Submitted by Austin

Commissioner of Police Mr. Darwin Dottin

To set the tone for this submission I’ll begin with an excerpt from this week’s Nation Online: “ CRIME has escalated over the last 12 months and Commissioner of Police, Darwin Dottin, is also concerned over the growing menace of drug trafficking and abuse…..”

I refuse to except that corruption and self-promotion are two key attributes we should expect from elected officials, especially now while we are faced with major economic and social challenges. I am also honestly at a lost for words to explain our current political inability to seek and implement much needed reforms in addressing these current challenges.

The proof that we are on the wrong track is in the rising crime rate and drug abuse we are starting to see in many Bajan villages.

The Jamaica story can serve as an example of what happens when effective economic and social reforms go ignored for decades, with the poor and disenfranchised taking matters into their owe hands when enough is enough.

As a class oriented society the silence of the middle class majority to demand solutions from elected officials in addressing our ills, only serves to destabilize their protected “pick” futures as the class that can best articulate needed reforms.

As such Bajan instigators for proactive solutions who call for social and economic change, increasingly find ourselves having to use considerable effort and ingenuity, like the blogosphere, to affect public awareness and change.

As a nation we also appear to exhibit a deep rooted “fear of change” that can only be associated with paralysis, immobilization, confusion, and indecisiveness…all things exhibited in the Barbados House of Parliament daily.

Looking back throughout our history the LORD ALL MIGHTY has blessed us with transformational leaders at critical times. Leaders like the Honourable Errol Barrow, Tom Adams and the like, who while not perfect, served the PEOPLE of Barbados first and not themselves as evident in lasting legacies that cannot be denied.

With that said, “Lord Hear Our Prayer” as such leadership of the past is needed now in Barbados more then ever before.  Neither party is demonstrating the political “know how”, “will” or “concern” for the people in addressing many of our current economic and social challenges.

While I pray all goes well for us as a nation while navigating our way through these troubling times, I remain uneasy leaving our fate in the hands if poor and ineffective political leaders who exist in both the DLP and BLP parties.

126 responses to “Change IS Going To Come To Barbados: The Question Is " What Type"”

1. @BT
    “I have lived long enough to know that if you interchanged the two sides, after a short time, you will have the IDENTICAL problems.”

If you interchange the two sides under the same system, what would you expect? Justice? The system would have to change too, so your observation is perfectly correct under those circumstances, but it does not touch the question of the system.

2. @ROK: “If you interchange the two sides under the same system, what would you expect?

LOL…

Two separate very bright men taught me to play Chess and Go.

I’m still shit at both, but they, interestingly, both made to me during the lessons the same offer: “Any time you want, tell me and we’ll switch sides.”

I still got the shit kicked out of me, even when I switched sides…

Hmmmmmm….

3. LOL Chris. That’s a good one. Maybe the two scenarios have similarities… but I won’t expound on that right now. A question of skill, though.

4. @ROK: “A question of skill, though.

Definitely skill.

And also, perhaps, knowledge….

5. Back -off ROK , Bonny belongs to me now !

6. Who is this anonymous dot? What back off what? You want bacchanal down here or what?

7. Micro Mocky Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mocky Engineer

I trying tah be a imposter… I hope nabody don’ notice…!

8. Some good points you are making ROK.

9. Micro Mocky Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mocky Engineer

By the way Chris, how do you rate yourself as a BU contributor..?

10. @Bajan Truth

You are so right. Bajans are a very naive and the politicans are aware ot that. Look at the mundane topics the use to keep the masses divided. In that way it takes the focus of what they (politicians) are not doing ..Look at how many times they Use the ZR culture card to heighten their popularity while the people say in unisom YEAH! YEAH!

11. @Micro Mocky Engineer (AKA BAFBFP): “By the way Chris, how do you rate yourself as a BU contributor..?

D minus. But that’s only because I’d hate to give myself an F….

12. @ac

“Use the ZR culture card to heighten their popularity while the people say in unisom YEAH! YEAH!”

…but who is saying yeah, yeah, as opposed to who catching the ZRs?

13. Micro Mocky Engineer Avatar
    Micro Mocky Engineer

Man Chris how you know it is me… man you is a regular Sherlock Homes or Gregory House MD… I feel Georgie would not agree wid you though… he would give you a G minus…LOL!

14. Rok

The government like to hoodwinked people with side bar issues. Where are they when it comes to real debate on matters that effect the people pockets book Very silent aren’t they. Tell me when last you hear a politician stand up to the utilities for the people in the same manner they would hoot and hooler about ZR., and banning cell phones in school. The politicians know how to fool all the masses all of the time.

15. @ ROK
    … I see that you parade pun the bushman as soon as my back turn…LOL
    .. but I sure that you know that day does only run ’til night catch it…

Man ROK, I tell you to leave the logic thing to me.
    Let we look at the issue step by step.

The question is whether mankind in inherently evil. My position is definitely so! while you think not.

My point is that given the right (or wrong in this case) circumstances, men have ALWAYS, and will always exemplify their evil side.

I gave the example of the Jews who, when placed in the position of the Nazis now behave just like they did.
    I suggest to you that if we exchange workers and employers, then the behaviors will just reverse.

…and you counter that it depends on the system……??!!

What system what??!!
    Can’t you see that this is EXACTLY the point?
    Righteous Character is the ability to chose the RIGHT behavior WHATEVER THE SITUATION or SYSTEM.

…any idiot can be nice to those who are nice to you. It takes character to be nice to those that actually hate you and wish you ill. (I want to see how you treat my man GP from now on LOL)

If therefore, someone depends on a particular SYSTEM (niceness and fairness) to exhibit good character -then that is a FAIL!!!

This will not mean anything to you, but that is exactly what the big man meant when he said ‘what does it prove that you love them that love you? I say unto you,.. love those that hate you – pray for those who are trying to kill you….”

What I am saying then is that true character is developed when one have developed the ability to do right – what ever the circumstances.

Now look at this world and tell me if it is not ABSOLUTELY PERFECTLY DESIGNED AND SUITED TO FOSTER THE KIND OF CHARACTER DEVELOPMENT OF WHICH THE BUSHMAN SPEAKS….

16. I humbly opine that if the Bushman was to swap places with ROK that within one week of so doing he would just get miserable because ’bout hey too blasted hot and rainy right now, cuss somebody and shif he rear end back to de land of international terrorists… LOL

17. ROK et al
    Bonny hay nursing a back injury. As you know, my work entails lifting, pulling, shoving de ol folks. so in dis case it was either strain my back or leh de ol girl fall and i took de gamble n loss ta my back. Can’t sit or stand for too long so I’m doing a lot of lying and taking/using my Voltaren as prescribed by my doc.
    Will be back soon to do what I do best. Talk bare shoite.

BAFBFP
    Even laffin is a task fa me now, so please limit ya ‘bad behaviah’.

18. Dah ‘Anonymous’ is only me. De head turn.

19. @BT

You plan to wear me down or out. You touch on so many things but you know that whenever it boils down, you have not taken to the issue.

Let us get away from the use of the word logic because you are using the word logic, as if there are certain universal “truths”, when really your logic depends on “assumptions” given universal status. There is no sheer logic. It must run on a track like a train.

Therefore, you can’t come to me with logic when we are speaking of behaviour. It just don’t work so. There is nothing logical about behaviour. Any pronouncement on behaviour must have relativity; cause and effect; action and reaction.

So, the question is whether or not man is evil by nature. While you may stick out at evil, I am not going to counter you by saying good. I will go with ac for now; it is a matter of choice… and man chooses life; good or evil.

20. Sorry to hear that news BP.
    …tek care with that back soul – you still got some old bush folks to deal wid LOL

….de ‘bush bath’ offer still here waiting. …don’t mind Zoe, he could do wid one too rotfl

21. @Bonny

Give Rok something to do wid them hands. Any how take care .At least de mout still going strong. BAF he don know how to behave,

22. Wunna comfusing me fah somebody else….!

23. @ BIMBRO

Man behave yaself man…! You can see dat Bonnie sick.

ac you good?

24. @ Rok
    I really feel that you should reread your last response at 9.41, reconsider, and resubmit.

David is a cool fellow – I feel that he would let you change it – and the bushman would pretend that I did not see the 9.41 p.m. post.

As man Rok, you ain’t saying nuttin there.

First there is the ‘logic’ rant. LOL!! My reference to logic is simply to suggest that deductions drawn in the discussion should follow the line of argument and make basic sense.
    ROTFL – your third para is a classic example of ILLOGIC….. i mean REAL classic.

…..but nothing beats your conclusion. I like um BAD!!
    …now you are saying that man is neither inherently good or bad – it is all about ‘choice’ and man choose ‘life??!!”

Man cuddear, if Bush Tea’s rebuttal at 8.39 p.m. is too sound and firm to counter why not just concede and let we move to a next topic to clash on ????? …don’t mind ‘hard ears’ MME and NS – always opposing all my bush theories….lol

However to take the discussion to the next level beyond ac’s question about choice..

The reality is that mankind now really have ‘no choice’ between good and evil. This is because we have already made our choice (through our ancestors) – and they took the choice to follow the way of ‘selfish, evil and greed….’

As a result, it can be said that ‘all have sinned and come short of the righteousness of God…’ You will find that the nicest among us – given the right circumstances, will fail the true test of love.
    Look back at your interactions with your tormentor GP – or at his with Bush Tea LOL) and you will see what I mean…… LOL

If you are interested in the mechanism that has been put in place to provide a means through which a man in such a state of hopelessness (in terms of achieving the level of choice where it is possible to actually love those who REALLY hate you) – i will be more than happy to explain….. but it is high draft!!

25. @Bush Tea

Man is not inherently “EVIL” that is nonsense. Man has been given freewill .Haveyou ever look at a newborn baby and think that baby was evil. You have painted yourself in a corner I am awaiting Rok togive you the knock out punch LOL.
    Look if what you say is true then we are unable to decide what is right from what is wrong

26. @BT

I tell you that we will agree to disagree with this one. Your logic is based on assumption that, “…The reality is that mankind now really have ‘no choice’ between good and evil. This is because we have already made our choice (through our ancestors) – and they took the choice to follow the way of ‘selfish, evil and greed….’”

A long division sum that start off wrong can’t end up right. Listen to your grandfather, man.

27. @BushTea / ROK,

The Bushman professes that ‘true character is developed when one have developed the ability to do right – what ever the circumstances’ while the ROK states ‘ it is a matter of choice… and man chooses life; good or evil’.

Maybe herein you both are saying the same thing?

Bush refers to ‘character’, to me being experience etc, but it DEPENDS on the person. I disagree resoundly that mankind is essentially evil, but agree that we each as individuals are all born with a persona or ‘essence’, that will impact all we do throughout life. Character is the development of that persona in our living environment.

I agree that some are selfish and mean essentially, but I cannot accept that mankind as a whole is, because there are those who are equally as caring and loving.

I will say that mankind has a pack or tribal instinct which makes it easier to ‘follow the crowd’. Certainly, whatever the process or system , there are those who will use and abuse, by learning how to use the same system.

Maybe that is the cause of the Bushman’s example of the above authoritarian regimes.

However, at the end of the day, I resoundly agree with ‘ac/ROK’ that we all have a CHOICE, to do right or what we ‘feel’ is wrong.

That is not only character, that depends on our persona.

Personally I can tell you things (real life examples) that make little sense in term so human behaviour, but when taken in context of the ‘persona’ and ‘character’, moreso the first, then one begins to understand that such actions are, abeit peculiarly, explainable.

Choice. We all have it.

28. I still do not grasp the concept of “Evil”… Sorry, to advanced fah dis brain..!

29. BAFBFP,

Evil – its like when you at a bar and buying beers for evry’one else and drinking Extra Old on Ice fuh yuhself.

Dat is evil.

30. I want to reiterate that the brain power on BU is beyond compare.

What bushman what? always raising interesting points, what points what?

Hopi keeping us briefed on WASHINGton DC and the crimes of AmeriKKKa protecting its ASSets in the FEARthquake machine against the Black Man (who was first on Venus as an Egyptian).

Big ROK … well what can I say? Just superb.

And funny Bonny Peppa keeping them fools in their place (stupse!”).

It reminds me of 1982 when Wayne Nurse’s nephew “Biggie” Cumberpatch tried to milk Malcolm Worrell’s goat and Percy Alleyne wrote in the Advocate that George Boyce (Minnie Prescod’s stepson) was acting undercover for Sandiford’s god-daughter, Marcia Persaud, on behalf the BLP.

Keep up the good work BU! We in the BU Family support you 1000 percent!

31. @Bajan Truth

“Good people doing nothing, is the recipe for degradation and the flourishing of evil.”

They don’t even have to do anything but support (even moral) the advocates that get up and put themselves on the line for the people.

32. @ Crusoe
    Evil – its like when you at a bar and buying beers for evry’one else and drinking Extra Old on Ice fuh yuhself.
    ***********************************************************************************************
    What evil what??!!

Crusoe,
    Dat ain’t evil – dat is politics….. only thing missing is that the top politicians does be paying with the beer drinkers’ money…

@ Crusoe @ 7.41 AM
    man when you become a peacemaker now? you trying to stop this war between the rok and the bush? Man we ain’t saying no same thing at all!!….. LOL

Rok real tricky – he good at bringing emotional intelligence to the discussion and he does say things that sound REAL sweet and right – but the Bushman stands firm.

Let me start by answering BAFBFP’s important question – What is evil?

Taken by itself, there is obviously no correct answer to this question.
    In other words, if (as my friend Not Saved argues), life on earth is the result of a lucky evolutionary process, then there is no such thing as evil. It is all a matter of individual opinion.

If on the other hand, life on earth is the specific designed project of a group of (let us call them) Big Boss Engineers (BBE) who conceptualized and initiated the process with a clear, known objective in mind, THEN evil is that state of being, and that kind of behavior that BBE has DEFINED and DETERMINED to be evil. FULL STOP.

…simple as that…..
    To use the Bush Tea simile – when my key man “Lowdown” Hoad decided to start his goat farm, he decided that he was going into goat milk, how many animals to keep, what kinds of feed to try, and how much milk he wanted for himself to try to raise the dead…

Who do you think sets the rules for that farm- such as what is the right and wrong thing to do…??? the goats?? (OK BAFBFP, we all know that it is MRS Hoad – but work with me here ….)

Crusoe, be careful listening to my girlfriend ac ya hear? no surprise that she is telling you that mankind is not evil, and that we should follow our own minds- that is the same thing that Eve told Adam too…LOL

So if BBE gave our ancestors a choice, and they chose NOT to follow the good option as defined by BBE; then by definition, they have made the evil choice….. and the results of our centuries of recorded history CONFIRMS that their choice has been one of pain, sorrows and grief.

Come on people – this is as clear as mud. Mankind is clearly handicapped by an inherent nature that has -throughout recorded history, and even today in the most enlightened era ever -generally resulted in pain, sorrow, destruction and hopelessness.
    Our natural inclination is towards evil -even when we mean well.

…there is a way that seems right to men (and especially to women LOL) but the end thereof is the way of death….

33. @BT

“If on the other hand, life on earth is the specific designed project of a group of (let us call them) Big Boss Engineers (BBE) who conceptualized and initiated the process with a clear, known objective in mind…”

I really have no faith in your BBE because that is the same thing as the gods, all of whom have proven to be mortals. Your BBE is like a scientists cloning sheep to make a sheep farm. Your BBE is not creating sheep. Your farm analogy fits the “god concept” but not the “Creation concept”.

34. BTW Can someone tell me what has become of the Project Oasis initiative, which was
    implemented a few years ago. It seemed as if the project was beginning to pay off. It was, however a positive initiative.

35. Well you know ROK, I am sure that your belief or non belief in the existence or mortality of my ‘BBE’ means a lot to you…..
    ….. Have you considered the faint possibility that what you believe in this regard means diddly squat in terms of of reality? …you should contemplate that!!!

I mean it is certainly not the strongest possible argument that because you personally are fed up with ‘gods who prove to be mortals’… that this affects anything except possibly your attitude….LOL

…and Rok, remember we are trying to apply some logic to this discussion. Read your post again and see if you can appreciate my challenge….

36. @BT”only thing missing is that the top politicians does be paying with the beer drinkers’ money…”LOL and ”man when you become a peacemaker now”

Remember the saying ‘blessed is the peacemaker, for he shalt be caught in the crossfire”?

Are you trying to insinuate that young ‘ac’ is trying to lead this fellow astray? Hearken well, I am a humble man, who shalt not let me loins guide my decisions, but shalt walk a good walk…even if a little awkward after them few winks and flirtations ……..

37. @BT ‘Rok, remember we are trying to apply some logic to this discussion’

Now, playing ‘devil’s advocate’ here, note that ROK said ‘There is nothing logical about behaviour’.

Unfortunately, you have just proved ROK’s point, by coming back and stating ‘we are trying to apply some logic to this discussion’.

He has already said that there is no logic in behaviour, thus your response indicates illogic in returning to seek logic. Geddit?

Remember the saying ‘madness is doing the same thing over and over and expecting a different result’?

RFLMAO.

Sorry, just could not resist this. And yes, I AM just being wicked….or is it ‘evil’?

38. When it comes to your logic, it is too samey samey with the accepted norm. You don’t issue a challenge at all. You talk about what I believe but if I am correct, it is already a proven fact that the gods were mortals, it is the Christian god who saying that he immortal and he made the world.

However, when we discover the plagiarism and realise that Christianity changed the names to protect the innocent, then you know what god you serving; just another mortal. Where then is the belief? Belief does not even kick in yet, so the question of being wrong on this subject matter does not arise; except for those who choose to believe rather than find out for themselves.

39. @Crusoe

“Unfortunately, you have just proved ROK’s point, by coming back and stating ‘we are trying to apply some logic to this discussion’…”

LOL! You wicked fella… hahahahahaha… but true, true.

40. Everyone here on this blog knows I love a good conspiracy theory, mainly because all but the most outlandish of them turn out in fact to be true, even though the main conspirators invariably get away scot free.

Any reader with an inquiring mind may want to investigate the following info, because this may be the biggest scam ever perpetrated, or there again it may be totally without merit.

You decide.

First we hear of irrecoverable positions in the gold bullion market.
    say http://www.istockanalyst.com/article/viewarticle/articleid/3929412

ii) Then it is disclosed that China has been sent counterfeit bullion bars as debt repayment.
    say http://caps.fool.com/Blogs/fake-400-troy-oz-gold-bars/294048

It is revealed in Germany that tungsten gold is on the market
    say http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M0-hGHJSgNA

iv) Questions have been asked whether in fact there is any gold whatsoever inside Fort Knox, as statutory audits gave been denied for years, and our puny currency depends upon this fact.
    say http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/us_and_americas/article5989271.ece

There are hundreds om sources on the web . Check them out.

41. Hey BT:

Is it possible that Lowdown’s goats have developed the correct character and are awaiting their own particular spaceship to a perfect existence and we have all been fooled by our arrogance into believing we are the centre if the universe.

Or is that too Orwellian?

42. @ Crusoe

Man cuhdear, you going force the bushman to respond to ROK’s statement that there is no logic to behavior?

The truth is that out of respect to my man Rokky, the bushman pretended that those words comprised a genuine misstatement – and ignored it as such…… now you gone and bring it up to flog the bushman with….

Behavior is one of the most logical concepts that exists.

Admittedly, the relationship can be an extremely complex one … but to dismiss behavior as illogical is ….well shortsighted to put it nicely.

In any case, ‘applying logic to the discussion’ is in no way connected to the matter of the logic of human behavior…….

Listen men! I already told wanna that the bushman is OLD….. I know the tricks. wanna cannot distract the Bush Tea with straw men…

Rok is just grabbing at stray words and making emotional rants – Can we focus on the concept of the evil nature of man and how that will affect the change that is coming to Barbados?

If the draft is too high and the ‘bush licks’ too hot – man just say so! and I would take off a rack……
    ….or wanna can call out the big guns with the triple A ratings and the bar raisers – wanna could even bring the crumpton street guru too LOL…

A couple years back (David may be able to confirm) Bush Tea predicted that by this time, the financial situation would be bad enough, that even non believers would be discussing the end of the world as we knew it……check it out!!!

By this time next year, many of you folks here on BU will be longing for every bit of information that you can get about BBE and their plans – just to try to make sense of our world as it will be then…..
    Project remodeling time is here….. time for major renovations folks….

ROK, it is then that you will really come to conclude that there is no logic to behavior..

43. @ ST

Lord have mercy …. last time you and the Bush man went down this road I seem to recall that you bailed out when the going got rough LOL….

The only point about Lowdown’s farm that I wanted to make, was that from the goats’ perspective, the rules may seem fairly ridiculous – this milking thing probably completely eludes them; and I am pretty sure that the process through which Lowdown arrives at a pot stew probably horrifies them……

But in the final analysis, the farm is his -and he determines what is right and what is wrong – not the goats. (What do you think would become of Hoad’s farm should he allow the goats to run things for a few years…?)

Now if Bush Tea was one of the goats, I would think that a first step in understanding my own reality would be to find out what Lowdown’s intent was; what his rules were; and what my options were….

Well ST, you can rest assured that BT would be looking for the pick as the chief farm Ram – cause I done hear LD say how much respect, and food,and other benefits (LOL) he does bestow on those fellows…..

But in our lives, we humans seem to think that we can choose whatever tickles our particular fancy – and that the farmer will somehow fit his plans around us….

…wait for that!

44. Just supposing that the goats were using RH as an easy ride to elysium.
    Born… breed… die in loving surroundings, does Lowdown ever enter this blog?
    I’d love to hear his take on the human uncondition.

45. Man, BT, You nor your BBE don’t have any surprises for me. My sight is clear. I ready. One thing we can agree on is that intelligence is essential. Technology too. That is what may very well fail us, but where there is a will, there is a way.

46. @ST, so are you saying that we will all be reincarnated as Lowdown’s goats before we move into eternal bliss??

Lordy, if Bush Tea s going to be a future Lowdown Ram, I ent going pun that farm.

Then, I cant go and me a mountain goat up in Afghanistan neither, with the US bombing the Taliban, I might get hit and my ‘collateral’ damaged.

I better be one a those goats up in the Scandanavian Alps, fed and milked by fair young and buxom damsels.

47. @BT

Wonder if you caught the news report that the Advisory Council on
    Education handed in its report. One of the recommendations is to fund
    higher learning which is informed by the national objectives. This
    approach BU suspects you disagree based on prior discussions.

48. Who will set the national objectives? We do not know what the future will hold and we should not restrict persons from studying to suit their interests and aptitudes.

However the state , because of limited resources,must make estimates of what it perceives to be the future needs of the country in terms of manpower. Once such estimates are reasonable it must give priority to subject areas that are likely to bring the highest returns to society .

Note I say society and not the individual.

49. Barbados needs a competent agency to sell its goods and services to the world. The Ministry of Culture, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, the ovrseas missions and agencies, The BIDC, Invest Barbados, the National Cultural Foundation are not equipped or staffed to do it. In any going concern, the most important department that affects viability, is it sales department, the people who generate the money needed to do everything else. Am I the only one seeing this…?

50. We must first produce products and services that the rest of the world is willing to buy.

Good products and services at competitive prices. Can we do that?