Prime Minister David Thompson

Barbadians were startled by the announcement from Prime Minister David Thompson today that his illness has forced him to take medical leave for 2 months. BU is emboldened by the tenor of his press conference which sounded the confidence he has in Barbadians to succeed during this difficult period for the country which coincides with his own personal challenges. Despite frequent and sometimes robust debate which BU facilitates, Barbadians remain fiercely proud of what our little island has achieved oftentimes against the odds.

Barbados in its post Independence existence has been viewed as a model in the areas of governance, education, telecommunications to list a few. Many suggest because we are our own worst critic it means we are not proud to be Bajan. Of course not! The Barbados brand continues to be respected around the world.

BU extends to Prime Minister David Thompson and his family the very best wishes. We also do the same to Acting Prime Minister Fruendel Stuart with whom the fate of Barbados will rest at a very difficult time in our development.

142 responses to “Interesting Times On The Horizon For Barbados”

1. @Bonny Peppa

Holy Cow! God not gonna get on yuh wrongside. Fuh sure he gonna answer allyuh prays. Amen!

2. ac you is a Trinidadian? Nuh Bajan doan say allyuh. We does say “wunna”.
    we doan say gonna, dah is north amurcan. we does say “gine.” lol

3. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

@ Bonny Peppa
    I doubt it!!!!!

4. ok GP. Correction. There hundreds of Bajans of above average intelligence like you and me.

Some are underachieving (like me) and others maximise their potential (like you).
    Somewhere between the two of us are potential Prime Ministers.

I thought Steinbok was the only genius at kolij in our era. Maybe Darcy is one too.

5. @Hants.

No me no trini. They o.k. people glad to know that i mingled with de twain. Bajan from head to de toe. Hants you always make me laugh. Luv yu!

6. ac
    LOL, ya know dat Bonny is a struction-mekka too. i hay waitin now fa Bajan Truth n he comrads ta ‘tek me on’. you done know dat i couldn’t give a rat’s ass ’bout nun a dem. leh dem cum. dem probably in gun waste time answerin me neitha. like if i care.

But seriously, if you listen to these yardfrogs croaking you would believe that if their party had won the last election that everything would be honky-dory.They behave as though their party would’ve, could’ve, should’ve saved the world economy. gimma a break do, fa christ-sake. Look, the whole world is in deep shit as we speak and i still think that for a small island state, that we are still holding our own. You cook today? Me too. And I gine n drink lil black green-tea just now. Red Rose to be exact.LOL

Stupseeeeeeee, give thanks n praise do.

Pretty Blue Eyes
    Exactly what is it that you doubt? Ya got ma lost. Elaborate plzzz.

7. @Hants: “There [are] hundreds of Bajans of above average intelligence like you and me.

I would argue over a hundred thousand. Approximately 50% +/- 1, in fact….

(That’s meant to be maths humour…)

8. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Hants
    Re I thought Steinbok was the only genius at kolij in our era.
    Well Steinbok continued to display his genius at UWI as a med student and since as a Neurosurgeon in Canada.

We know that Darcy got good grades throughout school but he wasnt kept back from doing A levels for two years because he was so young. Dont tink that Darcy is in Steinbok’s class.

Maybe Darcy is being kept back from shining to his maximum potential by the morons around him like how JC Hammond kept back Steinbok. I dont know.

9. @CH

Question :Are you certain you are a mathematician or a mortician .?

10. This thread is getting dangerous .People talking about cutting off hands . OUCH!.I am outta here . I got two and i need them
    Anybody need a mortician call CH. .

11. Bonny that is you. I wonder wha God think about all these prayers and blogs , He probably don’t know if to laugh or cry. God that was your little chihuahua again. Ah know you love her. lolllllll

12. Gp I gine leave them to you, you will keep them straight.

13. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Bajan Truth
    Have you forgotten the principle you must have learned from your cricket coach to the effect that that YOU DONT HAVE TO PLAY AT EVERY BALL?

It is very useful on BU sometimes to practice it.

14. me jus checking to see if wunna dead or alive! By de way neva hear of a “calf cookie
    BTW if any wunna hit the ground call GP he can perform the last rites. Stay off the booze not good for the pancreas ask GP.

15. How cum Bonny Peppa praying and using ‘curse words’

Big -up yuh self Bonny–yuh large
    ha ha
    my money ha ha

16. What de hell is a “PIG RAT”? Neva seen one. ! Very interesting !pleeeze to meet yu!I tink!BTW give my regards to the other members of the family..
    Question :: Do they all look like you ?

17. Barbados is not the whole world and yes if the BLP were in Office, the economy would have been better managed.

In 1994, when Owen and the BLP took over , they had to weather many a storm and things were sweet –1994—-2008

if you throw a lizard from a house top to the ground, that lizard would survive.

If you throw Sinckler–(the next Prime Minister) to the ground from the same height, he would be badly injured. Barbados is small and its small size is a distinct advantage even at Hurricane time when it is by-passed. A bigger land mass would make a difference. So Barbados could escape an economic storm same way.

Please note that the economies of other states in the Caribbean grew by large and significant margins: Guyana is one of those states.

The reasons given by some folks for Barbados’s economic non-performance is a cop out. Plain and simple ! I dont buy it ! In any case the PM said that the economy good ——-or words to that effect.

Stop making excuses for the Government only because you favour the DLP over the BLP.

THAT IS CHILDISH, IMMATURED AND BACKWARD

18. Straight talk Avatar

A simple question to all my Christian friends on BU.

What’s the big problem about anyone departing this mortal coil, and going to heaven.

You either believe it, or you pray it don’t happen.

Strange belief.

19. PIG AND RAT -SAME DIFFERENCE–

Any thing in the body is curable using the right methods

Western medicine does not have all the answers and cutting here and nipping there only make things go

Remember —The body heals itself –Give it the environment and it will thrive

20. Just thinking out loud! I wonda if Owen Arthur has a tool small in size! Is that an advantage I neva thought of it that way. wuhlossssssssssssss.I learn something new everday ! I tink!

21. Somebody wrote “So Hants and CCC help me, who are the ten that will fit this bill? Do some due diligence and help us select?”

And you didn’t ask me but from the DLP maybe you could start with Maxine McLean?

J, neither B nor D (nor Ezra Alleyne’s woman neither)

22. Straight Talk asked “What’s the big problem about anyone departing this mortal coil, and going to heaven.”

Just to mix my threlogy with politics as everybody else is doing, remember a long time ago Owen Arthur siad that “everybody wants to go to heaven, but nobody wants to die”

He was right you know.

We Christians (and other religious people who believe in heaven) have no difficulty with the heaven part, but to tell the truth we have major difficulty with the dying part.

And that’s the truth.

23. maxine maclean stupsee,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,liar!

24. Pretty Blue Eyes Avatar
    Pretty Blue Eyes

@Bonny Peppa
    I actually meant to say I doubt God you answer your prayer laced with such words.
    @ J
    Maxine McClean, steuuuuuuuuupse, give me a break.
    @ Pig The Rat
    I agree with you, the Prime Minister said ‘words to that effect” in referring to the economy, remember he is a Lawyer by profession, they state untruths to make it sound like the truth then by the time you figure it out you’ve lost the case. I am still of the belief that Frundel Stuart is not a man on the Prime Minister’s side, when we are all praying for his recovery I am quite sure he is praying for something else,. Chris Sinckler is in the wrong position, Hammie La stuepse, only two people of worth on that party is Min.Hutson and Min. Stephen Lashey. and right now whoever write and disagree I do not give a rat’s bottom, write all you want.

25. Listen all, my prayer is addressed to the Heavenly Father. Who tell wunna ta read what I write. Wunna all (a word my supervisor likes to use, don’t know where she found it) wunna-all too malicious. My prayer is to my Father. He will understand and say, Bonny, well done. Now leave me alone befoe I pray fa wunna-all too.

Bajan Truth
    Tek Porgie advice nah, “ya doan have to play at evry ball’. You doan know when I gun cum wid a google-lee, beamer, bouncer, yorker. Man doan play at evry ball.

PIG THE RAT
    Doan call my name. Today is Sundee. De rain fallin, go n sleep.

Bonny feelin like a leatherback rite now girl wid all dis rain fallin.

26. Bajan PM flies out for cancer treatment
    Trinidad Express, Tuesday, May 18th 2010

Barbados Prime Minister, David Thompson, who is believed to be suffering from colon cancer, is expected to take time off and leave Barbados for a few months in order to seek treatment this week.

Thompson made the announcement of his impending absence at a press briefing at his official residence last Friday.

In his absence, Deputy Prime Minister and Attorney General, Freundel Stuart, will act as Prime Minister.

Reliable sources close to the government’s hierarchy yesterday told the Express it is suspected Thompson may be suffering from colon cancer.

The Barbados Nation reported on Sunday that at Friday’s press briefing, Thompson said he had undergone tests in Barbados and New York to identify the cause of the illness. He did not disclose the illness, but said in the next two weeks Barbados would know the nature and extent of his illness.

Thompson, who has lost weight, said initial tests and others were going to continue and it might necessitate him being out of the country over the next month or for a longer period.

27. Yeaterdaywuuna all debating and speculating and the doctor analysing.Now today
    yuh reporting. So many hats for one job. Please make a decision.This is crtical.I tink
    yuall need to be in ICU.

28. @ac

Given the high profile position of the PM speculation will always come in to play.

The topic on the pancreas is not centred on the PM and generated information which is useful for a general audience.

29. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Re Owen Arthur siad that “everybody wants to go to heaven, but nobody wants to die”

Well the truth is you dont have to die to go to heaven according to 1 Cor 15:52et secq and i Thes 4:13-18

30. @GP ‘Well the truth is you dont have to die to go to heaven’

—————————-

I would tend to agree, that a few times I been there too.

lol

31. One time I was in a plane, I was a teenager. I fell asleep, to be awoken, when I opened my eyes, I indeed thought I had gone to heaven, to see the eyes of the pretty stewardess right close up in mine.

Lawd.

32. Well if i can come to such a conclusion given what was said by a comment relating to the pancreas and cancer yesterday in reference to the PM . I guess others worldwide might come to the same conclusion .

33. @ ac, Fair point.

One thing I have learnt is that in the absence of information in communication, people will speculate, especially if it is perceived as being pertinent to them.

Understandably, in public life certain things must be disclosed as necessary, which may be viewed normally as private.

A fine balance.

But, one cannot prevent, if the informaiton is not seen as forthcoming.

That said, as others such as GP, I also have viewed the information presented on pancreatic cancer as being for the general application, not specific to one case.

Indeed, among the surprising and relevant things revealed, is the relatively high incidence of this disease.

While every illness is important to address, especially for family and friends, high incidence make an illness even moreso for healthcare in a country.

Finally, to show the pertinence in disclosure, one side-effect of this particular illness is stated as ‘clinical depression’.

There are many scenarios that such will be very concerning, for example, a pilot, surgeon etc.

This makes it very important to understand, aside from survivability.

34. @Crusoe

No problem with commenting on the diseases itself However it was brought up inpart at this time because of the PM illness no need to bob and weave that is the truth.

35. @ac

The point you are missing, it does not matter the reason it was presented, what matters is the value it brings to the BU family. To many and the BU household we found the exchanges to be enlightening. BU has focussed on many things medical, the fact we have decided to focus on pancreatic cancer because the PM is rumoured to have it is moot, in fact it is for that very reason the presentation maybe timely. Anyway you can have the last word.

36. Georgie Porgie Avatar

I submitted some notes on adenocarcinomas of the pancreas for the edification of those on BU interested therein. I want to make it very clear that I do not care two hoots about anyone who took offense.

For those who learned from the disclosure, I hope that you will be diligent in passing on the information to your peers.

I have some other notes to submit on metastasis which applies to all cancers and will do so in due course.

37. Knowledge is power. Keep teaching and preaching GP.

38. crusoe
    People speculate whether they are given info or not. People just love to speculate. And most of the time the speculation is more negative than positive. If a fella start to lose weight maybe due to diabetes or some other health problem, the first thing people start to say is ‘he/she got AIDS’. People just love to speculate. We as a people don’t be easy at all. But I won’t trade my bajans fa de world. (cause I does speculate too).

When you say you went to heaven without dying, I was thinking rude, as usual. Ecstasy, cloud-9 etc. dat sorta ‘dying’. Was wrong, I guess. LOLLLL

39. GP I am with you on this one. I didn’t like the quote at ALL!!!!!!

Although I am not a bible guru like you, I myself tend to know the Bible. And I didn’t like that verse.

I never for once thought that you were glad about the PM’s illness. I was telling my mother the very same thing that you said ……….

I don’t know why people are like that at all……

40. Georgie Porgie Avatar

JC
    You come to cah me to heaven, now? Or mek me tink rude like Bonny?

I dont care wuh Yardbroom say this time (though normally I have the utmost respect for he) Next time I home we got to meet. OK Even if I got to put some warm licks in BT for luking round. But if yuh mother dont like ugly black fellas wuh we gwine do?

The best verse in this situation is the one from I Timothy that enjoins us to pray for all in authority, because it is unlimited in its scope.

Our first PM’s died suddenly, so the people could not really pray. I was not home around the time the third PM died, so I dont know how the people reacted to his illness since he was not in office at the time.

Knowledge of the current PM’s illness presents a period of national intercession on his behalf.

41. Alex Fergusson Avatar
    Alex Fergusson

The DLP Promised, Cannot Deliver and Now Makes Excuses.

In the Foreword of its 2008 Youth Manifesto, the DLP promised “change.” It said that: “the cost of living rising on a daily basis makes it difficult to satisfy basic needs” and that: “there is inadequate access to employment opportunities by young person seeking their first job.”

Didn’t Stephen Lashley read his Party’s Youth Manifesto?

Had he done so, it is doubtful that he would now be telling the young people that their frustration and harsh criticism of the DLP government is unjustified. Of course, these same young people are concerned about the high cost of living and dwindling employment opportunities.

Surely the DLP must be worried about the lukewarm reception to their “free fete” with Kfyah headlining.

That a mere 300 young people out of a total of some 84,000 nationally, bothered to show up – has to be a resounding ‘vote of no confidence’ in this DLP Administration.

42. Alex
    Did the ‘luke-warm’ reception have anything to do with the inclement weather on said day? We still run to fire n run from rain. You faget conveniently?