost certain that he will be demoted also.

What neither Darcy Boyce or Christopher Sinckler know is that former Prime Minister David Thompson had a peer review done on the design at the Pierhead Marina, ask the former chairman, he has a copy.

1. A lawsuit for comments made in parliament where privilage superceed any law pass or present in our current defamation act?

2. So wait, these companies most likely foreign owned/backed now want to tell our Parliamentarians what to say in our House of Parliament? In a budget presentation and wrap up, we cannot talk about our own island and the problems we are having? Some people really think they are above the law and that our parliament should cow-tow to them. Was this firm Halcrow mentioned at all? Someone please enlighten me.

3. @Adrian

It appears to be a warning or even a rap on Sinckler’s knuckles. He will have to make the assessment and adjust accordingly.

4. Well the article mentioned the ruling by the privy council which struck down parliamentary privilege. Though the Caribbean Court of Appeals would now handle that. I think they would follow the privy court ruling as well.

5. IMAGINE!!!

THIS HAPPENING IN NOVEMBER – THE MONTH OF INDEPENDENCE.

SEEMS LIKE SOMEBODY WANTS TO GAG OUR POLITICIANS?

ONE THING SEEMS CLEAR.

THAT IS THAT NEITHER SINCKLER, STUART NOR MIA MOTTLEY ARE THE LEADERS THESE PEOPLE WANT RUNNING BARBADOS OR WANT TO DO BUSINESS WITH.

BARBADIANS WAKE UP AND TAKE NOTE. CONNECT THE DOTS!!!!

BRING THE PREVENTION OF CORRUPTION ACT, PLEASE.

6. @Bajan Panday

You should discuss if the comment by AAA has merit.

Did Sinckler use parliamentary privilege when he referred to this matter?

7. White shadows still hovering over Barbados. Bajans will never learn.

8. At the beginning of each Session of Parliament, the Speaker of the House is summoned by the GG to the Senate for the Throne Speech. It is at that point that the Speaker claims all the rights and privileges on behalf of Members of the Lower House.

This dates back to the time when the King could summon the Speaker of the House and behead him if he did something with which the Sovereign did not agree.

It is why someone (the Marshall) accompany the Speaker to his Chair, traditionally to ensure that he did not run and try to escape. Because in those days, to become Speaker of the House, was a death sentence.

Each time a Member speaks in the House, he speak with Qualified Privilege. Parliament can even change a man to a woman and a woman to a man.

That is why some politicians say in the Hose what they may not be able on a political platform.

Another point, to question Sinckler over what was allowed in the Debate is to question the Speaker or the Chair. That is usually considered contemp.

Ask Ezra Alleyne or the Lecturer from the UWI who often contributes here.

9. “”The privilege of parliament will not protect him, remember Don Blackman and COW Williams? The Privy Council ruled against parliamentary privilege, sure Mr. Sinckler is aware of this.”

Didn’t Barbados sign-on to the CCJ in both original and appealant jurisdition? (as our final appeal court)

10. Who is AAA?

Is it an agent or the Pricipal: “Halcrow?”

Is it someone who Sinckler wounded in the debate? Who is AAA?

11. As i Stated above there is already precedence and unless that precedence can be challenge, the CCJ will just use the precedence established by the privy council.

12. well thats the end of the DLP !!
    LETS MOVE ON
    THE DLP is a doomed party although quite frankly I BELIEVE THAT THEY ARE A LITTLE BETTER OFF NOW THAN BEFORE, BAD BUDGET AND ALL—
    BAD BUDGET ? YES !
    WAIT TO THE VAT REALLY HIT -when people realise that they got to pay a lot more on everything 2.5 % more vat aint easy.
    Somebody say abolish personal income tax and raise the vat
    a suggestion to be examined.
    The Budget was BAD (read a burden on the poor and midC.) for more reasons too

13. Bajan Panday, since you want to know who is AAA, reveal yourself.

Chris Sinkler is just what he is, a thug for a politician. He was just grand standing during his wrap up, he tried to make Owen look small but he came off looking the worse – arrogant, obnoxious, classless and bad behaved!!!

Maybe he would now read, think and understand matters that are over his head before he speaks!

14. Why should Barbadians be payning more when the 2% Environmental Levy has been abolished?

AND WHEN THE THINGS THATB WERE ZERO RATED BEFORE WILL STILL BE ZERO RATED?

There should be absolutely no upward adjustment in prices unless that abolished Environmental Levy is now replaced with a 2% mark-up. THAT WOULD BE DISHONESTY.

IT WOULD ALSO BE PRICE GOUGING!!!!

PRICES SHOULD NOT RISE. IN FACT, IN MANY INSTANCES, PRICES SHOULD DROP. THE VAT IS APPLIED AFTER THE ENVIONMENTAL LEVY IS APPLIED BUT THAT 2% LEVY HAS NOW BEEN ABOLISH.

The only way prices should not come down is if these people argue that they have old stock which still wouldn’t make a lot of sense.

15. @ Peaches | November 30, 2010 at 8:24 PM | Bajan Panday, since you want to know who is AAA, reveal yourself.

Chris Sinkler is just what he is, a thug for a politician. He was just grand standing during his wrap up, he tried to make Owen look small but he came off looking the worse โ€“ arrogant, obnoxious, classless and bad behaved!!!

Maybe he would now read, think and understand matters that are over his head before he speaks

THIS IS HOGWASH AND A DISTRACTION TACTIC TO SCARE MINISTER SINCKLER WHO EFFORTLESSLY D’SKINNED OWEN ARTHUR IN HIS WRAP-UP.

Sinckler never called any company’s name. He was MERELY responsing to an allegation by Owen Arthur that the DLP was squandering money. Arthur quoted from the Economic and Social Report to say that people on Constituency Councils were being paid for walking about in constituencies.

SINCKLER PROVED THAT THAT WAS CHICKEN FEED TO WHAT ARTHUR SPENT AND IS NOW CAUSING THE DLP TO SPEND.

This AAA is not an agent for Halcrow but someone whose credibility was dented in that wrap-up. As I recall, the wrap-up focussed on one persons: the former Minister of Finance owen arthur and not any company.

The only person who has anything to defend is Owen Arthur. This is now an attempt to smear Sinckler who is not the one who put $750,000 intended as campaign contributions into his personal bank account.

SINCKLER IS NOT THE POLITICIANS BEHING THE WARREN’S BUILDING OR THE $10 MILLION TERRACES UNITS.

There is no question that Sinckler fatally wounded Arthur in the debate. His focus in the wrap-up was solely on Arthur. Mr. Sinckler reminded the House that in the 2008 Budget, Arthur said “BLAME HIM FOR ALL AND ANY ACTS, OMMISSIONS OF HIS GOVERNMENT DURING THE 14 YEARS IT WAS IN OFFICE.

Sinckle then asked Arthur if he knew what he was accepting responsibility for. Minister Sinckler made reference to the building at Warrens, the crab hill police station and the same coast guard jetty that was damaged.

It is why I know that this is a response from a wounded man. Sinckler’s focus was on Arthur. The only person who has been named was Arthur. It is and was all about Arthur.

ARTHUR SAID BLAME HIM BUT NOT THAT THE LICKS ARE HOT, HE IS RUNNING.

I would not be surprised if AAA was a serrogate of the wounded man.

THIS IS A WOUNDED MAN WRITING THIS OR GIVING DIRECTIONS FOR IT TO BE WRITTEN.

MY ADVICE TO SINCKLER IS: KEEP YOU HAND CLEAN. DO NOT PUT CAMPAIGN FINANCES IN YOUR PERSONAL BANK ACCOUNT?

CONTINUE KNOWING THAT YOU ARE THE FUTURE OF BARBADOS AND NOT THE CORRUPT PAST.

16. @Bajan Panday

Each time you use $750 000 to support an argument you do your credibility no good. It was $75 000.

17. Peaches
    when i read your post, i doan kno if ta laff or cry. tink i’lll stupseeeeeeeeee instead.
    ya mek any conkies fa de celebration? stupseeeeeeeee. cah two fa ya professa tamorrrrrrrrr.

18. How come $75,000 gone to $ 750,000. And what are the real facts? How are campaign funds allocated ? Repeating this nonsense is pure……… How much did other people get and where did they put it? how did they spend it? and who are those people who spent money against people from their own party? Just a few questions!!!! When stones start to throw back look out…trouble! Stop this ……..

19. Bajan Panday. For one so knowledgeable or rather i should say you spout information left right and center you should know that the levy is 1% on most thing. As for why thing will go up 1 < 2.5%. Further yet. What 15% is charge on the total tax bill. so regard less the 17.5% is a final tax and that will always work out more than 1% the dropped.

20. Your advice to him is too late! You better make sure he wins his seat first, there is no CLICO money to give away this time around.

21. OK!!!

I AM TOLD BY BU THAT THE CHEQUE WHICH OWEN ARTHUR PUT INTO HIS PERSONAL BANK ACCOUNT (UNKNOWN TO ANYBODY IN THE BLP) THAT WAS INTENDED AS CAMPAIGN CONTRIBUTIONS, WAS IN FACT $75,000.

22. Johnny Tudor said on a political platform in 2008 that he negotiated to get a campaign contribution for the DLP when he was a member. He told David Thompson about it and when the cheque was to be collected. On the day in question when he got to the company the cheque was already collected and the treasurer never received it. Ask Johnny!!!
    Bajan Panday, stop throwing stones, all of you politicians live in glass houses.

23. Lets all wait for the lawsuits to be filed . One gets the impression that this maybe an attempt to cause confusion . A.A.A. ? If the inference is that Darcy Boyce is the Dems version of Hallam Nicholls , please remember that dynamite needs a cap to be effective . Aided and abetted by the captain of the ship , Mr.Nicholls found the king’s ransom . Perhaps this lawsuit will attach to Mr. Boyce the explosive cap needed for us to again experience another EXPLOSION OF CORRUPTION .Till then lets all wait with bated breath .

24. In his 2008 Budget, Mr. Thompson said: “Due to this rising trend I am forced to increase the ad valoreem rates of 1.5% and 2 per cent to 2 and 3 per cent respectively. This will raise an estimates $3.5 million additional revenue.”

The Levy was applied to goods coming into Barbados. BUT WHERE DID YOU GET 1% FROM?

HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT THE PROVISIONAL COLLECTION OF TAXES ACT?

Look!!! The Levy went on first and then the VAT was applied

But the impression is being conveyed by BLP scaremongers from the geriactric brigade that those things which were zero-rated will now carry VAT and that prices will some how skyrocket.

Please come with a different argument.

THERE SHOULD BE NO NOTICEABLE INCREASE IN PRICE/S BASED ON TAXES OR THE RECENT BUDGET.

25. It is evident by the tone of the note from AA to Sinckler he is being warned to watch his mouth. The BLP and Arthur have been preaching that the DLP’s tone in public about issues connected to FDI, foreign investors and contractors has been unwelcoming. We shall see how Sinckler adjust to the chiding. Let us not forget Sir Lloyd tried a similar approach and history has recorded the ignominy of what transpired.

On the question of the $75,000 cheque which Arthur placed in his personal account. It was bad luck this matter came to light for Arthur only because of an investigation at a CLICO owned company and the Parris connection. It is widely known that politicians get campaign financing all the time, often times the funds land in their personal accounts. Hopefully with the legislation which is on the cards it will tighten up this matter. The fact is Arthur was caught out, until others are exposed Arthur will have to defend on this matter.

26. Prodigal
    you really expect sumbody to ask dah Johnny sumting? stupseeeeeeeeeee, you cannnnn be serious.

Panday
    tawk ya tawk, tawk ya tawk.
    wah i doan undastan. whetha it was $750,000 $75,000 or $75.00 it was still misappropriated. de decimal point doan alter de currency. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee
    tawk ya tawk Panday do. tawk ya tawk.

27. The PM said yesterday that every major development in Barbados has been done by the DLP. I do not want to say he is delusional but it would seem so.

But I noticed that he did not say that the only time that there ever had so many people marching up and down Barbados was under the DLP and the only government to ever cut public workers’ salaries was the DLP.

I heard a DLP operative arguing with David Ellis on Monday that the DLP started the BNB. When told her no, she still say “I will check because I am sure we started it”.

Since Errol Barrow, every time the Dems have had the reigns of government, it has always been bedlam.

The BLP has always been forward thinking and can be proud of its legacy, Owen Arthur has nothing to be ashamed of no matter how Bajan Panday or his want to be PM, Chris Sinckler try to pull him down.

The BLP can be proud of: the airport, the seaport, Arawak Cement plant, Independence Square, the wharf boardwalk, Jubilee Gardens, the highway, the west wing, Pelican Village,Kensington Oval, the Coast Guard bilding, the Hall of Justice ( I waiting to see if they are going to stick Thompson’s name on it), Dodds, the NIS building, St Lawrence Gap, the Bay Gardens at Oistins, Swan Street building 436 houses and repairing 611 between 97-07, BNB, new schools, new police stations and the list goes on and on.

The BLP has a proud record of development in this country and a stable economy during its tenure.

28. David
    Happy Independence ta you n yours from me n mine. But ya is only a tief when ya get ketch. I’ve heard said.

29. @ David

You said, quote:- “. . . . . Arthur will have to defend on this matter.”
    So what law exactly did OSA contravene? And if so why did the DPP not put things in place to have him in court or at least investigated?
    Wasn’t the cheque made out to OSA personally? What does one usually do with cheques made out to oneself? Don’t they usually deposit them to their personal accounts? Personally, I don’t know if any LAW was contravened in that case IF that is what actually happened. All I really see so far is a lot of RUMOUR and inuendo.

30. @Bonny

Yes in the legal definition you are correct but if there is public knowledge that unethical/illegal behaviour is occurring it does nobody any good.

Happy Independence to you and yours as well.

31. Prodigal
    Look today is Independence nite. doan tell lies man. my mem’ry in sa good but I rememba dah use ta got strikes n wild-cat strikes in wunna 14yr rule evry time ya look roun. you faget? marching up n down shite? ya lie, ya liah. both parties are responsible fa de infrastructure n good development a de country, nah one party. dah i could agree wid.

32. @ de hood

From where we sit it is probably more an ethical issue than criminal. Arthur indicated in explanation that he duly transferred the proceeds to the party account. He was questioned about the time it took for the transfer to take place.

To repeat based on BU’s certain knowledge this is something which politicians do all the time. Arthur was caught out because of a peculiar circumstance. Hopefully the legislation will improve the existing process.

33. @ Prodigal Son | November 30, 2010 at 9:45 PM |

Yes!!!

The BLP did those things at a time when there was so much money in the world that Madoff stole over $50 BILLION and Sandford some $20 BILLION without anybody realising it was stolen.

BUT WHAT ABOUT HOUSEHOLD, HOW DID THEY FEAR? THAT IS THE QUESTION PM STUART ASKED.

WHY WOULD PEOPLE CHANGE A GOVERNMENT THEY THOUGH WAS WORKING MIRACLES FOR THEM?

Could it be corruption, arrogance, treatment of people, saying the Police are not special, cussing journalists, reading letter sent by people in confidence and reducing the office of PM.???

COULD IT BE THAT THE BLP BETRAYED THE TRUST AND CONFIDENCE PLACED IN IT BY THE PEOPLE? DID THAT $75,000 SHOCK THEM?

DID THEY REALISE THAT ARTHUR WAS TIRED AND STALE AND HAD RAN OUT OF IDEAS? DID HE LOSE HIS WAY?

HAD HE BECOME A DICTATOR? IS IT THAT THE BLP FELT THAT THEY WERE THE LORD AND MASTERS?

34. @ BP
    Nah Bon, Yuh memry ain’t wukkin so good tonite, hun. Doan evev fuhget dat de good ol Duke Of York (Sir Leroy) marched 30,000 up de hill and he marched DEM down again! I was dere dat day Bon!! And ah fuhmember Sandi get in de guvment orfices an skin he false teets at de people on de Esplanade an wheneva dun he get skin out a few munts lata! Doan fuhget, Bon.

35. David

Each time you use $750 000 to support an argument you do your credibility no good. It was $75 000.
    I donโ€™t think the amount matters, the disclosure was devastating and if there was a top ten list of the election campaign moments that would ne No.1. I have yet to hear a credible explanation of the disposition of the funds

36. David
    You said, quote:- “From where we sit it is probably more an ethical issue than criminal. Arthur indicated in explanation that he duly transferred the proceeds to the party account. He was questioned about the time it took for the transfer to take place.

To repeat based on BUโ€™s certain knowledge this is something which politicians do all the time. Arthur was caught out because of a peculiar circumstance. Hopefully the legislation will improve the existing process.End quote.
    So why are we only now hearing (3 years after) that OSA deposited a cheque made out in HIS name to HIS account and subsequently transferred said amount to the PARTY account. So, where’s the problem, David? The only problem I see really is with those who used that inuendo to basically pull off an upset win in an election. LIARS, David that’s what they were. Is that one of the late PMs legacies?

37. David
    i did only pullin you legz. a tief is a tief is a tief.

Prodigal
    but wait, ef dah ‘stick Thompson name pun um’, wah you gun do? rip um off? stupseeeeeeee, man doan mek ma cry do. ef I could, I would ‘stick he name pun um’ fa bare spite n see wah you would do. bring ya railins up ta my pailins n ya would see. i is a sa-warria.
    THE DAVID THOMPSON JUDICIAL JUDICIARY OF JUDICIOUS JUSTICE.
    Chawwwwwwwwwwwwwwww, how um sound Prodigal??????
    Eatchya hart out mister.

38. de hood
    you referrin ta ONE strike as opposed ta ONE HUNDRED strikes during de shortman reign supreme.even de prisonas did strikin fa betta food n livin conditions. den de nurses, doctors, teachers, sanitation-workers, soil-technicians even de madmans down Jinkins decide dat evry body strikin n dem strike too. dem strike fa betta injections. LOLLL

39. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

This AAA piece is not worth the “cyber paper” it is written on.
    The people of Barbados elected the Democratic Labour Party to represent them and that includes Min. Sinckler.

The Government will continue to do what is in the best interests of the country.

No AAA, Halcrow or the Barbados Labour Party, who is behind this hogwash, will dictate how this Government moves forward.

40. Bonny Peppa | November 30, 2010 at 10:29 PM |

de hood
    you referrin ta ONE strike. . . . . .
    But Bon, dat was de “Mudder ah Strikes”! That was de ONE! Neva appen befo but may soon happen again!! ๐Ÿ™‚

41. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

My advice to AAA, Halcrow, the CROOKED BArbados Labour Party members and supporters, go play with yourselves!

42. @ CCC
    So CCC when Sinckler gets his butt sued and gets judgment against him , how many more millions that would be that we the taxpayers have to fork out in more taxes to pay the costs!! In addition to the 3S judgment plus whatever else these losers get us involved in by way of lawsuits!!

43. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

“See Thru” has been trying for a while to force the hand of DLP on this issue.

He has not been successful and as a result he is now enlisting the help of his corporate friends at Halcrow in the person of Halcrow opperative AAA.

We are fooled.

Sinckler tore him apart during the same budget.

44. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A correction, the second last sentence should read,

“We are NOT fooled.”

45. @ Carson C. Cadogan | November 30, 2010 at 11:08 PM |

A correction. . . .
    No CCC, you were perfectly right the first time . . . . . all ah wunna were definitely FOOLED then and continue to let yourselves be FOOLS all like now!!

46. Convinced Carson C Cadogan ‘s comments comes clearly from a C***

47. Brillant wrap-up indeed by Christopher Sinckler!!!!
    How the saying goes now “empty vessels make the most noise” need I say more.

48. IN HIS WRAP-UP MINISTER SINCKLER NEVER MENTIONED ANY COMPANY. HE MENTIONED AN INDIVIDUAL: THE FORMER MINISTER OF FINANCE: ARTHUR.

THIS AAA IS NO COMPANY BUT PERHAPS SOMEONE WHO IS WOUNDED AND NOW TRYING TO SMEAR AND PULL DOWN SINCKLER.

SINCKLER WAS RESPONDING TO ARTHUR SAYING THAT HE ACCEPT RESPONSIBILITY FOR EVERTHING DONE IN THE PAST 14 YEARS.

THIS IS A GOOD ANGLE TO CONTINUE TO EXPLOIT. LOOK AT ALL THE BAD THINGS THAT HAPPENED FOR THE PAST 14 YEARS AND ASK ARTHUR IF HE ACCEPTS RESPONSIBILITY FOR THEM.

PULLING THIS COMPANY INTO THE DEBATE IS A RED HERRING. HOW COULD SOMEONE IN THE BLP OR BARBADOS KNOW WHAT A COMPANY WILL OR WILL NOT DO?

FOR SURE, NOBODY IN THE DLP IS THAT CLOSE TO THIS COMPANY TO KNOW. SO WITHIN LESS THAN A WEEK OF A BUDGET, WHO WOULD HAVE BRIEFED THAT COMPANY AND GAINED AUTHORITY TO WRITE ON ITS BEHALF?

WHERE IS THIS COMPANY REGISTERED AND WHO ARE ITS AGENTS?

ONLY ONE PERSON WAS WOUNDED IN THE RECENT BUDGET: ARTHUR!

ONLY ONE PERSON HAS ANYTHING TO DEFEND: ARTHUR!

ONLY ONE PERSON BENEFITS OR GETS SATISFACTION FROM SINCKLER BEING SUED: ARTHUR!

ONLY ONE PERSON WHO BENEFIT IF SINCKLER IS REMOVED AS MINISTER OF FINACE WHERE HE HAS ACCESS TO FILES FOR THE PAST 14 YEARS: ARTHUR!

WITH TWO MORE BUDGETS TO COME, WHO WOULD BENEFIT IF SINCKLER IS SCARED AND SAY NOTHING IN THOSE BUDGETS ABOUT ARTHUR: ARTHUR!

49. “In his 2008 Budget, Mr. Thompson said: โ€œDue to this rising trend I am forced to increase the ad valoreem rates of 1.5% and 2 per cent to 2 and 3 per cent respectively. This will raise an estimates $3.5 million additional revenue.โ€

The Levy was applied to goods coming into Barbados. BUT WHERE DID YOU GET 1% FROM?

HAVE YOU HEARD ABOUT THE PROVISIONAL COLLECTION OF TAXES ACT?

Look!!! The Levy went on first and then the VAT was applied

But the impression is being conveyed by BLP scaremongers from the geriactric brigade that those things which were zero-rated will now carry VAT and that prices will some how skyrocket.

Please come with a different argument.

THERE SHOULD BE NO NOTICEABLE INCREASE IN PRICE/S BASED ON TAXES OR THE RECENT BUDGET.

One many thing called for the 2008 budget where never implement this one of them. If this provisional act was used then why wasn’t it done for the supposed cell phone tax of 2008 as well. Full of holes yes.

Finally The last paragraph shows your complete lack of any understanding of the tax system or the budget. How can the environmental levy if removed and reducing revenue by 42 million and vat increase to 17.5% increasing revenue by 124 million. Or the excise tax raising by 50% . Of course some will be noticeable. If gas has gone to 2.76 a liter ( we were paying 2.75 when oil was over 120 a barrel back in 2008)for 2.44 a litre the day before that a significant increase. Nation daily price increase to 1.25 pinehill has upped there price by 30 cents across the board. you seemingly want to make people believe that life will be the same. it won’t be everything has gone up from today.

50. listen boy!!!

Even if VAT was increased to 24% it will not automatically mean that govenment’ revenue will increase. People will only have so much spending power and are likely to buy less.

The increase is only for 18 months with a one-year review period, meaning that for the next year, people could contain spending. Secondly, those items that were zero-rated still are.

THE ANNOUNCED CELL PHONE TAX WOULD HAVE HAD ADMINISTRATIVE CHALLENGES .

IN CONTRAST, THE ENVIRONMENTAL LEVY WAS DIFFERENT REQUIRING ONLY AN AMENDMENT TO THE EXISTING LEGISLATION OR A VALIDATION ACT BEING PASSED EVEN IF 8 YEARS AFTER.

Tell me: were government to slash the price of diesel by 50%, would prices come down, given the importance of diesel to the Barbados economy?

This money is not going into the DLP’s pocket or personal bank account, it is to close the deficit.

IS THE BLP SO POWER-HUNGRY THAT IT IS WISHING THE ECONOMY FALLS OF A CLIFF SO THAT IT COULD FIND ITS WAY BACK TO THE TROUGH?