Submitted by Dr. Roland R. Clarke, Energy Policy and Utility Advisor

The Fair Trading Commission (FTC) of Barbados appears to be returning to best practice in economic regulation of the electric utility sector. In this instance, the return is by requiring the Barbados Light and Power (BLPC) to give a full assessment of the benefits (and costs) of the grid impacts of utility applied short term (4-hour) battery energy storage systems (BESS). Typically, such systems are used for operational purposes rather than energy purposes.

In particular, the FTC is requiring that the BLPC consider the benefits of the avoided costs of any deferrals in the installation of transmission and distribution assets precipitated by the installation of the BESS systems. 

Notwithstanding, the FTC has failed to require consideration of avoided operations and maintenance costs, as well as avoided losses. It is presumed that the FTC has considered the obvious avoided energy cost.

This decision of the FTC would therefore requires in part a comprehensive benefit cost analysis in support of a least cost decision in respect to utility applied BESS.

This recent requirement by the FTC for best practice by the BLPC has been sorely lacking in recent years. For example, it seems to me that in the recent past, the FTC required the BLPC to implement renewable energy “at any cost”. During that period, I did not detected any consideration of a comprehensive benefit cost analysis with subsequent least cost decision making. That omission has been plain imprudent in my professional opinion.

In fact, it would be interesting to see if the current trajectory of Barbados in relying on distributed energy resources (DER), e.g. roof top solar photovoltaics (PV) is indeed the least cost option. As far as I am aware, the current trajectory has never been subject to a comprehensive benefit cost analysis of the type now being considered in part by the FTC. 

Further, it is not obvious to me that the recent decision by the FTC would include a revisit and analysis of the current trajectory. My recommendation is that it should!

Benefits and costs matter! 

Trade offs matter immensely! 

Trade-offs must be considered when considering competing claims on scarce foreign exchange resources by other societal needs. The electric sector is not the only claimant on foreign exchange in Barbados. 

Other countries like the USA can simply print hard currency. Barbados can’t. Barbados has to “earn” every penny!

On a “technical” matter, the article by Energy-Storage News forwarded below speaks about “cost benefit” analysis. That type of analysis is technically incorrect. 

It should be “benefit cost” analysis. Why? That’s how the rigourous analyst (myself included) would avoid “divide by zero” errors. While benefits may be zero, by definition costs are always non-zero. QED.

See Relevant Link

FTC WebsiteDecisions and Orders

78 responses to “FTC decision on battery storage systems”

1. From all that a layman John Public gleans from this matter.

1. The FTC is unfairly taking too long to hand down decisions. There is a procedural dysfunction that the powers that be seem powerless to fix.

2. Based on most recent machinations are we seeing the makings of intervenors being cut out of the hearings process as a way to speed up the process?

2. Can the intervenors use the justice system to lodge a complaint on behalf of the public due to to the lack of a fair practice process by the FTC for the people
    It seems that Barbados govt officials have taken for granted that any rights that the people are entitled can be dumped and tossed into a garbage dump
    The FTC has shown a high level of disregard for the public interest in its decision making process

3. “While benefits may be zero, by definition costs are always non-zero. QED.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Petty point…
    What stops costs from being zero…?
    ..and how does ‘QED’ fit?

Petty analysis.

4. Critical Analyzer Avatar

The rate and future business plans approval for BLPC and any other business should never be under FTC regulation.

What we need instead is monopoly legislation triggered when a company’s market share is above two thirds that caps profits at a certain percentage e.g. 15%, triggers special audits to ensure funds are not diverted to hide profits and requires excess profits above the percentage either be refunded to customers or put into special projects approved and monitored by the FTC.

5. Bushie

You should avoid matters, as few as they maybe, in which you only possess a “layman’s understanding. As a member of laity!

Costs are never zero. For if you can deny this you should tell us how.

How can a householder, for example, install a solar system with zero cost?

How can a householder store power at zero cost?

How can that householder transmit such power at zero cost?

Costs are never zero!

The writer is right! And we should thank him for his professional guidance.

6. Fossils fuels are being phased out shortly and the incentive to use newer technologies will be to double and triple prices so that only the rich can afford it

7. Common sense ain't common Avatar
    Common sense ain’t common

“How can a householder, for example, install a solar system with zero cost?

How can a householder store power at zero cost?”

try inserting (↑) the word “net” into “zero cost” to arrive at “zero net cost” to reflect upon and revert back when you have determined “the answer” like a light bulb over your head 💡 🗿 ding!

.. sometimes I ponder I must be the brightest spark on the Bu by far in the seasoning of the reasoning as simple solutions seem to outsmart all of the simpletons in the classroom so called scholars included..

but I always felt much wiser and more intelligent than all the teachers I ever had as a youth in schooldays and often used to correct the bad teachers in all subjects

8. The primary issue here was cost, period!

Issues of ‘net zero cost’, though useful for other considerations, presume that there are costs which are to be or are moderated or eliminated or actually deliver positive inflows, only after capital inputs and expenses are considered.

Of course, one could further drill down on all of these in many ways, with time value metrics, and on and on.

9. poor and needy Avatar
    poor and needy

You gots to speculate to accumulate my brother..

FYI Reggae music is my teacher and guiding light that shine bright like the sun and the stars up above in the heavens or the universe whatever your leanings may be

Jah, Jah
    Jah
    Deliver the poor and needy, out of the hands of the wicked.

Jah, Jah
    Foundations of the earth are out of course
    Man so blind, they neither see nor understand
    They walk in darkness

Jah, Jah
    Jah standeth in the congregation Jah rules among the gods.
    How long will ye judge unjustly, and accept the persons of the wicked?
    Defend the poor and fatherless,
    Do justice to the afflicted and needy.

Deliver the poor and needy, out of the hands of the wicked.
    Jah, oh Jah

10. Solar powered electricity is viable in Barbados.

” There is an average of 3028 hours of sunlight per year (of a possible 4383) with an average of 8:17 of sunlight per day. It is sunny 69.1% of daylight hours. The remaining 30.9% of daylight hours are likely cloudy or with shade, haze or low sun intensity.”

11. In my admittedly ignorant understanding, electricty costs are likely to greatly increase so that Light and Power can install batteries as a corollary to the use of renewable energy (photovoltaic panels and wind turbines) . This very expensive effort is part of Barbados’ response to the climate change crisis. Yet Barbados contributes very little CO2 compared to the USA, China, Europe and India all of whom seem very reluctant to reduce their carbon emissions. So it seems that we are increasing our cost of living for little on no improvement in the climate induced problems of drought, hurricanes, heat waves etc. It seems to me that our national energy policy is motivated by sentiment.

12. It is set to increase in the short run and decrease in the long run, I think.

But the idea also is that one cannot run around calling for others to change without doing so one’s self.

13. What are carbon credits?

14. Roland Clarke Avatar

The Blog Master asked: What are carbon credits?

Wikipedia states: “One carbon offset or credit represents a reduction, avoidance or removal of one metric Tonne of carbon dioxide or its carbon dioxide-equivalent (CO2e).”

In other words, if the BLPC reduces its fossil fuel use in its generation plants by buying electricity ready-made from renewable energy resources (from say, roof top solar), then the BLPC could be “credited” with effecting reduced carbon dioxide emmissions due less combustion of fossil fuel in its generator plants.

Simultaneously, the owner of the roof top solar would not be permitted to claim credit, as they have sold their rights to the BLPC. This avoids double counting.

In some legal jurisdictions, the original generator of renewable electricity would retain the rights to the carbon credits.

The issue of rights to carbon credits is something that needs to be addressed by the FTC.

Dr. Roland Clarke

15. Carbon credits are a new way of monetizing the clean environments of countries which have not been subjected to the negative environmental affects since the industrial revolution. Those countries, like Barbados, with relatively healthy environments get to monetize their environments and tarde them on open markets, at a price or debt relief, to countries with polluted environments. So on paper, they can credit their countries with carbon credits from somewhere else, while pretending to be environmentally compliant. Your blue economy, orange economy, and the like, that Mottley talks about, are functions of carbon credits. Capitalism gone mad! Or another form of colonialism.

16. Notwithstanding the role government and the regulator should play to develop and enforce fair regulation, is it too simple a question to ask what role the BL&P and its parent EMERA should be playing? One easily gets the impression the sole power company is a taker of resources instead of ensuring Barbados benefits from having a best in class power company by driving fit for purpose intiatives.

17. Shortchanging Avatar

“One easily gets the impression the sole power company is a taker of resources instead of ensuring Barbados benefits from having a best in class power company by driving fit for purpose intiatives.”

Government and Business shortchange the public and customers

This should be the preamble and conclusion of every thesis submission

18. FTC ‘too cautious’

The Barbados Renewable Energy Association (BREA) believes the Fair Trading Commission (FTC) was “too cautious” in its decision to limit the amount of battery storage investment Barbados Light & Power Company Limited (BL& P) can recoup.

Calling the 15 megawatts (MW) a “drop in the bucket” of what is needed at this time, BREA’s assessment was that this “is going to significantly limit the transition to 100 per cent renewable energy generation and it is going to take us much longer to reduce our dependence on oil and, as a result, leave us vulnerable to the future variability of the oil price market”.

Critical elements

The organisation, whose members include BL& P, also asserted that similar to the ruling on battery energy storage systems (BESS), the decision not to allow the purchase of synchronous condensers was not “in the best interest of the country at this time since both of these are critical elements needed to restart the renewable energy transition which has been stalled for some time”.

In a May 6 decision on BL& P’s application for pre-approval of investments and cost recovery through the clean energy transition rider (CETR), the FTC approved cost recovery for 15 MW of the 90 MW applied for in relation to BESS.

It also said yes to what the utility company asked for in relation to independent power producers’ interconnection, automatic generation control, and the distributed energy resources aggregation and control platform, but turned down the cost recovery for synchronous condensers.

All of this means Barbadians will have to pay higher electricity rates. BL& P had predicted a $41 increase on monthly bills over three years, and the FTC estimated in its decision that the monthly increase between 2024 and 2026 would be $17.67.

BREA said in a statement that the FTC got some things right in its decision. It also accepted that since the transition to full renewable energy was not just new to Barbados but also the world, “we understand why the FTC needs to proceed cautiously with this”.

“While we share the FTC’s concern about the cost of the batteries and the impact this will have on consumers, we believe this could have been handled differently,” BREA said.

Transition process

“It was clear to us that the numbers in BL& P’s application were only indicative and would need to be revised due to the length of time this CETR process has taken and it is appropriate to have the quotations reviewed before the investments are made to ensure that they are getting the best price.

“The reality, however, is that, while battery storage is expensive, large amounts of it are needed in order to interconnect any other renewable energy sources, like photovoltaic and wind, that are necessary to restart the transition process and to reduce our dependence on oil,” the organisation added.

BREA said the 90 MW of batteries that BL& P asked for permission to purchase over the next three years “is less than 20 per cent of the overall storage that will be required for the full renewable energy transition”.

“And while this will add cost to the electricity bill through the addition of the CETR, at least part of this would be offset over time by the reduction in the fuel clause,” it stated.

“Just as importantly, it will help Barbados mitigate against any increases in fuel prices, which, while these have been reasonably stable in recent times, are in danger of escalating if the current conflicts in Europe and Middle East were to escalate.”

Regarding the synchronous condensers, which absorb and provide reactive power to an electricity grid, BREA said it shared the FTC’s view that “as a matter of urgency, BLPC should be required to investigate in more detail the potential for repurposing some of their existing generators to do the same job when the generators are taken out of service”.

“However, in our view this is a much longer term solution, way beyond the three-year period that first set of synchronous condensers will be needed as stated in the application, and we therefore believe that this first set should have been approved by the FTC,” BREA said.

“Having said this, we recognise that the FTC has a very difficult job to do, because whatever decision they come up with they can be criticised from various sides”.

BREA’s position is that “rather than rely only on oral and written hearings when new technologies like this are being introduced, many of these decisions should be driven by solutions coming out of technical workshops where there is opportunity for greater collaborative dialogue on the facts”. (SC)

19. What is the operational life of the batteries? What is the cost of disposing the expended batteries?
    Instead of black belly sheep, maybe Barbados should encourage Guyana to build an oil refinery and buy our fuel needs at hopefully a concessionary price.
    I remain sceptical about this this “CO2 reduction thrust” and that mankind can stop or slow down climate change. We seem to be cutting our own throats.
    I do understand that oil will run out one day (many years from now) and the world will have to find alternative sources of energy.

20. @Ping Pong

Recycling lithium batteries is not an unsolvable problem. It will need to be prioritized. Fossil fuel emits carbon dioxide and batteries must be efficiently recycled.

21. My concern is that we rather blithely say that recycling is not an unsolvable problem or the making of batteries with a long life span is “easy”, that renewable enery costs should come down “over time”. Promises, promises…

22. The substantive point is that there are downsides to fossil energy and new energy technology. As always it will be left to the intelligence and ingenuity of humankind to solve. We must live with the hope that the intelligent human specie will get it right. If not let us pack our bags and strike up the band.

23. @ David
    “The substantive point is that there are downsides to fossil energy and new energy technology. As always it will be left to the intelligence and ingenuity of humankind to solve. We must live with the hope that the intelligent human specie will get it right. If not let us pack our bags and strike up the band.”
    ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    Careful Boss, Ping Pong really understands these issues…

Do you recall this being your substantive position on Covid-19 and the Covid mass injections?

Are you still so trustful of the ‘intelligent human specie’ that led THAT ‘crisis’?

24. @Bush Tea

We can focus on the issues we get wrong and forget everything that we get right. Take your pick. What is wonderful about learning is that mistakes are integral to the experience of advancement. The blogmaster is not prepared to throw officialdom under the bus just yet.

25. Now left out all the big talk and let we brek it down simple here.

Enema basically want us the customers to put up the money for their transition to more solar power.

Enema intend to increase the price them say by $41 to we over the next 3 years. For true why you dont tell the people the $41 is on the lowest tier user?

Enema will pay you less than half the market price per Kw and then resell your KW and make 100 percent mark up on it.

For them with nuff money that could send a message they should install the necessary battery storage and come off the blasted grid all together.

Now from an accounting stand point the Zero cost talk is bare BS. let me put dat in Bajan for you too. So imagine you got to spend $10,000 to save $10000 hopefully, where you getting the 10k from to begin with? You going for a loan say and at what percentage of interest this loan going be at? Dat is a cost right. Now nothing dont last forever you agree? So we got this word call depreciation that you will hear used. Well dat is like if you take 20% of the COST of something you buy and put that oneside for when it need replacing. That therefore is another cost.

So this talk bout zero cost is not correct in practical terms as zero cost does got a cost.

26. Oh one other thing i forgot to mention. When you depreciate the item at 20% say that is based on the purchase price. When time come and inflation carry up the replacement cost by 30% dat too is another cost you got factor in too!

In other word future replacement cost over initial purchase price is a cost down the road as well. The new replacement cost at the higer price would then start another cycle of depreciation all over again. Yep you right and her starts a new and higher cost for say the next 5 years. Lol

27. David,

You thought there was a chance that Emera would be anything other than a taker of resources?????

28. @Donna

The record will show EMERA was not welcomed when the decision was made to buckle to the pressure by local shareholders. Unfortunately in a free market this is what happens.

29. let google be your friend.

” emera “

30. @ Hants

Trust me its Enema in this case. Just like steal is steel in a housing project. LOL

31. Chris Halsall Avatar

At the end of the day, energy storage is /relatively/ easy.

32. Weeee have counseled this blog that the country should stop all this mealy-mouthed BS and make a quantum leap into nuclear energy by installing such a plant.

Instead, we hear Mottley talking about storing 600MW in farms. With nuclear, this foolishness becomes quaint.

Besides technology transfers, a range of expensive nuclear medicines could be made for export. Indeed, there are several other applications for agriculture and on and on.

Further, the list of countries in Afrika and South America currently at various stages of discussion include Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, and most of the Sahel countries, is ever expanding.

These countries, all, are considered by the Bajan niggers as not as well off as they are. But yet, it shall be only when White people come to tell us that this is the way to go that these so-called renewable energies will be jettisoned.

As another lurch into underdevelopment. And Western powers have so directed us for centuries.

Indeed, a nuclear power plant can provide electricity for 100 years at about 20 percent of current cost. And given that a country cannot develop unless it has cheap energy only willful slaves will continue to harken unto what our limits should be.

Why waste time with Emera? Is it not clear that they are merely rent seekers?

How is it that there can be no collective fear of the nuclear war on which we sit on the precipice, but somehow the national, backward, Bajan mind cannot countenance a nuclear power plant entirely based on some ill-conceived fear of an accident.

Again! By the time these nuclear technologies become so perfused, joining the adaptation line then, will only mean the same antidevelopmental arc we’ve always ridden.

We’ve now seen some hard numbers and are unconvinced that such a project is beyond the capabilities of Barbados. Indeed, the reverse is closer to the truth.

Only if the cowards who run the country, as consistent with the national mind, could muster a grain of courage.

33. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Pachamama

Please don’t be profoundly stupid. Nuclear is many years out. Are you talking about fission, or fusion?

Storage of energy is relatively easy. Just pump water up a hill.

I grow tired of the scare mongering done.

Lead. Follow. Or get out of the way.

34. Well, this writer is already leading elsewhere, asshole!

Scaremongering?

Have you been living under a rock?

Well, only last week the Russians summoned the British and French ambassadors and told them that if Ukraine were to use weapons they supplied against Russia that the Russian response will not be limited to the battlefield in Ukraine.

At the same time they publicly put their tactical nuclear weapons on high alert, conducted a drill and readied their strategic nuclear weapons for delivery. Unlike your friends in empire, the Russians are not known to bluff!

This is just one data point.

35. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Pachamama… You are calling me an asshole.

Not an unfair comment. I (as all) have at least one.

My arguement stands.

36. @Chris

Can you share with us how the challenge we face in Barbados with battery storage on the grid can be solved. We know nuclear power is not an option for Barbados. We can’t even construct a tertiary waste treatment plant on the south coast. Added to which it would be discouraged by the power players.

Let us argue realistic positions, ones that will garner public support.

37. Yes, yes, yes!

That your ‘arguement’ stands was not unexpected.

Conservators are such.

38. Your so-called realism is why this country will remain as it is, backward!

But yet your closeness to Whiteness makes you presume that countries like Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast are not as good as Barbados. It’s national ethos.

And yet they have turned to nuclear.

Of course, once the White people come and say otherwise, you’ll be the first to agree.

How can any sentient being forswear any option without an investigation?

How can you know, with certainty, that nuclear, which is clean energy, cannot be a policy option?

Our argument has never been that it was. Ours was and is that all options should be properly investigated, studied.

39. Does the country not now have several medical devices which use forms of nuclear radiation?

Aren’t cancer patients given certain nuclear isotopes?

Maybe these should not be options either!

You boys, and you are boys, are too small minded.

40. Chris Halsall Avatar

@Pachamama… Please don’t try to play the race card. Nor comingling nuclear for diagnostics vs. power generation.

They are very different things.

41. Race card Shiite

We never play any race card. Save that bullShite for those who you may influence. This writer is not so minded. Never shall beeeee!

Tell that to the UN. For it was them you called people like you and the country a crypto-racist society.

We talk about race all the time as one of the basic structures of the world.

And no amount of sensitivities by your ilk shall stop that.

42. @Chris

You have allowed yourself to be sidetracked.

43. And you tooo have so allowed because of that sort of inbred medicantcy.

44. @Chris

Do you see a constructive role for the FTC as far as regulating the utilities?

What are the roadblocks preventing speedy decisions?

What are the improvements required to make the FTC relevant.

45. Of course, they are very different things. But they have one thing in common.

They come from the same industry, source material, general processes.

Except nuclear materiales for energy generation is of increased concentración. And for weapons production over 90 percent enrichnent of uranium.

46. Chris Halsall Avatar

@BU.David… Thank you for those questions. I think everyone knows my opinon of the FTC…

@Pachmama… The ideal fusion device is our sun. We are 13.2 degrees above the equator. The question comes down to storage. This is a long identified need.

47. And here he goes! The creature could not come here and say whatever about electricity generation without spewing some shite about a race card.

Last time he stuck his stinking head out, he presumed to lecture me for criticising the police for illegally threatening to beat my fifteen year old, innocent boychild in school uniform to a pulp! My black son should suck up what a white boy would never endure in Barbados!

Little did he know that even a passing, plain clothes, superior officer recognised the abuse as such and took charge of the situation, dismissing the offender from my son’s presence.

That did not stop me from lighting up the police station until I got a apology and an offer to make things right.

Lookah, seh yuh electrical piece and guh long back under yuh rock do! I already had to read Richard Hoad today. Not you too!