Prime Minister David Thompson

Barbadians were startled by the announcement from Prime Minister David Thompson today that his illness has forced him to take medical leave for 2 months. BU is emboldened by the tenor of his press conference which sounded the confidence he has in Barbadians to succeed during this difficult period for the country which coincides with his own personal challenges. Despite frequent and sometimes robust debate which BU facilitates, Barbadians remain fiercely proud of what our little island has achieved oftentimes against the odds.

Barbados in its post Independence existence has been viewed as a model in the areas of governance, education, telecommunications to list a few. Many suggest because we are our own worst critic it means we are not proud to be Bajan. Of course not! The Barbados brand continues to be respected around the world.

BU extends to Prime Minister David Thompson and his family the very best wishes. We also do the same to Acting Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart with whom the fate of Barbados will rest at a very difficult time in our development.

142 responses to “Interesting Times On The Horizon For Barbados”

1. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

I am praying for the Prime Minister’s recovery I am also praying for his family since they would need all the strength and Grace God could give. God commands us to pray for those set in authority over us, as much as I might not want to do it I have to pray for Freundel Stuart I will also pray that his long and seemingly forgotten dream, that he be Prime Minister of Barbados never comes true. God Bless you Hon David Thompson, get well soon, take all the rest and respite care you need at this time.

2. in 1985 the then PM of Barbados Tom Adams died suddenly in office at Ilaro Court THE COUNTRY SURVIVED!

two years later in 1987, or first and perhaps our best PM Errol Walton Barrow died “in action” at Kampala AND THE COUNTRY SURVIVED.

So what is the problem now? Wunnuh frighten for de in fighting if Thompy die. Estwick and Freundel and de other big mout fella from Deacons Road.

When they finish fighting THE COUNTRY WILL SURVIVE even if BU run de country.

Leh we start de BU party

3. Yes Pretty Blue Eyes, I share your sentiments. However, I found one disappointing note in Mr.Thompson’s report to the nation today. He mentioned inter alia that at this difficult time for Barbados, economically speaking, โ€œpast governments cannot rule us from their political graves.โ€

I don’t appreciate that expression……..he obviously is referring to his political opponents in the BLP, and I think that at a time when we need all hands on deck, especially those who paid no small part in guiding the ship of state during the tenure of the last administration, is he still suggesting, as the DLP is wont to do, that โ€œwe don’t want to hear nothing from the BLP?โ€

They don’t want to hear nothing from capable and well-qualified persons like Owen, Mia and Clyde, part of that human capital that we Barbadians generally are so proud of?

Aren’t these same persons now reportedly making outstanding contributions to the developmental process in a number of our Caribbean territories and beyond? You mean Hartley unleash a broadside against Owen for helping Antigua, and now might be still advising Mr.Thompson, โ€œwe don’t want to hear none from them?โ€

Please Mr.Thompson, you are going through what must be a humbling experience right now. Don’t mind Hartley and exhibit these little snippets of โ€œpowful foolishness.โ€œ

Seek out and accept any help from among the best that our beloved country has to offer, I beg of you.

4. @Anon

Please note that the PM has confidence in the people moving forward with or without him as he clearly stated that Barbadians are a resilient people. That speaks volume as to the way he respects his people and his country. There is no need for you to pelt BIG ROCKS at this time what we need is a unified people! “Ask not what your country can do for you ,but what you can do for your country”

5. JoyStick Daddy Avatar
    JoyStick Daddy

@Anon. A word of warning, Some years ago a lady called her relatives overseas and told them that a neighbour was poorly ,and not expected to last long. Two weeks after another message went to that same family overseas telling them that the lady who had made the original call had died. The ‘poorly ” neighbour, died some 20 years later. No man/woman knows when his/her hour is up . A bout of bad health is nothing to gloat over.

6. Indeed, it is no time to gloat. His poor state of health was obvious and the strain of the situation was etched on his face. I extend my prayers for your recovery.

I too was disappointed at that jarring note in the press conference. My other disappointment was that he still has not told Barbadians about his state of health, nothing about what is the problem. This is what was promised when he received the diagnosis. This is not a private issue, this is a public person whose health affects whether he will be here to lead or not especially in a time of crisis.

I was a little befuddled by the report that the economy is good and better than alot of countries, it was confusing because the tourism earnings are down , sugar lost $60m; euro is down; and the austerity measures in Europe will slow the world recovery down. Just want to know what magic was done to miraculously change the dynamics of the economy. Starting Brazil market, restarting four seasons are actions not indicators of economic recovery.

Stating that the medium term plan is working is not a report. That is a statement without fact. You expect to hear, we invested in the XY sector and it has generated z exports and w earnings in foreign exchange. We started this initiaitive and unemployment dropped by 2%; consumer spending rose by v% and gov’t revenue increased by d%. RESULTS, facts not claims is what is needed at this stage. If the situation has not improved say so, because eventually we will know.

7. ac, you just don’t get it. Nobody is throwing big rocks, and as Bajan Truth suggested, you have terribly misconstrued that somebody is gloating over poor health.

All I am saying is that Mr.Thompson, in his darkest hour yet, should recognise that , and dull his tongue a bit. He must know that the whole country commiserates with him, and we are saddened by his illness, so just step down a round off that political high horse and cool the temperature.

8. @Anon

Firstly i never said any thing about gloating. Yes i do get it . I get your point and intent precisely in your first comment. That is why I prefer to the PM comments reference the type of people Barbadians are. Your comments were not uplifting.They were menacing words meant to stir up trouble and i took them as that exactly. By the way I am not a member of any political bandwagon So no I do not own a horse.

9. Our Prime Minister has to do what he has do his way. He was involved in the political life of Barbados from very young, has serve B’dos well and continues even now that he is dealing with his illness. May he survive the unknown journey ahead.

Life is a Mystery

10. ac, I forgot to put in my tag last time and I appeared in the forum as Anonymous. I also meant that it was Mr.Thompson, who should step down a rung from the political high horse, not you.

But let’s get serious, and I certainly have no intention of stirring up trouble or speaking unkindly of our P.M. Having all regard to the present situation, who really is throwing big rocks, and who is really stirring up trouble?

Uh mean, political graves? Man give me a break. Nobody has ever been more inside a political grave than the DLP. Remember when they only mustered two single seats in the House? But everybody always comes back – that’s how we bajans operate.

So all I am suggesting is just cool it Mr.Thompson. Say what you have to say, but desist from taking these unnecessary unkind jabs at your opponents, at a time you would show better leadership by uplifting yourTeam Barbados. I hope you get it now ac. That’s my last say on the matter.

11. I saw the broadcast again, and I was much struck by something. Mr. Thompson choose to read a scripture sent to him by a well-wisher, the story of Hezekiah. The person was referencing the fact that God healed a ruler who was ill UNTO DEATH. This seems to suggest that he is ill with the likelihood of death, as there are other Biblical stories about healing that are not about death.

If this is the case, then I pray that God would give you strength to face whatever is the result; and especially for your wife and children who must be greatly distressed.

12. Barbados does not need persons from the political class in order to survive. In fact if we had listen to Mia, Owen, and Mascoll, and dah Indian fella with the goggle like glasses, about stimulating the economy, we would have done so in vain as the bad world economy continues to get worst.

If we had listen to them and continue to spend as Britain, and other countries who now have to make difficult and harsh cuts we would have to do like wise at this point.

The GoB decided wisely not to spend not to enter any fancy keyensian economic model to a downturn and they were right for so doing.

Obama spent billions stimulating the American economy and has nothing to show for it. He wants the other G8 economies to continue spending, and they told him no way.

13. The verse from the bible is 2 Kings 20: 3-5.

I beseech thee, O Lord, remember now how I have walked before thee in truth and with perfect heart, and have done that which is good in thy sight. And Hezekiah wept sore.

And it came to pass, afore Isaiah was gone out into the middle court, that the word of the LORD came to him, saying,
    Turn again, and tell Hezekiah the captain of my people. Thus saith the LORD, the GOD of David thy father, I have heard thy prayer, I have seen thy tears: behold, I will heal thee: on the third day thou shalt go up unto the house of the LORD.

Here is a little translation of the above:

Hezekiah’s sickness, figs, and the sun moving backwards
    Hezekiah is sick. God and Isaiah tell him to get ready to die. He begs them to let him live, and they say, “OK, you can live for another 15 years.”

The Chapter in Kings is very revealing, so sad.

14. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Have no fear everyone the country is in good hands.

15. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I might also add that the country is in the hands of a group of outstanding men and women who will continue to put the country first and not their own interest as the bunch of crooks on the other side does.

16. I am sure there are 10 people in the DLP capable of being a good Prime Minister.

We have heard enough to understand that The PM has a serious illbess that needs critical medical intervention.

He says he is taking a 2 month leave.

Let us hope and pray for his speedy recovery.

The Government will continue to function under the leadership of a capable acting PM.

17. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

David I am very happy and proud to see this feature here today.

Like you I and my family wish him a speedy recovery and a return to good health.

This is one very kind hearted and pleasant people to know as is being seen in the way he has united this country.

18. Wishing In Vain Avatar
    Wishing In Vain

Congrats and my compliments to you David well done.

I meant to say this in my last post but had a call and had to run and forgot to do so.

19. Georgie Porgie Avatar

The incident to which you refer to is reported in Kings and Chronicles and if I remember correctly also in Isaiah.

There is no paralell at all here. Hezekiah was a godly man who sought the Lord and one of the seven good kings of Judah.

It is note worthy that during the extra 15 years granted to extend his life, that he produced a son who was one of the most evil characters in the OT. This was followed by a grand son, who was as evil as his father. So the results of that extra 15 years of Hezekiah’s life was the production of two of the most evil men recorded in the history of Israel.

I wont say anymore here…………

20. @ Bajan Truth // July 1, 2010 at 10:35 PM “My other disappointment was that he still has not told Barbadians about his state of health, nothing about what is the problem. This is what was promised when he received the diagnosis. This is not a private issue, this is a public person …”

I’m sure the PM, with the expectations his prognosis might have been favorable, he had it previously in his thoughts to bring his people up-to-date about his health.

Whether a private or public person, although there are those who can, it is not easy to share information about oneself especially when it is not good news.

Don’t you think his Press Conference was suggesting to read between the lines?
    Let us continue to pray that he gets the opportunity to return stronger than before. Miracles do happen.

21. Interesting comment GP!!!

Very interesting!

22. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Thank you JC. I have always been fascinated with the study of the Kings of Judah, and in the Biographical method of Bible Study.

It is very interesting to note the influence of fathers and mothers on the development of their children. I personally would rather die than get another 15 years to live and produce a son like Manasseh and a grandson likke Ahaz.

I think that to be a father is the highest office or responsibility ever given to a man. I have been known to tell my medical students that it makes no sense to be the greatest doctor in the country and be an awful father who have no time for thier sons.

Maybe some will think I am crazy, but fathers especially ought to sit and think and ask themselves about their relationships with their children (especially their sons.)

You all can continue your discussion on what lies on the horizon for Bim

23. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

You are cherry picking your information.

How can you forget to mention that Manasseh came to repentance, and was restored to the Throne, he removed all Idols from Israel and he abandoned idolatry.

24. Georgie Porgie Avatar

But the damage was already done Sir! AHAZ FOLLOWED THE LIFESTYLE OF HIS FATHER IN HIS EARLY LIFE.
    Despite Manasseh’s repentence the facts are as I stated id est
    1 HE WAS ONE OF THE MOST EVIL MEN IN OT HISTORY
    2 HE WAS BORN IN THE EXTENDED PERIOD OF HEZEKIAH’s LIFE
    3 HE PRODUCED A SON WHO WAS EVEN MORE EVIL THAN HIMSELF

His son restored the idols in Judah and the facts are that one of the reasons Judah went into the Babylonian captivity was for idolatry.

The fact that Manasseh repented is not at all relevant to the issues that I presented.

25. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Are you sure that you have it right about Ahaz being a grandson of Hezekiah?

Check again!

26. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Read Sailhamer and the other experts on Kings & Chronicles and you will find that all the scholars of refute agree that the reigns of Manasseh and Ahaz were the turning points in the decine of Judah.

27. Georgie Porgie Avatar

repute not refute

but you cant refute what the scholars of repute opines on this subject

28. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Are you sure that you have the name of Manasseh’s son correct?

Check again!

29. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Check again and see who really was Ahaz.

30. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Carson
    I have no time to nit pick with you
    MANASSEH WAS BORN DURING THE EXTENDED LIFE OF HEZEKIAH.

THAT IS THE POINT THAT I MADE

You can continue nit picking all you want OK?

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I take it that you are not interested in getting facts right?

32. Manasseh’s son was Amon, but it does not change the essence of Georgie Porgie’s proposition. Our application of the Hezekiah Syndrome to our current Barbados situation is indeed a very interesting one. Please be sure to read all of the following in context. I can’t quote all of the relevant scriptures here.

“Then said Hezekiah to Isaiah, Good is the word of the LORD which thou hast spoken. He said moreover, For there shall be peace and truth in my days.” (Isaiah 39:8)

This is one of the most selfish declarations that I know of in the Bible!!! What a sad end for a man who had been such a good king, and such a faithful servant of the Lord. When he faced death, his fear of death was so strong that he turned from an obedient servant of God to a selfish, satisfaction-seeking man. He had just mortgaged the future of his descendants, but he didnโ€™t care, because he wouldnโ€™t have to live to see the harvest of devastation he had just sown!!! Notice how an unwillingness to impart justice and judgment really winds up being nothing more than a love of self.

Another tragic consequence of the 15-year life extension that Hezekiah got can be found in 2 Kings:

“And Hezekiah slept with his fathers: and Manasseh his son reigned in his stead. Manasseh was twelve years old when he began to reign, and reigned fifty and five years in Jerusalem. And his motherโ€™s name was Hephzibah.” (2 Kings 20:21-21:1)

When one reads 2 Kings 21, one can find out that Manasseh turned out to be one of the most evil kings in the history of Judah. Manassehโ€™s successor, his son AMON, was also a very wicked man.

Considering that Manasseh was 12 years old when Hezekiah died, we can deduce that Hezekiah begat Manasseh 3 years into his 15-year extension. Had he accepted Godโ€™s judgment and died to his “self”, he would not have begotten Manasseh, who according to 2 Kings 21:9, not only was evil himself but seduced the people of Judah into committing great abominations against the Lord.

Nowhere in the Scriptures is it told that Hezekiah proceeded to impart word of justice and judgment in his house during his 15-year extension. All he cared about was being healed and living. He was not interested in Godโ€™s underlying purpose in his disease. He did not understand that God had a higher plan, that God was allowing what was happening in his life to prevent spiritual destruction from befalling him and his descendants. He only cared about three people, “Me Today”, “Myself Now”, and “I At This Time”. And, as long as those three were OK, everything was OK.

33. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

WATCHMAN

Thank you very much.

The reason why I pick up on GP, he appeared to me to be implying that if Thompson is given another fifteen years then Barbadians will live to regret it.

However he was using a lot of incorrect information to back up what he was saying. I know that if he is wrong with his information then he is wrong with his implication. I hope that he did not run his medical practice like that.

People seem to mistakenly believe that GP is a Biblical guru which he is not.

34. Guyanese Annonymous Avatar
    Guyanese Annonymous

I just read in the Guyanese newspaper that His Excellency Hon. Prime Minister Thompson is taking two months leave of absence because of health issues. It is reported that he has left the country and will undergo surgery soon. Please accept my best wishes for a speedy recovery for His Excellency. He will be in my prayers and I am confident by the grace of God and the skill of the great surgeon that he will return home as good as new. God Bless His Excellency and the wonderful people of Barbados.

35. Hi C.C.C.
    It is patently clear you do not understand me either. Georgie Porgie wasn’t as you say โ€œusing a lot of incorrect information.โ€ GP was essentially trying to point out the negatives that attended God’s lengthening of Hezekiah’s life, because Hezekiah, whilst being a good king, appeared to totally misunderstand God’s purpose for the illness in his life.

I am not an expert on exegesis of the Bible, and I am asking the Holy Spirit to help me understand clearly this application of Hezekiah’s situational predicament to our own homegrown predicament.

I think maybe you should too, and not be inclined to behave like a loose cannon, influenced only by political considerations.

36. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Watchman

Don’t fool yourself.

GP has his agenda and it is not a pleasant one for the Democratic Labour Party.

37. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Watchman I obviously mixed up Ahaz with Amon, and I refused to nit pick because I knew exactly what I meant.

You have given a very good exposition of Hezekiah’s life and the result of his selfishness.

The point I was stressing was not politics but the importance of being a good father and having a great influence on one’s children ; as I clearly pointed out.

Clearly Hezekiah’s illness caused him to fail to raise his son properly.

No one who has a grasp of the English language can come to the conclusion that I implied ” that if Thompson is given another fifteen years then Barbadians will live to regret it.”

CCC You can go ask Eustine how I ran my practice, she was one of my patients.

And no- I am not a Bible guru, but I have been invited to speak at several Bible Conferences, and hold four degrees in Theology including a Doctorate.

Nothing like you can discredit me Sir. Many serious and accomplished Bible scholars even in the US hold my scholarship in high repute

38. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Friends let it be known that I am not a member or associated with either the DLP or BLP OK? Let it be known that during the reign of the BLP was the time that I got screwed, even though I helped them to launch the NHS as we know it today, when they could not get the profession to sign to run it from GP offices on a 24/7 basis as is done in the UK.

39. It is clear that CCC has set out to discredit GP with respect to both his medical prowess and his ability to explain the Bible.

CCC must understand that whatever he thinks that the BU readers appreciate both the medical and Biblical insight that GP has brought to BU.

What have you brought to the table? GP has been correct in not answering you. His refusal to bother with you has brought your bias and agenda to the fore.

Here we have a jackass in a horserace. GP on one level and you in the gutter with your thoughts trying to discredit and pull down using the classical crab in the barrel syndrome approach, and your usual non sequiturs.

40. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

@Georgie Porgie
    @Watchman
    The reading of the scripture verse tells me he is seeking spiritual guidance, maybe a timeline has been extended to him and he is using this as confirmation that God can do what doctors cannot.There is nothing wrong with that especially when you have the huge responsibilty of raising a family running a country and leaving a legacy behind, however King Hezekiah did not make good use of the time, he produced and raised the most evil king, Israel ever had and even though Manasseh repented, the damage was already done, the thing here is this, if you believe God is going to answer your prayer in a time of need just be willing to follow him every step of the way, leave legacies of change towards God. I will not say what I believe is going to be the outcome, but we have to pray that God would heal the Prime Minister, even if he vacates office early, his presence among us and his party members holds them back from commiting atrocities yet to be uncovered.

41. That’s wisdom, Pretty Blue Eyes. I pray earnestly, believing that God will deliver a healing touch to our Prime Minister, and that he himself will have a testimony that will uplift this entire country. May God’s peace rest on his young family.

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Anon

You ought to apply “non sequitur” to GP.

43. Georgie Porgie Avatar

We dont have to pray that God will heal the PM either. We have to PRAY THAT GOD”S WILL BE DONE.

That is the fundamental essence of prayer.

Hezekiah got what he asked for in his prayer- an extended life- but at what expense to his family and nation. As I said before, I would prefer to die than have another son that would be like either Manasseh or Amon.

And I am speaking here as a politically neutral non guru. LOL

44. Thank you Georgie for that . My wife was sitting here beside me when I wrote my last piece, and that’s what she said exactly………….Pray that God’s will be done. I should have submitted to my wife. LOL.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Watchman
    You and your wife seem to have a very good grasp of the issue here; rather than an emotional or political slant.

For the last 2-3 years, some of have sought to share our understanding of God’s Word on BU. Most of the time, we are mocked and scoffed at. It is therefore extremely ironical when there is percieved to be a crisis, that folk are quoting the Scripture out of context

We have shown that Hezekiah’s example (though his life was extended by 15 years ) is definitely not the correct pasage to apply to the current situation.

A more appropriate scripture would be 1 Timothy 2:2. (And this is spoken as a non Biblical guru) LOL

46. Hants
    I wid you.

Carson C
    Talk ya talk do. Ya in lie.
    stupseeeeeeeeeee.

Anon @ 1:36
    Talk fa youself. Everybody doan agree wid ‘all’ dat he brings ta BU. Thank you.

ya still alive?
    chawwwwwwwwwwww.
    wah is you fav’rite chune fa de Crop?

I love Eric Jerome Dickey.
    By Popsicle.

I won’t be bout hay but I kno dat my man de Bag got um again dis year. He too swoiteeeeeeeee.

47. Forgive me for speaking on assumption, but if our PM does indeed have what everyone is saying he has, there are some very new, promising, cutting edge treatments being done right now that are showing positive results in patients with his condition (speaking on assumption here). I hope he is at least able to try some of them.
    It’s important to pray, but prayer has to also be backed up with realistic, earthly and positive action, rather than just hoping for a miracle. It is evident that the traditional treatments for this condition simply do not work.
    I wish him and his loved ones much strength in this difficult time.

48. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Nia
    Can you tell us what it is that the PM is supposed to have?

49. Dr.Porgie
    ya too malicious. LOLLL
    but I hear um is cancer (not surprised,true or false)
    doan worry, I malicious ta.
    tek dah.

50. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Well it depends on the location and the relations of the cancer and its stage. A favorable location and a stage 1 cancer has a relatively good prognosis.