George Pilgrim, General Secretary, Democratic Labour Party

George Arthur and Owen Payne have been politically reunited to a point where we are not sure which name they carry. We know for sure in that combination there is no love for Mia. No matter how we spin it the results will be the same. If we go Owen Arthur and George Payne it gets worst. We can say that the most defining aspect of the last couple months of  Mia Mottley’s stewardship  was that she has learnt  her lesson.  You can be guaranteed that there will no photos ops with the likes of Payne, Mottely and Arthur. Mottley will seek out the soft political issues and rally her most faithful soldiers ..oops soldier, Cynthia Forde.

On the last weekend of October 2010 Mia will find herself staring  down the face of a political barrel as she attempts to wrestle control of the Party from George Arthur and Owen Payne. These two men from the north understand what politics is all about and intend to deliver lesson 101 in Politics of Survival. We have been reliably informed that the upcoming Annual Conference of the Barbados Labour Party has been dubbed  B Day  in the  political life of the boss lady.   The litmus test regarding leadership will be explored as member after member will voice their disapproval at Mia’s performance by voting with the Coalition  Movement  against  Mia  spear headed by George Arthur and Owen Payne.  It is clear to Northern guys that coalition arrangements have their advantages when the bigger picture is at stake. In this picture there is no room for Mia.

Mia’s attempt to become chairman of the Party is in response to her poor showing at the 2010 Nation Newspaper poll coupled with the fact she has discovered where true political power lies. The Union of the North did not happen by accident. Mia’s strategy over the last two years of criticizing for the sake of criticizing has fallen flat. Over that period her political capital has been eroded and she finds herself having to return to base, the membership.

By a carefully crafted plan Owen was able to divide and conquer the elements within his party to facilitate his eventual break and return to leadership of the Party. He made Mia his Deputy  and exposed her to all the elements within and outside. He let her stew at times within raging public debates and came after the damage  was done and appealed for calm. During the entire period in office he did everything to make sure his current boss left a stain on the political landscape. For Mia the most difficult obstacle yet to conquer is to know when you don’t know that you don’t know. She now has the dubious record of failing in Education, disaster in Culture, never understood Economic Affairs and now as Opposition leader mastered the art of  getting good at doing things badly.

In Opposition ,  Owen has continued his assault on the boss lady and contributed to her demise by distancing himself from the platform strategy of staying on message. He made sure he went toe to toe with her in terms of  front page Nation stories and once again tried to show her up. She claimed that he is free to roam as an Opposition Member of Parliament but all he did was to behave like a spoilt child during the entire  period. Somehow Owen  believes that a crack is beginning to appear in the armour of the DLP and everything is wrong inside the BLP and in our country …YEAH RIGHT!!!   Can you imagine Owen speaking to an issue of Prime Ministerial power and its abuses. Wait ..Wait is this the same Owen that blast ordinary Barbadians from the floor of Parliament? Is this the same Owen who introduced Parliament to negrocrat?   This is the same guy who fired Elizabeth Thompson in Bay Street?  Oh please!!! Owen keep your war with Mia  within the walls  of your Roebuck Street compound.

The Democratic Labour Party unlike the negative focus of the Opposition has its sights set on securing a better quality of life for all Barbadians. We are NOT varying off our course on delivering on the goods and services as outlined in our Manifesto. We urge the George Arthurs’, Owen Paynes’ and Mias’ to put people first and not themselves.

86 responses to “B-Day for Mia”

1. Well Charlie did call for the propaganda mill to be turned on!

2. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

Should what Mr Pilgrim is speaking about is true it seems to me that the BLP will suffer some melt down or better yet Ms Mottley will loose some weight and some sleepless nights as the short one crawls all over her.

The question must be will Ms Mottley have the Balls after she is plucked for the pinnacle of her desires to continue to serve Mr Arthur in a junior role to he, Dale Marshall and George Payne in a cabinet in 2028 ?

If the BLP run true to old form she will stick her tail between her legs and say yes sir and no sir to her bosses, she is made of straw and can be blown from here there and yonder and make no meaningful effort anywhere.

She is loud mouth lout and will pay very dearly for the sins of her sadly lacking morals, and no amount of help this time from momma and poppa will save here from the greed of the short man.

3. One would never have thought 2 years out from a constitutionally due election both parties would be ‘dogged’ by the leadership question. A key factor then will be which party can settle this issue first.

4. Opposition is at sea Avatar
    Opposition is at sea

Will Mottley stick around once she is removed from her post and play will she play the game from third man in the background of who really is running things within the BLP ?

5. Dear Hartley Henry AKA Opposition is at sea:

When are you going to learn how to write s simple sentence?

I still can’t believe that you get paid $200,000 of the taxpayers money to write articles which would embarrass a class 2 teacher.

6. David wrote “The Democratic Labour Party unlike the negative focus of the Opposition has its sights set on securing a better quality of life for all Barbadians. WE are not varying off our course on delivering on the goods and services as outlined in our Manifesto”

Wait David, you campaigning for the DLP now? Or is that “WE” a royal we?

And wha’ happen that you and your soulmate Hartley are not sleeping at 2 and 3 in the monrning?

De 2 ‘o wunna kill a priest?

7. @J

Thought it was clear the article was written by George Pilgrim.

8. Cuthbert Canecutter Avatar
    Cuthbert Canecutter

I notice Pilgrim does not refer to the dissent in his own ranks – where Estwick was ready to hold Press Conferences twice over his repositioning from Economic Affairs to Agriculture, and then his own sop to himself that “TIME LONGER THAN TWINE” – wow, what a vicious bastard! Freundel himself but waiting for the coroner to make official what rumor mills have been hinting for days now so he can rush to Sir Clifford and create a new Party after Sinckler’s ‘promotion,’ which was not even praise but a parting shot of throwing a newbie to the Deep End.

As for the BLP? Everyone chooses to forget, including Owen and George Payne – when Payne threatened Roy Morris at the Nation on Official Letterhead and with one stroke of the pen, Arthur makes GWP from Housing Min-cum-acting AG to a little backbencher just so! Payne has no love for the Media either – so how he can run for Party Chairman I just cannot understand! He cussed poor Vere Walcott in 2003 about land slippage and apologised only when he realised CBC had the footage – what a sore loser! If it was the USA he’d have been a has-been worse than Howard Dean’s scream!

Do you really want dictatorial OSA messing up the country again? A man who horns his own wife with his secretary and celebrates his adultery by officiating his unfaithfulness on National TV? The illegitimate child was conceived while he was still married to Beverley! Pays her off with massive cash and a mansion to keep quiet… OMG! Orders David Simmons to suppress stories on the St George Post Office on CBC by threatening to destroy the TV station with bombs delivered by Task Force officers? What a leader!

So far, Mia is not operating on the basis of who you vote for and verifying if you indeed cast your ballot (it can be traced, I should know), she will let you know up front if total or partial assistance can be granted to your plight no matter how huge or minuscule… Barbados has to accept at the end of the day, with all her astuteness, tact and insight? Mia Amor Mottley WILL be the next Prime Minister of Barbados!

9. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

J

For a person who don’t vote party, you are always ready to rush to the defense of the BLP and to lambast DLP spokepersons.

You are not fooling me.

10. Carson C
    Nor me neitha but hey……………………dis is a democracy. (but she always proclaimin dat, ‘I am neitha D nor B)stupseeee. We kno betta but hey……………………..
    Mawnin sugga.

11. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Morning Bonny

12. But David I know George Pilgrim personnally and very well and that is not his speaking or writing style.

13. @J

If you know him why don’t you give him a call.

@all

The upcoming BLP conference is crucial for Mia. If she comes out relatively unscathed she will have a clear run with only the DLP to overcome.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

DAVID

“with only the DLP to overcome.”
    that is a mountain she will not scale!

She will be battered. It will also give me a chance to use my election slogan.

15. @Saint Carson

“She will be battered. It will also give me a chance to use my election slogan.”

I had a feeling you are an abuser and you have now admitted to that. YOU WOMAN BEATER !!

16. Not that Mia is not competent, she is very competent. BUT……I don’t believe that she is electable as PM because of certain rumours and displayed behavioural patterns. I do not think Bajans will vote for her to become PM. This, inevitably, will/may impact on her party and its chances – but I could be wrong. However, if I were a member of the BLP heirarchy, I would not be really comfortable with the possibility. By the way, I am neither B nor D.

@J. In the main, I tend to agree with you.

I also believe that we are likely now to be subjected to a lot of blog campaigns that come directly from the spin doctors of the respective parties.

What I find particularly distasteful is the way that certain BLP commentators are attempting to take over the role of God and put the PM in the grave. May God and he confound them.

17. With the “percieved” leadership issues in the DLP as cover, now is as good a time as any for Owen to make his move.

18. The DLP will love Owen to come back as party leader so there can have a field day on him and the BLP just like they did in the 2007-08 election.

But let me tell you all now, don’t hold your breath and that. The BLP is looking far into the future.

19. @Royalrumble

Can you explain how the leader of the opposition is selected?

Can you explain how the Chairman of the party is selected and his/her role?

Can you explain the strategic advantage of the Leader of the Opposition holding both offices?

20. Knight of the Long Knives Avatar
    Knight of the Long Knives

What happened at the St. George post office???

21. Based on the DLP’s report card to date, and once Mia is removed from the leadership post of the BLP, it will be clear sailing for the BLP to return to office next election. The DLP would have to do extraodinarily well for the balance of their term in order to retain the government, and I don’t see that happening.

22. @ Islandgal246
    Am I right that CCC said something about “battering Mia with his erection something or other….!!!?

23. @ Islandgal246
    Sorry, I seemed to have mis-read CCC. He said it will have a chance to use his erection on Mia or something to that effect. My eyes may not be working too well today. Correct me if I am wrong, hon.

24. Sorry for the delay David. Hope this helps.

The Leader of the Opposition is selected from among the elected members of Parliament by the elected members of parliament.

The Chairman is elected by the delegates attending the Party’s annual conference which is considered the supreme organ of the Party. The Chairman is the administrative head of the Party and presides over the overall functioning of the Party. There is a convention in the BLP that the office of the Political Leader and Chairman is held by one and the same person when readying the Party for a general election, whether imminent or otherwise.

There are some important functions imbedded in the structure and manner in which the BLP conducts and executes its election plan that makes the convention of the Party a critical undertaken. With the exception of the 2008 General Election the BLP has always permitted the office of the political Leader and that of the Party Chairman to be held by the same person.

25. @ David
    I would like to know if you can say whether it is true (from historical/statistical data) that the BLP had to rescue this country from the very brink of economic disaster in 1976 and 1994 and may very well have to come to the rescue pretty soon once more? If not you, perhaps, some of the older/wiser bloggers on BU might remember and could enlighten us.

26. Thanks Rumble

Assuming that the term is 2 years for the Chairman that of course takes the person holding office into the next election gearing period. Has it been declared if Mia Mottley is interested in taking over from Payne? Our interest we should declare is arising from Payne’s recent public statement stating his interest to serve 2 terms.

27. The Chairman of the Party shall serve a maximun of three terms.

Ms. Mottley has serve notice on the Party that she is ready to assume chairmanship of the Party.

28. @de hood

Here is what we know, the DLP made up the government in 73 which saw a severe oil crisis that crippled economies around the world. Again we had the Gulf crisis in the 90s. What is historically known is that governments who govern during hard times usually fall out of favour with the electorate. You draw your conclusions.

In might explain why Mia has indicated her interest in taking the Chairmanship of the party. Now is the time.

29. david what happens to your post when you accidently submit it without an email address?

30. It doesn’t get to WordPress. Try hitting the back arrow on the browser.

We turned on the required Name and Email feature to eliminate the tons of Anonymous comments which were confusing everyone. Unfortunately WP links the required name and email fields.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

de hood

Are you blind in one eye and can not see out of the other?

Or are you just plain illiterate?

32. @de hood

ROFLMAO ah crying now wid laughter.

You have to get some specs De Hood, at first glance yuh wud tink it was errection Saint Carson was tawking bout. But go closer to the screen and see that it was not an errection he was talking bout. LOLLLLLLLLLLL only on BU yuh does lafff till yuh cry!

33. @ CCC
    Now, Sir, and just what would you expect of someone who only attended school in August and that was not too often. Of course, that is, in addition to my being dyslexic, differently-abled and a bit addle-pated!

34. @ Islandgal246,
    OK, hun, I’ll take your your word for it that he said election and not Erection. I was kinda worried (curious?) how he was intending to use de erection on Mia! That would have to be a lotta building! 🙂

35. @ David

Thanks, David. OK, so as you confirmed, it is a fact then?

36. I think the BLP organization will do what they always do, which is to do what is marketable even if it is not what they really want. To this end I think they will give the chairmanship to Mia Mottley. I am sure Mia would have canvass support to effect such an outcome rather than go in blindly hoping for the best. The latest poll says that Arthur’s popularity is down so he may feel the need to make a stance or support Mia, and continue to work behind the scenes to undermind her.

37. @Royalrumble. Wha happen to you? I thought you were an Owen Arthur supporter for life over and above loyalty for the party.

Are you the same RoyalRumble who wrote on BFP,”Owen Seymore Arthur Prime Minister for life and Father of First world Barbados?”
    I thought you would be an Arthur loyalist for life even your prediction during the last campaign failed.

If MIA got you in she corner she is in good hands but it too early to start campaigning. Please doan cuss muh tummuch. Uh already in trouble wid Dr. GP.

Anyway RR, I is still de same igrunt DLP supporter you cuss when I nuessez to blog on BFP but uh glad yuh supportin MIA.

38. Cuthbert Canecutter
    You are full of shit

you people in the DLP fooled the people in 2008 with LIES and DECEPTION
    That will not work again !
    DLP -DOOMED !

ONE TERM !
    ONE TERM!
    ONE TERM!
    ONE BAD TERM DOES NOT DESERVE ANOTHER !
    HARTLEY HENRY IS THE PRIME MINISTER OF BARBADOS—Wuhloss ! not that he is not capable of doing the job but he was not elected to a seat in the elections 2008
    but wait ! Is he preparing to run for a seat in a by-election if that happens ?

39. If Bajans allow rumors about MAM to stop them from voting for the BLP with MAM AS Leader of the Party in the next election (coming soon) , they would be foolish enough, I tell yuh !
    Bajans would be wrong too and would be the ‘laffing’ stock of the C’bean. Rumors about Dame Eugenia did not stop her from attaining PMship.

Away with the crap about MAM. MAM is capable.

Having said that let me add that –
    I LOVE OWEN ARTHUR !
    but it is one or the other
    and I will have no quarrel because at this stage we need the BLP more than ever
    and as long as we are rid of the inept DLP,
    Its will be -ONE LOVE , ONE HEART –LETS GET TOGETHER
    AND FEEL ALL-RIGHT (Bob MARLEY singing on the radio right now-how appropriate as I was writing)
    As it was in the beginning, so shall it be in the end
    LETS GET TOGETHER AND FEEL ALL-RIGHT

40. It looks like the DLP people who up to now had more aggressively pushed its agenda on BU have been crowed out. Interesting, can we read anything into it?

41. One thing that is sure and that is George Pilgrim is no match for Mia. However, as a St.Thomas man, he has a fair amount of respect although not enough to win a seat against Cynthia Forde.Mia will always hold a pick in the BLP unless she plans to cross the floor.
    She can give Juck fa Juck on either side of the playing field. As it relates to beating, and other founded or unfounded allegations I say Let sleeping dogs lie- until such time when she says to someone “Beat it!”

42. Crowded out and no more ?
    It is Licks like peas !
    From now till the next election and thereafter
    Having said that though, I would like to see more unity but that is something of an impossibility given the collective mentality of the DLP.

Michael Lashley and David Estwick should have no difficulty in functioning in a soon to be future BLP administration.
    Wait a minute ! Is this another prediction from MYA—KISSMYA

‘I love you KISSMYA—Keep up the good work’ -(just in from a secret admirer to me KISSMYA) ACTUALLY FROM ME TO ME –I AM MY BIGGEST ADMIRER

43. David; you asked “It looks like the DLP people who up to now had more aggressively pushed its agenda on BU have been crowed out. Interesting, can we read anything into it?”

I’m reading something into it. I think its just a temporary pull back as the guys and gals who normally comment in an authoritative manner, eg. Wishing in Vain, have their hands full in dealing with various aspects of the current situation. I think, by their silence on the “David Thompson – Coma” rumour that they are essentially admitting that it is true. If that is the case they do not have time to deal with less important matters on this blog now. They have to try to get the Party members to speak in one voice – not an easy task as some have already begun to speak out. They have to control the release of information. They have to ensure that the wishes of David Thompson’s family coincides with the party’s imperatives. They have to ensure that any position put to the GG is likely to stand. They have to assuage the older members of the party. etc. etc.

Not an easy time, either for the DLP or the BLP which has to solve their own leadership problems by getting Arthur to rein in his possible leadership drive. For putting him at the helm of the party at this time might lead to the possibility of the BLP being well beaten in the next elections despite whatever the recent HH-Cadres leadership poll showed

44. Island gal we know Owen to have had plenty erections all around this island the appearance of unknown children is proof of those erection, on the other hand we all know that Mottley has no love and does not speak to erections of any type.
    Her style is when holding a place of authority, was to dispense her kind of loving on unsuspecting young ladies in exchange for their work permits,

A very disgusting beast she is. Sickly and sad she is.

45. Island gal we know Owen to have had plenty erections all around this island the appearance of unknown children is proof of those erection, on the other hand we all know that Mottley has no love and does not speak to erections of any type.
    Her style is when holding a place of authority, was to dispense her kind of loving on unsuspecting young ladies in exchange for their work permits,
    Sad sad sad

A very disgusting beast she is. Sickly and sad she is.

46. @blp is corrupt

Wunna men does always want to inspect udder people underwear. Check yuh own first to see that yuh aint got shoite in it!

47. Did as you asked but found nothing, LOL, but you will agree with me on both counts re Mottley and Owen it aint good, is It?

48. @David,
    The front line DLP bloggers are focused on helping the party in these very difficult times.

I am sure they will be back in the near future.

It is good to see the BLP campaigning early.They seem to be planning some kind a cou cou ting.

49. The Nation version of the Advocate’s and BU’s article, chalk and cheese.

DLP COLUMN:

B-Day for Mia

Fri, October 08, 2010 – 12:05 AM
    GEORGE ARTHUR and Owen Payne have been politically reunited to a point where we are not sure which name they carry. We know for sure in that combination there is no love for Mia. No matter how we spin it the results will be the same. If we go Owen Arthur and George Payne it gets worst.

We can say that the most defining aspect of the last couple months of Mia Mottley’s stewardship was that she has learnt her lesson. You can be guaranteed that there will be no photo ops with the likes of Payne, Mottley and Arthur. Mottley will seek out the soft political issues and rally her most faithful soldiers . . .oops, soldier Cynthia Forde.

On the last weekend of October, Mia will find herself staring down the face of a political barrel as she attempts to wrestle control of the party from George Arthur and Owen Payne. These two men from the north understand what politics is all about and intend to deliver lesson 101 in politics of survival.

The litmus test regarding leadership will be explored at the upcoming annual conference of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) as member after member will voice their disapproval at Mia’s performance by voting with the coalition movement against Mia spearheaded by George Arthur and Owen Payne.

Mia’s attempt to become chairman of the party is in response to her poor showing in the NATION/CADRES Poll coupled with the facts.

By a carefully crafted plan, Owen was able to divide and conquer the elements within his party to facilitate his eventual break and return to leadership of the party. He made Mia his deputy and exposed her to all the elements within and outside. He let her stew at times within raging public debates and came after the damage was done and appealed for calm.

During the entire period in office he did everything to make sure his current boss left a stain on the political landscape. For Mia the most difficult obstacle yet to conquer is to know when you don’t know that you don’t know. She now has the dubious record of failing in Education, a disaster in Culture, never understood Economic Affairs and now as Opposition Leader mastered the art of getting good at doing things badly.

In Opposition, Owen has continued his assault on the boss lady and contributed to her demise by distancing himself from the platform strategy of staying on message. She claimed that he is free to roam as an Opposition Member of Parliament but all he did was to behave like a spoilt child during the entire period.

Can you imagine Owen speaking to an issue of Prime Ministerial power and its abuses? Wait, is this the same Owen that blasted ordinary Barbadians from the floor of Parliament? This is the same guy who fired Elizabeth Thompson in Bay Street?

Oh please, Owen keep your war with Mia within the walls of your Roebuck Street compound.

The Democratic Labour Party, unlike the negative focus of the Opposition, has its sights set on securing a better quality of life for all Barbadians.

We are not varying off our course in delivering on the goods and services as outlined in our manifesto. We urge the George Arthurs, Owen Paynes and Mias, to put people first and not themselves.

50. Look like cat’s piss and pepper in the BLP camp now starting up, I TOLD YOU SO.

Move on Mia

Opposition leader Mia Mottley
    By WADE GIBBONS | Sun, October 10, 2010 – 12:10 AM
    A PLOT seeking to prevent Opposition Leader Mia Mottley from winning her bid to be chairman of the Barbados Labour Party (BLP) at the party’s annual general conference this monthend has been unearthed.

And those seeking to influence the chairmanship outcome have targeted the St James North branch of MP Rawle Eastmond as one avenue to influence the vote. Eastmond’s branch has been described as a certain supporter of Mottley’s bid for the three-year term of office. St Andrew MP George Payne will be seeking to retain chairmanship of the party at the October 29 to 31 conference.

SUNDAY SUN investigations revealed that 560 people were recruited into the St James North branch and 56 delegates chosen to represent the branch at the conference without Eastmond’s knowledge. That list of delegates did not include Eastmond’s branch president, secretary or treasurer.

Speaking exclusively yesterday to the SUNDAY SUN, Eastmond revealed that the plot had been uncovered and had been dealt with.

He said that on October 5 he received information that a list of St James North delegates for the BLP’s annual general conference had been submitted.

He added that when he checked, the executive of his branch had not prepared the list in question nor authorised or delegated anyone to prepare such a list.

“The list left off the president, the secretary, and other officers from the executive, as well as long-standing members who have been delegates at conferences for 30 to 40 years.

“The upshot is that the executive did meet afterwards and went through that list and rejected it on the grounds that it had not been cleared with the executive,” he said.

Eastmond added it was recognised that the purpose of the list was to angle votes in a particular direction at the imminent BLP annual conference. He said the St James North list that went into the BLP’s general secretary Cynthia Forde on September 30 did not originate in St James North.

“Historically battles for nominations and for positions in parties are often witnessed by the joining of forces loyal to those who joined them up, with one aim, and that is to secure votes for the persons who pay to join them up,” he said, adding he got the information in time to correct the situation.

Eastmond lamented what had happened and said people who would have been automatically chosen in his branch were deliberately left out because they were perceived to be more loyal to him than aspirants “seeking office at the party conference”.

According to the BLP’s constitution, every ten registered members of a branch entitles that branch to one delegate. Indications are that at least two rural constituencies and one St Michael riding have shown a recent upsurge in membership recruitment.

Yesterday, Mottley told the SUNDAY SUN she was “horrified” that anyone would try to bypass the legitimately elected branch executive – and the MP – to submit a delegates list.

“I will not be involved in any skulduggery. This is a matter for the national council of the party to resolve,” she said.

Yesterday, Payne said he did not usually discuss internal party matters with the media but stressed he was the BLP’s chairman and he was not aware of anyone else who had publicly indicated an interest in challenging him for that position.

At a St Andrew branch meeting at the Ermy Bourne Centre on September 26, Payne said that despite the tradition of the leader of the party and the chairman being the same person heading into an election, the 2008 general election saw Owen Arthur being leader of the BLP and Dame Billie Miller being the chairman.