Barbadians have awakened to the news of the tragedy which occurred in Tudor Street last night. From all reports the cause is linked to disgruntled robbers who threw a Molotov cocktail (petrol bomb) into a Tudor Street business.
The helplessness of our firemen who despite their best efforts were unable to save those who perished in the blaze was clearly visible in the pictures captured by the media. To die as a result of smoke inhalation or being burned to death must be the most horrible way a human can depart this earth. May those who have committed this heinous act be brought to justice very soon (see the blog below which can help Barbadians to mobilize).
Some may think this an inopportune time to analyze what occurred on Tudor Street last night. No time is too soon to highlight what a lack of building codes and its enforcement by the relevant local authorities can do to prevent a similar tragedy from recurring.
For example:
Bowling at the Ms. Ram Merchandani owned Casa Grande located at Oldbury, St Philip has become very popular. To those who have visited it is an irrefutable fact that the Game Room is located downstairs the Bowling Alley. The Game Room which is always packed is about 10 feet wide and about 150 feet long where a padlocked glass door is positioned. Based on what is in public view the main* exit in use is through the Bowling Alley over another 250 feet which exits by the Bumper cars. The whole place is carpeted and therefore makes it easy to imagine what could happen if a fire were ever to occur. Bear in mind the place is always packed to capacity.
In light of the tragic event of the past 24 hours two issues need to be considered in the post mortem of the incident. To what extent the firemen who gave of their best to save the 6 who perished have been compromised by a corrupt system? Is it the Barbados Fire Service who is responsible for inspecting buildings to ensure occupational safety? What about the government who is ultimately responsible for ensuring public safety? To what extent the refusal of the implementation and enforcement of building codes by successive governments contributed to the laissez faire attitude which exist concerning the public safety of Barbadians? It appears from reading the reports so far the 6 who perished were trapped like rats in a trap with no ready means to escape a fire.
The other point. How in all good conscience should Miss Ram be allowed to operate a Game Room in the environment in which she currently operates? Why is it certain people are allowed to operate on the fringe of the law while others have to toe the line? The BU household made the decision long ago not to be found near the place. Sometimes what is popular is not good.
Most worrying as this incident has unfolded is the news which knocked Barbadians for six this week that the Commissioner of Police and his Deputy are at logger heads. Where is the leadership?
Hopefully this tragic incident will serve as a tipping point to galvanize Barbadians to wrestle back their society from the dark abyss towards which it is careening at a distressing pace.

170 responses to “If There Is A Time For Leaders In Barbados To Act Surely It Is Now; A Human Tragedy Which May Be The Tipping Point – Wither Ms Ram’s Game Room?”
This is a deliberate and intentional act of violence perpetrated on this society and should be treated as such. Not only were they six victims May God Rest there Souls In Peace, but the society has also been victimised feeling the pain and suufering in a real way and that should not be over looked .We too are victims of this awful massacre . Justice must be swift . Now is time for the judical system to fast forward and present itself as one that works in favour of what is Right.
Anonymous | September 5, 2010 at 8:48 AM |
“GP who confesses to have worked for the Fire Dept and know the officers could not see the same.”
…..because he implies that it does not work that way.
@different
thanks for that feedback, wasn’t aware there is a flooding problem also.
Has anyone had time to distil the comments by the Fire Chief in the press this morning?
@CCC and GP
Don’t you guys get it? We are not in the mood for this back in forth crap you are currently engaged.
Got you loud and clear DAVID, you are now into Mrs. Ram bashing!
bridgetown is a busy place, one cant urinate anywhere without someone seeing you. people saw the perps- turn these suckers in pls
Does the sketch portrayed on this blog indicates that it was a one man act? If so, what a clever person indeed. Quite interesting.
The police have confirmed two men were involved.
only thing I could make out in the nation is he saying we need a fire code. anything else we suppose to be getting david ?
In 2010 we have our Chief Fire Officer making such a statement. Don’t you want to laugh?
Funny enough, I was discussing the blogs with some friends, while telling them that I have not visited the site for about two days. I further told them that if there are any posts from contributors to BU about the tragic events on Friday, I am sure that Carson C. Cadogan would find some way to blame the BLP for this unfortunate incident. Some thought (and even me) that I was going a bit too far, and maybe, in this instance, he would have something sane and humane to say. Lo and behold, I was right.
How can a human being be so fanatically stupid.
Robert Deschappé
The truth is the truth. What else do you want me to say?
well the bia( Barbados institue of architects) been saying so years for so david .but not only safety code but a building code. nobody took them on . guess it all changes when something happens like everything else in bim
A building code is needed. But we already have numerous various officials whose jobs are to ensure that basic safety codes are met.
Even the size of windows and rooms are checked by TCP, Health etc
Commercial buildings are required to have fire exits.
The Fire chief has the authority to conduct inspections and to demand corrective action when standards are not met.
The building code will be all inclusive, however don’t you worry that the same way existing codes are ignored the building code will also be just so many words…
Which fire chief would have the guts to shut down a Broad business place which did not have a fire exit?
…..and if you aint enforcing on the big shots why would you bother the poor boys? So nothing happens….
What we need is an environment where people either DO their jobs or they lose them. Until that day we will continue to get mediocrity.
Why is BU using this crime and tragedy to attack Ms. Ram?
Is it racism? (I am a black Bajan.)
Do you have some sort of personal agenda against her?
Judge each case on its own merit and leave Ms. Ram out of it because this crime has NOTHING to do with her.
Tudor St., St. Michael is not in Oldbury, St. Philip.
And Casa Grande is not Campus Trendz.
Please stop using the tragic murder of six young women by two young black criminals as fodder for your foolish RACISM/PERSONAL ATTACKS against an Indian woman and deal with the facts of the case.
@David,
I respectfully suggest that CCC and GP and their tit for tat is not a problem because we can choose to read it or not.
Their spat is entertaining because (in Bajan parlance)one pretending to be a idiot and de other is a braniac who enjoys intellectual pugilism and is the equivalent of Muhamad Ali.
Bare sport bout hey.
@David,
“Has anyone had time to distil the comments by the Fire Chief in the press this morning?”
I live in Canada. Which press are his comments in ?
Here is the article.
that is why the law on compulsory sentencing for firearms needs to be removed. that store owner could have had a gun and defended herself and all this tragedy would be avoided. barbadians too easy going and this world getting serious. we must meet violence with violence. retreating from a man with a gun is no longer the way. match fire power for fire power. make the criminals think twice. but nothing will happen beacuse these are not tourists who are dead.
Should I be thanking you for that comment, Hants?
don’t have to thank me CCC. I know you are no Idiot. Just what we used to call a (sounds like pit) disturber.
Thanks David, read the Article. Hope they publish my comment.
Is the Fire Chief correct? Isn’t there a Fire Code that applies to Commercial buildings?
Can someone bring us up to date on current regulations?
BTW Julius Gittens article in Barbados Today is an excellent read
Who cares about Miss Ram and she bowling ally. As far as I am concerned this heinous crime was against Guyanese people, it was Guyanese people who perished in that Tudor Street inferno, not Miss Ram. You highlight the incident, but switch to some Miss Ram. Let this be a wake up call to all Guyanese where ever you may be. Barbados has Guyanese blood on its hands. We have all sorts of people living in Guyana and never have we treated any one badly in our country, muchless burn them out.
We feeling you Randy P.
BU is aware of those who are trying to incite a race card.
Very much aware.
Something funny about this police sketch. The police woman who gave a desciption of the two persons of interest last night on tv, said one suspect had an afro and the other was wearing a cap. I am assuming that the sketch is of the one who was not wearing the cap, but he does not have an afro.
To Anonymous who wrote about Barbados having Guyanese blood on its hands:
You seem to know something about the incident that the rest of us don’t i.e. that the store was targeted because it was Guyanese operated or that Guyanese shopped there. Why don’t you share that knowledge with the relevant authorities? I’m sure they can use all the help they can get
@Kool
BU offers no apology for asking Ms. Ram a few questions as a corollary to the core story. For years Barbadians have whispered their concerns about Furniture Limited and Liquidation Centre. It is obvious our authorities are asleep at the switch regarding the enforcement of basic occupational and health standards. We have to start the fight and we prefer to start with Ms. Ram. If you have others add them to the list.
It is interesting to read the story of the man who was first on the scene and who tried ‘with his bare hands’ to save those trapped. He seems to be convinced the firemen could have done more. We hope there is an investigation. What BU finds interesting; when the BICO fire took place the BFS was free with sharing info with BU via Twitter, we were not so lucky this time around. There has been a loud silence!
Here is a Tweet from the Barbados Fire Service:
Realist | September 5, 2010 at 12:12 PM | that is why the law on compulsory sentencing for firearms needs to be removed. that store owner could have had a gun and defended herself and all this tragedy would be avoided. barbadians too easy going and this world getting serious. we must meet violence with violence. retreating from a man with a gun is no longer the way. match fire power for fire power. make the criminals think twice. but nothing will happen beacuse these are not tourists who are dead.
———————————-
I am in full agreement with you Realist. The COP is pussyfooting with issuing new gun licenses.
Do you guys know that ex Chief Fire Cadagon went through the ranks of the Fire Dept pushing paper in the office, and that when he became chief he had attended very few fires?
Do you guys know that ex Chief Fire Cadagon while at the fires he attended while chief was often embarrased by his juniors when he evidenced his inability to particiapate at a fire?
Note what his surname was. Is there something in the name CADOGAN that spells ignorance, lunacy ineptitude and an inability to comprehend?
Ask the fellas how the last few Fire Chiefs got to the top
Ask them how this one got to the top
Ask them who is next in line. And why?
Ask them who is leaving before whom and why A or B or C wont ever become chief.
@The Gate Keeper | September 5, 2010 at 2:29 AM |
Why is Georgie Porgie focusing so much on Ms. Ram
PERHAPS GEORGIE PORGIE THINKS SHE IS A CRIMINAL TOO LOL?
rather than the criminals who have taken lives in Tudor Street?
GEORGIE PORGIE IS A DOCTOR NOT A POLICEMAN
I wonder if GP has the balls to walk to Ms. Ram and voice his concernsobjections directly to her, in the same way he shoots off here. WHY NOT? HE HAS DONE IT BEFORE. GEORGIE IS NOT AFRAID OF MS RAM
Com’on Georgie, it’s time to make the news.
Little fool. Have you not heard that you ought to be as wise as a serpent and as harmless as a dove?
Georgie does not seek to make the news MARTIN LUTHER KING MADE THE NEWS……………. HE IS DEAD!
Georgie is directing fools like you that support this vixen to join together and stop supoorting her, And guess what? You bash Georgie. What has Georgie done you Sir LOL
Robert Deschappé wrote
I am sure that Carson C. Cadogan would find some way to blame the BLP for this unfortunate incident. Some thought (and even me) that I was going a bit too far, and maybe, in this instance, he would have something sane and humane to say. Lo and behold, I was right. How can a human being be so fanatically stupid.
Robert, please understand you are dealing with a ONE TRICK PONY? He is like a record that is stuck. How can he have something sane to say?. How can he not be fanatically STUPID? Can a leopard change its spots? Can an ass turn into a thoroughbred.
Does having a PC and internet access and so called free speech on BU turn any one into an intellectual? When you send a fool to College does he automatically have the ability to think?
I hope this helps.
David | September 5, 2010 at 10:49 AM wrote
In 2010 we have our Chief Fire Officer making such a statement. Don’t you want to laugh?
In another post I explained (because of my knowledge of the men) why the Fire men act or are led in the way that they are led, and why successive Fire Chiefs make the statements they make . I have given the readers inside information on what I know about the Fire Dept
Bush Tea who does not know the men could DISCERN (and that is a key word and ability) only from reading a thread on BU the APTITUDE, ATTITUDE AND LACK OF DIRECTION OF THE SAME MEN) and I , having dealt with the men shared my information in good faith
You allow a moron to come on BU for ever trying to contradict me and talking bovine diarhoea and you have the gall to insult me by putting my name next to his on the same page and the same sentence, when I show him up to be the fool he is?
Here you go @CCC and GP
Don’t you guys get it? We are not in the mood for this back in forth crap you are currently engaged.
I not begging for nuttin David OK?. I come here and give truthful and accurate information and have to contend with an out right illiterate?. What you want me to do. Bow to nonsense? Bow to mediocrity? No I wont. I will have to teach this idiot some sense cause Eustine raised him without a father. He never got a father’s correction. I do not suffer fools gladly. That is one of my biggest sins!
Guess what David? I DON’T GIVE TWO HOOTS WHAT MOOD YOU OR ANY BODY ELSE IS IN. OK? IM IN A GOOD MOOD AND I DON’T DRINK SO I AM NOT DRUNK. If you don’t like what I post erase it. OK But I intend to enjoy myself here when I come, regardless to your mood or any one’s else. I make sure I don’t lie or give inaccurate information.
I don’t know if the premises qualified as a factory but here is what the Factoris Act says about fire safety and exits. It is an existing law of Barbados.
http://www.ilocarib.org.tt/projects/cariblex/barbados_act16.shtml
Certification by fire authority of fire escape.
33. (1) Subject to subsection (2), no premises shall be used as a factory to which this section applies unless there is in force in respect of those premises a certificate issued by the Chief Fire Officer to the effect that those premises are provided with such means of escape in case of fire for the persons employed in the factory as may reasonably be required in the circumstances.
33. (2) Where premises are in use as a factory at 1st March, 1984 or are sought to be used as a factory after 1st March 1984, an application in such form as the Minister approves shall be made to the Chief Fire Officer for the certification of those premises as having been provided with a sufficient means of escape in case of fire, such application being accompanied by such plan or drawing of the premises and other information as may be prescribed; and where an occupier complies with this section, no liability attaches to him in respect of the use of those premises during the period between the making of the application and the grant or refusal of a certificate in respect thereof.
33. (3) The Chief Fire Officer may, upon an application being made to him, issue a certificate or, as the case may be, refuse to issue a certificate until certain alterations, as he specifies are carried out to the premises within such time as he specifies and, if those alterations are not carried out, the issue of a certificate shall be deemed to have been refused at the end of the time specified for the alterations to be carried out or at the end of such further period as the Chief Fire Officer allows.
33. (4) The Chief Fire Officer or an officer of the Fire Service authorised by him in writing shall inspect every factory to which this section applies and, upon being satisfied that a factory is equipped with such means of escape as mentioned in subsection (1), issue in respect of the factory a certificate under this section.
33. (5) In a certificate issued under subsection (4), there shall be specified precisely but in detail
(a) the means of escape with which the factory inspected is equipped;
(b) particulars of the number of persons employed or proposed to be employed in the factory as a whole and, if the person making the inspection thinks fit, in any specified part of the factory; and
(c) particulars of any explosives or highly inflammable material stored or used and any other matters taken into account in granting the certificate
33. (6) A certificate issued pursuant to subsection (4) shall be attached by the occupier to the general register and a copy sent by the Chief Fire Officer to the Chief Labour Officer.
33. (7) Any occupier who uses premises in contravention of this section is guilty of an offence and liable on summary conviction to
(a) a fine of $1 000; and
(b) a fine of $100 for each day on which the contravention continues after the date on which the conviction was first obtained.
Some of you bloggers appear to have limited contact with average Bajans. Wunna does doan guh to cricket pun Sarduhs,or de Garrsun pun race day? Or de fishmarket or yuh neighborhood rum shop?
Bajans will not boycott Furniture Limuhted like Hants did from de time he was living in Babadus in the late 70s and early 80s an to dis day wen he in Babadus he en gine in dey.(@GP Hants does know a lot about Fire protection and Building codes)
Bajans will not boycott a certain Hardware store called whose owner refused to acknowledge my presence and would not even look at me to answer my enquiry.
It only cost him about $50,000bds in lost business but he din have to care cause Hants en nuhbody.
Bajans simply do not protest or boycott anything.
But let us be fair. It is difficult when you do not have a lot of choices and that is why Bajans does get vex,cuss but still shop in these peoples stores.
Now that ms ram is a kazillionaire, she can afford to make all her buildings safe so David is right to point to this person whos has made money from the patronage of thousands of Bajans.
Georgie:
You’re a doctor and not a policeman. Such a stupid statement. So tell me how your qualification as a doctor is being applied to Ms. Ram and her business. People will decide for themselves whether they want to support Ms. Ram or not. Do you think that after all these years, and surviving a “dead chicken controversy”, that anybody is going to be able to run Ms. Ram out of business or Barbados? As long as people need work and Ms. Ram has jobs available, they will work for her. And as long as Ms. Ram is offering services and products that people want, they will do business with her. So you can sing hymn-a-ton.
Rhubarb wrote on September 5, 2010 at 9:03 AM | “How come we still have an Acting Prime Minister, when the sick leave for Mr. Thompson was up, and he returned to the Island before 1 Sept?”
Dear Rhubarb This national tragedy occurred 36 hours ago and the Prime Minister has not spoken. There can be only 2 reasons.
1. He is completely indifferent. If so he is the only Bajan who is indifferent. I don’t for a minute believe that he is indifferent.
2. He is extremely sick and so incapable of paying attention to this serious matter.
I’ve heard that the Prime Minister’s resignation will be announced soon.
Dear David: I know that you are a man in the know. Have you heard the same?
With regards to this issue it is surprising that store owners and managers do not think of their own safety.
If there is a fire their lives are in danger as well so why not make the building/store safe for all including themselves.
Is it the filthy euchre?
@The Gate Keeper
I don’t think wants to run the lady out of Barbados. We want her to provide a safe environment for herself, her workers and the public who spend their money with her.
This goes for all business owners.
Hants wrote “Bajans simply do not protest or boycott anything.”
Some of us do boycott. A certain supermarket sold me a batch of bad milk which caused Little Johnny to lose 5 days of school and caused me to spend money on 2 doctors visits. And of course I lost 5 days work because no school or daycare will take a child with a severe case of the runnings.
I drew the matter to the supermarket’s attention and management behaved as though I was trying to defraud them of a litre of milk. I used to spend $7,000+ per year at that supermarket. In the past 12 years I haven’t spent $84,000 there. The supermarket has since gone out of buusiness. I don’t believe that my my refusal to spend $84,000 caused them to go out of business, but no doubt they treated many other customers badly and the customers took their business elsewhere.
When we hear that some business have failed, dont’ feel sorry for them. Many of them brought failure on themselve, and so they deserve to fail.
@J,
The deputy Prime Minister has made a statement and given the serious illness the Prime Minister is suffering, surely you can give our Leader a little leeway.
I don’t subscribe to this “all roads lead to the PM” bs.
I hope the PM is recovering well but if he is not well enough to be in the public’s eye, Deputy PM Stuart will suffice for now.
Dear Rhubarb:
Sometimes people don’t go back to work when the sick leave is up.
A lotta, lotta people die while on sick leave and their families send in a death certificate instead.
Dear Hants:
The PM can have as much leeway as he needs. I don’t subscribe to the maximum leader bs either. I have no problem with Mr. Stewart.
I am just asking people to THINK LOGICALLY.
If you go to an hotel anywhere in the world, there is posted an evacuation route in case of fire and an assembly point.
Lighted Signs are usually battery backed up so that in the case of electricity failure, the means of exit is marked.
I know new office buildings in Barbados have this feature suggesting to me that there are laws relating to the certification of fire exits in Barbados.
The Union would have to be sleeping if no such laws exist and I know the Union does not sleep!!!
Whatever function the building served, there were employees inside and it was open to the public.
I am sure that somewhere there is a law requiring notification of its use to be made to the Chief Fire Officer and certification obtained.
Hants | September 5, 2010 at 3:57 PM | With regards to this issue it is surprising that store owners and managers do not think of their own safety.
If there is a fire their lives are in danger as well so why not make the building/store safe for all including themselves.
Is it the filthy euchre?
———————————
First you have to ask if the store owners are the building owners. Many stores owners are renting buildingsspace.
@The Gate Keeper | September 5, 2010 at 3:54 PM |
Georgie:
You’re a doctor and not a policeman. Such a stupid statement.
NO IT ISNT. IT IS NOT MY JOB TO CATCH CRIMINALS AND I LIVE OUTSIDE OF BIM SO MY RESPONSE IS CORRECT TO YOUR IGNORANCE
EVERYONE EXCEPT YOU KNOWS THAT IT IS POLICEMEN THAT CATCH THIEVGES AND MURDERERS> LOL
So tell me how your qualification as a doctor is being applied to Ms. Ram and her business.
JUST TOLD YOU AGAIN IN RESPONSE TO YOUR STUPID REMARK
People will decide for themselves whether they want to support Ms. Ram or not. Do you think that after all these years, and surviving a “dead chicken controversy”, that anybody is going to be able to run Ms. Ram out of business or Barbados?
WELL STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT HER EVIL DOINGS.
BUT I JOIN DAVID IN THE CALL TO JOIN TO GETHER AND STOP GOING IN TO HER UNSAFE BUSYNESS PLACES.
THERE IS NO BLACK PERSON IN BARBADOS WHO WOULD GET AWAY WITH WHAT SHE DOES. Bjerkam shot his son and you all soubnded off for weeks. He didnt kill a black boy. But when David and I call to use the fact that lives were lost in shop in Bridgetown that had few exits and in the knowledge too that Ms Ram ALSO has such shops that BLACK BAJANS WHO ARE IN THE MAJORITY IN THE POPULACE CAN PUT HER OUT OF BUSY BY CLOSING RANKS, a moron like you would challenge me?
You mean only BAMP can close ranls ? LOL
Re As long as people need work and Ms. Ram has jobs available, they will work for her. And as long as Ms. Ram is offering services and products that people want, they will do business with her. So you can sing hymn-a-ton.
WELL THATS THE REASON WHY WE REMAIN IN THE STATE IN WHICH WE FIND OURSELVES. Yet we have a stupoid thread running about ML KING! HILARIOUS.
You all can bash GP on BU but wunnuh and cant join together and quietly incite Bajans to CHANGE CERTAIN THINGS IN BARBADOS ESPECIALLY WHEN WE ALL KNOW THAT THE ELECTED LEADERS WHETHER BLP OR DLP WILL NOT LOOK OUT FOR OUR PEOPLE?
What is the point of BU then. For idiots like you to blow off hot air?
Hants | September 5, 2010 at 4:00 PM | @The Gate Keeper
I don’t think wants to run the lady out of Barbados. We want her to provide a safe environment for herself, her workers and the public who spend their money with her.
This goes for all business owners.
————————
It is obvious to me that Georgie would like to close her down if he could. If the working environment that she provides is not safe, then pressure should be placed on the relevant authorities to do their jobs and enforce the necessary building codessafety standards that are needed. I’m sure that Ms. Ram is not the only business owner who may be guilty of such, but it appears that she is being singled out here.
At your request we will ignore the sideshow.
The fact is after we cut to the crap, there is a laissez faire attitude to matters of occupational health and safety in Barbados. Alot of it has its roots in laziness and incompetence as BT stated. Perhaps this tragedy will jerk the buffoons into action. Isn’t embarrassing to listen to the Chief Fire Officer, Deputy PM and others stating what measures will be taken?
@ J
Re
I am just asking people to THINK LOGICALLY.
You have been on BU for a while and usually make sane sensible sober statements so I KNOW that YOU KNOW that your request is attainable by few on BU and in the wider Bajan society.
Common sense is not called so because it is common. It is a misnomer. But as an optimist you can continue to HOPE!
Georgie:
I’m sure that I never complained to you about Ms. Ram or her “evil doings”. I just think you like to rant and rave and type alot of bull…but that’s your privilege.