Former Chairman of the National Assistance Board

In its 2008 Manifesto, the Democratic Labour Party gave a commitment that it will treasure this country’s seniors in their golden years and further stated that it is committed to caring for all Barbadians in their senior years.

Members of the Barbados Association of Retired Persons (BARP) – all of whom are over 50 years old – must be wondering if the DLP had them in mind when it made that statement and exactly how committed is the DLP to what it wrote in that Manifesto, especially now that the actions and decision of the same DLP Government – is making it extremely difficult for them to get their investment made through BARP – out of Clico.

As a former Chairman of the National Assistance Board, I wonder whether in its haste to protect Clico – the decision and actions by this David Thompson led Government – does not constitute elder abuse. Elder Abuse is often defined as a single, or repeated act, or lack of appropriate action, occurring within any relationship where there is an expectation of trust which causes harm or distress to an older person.

Listen to Audio Version

Recent events seems like an inexcusable breach of trust on the part of the DLP towards older Barbadians, especially members of BARP who will now find it difficult to get their nest eggs out of Clico, whereas an officer of that company was reported to have been able to get hundreds of thousands out, effortlessly. How could this be fair?

The DLP must be reminded that financial abuse can rob a senior of self–esteem and trust, as well as out of his or her means of subsistence. And, although financial exploitation does not leave physical scars, it is a serious and shameful act, especially by a Government that had already given a commitment to protect seniors in their golden years.

It is why the silence of the Minister who has responsibility for Families and also for Elder Affairs, is puzzling. Is this the society the DLP is manufacturing where the State and its friends – take the lead in the financial abuse of senior citizens?

I therefore call on the Government to do the Christian thing and remember and honour its Manifesto pledge to seniors and to also do all in its power to protect our senior citizens in their golden years, especially since this DLP administration has already unkindly cut the vote to the National Assistance Board and the Welfare Department.

36 responses to “Government Accused Of Breaking Manifesto Pledge To The Elderly”

1. Yes, BARP members should get their few coppers from CLICO, but I suspect that the writers were not thinking of BARP when they were writing the Manifesto pledges.

Former Chairman of NAB, I agree that Government should do more to ease the suffering of the hundreds, if not thousands, of elderly citizens, who do not have even one dollar to buy to buy a pack of biscuits tomorrow morning. Those that cannot remember the last time they had a hot meal. You know the ones that only have the radio and a cat to keep them company.

Can you submit an article lobbying the Government for more elder care centres or for the expansion of the home help program?
    Will BARP be soon using its considerable influence to lobby the private sector for better deals, on behalf of needy seniors, who are non-members?
    Apologies.

2. What crap am I hearing from a dishonest bastard who stole the supplies to fill Christmas Hampers of the poor and the elderly ?

This clown Bovell should be resting comfortably at HMP Dodds with some of the others like his master Owing and his now short term master Muttley, a man that could steal product that was dedicated for the use of the poor and the elderly and steal it for his own use is disgusting to even attempt to dispense advise of any type on any subject, your advice can only be corrupt and dishonest advice and is not part of a DLP program to help Barbadians. Yours was a help of your to amassed $ 25 Million and corrupt Gov’ts provide persons with those opportunites to amass that sort of bank account as he would know only too well.

3. This is EXACTLY how the DEMS won the last elections. Nasty unprovable lies manufactured by that man Hartley in true true “Ca-a-a-m Ca-a-a-m” Tudor style, and uttered with full intention to deceive, and to win an election at any cost. (most people will recall that Cammie Cammie in his hey day, ran a lie factory from George Street). No proof, no evidence, no prosecutions, but delivered with such ferocity and assuredness, that somehow these lies gain credence in Barbados. Barbadians, DO NOT ALLOW THEM TO DECEIVE YOU AGAIN WITH THESE NASTY LIES. Treat DEM worse than you did in 1999, when you gave DEM only TWO

Let them deal with the FACT of large scale plunder that took place at CLICO, which will now saddle the taxpayers of this country with upwards of $314 MILLION DOLLARS.

let them deal with the FACT, that Lashley is allowing Bjerkham to walk away with a BILLION DOLLARS in filthy profits on the backs of taxpayers……. and now the same Lashley (just resurfaced as the musical chairs AG) gone into hiding as Minister of Housing.

They took the 2008 elections, but now find themselves in complete disarray, hoisted on their own petard, and running about like headless chickens…….the country suffering…………………and they don’t have a clue about how to run a government.

4. @Wishing in Vain

You have been advised that Barbadians and for sure the BU family have no time for this innuendo business which you continue to spit. Most Barbadians are of the position that if you have evidence of corruption put up or shut the hell up. Have you given one nugget of information to the Police/DPP for consideration? People are sick of the shoite talk.

Note with interest VOB led with this matter on their 6.30AM news this morning.

5. David, you have THE PULSE OF THE NATION on this one!!

We are indeed fed up with these nasty ignoramus offerings WIV (Alias Hartley)……….. his flawed PR by inuendo.
    And to think, he is getting a hefty monthly salary out of Taxpayers’ money.
    SOME PRINCIPAL POLITICAL ADVISOR!! Barbadians, where is your outrage!!

6. This topic is very close to my heart. I always wish to be in a position to mobilise a genuine care programme for the elderly in this country.
    @ Dark Black, I agree with and sincerely believe expansion of a good home care plan would be the most healthy means of cherishing our elderly. As I have sadly experienced first hand many a elderly care about their “guests” at all! Rather treat them rough and unkind as captives without rights. Government should look closely and firmly address the practices and policies of many senior citizen homes implementing systems to stop the daily abuse ( over drugging, aggresive demeanor, man handling, incorrect diet for patience specific needs, bribing with release if they do what they are told, and I can go on… .

All the while get community ambassadors on board mobile a cummunity care plan where the elderly that live with their cat have visitors who aid with house work, chit chat and be a friendly.

7. BDs HotSauce
    Wanna come and work with me for a day? I treat my old folk with TLC everytime? Luv my ol’ folk badddddddd. Would kill a boy fa dem ya. Doan mess wid my ol folk. Just need to have a lot of patience and an understanding of the ageing process and all will be well.

Wah bran hotsauce you is doe? Windmill or Aunt May?I like AuntMay. LOLLLL

8. LET US CONTINUE TO PRAY FOR THE PRIME MINISTER:

“I am truly very sorry to hear of the Prime Minister’s condition. It is serious and clearly has proven to be more challenging than originally thought.

There are times in the life of a nation when circumstances or events have the power to bring out the best in us all. This is one such time.

I urge all Barbadians to continue to pray for the Prime Minister, for his family (for whom this must be a trying time) and indeed the country.

We must always remember that our humanity is more important than anything that divides us.”

The above Statement was released earlier by the Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., on learning of the nature of the Prime Minister’s illness.

9. @ Wishing In Vain… it seems as though the statements made by Mr. Bovell have seriously upset you, I now have to wonder if this is because of a genuine concern for the public (elderly) or some other personal vendetta.

In which case, you should be cautious to accuse of dishonesty, as you would now be using a public forum to avenge yourself under the guise of acting in the interest of Barbadians.

And i completely agree with the others, I too am familiar with and have personal first hand knowledge of the Christmas Hamper program to which you so ignorantly referred, and I would therefore suggest, that before you continue to assert your propaganda, that you officially identify yourself and offer whatever so called evidence you have.

The Christmas Hamper program, was just that, a program operating under a government funded entity, such that accusations of dishonesty reach persons other than the former chairman. I am not sure of your level of education, but ‘Chairman’ is Chairman of a ‘Board” i.e, several others must also sign off on proposed activities. Accusing Mr. Bovell has inadvertently led to your accusing the Director, Secretary, as well as other Board members…

Take care to have your proof. Such accusations in law without proof are considered defamation!!! It would be regrettable if because of your ravings, you were to find yourself facing multiple charges of defamation of character!!!!

Instead of ranting like an angry child, I suggest that you familiarize yourself with the laws of Barbados (while gathering your evidence of course!!)

10. I forgot to mention on that list….. you would also in essence be making accusations against the Minister himself ( who acts on behalf of the Government of Barbados I might add) …just a thought

11. Robert Deschappé Avatar

Speaking of the National Assistance Board; why is it that those YOUNG, STRONG persons who were relocated from Arch Cot (some of whom have their own businesses in the Oistins Bay Garden), continue to live in the Vauxhall Senior Citizens’ Home FREE of cost, while the elderly residents, whom both parties say they care about, have to PAY rent and electricity for the units they occupy in the same home?
    Maybe Chris Sinckler or Bovell can tell Barbadians why.

12. Alex Fergusson | September 16, 2010 at 2:02 PM |
    Re : the Prime Minister’s condition. It is NO MORE serious THAN ANYONE ELSE WHO HAS CANCER IN BARBADOS, and those who cant go up to NY to Cornell!

and IT clearly has NOT proven to be more challenging than originally thought….AT ALL

THE SITUATION HAS BEEN ACCURATELY DESCRIBED RIGHT HERE ON BU by laymen

This is a man that treated Denis Kellman badly. Then he treated Mascoll badly. Before that in 87 he marched all over Leroy McClean and his campaign took ove the doctor’s office in Four Roads. He crawled all over everybody. Did as he liked Gave bail outs to the rich at the Turf Club. Allegedly involved with infellicities with his buddy at Clico. Said that the former PM had passed his sell by date.

Now what about his date, now? Is he being now called to account?

Let God do his peculiar work
    PAY DAY SOME DAY
    THe LORD PUTS UP AND HE TAKES DOWN.

START PRAYING FOR THE NATION THAT IT WOULD SEEK GOD”S FACE as taught in 2 Chronicles 7:14 Likkle Davids meting with his maker approaches immenently!

Next is the infighting of the hypocrites in the party. for power Watch them a set of dummies will be fighting. THE BLIND WILL BE LEADING THE BLIND AND EVERY ONE WILL BE FALLING INTO THE DITCH!

13. We ALLLLLLLLL have to answer for the misdeeds we have done against our fellowman. And all are guilty as charged at some time in our lives for backbiting, backstabbing, defrauding, thiefing, robbing, demeaning, deceiving, scorning etc. and all of us will have our day in court. Be it cancer, aids, hypertension, diabetes, trombosis, dengue etc. Our day will come too. Even those of us who are ‘sacred’.

No need for the grand-standing.

14. @Bonny Peppa,
    Dr.GP is the only one among us who is “Sacred”. I bet he already got he spot reserve in heaven.

Us lesser mortals got to do some serious confessing and praying.lol

15. Brother Hants
    I am very aware that I am a sinner, man. As the days go by I realize more and more that I need my Lord to save me from stumbling and falling as promised in Jude 24. I have never had a sense of my need for him as in these last few years

According to the Bible you can have a spot reserved for you too, and God will preserve you for your spot also cf I Peter 1:3-5 3. Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, which according to his abundant mercy hath begotten us again unto a lively hope by the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4. To an inheritance incorruptible, and undefiled, and that fadeth not away, reserved in heaven for you, 5. Who are kept by the power of God through faith unto salvation ready to be revealed in the last time.

To reserve your spot check these Scriptures
    John 3:38 He that believeth on the Son hath everlasting life: and he that believeth not the Son shall not see life; but the wrath of God abideth on him.

Note that “hath” and “abideth” are in the PRESENT CONTINUOUS TENSE in both the English and original Greek.

John 5:24 . Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that heareth my word, and believeth on him that sent me, hath everlasting life, and shall not come into condemnation; but is passed from death unto life.

Note that “hath” and “believeth” are in the PRESENT CONTINUOUS TENSE but “passed” is in a special past tense that indicates that the believer has already PASSED from death unto life but continues to have that status.

John 6:47 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me hath everlasting life.
    Note again that “hath” is in the PRESENT CONTINUOUS TENSE in both the English and original Greek.

16. Hants
    He seat reserve but my seat secure. Tek dah. LOLLLLLL

17. At the end of the day we ALL die alone!The asshole whjo thinks thatPrime Miniser’s Thompson day is approaching, seems to be on a high.I think he should be pelted with a soft over ripe breadfruit.(Smack!)

18. Henderson N. Bovell Avatar
    Henderson N. Bovell

I do not propose to become a regular contributor to this forum – as much as I do read this blog from time-to-time.

I suppose, like many of the Members of “Unity Team Barbados Labour Party” – we paid a high price leading up to the last general election, for having not responded swiftly to outlandish concoctions of tropical hogwash and froath – when placed in a serious forum like this, by cowards and character terrorists (who are obviously up to mischief)

My attention is drawn to an unbelievable character going by the alias: ‘Wishing In Vain’ who alleges wrong doings as regards the ‘Christmas Food Gift Programme,’ executed by the competent public officials at the National Assistance Board, when I was the Chairman of the Board. But what are the facts?

Page 3, Item 4., paragraph 3 of the official Minutes of the Board of the National Assistance Board of February 22, 2006 – will show that when I became Chairman in 2003, the NAB was giving 454 Christmas food gifts (hampers.) By 2004 that number went to 750 and by 2005 1024.

In fact, by the time I left office and for the Christmas period 2007 – the NAB was giving over 2000 Chrismas food gifts (HAMPERS) to needy Barbadians, as determined by the trained Welfare Officers, Home Care Providers and other competent social work staff ; credible churches and NGO leaders – operating within communities across Barbados.

As I recall, even people like DLP St. Lucy M.P., Denis Kellman was given (hampers) ‘Wishing In Vain’ is not learning and should therefore be very cautious about what he wishes for.

Incidentally, local Custom Official are yet to say who is importing cigarettes and liquor illegally or how those 349 Video Lottery Machines were released from the Port.

It must also be noted that Barbadians seem to be of the view that giving away all those acres of Barbadian land at a mere $100 a year for 99 years or paying a person $6,000 to mingle – should earn someone jail time at HMP Dodds.

Good Day Sir!

19. @ Raymond
    The man that you refer to as a jackass has demonstrated on BU for some three years now that he is far from being a jackass.

Moreover, he was able to accurately diagnose and give us an accurate prognosis of the PM’s illness months ago. One would think that from his experience and knowledge as a physician, that he should have a good idea as to whether Prime Minister Thompson’s day is approaching, or not, without being on a high.

PM Thompson will need a big miracle if he survives six months with pancreatic cancer. You are the one that is on a high. What you sniffing on?

20. Henderson Springer
    This is not the first time this accusation was made. How come you now responding to it? Because others are castigating WIV for making such claims? Accusations have and will always be made by party in power, by opposition and viceversa. What’s your problem? You in mekking accusations now too or you got proof? If you know that WIV is talking hogwash, let it slide man. Why worry over spilt milk? Accentuate the positive man. WIV just like to tease sometimes and get attention.We all do. Tek um easy Hendy. And ya real cute too.

21. Raymond
    Doan mind Anonymous man.Some people just don’t get it. Here’s a good example. Anonymous miss you by miles but is aighttttttttttt, I wid you. I feelin you. Because he’s a doctor he can’t talk shoite n act like a jackass sometimes? stupseeee, Raymond, talk ya talk man. None is greater than none Honey. Some may feel so but none is greater than none.

22. henderson bowels, u should be shame. notice i call you “bowels” because u know what come out of the bowels. that is how bajans see u. u aint got no shame. is time u retire from political pimping. u got nothing to contribute to barbados. u r a nuisance. de dems use to feed u when u was pimping around. i waiting to see when mia goin kick u out the BLP.

23. Bonny Peppa
    You are very accurate. You are speaking the truth . None is greater than none honey. That includes David Thompson. He aint greater than none. Pancreatic cancer will level him, and he will die like everyone else……….and be ………………….like everybody else, except for the pomp and circumstance.

Where wunnah holding the state funeral St John Parish Ch or St Michael’s Cathedral? Now cuss me, nut ya right None in greater than none. Is trute ya tell dey/ Ya in lie.

24. Did any wunna see pictures of Fidel Castro a year or two ago. Wuhloss he lukked like was on death’s door. now a year later he is up and running again. And to think de man don’t evn believe in a God. Miracle or what.?

25. DLP GOVERNMENT CHOKING AND ROBBING SENIOR BARBADIAN CITIZENS

Senator Gilkes, is that you?

Now I see! Did Mr. Bovell rattle you: “paying a person $6,000 to mingle – should earn someone jail time at HMP Dodds.”

That you Peter – who has the IQ of a six-month baby could be writing such crap here when the DLP is robbing senior citizens out of their life savings, is a national disgrace.

Someone needs to report the DLP to Help Age International.

THis is a country where a DLP Government is choking and robbing senior citizens of their life saving.

Imagine, at a time like this, when the DLP is destabilising Barbados again, and with the DLP is crisis – yet your trash.

You see why the list of those who are fed up and turned off by the DLP, including once die-hard dems, is getting longer daily?

Why do you think Hartley Henry now only gets between 6 to 20 hits for anything he writes?

26. Georgie Porgie
    Not necessary. Because he was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer does not signify that this is what will ‘level’ him. Having said that, do you know what will ‘level’ you? And will all the pomp n pagentry be accorded you too when you are ‘levelled’?
    The unnecessary rantings by you I find to be rather rediculous. Don’t you think so? Or is this your way of getting attention? Sad, very sad.

27. Can anyone guess if the BU household were to become embroiled in personalities and not* stay on point with the message what would have been the case?

There is a mission, let us not be distracted. He who stays focused WINS.

28. @Hog Squeal | September 16, 2010 at 10:25 PM
    You asked:
    “Why do you think Hartley Henry now only gets between 6 to 20 hits for anything he writes?”

May I add that, not only does he gets 6 hits, but NOT ONE of them is in support of the incessant gibberish he writes…… well……….. except the single instance (this thread is an example) where he changes his name to “WISHING IN VAIN”, and comes back in on HIS OWN thread to bolster HIS OWN foolishness. Sort of like a comedian laughing at his own jokes, because nobody else finds them funny!

Hartley, I seriously believe that by now, Hon. P.M. Thompson is recognising that keeping you around only worsens his circumstances. DO the P.M. an immediate favour and leave quietly. BEFORE you leave , PAY BACK the taxpayers the $465,000.00 you received for 31 months work as Principal Political Advisor. YOU DO NOT DESERVE IT!

29. @David | September 17, 2010 at 7:32 AM

You are right David. The BU family must remain focussed and deal with the issues. I acknowledge that I ocassionally get a little personal, and I ask your forgiveness, but my angst is almost always directed at that pompous, moronic, rattlebrained imbecile Hartley Henry alias WIV……oops, I am sorry…there I go again!

It’s quite a challenge dealing with the stuff he puts in this forum, but David, I promise in the future to grin and bear HARTLEY alias WIV, and to make a bigger effort to be kind to him.

30. Not angst……I really meant anger!

31. DEMS BRINGING BACK SANDIFORD ?

With PM Thompson ill and Wickham very worried – it seems like that the Dems are considering a number of options, including bringing back Sandiford for a byelection in St. John.

Already the cracks are showing because of this Clico fiasco.
    But as the Dems concern themselves with their own survival, Barbados is going backwards and the people continue to suffer.

Who ever they bring-back – the Dems have always had a nighmare managing the economy? But it gets worse, since Stuart is the strongest of them all – but most in Barbados are saying that he is extremely weak as a leader, then this country has a serious crisis. The only option is to call elections.

MEANWHILE, BARBADIANS SHOULD BRACE FOR THE 4TH CABINET RESHUFFLE, IN LESS THAN 3 YEARS, SOON.

32. DLP DESTABILISING BARBADOS, AGAIN

His Honour, The President of the Senate – the 3rd highest office in the land is right. Furthermore, Senator Brandford Taitt was the Campaign Manager for the dems in the last election and Thompson publicly credited him for the win.

Doesn’t that earn him the rights to speak, especially to avert any further crisis?

There was always a crisis of confidence in the DLP’ ability to government and it is now being made worst by trademark DLP in-fighting for power.

This is very serious as with the Clico threat and the perilous state of the Barbados Economy – it will made foreign investors and Rating Agencies like S&P, Moddy’s and so on – a lor more nervous.

THE SAD THING IS THAT AFTER A MERE 976 DAYS IN POWER – IT IS NOT A PRETTY SIGHT THAT THE DEMS ARE SELF-IMPLODING, AGAIN.

33. EXACTLY HOW MUCH DID CLICO GAVE THE DLP IN THE LAST ELECTION

The world now know that the PNM got over $5 million in the last general election but just how much did the DLP get?

Only a change of government will tell:

Here is what the Trinidad Newsday is reporting:

“Government MPs gasped in shock as Persad-Bissessar displayed a photocopy of a $5 million cheque from Clico to the PNM. The front of the cheque bore two stamps from Scotiabank Trinidad Limited, both of them dated October 11, 2007. The signature of then CL Financial chairman Lawrence Duprey was also on the front of the cheque”

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,127731.html

34. Hog Squeal | September 18, 2010 at 10:39 PM | EXACTLY HOW MUCH DID CLICO GAVE THE DLP IN THE LAST ELECTION
    ==========================================
    I have asked this question in this forum repeatedly, but yes Hog Squeal, we shall only obtain the answer when there is a change of Government. HAGGATT HALL will catch-a-fire and the Fire Service MUST be in attendance when the CLICO cheques f/o the DEMS are disclosed.

35. But wait, I just went and read that report in the T andT Newspaper. Here is the part that stun me, P.M. Mrs Bissessar speaking:

“However the Prime Minister said this was not all the information she received in her “mailbox” and displayed another document to MPs. There were more gasps and howls from Government MPs as Persad-Bissessar said this document showed that former PNM treasurer and CL Financial executive Andre Monteil received a CL Financial salary of US$500,000 or TT$3,150,000, a bonus of TT$18,250,000 and retirement proceeds of US$5,125,000 or TT$32,287,500.

This puts Monteil’s total remuneration package at an estimated TT$53,687,500 or US$8,521,825.”

EIGHT MILLION US DOLLARS? CLICO was a real pork barrell for them PNM people. The question is again: “How much pork the DEMS get? “

36. The DLP’s brand is that of deception, betrayal and ugliness.

There was a time when the Democratic Labour Party had vast numbers of loyal supporters, but it managed to squander that favourable advantage through a series of strategic lies and gimmicks, which started between 1991-1994 and continues today.

Truth is, to compensate for its political incompetence – the DLP turns to political gimmicks, lies; deceit and cold betrayal.

Its desperation to hold onto state power at all cost, sees it resorting to lies and denying the Opposition access to the State owned television station.

Unfortunately the ruling party has unlimited access to the media but absolutely nothing important to say.

Over the years, it became practiced at the art of looking back, complaining and attributing blame to everyone but themselves.

It now blames the global financial crisis for its poor judgment and bad decisions, which triggered a meltdown of the Barbados economy and made a difficult global financial situation more challenging for Barbadians, but is too stupid to realise that with our foreign reserves plummeting – the global financial crisis is doing it a favor.

The list of persons (including die- hard Dems) who are saying that the DLP does not know what it is doing and is therefore creating a mess – is getting longer, daily.

Whether it will be able to hold onto its job – is up to the people. The record will show that even within its first 100 days in office, seventy (70%) per cent of the respondents in a Nation Newspaper poll gave the DLP a failing grade.

Watching as family members loose their jobs; being price gouged on land tax; petroleum products and now hurting unnecessary in their pockets – Barbadians are in no mood to give the DLP a second chance.

They remember only too well the words of DLP elder: Sir Frederick Smith, Q.C., when he said: “well give them a chance and if you do not like how they perform, kick them out.”

Still, having created such unnecessary economic pain, the DLP is holding on to its job longer than expected. But Barbadians must not loose their sense of outrage. There is always a better choice.

It is no laughing matter that having promised to look after seniors in their golden years, the DLP is now choking and robbing them out of their life saving.

This is truly a sign of the times.

That under Errol Barrow the DLP was a symbol of Barbados’ ascendancy but is now diminished and humbled – is unfortunate.