Dr. Carlos Chase, President of BAMP

The Barbados Association of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) is a union which is feared in Barbados. It does not matter how rich or well-positioned socially, the fear of not having a doctor available to attend to an unexpected malady will strike fear in the hearts of most.  In this regard BAMP in the opinion of BU has exploited their position of influence through the years to the point where renaming the association the Barbados Association of Medical Untouchables maybe more appropriate.

The current impasse between BAMP and the QEH Board caused in the main by the non renewal of contracts of two long serving consultants is the latest in the woes of the sole public hospital, once a symbol of excellence in healthcare delivery in the region. The release of Head of Department of Radiology Dr. Rambarat based on media reports was because of inefficiency. Today’s press quotes Rambarat’s colleagues questioning non delivery of CT scans to facilitate the best healthcare delivery. It is interesting that the concerns about the lack of CT scans should come from Dr. Carlos Chase the head of BAMP and Dr. Harish Thani the head of Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department.

Related Links

The other consultant, the debonair and jet setting urologist Dr Jerry Emtage, yes he has a jet at his disposal  has contracted Ralph Thorne, the brother of Dr. Jerry Thorne to avoid the QEH hammer. So far he appears to have been successful.

Public Relations Officer Dr. Ermine Belle has reported this evening BAMP’s intension to ramp-up industrial action tomorrow by including the Polyclinics across the island in the strike action. In response CEO Dr. Dexter James has advised that the junior doctors will be on call to deliver medical care. Junior doctors are represented by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) who appear to be not part of the strike action.

Whatever are the merits and demerits of the current dispute, here is what stinks in the opinion of BU. We have poor and ordinary Barbadians in a depressed economic climate who will be denied healthcare tomorrow, and for what? The sacking of the head of  Radiology who based on comments from his colleagues has been inefficient. Dr. Emtage what can we say. A multi-millionaire who feels driven to fight to hold his position as Consultant at the QEH. We want to know why?

190 responses to “Barbados Association Of Medical Practitioners (BAMP) To Withhold Services To Barbadians – Strike Action To Escalate”

1. So who is taking part in the strike, if not the junior doctors?

2. Can somebody explain or even identify BAMP’s grievance or position. Managers are fired every day and it doesn’t make the news.

3. It appears BAMP believes some courtesy/deference should be given to long serving consultants like Emtage and the other gentleman.

4. In the hospital setting a junior doctor is essential those doctors who are not comsultants. This category may include some doctors with much experience Some may even have “consultant” qualifications, or are close to obtaining them.

Junior doctors do the bulk of the work at the hospital. They do all the routine donkey work. So clearly the hospital is covered. .

David if Junior doctors are represented by the National Union of Public Workers (NUPW) who appear to be not part of the strike action, and if they are on call to work tomorrow, how will “poor and ordinary Barbadians in a depressed economic climate be denied healthcare tomorrow” ?

5. G.C. Brathwaite Avatar

I listened today to the President of BAMP indicated through David Ellis and Starcom that there would be an upscale to their strike action and that action would now affect the polyclinics etcetera. While I do sympathise with BAMP based upon the bits of information appearing in public, I am somewhat disheartened that subsequent to meetings which they would have had with their membership (since the President indicated that escalations were are least in part due to comments made last night by the Chairman of the Board),what was fed to the public today appeared to trickle through an IV bag. I think all parties have to be serious and take all considerations and possible consequences into account. From being distant, I cannot make definitive statements on the issue, but it is obvious that there are problems of communication and more than likely the super-ego syndrome is getting nailed to the cross as well. Dr. Chase, in a matter as serious as the one that your association finds itself, you cannot come to the public as unprepared as you sounded today. In the event that your side is the side that needs public support to gain attraction or momentum, you cannot treat the listening public to postponement or procrastination — these are concerns of health as much as it is to governance. I am requesting on behalf of all Barbadians that you reconsider your ‘strike action’ and find other available means to communicate and negotiate without compromising the health of my brothers and sisters. You would note that at this time, I am still in partial support of your key claims. I do not in any way absolve the government from blame or excuse them from treating to their responsibilities in ensuring that tax payers and residents of Barbados have an institution that they can expect good quality care in a timely manner. At some other time I shall deal with the growing authoritarian and autocratic style of governance being pursued by this administration. It however serves you well to treat this disruption in health care in the same manner that you would expect our support if injustice is prevailing at that institution and affecting your doctors.

6. Just wondering if anyone can (or will) speak to this question…

The last time QEH lost power, the single backup generator failed to function. And it turned out that QEH hadn’t heard about large UPSs for operating rooms and other critical services, so they also went dark.

In the fourth estate there were promises that lots of money was being spent to ensure this never happened again (consultants engaged, etc.).

So, from this then, may I please ask…

If power failed today at QEH… What would happen? Would it be any different than what happened the last time?

7. @ Brutus

Junior doctors are used as the pawns. The Consultants/Untouchables determine if they will be successful in exams.

8. The government has finally met its match. Unlike the NUPW, BWU, BSTU etc, BAMP is clearly not letting this government steamroll its membership. This episode is just a continuation in this administration’s disregard for established laws and protocols governing employment. The same NUPW only few weeks ago accused government of being apathetic towards proper procedures, and signaled their intention to start civil proceedings against the administration.

9. That’s it?!!! Courtesy/deference? As to that consultant that doesn’t like to turn up…all I will say his heart doesn’t seem to be in his work (wink wink).

10. No No David;

That was not question that I was instructed to ask in survey … the question should be ..
    “Should Government Employed Doctors Be Allowed To Strike?

It is response to this that my family very interested in …no?

11. @BAFBFP

Your poll was updated.

12. A Press Release issued by the QEH has been updated to the blog.

13. David

I know you appreciate my difficulty with the English … so maybe you be patient for I no see where poll be located … Now you must write slowly as reading skill not so good for me … no?

14. Very sad. Errol Barrow must be rolling in the grave, that free medical promised to Barbadians has come to this.

Nurses from Asia, some do not speak English (I witnessed this firsthand, so do not dispute), medical carewithheld, a Board that seemingly is strong headed and not meeting properly with the parties concerned….

Sorry, but on this I must agree with Mia. Neither Adams nor Barrow would have allowed this impasse.

The action and thus blame cannot be on the temporarily incapacitated Thompson, but the current authority-holding PM.

15. The Hippocratic Oath
    How much does it hold in modern times?
    “I will respect the privacy of my patients, for their problems are not disclosed to me that the world may know. Most especially must I tread with care in matters of life and death. If it is given to me to save a life, all thanks. But it may also be within my power to take a life; this awesome responsibility must be faced with great humbleness and awareness of my own frailty. Above all, I must not play at God.
    I will remember that I do not treat a fever chart, a cancerous growth, but a sick human being, whose illness may affect the person’s family and economic stability. My responsibility includes these related problems, if I am to care adequately for the sick.
    I will prevent disease whenever I can, for prevention is preferable to cure.
    I will remember that I remain a member of society, with special obligations to all my fellow human beings, those sound of mind and body as well as the infirm.
    If I do not violate this oath, may I enjoy life and art, respected while I live and remembered with affection thereafter. May I always act so as to preserve the finest traditions of my calling and may I long experience the joy of healing those who seek my help.

16. Above comment round thread. Anyhow wunna too serious!. becareful wunna don’t have stroke or send de blood pressure up worrying about dem “so called” practitioners because de no wuk or wukking up no more

17. Oh Comrade David

Yes, I have located the asset …I repeat, I have located the asset … do you copy … overt..?

18. @ Chris Halsall
    QEH now has one of the keenest and most knowledgeable electrical engineers in the business, in the position of Director of Engineering. Ms Yarde believes in, and practices Preventive Maintenance. With no political interference, I am confidant that the QEH’s electrical side is in capable hands.

19. I can’t believe that BAMP would strike if the sacking of Dr. Rambrat was above board. If it were clear that he was inefficient, and despite being approached and ordered by the Board to deal with the CT scans and he did not, then it should not have been a surprise when he was given his walking papers. So there has to be more to the story.
    Perhaps a good reason or reasons exists why he did not deal with the CT scans. Maybe the reason was good enough to prevent him from having a disciplinary hearing. But not a good enough reason in the Board’s opinion for them not to sack him, and keep the details quiet for fear he would sue them and maybe have a legitimate case. The Chairman of the Board has talked about how both doctor and QEH can walk out of the doctors’ contract by giving notice on either side. I wonder what is there to stop the Board from firing as many doctors as they feel like by just giving them notice without having to provide any reason whatsoever. I hope the BAMP doctors taking action now don’t find themselves in that position.

20. @ Jerry Emtage

are you Anonymous that wrote piece on “The Hippocratic Oath” ..? … hic …
    …This very good stuff … hic … most potent … hic … send som bak hom .. urp

21. This is just crazy to say the least. In my opinion it should be illegal and criminal for provider of essential services ( as in this case health care provider) to go on strike. We need legislation in Barbados to deal with these issues because as it now stands BAMP is now playing blackmail and hard ball politics. The government should fire them all if they go on strike , similar to what Reagan did to the Air traffic controller in the 80s. If their is a shortage of health care provider in the system the Cubans and the Phillipinos will gladly fill the shortage.

22. @BAFBFP

Glad you found it.

Agree that Doctors should not be allowed to strike. What more essential service can one imagine than that of primary healthcare provider?

Mia needs to explain herself!

23. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Today’s press quotes Rambarat’s colleagues questioning non delivery of CT scans to facilitate the best healthcare delivery. It is interesting that the concerns about the lack of CT scans should come from Dr. Carlos Chase the head of BAMP and Dr. Harish Thani the head of Accident & Emergency (A&E) Department.

I think it amazing and mind boggling that these same educated clowns working with BAMP can be heard to be critical for this same man’s non delivery of service but on the other they go out on strike in his support, if that is not politically motivated I don’t what is Ask Belle who she represents in this instance, some suggest not the doctors not the hospital but rather Mottley.

24. @Zion
    When the government fire them all.Then what! with the inadequate care being given under this bunch. you think that the others would be better ? i think not. Further more it would cost more to hire another crew since most of the new crew would have to come from outside of the country and they not going to work for peanuts. Barbados does not have enough qualified doctors at present living here.The fact that the governbment let this problem escalate to this point is inexcusable. It seems like No one in government is in charge at this critical time.The people should be calling for their heads on a plate and this is a good time since there are no doctors working. How de hell could the government play Russian roulette with the lives of so many,. A God dammm shame! You think this would have been allowed to happen if our PM was a patient at the QEH, What de hell is going on here the people need ANSWERS NOW!

25. @ Comrade David

We in East do thing that offend West until situation like QEH catch with you ..no? Funny how both political party opt to replace member of essential service with overseas supply if member from essential service opt to greener pasture … So maybe essential service not essential service afterall … no? But Doctor most essential service … but can strike and not risk replacement from overseas supply … not very splendid, not very splendid at all … no?

26. smooth chocolate Avatar
    smooth chocolate

they though they were indispensable!! get rid of the all and give young blood a a chance!!!

27. @BAFBFP

In light of all that has happen we need to look at this situation. Any precedents in Caribbean islands as far as legislation goes?

28. This situation is just a natural part of the change process.

It is obvious that the Board and minister are serious about making some fundamental changes at QEH – and that the BAMP is part of the problem.
    Not that they are ‘bad’ people, just that the system has become over time, a doctors’ hospital where conceited doctors (like one we know well) go with the primary aim of becoming rich. The patients are just a necessary distraction….

If a new Board come into position with a mandate that the whole focus of the place needs to change to one where the needs of the patients comes first, don’t you think that there will be friction… and that in particular, those doctors who are ‘at the top of the food chain’ will be upset after fighting their way into the money-making positions?

This is why Dr Chase was speechless on VOB. Wanna think that he could tell the truth about why BAMP vex?!?!? You expect him to admit that their ‘sweet’ system was being dismantled?

Those calling for the acting PM to do something to maintain the status quo -while also trying to solve the fundamental problem at the QEH are just naive. ….. they want the cancer removed, but not the trauma of an operation, or even to take any medicine. The PM has done his duty by issuing and standing by the mandate for change.

The Board needs to maintain their stance and even take the opportunity to go further. Terminate the contracts of all those who go on strike and offer new contracts to new doctors who are willing to break from BAMP and the old scam system, or who are willing to relocate from overseas with new attitudes (a certain teacher not included)

The truth is that these ‘consultants’ are no longer as indispensable as they think they are – or as they were a few years ago. This is borne out by the chronic non-performance of some of them. Many of them have more to lose than to gain because they were able to use the QEH as their personal office and surgery for free, as well as to convert QEH patients into paying private patients.
    ….and there are many really dedicated doctors out there who are indeed patient focused -but who are just not interested in the limelight (or the “sweets”) right now.

Change comes with some measure of dislocation.
    “No pain, no gain” is a fact of life, and at the QEH, there IS a need for change.

@ CH and Nationalist,
    The QEH has at last employed a REAL engineer in the form of Ms Yarde and the difference is obvious and expected. Clearly, what is needed in a highly technological place like that, is some more engineers on board and less parasites.

29. @ AC. Anything is better right now than the present condition. 80% of the health budget goes to wages of which overtime charges constitute a decent slice. These consultants donot come cheap and they are, in my opinion, well over-paid based on the delivery of services right now in BIM. We shouldnot be held to ransom by the tribalist and group-think mentality of those who sworn to the hippocratic principle.

I still say fire them if they go on strike and recruit outsiders for the jobs.

30. @ Bush Tea
    ‘This situation is just a natural part of the change process.’
    Anyone familiar with change management knows that a communications strategy (which appears to be absent from this ‘change’) is fundamental to success.

31. Compliment Nationnews – Doctors at odds

-According to the minutes, BAMP president Dr Carlos Chase queried how Rambarat could “refuse to come out when each consultant receives an on-call allowance.-

How does a union leader after such a statement defend this doctor’s sacking? Is this a double minded man?

32. @Enuff

The QEH issue is not* one to go partisan. Your last comment seems to ignore that the QEH matter has challenged all* governments in the last 20-30 years. To quote what many are saying on the ground, some doctors, things will have to get worse before it gets better.

To quote an unnamed person who sent us a note on this matter:

Can you imagine that medical Consultants who have become affluent off the QEH, have now forced their junior colleagues to shut down the polyclinics and other hospitals to hurt and distress poor people in this country.

This unnecessary war that they have declared on the QEH has nothing to do with the polyclinics but they would seek to hold this country to ransom by demanding their colleagues withhold medical care from hardworking, everyday Barbadians. But I CAN GUARENTEE that they will NOT be withholding medical care from their private patients.

Have they so forgotten that it is the ordinary people of Barbados who as taxpayers gave them FREE EDUCATION so that they could go to school and university and study free to become doctors? In their wealth and good fortune have they become so disconnected from ordinary Barbadians especially the less fortunate? The Consultants at the QEH have claimed squatter’s rights for years – they feel the QEH belongs to them – now they are pressing for the title deeds.

This struggle by the Board is on behalf of WE, the ordinary people of Barbados who have to use the services of the QEH. They must be supported.

33. Dr. George Nicholson adds his voice in a letter to the Nation.

Devil’s in the contract details

By: GEORGE D. NICHOLSON, DM (Oxf), FRCP, professor emeritus, UWI

I CONSIDER it most unfortunate that the consultant staff members of the Queen Elizabeth Hospital (QEH) have had to take industrial action following the determination of the employment of a long-serving colleague.
    To imply that such a dismissal is part of the QEH board of management’s new “efforts to make the QEH a patient-centred institution rather than doctor-centred” [as stated in the SATURDAY SUN of August 14], is risible and insulting to both patients and physicians.
    The chairman of the board is quoted, in the same article, as saying that under the terms of the contracts offered to consultants by the QEH, the board “may at any time determine the engagement [read ‘contract’] of the employee on giving three months notice in writing to that effect or on paying him one month’s salary”.
    There appears to be an internal dissonance in that statement. The first half quite obviously refers to a “contract” between employer and employee, whereas the second is an “engagement” [if one does not wish to be disingenuous] in which the employee accepts “employment at will”.
    To put it another way, the employee has demonstrated a “willingness to work” and her or his employment can be terminated without notice and without need for explanation on either side. She or he has no “contractual obligation” to or from the employer.
    I find it strange that anyone would sign a contract written so as to hold such apparently conflicting clauses.
    While industrial law is not my forte, I wish the board of the QEH well in their attempts to attract “young” doctors or specialists from the Barbadian diaspora who earn in excess of US$400 000 (according to Sanjay Gupta) per annum and who have a better understanding than I do of legal and ethical employment termination.

34. @ David

Intelligent agent is presently on intelligent mission … effect of striking doctor in many part of world … Not very good for society … some place claim that death rate reduce by 40% during strike … no? But no place found that doctor not allowed to strike in region … Maybe good case for Unions to stop practice of firemen and policemen not allowed to strike then …

35. Could somebody explain to me the points that Dr. Nicholson is trying to make?

– why does he consider the point about making the hospital “a patient-centred institution rather than doctor-centred” to be “risible and insulting to both patients and physicians”? Is this explained in the letter or are we to assume? Does he feel like GP that it should NOT be patient-centred, or does he believe it already is?
    – what is the internal dissonance that he is talking about? What are the apparently conflicting clauses?
    – Why does he find it strange that anyone would sign this contract, when we have already been told that consultants have signed it? Is it that he does not really believe that these apparently conflicting terms are in the contract, or is he saying that in future the consultants should not accept these terms?
    – what is the point he is trying to make in wishing the Board well in attracting “young” doctors or specialists from the diaspora and why does he mention how much money they can earn in the US? What does Sanjay Gupta have to do with it?

36. Wishing In Vain Avatar

Bush Tea, you were spot on in your comments, excellent work.

37. Peter Wickham is currently hosting his show on CBC and has taken full aim at the doctors with a swipe at the lawyers.

38. BAMP is losing the public relations battle. They need to step up quickly and explain clearly why they had to take industrial action and what it is they want. This matter should have been resolved behind closed doors but they are the ones who put the matter squarely into the public domain (by striking).

39. Brutus | August 17, 2010 at 9:30 AM |
    Re BAMP is losing the public relations battle.

Do they have to win it? LOL All BAMP got to do is get the contracts written properly. LOL

When the strike done and wunnah done keeping nuff noise, will go back to wunnah SAME specialists! LOL Ah lie?

Re They need to step up quickly and explain clearly why they had to take industrial action and what it is they want.

The doctors don’t got to step up no where or explain nothing to the public The Guvment got to address the contracts!

You don’t know that every Dr working for Guvment are under contract?. And they can be fired at will! Seems BAMP is seeking to change that. And they have every right to do so! Doctors are human too.

I agree with you…This matter should have been resolved behind closed doors but Maxy Balls et al think they can INTIMIDATE the men. But even Ermine Belle got balls!

You asked “Could somebody explain to me the points that Dr. Nicholson is trying to make? “

Hear you are talking a load of bovine excrement and you cant understand simple English.

“Nicko” telling you jokers what all the fuss is about. It does not seem to be about Ramrat or Emptage

You asking lots of questions man. You cant understand nuttin but keeping noise? LOL Where has

Here is the answer to one of your silly questions

Why does he find it strange that anyone would sign this contract, when we have already been told that consultants have signed it?

THE REASON WHY THEY SIGN IS BECAUSE THEY WANT TO WORK IN BARBADOS!

Here is the answer to another of your silly questions

– what is the point he is trying to make in wishing the Board well in attracting “young” doctors or specialists from the diaspora and why does he mention how much money they can earn in the US?
    EVERY YEAR MANY OF OUR POST INTERNS MIGRATE TO THE USA

WHERE THEY ARE PAID MUCH BETTER THAN THEY ARE IN BARBADOS AND WHERE THEY ARE RESPECTED
    AND WHERE THEY HAVE ALL THE FACILITIES AND EQUIPMENT THEY NEED TO FACILITATE THEIR WORK
    AND WHERE DOCTORS CONTROL THE HOSPITALS INSTEAD OF POLITICALLY APPOINTED PRIESTS
    AND WHERE THERE IS EASY ACESS TO FURTHER TRAINING

FYI there were some who returned in the mid 70’s THEY FLED IN HASTE!

Re What does Sanjay Gupta have to do with it?
    He mocking wunnah

You all have been adjudicating with out the facts and are still doing so. Its Hilarious!

BTW George Nicholson is one of the most brilliant men I have met . One of the few men in my whole University career that I thought that I had to go to listen to. He was also very strict and very fair.

So you sound very funny trying to scoff at him.

40. I don’t support either Emptage or Rambarat, but the QEH board has got to stop the antagonistic attitude towards staff.

People who resent doctors might enjoy the board wanting to take doctors down a peg, but that doesn’t make it right, or fair, or sensible.

Why not lift patients up instead of pulling doctors down? Why not allow doctors a little job security, for a change? Why not have predictable, fair work evaluation instead of class resentment and political knives in the night?

41. Enuff you Quote the omniscient all wise Bush Tea
    Anyone familiar with change management knows that a communications strategy (which appears to be absent from this ‘change’) is fundamental to success.

SO THEN THERE IS A BREAK DOWN IN COMMUNICATION THAT HAS RESULTED IN MAXY BALLS VS BAMP BALLS
    Wunnah cussing the doctors, but doesn’t it take two to tangle?

Amazed writes
    -According to the minutes, BAMP president Dr Carlos Chase queried how Rambarat could “refuse to come out when each consultant receives an on-call allowance.-
    How does a union leader after such a statement defend this doctor’s sacking? Is this a double minded man?

CLEARLY THE FUNDAMENTAL ISSUE HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH RAMRAT
    IT IS CLEARLY SOMETHING OF GREATER IMPORT!

TWO SIDES TO THE STORY

You really believe the man so stupid to contradict himself?

42. @Georgie Porgie,

Does BAMP have to win the public relations battle? I will let them decide. I do not share your assessment of this tremendous power that they wield, especially now that we have heard that the NUPW has not joined them in the strike action. How many doctors are actually striking? Does anyone know?

I have no doubt that George Nicholson is a brilliant man, but that does not mean I can not ask some questions about what he wrote? Why am I “scoffing at him” merely by asking some questions? It is sad that you, as a self-described teacher, would describe questions I asked seeking clarification as “bovine excrement” and “silly”. Since you are clearly as brilliant as Nicholson you have the ability to read his thoughts and interpret what he has written. I do not have that ability.

But it seems to me that you have made a lot of assumptions about what Nicholson meant by what he wrote. You are right, maybe it is my poor command of the English language that prevented me from leaping to the same conclusions that you did. However nothing I have seen in your writings suggests any superior command of the English language. But do we really need to get personal like this, you and I who do not know each other, or can we stick to a discussion of the issues?

If all of the fuss is about the contract clauses, then why did the doctors not strike before? Are these new contracts? Have they asked to renegotiate the contracts and been refused by the Board? Did any of the consultants raise concerns about the termination clause before they signed the contract?

If the issue is the contract, then what is the relevance of pointing out how much money they can make overseas?

I am merely asking questions, but it is you who appears to be adjudicating without the facts. Do you know if Nicholson himself has the facts? Has BAMP said what the issue is? What ARE the facts, GP? Do you even care?

43. @Another doctor,

I agree with much of what you said, but are you suggesting that doctors have not had more than a little job security in the past? If they were not held accountable for performance or lack thereof then this seems like a lot of job security.

44. Here the word of the Lord by BUSH TEA himself! A perfect man One without sin or fault and one who knows all!

“The Board needs to maintain their stance and even take the opportunity to go further.

IS THIS NOT WHY THERE IS A STRIKE?
    UP TO NOW BY YOUR OWN ADMISSION IT IS UNCLEAR TO YOU THE REASON FOR THE IMPASSE except for what you think the reason is.

Re
    Terminate the contracts of all those who go on strike and offer new contracts to new doctors who are willing to break from BAMP and the old scam system, or who are willing to relocate from overseas with new attitudes (a certain teacher not included)

GREAT IDEA! FIRE THE WHOLE LOT!
    AFTER ALL YOU CAN GO DOWN BROAD STREET AND PICK UP A FEW AT CAVE SHEPHERD
    Get doctors willing to break from BAMP
    Why should they want to break from BAMP Sir
    What function does BAMP serve besides being a necessary trade union (as we are now seeing) I wished I had joined myself LOL

Re The truth is that these ‘consultants’ are no longer as indispensable as they think they are – or as they were a few years ago
    SO WHY NOT FIRE THEM ALL
    AND WHY ARE THE PEOPLE USING THEIR SERVICES SUCH THAT THERE IS A MARKED INCREASE IN PRIVATE PATIENTS AT THE HOSPITAL

GO GET THE FACTS BT

Even naughty Jerry. He is the ONLY Urologist in the country! And wunnah eating nuff meat and doing all the wrong things to cause the incidence of prostate disease to increase. FIRE HIM BEFORE YOU CAN GET ONE TO COME FROM HEAVEN TO REPLACE HIM AT THE MEASLY PRICE THAT IS PAID?

Re
    This is borne out by the chronic non-performance of some of them.

I love to read when medical illiterates talk about the performance of the profession. On what basis do you adjudicate on their performance Sir. On their attendance?
    Are they making wrong diagnoses? Are they giving wrong medicine? Are they practicing in accordance to current medical procedure. How does a medical illiterate adjudicate on the performance of medics.

I only asking? And laughing and mocking these emotional outbursts by you uninformed folk.

Re or who are willing to relocate from overseas with new attitudes (a certain teacher not included)

I finished my internship in 1981 AND LEFT THE HOSPITAL FOR GOOD . I DO NOT WANT A JOB AT QEH BUSH TEA OK
    AND I WONT BE LED BY A POLITICALLY POSITIONED PRIEST.

How would the jackass understand the issues I might be faced with? Will he pray or consult the Bible- which he probably has never properly studied anyway?

Now hear the word of zion 1971
    Anything is better right now than the present condition. SO WHY ARE YOU FUSSING? WOULD NOT STIKING BE INCLUDED IN ANYTHING? LOL
    Re These consultants do not come cheap and they are, in my opinion, well over-paid based on the delivery of services right now in BIM.
    In 1996 consultant pay was 6000 per month half used to come out in tax. Is that overpaid. There are several folk who get what is today’s’ equivalent
    I AGREE WITH YOU MAN fire them if they go on strike and recruit outsiders for the jobs.
    LET US TRY TO DO THAT THAT’S A BRILLIANT IDEA
    YOU CAN GET THEM BY THE DROVES FROM INDIA PAKISTAN ETC BY THE DROVES EASY EASY MAN
    BTW who swears by this hippocratic principle today.

What do BU opiners swear by? LOL

45. @ Another doctor who wrote
    Why not allow doctors a little job security, for a change? Why not have predictable, fair work evaluation instead of class resentment and political knives in the night?

YOU ASK A GOOD QUESTION
    I MYSELF SUFFERED FROM THE SAME JOB INSECURITY BUT I WAS NOT IN BAMP AND HAD NO RECOURSE

All I am hearing is we paid to send the doctors to medical school free. That apparently gives guvment the right to fire them at will after treating them like dogs and even denying them certain benefits to which they are entitled.

46. Brutus | August 17, 2010 at 11:09 AM |
    I am here in my armchair in FL just having fun with you guys, and supplying you with information that seeks to balance the rants.

Having worked with or trained with some of the folk you are cussing, I know /knew what to expect. I predicted months ago what would happen0 just as it has worked out.

The problem will not be solved by testosterone displays and MAXY BALLS vs BAMP BALLS.

You guys seem to think that the doctors are wrog on all counts. None of you have sought to see if the doctors have a point of view.

All I am indicating is that they do. I WAS ONCE IN THIER SHOES.

As to whether I have cared or do care, I CAN BRING TO THE HIGH COURT STEPS MYRIADS WHO CAN ATTEST TO THE LEVEL OF MY CARE AND DEDICATION.

You guys need tio understand that there is another side, and that if you were in the doctors shoes or had children or relatives in thier shoes, you might just be thinking otherwise.

Most doctors who work for Government are not at all rich or well paid ( I put my salary into real estate). I worked because I enjoyed it; not to get rich thereby. And many doctors are like that- including consultants.

When your contract is terminated neither government or the peop;le care about you . I KNOW. Fortunately GOD CARES about me!

So allow me to have my fun on BU in peace. There is much information and merit in what I am saying; and I know more about what is happening than you think. Peace
    your rants who a

47. @Georgie Porgie,

I asked if you care about the facts of this matter, not do you care at all.

You are having fun, but I can’t have some fun too? I think you are doing a good job fielding all of the comments and criticisms, but don’t lump all bloggers in the same boat. I am not one who thinks that the doctors are wrong on all counts, but I don’t think they are right on all counts either. And I am not cussing anybody, not even you.

I think the doctors could have picked another time, and a broader range of issues, to make their stand.

48. @ David
    I always thought that good governance included government’s adherence to existing laws. If requiring the government to abide by the law is deemed partisan then I am guilty.
    Ironically after labeling my comments partisan you posted:
    ‘Peter Wickham is currently hosting his show on CBC and has taken full aim at the doctors with a swipe at the lawyers.’
    Pray tell what makes my post partisan and the comments of Mr.Wickham and his good friend the Chairman of the Board non-partisan.?

49. Jeff Cumberbatch Avatar
    Jeff Cumberbatch

Dr Nicholson is mistaken in his interpretation of the contracts. It is not that there is a contract and yet the doctors are dismissable at will or pleasure. But the terms of the contract simply provide for the method of termination; i.e. by three months’ notice or one month’spayment in lieu of such notice. This also holds true if the doctor wants to terminate because he has had a better offer, for example.

Currently, in Barbados, there is no need to give a reason for termination of a private contract, unless this is a specific provision of the contract. The major issue, of course, is whether the doctors are employed under a purely private contract or a private contract imbued with public law elements.

All this will change with the passage of the Employment Rights Bill and the introduction of the concept of unfair dismissal which compels an employer to give a valid reason for dismissal.

@David, A good precent of regional essential services legislation is the Essential Services Act 2008 of Antigua & Barbuda.

50. Brutus Sir
    If the Government had done their job and listened to the caring advice given them in early 2008, even in a recession, much of the issues could be corrected by now.

TOO MUCH EMPHASIS IS PUT ON THE HOSPITAL.
    The aim ought to keep folk from hospital
    The aim ought to decentralize as much care offered in hospital as possible .

Attempts to do this were made by Prof E R Walrond in the 70’s Wonder who stopped it?

If efforts had been made to sort out at least the South ( St John St George St Philip & Ch Ch ) significant inroads could already have been made!

But I will say no more.ported a Hospital Director to quote my ideas, and the Mighty BT does not even think I am worthy of being brought home to serve in any capacity. LOL

CCC & WIV desperate for something to make the DLP look good in health, before the next election. But they will have to get BT to tell them what to do. LOL

Instead of cussing me and taking about firing the doctors BU bovine excretors should be suggesting and thinking up ideas for improving over all health system in Bim. But can they?

What ideas are the MPH nurses and doctors offering? What plans dop they have if any? What can the CMO and her staff offer CCC and WIV? What can the super brainiac BT submit, besides INTIIMIDATION & FIRING & REPLACING HOSPITAL DOCTORS ?

Why cant we have a great debate….for a change.