Submitted by Bush Tea

The annual debate about the story of Barbados, ‘the little rock that could’ seems to have gained added momentum this year of the forty fourth anniversary. No doubt this is because of the increasingly dire reality of the global economic crisis added to the series of uncharacteristic challenges in the form of flooding, Tomas, and the loss of a loved prime minister, which our country has faced in recent months.

Even in ‘normal’ times, however, the debate about the developmental path that we have taken as a country has been an interesting, challenging and evasive story of stability, success and pride that has been realized very much against all the odds; contrary to established logic; and despite our best efforts to sabotage our success.

Listening to various panels discuss this topic every year at independence time has only served to reinforce the Bush Tea opinion that no one really understands what has happened to us as a country. Clearly, our results are not a reflection of our outstanding productivity and ingenuity. Indeed one wonders how we could be weaker in these areas.  In most of the normal measures, we have been punching way above our weight classification – but how….?

Well the bushman found the answer today.

The National Independence Service was excellent, moving, inspirational  and timely. Any country that would take the trouble to organize an annual National Independence Religious Service with all its leaders – from Governor General, Prime Minister, ministers, business leaders, religious leaders, community leaders, youth leaders and youth groups and to ask for God’s guidance, blessings and protection may indeed be on to something.

The Bushman also recalls the current government starting their term of office with a national ecumenical service at Kensington, and that previous administrations have generally sought the guidance and hand of the almighty in national affairs ….hmmmmm!!

It is written that “Except the Lord builds the house, they labour in vain that build it. Except the Lord keep the City, the watchman waketh – but in vain….” Ps 127,1. That verse certainly would explain the total chaos that we are seeing in the many jurisdictions which are known for their natural reserves, high productivity, great creativity and other assets that should guarantee their financial and other success……but hasn’t.

Does it also explain how a little rock could succeed if the rock leaders have generally sought the guidance of the Lord in their building? Does the Lord indeed keep the rock…?

Congratulations to the organizers.

1. Barbados can stand proud- despite our size- based upon our achievements are a beacon for other countries to emulate especially our African brothers. I have heard time and time again when people ask about successful governing black state Barbados is always first to be mention. It is this comparative advantage we need to nuture and sustain brand Barbados.

On the issue of celestial and the transcendental these in my opinion are nonsense!.This notion only serve misguided people seeking spiritual comfort. Christain societies comes dime a dozen in this world a lot are more pious than us. Why would then the “creator” be kind to us only? The guiness world book of records says that Jamaica has the most church per square mile in the world and look at their lot. Our success are due to our shared sense of values, good leadership and industry.

2. Right on Zion.

3. Yes, we have an admirable record of stability. It has come, however, at a price. The Black majority in Barbados paid, and continues to pay, dearly for the stability that we all enjoy here on this island. As a measure of this sacrifice, ask yourselves if the population was over 90% White or Asian, would Blacks, as a minority, be embraced in the same manner that Whites and Asians are now embraced? So when you, whether Asian, Black or White, reflect upon the stability and quality of life that you enjoy here, spare a thought for the price that Blacks continue to pay for it. Possibly then you would understand why racism and discrimination have no place in Barbados.

4. mash up&buy back Avatar

Other ethnic groups like the indians and chineese and lebanese never go into black majority countries and work hard among the poor and the dispossessed of these countries to build them up.
    They always enter these countries with an eye to sell these said same poor their inferior plastic junk all the while raking in their money whilst pretending to help these poor lil black people out because they are giving them high credit terms.

Would some reasonable and objective fellow barbadian tell me what contribution have the indians,chinese or even syrians made to Barbados?
    Is their contribution the ‘coolie-man’ who introduced in the 50’s 60’s and 70’s to the mindset of bajans the totally foreign concept not saving but entrapping yourself in debt contrary to what they used to do before,ie,save up little by little until you have the money to buy the item cash.
    Instead the coolie man came around and like back in the days of slavery again fooled black people with trinkets and shiny objects and plastic buckets and slippers which were destroyed before the items were paid for.

In essence he introduced the notion of ‘consumer debt’ and how to get in and stay in debt to black bajans who before were known as some of the most thrifty people in the caribbean.
    Now we are told these ethnic groups made a positive contribution to Barbados and we should highlight it and celebrate it.

Steupse.

5. Alias “Bush Tee” can be relied on to comment in his usual vein. Scratch beneath and you find nothing that couldn’t be put together with words cut from one day’s newspaper or from the recording of a Saturday night drunk and there are too many like him.
    What makes for a successful nation is not bible thumping and as Zion alludes, most of the poorest nations are the most religious devout.
    What makes a successful nation is down to the willingness of its people to study and work damn hard, to convert education into productivity and innovation. This has to be a continuous process that has to be pursued without looking back and self-congratulation.
    A constant theme that has been put into other words and was characterised by a Minister in the Barrow government decades ago, stated that every Barbadian could read and write, but weren’t functionally literate.
    Decades later Prime Minister Stuart is essentially saying the same thing.
    Many Barbadians will contrast with Guyana and Jamaica, bad examples – perhaps Jamaicans contrast with Haiti to self-satisfy themselves that they are doing exceptionally well.
    I think it was last year when a regional conference took place in Grenada where the delegates were trying to understand and formulate a strategy for “Development of small island economies” with particular interest in the models of Ireland and Singapore. I never saw the outcome of their deliberations, but one thing I know for sure is that the mindsets and drive of those two states is a planet away from that of Barbados. I have worked with them and in retirement I still collaborate with them in certain projects.
    They study, they produce, they develop and they innovate. Their products and services stand on merit and are renowned world-wide. That’s why large corporations set up research and development centres in Ireland and Singapore, it’s so they can tap the resources of the highly educated and highly motivated talent pool.
    They don’t come recruiting for servants, nurses and farm workers.

6. So the extent of Bush Tea’s thesis is that we are successful because we go to church? Not that we practice Christian ethics, but because we go to church. How simplistic and infantile can one be to argue this? We have been relatively successful because we do not take risks and are small and are mostly literate.

7. Bush Tea is just proving himself to be another joker. The private sector of Barbados is mainly responsible for the economic growth of this country over the years. I think the bushman may have been smoking too much of his own bush.

8. Barbados is a government led economy in our view.

9. David | November 29, 2010 at 10:18 AM |
    Barbados is a government led economy in our view.

I take it you mean that employment in the public sector financed by taxes provides the spending power to keep the economy moving!!

I hope this is not what you mean!!!!

If it is and you are right, you know what is going to happen!!

10. … or is it that borrowing for capital works projects financed by taxes keeps the economy moving.

11. No wonder it is said God is a bajan!

12. @John

It is what ot is, a public sector led economy.

13. Yes, I must concur with Freeman that as with everything in life our achievements come at a very high price. The two most obvious are (1). 85% of our economic base is foreign own- reducing most of us in a precarious position to depend on “the man” for our bread and (2) The over -inflated cost of real estate is threatening to turn a significant segment of the native population into a landless and renter class.

14. Emera Inc. has offered BB$25.70/share for the remaining shares of Light & Power Holdings Ltd. According to the 2009 Annual Report, and assuming no subsequent change, the National Insurance Board owns 3,979,388 shares.

15. @A. Freeman

Are you suggesting the government should dump the family silver?

Based on your numbers about 50 million USD?

16. David, only updating those here on BU – according to the same Report, Sagicor owns 1,322,238 shares.

17. Get ready Bajans. Eff wunna sell L&P wunna shud expect to pay mo fuh lectricity.
    evah one ah wunna google ontario hydro an see how we rates gine tru de roof up hey.
    I hope de winta mild or I gine ha to guh back to drinkin JW red.
    Lectricity bill gine kyar way me single malt money.

Dese Canadians real smart doh.

18. Branford Taitt get a SIR
    To think that people are still aspiring to these foolish titles is really un-inspiring.
    We are going backwards as a people.
    The whole idea of titles is a complete turn-off
    When will people in Bar wake up ?
    Bar beacuse we have lost the (bados)

19. Does anyone pay attention to these titles nowadays?

What is the criteria for selection?

20. Attention: The Minister of Finance, Christopher Sinckler

Your Budget presentation and wrap up session was keenly observed by many. When all hope seemed lost you then addressed the Pierhead Marina saga. This was under the guise of HMBS Pelican base at Spring Garden and the faults with that design and construction. You attempted to link the Pierhead Marina designers Halcrow to the minor construction problems with HMBS Pelican although you know that reports on the issue of liability have repeatedly indicated the problems rest squarely with the contractors and developers JADA CONSTRUCTION LIMITED and or abnormal sea conditions.

This comment has been removed and posted HERE.

21. HAPPY 44TH INDEPENDENCE DAY TA WUNNA-ALL.

Oh lawdddddddd, my PM did look too dappa at de Garsun dis mawnin doe. He tall n slim. jus how i like dah. all ova me still whettt. den i see he pun my tv sennin me ‘happy independence greetins’.
    FREUNDEL STUART, I LOVE YOU BADDDDDDDDDDDD.
    An doan tawk bout he walk. Lawdddd mek peace. He does even walk like a gentleman.
    FREUNDEL STUART, I LOVE YOU BADDDDDDDDDDDD.
    (i would like ta meetya onea dese days)

I tink I see de ‘shortman’ mumblin sumtin pun my tv too. could not decipha. stupseeeeeeeeee.

22. Happy Independence Mrs Peppa

If I don’t see a post from you then I can’t enjoy this blog to the fullest.

Lordie,lordie girl yuh too swoite.

Yuh say de short man was mumblin sumting…..I wonder what dat was huh.

23. Light & Power Holdings Ltd. (LPHL) currently has approximately 17,147,691 outstanding common shares, held by:
    – Emera – approximately 6,592,351 (38%)
    – National Insurance Board – approximately 3,979,388 (23%)
    – Sagicor Group – approximately 1,322,238 (8%)
    – Other – approximately 5,253,714 (31%)

At the current offer of $25.70, the shareholders would receive:
    – National Insurance Board – approximately BB$102,270,272
    – Sagicor Group – approximately BB$33,981,517
    – Other – approximately BB$135,020,450

Emera paid about the same BB$25.70/share to acquire its initial 38% interest. As Emera is seeking control with this current offer, the other shareholders will likely seek a premium on the BB$25.70, assuming they are willing to sell. The LPHL Board will presumably take this into consideration when advising the shareholders.

If the acquisition is successful, Barbadian investors will have available (I assume – investment seeking) cash in excess of BB$250 million. Does the Government have any promising enterprise in which it can make shares available to the public to attract some of this cash?

24. Happy Independence Barbados!

25. HERO WORSHIP IS A BAD THING

IDOLATROUS in the least

26. mash up
    Happy Independence nite to ya swoite self too. LOLLLL. you like a lotta shoiteeeeeee.
    I put my airs close to my tv ta hare wah de ‘short-man’ did mumblin n it soun like he dah sayin:
    ‘mannnn, alll dis dry tawk bout independence, i wood like sumting ta burn de troat. stupseeeeeeeee, it in got ta be white, um could be brong’.
    mash up, I coulda sware dah is wah i hare pun my tv. you mighta hare sumting diffrent pun yours causen my tv is a Sony n yours is a Panasonik. LOLLLLLLLLLLLL
    ya too bad Mash UP. mwahhhhhhhhhhhhhh.

KISSMYA
    Happy Independence Sugary-dropz.
    wuhloss, waloss. ya too touchous n misarebel.

27. Does anyone know whether Neal & Massy Holdings Ltd. will pursue the remaining shares of Barbados Shipping & Trading Company? Neal & Massy currently owns in excess of 97% of the BS&T shares. The likely objective is to acquire the remaining shares and delist from the Barbados Stock Exchange.

This is the course of action planned for ANSA McAL (Barbados) Ltd. if AMCL Holdings Limited is successful in its offer to acquire all of the outstanding shares of ANSA McAL (Barbados) Ltd.

28. Canadian Bajans should consider buying some shares in Emera.
    The stock was $32.33CAD today.
    52-week High 32.66 11/29
    52-week Low 22.98 02/11

Of course due dilligence is recommended so research the Ownership of the company carefully.

29. @ David | November 30, 2010 at 10:07 AM |

Does anyone pay attention to these titles nowadays?

What is the criteria for selection?
    Perhaps, David, “borrowing” without de owners consent and not paying back may be one of the criteria??? 🙂

30. @ Bush Tea

Man, don’t disappoint me. Please, it is time to come in out de bush. I want to hear some rebuttals to dem dere comments above.

@ Hants

You never hear bout buy low and sell high? Who says the gov’t of B’bos is going to sell? Why would locals sell at the offered price? If they get the shares, then it would still be time to buy for a long term investment.

31. @ David | November 29, 2010 at 7:23 PM |

@A. Freeman

Are you suggesting the government should dump the family silver?
    But Dave, isn’t this what wise investors do every day? Buy and sell silver and gold whether it be family owned or otherwise?

32. @de hood

There is some truth in your comment but you should consider the role of government and it interest in maintaining stock in key companies.

33. Ok Dave, have a good night. Like Bonny would tell me its way after 8pm (my bedtime) and she would want to know “wuh I still doin’ up”.
    So ah gorn, yuh hear!

34. @Pat,
    I was suggesting that Bajans living in Canada buy shares in Emera.

Utility companies are long term investments especially when they have a captive market.

35. @ Hants.

Copy, copy. Let me know when it be time to buy.

36. @ Pat
    Man, don’t disappoint me. Please, it is time to come in out de bush. I want to hear some rebuttals to dem dere comments above.
    Why Pat?
    The gist of the relevant comments is that the bushman is an idiot… well duhhh!!!
    ..’besides, the article asked a question – hoping for some wise comment.
    Alas no such wise comment was forthcoming, just the usual ramblings from those whose ontological leaning is clearly interpretivistic.

Oh how Bushie misses contributions from persons like you and the Micro Mock Engineer…..

37. @Pat
    “The Canadian Press – HALIFAX – Emera Inc. (TSX:EMA), the company that owns Nova Scotia’s main electric utility, has invested US$82 million to increase its stake in Grand Bahama Power Company Ltd. The Halifax-based company already had a minority stake in GBPC but will end up with 80.4 per cent indirect interest in the Bahamian utility.”

38. @ Hants

Thanks for that info. I see you still follow BNN. I don’t subscribe to cable, nor satellite or dem dere things. Waste of good money. Right now there is one idiot box in this house and when my son goes, it goes too.

39. @ Bush Tea

Man I miss Micro Mock Engineer too. I am very busy in my old age. No time to do anything. I have two friends one in hospital for the past 6 months and one who got sick recently. I have been running up and down for the two of them. Took one to the hospital for an “echo test” today. I took her in two week ago for bronchitis and they kept her for 8 days. No family here, only daughter in BC. The other one has no family here either, only daughter in Toronto. Both are Bajans.

To add insult to injury, my main man fell on some ice Monday and cut up his face, knocked out a front tooth and now is going through a depression because he has “no smile”. The man is not happy he did not break his neck, arms, legs, or back. He moaning and groaning about a few cuts and scrapes and a broken front tooth. I thank the Creator he lives at he and I live at me. Tummuch misery man.

40. @Pat

Geeze, where is the loyalty man?

41. @ Pat and anyone interested.

http://www.bnn.ca/

42. @ David

I stood by him all day Tuesday and even cooked him dinner. Then after eating I came home. Men complain too much about small stuff. At least he got up and made his way to the hospital where he was treated. My friend went in in June walking and now she is still there flat on he back, legs practically atrophied. Something called “disorientation disorder” or some such thing arising from severe anxiety.

@ Hants

Thanks, I bookmarked it.

43. Micro Mock Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mock Engineer

Wait… BT, I see David has renamed you Bush ‘Tee’ at the top of this blog post.

Innocent slip or intentional ‘BU leak’ insinuating the Bushman’s sporting preference? LOL

Good article by the way… I’m surprised you let Sid Boyce get away so easily… especially his shining example… the Ireland model of development, which is apparently a mindset that is “a planet away from that of Barbados”… lets hope so LOL

44. @MME

Trust you to find a way to put the Bushman under pressure even when it is not of his making…lol.

45. @ David
    Don’t mind MME….
    That was a veiled compliment from MME….. a rare thing for the Bushman, so he had to toss in the ‘Tee’ thing LOL

@ MME
    As the Bushman said to Pat, what is to defend? the poster argued that BT is some kind of idiot…..Whats new!!??
    Also, the Ireland model was noted and ignored.
    Bushie figured it was either a masterful debating trojan horse, or a sign of being way out of one’s depth.
    …..either way it missed the fundamental point of the article.