Mighty Gabby, Calypso King
Tony 'Admiral' Nelson

At a time when the country is struggling with indiscipline, the gun incident between Minister David Estwick and former Attorney General in the highest court of the land would not have helped. This matter remains outstanding several months after the incident occurred. The latest is that the matter has been referred to the Committee of Privileges by the Speaker of the House. Yet another matter buried to fade with time by our politicians.

Late late night the news broke that the 2010 Calypso King of Barbados was engaged in an altercation with CBC Radio Personality Tony โ€˜Admiralโ€™ Nelson backstage at Cohobblopot, Kensington Oval. It seemed inevitable that something would snap among Crop Over stakeholders after the booing incident at Bushy Park last weekend. The crowd showed its displeasure at Terencia โ€˜TCโ€™ Coward being declared one of the winners.ย  TC reacted in an unprecedented manner by forfeiting her right to participate in the face off with Anderson โ€˜Bloodโ€™ Anderson giving up her chance to win a car!

Pictures (only) compliments of Peter Boyce’s Facebook page.

It is no secret that Admiral Nelson blamed TC for for acting irresponsibly in the matter. He voiced on his show Festival Stage last week that because TC had admitted to having doubts about the face off part of the soca competition it convinced him she never intended to compete. It seems from the Mighty Gabbyโ€™s comments in the media he has taken Admiralโ€™s criticism of TC to heart. The fact Admiral has been critical of his two competition songs would not have helped matters. Based on reports posted on Facebook the two got involved in an altercation backstage during the Cohobblopot Show. Details remain sketchy but it has been suggested that Admiral has referred the matter to the police and the Mighty Gabby had been arrested. BU will update this matter as more details come to hand.

A couple days ago popular Video Blogger Babbzy posted a scathing attack about her experience as a guest on Admiralโ€™s show on her Website โ€“ here is the link, go to the sidebar on the left of the page, search for the video Babbzy Vs. The Laymans, she uses a few choice Bajan expletives!

It seems to BU that Admiral has increased his rhetoric this season and something was bound to happen as a consequence. We can only hope that cool heads prevail and the festival is not further soured by the incident.

275 responses to “Altercation Between 2010 Calypso King Mighty Gabby And Tony ‘Admiral’ Nelson Backstage Cohobblopot Show”

1. The boy from Boston wrote:

Many of todays pop culture artiste got their break via social media and the willingness to self promote; be it via their own website or some social gathering website.

On the local front, Joseph Niles popularity did not come about from radio stations, it had its beginning in his willingness to walk the length and breath of Barbados to sell his works. Social media makes that task a little easier.
      ===============================================================
      Is this what he is bringing to support the argument that Calysonians should turn to the internet and forget the radio stations? I wonder if vast majority of folks posting here would rather listen to Crop Over music via websites as oppose to their radios. Anyway, maybe it’s time I start ignoring you before I get accused to arguing with a madman. LOL

2. I HOPE U LEARNED UR LESSON ADMIRAL,SPEAK THE TRUTH AT ALL TIMES!!! STOP BEING BIAS,STOP TRYING 2 PULL DOWN PPL CAREEERS,STOP MISLEADING THE BAJAN PUBLIC,STOP BEING AN ASS!! U TRULY DISSAPPOINT AND DISGUST ME!!!!!!!

3. every body got the right to talk out they mouth gabby like to used his hands too much if he wanted some one too hit he should go in a boxing ring admiral let me tell u show no mercy on himmmm it wqill lear himm a lesson

4. HAIL GABBY AND TC!!!! TRUE KINGS!!!!!!! unlike that little fellow admiral.

5. @AH who wrote:

Today is suffer the fools day. Whatever rocks your boat.
      I donโ€™t ever ignore your comments. I am always in agreement. LOL!
      ========================================================
      Ha ha ha ha…I really know how to get your goat don’t I? Type something that makes sense and stop polluting the blog with nonsense!

6. some pll hate the true admiral he had no right too win that crown should have gone too a clarke or blood gabby shame on u not even the stargent at station can help u now u know were i mean my boy admiral i say this again show no mercy on himm i backing u all the way bye untill we meet on wednesday gods willing bye

7. Adults are constantly speaking about the indiscipline of young people but it is crystal clear that the adult population has set bad examples for them.
      This alleged incident is played out nearly every day in schools and communities where talk or provocation is not taken well and leads to violence. Usually the person who provokes is beaten.
      For many years I sat in front of my television set and heard admiral and his two analysts Elizabeth Watson and Cleve Scott give their critique of the various artists. Most of the time they are way off in their placements of the artists. This year they had Blood to win and he came fifth. He sounded hoarse to me.
      The average person can be misled by them because they are put forward as experts of the calypso art form. They misled me because they were always talking about crowd response which is not a category to be judge in the pic of de crop competition.
      How the crowd feel has nothing to do with the judging and therefore Gabby could have won because he may be scoring heavily in lyrics and melody.
      I was following the crowd response also and did not have Gabby to win. Most of the audience was using subjective judgment while the judges were using objective judgment.

8. Hey David, is Barbadostoday available as a deadtree newspaper in Barbados?

9. admiral get BOOM BAM becase of CROWD RESPONSE he mout ON FIRE

10. Will Admiral be able to speak on the issue on the Festival Stage.I think not he will be gagged once there is an ongoing investigation by police.I do hope that at the end of it all the Admiral is not seen as a Corporal.The real cort will have to judge and not the court of publi opinion.But then again the court of public opinion has more credability.The real judges made a decision on saturday morning but the court of public opinion says otherwise.

11. Gabby was at the tipping point regarding the criticism from the fool the “Admiral” Nelson.Gabby is a big man and should have been able to control himself.However,an irritant like stinking”Admiral” Nelson would caused the most mild tempered person to lash out at him.I am not condoning Gabby’s action but stinking “Admiral”Nelson should have been beaten a longtime ago.Indeed if I was a calypsonian,I would have given him some good warm lashes already.”Admiral”Nelson is an egomaniac who seeks the limelight.
      I am not supportive of Gabby winning the crown eventhough he is one of my favourite calysonians. Nevertheless the judges decision is final and those decisions must be respected.Any other calypsonian should have won the crown and not Gabby,but whoever would have won that crown the clown “Admiral”Nelson would have criticized.No Barbadian calysonian is worthy enough for “Admiral” Nelson.I never heard “Admiral”Nelson say anything positive or good about Barbados calypso,he is always negative.What lashes he got from Gabby he deserved,and I am sorry that the beating was not more severe with more damages than the damage done to his ego
      Having a personality like the “Admiral” Nelson as a radio announcer on our government owned radio stations shows the desperate situation & lack of talent Barbados have in attracting good radio & television personalities.”Admiral”Nelson as a leading radio & Television personality in Barbados “gimme me a brek’
      Stinking “Admiral”Nelson should have been beaten a longtime ago and I am sorry for my friend Gabby but I have no sympathy for stinking “Admiral “Nelson.

12. The Hypocrisy of our Democracy!!

13. Wait Wait a damn minute, A man speak he mouth ..and he get cuff …the man voices his opinion and that is what happens .. if so ..simon cowell would be dead. I realise that as soon as someone say something you dont like you want to beat them, bajans cant take any criticism at all, that is wunnah problem, it just shows who was the bigger man in the situation, we might not agree with some or any of the things that admiral says or anything that anyone says, but this aint chinese parliament where people does fight for saying what they have to say .. bajans supposed to be better than that .. i thought admiral was just doing his job.. if i is a baker and i supposed to bake bread ..and u dont like bread ..or the way i does do it , you going to punch me in my mouth ?? utter foolishness wunna talking

14. How could grown ass people have no qualms about a man being beaten for his opinions?’

Yet want to come on BU and and crucify others.
      NM….by your logic,you should have been beaten for many of your comments then…right?
      Some of these same people were calling for Rihanna’s head but praising Gabby.

I dont always agree with Admiral but he has valid points sometimes. Calypso and Politics always amuse me in the way the respective yardfowls behave.

15. I think Gabby has a good defamation case against admiral.

16. I agree with most of these comments. However, Admiral has a right to say what he wants. Gabby nor anyone else does not have the right to punch, hurt maime or beat down people because they have an opinion. Gabby should’ve walk away. I know it is difficult to do but it is taking the high road. it is not what people call us but it is what we answer to that defines us.

17. For what, Adrian? Fair comment?

18. lol right boss cause i aint like what you say ..so i am going to come over and cuff u in your mouth… if someone criticize you and u dont like what the person say you walk away or igmore them ..if them on your tv or radio you turn it off …. yuh always got a choice and gabby chose d wrong one …. and Gabby doesnt have a defamation suit against Admiral …and if only you all know what Gabby did or said the night before …you all would be quiet

If yuh used to get beat for yuh opinions ..everybody would be quiet!!!!
      Even if you are doing your JOB!!!!!
      As a commentator ..or critic!!
      What Gabby should have done was put on a performance and show the man admiral why he is 2010 Calypso King of Barbados!!
      Hush the critics!!!

19. @ Anonymous // August 2, 2010 at 10:42 AM

All de comments pun dis tred have a touch of Bonny Pepper! Uh rite?? LOL

20. Does any body know what really happen?If so fill me in for as classic said i wasnt there.

21. UNBIASED BAJAN Avatar

Most of what is being said here reflects how or society is developing into a minature USA, Admiral does his job and must be credited for being the only Person/DJ to ask the qestions that need to be asked and to look at the real issues surrounding calypso in this country, I don’t care who Gabby is or whether he was provoked. To hit someone for his words is nonsense and immature, most of the comments here seem to show a bias for gabby or against admiral ,when are we as Bajans going to look at things objectively once and for all.

22. Gabby has the right to beat the crap out of Admiral Nelson.

Gabby has the right to be arrested and go through due process under the laws of Barbados.

23. Baffled Student Avatar
      Baffled Student

For those musicians who are so bitter you need to grow up! You are in an industry where you will be criticised fairly and unfairly. Deal with it! Barbados is small and the only one speaking out is Admiral. Do you think you all would survive in an international market? Admiral is not bad minded! Again I REPEAT, shall i beat my teacher for saying that I am lazy! You adults are baffling!

24. Lemme put it this way ..if every time we say something and we get hit for it ..we would be frighten to speak ..and that would b a form of mental imprisonment .. if we didnt like wha a politician did and we say something about it ..that is ..voice our opinions ..and they had the right to hit or shoot us ..where would we be no better off than china or any other country where there is no freedom of speech ..

Gabby just followed his primal instincts and lashed out at Admiral ..and i thought we had evolved from that as a people ..!!
      Opinions are voiced to make some things better .. to improve them ..
      and this is how some products are made better ..or worse

25. Baffled student are you judging based on Admiral’s say so then no wonder you are baffled have you heard Gabby’s say or know what th truth is .Has anyone been charged.

26. Some men are just plain ig’runt.

27. Baffled Student Avatar
      Baffled Student

@ bullheads

Fact is we know a warrant was issued for Gabby’s arrest. I am not assuming, just wish you adults would stop with your “Do as I say AND not as I do” motto.

28. At least Gabby’s hands were not in Cluff; mill !

29. @unbiased bajan

Here are two statements
      – Is Gabby song Ole ashe really calypso?
      – Gabby song Ole ashe is not calypso!

Which one was use by Admiral?

I assume that Admiral knows the answer to his question or can defend his statement!?

I need to know his definition of calypso, so that I can have a better chance of understanding his criticism.

@Nonimus
      Evidence of Admiral comments demonstrate malicous intent in his right to comment and his right to state the truth. Admrial’s statements about Gabby beating women presents a clear intent to injure Gabby’s reputation in so doing. I don’t think the defense of truth clause in our Defamation act can withstand the deliberate maliciousness of Admiral’s statement. It was clearly done to damage Gabby’s reputation.

the Barbados defamation act.

…Where an action for defamation has been brought in respect of the whole or any part of matters published, the defendant may allege and prove the truth of any of the charges contained in such matter and
      the defence of truth shall be held to be established if such matter, taken as a whole, DOES NOT MATERIALLY INJURE THE PLAINTIFF’S REPUTATON HAVING REGARD TO ANY SUCH CHARGES WHICH ARE PROVED TO BE TRUE IN WHOLE OR IN PART.

In an action for defamation in respect of words including or consisting of expression of opinion, a defence of comment shall not fail only because the defendant has failed to prove the truth of every
      relevant assertion of fact relied on by him as a foundation for the opinion, PROVIDED THAT SUCH OF THE ASSERTIONS ARE PROVED TO BE TRUE ARE RELEVANT AND AFFORDS A FOUNDATION THEREFOR.

30. Adrian Hinds,

Do you understand what you have just quoted? The section is saying that truth is a defence in certain circumstances even if all that was said is not true!

Now let’s begin. What, if anything, did Admiral say that was not true?

31. @Adrian

It is 100% online, no dead tree edition.

32. On his Facebook page Admiral calls Gabby a gender beater.

Admiral is miserable as shite. Maybe he is a gender beater too.

33. What does “gender-beater” mean? Woman beater? Has Gabby been ever convicted of such? Known to do such?

34. Why was Admiral backstage was he working,was he doing an interview? Who was he interviewing?Did he go there to interfer with Gabby?Was he on assingment?

35. @Nonimus
      The two clauses deals with defenses against charges of defamation. I can state the truth and have right to fair comment, yet be found culpable for damages in a defamation case. Admiral’s mocking (beating women and accusations of domestic violence) of Gabby in the interview with caribfyah maybe true but also demonstrate a willingness to damage Gabby’s reputation. The truth must be relevant and stated in such a way as not be construed as malicious.

I just wanted to be certain, cause de Atman thinks that the Artiste cannot do with radio airtime for their music. Barbados today has a growing clientel for their advertizing space, who are these bajan business people marketing their products and services too?

36. J // August 2, 2010 at 3:06 PM

On his Facebook page Admiral calls Gabby a gender beater.

Admiral is miserable as shite. Maybe he is a gender beater too.
      ==========================================

What is the relevance of this statement to his police case against Gabby? Does he thinks the police and the judicial officer who will hear his case needs help in proving Gabby’s guilt or innocense? Or was he playing to the gallery of public opinion, and by so doing has given Gabby good cover to counter sue? I think so.

37. I prefer for someone legally trained and not legally detained to comment on this.

Your first sentence@ 3:15 pm sounds like pure offal. Are there degrees of truth?

Can you refer me to a case which supports your view?

38. BRING HARD CORE PROOF OF YOUR CLAIM ADMIRAL,A TEAR UP EXPENSIVE SHIRT IS NOT ENOUGH!!!(neither pics of dem,which u said u have since the police took away the shirt)

39. Anthony Nelson: Let me say this for my facebook fans….GABBY the gender beater accosted me backstage at cohobblopot and destroyed my expensive shirt with his stupidity. It is clear that he enjoys using his hands when things are not in his favour.Women Beware!!!!! Gabby is very upset with me for saying that his song is not and will ne…ver be a CALYPSO.His peers feel that way too and thousands of Barbadians who I wished had the balls to tell him. GABBY seems very troubled by by statement about his song and his newly appointed title. It it true what the old people say”THE TRUTH HURTS”.

No need for Gabby to prove malice and a deliberate attempt to injure his reputation on Admiral’s part. It’s on his facebook page for all to see.

40. @Baffled
      There was never any mention of a warrant or even charges.Where did you get those facts?

41. Nonimus // August 2, 2010 at 3:27 PM

I prefer for someone legally trained and not legally detained to comment on this.

Your first sentence@ 3:15 pm sounds like pure offal. Are there degrees of truth?

Can you refer me to a case which supports your view?
      =========================================
      No I cannot. There are not to many cases arbitrated under the Barbados defamation act of 1997. People still give in to libel threats and settle out of court in Barbados.

Sorry you don’t like what I have to say. my bad LOL!

At any rate if and when you find lawyers to giver their opinions on this I will be glad to learn from them. Not to big to be wrong. After all I did not get very far with de school thing. LOL!

42. PPL LIKE ADMIRAL NEED 2 GO DUNG,GO DUNG,GO DUNG AND STOP DUNG DEY!!!!!

43. “accosted me backstage at cohobblopot and destroyed my expensive shirt with his stupidity.”

So nuh licks like duh en share. Wha is dis sissified “destroyed my expensive shirt” foolishness?
      I tot I wudda hear bout man teet get lick out or black eye or sumting so.

I gine wait an hear ef dis is about a cuff or a cuff wid a link.

44. Nonimus // August 2, 2010 at 2:51 PM

Adrian Hinds,

Do you understand what you have just quoted? The section is saying that truth is a defence in certain circumstances even if all that was said is not true!

Now letโ€™s begin. What, if anything, did Admiral say that was not true?

Nonimus

I think you may have confuse the two sections.

7.2 deals with defense of truth
      8.2 deals with defense of comment

Defense of truth is not an absolute defence. The truth can still get you in trouble unless it is parliament where absolute defence is in play.

defense of comment is valid even if all that has been said is not true.

45. @Nonimus / Adrian Hinds, re ” I donโ€™t think the defense of truth clause in our Defamation act can withstand the deliberate maliciousness”

Not speaking of a specific case here, speaking generally, I also understand that truth will be an adequate defense in a cae of libel, whatever the reason for the disclosure.

In of itself you cannot damage someone’s reputation if what you say is true, for the truth is implicit in their reputation.

46. Perhaps out of all of this the positive which will emerge is a united Kaiso Union. Reading many of the comments by some of the Calypsonians there is a great distrust which exist among them.

47. Wait a minute! There seems to be a problem developing here. Seems to me that those who like Gabby (notwithstanding whether his tunes are calypso or not) want to lynch Admiral, and those who tolerate the Admiral (apparently very few people seem to like him or his attitude) want to crucify Gabby without facts or fair trial.
      Now I am a stupid old man, may I enquire if Gabby’s music is his intellectual property? If that is the case, is he entitled to defend his property within the limits that a reasonable person would take, especially if it has been made public that an individual is out to destroy such property? I am asking because i do not know the answer, I am just trying to consider what may be at stake here. I like Jeff Cumberbatch’s pragmatic dealings with such issues. Maybe he could give us a legal opinion although he may have to set up a scenario since we are seemingly devoid of the facts.
      David, you better put out a call for an answer on this one, because I refuse to let anyone destroy my property (intellectual or otherwise without a fight) more so when that person is on public record of trying to destroy what is mine and what I created.

48. IF there is truth to this alleged incident, this would be very distressing.

Here we are trying to tell schoolchildren not to settle arguments by violence, yet we have either one or two (it does not take two to make a fight, self-defense is just that) seasoned personalities allegedly doing just that.

We hear of an alleged incident at a major party headquarters on election night, somebody head lock-off, punches.

We hear of a gun in Parliament.

Now we hear this.

What is this showing the young people, when such allegations are rife?

This is very sad and a reminder that we have lost the true value of civilisation, that of peace, temperament, learning and spiritual enlightenment, in favour of materialism, greed for profits, nurturing the pull-down mentality.

Where it will end is a foregone conclusion, unless we all raise the bar and step back away from the dollar-culture that has spread and focus more on life as an experience of soul development and not as a road-trip for money and cheap thrills along the way.

Kammie Holder’s article of Bussa’ Dream becomes even more apt today.

IF there is any truth to this, a public apology on the part of both, together with a televised statement to the young people, showing remorse, is the least to be expected.

Even if, as some are suggesting, there was not direct physical provocation, sometimes verbal abuse, can get to a person.

Therefore, we must consider our brethren before we speak and let what we say be true, but tempered to create understanding and not anger.

Time is short. The USA, the world and ourselves will go through much next year, now is not the time for us to squander the learnings of the past, but strengthen our bonds for coming tribulations.

49. @Crusoe

Yes you can. The truth is not always known, and something that is true may be protected under a right to privacy. There is also mental anquish.

Please read section 7.2 of Barbados defamation act and tell me if defence of truth seems to be absolute and or qualified defenses in all actions of defamation.

(2) Where an action for defamation has been brought in respect of the whole or any part of matter published, the defendant may allege and prove the truth of any of the charges contained in such matter and the defence of truth shall be held to be established if such matter, taken as a whole, does not materially injure the plaintiff’s reputation having regard to any such charges which are proved to be true in whole or in part.

50. upset over crop over Avatar
      upset over crop over

Why is it two big men, or at least one wid a big ego and one wid a big head have to diss Barbados so.
      They should both be charged. Gabby for assault and Admiral for pirating.

I have sent emails to the US recording studios to see if they know there music being played by admiral here.