Dr. Carlos Chase, President of BAMP

The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) is a union which is feared in Barbados. It does not matter how rich or well-positioned socially, the fear of not having a doctor available to attend to an unexpected malady will strike fear in the hearts of most.  In this regard BAMP in the opinion of BU has exploited their position of influence through the years to the point where renaming the association the Barbados Association of Medical Untouchables maybe more appropriate.

The current impasse between BAMP and the QEH Board caused in the main by the non renewal of contracts of two long serving consultants is the latest in the woes of the sole public hospital, once a symbol of excellence in healthcare delivery in the region. The release of Head of Department of Radiology Dr. Rambarat based on media reports was because of inefficiency. Today’s press quotes Rambarat’s colleagues questioning non delivery of CT scans to facilitate the best healthcare delivery. It is interesting that the concerns about the lack of CT scans should come from Dr. Carlos Chase the head of BAMP and Dr. Harish Thani the head of Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department.

Related Links

The other consultant, the debonair and jet setting urologist Dr Jerry Emtage, yes he has a jet at his disposal  has contracted Ralph Thorne, the brother of Dr. Jerry Thorne to avoid the QEH hammer. So far he appears to have been successful.

Public Relations Officer Dr. Ermine Belle has reported this evening BAMP’s intension to ramp-up industrial action tomorrow by including the Polyclinics across the island in the strike action. In response CEO Dr. Dexter James has advised that the junior doctors will be on call to deliver medical care. Junior doctors are represented by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) who appear to be not part of the strike action.

Whatever are the merits and demerits of the current dispute, here is what stinks in the opinion of BU. We have poor and ordinary Barbadians in a depressed economic climate who will be denied healthcare tomorrow, and for what? The sacking of the head of  Radiology who based on comments from his colleagues has been inefficient. Dr. Emtage what can we say. A multi-millionaire who feels driven to fight to hold his position as Consultant at the QEH. We want to know why?

190 responses to “Barbados Association Of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) To Withhold Services To Barbadians – Strike Action To Escalate”

1. @Jeff Cumberbatch,

Thanks for your explanation.

What would be the implication of “public law elements” being read into the contract?

Can you explain the point that Dr. Nicholson is making here re internal dissonance:
    The chairman of the board is quoted, in the same article, as saying that under the terms of the contracts offered to consultants by the QEH, the board “may at any time determine the engagement [read ‘contract’] of the employee on giving three months notice in writing to that effect or on paying him one month’s salary”.
    There appears to be an internal dissonance in that statement. The first half quite obviously refers to a “contract” between employer and employee, whereas the second is an “engagement” [if one does not wish to be disingenuous] in which the employee accepts “employment at will”.
    To put it another way, the employee has demonstrated a “willingness to work” and her or his employment can be terminated without notice and without need for explanation on either side. She or he has no “contractual obligation” to or from the employer.
    I find it strange that anyone would sign a contract written so as to hold such apparently conflicting clauses.

2. @Enuff

BU never ascribed any label to Wickham’s position.

@Jeff

Thanks for summing up the issue for the family.

3. @Georgie Porgie,

Starcom is reporting that the strike has been called off, after intervention of the Minister. The Minister instructed the Board Chairman to meet with BAMP, but the pre-condition for this was that the doctors return to work.

Now, you made some good points in your last post, and hopefully bloggers can call a truce on this matter as well and stick to constructive comments so that we can have a great debate as you said.

4. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

@ Brutus

If thecourt were to find that there are “public law elements” in the contract, then the employer would be obliged to observe the principles of natural justice; essentially, to give the employee a hearing before dismissal.

The “dissonance” to which Nicholson refers is that he cannot see how one can have a binding contract of employment and yet be dismissed without being given a reason therefor, so long as sufficient notice of termination is given.

Dissonant it may be, but that is the law! The contractual obligations of each party are determined by the terms of the contract.

5. Autocratic summary firings in the absence of documented (as opposed to well-rumoured) gross misconduct will only be tolerable if staff trust in management is extremely high.

I doubt that this is the case at QEH; as such, a transparent, mutually acceptable structure for dealing with misconduct and nonperformance is urgently required.

Attempting to improve matters by summary firings of the most unpopular doctors isn’t really a sensible way to proceed. It doesn’t really solve the problem.

The absence of a satisfactory systematic performance assessment structure is a comfort only to non-performers. It doesn’t protect satisfactory doctors from ad-hoc random termination.

The current system of contract renewal (every one to three years, usually yearly) without real job security is generally satisfactory to naïve recent graduates, but becomes less and less satisfactory as doctors grow older, marry, and acquire children and mortgages. Unless they create their own job security through political allegiance, whether party politics or institutional politics.

This rhetoric about taking people (e.g. doctors) down a peg is not good for any sector, particularly not a vital sector like health. It plays into people’s angers, fears, frustrations and resentments, but it fundamentally makes things worse rather than better. Administrators should be looking for mutually satisfactory ways forward, not seeking to disenfranchise the good with the bad.

It is time that Bajans demanded more— but did so while recognising that the doctors have real, valid grievances that should be heard and addressed. It’s not right that every time the doctors complain, people accuse them of greed. People study and slave for years to make higher salaries, only to be bitterly resented for it, it seems.

I mean— they’re not even asking for money! How sensible is it to accuse a man of greed when all he’s asking is that you follow a standard, transparent, appropriate procedure when firing staff?

I am not denying the presence of misconduct, only asking that misconduct be addressed by administration in an open, fair, transparent, and well-structured way, without falling into class resentment or stereotyping/ demonising people because of their job.

6. @Jeff

We have to assume that it would work both ways? i.e when a doctor seeks to terminate a contract

7. @Another Doctor

You have made good points but it brings into question the role of BAMP and its effectiveness through the years. We have had two doctors who performed the role as Minister of Health. No significant changes occurred under their tenure.

8. @Jeff Cumberbatch – thanks again for the clarification. Hopefully a Board of Directors led by a priest also respects the principal of natural justice, whether or not it is contractually or legally required.

@Another Doctor – your points are very well made.

9. @Jeff Cumberbatch,

Under the Employment Rights Bill will an employer have to give a reason for dismissal, even if proper notice is given? It seems to me that we would still have “dissonance” if the employee may terminate the employment contract at any time with proper notice but the employer would only be able to terminate with proper reasons. This is the point raised by David.

10. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

@ David,
    Yes, as I said at the end of the first paragraph at 12:21.

@Brutus,
    Yes, after the ERA becomes law, a qualified employee will have the right not to be unfairly dismissed, even if his dismissal is in accordance with the contract of employment. You are correct on your final point about “dissonance”.

11. @Jeff

Do you know what is the status of the ERB?

12. Let’s cut to chase, shall we? All this talk about a patient centered hospital is just a concocted cover for what is really the provision of jobs for the “boys” or “girls” as the case may be. Looking into my crystal ball I note that two more consultants are to be terminated. One an Indian doctor who handles chemotherapy. Another is an ordinary Jones of a doctor.

13. @David

Essentially the problem is larger than any one office, whether that office be the BAMP office, or the office of the Hospital Director, or the office of the Head of the Board.

The problem lies in the very structure of health care delivery in Barbados. A charismatic leader may be able to rally the troops to better performance despite the problems, but the trend has been for administrators to try to improve problems via making heads roll, and that will never work.

When the basic problem is that you don’t have what you need to work and don’t have enough time to do a proper job, you can conceivably be inspired to bring supplies from home so you can perform to the demands of your conscience; but you can never be bullied into doing so by a hard-nosed manager.

Never.

I have borrowed money to buy equipment to carry to work and use because the government facilities’ equipment was scarce or non-functional. This allows me to move more quickly and see more patients. Do you think that increased levels of punitive firings around me would have inspired me to do the same?

Never.

And at the end of the day, if you ask for a fraction of what your colleagues elsewhere in the Caribbean are getting, what do you hear? Greedy doctors, “holding the country at ransom.” Blogs like this one parroting resentful accusations without bothering to investigate the basic facts.

It’s disheartening and demoralising. Frankly, when the rhetoric started floating around, I questioned my own naïve patriotism, and wondered whether I should have left when so many of my colleagues were doing so.

Clearly my patients and countrymen aren’t looking out for me, so I had better do a better job of looking out for myself!

Anyway, to return to the question at hand, what is needed is a (likely expensive) change in the structure of health care delivery, requiring a strong mandate from the people, through the Prime Minister, led by the Minister of Health, and delivered through senior administration at the QEH and in the distributed system in cooperation with medical, nursing, and other professional associations. No lone administrator can do it without a strong mandate. Certainly no doctor can do it; any request for increased staff or funding is perceived as greed or self-interest.

My own feeling is that the change in structure should involve an increased role for Nurse Practitioners, Medical Assistants, and Health Aides delivering distributed care to the communities; but that’s another discussion for another day.

14. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

When last I had word, the Bill had just been through a “final” vetting by the Social Partnership. That was in June 2010.

15. I think that the fundamental imbalance of power between employer and employee is such that the employee SHOULD have more discretion to quit than the employer should have to fire him.

I don’t see that as “dissonance” at all!

16. @Another Doctor

Thanks for sharing your viewpoint.

To defend BU we have taken a provocative position in light of the failure of stakeholders over the years to resolve this matter. The health budget is significant as you know and the taxpayers deserve better.

It was the previous government who transitioned to Board of Management which was to be the panacea for all the problems that exist at the QEH. It remains a political nest and in our view therein lies the problem.

17. @David | August 17, 2010 at 1:07 PM
    Re We have had two doctors who performed the role as Minister of Health. No significant changes occurred under their tenure.
    You have been given the answer already.

NO WILL
    NO VISION
    NO PLAN
    THE HEALTH CARE SYSTEM DOES NOT REVOLVE AROUND THE HOSPITAL BUT YET THE EMPHASIS CONTINUES TO BE PUT THERE.

The role of BAMP is not to be effective in setting or implementing Public Health Policy.
    The Basic outline of the way forward has been given already It made sense to the people when delivered on BU. It even makes sense to the expatriate Administrator who is parroting what he learned from Donville, who got it in private lessons before the election. LOL

18. Brutus
    Re Starcom is reporting that the strike has been called off, after intervention of the Minister. The Minister instructed the Board Chairman to meet with BAMP, but the pre-condition for this was that the doctors return to work.

What did you expect Sir. Donville has had to forgo his cruise (he reminds me of the BP executive…He wants back his life) and Maxy Balls the priest has learned that his testosterone is no match for BAMP balls and guts! You cant say I didn’t tell you LOL

Maxy Balls is no match for Ermine’s non balls! LOL

The sacerdotal misfit is ascertaining that as Another Dr opines “Attempting to improve matters by summary firings of the most unpopular doctors isn’t really a sensible way to proceed. It doesn’t really solve the problem.

Of course I made some good points in my last post, I usually do! Its just that you guys didn’t agree with me in your various degrees of myopia and cataract. LOL

Don’t hold your breath about any constructive comments and any great debate on BU on this matter. You have seen the best of the BU crew. Fire the doctors and get new ones from Cuba is perhaps their top of the line suggestion.

It is written in the dispensational section of Romans “ How can they know except they have a teacher………..and how can one teach unless they be sent?”

There lies the crux of the matter! Ah lie?

19. Brutus

Let me hear you now. Thinking long term, how will you incorporate the education system and the church in a plan for the future improvement of Health in Barbados?

20. David
    I am glad that you have learned from Another Doctor that the doctors really have a problem with the Board and Government, and that it is not a case of incompetent doctors or a medical mafia or Csars seeking to take over.

The previous Government did a lot of nonsense. And now the DLP trying intimidation ! While at the same time they are not addressing certain simple things that they can do to alleviate the problem

As you say “It was the previous government who transitioned to Board of Management which was to be the panacea for all the problems that exist at the QEH. It remains a political nest and in our view therein lies the problem.” Now you getting to the heart of the matter.

Lets start with the South David.
    What suggestions you have for making things better for the health of the poor people in the South?

CCC and WIV and thos of that persuasion will finish a clinic at Gall Hill at the wrong location . What does the BU household say?

21. Anonymous you seem to understand what is going down!

Let’s cut to chase, shall we? All this talk about a patient centered hospital is just a concocted cover for what is really the provision of jobs for the “boys” or “girls” as the case may be. Looking into my crystal ball I note that two more consultants are to be terminated. One an Indian doctor who handles chemotherapy. Another is an ordinary Jones of a doctor.
    A few months ago it was Brian Charles
    Now its Emptage and Ram Rat
    Then the Oncologist & Jones
    Who next?

Has BAMP nipped them in the bud?

22. @GP

BU is onboard with your recommendations of 2008 but the issues at the QEH seem to transcend your proposal at this point i.e building the right culture to promote the correct synergy between stakeholders.

23. GP
    Looking into my crystal ball I saw poor Rambarat being dismissed by the board. He was asking for the reason for this decision. The board told him that it doesn’t have to give him a reason. Then the ball clouded up but not before telling me to look for a urologist from Washington that has been promised Emptage’s position.

BAMP knows that the terms of the contract allows the Board to dismiss a doctor and that the issue is jobs for the boys but how do they communicate that to the public?

24. David
    building the right culture to promote the correct synergy between stakeholders starts in the periphery in the schools and the churches and everywhere DONT GO TO A&E AND LEST SENT DIRECTLY BY YOUR GP OR POLYCLINIC DR OR YOU ARE TAKEN BY THE AMBULANCE WITH A REAL EMERGENCY

THE DAYS ARE LONG GONE WHEN THERE WERE FEW DOCTORS AND NO POLYCLINICS AND ONLY HAD CAUALTY.

THIS COSTS NOTHING MUCH TO IMPLEMENT EVEN IN A RECESSION

Are you with me on that one David.

Stop dwelling on the Hospital for a while.

Engage in massive Health Education by disseminating information such as we have been doing on BU Do it in the schools and churches (like the SDA’s do) and here and there and everywhere. in the constituency councils.

TAKE THE LOAD OFF THE QEH

THESE ARE SIMPLE THINGS THAT CAN BE DONE IN A RECESSION FOR NEGLIBLE COST.

DIDNT YOU ALL SAY IT WAS PATIENT CENTRIC OR PEOPLE CENTRIC

DONT LET ALL THE YOUNGSTERS GO AWAY OR INTO PTRIVATE PRACTICE GIVE THEM INCENTIVRES TO PARTICIPATE IN THE PUBLIC HEALTH

25. Anonymous its a good thing you are Anonymous or Maxy balls would come to squeeze your balls too He would try to intimidate you. You knowe too much and saying too much LOL
    You LETTING THE BALLS OUT OF THE SCROTUM! ROTFLMAO Murdah!

26. David
    Get the priest to hire the Consulting firm started by HANTS!
    Its called KEEP BALLS IN PANTS INTERNATIONAL! LOL He promised me a liklle pick. But dont let BT know that dem give me wuk LOL

27. David
    Hants say he will give you the advertising revenue that would normally go to the Nation & The Advocate now. How a sound.
    We might do a few spots pun CBC starring Bonny Peppa !

28. Word it talks started today at the behest of the Minister have broken down between the two sides.

29. Intelligent agent inform that in Barbados major disagreement only get settle when involvement of PRIME Minister … not even acting PM do job .. no ? So whole thing get put on hold until Top gun return to office … no?

30. Comrade Georgie;

You have fullest support of East … NOT.. ! No see where Doctor hiding ball … No see ball in action, no see ball in talk, no see ball in plan … nope … no ball, at all … no?

31. I thought Mrs. Irene Sandiford Garner had responsible for the QEH. Is she hiding.

32. Apparently the board get vex and leff’ de negotiating table when BAMP mention that their paid media ads are booked, pending, and unretractable.

Apparently when the board bad-talk doctors it is fine, but even the idea of doctors having an ad is offensive…

BTW, I am hereby closing ranks as GP predicted. I tired o’ being foolish, hear? I broke strike to see patients an’ I get cuss out for my trouble. Patients vex’ an’ treating doctors and nurses like dirt.

I done.

I blame irresponsible bloggers like BU.

33. @Anonymous & GP.
    Well, cat out the bag. My sandylane man tell me, its not everyting yuh must talk. People think doctors getting plenty money, nobody talking about bankers with all expenses paid plus mortgages, and the lawyers getting X0,000 for signing name to computer generated forms.
    Docs have peoples hearts, lungs, bladder etc, in their hand, you cannot get that learning in 3 years at cavehill.
    @another doctor – yuh making sense from nonsense. teach Nicholson some sense.
    Dr.Carlos Chase balls must be split in two or four?, how can he talk about poor job performance, then be the man union leader. I hope his balls not touching, or else Maxy balls going to lose his or make sure Chase balls go down the chase vault. Me, I staying with the obeah man. LOL

34. @Another Doctor

Are you for real?

You were making sense until you inserted the comment that you are blaming irresponsible bloggers like BU. Was BU around in the last 20 years? Who did you blame then? BU like many believe there is enough blame to go around.

There is a piece by David Commisiong on Page 9 of Barbadostoday.bb which makes for good reading.

35. @ GP, It look like I betta stay up hey in Canader until we new corprashun mek enuff money to pay fuh Air Ambalance.
    Uh gine hey to muh client so uh cant stop pun de blog.
    Got to mek dah Air Ambalance money fuh muh nex trip to Babadus.

36. My intelligent agent acting on best information available inform that only ONE or two person is voting in favour of doctors on blog … I repeat, ONE person is voting in favour of Doctors on blog, in the repeat … So two survey poll NOT SHOW ACCURATE RESULT …! True result even more anti-doctor than poll suggest … no? Intelligent agent suggest that some one most ashamed that dictor (the English) not very popular … no?

37. Hants
    Don’t worry wid buying de air ambulance yet. We will rent one as needed for those who can pay for it up front. See if you can find a pick fuh BAFBFP the Chinee man. That will keep he off the blog talking so much bovine excrement. He like he deteriorate sence he turn Chinee.

38. Mr David Sir
    I agree with you about David Commisiong’ article on Barbadostoday.bb The only one on that board that knows anything about medicine is Irvine Brancker.

But I warning you Sir. Dont be talking to Another Doctor like if you are Maximus balls OK? Or you will have to deal with GP not BAMP! LOL. Murdah!

Have you banned WIV & CCC and the other know it all idiot? They have not been trying to defend the indefensible recently, man.

The docs ease up pun de strikle and the Board pick up their bat and ball and go home because BAMP run and ad that seeks to enlighten the Public to the background of their action.

Is the Board a dictatorship? or is it led by a dictator?

39. HERE is the paid announcement by BAMP.
    There must be more than what is being reported. The Board appeared on CBC and publicised its position; BAMP is entitled to do the same. BU has stated that the Board has been winning the PR war. The bottomline is that the public is frustrated and don’t care so much about the technical aspects of the arguments. On the flip side BAMP must be concerned as a trade union with the technical.

Oh what a mess!

40. Browngal
    Your sandylane is right to a point! its not everyting yuh must talk but some times you have to let the cat out of the bag or the balls out of the pants into the public

The ad by BAMP in today’s paper exposes that the priest has “balls “ tissue in his brain, not brain tissue! The man is clearly not a mere clown, he is a whole circus. He now knows that his “guts” & “balls” is no match for BAMP balls and Ermine’s oestrogens! LOL Murdah.

Another doctor knows what he is talking about it because he is there in the thick of things. He is experiencing what the irate irrational ignorant populace are not experiencing. When you study hard for 5 years and then some more, you want to know that your pick secure. No one is defending poor performers, but folk are worried if they could be treated with similar lack of decorum and protociol.

Now a common sense ploy would have been to let Ramrat finish his contract and terminate him then. No one would have sneezed if his contract was terminated then. That is called TACT! If he had done this the priest would have his balls INTACT!

I suggest to you that as a Rhodes scholar that George Nicholson does not need teaching any sense. He is a very brilliant person and a fair person!

Again you miss the point about Dr.Carlos Chase. Read the information that came out again. He might have spoken about poor job performance, since BAMP would have dealt with this internally and made recommendations to the Board (of medical illiterates except for Irvine). That his prerogative as a BAMP official. BAMP will deal with its members and discipline them as needed- not a silly priest and a band of political appointees who knoweth not a thermometer from a sphygmonometer.

As the man union leader, he is wearing another hat to ensure that the silly priest and a band of political appointees who knoweth not a thermometer from a sphygmonometer.
    runneth not roughshod all over BAMP members, because the testosterone produced by the balls” tissue in the priests brain has reached extremely high levels.

Be assured of one thing my dear brown gal, Maxy balls can not touch Chase or any BAMP member unless BAMP allows it! Ask your obeah man if that aint true. LOL.

41. I agree with Commissiong that the Board should be operating at the level of policy only, and not getting involved in day-to-day managing. I also agree that the Minister could have done a lot better in selecting the members of the Board.

The Chairman of the Board should be dismissed immediately, because through his public utterances he is only fanning the flames and making the matter worse. He has proven that he needs to be as far away from the negotiations as he can possibly be and the Minister needs to get rid of him before he causes further embarrassment. Of course the Minister has already expressed total confidence in the Chairman, so we may have to call the Minister’s judgment into question too. I am assuming of course that the Chairman was not speaking out on the instructions of the Minister or with the Minister’s prior knowledge.

42. Another doctor

Re when the board bad-talk doctors it is fine

Of course! Bajans like to bad talk doctors till they sick. Doctors are supposed to be rich and affluent and elitest. Bajans hate that—even though, they themselves would love to be be rich and affluent and elite! They don’t know that most doctors would just love to be private citizens, and not have to fit into moulds into which they may be put at anytime.

Re the idea of doctors having an ad is offensive…
    Of course! It brings out the truth! It brings some light to the people.

The priest is one of those well described in John 3:19-21
    19. And this is the condemnation, that light is come into the world, and men loved darkness rather than light, because their deeds were evil.
    20. For every one that doeth evil hateth the light, neither cometh to the light, lest his deeds should be reproved.
    21. But he that doeth truth cometh to the light, that his deeds may be made manifest, that they are wrought in God.

In the face of the LIGHT OF THE TRUTH being revealed , he knew that his STUPID PRIDE AND ARROGANCE WOULD BE THREATENED AND THAT HIS “GUTS” WOULD BE SHOWN TO BE JUST AIR! In the face of the LIGHT OF THE TRUTH being revealed , he knew that his BALLS WOULD BE SQUEEZED!

Apparently, they did not realize when they left the table that since BAMP’s paid media ads were booked, pending, and unretractable that their action would just make them look stupid stupid stupid!

Re Patients treating doctors and nurses like dirt. THAT HAS BEEN GOING ON SINCE THE mid 90’s. Influenced my decision to go teach abroad.

43. David

Could you possibly put the BAMP statement in a word document or in a fashion that it can be cut and pasted, so that it can be explained to any that cant understand what is happening?

Doctors are fighting for their future job security and livelihood. I can understand thier situation. It happened to me. I was not in BAMP . ASfter a tough divorce I was fighting back and had just occupied a new house. I had to sell it!

This sort of stuff must not happen to others!

44. @David – is there more than one “Another doctor”?

45. This is an opportunity for BU to expose another politically appointed Board. Does anyone know the professional background and political ties of the Board members?

According to Commissiong’s piece they are:

Chairman – Rev. Guy Hewitt
    Deputy – Francis De Peiza
    Cardinal Fenty
    Lisa Niles
    Natasha Small
    Junior Allsopp
    Lawrence Clarke
    Dr. Irvine Brancker

46. News is the strike is off again.

BAMP STATEMENT- PAID ADVERTISEMENT
    16 August 2010

The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) regrets the inconvenience caused to the public because of the ongo-ing industrial action at the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH). To this end. BAMP would like to clarify to the public the following points which precipitated the industrial action:

This particular impasse between the Board of the QEH and BAMP is not about any particular individual, or issues related to their performance. It relates to ongoing matters related to the contractual relationship between the members of BAMP and the QEH. It also relates to the approach undertaken by the QEH Board in their attempt to terminate the services of three of our senior members. BAMP is very concerned that this approach of the QEH Board could open the doors for unacceptable favoritism and victimization.

BAMP regrets that the confidential minutes of the Medical Staff Committee were leaked to the press. However. BAMP wishes to advise the public that only certain aspects of the minutes were highlighted by the media. The recommendation of the Medical Staff Committee to investigate allegations made against doctors and to make recommendations with respect to their findings was not adhered to nor was it highlighted in the newspaper article of the Nation 16, 2011).

BAMP and its members are committed to providing patients of the QEH with the highest level of care available and has been seeking to resolve all matters with the Board of the QEH but to no avail to date. BAMP vehemently denies the statement that it has acted in had faith in relation to its interaction with the QEH Board. BAMP has continued to adhere to the time honoured procedures of liaising with the QEH Board even in the face of the dismissal of our members.

Doctors have the same rights as the general public in relation to industrial relation disputes and due process and should not be prohibited from exercising these rights.

The escalation of industrial action from 16th August 20 I() by the BAMP to involve doctors from polyclinics and other institutes is due to the fact that these doctors are engaged as contractual officers and the cut-rent negotiations apply to them as well. That is one of the reasons why BAMP had requested the Minister of Health to intervene and begin the negotiation process.

BAMP is deeply saddened and disappointed by comments made by the Chairman of the QEH Board on the CBC program the Peoples’ business which aired on August 15, 2010 and wishes to address the following:

Medical Reports: The delay in the production of medical reports is a result or the lack of secretarial assistance provided to doctors, inadequate medical records, protected time for the doctors and medical transcription.

Surgeries: The back-log in surgeries, and delays and cancellation of clinics are matters largely arising from administrative inefficiencies. The appointment system is archaic. The promised computerization of Medical Records for the Laboratory and Radiology departments has never materialized. Unfortunately, the blame for all these inefficiencies is always directed towards the doctors.

Private vs. Public: The endorsement by the CEO of the QEH that the ratio of the private to public patients undergoing elective surgery is satisfactory refutes the charges that surgery on public patients is being unduly delayed by Consultants. There would be a difference in the waiting lists due to the fact that there are considerably more public patients than there arc private patients.
    BAMP remains ready to meet to resolve this impasse so that the public is not inconvenienced for any length of time

Dr. Ermine Belle, PRO

47. Brutus my friend

I think you are beginning to get the picture.

You can now see that there was more in the mortar than the pestle.

Maximus balls failed to see that he is not dealing with his docile church members, or his fellow mendicants on his board.

Irvine has always been a very quiet person from boy days. He is not one like yours truly, who would have told this silly sacerdote that he was a moron and so mentally challenged that even Ermine Belle (the psychiatrist) could not cure him.

AS A BAMP LEADER SHE HAS SQUEEZED HIS BALLS THOUGH!

I wonder if WIV and CCC & HH or BT can tell us how a PART TIME BOARD OF IDIOTS WHO KNOW NOTHING ABOUT MEDICINE CAN RUN A HOSPITAL WITH THE EXTENSIVE BUDGET SET ASIDE TO DO SO.

CLEARLY THIS LOFTY ASSIGNMENT HAS GONE TO THE CHAIRMAN’s HEAD (where apparently his balls are also located!)

Not only is he not fit for administrtion in the Hospital, it seems that he has not completed relevant studies in CHURCH LEADERSHIP OR CHURCH ADMINISTRATION!

48. @Brutus

It appears so from where we sit.

All of those who have had to have surgeries performed by doctors who have QEH consultancies know that as soon as you pay your money (to them) the date of surgery is quickly scheduled and surgery performed. The following statement is therefore bovine excrement:

Private vs. Public: The endorsement by the CEO of the QEH that the ratio of the private to public patients undergoing elective surgery is satisfactory refutes the charges that surgery on public patients is being unduly delayed by Consultants. There would be a difference in the waiting lists due to the fact that there are considerably more public patients than there arc private patients.

49. On behalf of me from East and my intelligent agent that I speak for I must establish no? that I retain right to DISAGREE with Dr. Porgie, if not in substance of argument, but most certainly in ATTITUDE and APPROACH … ! It is approach and attitude that land many many citizen in deep bovine mess during Cultural Revolution, for it is ATTITUDE and APPROACH that make people with weapon do excrement..! So for purpose of this discussion and this discussion alone, long time ally will be call Dr. Bovine Experience, for in climate where good public face is requirement, bovine experience not good thing… no? This not good at all… no?

50. It seems that my Chinnee ally is engaging in semantics but you can fairly call me Dr. Bovine Experience since that was exactly the experience I had with the Min of Health in BLP guvment

Chinnee ally must agree though that Chairman of the board used wrong ATTITUDE and APPROACH with doctors and that make people with weapon respond. LOL