Submitted by Yardbroom

Opposition Leader Mia Mottley

Chance and circumstance are often fore-runners of the unexpected.  I must confess to often saying what some don’t want to hear. Before the last election I wrote the DLP would win by a landslide and was thus accused of being a dreaming DLP supporter. No! I try to write with balance of what I see and perceive before me.  We can refuse to beat the drum but that does not mean we cannot hear its drumming.

“Mini Timi Mun Komal”

I will explain later in this submission what the above translates to in English, when it was said, and by whom.

In this male dominated society some women have to work twice, even three times as hard as men to achieve the same outcome, it would be nice if it were not so, but alas it is.  Intellectual brilliance, integrity and ambition are often not enough to succeed.  Like many black people in various endeavours, when they turn the corner to success there is always another hill to climb.  For those women who seek the highest office in the land, dependent on public affirmation even by proxy. . . the task is no less daunting.

It is not that there are no examples or role models to follow, some of them very formidable indeed.  On July 17, 1954 was born Angela Kasner.  “In 1977 she married a student Ulrich Merkel, the marriage ended in divorce in 1982.  Her current husband is a quantum chemist and Professor Joachim Sauer, she has no children but Sauer has two adult children by a previous marriage.”

Angela Merkel is now Chancellor of Germany, she assumed that office on 22 November 2005 and is certainly one of the most powerful women in the European Union.  In addition to being the first female Chancellor of Germany, in 2007 she became the second woman to chair the G8 after Margaret Thatcher of the UK.

“Julia Gillard was born in Barry, Wales UK, in 1961, she migrated to Australia with her parents in 1966, and grew up in Adelaide.”  Are there any clues, hints even, she has a background in law being first a solicitor, later becoming a partner in the practice of Slater and Gordon.  She is the leader of the Australian Labour Party and holds a majority with the support of 3 independents and 1 Green.  I could easily go into how Mr. Rudd her predecessor was displaced but that is not the purpose of this submission.  I would only add that in displacing him she said:

“that a good government was losing its way”

She certainly is no blushing rose in the corner waiting for acclaim.  Miss Gilliard has no children, leading to comments from a conservative opponent in 2007, she had remained:

“deliberately barren” for the sake of her career.

Just one of the epithets some female politicians of talent have to endure when seeking high office.  She shares a house with her partner Tim Mathienson.  “Deliberately barren” or not she is now the Prime Minister of Australia.

I promised you to return later in this submission to:  “Minn timi mun komal”.  Johanna Siguroardottir was born on the 4th October 1942 in Iceland, she has been a member of Iceland’s Parliament since 1978.  She married Porvaldur Steinar Johannesson in 1970 and the couple had two sons, they later divorced.  “She then joined in a civil union with Jonina Leosdottir in 2002. Johanna and Jonina changed the civil union into marriage, thus becoming one of the first same-sex married couples in Iceland.”

In the 1990s when Johanna Siguroardottir lost in a bid to head the party, she lifted her fist and declared:

“Mini Timi Mun Komal”  it translates into English as: My Time Will Come.

On the 1st February 2009 she became Iceland’s first female Prime Minister.  When the tide turns; it turns and then becomes unstoppable.  I venture now to ask, has it turned in Barbados.

With acknowledgements for references to: Prime Ministers Web site Australia and Wikipedia.

48 responses to “Has The Tide Turned For A Female Prime Minister In Barbados?”

1. I am not sure you can speak of the tide turning.

Golda Meir and Indira Ghandi came to mind as previous examples.

Indira Ghandi had children who also went into politics.

Golda Meir had none.

Wikipedia does say she underwent an abortion because she felt “her Zionist obligations simply did not leave room for a child”.

Motherhood is a fulltime job, 24/7, not 9 to 5.

Here are other examples of women PM’s between 1945 and 2010.

http://terra.es/personal2/monolith/00women3.htm

The simple fact is that ability does matter in life and with it insuperable barriers can be breached.

With ability usually comes the capacity to work while others sleep.

Sex (as in male/female) then doesn’t matter.

If you want to really appreciate the strides women have made, read about the Suffragettes.

Until after the first world war, women could not vote in the UK and USA.

Rudyard Kipling’s poem of 1911 sums it up!!

http://www.bollywoodsargam.com/video_todayfeaturedvideo.php?blockbustermovieclip=pdGrZUnjPbU—-%22The_Female_of_the_Species%22_by_Rudyard_Kipling_(poetry_reading)_featured_hollywood_blockbuster_video.html

2. Hi John,
    The “turn” of the tide was not a reference to women becoming leaders alone. Inherent in that statement were other considerations “perhaps more important”, thus the reasons for giving the family background of those “current leaders”, something that is not usually necessary.

It is what is inherent in that “contemporary turn” that really matters in the submission.

3. The fact of the matter remains, Barbados has yet to see a female leader in the top position. At the same time, there is precedent in various nations history as to the efficacy of women in power— with or without children.
    It is their own choice.
    *Now, as a Canadian-born-Bajan, I am finding myself with the desire to learn of my heritage and the history of our proud little home. Barbados has been a leader in the West Indies when if comes to the progress of the people, historically speaking. Though young, this nation still needs to make strides to continue moving forward, rather than become stagnant remaining in the status quo.
    All we can from the outside is pray and hope for the best.
    Thank you.

4. Dear Yardbroom:

I hope that the tide has turned or will turn soon.

I don’t care whether the Prime Minister is female or male, gay or straight, black or white, Christian or not. I want a Prime Minister who acts in the best interest of Barbados.

Dear John: Nothwithstanding that you believe that motherhood is a full time job, here we are on the job and the children are elsewhere. Somebody has to pay the rent or mortgage, buy the groceries, pay the children’s lodging while they are at university etc. and in a lot of families it is the mother who does these things. My little Johnnies would not have a master’s degrees if we waited on daddy. Maybe it shouldn’t be so but all of us have to live in this imperfect but real world.

I hope to live to see the day when the tide turn turns and MP’s and PM’s are selected on merit and only on merit.

5. It matters not in the least who becomes Prime Minister or Prime Ministress. For they’re all n the same.

6. We did more dan reddy, it is only de political parties dint reddy! Time to get some a dem menfolk outta de house. We need some more brave women. Bye de way, Bonny why yuh doan run for office yuh gine get my vote.

7. @Bonny Peppa: “It matters not in the least who becomes Prime Minister or Prime Ministress. For they’re all n the same.

That is rather a defeatist’s POV, IMHO…

Elected officials are (or, at least, should be) servants to the people who elected them.

Absolutely no disrespect intended with my use of the word servant. I know this is a loaded word here in Bim and elsewhere.

But unless (and until) the “consumer” demands fulfilment of the promised service from the “provider”, nothing will change.

8. @Chris

You have touched on a good point which accords with our observation. Many Barbadians seem to have tossed in the towel regarding seeing change to the system. Not sure if it has anything to do with gender.

If Barbadians need a kick in the rear end about the power of the people the tea party movement and their projected impact on mid terms is most relevant.

9. islandgal
    I might already be in ‘office’ fa all you know. LOLLLLLLLLL

10. @BU.David: “If Barbadians need a kick in the rear end about the power of the people the tea party movement and their projected impact on mid terms is most relevant.

Ahhh… The “Tea Party”. An interesting phenomenon.

A bunch of red-neck “Whitties” who think that only White Christians can possibly be good. They cut down anyone (including their own president) who is not White or Christian.

Just wait a few years… Then they’ll be serving those who are Yellow and Buddhist.

(They actually already are. The just don’t realize it yet.)

11. @ david
    The Tea Party is a crop of bigots, what people power what. Their projected impact is: thwart the chances (thankfully) of the Repuglicans winning back the Senate.

12. Whether the tea party members are nut jobs is not the point being made. It is the power of people to influence change.

13. Two points.

Firstly, Mia is destined to become PM, just a matter of when.

Secondly,

the Tea Party reflects the simple fact that a country gets the government it deserves.

So, obviously ‘the View’ watching, tea sipping, Martha Stewart types have enough clout to put some simple-minded, cookie cutter ladies in power.

So, your point taken.

Voters are basically stupid.

14. @BU.David: “Whether the tea party members are nut jobs is not the point being made. It is the power of people to influence change.

Change of Government is easy.

The People can easily change the governing party every election.

The deeper question is, will anything actually change with that change?

Or will it be “same old, same old”?

15. Did not the same people now called the Tea Party not help the president? Were they white “nuts” then ?

16. Did not the same people now called the Tea Party not help ELECT the president? Were they white “nuts” then ?

Has your health insurance premiums gone up?

17. @Georgie Porgie: “Did not the same people now called the Tea Party not help ELECT the president?

I would be very surprised if any current member of the “Tea Party” voted for Barack Obama.

@Georgie Porgie: “Has your health insurance premiums gone up?

You are the acknowledged Doctor in the house.

Perhaps you can tell us?

18. But WHITE PEOPLE THAT VOTED FOR HIM IN 2008 WILL BE VOTING AGAINST THE DEMOCRATS THIS TIME THOUGH. LOL

THE SAME WHITE FOLK THAT HELP PUT HE IN THEN WILL BE SQUEEZING HIS BALLS NOW. I LIKE UM!

19. @Bonny
    cud eye bee yuh duputty?

20. The tea party group is comprised of both GOP and democrats however it is possible the group could split the vote. Many Americans view the group as extreme. Time will tell.

In the land of the free freedom of expression does mean there is room for idiots.

21. David what Democrats? Schupse those people are even more conservative than the party itself.

22. J
    Many Barbadians care if their MP is gay or straight. The problem is that we do not know who is gay or straight.
    Do you feel a Barbadian politician campaigning for election can declare he or she is gay and win?

23. Been in town too long Avatar
    Been in town too long

I certainly think the tide is turning. Will it turn in time for a Mottley victory? This depends on other factors beyond the will of the ordinary voter.

Islandgal is right. It is the political parties themselves that have to be ready. Mottley has certainly taken the fight to the Government and for the most part her analysis, judgement and political instincts have been correct.

But ever looming in the shadows is Owen Seymour Arthur. I do not believe he is an exceptional enough man to know that his time is past and to give way, like P.J. Patterson did.

It would be a great pity if her own party is the final stumbling block for Mottley. I am kinda looking forward to a new chapter in our political history. She certainly has the ability and it would be interesting from a purist’s viewpoint to see what the X chromosone would bring to leadership.

24. The can certainly win my vote, but true I can’t speak for anybody else except myself.

But I don’t think that anybody should be required to declare their sexual orientation. The truth is I don’t care what people do with other consenting adults. I just want them to close the door while they are doing IT.

25. @ Fair Play

I almost typed “ForePlay”! …………………However, could you please enlighten me as to what being “gay” or “not gay” would have to do with governing any particular country and making sound decisions for the betterment of the population?

26. @ Fair Play
    Methinks perhaps that thou dost protest a bit too much!

27. If we are to go by Arthur’s mouthings when he was publicly warring with Mia then it is crystal clear he has a problem with certain aspects of her approach to living. Time will tell if he will condemn her as the one who was destine to be PM but never was.

28. David wrote “Arthur’s mouthings when he was publicly warring with Mia then it is crystal clear he has a problem with certain aspects of her approach to living”

So who set Arthur up to be a ruler and judge over certain aspects of [Mia’s] approach to living?

Maybe a lotta, lotta we have problem with certain aspects of his approach to living.

29. Yardbroom

In this male dominated society some women have to work twice, even three times as hard as men to achieve the same outcome, it would be nice if it were not so, but alas it is. Intellectual brilliance, integrity and ambition are often not enough to succeed.

I figured this statement was flawed, hence my response.

I don’t think society is male dominated and I also believe that some women have it in their nature to work twice as hard as some men, not because they have to.

I think you tried to say two many things at once.

You are not a politician by any chance?

In a toe to toe confrontation between Mia and Owen, I reckon Mia would come out on top, not because of sex or perceived sexual preference, but because Owen is a spent force.

My impression is that she just has the capability to outwork him and leave him in the dust.

But that has nothing to do with what I want or who I would vote for.

Next time I am voting against the party I voted for this past time, which was not the party that was in power previously.

If the only choice is the party that was in power previously, then if enough did like me, Mia would probably be the next PM.

If however a half decent alternative to the two parties were to come forward …….. now that could be interesting.

30. I believe that Mia with prevail in the next election simply because she is the best PERSON to take the country out of the recession and rampant borrowing we are now in. Male or Female, straight or gay, it doesn’t matter to me…what matters is putting bread on the table and protecting our society from the insidious elements so pervasive today.
    Remember she is not the first in the Caribbean -Dame Eugenia Charles of Dominica, Portia Simpson of Jamaica and Kamla Bissessar Persad of Trinidad have all blazed a trail for her.

And the options
    1) DLP with the CLICO mess annd no David
    Estwick (gun and mouth), Sinckler, Sealey, Stuart, Inniss…give me a break…non of them Prime Ministerial
    2) The return of Owen …not with all the corruption. and while he spouts about Mia’s lifestyle let us not forget that he produced an 8 year old daughter with his secretary turned wife who must have been born while he was still married to Beverly
    3) Mia…really the only choice to my mind…roll on the election before we are bankrupted!

31. what tide
    where
    in barbados
    or the world
    This article is bare nonsense
    wheel and come again grandfather

32. Hi Christopher,
    Quote: “The deeper question is, will anything actually change with that change.”

Concise but thought provoking, I dearly wish I could give a glimmer of hope that it will. . . alas the societal structures in Barbados indicate it will not.

Hi John,
    You quoted me: “Yardbroom. In this male dominated society some women have to work twice, even three times as hard as men to achieve the same outcome, it would be nice if it were not so, but alas it is. Intellectual brilliance, integrity and ambition are often not enough to succeed”.
    Quote: “I figured this statement was flawed, hence my response”.
    In most democracies where the ratio of men to women is about equal . . . and even when the number of women is more. Men dominate the Government, through that comes great power and and influence.

Quote: “You are not a politician by chance?”
    No! I was once asked by a major political party, who came to my home to do so – not in Barbados it is true – I politely refused.
    Quote: “In a toe to toe confrontation between Mia and Owen, I reckon Mia would come out on top, not because of sex or perceived sexual preference, but because Owen is a spent force”.

Perhaps you are right, but I am not sure “a toe to toe confrontation” will be a determinant factor.

Quote: “If however a half decent alternative to the two parties were to come forward. . . that could be interesting”.

You are very right I concur, however the societal structure in Barbados makes that difficult. I believe “genuine change” will only come when someone from outside the perceived social elite takes up the baton. . . perhaps not in my lifetime.

Hi J,
    Quote: ” I don’t care whether the Prime Minister is female or male, gay or straight, black or white, christian or not. I want a Prime Minister who acts in the best interest of Barbados”.

Certainly a “good” conclusion to this little input.

33. ”Islandgal is right. It is the political parties themselves that have to be ready”

This is very perceptive. I have said before that the issue is the poor candidate slate that Mottley has to address, rather than Mottley herself.

Reality is that the DLP candidate slate of younger and more intellectually able individualls, is better than that of the BLP, when we compare as a whole.

Elections are more often lost than won. The question is, how and when will the DLP mess up enough for bajans to vote them out?

Despite the ramblings of some on the debt, on various issues such as Clico, reality is that these both began, especially the debt, under the previous administration.

That is not a red herring and cannot be dismissed.

We can be annoyed that the debt has increased somewhat, but unfortunately in a time of recession, that is what a Government normally does, inject funds into the economy.

Our unemployment right now is remarkably low, if we compare oursleves to countries with better and wider economic bases, such as Greece.

Some of those countries, indeed the USA itself, are hurting and jobs are hard to come by.

So, we will have the rampant political mouthings, but the facts need to be assessed responsibly.

The concession I do agree with, is the the Clico issue has been badly handled.

Not that Clico did not have issues before this government entered, but the effectual shutdown should have been dealt with differently.

That said, unfortunately political fortunes, as witnessed in the past, are largely also influenced by outside factgors, the luck of the draw.

Much depends on what happens between now and 2013, economically internationally.

2011 will be difficult for USA and Europe still, we will feel it hard, but we will see how we weather 2012, before the election.

34. Watching US politics and the new Palin Mark II and T-Party posse, politicians have now become cartoon characters with a system that automatically transforms a person into a cartoon caricature of themselves*.

* It was revealed in the journal Computer Animation and Virtual Worlds.

35. To understand how the recession is affecting Barbados, here is a quote from the Nation, showing that consumers have cut back drastically, cannot spend what you do not have:

”Trimart owes as much as $16 million to 350 companies and sources indicate that staggering figure has been accrued largely from its recent trading inactivity.”

36. @ Crusoe

Surely you jest. When has youth or age been good criteria to assess competence to govern. Surely when you assess your choice of candidate to do a job you look at the criteria that will produce the best result for you. Age would only be relevant if the job is modelling or athletics, or physically relevant. Or did you confuse running a gov’t for running in Olympics?

@all

Excellent reading for all would be Dr. Avinash Persaud’s assessment of the Barbados economy and the path that has led to our current state. The debt prior to 2008 did not lead to downgrades. Piling on 1.5b in two years not used for stimulus or recovery but fatted calf steaks is an act of criminality by DLP in a time of what DLP describes as the worst recession faced by our country. It would take the country’s ratings from AA- and BBB+ in 2007 not to B minus, but straight to junk. Oh the debt, oh the mess left by BLP cries the DLP. In January 2008 one of the strongest economies in the region, with the best chance of surviving this crisis. ‘ Oh the mess, we can’t do anything because of the state of the debt’ (could still do 1.5 billion with another 1.5 b to come in medium term fiscal plan). A gross and calculated exaggeration, a DLP political creation not backed by facts, international ratings, or central bank reports. The proganda propelled by ignorant persons posing as credible and intelligent who swallow what is fed and propagate it in the call-in programmes, as moderators and callers. Surely intelligent people can step back from politically biased mouthings from both sides and get info from more neutral sources and see a clear picture of the true state of affairs, and make a judgment.

37. In most democracies where the ratio of men to women is about equal . . . and even when the number of women is more. Men dominate the Government, through that comes great power and and influence.

Dominate the Government …… …… yes

….. great power and influence ….. …… yes

… but do you honestly believe that men dominate the society?!!!

Not in the short life I have lived.

My eyes tell me different!!!!

38. … numbers don’t count in certain things in life!!!

39. “I cannot say there is not a challenge of leadership in the BLP, but the challenge is not about a struggle between Ms. Mottley and myself. The challenge is, as repreented in the Peter Wickham poll, that Ms Mottley ….faces a problem of being accepted by the society at large and faces a problem of being accepted by a cross-section of the BLP” – Midweek Nation, Wednesday, October 28, 2009.

The above excerpt notwithstanding, the fact of the matter is that Barbados will eventually have a female leader of government, as more and more females of competance and integrity will be thrusted into the forefront of party and governmental politics in this country.

Having expressed that, though, the assumption is presently being made by the PDC that whenever a female becomes the leader of government in the country, that the present Cabinet system of government in Barbados at that time will either be the one still upon which such an eventuality emerges, or there will be in place then a presidential system of government upon which that happens.

However, the question that shall stoutly remain now is: at what time will there become a governmental leader that is female in
    this country?

This outcome seems to be entirely based on the historical dialectics of the leader of the government of Barbados becoming a female for the first time in this country’s history, rather than such a process helping to produce a female or feminist leader of government, and all of what that brings.

So, just as the historical dialectics (of a lesser sort) allowed for a hybrid of a political personality to become a party leader – in this case the BLP’s leader, and which some Barbadians still feel was necessary for that to take place, another historical dialectics ( of a greater kind) will allow for a party that is strong enough with a female at the helm to become victorious in a future national election, over the other parties that would have either males or females being their political leaders.

This latter scenario squares oppositely with a situation whereby a female leads a set of people who are for accepting a female political leader of Barbados, against another or other sets of people who wish for a female political leader of the country.

However, despite a bit of the latter being involved in Ms. Mottley bid to become the Prime Minister now, were Mottley in a position to be doing the latter outrightly, she would certainly not win as that the elitist male chauvinism still dominates the politics of Barbados.

Even if Mottley thinks that she is going to use the BLP and her elitist, corporate, familial, legal connections to become a female feminist prime minister, she must be quiet subtle about it.

For, any clear signs that she is driving a feminist thrust towards becoming prime minister will destroy her chances of becoming prime minister in a male chauvinist politics in Barbados.

Therefore, she has had to think and make many others think too that she is a BLP LEADER ( OR THAT IS SIMPLY FEMALE). So have the media in Barbados tried to cast her!!!

So, the fact that Mottley and some have been perceiving her as the BLP LEADER, rather than a female feminist BLP LEADER, means that her chances of becoming prime minister are essentially tied in with BLP political fortunes at the national level, and therefore too tied in at a lower level with any intra-party powe struggles leadership.

More importantly, it seems that decisions votes at the next elections in Barbados, do not – as in all other previous elections in the country – carry personalities/sexes/genders ( more than half of the electorate is female yet there have been fewer women elected into the House of Assembly and yet thousands of males have also voted for her every time she has been a candidate in elections in St. Michael North East Constituency), means that pure logic and numbers count in the end in electoral outcomes – well, that is, in order to win governments in Barbados. Therefore, the logic and numbers of Mottley becoming prime minister in Barbados at the next election and other elections ahead are weakened terribly by the fact that the BLP and BLP politics are outdated, and speak to very outdated ideas. The BLP and BLP politics centre around money, business connections and election organization.

But, the mistake many people will surely make in this country is NOT to perceive the BLP leader as a FEMINIST – A FEMINIST BLP leader, which she really is. She believes in her heart that her prime ministerial goal is significantly about WOMEN’S RIGHTS, RIGHTING CERTAIN WRONGS THAT HAVE BEEN DONE TO WOMEN BY MEN OVER THE YEARS IN THIS SOCIETY, CHALLENGING THE FUNDAMENTAL ROLE OF MEN IN SOCIETY.

Finally, outside the fact that Mottley has clear ideological and political deficiencies, the fact that she is a female feminist BLP LEADER, MEANS THAT SHE IS IDEOLOGICALLY POLITICALLY UNSUITED FOR THE PRIME MINISTERSHIP OF THIS COUNTRY. So, watch out peoples!!!

Why has Mottley not married?? Why has she never been seen with a male cohabiting partner? Does this spell right for the promoting of good family values in this country?? Why was all the big furore over the legalization of homosexuality and prostitution in Barbados some years ago when she was Attorney General? Why did Arthur say what he had to about her ( cited above)??

Well, we in the PDC know that Magaret Thatcher and Eugenia Charles – who both were married – were strong political leaders who did well within a traditionally male-oriented areana, but none were so feministic as Ms Mottley.

So, therefore let us pick sense from the history of female politics across the world and here in Barbados when we go to the polls next elections with a knowledge that our country must go strongly without unnecessary controversies and pitfalls.

Down with the DLP and the BLP, and crude feminist politics in Barbados.

40. Dear PDC:

Eugenia Charles never married.

She was very likely gay.

41. But she had the good sense not to talk about her personal life in public.

42. Dear PDC:

Why have you not married?

43. Hi John,
    I fear we could go “cyclic” on this one. . . so I am prepared to defer.

For what it is worth, I believe there are “two” female members of the DLP who have the potential to be excellent leaders. . . but that is for another time.

44. Recent Developments!!!!
    Yardbroom always appears to be once step ahead of the game: Age and experience does have its compensations.

45. Barbados is still a very young country considering we only became “independent” 44 years ago, so to debate the gender issue with regards to the office of PM is a bit pre-mature in my opinion. There are very few women who get involved in politics, and if I’m not mistaken, next election will see a female opposition leader running that office for the first time. I’m of the opinion that Barbadians would have no difficulty in electing a female to office once that female appears to have the right qualities, characteristics, and personality.

In the case of the current opposition leader, even though her characteristics and personality may not appeal to the general public, “chance and circumstance” is likely to be on her side come next election (if she remains leader of the opposition). When you’re faced with two undesirable options, you have to choose the one that you find a bit more palatable. Of course this dilemma only applies to the pragmatic swing voter, as party loyals will stick with their respective party.

46. That should have read:

next election will see a female opposition leader running FOR that office for the first time.

47. Anonymous

When you’re faced with two undesirable options, you have to choose the one that you find a bit more palatable.

Russel Crowe put it succinctly in the film “Master and Commander”.

…. the lesser of two weevils.

It was only a movie and a bit extreme but it helps you understand the traits of a leader.

48. J,

Thanks for letting us know that the late Eugenia Charles was not married.

But parties dont marry.

There is a mistake that was made in paragraph 6, wherein the following was wrongly written, “whereby a female leads a set of people who are for accepting a female political leader of Barbados”.

It should have been written as: “whereby a female leads a set of people who are for accepting a political leader of Barbados that is female”.

Thank You.