David Rice, new President and CEO of Barbados Tourism Authority

Here is what Nation Columnist Kammie Holder is reporting on his Facebook Page. BU found the little comment to be very instructive:

I could not believe my eyes when I saw an Audi A4T, registration ML634 at 14:22 hours make a right turn up Collymore Rock, from the old Service Commission premises. Are you still wondering why little boys ride on the opposite side of the road? Can anyone tell us who drives this vehicle?

Three hours later here is what he found out:

After checking with my sources I have come to learn the car is the property of the BTA and was driven by the CEO Mr David Rice. The temptation to take short cuts but you never know who is watching!

The above is an example of what is so wrong with our little country.

72 responses to “David Rice, Did You Do That?”

1. Kammie Holder Avatar

To tell yah de trute ah shame but ah must tell the world ah can blasted dance. A like to make love to either Michael Jackson or John Legend music and that is free music.

You maybe surprised to know somethimes I fish for food on the rocks hoping to catch a horseye.To augment de income I dus pick up bottles which I take to B`s Recycling, if in doubt call them at 438-9285. So Anonymous I wuk fah me own money and sing in me own choir. Me integrity and character not fah hire. Sorry to disappoint!

2. @Yardbroom, Yardbroom // June 24, 2010 at 12:33 PM , well put LOL.

3. Georgie Porgie Avatar

Yes Crusoe Yardbroom hit he hard wid that one! That was real wrist man! Great pun Flexor carpi ulnaris! LOL

4. Call a spade... Avatar
    Call a spade…

Mr HOlder is yet another in the long line of narcissists who believe that the Barbadian public awaits their every pronouncement with baited breath. Furthermore, this issue with Rice seems personal rather than coincidental. God preserve us from yardfowls with keyboards.

5. @KH, yuh had me worried there in your phrase ‘A like to make …’, till I got to the word ‘music’, mercy.

By the way, on the issue of ‘…”If you see a car parked somewhere cannot you call and ask who is the driver?”

It depends on the time and place, obviously.

Then again, it depends on the time and place whether you would wish to call in the first place, being that yuh there too?!

6. David

Maybe Kammie positioning to be a political candidate
    Nah… He too “thin skin”, criticism to politicians is like water on a duck’s back, but at the slightest hint of criticism on BU he resorts to jobbie, faeces and pee. He would be drawn and quartered on the political platform.

7. Kammie Holder Avatar

We must all agree to disagree. If we all agreed on everything there would only be need for one of us. I will refrain from using the word jobbie,feaces and pee,people this is Crop Over season lighten up. A little laugh is good for the soul. Let me tell wunna a secret, me not interested in politics only in nation building. We often take our freedoms for granted, and fail to realize that social commentators and activist like General Bussa are responsible for our freedoms today.

8. @Sarge:
    He aint is thin skin and Liz Thompson and she is a “has been” politico.

@Kammie
    Why would I have to read Seth Godin books to get to know what you are all about?

9. Boy wunna aint easy at all…
    De man was living outside de island for donkey’s years…treat him as a lost tourist nuh. Cuddear.

10. Call a spade... Avatar
    Call a spade…

“General” Bussa was a social commentator?
    Well, you live and learn.

Interestingly, in no other country I’ve lived and worked in or visited is there a category of citizen known as a “social commentator”. It is a Barbadian phenomenon. In any other country, you write a letter to the editor. Here, the editor gives you your own column and the title of social commentator. the Nation now has more social commentators than reporters. They are mostly political mice who leave a trail of droppings as they scamper across the editorial pages.

11. Kammie was living outside Barbados? where? and when did he return to Barbados. What does he do now?

12. Just got back from Pelican Island. Where do I work? Culpepper Island counting sheep! Hope that helps.

13. KAMMIE "FAN aka FOLLOWER" Who is Kammie Holder?? U all seem to already know! Avatar
    KAMMIE “FAN aka FOLLOWER” Who is Kammie Holder?? U all seem to already know!

WOW!! So a man questioning someone driving down a street in his own community is subjected to ridicule and debasement by his peers.. “Drawn and Quartered”? Sounds colonial to me. David Rice owns more than a Audi. More like the pockets and minds of the people in sighing a feeding frenzy on dear Kammie Holder. So funny how you all try to write with a twang and act like there is something about you that makes u so “proper”. I have a vantage point on this situation that proves what Kammie said about The best way not to make enemies, is to turn a blind eye, while you suffer in silence . From the outside looking in you’re all a bunch of assholes. Where I’m from we talk the talk walk the walk and are truly FREE to express ourselves. Its a birth right. None of u think independently this page reads like a pit-bull attack. No one is proving him wrong just attacking. You opened a can or worms Kammie and they’re all trying to wiggle from the truth. They wouldn’t be so upset if u didn’t hit a nerve. I believe u because if you weren’t right no one would care so much. Keep watching and keep reading people you can’t be famous if people don’t talk about you.

14. Kammie Holder Avatar

Ian Douglas Bourne http://bajanreporter.com/?p=2595 “I think Barbados is slowly slipping into a form of moral/ethical quicksand and is officially unaware of it, yet if you try to drag them out, they scream how warm and comforting the mud is… Afraid to blaze new trails or chart new paths in genuine Post-Independence Enlightenment, they rather cling to Colonial edicts…”

15. Watching, absorbing and listening!!! Avatar
    Watching, absorbing and listening!!!

Maybe citizens need some more time to decide that enough is enough!!! Spinning around in circles gets you dizzy! Then you’ll probably see a urgent quest for “Change!” Take note of what transpired in Trinidad this year!!! No one is above the law!!! What is good for the goose is good for the gander!!! Or is it a case of do as I say but don’t do as I do for one set of citizens and not the others? Does a man possess special priviledges in terms of law abiding because of his social status, then the law needs to be revised and rewritten!!!

16. It is about time that someone takes a stand and speak out in regards to the political or Government officials that believed their are above the law. To be elected as a Government official is a privileged and should not be taken lightly . I don’t think that any one want a passive .undesirable, uneducated bloke to make decision for any country even if it is BARBADOS !! But don’t abuse your privileges ! It would be refreshing to see a change or be a part of a change were our leaders are held at a higher standard … Stop the BS and get a manual. that might work .. …

17. FAIR & BALANCE Avatar
    FAIR & BALANCE

Kammi I warned you that if you continue on this path you will be crucify. I told you sooner or later you going mash the wrong person corns. You see what I tell you.

18. I too love Rice. I would ‘eat’ Rice 7 days a week n twice pun a Sundee. Introduce ma nah. Cuh dearrrrrrrr.

19. Kammie Holder Avatar

It well with my soul. I am the least bothered, about how them seek to vilify me for speaking truthfully. Where something lacks controversy it lacks interest. As a person who Swims Upstream with the personality of a Salmon, taking the road less traveled is part of my persona. Criticism as a tool for empowerment is one of the greatest contributions persons who disrespectfully disagree with me provide. Carpa diem

20. Watching, absorbing and listening!!! Avatar
    Watching, absorbing and listening!!!

If everyone agreed with one political afiliation, would there be need for an opposition? hence a need for democracy? Perhaps voting should now become a chapter in history! Arise and be heard!!!!

21. @Bonny ,how do you like your rice? Fluffy, white, flied,hard or soft

22. Bosun
    Check good n see, I like my Rice wid a capital ‘R’. Good n propa noun. Gotcha. 🙂
    Introduce ma nah.