Submitted by Bajejun

Permit me to use your forum to make and observation about a disturbing trend going on for too long in Barbados, some may even want to say I am venting, so be it.

Pride and Industry, these are words that make up who we are as Barbadians, or Bajans, whatever your preference. I remember the days when we looked forward to November 30, that meant Independence day was here , a day to express what is truly Barbadian or Bajan. The build up to Independence day was nationalistic, businesses would decorate show windows with national colours, some even showcased the pictures of the Governor General and Prime Minister. Local music was the order of the day , showcasing our local talent.

They say we live in a changing world, that statement is not more obvious than here in Barbados, we seem always willing to be followers and never leaders, never willing or able to appreciate what is ours. We hinder our children from using our dialect, making it seem it is something to keep far from,most of us don’t even know how to write it, yet we just visit or live in the United States or Britain for a short time and all of a sudden we can’t stop speaking like them, we can’t sing reggae without wanting to sound like a Jamaican (who by the way changes nothing about their heritage). We know all the American slangs, we write all them, we dress here in the hot sun as though it  was spring in the United States, we copy everything from everyone.

Barbados where is your pride!!

We are a few week away from celebrating 44 years of Independence, yet go to most stores in Barbados and all you see is Christmas advertising, even the radio stations are starting play Christmas songs of Luther Vandross and others, instead of highlighting our coming Independence and showcasing local talent.

Barbados where is your pride !!

July 4 in America is all about Independence , nothing stops them from celebrating that fact. Americans  deck themselves out in their national colours proud for all to see, some of us even get on planes to go celebrate with them.  Sadly Independence day in this country is treated like a footnote, something to come and go quickly so that we can move on to making a buck from the more eagerly anticipated and sacred Christmas Day.

1. Thanks for your submission Bajejun.

Next time click top right to use correct email address :-).

2. Only a few days ago I was discussing dis same ting wid one a my sons. Dis is Novemba, we munt a Independence n de radio stations sneaking in a Christmas tune hay n day. Ludicrous. If we doan promote we own in dis munt especially, who will? Dese dj’s responsible fa dis nonsense shud be shot wid shite. stupseeeeeeee.

3. @ Bonny

eh eh girl chile we got NUFF PRIDE yuh hear,…..FALSE PRIDE! Either we move Independence or Christmas which one?

4. Cuddere sales slow wunna doan kno?

We gine affah big bash fuh de fiftieth to mekup wunna here?

5. I remember a few years ago standing at the National Stadium at a Carifta meeting as the Barbados National Anthem started to play, some people in the crowd started to laugh at me and ask if I’m in the army. Then I was at jazz in the Gymnesium and as Earth Wind and Fire started, they were immediately crowded out by bajans standing in unison and sang the National Anthem; I felt sooo proud to be a bajan. Over the years, that feeling is being lost, too many people who now claim to be barbadian are disrespecting our pledge our anthem and we the true barbadian is going with the flow. Any nation who don’t respect their heritage is a lost nation and we are quickly becoming one.

6. A Bajun using some creativity to edit an existing BTA tourism video.

7. Scout,

I did dey at de Jym when the crowd took on MC Symmonds. He was to blame, not EW&F. You may not know this, but there may be some irony to the incident which was instigated by a couple of fellas in the upstairs back who after having to wait really long for the show to start, past the time by entertaining themselves with a couple bottles of jin …! No Sir they weren’t members of the armed forces, just plain ol’ drunk … lol

Americans shed blood for their freedom, we still pledge allegiance to a Queen and bestow the highest honors on those who succeed best at exploiting us as Bajan consumers. Our leaders are comfortable with selling us to the rest of the world as an open economy which to the ordinarily intelligent should mean a people that openly depends on imports with very little to offer in return but service and real Estate. Independence is a farcical concept and I agree with the open admission by our radio stations that the day really does NOT deserve the hype that some of you are promoting …

8. gin

9. @BAFBFP……………Except for the Americans shedding blood….I don’t see how anyone can dispute the rest of your para….That statement is truer than John 3:16….true, true,true. Barbados is nothing more than a pimpers’ paradise and most Bajuns are just ripe for the pimping.

10. Hopi yah sexy t’ing yah …!

11. Dah Vidia ain’ saying a pang … Wait, the onliest people dat does come hay on vacation is White people?

12. @BAFBFP
    Yuh ain’t gettin non tonite. I gunna brek dem legss!Yuh fresh !

13. ac yah sexy t’ing yah …!

14. @BAFBFP
    Yuh ring nec vagabond! Yuh fuhgiven! Now come to bed!

15. Your comments concerning PRIDE AND INDUSTRY are quite interesting and thought provoking. I think we should examine our NATIONAL ANTHEM where it says “these fields and hills are now our very own.” How true is this when most of the land and resources continue to be controlled by the privileged few, and the vast majority are still renters, squatters, and captive consumers? If we have been parroting a false idea all along, can this self-delusion lead us to that place of PRIDE and self-esteem that is so much desired?

16. I just visited Ras Jahaziel website and it is brilliant. The Art is impressive and the website delivery is top notch.

The following story which appeared in todays Nation newspaper sums it up. The future is our youth!

Lashes!

From left, UDC’s Derek Alleyne, Minister Stephen Lashley, NYF’s advisor Dr Ivan Lashley and NYF’s Marianna Brancker. (Sandy Pitt)

By ANESTA HENRY | Sun, November 21, 2010 – 12:08 AM

OFFICERS in the Ministry of Youth are being warned to shape up or ship out.

This message came from Minister of Youth, Family and Sports Stephen Lashley as he spoke to a roomful of mostly empty chairs at a Symposium On Crime And Violence organised by the National Youth Forum, which was held at the Barbados Workers’ Union’s Solidarity House yesterday.

The minister vented his anger regarding the extremely poor turnout at the event by the public, especially the youth.

“It is a public warning I am sending to the officers in the Ministry of Youth: get on board. You are not being paid to sit at a desk or pursue your own policies and agenda. Get on board with the policies of this Government.

“And I am very serious. I intend to do something about it. I intend to ensure that if there are systems in the ministry that are not workingto change [them]. It is as simple as that.

“I didn’t want to say this publicly but I have to because I have been entrusted [with] the responsibility of youth affairs in this country and I intend to ensure that the policies of this Government are carried out.

“Those who are currently in the Ministry of Youth Affairs who don’t intend to step up to the plate and work, I encourage you to find somewhere else to go.

The media can carry it; they can carry it fully in its full context,” said Lashley.

Meanwhile, Dr Ivan Henry, adviser to the forum, told Minister Lashley that he was disappointed at the poor turnout. He noted that he had worked the members of the forum “hard” in preparation for the event and that the forum had sent out invitations to “every single young person who has shown an interest in the National Youth Forum since July 4”.

“I suspect it is because the date was postponed from October 30 to November 20. I personally drafted a letter . . . to the 21 secondary schools in the island to send people here.

“We have also asked through the permanent secretary to ask every single youth commissioner, 32 of them, to bring ten people from their communities to this function. I need to ask where those people are. I know the youth . . . . they are professional people; I need to know what has gone wrong.”

Minister of Foreign Affairs and Foreign Trade Senator Maxine McClean also expressed her disappointment with the poorly attended event.

She said that “the minister and eventually Cabinet will be criticised for failing to deliver”.

“The minister does not invite, the minister does not coordinate participation, and the minister relies on not only volunteers but paid officials to deliver,” said McClean.

18. I think the minister should have found out why people didn’t come before blaming the officers of ministry of youth

19. So what is new ,Bajejun? These things have been with us long before Independance.
    But Christmas in only one day. We should be proud and patriotic Barbadians 365 days a year,not just in November or a few days before the 30th.
    But isn’t this part of our culture? Forget about our old folk until his/her 100th birthday comes around, when the GG and the Press are in attendance.
    We pay lip service to our National Anthem. Last week I was in the vicinity of the QEH Sports ground, a cricket match was soon about to start. People on their way to QEH dropped their garbage on the field. A man went on the ground and began to pick up the rubbish,and from the looks of him, he may not be one that has any claim to ” these fields and hills beyond recall .”

20. @ islandgal246 November 20, 2010 at 4:35 PM |

@ Bonny

eh eh girl chile we got NUFF PRIDE yuh hear,…..FALSE PRIDE! Either we move Independence or Christmas which one?
    Yuh like yuh readin’ mih mind, Islandgal. Ah see Bonny like she playin’ she dissing she ol Bruno. Wait till ah ready fuh she!

21. @De Hood

Hoodie yuh very quiet lately, wha happen? Bonny like she occupied wid tings. She was puttin on a dance, Bonny how de dance come off? I was dere wid a long red satin skirt and a sexy black top. Yuh see me?

22. @ David | November 21, 2010 at 5:08 PM |

“OFFICERS in the Ministry of Youth are being warned to shape up or ship out.”

The youth had better things to do it seems. They need to check out Farley Hill to see if there was a show going on. Perhaps they needed to change the venue.
    Sending out invitations does not mean that the invitations will be accepted. Did they have a RSVP on the invitation? If it did. do they know what RSVP means? LICKS GINE SHARE NOW.

23. @Nationalist
    So what are you saying?
    Should we continue to accept things the way they are?
    That kind of thinking is what got us here in the first place.
    To many of us are willing to just accept, we’ve become the doormat for too many things. We talk a lot but do very little.

24. For people who are planning an important event it is not unusual for the planners to call invites to canvass responses/non responses. This is done to avoid embarrassment which happened in this case as well as to ensure money is not wasted in catering etc.

25. @ bajejun | November 22, 2010 at 1:02 AM |
    “To many of us are willing to just accept, we’ve become the doormat for too many things. We talk a lot but do very little.”

Exactly!

26. It is interesting that they are having this same discussion in the USA i.e. shops are being chided by some for Christmas advertising before Thanksgiving. Some shops have started to differentiate themsleves by going back to the traditional.

27. @ islandgal246 November 21, 2010 at 11:06 PM |

@De Hood

Hoodie yuh very quiet lately, wha happen?
    Hun, it’s very informative what one can learn when one is “quiet” on the side. Or, perhaps, sometimes like de Trini say “yuh is got ta play ded ta catch corbeau live”! 🙂
    Anyhow, ah hopin’ fuh de Good Lord ta have mercy on we this evening becausin de politicians surely ain’t gine gih we none!

28. I guess Mr lashley knew something that the general public don’t know, but from the outside looking in, I can’t blame the officers for the youth not attending. Successive governments have fed the youth with entertainment to get them to come out in numbers, therefore it would take some time for the youth to readjust to this new method I think is the right way. I hope Mr Lashley can work with the officers and find a way to generate interest among the youth other than just through entertainment.

29. It is disgusting Admiral on CBC 94.4 is being allowed to play foreign music during Independence month.

It is also equally discussing reggae was heard at the Barbados Wine and Food Festival last weekend.

Where is our pride and industry.

30. Last time I checked Americans do not start celebrating Independence from June 4th! Why do we need to celebrate so? A whole month to celebrate independence? I could understand month-long celebrations for a 25th or 50th anniversary. But every year?
    And who was the scholar that decided on 30th November (smack dab in the most celebrated season in Christendom) as our independence day? Things tight, the economy needs a boost and merchants need more than 3 weeks for their most important and lucrative year-end promotions.
    I find it farcical that we try to avoid even mentioning the word ‘christmas’ before Dec1st – then all hell breaks loose. What’s wrong with Christmas music at this time of November, especially Bajan Christmas music? Get a life. Christmas was here before ‘Independence’. Wasn’t there a Christmas in 1964, where was independence then? LOL

31. Puddin but no souse Avatar
    Puddin but no souse

@ David It is disgusting Admiral on CBC 94.4 is being allowed to play foreign music during Independence month.

Your right taht’s disgusting playing foreign music in this month. they shud stop it but may be thats what advertizers want and who, the adevertizers I ask

32. islandgal , de hood
    Bonny hay gettin ova sumting. eitha dengue or de flu but all de joints hurtin like crazy and de back feel like sumbody hit ma wid a piece a 2×3. Lawdddddddd, I feel like ef a dog piss pun ma.
    i gine ta de doc now fa hare wah is de problem.

33. Hope you feel better BP!

34. @Bonny

Oh lawdddd, Bonny, I am soo sorry to hear that you sick. Ah here up in Florida and driving to SC for thanksgiving, we halfway there. I gine be thinking bout you and sending positive vibrations your way. Take care my friend and jokes partner.

35. JC, islandgal
    de ol dog hay feelin lil betta today. de jints in sa stiff so I tekkin a peek at BU ta get ma daily dose a laffs. de doc tell ma dat um is de flu but ya kno dat de doc does got ta tell ya sumting befo he tek ya money? LOLLLLL

islandgal
    enjoy fa two chile. i doan envy you a’tall causen me n de col’ doan add up a’tall bosey. still i doan like um too hot. doan eat all de turkey. save sum fa ma. A friend of mine is leaving Tampa to go to NY to spend Tanksgivin wid her mum too. She’s an aspiring lawyer up day in Florida. Also de hubby. Dat is a big day in de US girl. enjoy ya self wid de famblee.