Tyler Clementi

The topic of homosexuality continues to fascinate the BU household. It is a matter which Barbadians continue to skirt but one which we as a country will have to grapple with sooner than we think. Yesterday as we did our routine scanning of the news, three stories caught our attention.

A young man who served with distinction in the US military but did so under the hypocritical policy of ‘Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell’ finally succumbed to his conscience to go public about his sexual orientation and has paid the ultimate price. He had to leave the military service compromising his financial security in the process – Read NPR Report.

The second news report highlighted the action of an anti-gay Church which has gained nationwide attention for protesting loudly at funerals of U.S. service members, denouncing homosexuality. The matter has given cause for concern in Kansas because of the anxiety being caused to grieving families. A funeral was always thought to be a time and place to extend reverence – Read CNN Report.

The third and final report resonated the most. Last month Tyler Clementi, a 22 year old young man committed suicide because his roommates at Rutgers University, Dharun Ravi, and friend Molly Wei betrayed his privacy by live-streaming Clementi in a sexual encounter with another male student without his knowledge. Eyewitnesses narrate how Clementi jumped off the George Washington Bridge, which connects New Jersey with upper Manhattan – Read CBS Report.

The three reports clearly identify the victims. Even a homophobe may concede that Clementi, Woods, the former military officer or grieving families in Kansas should not have to suffer such persecution.

BU has read possibly all the arguments for and against homosexuality. Do a search of BU archives using the word ‘homosexuality’ to read several blogs on the subject. How our societies adjust to integrating homosexuality with the traditional lifestyle continues to be a painful work in progress.

An interesting discussion point arising from the Clementi story is to question why a young homosexual male would commit suicide because having sex with his partner was made public. We can stretch the scenario, if the incident were heterosexual in nature  would Clementi have felt the same societal pressure to take his own life? We think not! Obviously a sense of insecurity existed in the mind of Clementi. What makes this observation interesting is the fact the tragedy of Clementi’s suicide occurred in New Jersey, USA!

Barbados in our estimation is some years behind the USA regarding the issue of homosexuality. If a young homosexual in a liberal USA in the year 2010 would be driven to suicide because he was ‘outted’, draw your conclusions when we consider that Barbados is often labelled a God fearing and conservative society.

112 responses to “Understanding the Phobia In Homo”

1. @J,
    ever heard about a dwb. Well in Canada you can get stopped by a Police officer for that, an I does drive a car dat mek me suspect.

2. Hants
    wah is a dwb? seeing dat de topic is bout homos. does dwb stan for ‘drivin-while-bullin’? I serious. Not a smile pun my face. 🙂

3. @ Hants and Bonny

Like Bonny, I did wundering all night in muh bed what DWB mean. Driving Wid buller? LOLLLLLLLL

4. Bonny peppa you are amazing. However yuh boy Hants does only eat bacon so I would be driving straight.
    DWB means Driving While Black North America.

In 1995, Drummond was accosted by two Toronto Police officers in what the officers described as a “high-risk takedown”, but which was characterized by outside observers as a racial profiling assault as there was no evidence that Drummond had done anything besides driving while black. The allegation of police misconduct was one of several which contributed to a wildcat strike by police officers in the summer of 1995; current Toronto police chief Bill Blair, a supporter of community policing models, was assigned to head the affected police division in response to the strike. The incident also reportedly contributed to Drummond’s own decision to move from a technical to an on-air journalist’s role with Citytv.”

5. Hants
    Ya had ma day at firs ya. dwb!!!!! now i undastan.
    You only eat bacon? wah happen wid pork? fresh, touch or stale, all pork does be rale swoiteeeeeeeeeeee. An doan tawk bout de juiceeeeeeeee.
    Ya tu smart.

6. Eighty policemen injured in anti-gay protests in Serbia. Who are the Serbs? How could they do such a thing? Isn’t it the 21st Century?

7. David the Serbs are a bunch of ignartant, racist, sexist, religious bigots. Mekkin’ trouble in that part of Europe for a long time. The Serbs can always find somone to hate. They are a hateful people.

8. This a tea party candidate, lets read what he had to say to children yesterday. Took balls that’s for sure.

Paladino: Homosexuality Not ‘Successful Option’

Monday, October 11, 2010

New York Republican gubernatorial candidate Carl Paladino said on Sunday that homosexuality is not a "successful option" for humanity.

Speaking before a group of ultra-Orthodox Jewish leaders in Brooklyn, Paladino said in his view it’s wrong to brainwash children into accepting homosexuality as a viable option to heterosexuality.

"I just think my children and your children would be much better off and much more successful getting married and raising a family," Paladino said. "And I don’t want them to get brainwashed into thinking homosexuality is an equally valid or successful option," he said, according to The New York Times.

Full Article

9. Dear David:

Of course it is better for our children to get married and raise a family IF they are heterosexual. Nobody is suggesting that heterosexuals should become homosexuals. But if our son or our daughter is homosexual I’d beg them please NOT TO MARRY a heterosexual. Because if they do they will just bring grief to some unfortunate heterosexual spouse. I’ve seen it happen in my own family David and it is heartbreaking for the heterosexual spouse. I’d advise those Ultha Orthodox children not to be misled by Carl Paladino.

And has Mr. Paladino considered that nature (I won’t say God less I offend the fundamentalist religious people) but has Mr. Paladino considered that nature permits a certain number of homosexuals because in the days before artificial contraception having a certain number of homosexuals in a population helped to put a natural brake on population growth.

Nature (or God if I can say so without offending the fundamentalist religious people) knows exactly what it/he/she is doing.

10. Ammmmmm, I thought the anus was a one way. EXIT ONLY!!!!

11. Just desire to say your article is as astounding.
    The clarity on your put up is just cool and i can think you’re
    knowledgeable on this subject. Well with your permission allow
    me to clutch your RSS feed to stay up to date with imminent post.
    Thanks 1,000,000 and please keep up the rewarding work.