George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

He loves me he loves not …

Dear Owen,

The above verse seeks to capture how I think you feel about me. You have never loved me. Your public utterances about your feelings towards me were always somewhat suspect. You left the public wondering what was it you really wanted to say. I was very hurt when you said back in October last year: “The BLP has a challenge and we have a situation where there’s not a contest for leadership within the party, but there is a problem in the wider Barbados society, where there is unacceptance and unacceptability of the present leader of the party. . . The challenge facing Ms Mottley and the party is not within the parliamentary group. The challenge is to have a leader who enjoys wide acceptance and acceptability in the wider society, and wide acceptance in the parliamentary party.”

You know how I feel about October, each year I celebrate my birthday in October and yet you choose that as your annual torment month. You have always tried to upset me on my birthday and it really hurts. I have worked in your camp from inception and never once sought to publicly betray your leadership. Today, I am a hurt woman. I hurt as a woman because the Men In Black have cast me aside. I feel as if you have no use for women in your life as you have all but treated my female parliamentary colleagues in much the same manner. You called my lifelong friend Elizabeth “cantankerous” and then publicly fired her. Dame Billie, the pride of the females in the Cabinet, was never taken seriously as you assigned her the role that would ensure she was never around. To cap it off, you then placed right outside her door, the former Assistant General Secretary of the Democratic Labour Party, Kerrie Symmonds. How could you do that knowing what Kerrie say about all of us? He once referred to us as 1000 pounds of blubber. You dropped him on us and as a faithful steward, I compiled. I know you never took Cynthia Forde seriously, so she would never have filled your eyes.

I cry at night as I lay my head down pondering on my next move. I have played the scenario over and over again and have just ended up with blanks. It is hard to get over how our relationship has been exposed to the public but I want you to know that day runs until night catches it. Your new found friendships with the Men In Black, I trust, will get you through the next two years as we face the task of attracting and securing the female vote. I know that in St Andrew, my female friends are very sympathetic towards my plight and have raised some questions. How is it that you silenced George Payne in Government and he is now speaking on your behalf? To Dale my beloved Deputy. I am forced to ponder upon the words of Julius Caesar as the knife was driven into his body …et tu Brutus. You have turned all of my male friends against me and it hurts. I was never married but I know now how it must feel to be horned.

As the Spanish would say…. Amor

Yours lovingly and Party faithful

Former Boss

29 responses to “He Loves Me He Loves Not …”

1. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

“I was never married but I know now how it must feel to be horned.”

Oh Lord, muh belly! Yuh mek Pearlie almost spit out de lil green tea I here putting in muh stomach. Don’t mek me dead wid laugh in here today. Murder!

Anyhow, I gine hey and wash up these wares and mind my business cos wedda she could tek a horn or not aint none uh my business bo.

2. LOL!!!!

3. Oh please, get off Mr. Arthur’s back now, post haste… This is pathetic. People are losing jobs; every two weeks that I go into the supermarket something has gone up by a few cents. Steupes.

4. It seems to me that if the BLP supporters think that something fishy went on or is going on, let them rise and march on Roebuck Street. Let them change things, if not wait until election time and throw out all the conspirators. If the people are unhappy do something, more action and less talk. In these days not even talk is cheap anymore.I fail to see why should I be concerned if Mia could not be bothered to save herself. Maybe Owen might have a point, maybe she was not up to the job, if she could so easily be blindsided. What I want to know is where was she when all this was going on. You cannot keep anything secret in Barbados for very long. If you see the skies black and you have clothes on the line, there is a good chance it is likely to rain, then you collect them. If not you are a fool. One could not call the talented Mia a fool, so where was her focus at the time? I am sorry to hear that she has been sidelined in such a fashion, but tears I shall not, nay will not shed. Mia, better luck next time, if not then clearly you were not ready for greatness.
    As to Owen, I wish the man all the luck in the world, however, he who live by the sword eventually dies at the hand of that cold steel. What the conspirators did to Mia, can now easily be done to you too Owen. Remember George is an old Combermere boy and they carry long memories. Remember the ten years he sat on his hands in Belleplane, today for Mia and tomorrow for you Owen. The die is cast and the clock ticking. Don’t forget you show Dale, Toppin and George how easy it is to be done. Mia all you have to do is sit this one out and watch how things unfold.
    HD

5. It will be interesting to observe the social media policy of the new* opposition. Under Mia the two Research Assistants of Henderson Bovell and Sylvan Greenidge had begun in recent times to combat the political speak of the DLP on BU. Now the DLP surrogates have been having it all their way.

Whither Bovell and Greenidge?

6. George Pilgrim
    It would be nice if you, H H, and WIV would keep quiet and wait for the events to unfold; things are not right in your camp either. Remember 2006 how Mascholl was removed from office? Remember when one of your now cabinet ministers was on Brass tacks blasting the now P.M and stating that he would never be part of a government under the same man? Where is he now? Remember remarks made by Kellman about the same P.M when they were only two blind mice in parliament? Remember the remarks made by the now acting P.M about the P.M when they were in opposition? Please Mr. Pilgrim, bajans no longer have short memories, they see politics in a different light and it is time you and HH move with the times, trying to make the BLP look bad is also reflecting on your party the DLP. It would be nice if you would keep quiet, watch how things unfold, but in the mean time get your house in order.

7. George Pilgrim submission maybe was said tongue in cheek as reference to Mia being cast aside by powerhungry men in the BLP.
    However most woman does not see the humour in the way she was treated by the egostitical over the hill worm Owen Arthur. Women who have been humiliated by men throught out their lives are not laughing one bit . Vote DLP!

8. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

Just received, my God what a wonderful person, May he rest in peace..

It is with tremendous and a heavy heart that I write to inform you of the death earlier this morning at 2.10 am of our beloved Prime Minister Mr David Thompson MP QC

Not a finer man has walked this earth, I am very saddened and I wish his wife Mara, his mother Margaret his children and his family and friends god’s comfort at this very troubling time in their lives.

May He Rest In Peace

So long buddy till we meet again.

9. We can only hope that mature heads will come together at the DLP parliamentary meeting scheduled for 6.30AM this morning. Put country first!

10. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Scout

Get a life!

11. To the Thompson Family & People of St. John be strong in your faith. May he rest in peace

12. Is there a plausible explanation why Estwick wore a red shirt at the parliamentary group meeting yesterday?

13. David.
    Perhaps because he is immature, quick tempered, short sighted and vindictive?
    That is what makes him an exciting political speaker and also it is what rules him out of serious leadership consideration.
    ….just confirms that David Thompson’s judgment was sound.

14. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Sicken my stomach tuh see he on my TV in a red shirt. Yes Estwick, time longa dan twine. You gine find out soon!

15. de man from st. phillip . he is a r.p.b. fan.

16. Politicians like David Estwick will feel the backlash for his behavior just watch and see.
    I was watching the news with a group of persons and spontaneously people said wait wha he doing with a red shirt on at this time.
    That is what politicians do not know about Barbadians .Barbadians are very perceptive.

17. The idiocy of it is that Estwick’s beef would have been with Thompson, he has a new leader now with the opportunity to turn a new slate.

18. Are you absolutely sure that Mr Estwick was at the parliamentary group meeting yesterday? An ardent DLP supporter has sworn to me that Mr Estwick was not at the meeting as he was out of the island! On reviewing pictures in the Advocate, Barbados Today and the Nation it is noticeable that Mr Estwick is not seen in any photo of those either at Government House or at George Street. There are 21 DLP members of parliament. If one omits the Speaker then the choice of PM is from 20 members. The report of the Sunday Sun on page 3a under the caption “Country mourns” states that 18 elected DLP MPs held a secret ballot to choose the Prime Minister. It has been stated that Mr Stephen Lashley is away. So was Mr Estwick really in attendance in a red shirt?

19. C C C
    You are so blinded that you don’t want to hear the truth. the DLP has problems in their camp, I believe that some members is eagerly awaiting the end of mourning to display their true colours. I hope it never happens because Owen and the BLP are at the starting line waiting for the gun to fire and many DLP candidates may be disqualified for running out of their lane.

20. Interesting to observe that Arthur waited to deliver the Opposition response but Mia went ahead and did her thing separately. It clearly shows the two factions are still warring.

21. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Ping Pong

I telling you as a fack, Estwick was in de pictures on de step at George Street after de meeting … in he red shirt! He was behind Esther Suckoo! Stanning up between Sinckler and Toddy. Pearlie got good eyes yuh know. Nutten doan miss Pearlie.

22. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

And effin wunnah think I lying, check Roy Mors paper. Page 30. Zoom in and see de runt in de red shirt stanning upm behind de pretty girl from Sin George. Time and twine, Estwick. Time and twine.
    http://www.barbadostoday.bb/Launch.aspx?referral=other&refresh=aE1940cC1Y2b&PBID=87ad6005-1972-4d63-92b0-8927eda53c7a&skip=

23. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Even Pearlie can’t believe it, but it true as John 3:16

24. True true true de dems got nuff problems on that side and Estwick ain’t the only one…I note that of all the PM’s Barbados has had Owen Arthur had the most women in his Cabinet….

25. Perlixin Pearlie Avatar
    Perlixin Pearlie

Rhea, you doan worry bout de Dems. Pearlie know good enuff wuh spin yuh bowlin. Worry bout de fack dat when Owen was writing he lil speech Satdeh morning tuh give a “single coordinated tribute” tuh Thompson, MM bong in pon de radio tuh speak from de heart and show ‘e up. She stick in ‘e old craw!! Study dah!

26. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

David, take my foolish advice. It’s time to remove this thread!

George Pilgrim must realize sooner or later that his type of Hartley Henry politics has been, and is being flushed down the toilets by right-thinking Barbadians. I regret that I had to go and up the counter on this thread, but it sickens me to still see it here.

27. “Right thinking Barbadians”

That phrase has been making its way into many a discussion recently and I wonder who determines “right thinking”? Can I get a handbook so I can follow the rules lest I get lost in a “wrong thinking” mode. If a handbook is not available please post the regulations otherwise the next knock on my door will be the “thought” Police coming to straighten me out.

28. Anonymous Numero Uno Avatar
    Anonymous Numero Uno

Since you raised the issue, and you seem concerned that you will “get lost in a “wrong thinking” mode”, maybe you can first give us your definition of “wrong thinking”, your normal thought mode!

But more to the point, what do you think of George’s and Hartley’s brand of politics?

29. I am puzzled and confused! What ‘tragic loss’ is Mr. Arthur talking about? There is no sign of loss on his face.
    Furthermore, how could he be telling Mr. Stuart about being his ‘own man’? Why didn’t he allow Mia to be her own woman and not expect her to follow his way of doing things? Also, what does Mia have about herself to ‘sort out”? This is an insult to her. Why didn’t he help her to do this before he betrayed her?
    Before, I didn’t, but i have more respect for Ms. Mottley than ever before. For Mr. Arthur and his four cohorts, Conference time will tell who needs ‘sorting’ out.