Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner

Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner has been successful in her bid for the Vice Presidency of the Inter American Commission of Women (CIM). She was elected at the 35th Assembly of Delegates held November 3-5 in Mexico City. The election was conducted on the day of the state funeral of former Prime Minister David Thompson, and prior to her arrival in Mexico  Senator Sandiford-Garner won her position by acclamation.

Senator Garner’s candidacy had been endorsed by all the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) members, and during an engagement in  Washington DC in October, the opportunity was taken to visit  Ambassadors of other OAS member-states in an effort to secure their support for Barbados’ election to the body. She received 18 0f the 34 country votes.

Barbados will serve on the executive committee of this influential hemispheric institution for the next two years and Senator Sandiford-Garner will join a team which comprises delegates from  Mexico(President), Argentina,  Brazil, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama, Paraguay, and Trinidad and Tobago. The Senator has been Barbados’ Principal Delegate to the CIM since November 2008.

The CIM is a permanent specialised organisation of the Organisation of American States (OAS) and is the principal forum for generating hemispheric policy to advance women’s rights and gender equality. It is made up of 34 Principal Delegates , one from each member state of the OAS. The Assembly of Delegates, which is held every three years is its highest authority.

CIM provides support and recognition to national women’s movements through its influential role within the OAS and helps to foster inter-American co-operation. Barbados last held an executive position on this 82-year-old body in 1992 when the then Principal Delegate, Mrs. Maizie Barker-Welch was President, after elevation from the Vice-Presidency in the previous term.

The immediate past- President of the CIM was the United States delegate Ms. Wanda Jones. Through this posting Senator Sandiford-Garner will be able to contribute to the development of policies that affect and address gender issues in the hemisphere and add a Caribbean perspective to these issues. Her election will also retain Barbados’ presence on the executive of regional and international influential  institutions and bring significant benefits to the island in terms of formulating its social development programmes.

1. Now how you know that the lady is who she say she is ….? You don’ think that a true woman/politician would have better things to do this Sunday than reading all this tripe …?

2. @BAFBFP,
    You tink dat de docters lawyers, business owners an intelligent agents on dis blog does only rite tripe?

Dis blog is de defacto an infacto centre of de Barbados infomation and dissemination universe.

Now go an cook some more chowmein.

3. @@BAFBFP,
    True women and men can walk and chew gum at the same time.

4. My girl just up and walk out de front door …. She probably decide she reading dis tripe too …. I hope she know that its is time she buy she own computer ….!

5. Politics
    You seem to be a real ol time gentleman. But you would agree with me that there is a break down in morality in the society today and it starts in the home. I am a working mother of grown sons now but when they were growing up and we were out working they knew that it was not possible for me to be at home to care for them they way I would like because of the financial constraints. They turned out ok. Because even though you cannot always be a stay at home mom, discipline is the key that has to be instilled from an early age and this is very lacking in today’s world. My boys knew from very early how far to go with me. Their dad was an easy walk over where discipline was concerned so I had the dual role of disciplining and I had no problem with that at all. I never spared the rod. Their botsy was mine when they fell by de way-side.
    I don’t think that materialism has a lot to do with women becoming independent and striving for success. Some men are way more materialistic that women, especially when it comes to their car.
    Off topic: What do you think of stay at home dads?
    Here’s my take on that; as long as you’re strong n able-bodies, get up offa ya ass n wuk.

I tawt dat i was BU matriarch? stupseeeeeeee, you does get me rale sick, hare? LOLLLLLLLL

Senator Irene
    Welcome N Congrats.
    You are a very down to earth individual. I admire you. I am a granny now but when/if I ever get a daughter, I want her to be just like you. LOLL
    Bonny is very naughty at times so please by-pass my posts. LOLL

6. BAF
    Ah gladdddddddd. She got she laptop in she bag.
    Anudda ting politicians does got leisure/pleasure time too. Dis may be one a she moments.
    ya crinimal.

7. @Bonny Peppa,
    YOU, seem to be a REAL OL TIME LADY.

I am all for the discipline you mentioned above. And, yes, there is a break-down in morality in the society today which has its roots in the home.

Clearly in your case you could not have stayed home. You had no choice. It is good to hear that your children turned out all right. I suspect that “balanced and loving discipline” had a part to play in your success (I mentioned balanced and loving discipline less I be accused of supporting juvenile brutality)

STAY HOME DADS – Modern invention. Not meant to be. However, there may be exceptions to this where circumstances dictate that a man may have to stay at home.
    However, generally speaking, this is an example of mixed-up roles. The man was made to “take the reins”. Dysfunction is the result when a man surrenders his role.

8. @politics
    “I suspect that is why our families (in particular the middle-class) are so weak.
    Yes, we now have the “toys” and “things” that our forebears could not even dream of, but we don’t have “families”

Well start throwing out yuh toys den, start wid de computer!

So what is the state of the lower income families where there is no father figure ? What about the upper classe? Dem can afford to let their wives stay home so dem got betta families?

9. @Bonny Peppa,
    I am not an ol time gentleman; like you, I was born in 2000

10. @Island Girl,
    I can’t through out my computer; for unlike yours, my computer is functional. I earn my keep by it.

Precisely my point, concerning the upper income families, don’t you see the results? Mass divorces!
    Island Girl, do you fit into this group?

11. Are there any PERFECT FAMILIES? Mine wasn’t.

I got divorced when my daughter was 4 yrs old. Her dad was selective when he wanted her when it was convenient for him. That didn’t bother me at all I would encourage him to come and get her and take her to ballet, swimming and spend quality time with her. He backed out many times. And when he wanted to spend time with his new wife he would let her know that. Yet his only thing in life was to convert her to his religion.

She went away on a scholarship at 17 years. He supported her sporadically by sending little pocket change when I got vex and old him off. I was cussed for sending her away to school because I didn’t consult him. He didn’t have to pay one red cent towards her education. When she went on to do her Masters degree he said that she did not consult him so he will not supporting her with the little bds $400.00 a month that he used to give me for her support and that he even took me to court to reduce it and failed .

She has completed her Masters and is back home working. She is a beautiful level headed well mannered young woman. When she was at university in the USA I would get soo many compliments about her manners and her attitude. She knew that I loved her, had confidence in her and would support her through good times and bad. A parent’s duty is prepare their children to be good moral citizens and independent thinkers.

Many fathers have failed their offspring yet it is mothers who had to sacrifice, work hard and put their own lives on hold to raise their children. Woman strong, could tek more stress dan man, cud bear more pain dan man and cud survive widouta man. An somma wunna feel dat she ain capable to lead?

12. DIVORCE DOES NOT MEAN FAILURE
    LOOK AT IT AS LIBERATION!

13. islandgal246 hush do ….!

14. @BAFBFP

LOLLLLL….. yuh fighten?……….doan be …….ah dun tawkin

15. Politics
    I beginnin ta get a ‘feelin’ fa you ya. ya too swoite. Jus now sumbody gun tell me dat i wutliss causen i in luv wid all de BU menz. such is life. as Sparraw sa, ‘de moe de merriah’.
    I was born Feb.31st 2000. A Wensdee ta be xack.

islandgal
    me n you is two thorofares but we raze we chil’ren rale good nah? blessins to de two a we. n we do um almos singlehanded. kudos ta de two BU thorofares dat raze good, productiv chil’ren.
    doan mind BAF. he is a gallas-bate. he like bare ‘noise’. LOLL
    girl if divorce mean failure, well i fail bout 5 times n lookin at failure #6 as we speak. murtherrrrrrrrrrrr.

16. Bonny P

Squeak squeak …. dah ain’ noise too ….?

17. Nuff respect Islandgal246 and daughter.

@Politics, you are doing very well for a 10 year old.

18. @Bonny
    Thanks and Kudos to you too.

Thanks

I have no regrets and would do it all over again! Ah now tinking bout getting dat degree now.

19. @Haunts,
    Thanks, I knew you would have come around to my wisdom. Doesn’t the Bible say: “A little child shall lead them?”

Island Girl
    Good to know that you have pulled through despite the odds. You, however, are carrying some serious baggage and need to let go.

If you are implying above that men don’t support their children (based on your side of the story with your ex.); please take note and come again: There are many, many men out there who love and support their children (even divorced men through Child Maintenance).

The reason why Child Support turns ugly is because of the father’s perceived response from the mother.

Both parents turn bitter against each other with the child being used as a weapon, and, unfortunately, being burnt and held to ransom.

20. @Politics
    Question But why should a woman have to take a man to court for child support.?

21. @Island Girl
    “Divorce does not mean failure; look at it as liberation” (Your quote).

Divorce is ugly and should never be, but we live in a cruel world where fair play and honesty are wanting and scarce.

Are you sure, though, that your quote is correct? Is your hypothesis a remedy in helping to build a stronger relationship?

22. @ islangal246
    Agree totally!
    BU blogsters love to make generalisations; and emotive rather than factual, common sense statements. It is 2010, and people are here insinuating that women are weak and only good for child bearing and rearing and home economics. SMDH

23. @Politics

Like you turn bush counselor. The only baggage I got is the two suit cases I am packing for my trip next week. LOLLLL

Mistakes happen in life, we own them and do something about them. Liberte, egalite, fraternite

24. Politics wrote @Haunts,
    Thanks, I knew you would have come around to my wisdom. Doesn’t the Bible say: “A little child shall lead them?”

Don’t see any wisdom or leadership. Just thought you were really born in 2000 given that I seem to be HAuNTSing you.

25. @Island Girl
    I agree. A woman should never have to take a man to court for supporting his child, but there is no one-fit answer to this question.

Sometimes the father is delinquent; sometimes he is intentionally delinquent; to get back at the mother.
    There is also the case where the mother uses child support as means of milking a perceived cash cow.

26. @Haunts,
    At least I got some credit.

27. @Politics .
    Man you are true defender for the indefensible. Two people have a child together and one refusesto to show any kind of responsibilty financially or otherwise and you pleading selfdefense on the mans part for relinquishing his responsibilty to the child because of something that might have happen between him and the mother, Who do you think the court going to favour ? Another one of your cockamame excuses !

28. @Island Girl
    Your comments are one -sided.

29. @Politics “There is good and bad in life. Divorce can be liberating for some and traumatic for others.

In the old days women and even men stayed in violent abusive relationships.

It is better for children to be raised by a good single parent than in a loveless abusive relationship.

30. Hants said “In the old days women and even men stayed in violent abusive relationships.”

my mother stayed in an abusive violent marriage for 25 years, my father was a professional who ordered my mother not to work. He was an alcoholic, a womanizer and a wife beater. She was saddled with 8 children. Yes she had maids, she had all the latest gadgets and lived in nice homes. Many felt that she had it all and why was she complaining. How I wished that she would have left earlier. But where would she have gone with 8 children? She had no skills to get a job and at that time men saw divorced women as easy pickings. She finally divorced him after 25 years and he refused to support her after that. I loved my dad but there was a dark side of him that I hated.

I made a vow that I will never become a victim or make myself a martyr. I saw the same ignorant traits of control through verbal abuse in my first marriage. There was no alcohol but his religion was used to attempt to make me submit. I saw myself becoming like my mother and I got scared. I was making plans on leaving, he knew and when my will could not be broken he left. That was the best thing that ever happened to me. He did try to hit me and got a rock stone in his head LOLLLL My life only got better. Yes we have to mourn the loss of a partner but that is necessary to heal and move on. We are all scarred to some extent by our experiences, some of us more than others but we must move on.

And I quote Hants…..”It is better for children to be raised by a good single parent than in a loveless abusive relationship.”

31. @Haunts,
    I agree with your sentiments.

However, stats show that divorce is USUALLY ugly; especially for the children.

I believe that it is better sometimes not to marry. Of course this is based on hindsight.

32. Divorce allows you to leave one set of trouble and glide into another set. It leaves life-long scars. But, it is better to divorce than to stay in a sexually abusive relationship.

With respect to a physically abusive relationship, I think separation is the better choice.

33. @Politics
    “But, it is better to divorce than to stay in a sexually abusive relationship.
    With respect to a physically abusive relationship, I think separation is the better choice.”

OH MY GOD! I can’t believe that someone would state the above.

You are way out on a limb…you really do not understand physical abuse can be sexual abuse. There is no difference between them, it is all physical. I am astonished to hear this from a man. Your comprehension of physical abuse has left me in shock. Mental abuse is another serious matter. It is very obvious that this is way beyond your imagination and comprehension.

34. @Island Girl,

There are different forms of sexual abuse.

35. @Politics

So you are saying it is better to separate than divorce a spouse who has beaten their partner to pulp, maim them for life and nearly killed them to remain married to them? That says everything about you as a human being. It is clearly why people with your beliefs are usually the perpetrators of of domestic abuse.

You also said “Divorce allows you to leave one set of trouble and glide into another set.” Which planet are you on? What kind of troubles?

Marriage should never be a life sentence for those who have gone into it and have suffered abuse. Whether they live together as common law or have a piece of paper, I consider it still a union.

36. Politics
    My dawlinks, a rose by any other name is still a rose. The same goes for ‘abuse’. Be it mental, physical,spousal.
    (I whun mind spousal-abusing you doe) we cud alwayz kiss n mek up. Game?
    You tink it is betta sumtimes not ta marrid? well lemma tell ya sumting, i in want na lotta long courtin from you so mek up in ya mind dat afta two munts a me n you courtin, de weddin gun be de nex munt. fair or foul/fowl. so start pickin out de rings. i want tree rings ta poze wid too pun my finga.

islandgal
    i believe strongly in divorce girl. i doan believe in lickin a dead horse. sum tings just weren’t ment ta be. Marriage is one a dem. i also believe dat love dies, if it evva was love a’tall.

37. Whether it’s physical, sexual or mental, anyone who does this to another is committing a crime against humanity and self.

38. @A Bewildered Bajan | November 13, 2010 at 4:05 PM |

“I wish her the best of luck in St. Andrew. One thing the rural constituencies haven’t done, is to abandon the party that fights every fight for them. The Barbados Labour Party. I wonder why in the Baywoods/Orange Hill area, she was trounced 722-126 in the last election. It is that area that will ensure George Payne is re-elected for a 5th term!”

Sen. Sandiford-Garner:-
    “I contested the General Election of 2008 as a neophyte; a political novice, and brought a three-term sitting member of parliament from winning by a margin of 1,390 votes in 2003 to winning by a space of 43 votes. ”

1390 – 43 = 1347 (Less for George Payne)
    722 – 126 = 596 (Difference in Baywoods/Orange Hill)

The task for the next election is lighter than in 2008.

39. Congratulations Irene you are a striking beauty with some brains. My wish for you is to send that short jackass George’ Barrack’ Payne packing.

Payne and Barrack are brothers I say. No two vertically challenged men could look so anal in hats and not be related.

You will have backing of Mia Labourites for the backstabbing he and Owen cowardly did to Mia.

40. Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner described in a word:-

MILF

41. 1) Cabinet Minister when Barrack got contract? George Payne
    Legal Counsel for Barrack at the time? Ask George Payne if he wasn’t.
    Conflict of interest? If it wasn’t, then the interest ($) is now a conflict.
    Note that he cannot say a word in Parliament when this matter come up.
    2) Minister in charge of BWA at one time? George Payne
    Legal firm responsible for BWA’s business? Dowell’s
    Chambers.
    Chief cook and pot-washer at Dowell’s Chambers? George
    Payne (in association with Dale Marshall).
    Conflict of interest? You decide.