George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

Tribute according to the Oxford Compact English dictionary is:  “A thing said or done or given as a mark of respect or affection”.

Tribute according to Collins Cobuild English Language dictionary is: “A speech gift or action made in order to show your admiration and respect for someone and to praise or thank them …”

These are the definitions that many of the Parliamentarians used to shape their delivery in the recent sitting of the House of Assembly. The session was called to pay tribute to the late Prime Minister and Leader of the Democratic Labour Party the Hon David Thompson. It was on this occasion, in his usual style, that the Opposition Leader sought to embellish his delivery by rolling out a political speech. Boy!!! Oh Boy!!! Arthur has returned to his element.

It was Arthur who called for a return to high standards in the House of Assembly. It was he who lamented the poor quality of Parliamentary debates. Arthur seems to be pushing a message of “do as I say and not as I do”. The political tantrums of the Arthur era have taken a new turn. An all-time low was reached that caused family members and persons in the gallery to exit the House. It is clear that being a father and having a daughter cannot mean the same to the goodly newly appointed Opposition Leader. Do we have no boundaries when it comes to when and where?

The Democratic Labour Party wants to express disapproval and shame at the shade and colour of the tribute paid by the Leader of the Opposition to the country’s late Prime Minister. The difference between the former Opposition Leader and the current is not of gender but of posture. Mia Mottely would never have been so contemptuous as to respond in the manner he did. You have to give Mia her jacket and Arthur his boots, as he loves to play in mud.

Tuesday’s [9th November 2010] display has helped to fashion in the eyes of the public what the Opposition had and what they now have. We on this side challenge any of the Opposition members to go public and endorse the approach of their leader.  As a matter of fact, I trust that the current opposition make-up reads into the recent machinations what is intended. Let me help you decipher the encrypted message of the Leader of Opposition …I don’t give a damn, I will do whatever I like!!!

This is occurring despite his campaign slogan of “There has to be healing…” His first official act as Opposition Leader was to fire Elizabeth Thompson, AGAIN!. While, rehiring for the third time, her previous political nemesis Kerrie Symmonds. Arthur is in a hurry – after celebrating 61 years on this earth – to prove something to his inner soul. The public has already judged his actions and continues to see him for what he really is. Let us not forget his apparent “take” on the DLP’s last reshuffle. He made it onto the back page with a big headline “Owen’s Take”, giving the public the impression that some abuse of power had transpired. In just under two weeks, he fires two persons from the shadow cabinet and one of them happens to be poor Elizabeth Thompson. The many tongues with which the Opposition Leader speaks, lead me to believe that he was telling the truth when he said he felt that he was taken over by demons at times. He said it. You read it and now we believe it.

1. What I next for Mia?

2. @ac
    When I say flaunt her lifestyle, I am referring to her mannerisms: “don’t care”/in you face”/”that’s how I am” attitude.

If you are in the closet, that I can understand; but to be open and up-without regard, shows the style of leadership one can expect from such a person – very frightening!

3. @Facts
    UH know i can’t understand your reasoning . I meaning in a mans world that attitude you are talking about is quite acceptable. Look how the Cowboy Five threw out Mottley speaking about “UP in Your Face.” nothing more blatant than that. Mia is smart and brilliant to boot and whatever so called attitude you see in her is very prevalent in men. I maintain she would make a better leader than MR Corrupt Himself the one and only OWEN ARTHUR.. Stupseeeeeeeeeeeeee!

4. Facts
    But de short man din kno bout she ‘perversive’ lifestyle when he appoint she ‘Leader of de Opposition’? Man wunna does tawk anyting ta mek he look like a saint. He lifestyle squeeky-cleen? Man doan mek ma laff sa hard now nite do. I feel he had a ulterior motive n play he discreditin Mia. She is wah she is. fullstop. I doan sing in de same choir as dem but i kinda like Mia. Ya see how she does shuffle when she walk? LOLLL.

Foolbert
    You tekkin dis ting too serious. We does cuss one anedda but we doan be mean it. wah I doan kno you from any a de ress so if i buse you bout sumting you sah, take um at face value. wah we in kno one anedda. doan lose na sleep ova how we does conduc bizniss pun BU. And as fa who readin n got a probalem wid um, dem got a choice.

ac/islandgal
    de two a wunna-all in easy a’tall. Wunna-all mek ‘Bajan Bus Stop’ look smallllllllllll.

Numero Uno
    why you doan leh sleepin dogs lie nah? ya dodds-boy.

5. @Anonymous Numero Uno wrote
    “How are these internal BLP matters ANY OF YOUR BUSINESS?”

It is my business because I am a Bajan and I own property in Barbados.
    What happens in either political party matters to me.

6. Does any of these DLP operatives care to tell the BU bloggers how much money the DLP received from CLICO to fund their election campaigns since their god Thompson was leader?
    All I can hear them doing is talking about how much the BLP got but never how much Thompson pocketed even from his sick bed.
    The Dems had CLICO money coming out of their ears for this last election and months later all hell break loose, then we hear that CLICO is sound, then Thompson gives them $10 million. Then he and Leroy take out all their money.
    I have a friend from St John whom Thompson told him to leave his money in CLICO, it safe, today he still cant get a cent out of CLICO and Thompson dead and gone along leaving his to his family and my friend cant get a cent out of CLICO.
    And Thompson was a good man!!!

7. Corruption is everbody’s business and to her credit, it is now clear that Mia Mottley will not be part of any cover-up of corruption within the BLP.

The same cannot be said for the Owen Arthur power-hungry faction of the divided BLP.

Day one (1) of the Conference belongs to Mia Mottley and her team which, it would appear – wants to stamp-out the corruption PM Thompson uncovered at Haggatt Hall.

I heard that last night Mia Mottley and her team remained as a unit, in the back of the room.

Today was day two of the Conference and judging from CBC Evening news, the main event was again Mia Mottley who walk away from power and said “NO” to corruption.

No doubt tomorrow or day three will also belong to Mia Mottley.

Owen Arthur will have to state his position on corruption and explain why he put those campaign funds into his personal bank account.

He will have to state why he undermined and ousted Mia Mottley from office when he did not attend Parliament for the 2 years she kept the party going.

He will also have to come with a speech which outlined a new vision and not warm over cold soup, expecially after he has stated publicly that the country is facing the worst economic crisis ever.

I agree that what he delivers tomorrow has to be better than what Mia Mottley unveiled at the BCCI luncheon recently because she has certainly raised the bar.

THE QUESTION IS – HOW IS OWEN ARTHUR GOING TO ADDRESS THE CORRUPTION WIHTIN AND AMONG HIS POWER-HUNGRY FACTION OF THE DIVIDED BLP, GIVEN THE EVIDENCE OF ELECTORAL FRAUD NOW IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN.

Not only is Owen Arthur presiding over a party he has succeeded in diving but, according to the electorate – he is presiding over a faction of the BLP that does not respect women and is corrupt.

TOMORROW WE WILL SEE IF OWEN ARTHUR COVERS UP THE CORRUPTION (internal electoral fraud) OR FOLLOW MIA MOTTLEY’S LEAD AND TAKES ACTION TO STAMP IT OUT…

8. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

Hi Hants, Bonny Peppa, ac, Island Gal 246, Bajan Panday, and of course, Hartley, while you guys and gals are figuring out the answers to those CLICO QUERIES, I want you all to know that I was just having some fun with that 246 thing and Island Gal.

Can’t we get along here and have a little fun?

I understand, love and respect women immensely, please believe that, and children? Man I’d die for them!!. Please don’t accuse me of being a women-beater.

Hi Bonny, I am glad I gave you a good laugh, but hear me……. I am chastising you again ……. cut out the dirty language. I believe it offends a lot of people following these blogs …. offends even more than the Hartley Henry lies!!

9. @Ocean Barber,
    Are you Georgie Porgie, reincarnated?

Man, that venom spouted above sure feels like his.

10. @Ocean Barbar
    Well why not dispute what is said about the BLP. Or can You? To attack a dead man who is no position to defend himself shows how desperate the BLPare and the low blows they are willing to give in the defense of the Party!

11. @Anonymous Uno

O.K. Just be careful with dem way you have with words . We woman don’t take easily to being abuse verablly or physical. Alls well that ends welll! Now you can press the erection button!

12. ac,
    Answer the questions how much money did the DLP get from CLICO?
    Why didnt Thompson produced the cheques he got at the Haggat Hall meeting too?
    This is not a matter of attacking a dead man but you DEMS need to be reasonable, you want to attack the BLP but no one is to attack you.

13. @ qc

Wunna contact de Bushman about de bush bath at de 4 cross as yet? 🙂

14. Sorry not qc should be ac. Yuh know how it is wid we ol peeps! Time to be sleeping, ah tired.

15. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@”Multi -titled One” | November 13, 2010 at 7:38 PM | “Anonymous Numero Uno,

You mentioned about the cleric who is the muti-titled One (ha, ha, ha).
    Do you know where he “earned” his doctoral degree?
    He calls himself (and allows it to be mentioned freely) “doctor”

As a public figure, I’m sure the goodly reverend, apostle, bishop, prophet and doctor could easily let us know.”

Listen Multi-Titled, you miss out one uh de man handles. You left out SENATOR. You got any idea how he got that one!

16. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

@ac | November 13, 2010 at 10:38 PM | @Ocean Barbar
    “Well why not dispute what is said about the BLP. Or can You? To attack a dead man who is no position to defend himself shows how desperate the BLPare and the low blows they are willing to give in the defense of the Party!”

AC, this is my last for tonight……. gotta catch up on my sleep.

Now listen to me. I have been asking that question about the CLICO FUNDS the DEMS received, for months and months on this blog, long before Hon. Mr. Thompson died, ’cause I did not think mit was fair to accuse Arthur of taking a little chicken feed, when the REAL BIG MULTI-MILLION BUCKS went to Thompson and the DEMS!!

I guess Mr. Stuart will have to provide DEM answers now….but you think he knows any of the details ’bout this ting? Then again, Stuart is a man that like to talk about FORENSIC AUDIT. You think he gun go dat route?

17. @Barbar
    Hell yes! nobody stop wunna from launching yuh vicious attacks against the living and the dead. Why ifr that question was so important to the BLP .They could have asked the Late PM. Oh! BTW The Leader of the BLP has got of answering to do and he is still presently alive and he ain’t about to revealed any of his backroom deals to nobody. Now yuh asking me to speak on behalf of the Late PM. I only speak to what I know of him just like others do.

18. @de Hood
    What bush bathe! it is well with my Soul !maybe you could suggest that forOwen Arthur he full of dirty tricks! He need to be cleanse !

19. An interesting offshoot to the discussion is to assess public opinion to what is unfolding in the BLP. The DLP’s time will also come when a reasonable time has passed after Thompson’s death.

What the incident with the campaign donation to the BLP/Arthur exposes is the need for campaign reform. The anti prevention act on the table should address this matter.

20. To Bajan Panday
    Are you familiar with the following quotes?
    “Did we not end up with the unusual act of the people of Barbados voting against the opposition in 1999, 26-2 ? ”
    “Do we want to return to the days of internal hate, infighting, blood letting, cursing and ruling by division?”

Well, to refresh your memory, these words were part of Freundel Stuart’s 17 point indictment on David Thompson when he wanted to return to the top position in the DLP.

If the deep, deep rifts that existed for sure in the DLP can be healed to the point where in 2008, David Thompson could appoint Freundel as his #2, then accept that so too the rifts in the BLP can be healed.
    And just as someone in the DLP could cool down David Estwick after a dying Thompson catspradle him, so too will someone eventually get through to Mia that she is not bigger than the party and she too will cool it and stop behaving like a spoilt brat.

This is your time to gloat but every night ends with day. But you know what our old people used to say, what aint pass you aint miss you.

Watch out for trouble in your camp when the PM takes over Finance by way of a cabinet reshuffle.

Just remember that since the DLP came to power with so many promises and the know how to do everything, this will be the fifth change on the deck of the Titanic.

21. Read page 2 of the Advocate. Mia has spoken.

22. "Multi-Titled One" Avatar
    “Multi-Titled One”

@Anonymous Numero uno
    Hey, thanks for reminding me of that one: Senator.

I do know how he got that, but the Phd? Well……….

23. @ Prodigal Son | November 13, 2010 at 11:43 PM |

Yours post above is foolishness. I will deal with Clico in my next post.

What is happenning in the BLP now is corruption, electoral fraud, election rigging and many would add – organised crime (electoral fraud) Such organised crime has never happened within the DLP. In fact it would be fair to say that the DLP is far more democratic than the BLP.

This is serious since Grantley Adams gave the right to vote (one man one vote) This is the point Adrian Hinds has been making for sometime now.

Mia Mottley yesterday demonstrated that she wants no part of the cover-up of electoral fraud within the BLP. She has demonstrated that she is not power hungry. Reminds me of Julius Caesar – thrice the crown was passed to him and on each occasion he pushed it aside.

Seems like unlike the Owen Arthur and his power-hungry gang of 5, Mia Mottley and her 3 role-model colleagues – just want to stamp-out the corruption.

Judging from what is coming out of the BLP, the most respected and honest people like: Sir Henry Forde, Sir Richard Cheltenham, Dame Billie Miller and so on – are standing with Mia Mottley.

I am sure that if the Rt. Excellent Grantley Adams, Tom Adams and Bree St. John were alive – they too would be standing on Mia Mottley’s side as well.

They, like Mia Mottley would want to stamp-out the corruption within the BLP (the same corruption Mr. Thompson exposed at Haggatt Hall.

Here is something else.

It starts with election rigging then if the Power-Hungry Gang of 5 were to win (under the guise that they have a magic wand solution to the economy) they will impose themselves on the people of Barbados for life by carefully re-aligning electoral boundaries.

Barbadians have been warned. The plan is to win and so re-align electoral boundaries so that the DLP never ever wins again.

Study it!!!

The corruption surrounding the Owen Arthur power-hungry faction of the divided BLP, is only now getting started. But Barbadians must say: “ENOUGH” but voting for the DLP which might be inexperienced but HONEST.

Study it!!!

24. But Barbadians must say: “ENOUGH” “BY” voting for the DLP, which might be inexperienced but HONEST.

Study it!!!

25. By Wade Gibbons | Sun, November 14, 2010 – 12:08 AM

“ABOUT A MONTH after losing political leadership of the Barbados Labour Party [BLP] to Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley yesterday made a dramatic last-minute withdrawal of a much hyped challenge to incumbent chairman George Payne who was returned unopposed.

But Mottley appeared to win the hearts of party supporters when she was boisterously hailed following her announcement that she would not take part in a tainted election process against the St Andrew MP.

In the charged atmosphere of the Deighton Griffith Secondary School on the second day of the BLP’s 72nd annual conference, Mottley described the election as a “side show” and withdrew her nomination. St Thomas MP Cynthia Forde later followed suit and surrendered her position as general secretary to St Lucy candidate Peter Phillips.

Mottley said the conference should not be remembered because of Payne, new Leader of the Opposition Owen Arthur, or herself, but should be regarded as the moment in time when the BLP’s membership said the legacy of Sir Grantley Adams should be honoured and democracy restored.

Before an audience from which Arthur was conspicuously absent, Mottley noted Section 36 [a] of the party’s constitution said that only one of every ten branch members should be allowed to vote as a delegate.

But, she added that the time had come when every member of the party should have the right to vote, whether for chairman, general secretary or any other position.

Mottley revealed several instances of irregularities which had occurred over the past months within the party.

She said St James North MP Rawle Eastmond had written a letter of complaint to her when she was Opposition Leader, as well as to Payne, about the dubious selection of delegates in his constituency.

Mottley added that 15 minutes before the start of yesterday’s session, she was given a list of all the delegates who would be voting.

“This is unacceptable,” she said, adding she had been informed that the BLP’s secretariat had been given instructions that neither her nor Forde should be given copies of the delegates’ lists.

The St Michael North East MP added: “I made calls at 11:30 a.m. yesterday, 3:30 p.m. yesterday, and seven o’clock last night.

“I have faced five general elections in this country. I have been general secretary of this party for nine years uncontested and I have never faced an election without knowing who are the people entitled to vote and I will not do so today.”

Mottley said a letter was written to Arthur, Payne and Forde on October 18 by the members of the executive of the BLP’s Women League requesting a meeting of the executive to choose delegates for the conference.

“That request was denied but yet a list of 210 delegates for the Women’s League was produced,” she said.

Mottley said one woman on the Women’s League delegates list wrote the party on the same day and complained that she was not a BLP member and had never joined the party.

The woman indicated that not only was her name on the list, but those of her family as well. She said the woman requested that her name be removed.

“To my horror, 15 minutes ago, I checked the list that was presented to me and the lady’s and her family’s names are still on the list,” she noted.

Mottley identified several BLP members and who had been mysteriously omitted from the delegates’ lists, and stressed she did not know “how to become chairman of the Barbados Labour Party even though I believe I would win”, under such circumstances.”

http://www.nationnews.com/articles/view/mia-opts-out/

26. The BLP Party does not know what the word Honesty mean! Without Mia their is not hope for them she is willing to call a Spade a Spade. Mia is not going to tolerate the dishonesty from them which they were able to get away with for many years. MIA ! Strut Your Stuff. !imagine using counterfeit names to benefit their actions. SHOW ME THE LIST!

27. Bajan politics is at its lowest ebb…We badly need some good honest men and women. We need a third party. The BLP has become very ragged and the threads are unraveling rapidly. The DLP is waiting for someone to deliver them. Who might dat be? Oh what tangle webs both parties have woven.

28. @Bajan Panday 9.38 Nov 14th

Did not you promise to deal with CLICO in your next post? You posted twice since then and we are still awaiting you to deal with CLICO

29. Dear Anonymous Numero Uno,

My sincerest apologies for an omission in an earlier post. I had stated that, “While we are at it, please note the plan for the Conference:- Owen Arthur (St. Peter) Opposition Leader, George Owen Arthur Walton Payne (St. Andrew) for Chairman, Peter Phillips (St. Lucy) for Secretary, Dale Marshall (St. Joseph) GOAWP’s deputy, Kerrie the recycled Senator (St. James Central)……. the NORTHERN ALLIANCE FOR POLITICAL DESTRUCTION (NAPD) is making its move in the BLP.”

I forgot that Douglas Skeete was the treasurer. So, the team really is/projected to be:-
    Owen (St. Peter) Political Leader
    George (St. Andrew) Chairman
    Peter (St. Lucy) Gen. Secretary
    Douglas (St. James North …. to be) Treasurer
    Dale (St. Joseph) George’s Deputy

I am not, nor have any desire to join a political party, but I use my God-given discernment and observations to read what is taking place among politicians. The intrigue of late in the Opposition Party has truly taken my attention. I do not listen to political gossip, but because of my knowledge, at social level, of some of the persons in both parties, I “read the signs” and interpret them. With the youth, I also discuss their views of what our leaders are projecting in the all spheres of our country’s life. If I am on target, don’t blame me.

Does anyone still want to challenge my older post that a NORTHERN ALLIANCE was in the works?

George and Owen are millionaires. How come that there is a call now being made to members to fund repairs to party headquarters in Roebuck Street? Is there any guarantee that the money will not be highjacked as well?

30. To Bajan Panday
    Dont you get tired saying the say thing over and over again on each thread of BU. Man, you are annoying. Or you hope by saying the same thing, people will believe you.
    What corruption are you continually trying to dig up and expose? Deal with the fact that Freundal dont want you any where around him because you operate at a slimy level.
    What will Mia do after today? She was General Secretary for nine years. The constitution of the BLP from its inception allows one vote per ten delegates, why the big fuss now? Because she could not win?
    She will no doubt wake up today and realise that she made a fool of herself and that she only gave yardfowls like you fodder to chew on.
    In the meanwhile, you deal with the incompetence and ineffectiveness of the DLP government and the reality in every right thinking Bajan’s mind that NOTHING is happening in Barbados and that the government is only surviving by using the NIS funds as a slush fund to run the country on a daily basis and leave the BLP alone.

And the annoying moderator, Tony Marshall should tell the public as he likes to say, why as Chairman he is allowing this. Bajans should be concerned about this development as far as their pensions are concerned. The rate at which this government is going there wont be much money left as with less people being employed, contributions will inevitably be reduced.
    As I said earlier using Stuart’s own words, if the deep wounds of the DLP could be healed after the days of the blood letting, in fighting, cussing, internal hate and ruling by division, the wounds of the BLP will be healed.

All of a sudden, since Mr Arthur is leader, all of you DEMS have become real vicious and nasty.

What is the problem? Are you just a little bit sacred that your incompetence at managing Barbados is blatant?

31. It seems that a number of posters here think that “Bajan Panday” is another pen name for WIV or HH.

I don’t. The Bajan Panday style of writing, imo, is quite different to WIV’s or HH’s. In addition, WIV or HH does not deal exclusively on one topic ad nauseum.

I think that Bajan Panday is probably what she purports to be, a very disgruntled, and perhaps traumatized, Mia Mottley supporter who is prepared to use a scorched earth strategy to harm the new BLP Opposition Leader and his administration and cares not what effect it might have on the BLP itself.

I wonder what the IP addresses say?

32. On another matter, whether it makes sense to have a snap election or not soon. I have stated on BU that the only sensible thing that the Stuart administration can do now is to have a snap election. However, I think there is a mitigating factor that I didn’t take into account earlier, that is, that even though it makes good strategic sense for the DLP to call the election now, Freundel Stuart might consider that there is a slim possibility that he could lose his seat in a snap election unless he switches to St John, a move that would be fraught with political danger.

I think that there is little danger of Stuart losing his seat in a snap election with the BLP in its current parlous state and the sympathy level at its current height for the late David Thompson. But Stuart is the one wearing the tight shoes and I think it might well be understandable for him to make the choice to not call a snap election. But that choice is fraught with danger and could easily lead to the DLP being wiped out in a late 2012 or early 2013 poll.

33. checkit-out
    I’ve made that point before, anyone running for the St.John’s safe seat should be one who can come out and assist the other candidates with marginal seats. Neither Stuart nor Sincklar are sure of their seats, so it would be a politican gamble for either of them to vacant their seats and contest the St.John’s seat. For Stuart to do that he would have to call a general elections, while Sincklar is the only one that can contest the seat in a by-election. However, I don’t think Stuart wants Sincklar breathing down his neck so I predict that Stuart would take back Min. of Finance and give back Estwick Econonmic Affairs, what portfolio he would give to Sincklar is unsure but I also predict that it will cause some uneasiness among the party. Of course Kellman, as the most senior M.P among them is also expecting to get a ministry.

34. Hi Scout; Sorry, I had not seen that you had made the point before. I think your analysis is a valid one which actually extends my point to a more practical level and seems to suggest that Stuart may well not call a snap election and have valid reasons to do so. The reshuffling of the Cabinet does not necessarily have to take the form you suggest. Stuart does not have to take Finance from Sinckler. He may only need to take Economic Affairs and leave Estwick with Agriculture. Stuart may also need to take the Information Portfolio and do something about Parris who could be a source of embarrassment to his new Government.

So the lesson might be. Don’t hold your breath for a snap election

35. Fair and Balance Avatar

It seems like the DLP Bloggers gone silent. They were expecting fireworks at the BLP conference that did not materialized.

Round 2 to Arthur. He is on a path to neutralize Mottley. He will continue to extend the hand to Mottley but if she doesn’t come around he will move on without her.

Mottley also has to be careful that if she continues to be seen as not supporting the leader, when her turn comes (if she still has ambition to lead the party) she will get very little support from the Arthur supporters which continue to be strong. Both Arthur and Mottley will soon have to realize that they need each other since their base in the party is strong so sooner or later they will have to make some accommodation for both to co-exist.

Mottley is smart enough to know that.

36. Arthur has done an excellent job painting Mia into a corner. He has created a situation where it is her move. Help the party or else. The party will always be seen be party faithful as being paramount.

37. Fair and Balance Avatar

PM Stuart is a man I have a lot of respect for. I also think he will be a good PM even better than his former leader.
    His best bet is to call a snap election and get a new mandate.
    (1) He should shift to the safe St. John seat.
    (2) He cannot do what is necessary to bring us out of the economic mess without inflicting some pain through some austerity measures and that cannot be done over the next 2 years prior the a general election and he expects to win. The Austerity should have come long ago when Estwick was saying so before he was muzzled
    (3) The sympathy vote still exists so he can capitalize on it.
    (4) Arthur knows he cannot win the St. John bye election so he will use the opportunity to put the DLP 3 year tenure on trial and I am afraid he will expose the lack of performance of the Thompson government.

But Stuart, like Sandiford is a man who will think country first. So he will not call the general election.

38. Fair and Balance Avatar

I forgot #5 from above
    (5) The internal problems in the BLP has weaken them a lot and he should capatilized on that before the healing or accommodation between Arthur & Mottley takes place.

39. checkit-out
    The problem there with P.M Stuart is that I don’t think he wants Sincklar so close under him. There are some senior party members who are very supportive of Sincklar becoming the next P.M so Stuart has to be wary of him. i think the P.M has more faith in Estwick , as both he and Estwick were strong supporters of Clyde Mascoll, I see stuart putting some breathing space between himself and Sincklar. It is said that had the lifespan of the late P.M was six months more, he would have made Sincklar his Deputy. This is a case of history repeating itself because it is also believed that twenty-four hours more of Errol Barrow the history of Barbados would have been different.

40. Fair and Balance wrote “It seems like the DLP Bloggers gone silent.”

It is fun for us to listen to BLP bloggers explain how a kind and gentle Owin After saved MIA from self destructing and taking the party with her.
    We still trying to understand Owin After’s problem with MIA.
    He thinks the world of her. He needs her. The party needs her.

Yes Uncle Owen will try again to groom her into the Leader she should or could be so be a good girlie and listen to the master.

What a nice fella Uncle Owin is.

41. I see there are many bloggers who suggest that it is in the best interest of the country for the status quo to remain as is, i.e.; no snap general elections; Stuart either leaves ministerial portfolios unchanged from the last Thompson reshuffle or make minimal changes; The Minister of Finance introduces minimal, almost painless, measures to combat the fiscal deficit; Stuart continues the CLICO bailout along the same lines that David Thompson started and fashioned in his last Cabinet meeting; Stuart continues as far as possible the entitlement programmes; etc.

I suggest that such a programme would be in the worst interests of Barbados rather than the best, given the current harsh economic environment. Such a programme would carry the stamp of David Thompson and would do very little to get us out of the mess that is most likely the result of relegating urgent corrections to the ECONOMY from the front seat to a back seat, well behind a SOCIETY development thrust that misguidedly focused attention on matters geared to providing entitlements and popular votes through bus fares, constituency councils and the like on borrowed money.

Continuing on the old path is a prescription for disaster for the country and I think for the DLP as well. But that outcome will be the only one possible if Stuart continues to do little about the economy and just follows in David’s footsteps. Seeking to move Sinckler from Finance (as some have hinted) would further exacerbate this problem.

An early general election has also been criticized as being likely to add significantly to the fiscal deficit since elections are very expensive, especially if the last one is used as a model. But do elections really have to be so expensive? With CLICO no longer a big player in the financing of elections, that source for either party, but more especially the Governing party, will be gone and the parties, if a true snap election is called would not have the time to mobilise and engage in the full slate of very expensive trappings to elections that we have seen recently. They may just be relegated to old-time political meetings, house to house canvassing and perhaps getting the word out on the internet and the usual TV spots.

If a snap general election is fought on the basis of getting a new mandate to combat the serious problems in our country that were not to the fore when David Thompson got his mandate and to put new measures in place to save us from retrogressing to the status of a failed economy, I think that it would serve the country better than apparent reliance on an old mandate whose implementation was somewhat flawed over the past 3 years.

42. The DLP must NOT call a snap election.

Owin an company can spend the next three years planning how to fight the next election and how to create mega projects with mega cash floods.

43. David

Arthur has done an excellent job painting Mia into a corner
    You are closer to the ground than I am, but I think that Arthur is more on the defensive than Mia. He has been forced to respond to her accusations re voting irregularities within the Party and after observing the affection and respect she received from her supporters made a “peace offering” by saying the Party needs her. For once the Nation editorial writer got it right when he wrote that Mia will remain Arthur’s albatross.

Meanwhile his chief lieutenant GW Payne in speaking to the press announced that Arthur’s return as leader is a “breath of fresh air”.

My prediction is that at this time Mia will not accept any official role as an opposition critic but she will sit back and watch the gang of five implode as the rigours of opposition politics wear them down. Eventually the Party will turn to her and she will be able to dictate her terms.

44. @Sargeant

Becareful what you ask for.

Affection today disaffection tomorrow.

The key here is if a general election is called in short order of if Stuart goes the term.

The more time given to Arthur he has the time to exert influence by using the party machinery.

45. Will the political situation be the same when VAT is raised to 17%? Can the government avoid raising VAT without reducing spending?

46. If P.M Stuart starts any austerity measures to sure up the economy before he calls a general elections, he will be playing straight into Owen’s hands. The BLP would come will a viable alternative and the voting public will buy it because whether you DLP diehards like it or not Owen had to do it before and save Barbadian from their mistrust in the DLP. It seems P.M Stuart can find himself between a rock and a very hard place, maybe he’ll suffer the seem fate as Bree St.John.

47. PM Stuart has some extremely difficult choices to make and I really sympathize with him. However, if the history of inaction by this current Government is any indicator of what they are likely to do in the near future, I would guess that very little will be done. There will be no snap election. Mara will be nominated for and win the St John bye-election; Serious economic medicine will have to be taken by all of us. The BLP will regroup. The General Election 2 years from now will wipe out the DLP.

In all this there could have been a better way. The obvious talent residing in the DLP could have got a new 5 year mandate to do what is necessary to straighten out the economy absent the distractions of looking back at and being tied into David Thompson’s missteps over the past 3 years. In the first 2 years they could likely see a turnaround in the economy and then ensure that at the end of those five years they would be able to fight the BLP, toe to toe and win another mandate.

The BLP cannot carry Barbados forward in the current state of their internal strife and all Barbados knows this. They cannot win a quick snap election.

The DLP can do it but not by looking backwards.