Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner

Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner has been successful in her bid for the Vice Presidency of the Inter American Commission of Women (CIM). She was elected at the 35th Assembly of Delegates held November 3-5 in Mexico City. The election was conducted on the day of the state funeral of former Prime Minister David Thompson, and prior to her arrival in Mexico  Senator Sandiford-Garner won her position by acclamation.

Senator Garner’s candidacy had been endorsed by all the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) members, and during an engagement in  Washington DC in October, the opportunity was taken to visit  Ambassadors of other OAS member-states in an effort to secure their support for Barbados’ election to the body. She received 18 0f the 34 country votes.

Barbados will serve on the executive committee of this influential hemispheric institution for the next two years and Senator Sandiford-Garner will join a team which comprises delegates from  Mexico(President), Argentina,  Brazil, Costa Rica, Guatemala, Panama, Paraguay, and Trinidad and Tobago. The Senator has been Barbados’ Principal Delegate to the CIM since November 2008.

The CIM is a permanent specialised organisation of the Organisation of American States (OAS) and is the principal forum for generating hemispheric policy to advance women’s rights and gender equality. It is made up of 34 Principal Delegates , one from each member state of the OAS. The Assembly of Delegates, which is held every three years is its highest authority.

CIM provides support and recognition to national women’s movements through its influential role within the OAS and helps to foster inter-American co-operation. Barbados last held an executive position on this 82-year-old body in 1992 when the then Principal Delegate, Mrs. Maizie Barker-Welch was President, after elevation from the Vice-Presidency in the previous term.

The immediate past- President of the CIM was the United States delegate Ms. Wanda Jones. Through this posting Senator Sandiford-Garner will be able to contribute to the development of policies that affect and address gender issues in the hemisphere and add a Caribbean perspective to these issues. Her election will also retain Barbados’ presence on the executive of regional and international influential  institutions and bring significant benefits to the island in terms of formulating its social development programmes.

1. On behalf of BU we extend congratulations to the Senator. There was a time we had Dame Nita Barrow and Dame Billie Miller who represented women on the world stage with honour and dignity. We hope Senator Sandiford-Garner will carry on the rich tradition.

2. On behalf of…

The Sunday Sun of November 7th 2010 headlined DLP LIST has named me, Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner, among others, as an individual whom it is speculated will “…next carry the torch for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in a St. John by-election

2010-11-11

Dear Sir/Madam,

It has been drawn to my attention that a story printed in the Sunday Sun of November 7th 2010 headlined DLP LIST has named me, Senator Irene Sandiford-Garner, among others,  as an individual whom it is speculated will  “…next carry the torch for the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) in a St. John by-election constitutionally due by January 20.”

I am humbled that persons would view me as a suitable candidate to replace representative par excellence and political leader extraordinaire, the late and much- beloved Prime Minister, the Honourable David John Howard Thompson.

The fact that the former Prime Minister was responsible for my entry into elective politics has been documented.  In my recent tribute to him in the Upper House I stated the following: “…I eventually joined the team, not because of any preconceived notions of increased social mobility.  After all, my political fortunes were seen as tenuous at best at that time! …But I sensed in him a commitment to social justice, sincerity and a real desire to SERVE, and as a leader I could trust to keep his word to his people. That was important to me. I had reached the point in my life of self actualisation, and if indeed I had to take the political step to give back to Barbados I could have chosen no better person to hold my hand during those first steps.  After the 2008 elections…I told him I want to win my seat and I want nothing to mitigate against my doing so…”.

The seat of which I spoke was and is the seat in the Constituency of St. Andrew. I contested the General Election of 2008 as a neophyte; a political novice, and brought a three-term sitting member of parliament from winning by a margin of 1,390 votes in 2003 to winning by a space of 43 votes.  St. Andrew is the parish I grew up in; the birthplace of all four of my late grandparents; the birthplace and home of my mother and father, aunts and uncles, cousins, school mates, and countless new friends. The home of my heart.

I am sure nothing would please members of the Opposition more than to see me leave the constituency of St. Andrew for what is viewed as a “safe” DLP seat in St. John.

Those who know me well also know I have never run from a fight.  I cannot, and will not, after one try, abandon those people who continue to have confidence in me.

The people of St. Andrew deserve to have a representative who believes in the ideals of SERVICE which the late Prime Minister espoused; they deserve someone who would wish to give the dedication that he was able to give.  I will not abandon my fight to bring change to St. Andrew, and God willing, the Democratic Labour Party (DLP) will ensure that I am enabled.

The people of St. John have been continually blessed with purpose driven leaders. I trust they will gain another.  As for me, I stand ready to fulfil the promise my late leader saw in me by bringing home St. Andrew for Team DLP.

Sincerely,
    Senator  Irene Sandiford-Garner

3. Many congratulations on your appointment, keep on a straight line – difficult for “some” politicians – and you will achieve very high office indeed.

Yardbroom

4. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

Clearly a contrived political ploy to boost her fortunes in St.Andrew. Anybody who is a keen follower of the local political scene, and is not gullible, or have their brains permeated with naivety would know that Irene Sandiford will run NOWHERE ELSE but in St.Andrew whenever the next general elections are called.

If ever I have seen a clear case of a false simple-minded scenario being set, then to be knocked down by the same people setting it up for deceptive political purposes, THIS IS IT!
    By the way Irene, congratulations on your successful candidature for Vice-Presidency of Inter American Commission of Women. I must confess I know very little of this organisation, but I will research and see what is its mission.

5. A Bewildered Bajan Avatar
    A Bewildered Bajan

I wish her the best of luck in St. Andrew. One thing the rural constituencies haven’t done, is to abandon the party that fights every fight for them. The Barbados Labour Party. I wonder why in the Baywoods/Orange Hill area, she was trounced 722-126 in the last election. It is that area that will ensure George Payne is re-elected for a 5th term!

6. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anonymous Numero Uno

“By the way Irene, congratulations on your successful candidature for Vice-Presidency of Inter American Commission of Women.”

That means a lot coming from someone such as you, who is an ardent Barbados Labour Party supporter. We all know that women are not thought much of in the Barbados Labour Party.

A long roll of foolishness then a left handed compliment. Almost as an after thought. The women of Barbados will not forget the Barbados Labour Party at the next general election.

I feel sorry for you Barbados Labour Party crooks.

7. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

A Bewildered Bajan

“that area that will ensure George Payne is re-elected for a 5th term!”

Don’t fool yourself, now that we know the low level he is capable of stooping to, we will be watching developments in that constituency with an Eagle eye. We will not allow him to get away with any hanky panky.

The Barbados Labour Party is one dishonest party. Especially with Ali Baba back in control, the forty thieves are now regrouping.

8. Congratualtion Ms. Sandiford!

And a very noble gesture!

9. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

Hi Carson,

oooooooh!!!!! And BU’s David said that BLP People are the sensitive ones!!!
    Ha Ha Ha HaHA !!!!

And……… regarding the treatment of women in politics, it was in the BLP that women saw real fulfilment of their potential whether it was as Parliamentary representatives with trail blazers like Ermie Bourne M.P. in St Andrew, Dame Billie Miller holding Ministerial responsibility in Cabinet, and don’t forget the Sir Henry deB Forde era during which he was renowned for being the champion of womens’ rights in Barbados.

We also recognised and honoured the supreme excellence of Dame Nita Barrow. But what did we see on the other side as it related to treatment of women in Government?

You remember the contemptuous treatment that Right Excellent Errol Barrow handed out to Gertz Eastmond, telling her to know her place? You remeber how long the deserving Maizie Welch languished in the doldrums for years and years and was only thought capable of managing some junior Parliamentary Secretary position. Need I go on?

The DLP are johnny-come-latelys in these matters.

But tell me Carson. You truly expect that Irene would be given the slightest bit of consideration for St.John?

Look, we Barbadians may be pretty robust with our local politics, but when it comes to showing a united front on the international stage, we get serious about that. I am not giving Irene any left-handed compliment; I am truly happy for her in that regard.

10. @ Carson Cadogan
    ‘The women of Barbados will not forget the Barbados Labour Party at the next general election.’
    FACTS
    BLP & Women
    Last Cabinet: 5 (4 ministers including the Deputy PM and 1 Minister of State)
    Government Senators: 2
    Candidates 2008: 4
    Current Senators: 1
    Governor – Central Bank
    Consul General, New York
    Director NISE
    CEO Invest B’dos
    Director NCSA
    Director National HIV Commission
    CEO Fair Trading Commission
    Director International Business
    Managing Director BNTCL

DLP & Women
    Opposition Senators before 2008 elections: 0
    Candidates 2008: 4
    Cabinet: 3 (2 ministers and 1 Parliamentary Secretary)
    Government Senators: 3
    Advisor on Poverty
    GM Transport Board
    GM (ag) NHC
    Head of Embassy in Cuba

Finally, before trying to portray the DLP as champions of womens’ rights, over 85% of the persons dismissed since Jan 2008 are WOMEN. Do you think those women and their families will forget the DLP in the next general election?

11. @AnonymousUno

Really who are you trying to fool . After the way you have shown total disrepect for the woman on BU . Your compliment should be taken with a grain of salt . You are a chip of the same block as Owen. He too did congratulate Mia when she got the leadership and you can verify the results. .

12. To Numero Uno . Let me remind you of a better scenario , only thing is it has not yet been knocked down by those who set it up. The scandalous attempt to revamp and reshape the image of one Clyde Mascoll , by having him pretend to show the courage , conviction and commitment of the late Wendel Mc clean in the last rate hearings. Just so they know , we right thinking bajans view this in the same light as a man begging the blessings of the family, in his quest to date the sister of the wife whom he just divorced. It will not happen.

13. Congratulations to Mrs. Irene Sandiford-Garner . May your next successful election be to the halls of parliament , so that you can start to make the type of contribution that we know you are capable of.

14. Congratulations.
    Will this take her out of Barbados for the two years. I hope so.
    I hate to hear DLP stooges carrying on about how the BLP has no respect for women.
    People check your facts.
    It was only in the last election that the DLP ran three women. They have always only had a token woman, eg: Carmeta, Gertz, Maisie and the lady who ran in St Peter.

Do you remember how they treated the late Antoinette Thompson and Marilyn Rice Bowen twice or three times? Their treatment of Antoinette hasten her to an early death.

Look how they have move about Mrs Byer-Sukoo? Was this respectful or is she out of her league?
    Just curious!

15. Will this new appointment help Barbados to earn foreign exchange, or will it result in further spending of such a scarce commodity…?

16. Regularly, the bushman gives thanks to BBE that he is not a political yardfowl of the bajan variety…… it seems that common sense and political yardfowlism are mutually exclusive attributes.

Now what has the number of women in political positions to do with respect for women?
    ….indeed, the Bushman, out of the boundless respect and love for the women that matter in my life, would do ALL POSSIBLE to protect them from the nastiness and deceit that political leadership presently represents.

That sort of nastiness, like war, sanitation and rum shop liming, is the responsibility of men.

…..so Bushie is completely befuddled by big people arguing and measuring ‘respect for women’ in terms of exposing them to the nasty battlefield of political life in Barbados. ……some respect.

Respect for women can be better measured in terms of :
    > developing a caring, safe, crime free society
    > developing high quality social care networks for the genuinely needy
    > promoting the family as a core unit in society
    > a fair focus on the unique needs of women in society
    etc

17. @ BT
    That is why it is important to have women involved in the decision making process.

18. @ Enuff

Correction : That is why it is important to have TRUE women involved in the decision making process.

19. I am tired of hearing you men telling woman what role they should play in society. You guys need to understand that as woman we can think forourselves and really don’t need your socalled input into telling us what role we should play either in politics our in family life . Thanks for The bankhanded advice However we don’t need . We are very capable of walking and chewing gum at the sane time!

20. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Mia opts out

“her announcement that she would not take part in a tainted election process against the St Andrew MP.”

Further evedence of the crookedness of the Barbados Labour Party. Far too many of them are capable of anything. That is why the voting population of Barbados will keep them on the opposition benches a while longer.

Absolutlely no respect for women. They have now alienated the female voting section of the Barbados population. About fifty five percent of the total Barbados population.

The women are going to make them feel it at the next general election!

I can’t wait.

21. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Look who the BLP put in the Senate, “a wife car cutter upper”.
    No respect at all for the women of Barbados. Everybody day comes and the women will vote with particular relish against the Barbados Labour Party when the next elections comes around.

22. @Bush TEA

Protect woman from the nastiness of politics. Yeah is that so ! How so cunning of you Really! trying to fly under the radar. HA! HA! HA! PROTECTIONISM. I thought only america used that word when going to war! i told you before you would make a good politican . Protection ! HA! HA! HA!

Correction on commentNov14 9.11: sane i.e SAME

23. Politics is not the benchmark for progress of women in Barbados.

Check the number of Bajan women getting University degrees and becoming professionals.

Politics in Barbados is a “nasty” business and it takes a very strong woman to cope with the abuse politicians rain down on each other.

24. @Carson C. Cadogan | November 14, 2010 at 9:21 AM |

“Mia opts out ……Absolutlely no respect for women. They have now alienated the female voting section of the Barbados population. About fifty five percent of the total Barbados population.”

Well saints be praised! Carson dat is you saying dis? I can actually agree with you on this one.

25. @Hants
    “Politics in Barbados is a “nasty” business and it takes a very strong woman to cope with the abuse politicians rain down on each other.”

Could it be they are abusers in private life?

26. BTW ac;

If you really wish someone ill have them try to do business with a senior female public servant (worse still a female Permanent Secretary) in any of the South Caribbean countries … Sick…!

27. @ac,
    There is a difference between personal life and political tactics.
    A lot of the loud mout politicians are lambs in the home.

28. Bush Tea/Haunts,
    You have said a mouthful with so little words.

Some misguided females measure their worth by the amount of university degrees they can hang up on the rack and how far they can climb the professional ladder; forgetting the the woman of true is the one has a successful family.

It is unfortunate that men like “David”, the host of this blog does not understand this basic tenet (He’s, however, balanced
    in most other areas; but for this one, he’s out of bounds)

The late prime minister had the slogan right: FAMILIES FIRST!

29. Should be “…the woman of true worth…”

The woman who has raised/or who is raising a successful household; a strongly knitted family; has more to be happy about; to boast about, than one who is trying to prove she can outdo a man.

30. @Politics,
    Many women get degrees,become professionals and have successful families.
    There are a lot of good examples in Barbados.

Families first does not mean wife at home in apron 24/7.

31. @Hants

Well said ! Politics is in a time lapse, and cannot fathom out why a woman would want to leave the home and kitchen. I bet he is very sorry that Errol Barrow gave the nation free education. Poor thing he is lost and cannot cope with the educated professional woman.

32. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Islandgal246

“Well saints be praised!”

I have not ever said anything wrong on this blog about morally upright women.
    I have been married to one July just gone is twenty five years.

33. @ Hants
    Many women get degrees,become professionals and have successful families.
    There are a lot of good examples in Barbados.
    …let’s hear of some of these good examples….

It is quite fine to be all emotional and politically correct, but the reality is that the competition and stress ‘out there’ is health threatening -even for real red blooded men.
    It is twice as hard for women.

Getting a degree is a 3-5 year sacrifice even for basic social science degrees. Longer if one has serious family commitments with young children.

Progressing in a job is even more challenging with the political infighting, sexual pressures, tight financial/ production pressures on businesses etc

…and raising young children who are protected from the evils of this world in the school, home, even the church must now be more difficult than ever in history.

Either explain to the bushman where the above scenario is wrong, or where these super women exists, that are able to successfully overcome these challenges and succeed in university, work and family life.

Common sense seems to suggest that what we need now more than ever -are wise, dedicated family managers who have the education, patience, love and commitment to mold and develop the kind of families that can withstand the challenges imposed by modern society.

…..Or is it that having failed miserably in this regard, women have now set their sights on measuring their success by the materialistic things that men have traditionally been left to do – like providing food, shelter and protection?

@ ac and Islandgal
    …well if that is all wanna want…so be it…. just leave Mrs Bushie out of that foolishness for me….. she is much too valuable to be so wastefully deployed….

34. Bush tea has all the gender sensibility of the Afghan Taliban.

35. @ Ping Pong
    …..and you would have expected what from a bush man…?

If you find yourself constrained in thought by meaningless cliches and concepts of political correctness then that is your concern…..
    If the Taliban, Hitler or even Owing Seymour happen to coincide in agreement on an issue with the bushman -so be it!!

Bushie has even been known to agree with Ping Pong on the odd issue …LOL

36. @Bush tea “women have now set their sights on measuring their success by the materialistic things that men have traditionally been left to do – like providing food, shelter and protection?”

Bushman , lemme take a real deep breath…..BUSHMAN! YUH TREDDING PON DANGEROUS GROUND . Have you looked around lately? Woman has been providing food, shelter and finance to her family for many many years. And WHAT PROTECTION do you think men provided? CONDOMS ? We could defend weselves good enufff. Likke hot oil , a can a BOP and cutlass. Bushman doan let MRS BUSHMAN read dis. YUH TREDDING PON REALLY DANGEROUS GROUND.
    AC over to you now!

37. Bushman wrote “Getting a degree is a 3-5 year sacrifice even for basic social science degrees. Longer if one has serious family commitments with young children.”

That is the exception. Most women get the degree and start working before they start a family.

Bushman, each to his own. I Hants think that it is a waste of a brain and grossly unfair to make women stay “home an cook and clean.”

There will always be good women who prefer to stay home and raise a “traditional family” but the world needs well educated women.

38. At the risk of being misunderstood does anyone know the value a highly educated woman brings to the family unit if she is allowed to focus on nurturing her family in the way only a woman can deliver?

PRICELESS!!!

The Matriarch of the BU household has been devoted to nurturing the household for years and the world has already benefited from her unmatched contribution. She did it not seeking to accumulate material things (riches) but focussing on creating good citizens. For that David (Patriach) will be forever indebted to her.

39. @Ping Pong

like Bushman and Politics really joined de Taliban now. Calling out de BU Army………SOS BONNY, AC, JC, Any MENS who believe dat one day a Woman can become a leader in Barbados.

40. @ Islandgal

Brilliant analysis David (as usual)….
    Bushman is a product of such a woman who dedicated her whole life to creating, molding, loving and raising Bushie and many other Bushlets.
    Her legacy will live for ever in her contribution to this society, – made in a way that 10 fathers with 20 degrees and the highest paying job in the land could not match.

Even without counting her other 100% successes, Bushie alone (not bragging LOL) is a major achievement for my mother. NO WAY AT ALL WOULD BUSHMAN BE POSSIBLE WITHOUT HER EXCELLENT HIGH LEVEL WORK.

What greater contribution can be made in this world than to bring new life into existence and to nurture that life into a successful, valuable asset of exemplary character?

…..but if you want to be a politician, Islandgal…. or an accountant….. your call…. LOL. (but left out the cutlass and the BOP talk …PLEASE!!)

41. Mens please remember, not all women can be good mothers and not all women want to be mothers. I can say the same about men too. So why is it that the role of nurturer and homemaker being forced down our throats. That is the traditional thought, however we women will decide whether we want to or not. Until men come to terms that they can be nurturers as well as homemakers dem gine be always in crisis.

42. I think you kneed to analyse what the BUSH MAN is saying(forget about Politics).

There is more to life than an array of degrees.

One is not saying that a woman should not seek to improve her lot(and the status of her family), but we have got role-assignment upside down(I think it was ac who admitted in an earlier posting that “roles are changing” Stats however, show that things are changing for the worse.

We need to get back to basics; not necessarily the picture of a mother sweating it out in the kitchen; but more caring, understanding families (if families matter).

43. @David and BushTea,

It is truly wonderful to have a traditional family with a matriarch taking care of her family.Nuff respect to your mothers.
    I too had a mother and grandmother at home that “spoiled” me and I din turn out too bad.

Modern day Barbados has been educating our girls and women and I think that it is important for women to get educated first if the opportunity is there and it is what they want.

A woman is not a domesticated animal that you train and tell what her role on this planet should be.
    If she chooses to be fight to become a Prime Minister nothing wrong with that.
    If she chooses to “stay home an mine baby” cool.

44. @Politics, ”
    We need to get back to basics; not necessarily the picture of a mother sweating it out in the kitchen; but more caring, understanding families (if families matter).”

There are families in Barbados with both parents professionals and the children are well cared for.

45. @Hantsie

The problem we have today is becoming a slave to definitions.

We have women who want to define themselves based on assuming jobs which are defined by materialism.

Commenter Politics touched on the issue above. We need to focus and form our decisions on what is best for the family first! That definition should not be restricted to the level of financial contribution.

46. @ Islandgal
    ….not all women can be good mothers and not all women want to be mothers…
    Not all women are even women…. so therefore we are arguing the general position.
    Women are specifically designed and engineered to bear children and they (generally) are blessed with the patience, love and gentle nature to be dedicated caregivers….. MUCH more so than (‘real real’) men.

Now Wes Hall became a fast bowler BECAUSE of his physical and mental attributes….. you saying that Chanderpaul should ups and decide he want to bowl fast too…? or should he concentrate on being the batsman that the team needs?

47. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Islandgal246
    “Until men come to terms that they can be nurturers as well as homemakers dem gine be always in crisis.”

Get your facts straight. Men are not in crisis. That is just a cliche. Boys and men are fighting against a system which is stacked against them. So don’t get mix up.

48. Thanks to all those who have expressed best wishes. Relaxing after usual prep of Sunday lunch for my family and my parents (once on island) and was told to log on. I am flattered my life is so interesting to others…”Mining” two sets of babies and forging ahead with my career. To the mean-spirited messengers: Strive To Be Happy. And to those who are worried about me and St. Andrew: Don’t be.

49. Those comments by David were very balanced and fair.

I couldn’t have said it with such grandeur.
    Unfortunately, there are too many women who “want to define themselves based on assuming jobs which are defined by materialism”

I suspect that is why our families (in particular the middle-class) are so weak.
    Yes, we now have the “toys” and “things” that our forebears could not even dream of, but we don’t have “families”

50. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Welcome to Barbados Underground, Senator Garner.