Submitted by Austin

Commissioner of Police Mr. Darwin Dottin

To set the tone for this submission I’ll begin with an excerpt from this week’s Nation Online: “ CRIME has escalated over the last 12 months and Commissioner of Police, Darwin Dottin, is also concerned over the growing menace of drug trafficking and abuse…..”

I refuse to except that corruption and self-promotion are two key attributes we should expect from elected officials, especially now while we are faced with major economic and social challenges. I am also honestly at a lost for words to explain our current political inability to seek and implement much needed reforms in addressing these current challenges.

The proof that we are on the wrong track is in the rising crime rate and drug abuse we are starting to see in many Bajan villages.

The Jamaica story can serve as an example of what happens when effective economic and social reforms go ignored for decades, with the poor and disenfranchised taking matters into their owe hands when enough is enough.

As a class oriented society the silence of the middle class majority to demand solutions from elected officials in addressing our ills, only serves to destabilize their protected “pick” futures as the class that can best articulate needed reforms.

As such Bajan instigators for proactive solutions who call for social and economic change, increasingly find ourselves having to use considerable effort and ingenuity, like the blogosphere, to affect public awareness and change.

As a nation we also appear to exhibit a deep rooted “fear of change” that can only be associated with paralysis, immobilization, confusion, and indecisiveness…all things exhibited in the Barbados House of Parliament daily.

Looking back throughout our history the LORD ALL MIGHTY has blessed us with transformational leaders at critical times. Leaders like the Honourable Errol Barrow, Tom Adams and the like, who while not perfect, served the PEOPLE of Barbados first and not themselves as evident in lasting legacies that cannot be denied.

With that said, “Lord Hear Our Prayer” as such leadership of the past is needed now in Barbados more then ever before.  Neither party is demonstrating the political “know how”, “will” or “concern” for the people in addressing many of our current economic and social challenges.

While I pray all goes well for us as a nation while navigating our way through these troubling times, I remain uneasy leaving our fate in the hands if poor and ineffective political leaders who exist in both the DLP and BLP parties.

126 responses to “Change IS Going To Come To Barbados: The Question Is " What Type"”

1. The middle class persons with mortgages to pay, suv’s to pay for, children to send to university and unable to make a living independently of the direct or indirect support of the ruling political party will never lead the way in forcing change .

Change will only come when we have a failed state. On the current path, It will happen within 15 years .

2. The problem here is lack of governance. People have no say in their daily lives and brute force and autocracy is not going to solve the problem.

3. So what will ROK…? Is complete failure the only source of motivation for the massed?

4. @Austin

ROK’s comment maybe extreme but Barbadians are such a sweet and civil people that it is hard for them to be proactive at this time even it is obvious there is massive rot taking hold of institutions which have served us so well over the years.

5. It must be obvious to even the most optimistic among us that the kind of change that is coming is not the kind that we will be in control of…… and there are only two kinds of change.

…the change that you manage
    ..and the kind that controls you.

We have not had the capacity for the former in decades now.

@ ROK
    Governance is not a root issue here. Governance is a mechanism that is designed to ameliorate the inherent dishonesty, greed, selfishness and downright wickedness of human beings.

So Bush Tea would posit that the problem is the fundamental lack of morals in the society. Morals like honesty, selflessness, thrift, loyalty and love for others in the society.
    What we have instead is mindless materialistic selfishness, aimed at accumulating a bunch of temporary ‘goods’ and benefits that we will all die an leave behind.

Governance, as I am sure you would agree, is totally ineffective unless those entrusted with enforcement are themselves upright and moral people. Even at the level of the UN we have seen those responsible for ‘governance’ stand by and watch innocents slaughtered in Iraq, Palestine and other places- because the have neither the moral strength or intestinal fortitude to defy the criminals who perpetrate evil in the name of politics.

Same in Barbados.
    What Governance what?!!
    ….unless we can deliver a core of righteous leaders, we will surely perish.

6. @BT

That’s a vicious statement even if one has to agree. An example of what you wrote is the recent media report of alleged wire tapping by our highest law officers. The question which the media did not report is whose orders would the top brass of the RBPF been acting?

7. Amazed by it all Avatar
    Amazed by it all

wow! BU fans are here predicting the end of Barbados as we know it. failed state, den of corruption, the most perverse society in the hemisphere or the world. The most inept government ever elected to office. The END!

WOW!

8. Actually David, talking about the commissioner, I am disappointed somewhat in you.

You hear the man come here again talking bout how he going have to recruit police officers from abroad to work in Barbados?
    …you going let that pass just so…???
    you ain’t feel that he mad?

Hundreds of young educated bajans liming on the block looking for a little pick and he talking bout bringing foreigners bout here to boss we bout.

……. man give me half hour let me send you something to look at yuh…..

9. Perhaps and just perhaps David Thompson finds himself in a good position to catapult change by doing what modern day politicians are loath to do ie. place country first

10. @Bushman

Your last comment defines what theoretical means. How you propose the commissioner to entice these boys from the bloc given the ‘beast culture’ from which they were bred?

11. @ROK

WIshinh you a Happy fathers Day!

@BAF.

No i have not forgotten you . You re soooooooooooo special HAPPY FATHERS DAY!

12. @ David

What boys from what block what??!!
    Those are boys from the best schools in the region. Do you ever interact with ZR people David?
    It is the most amazing thing. These are truly some of the most impressive people in Barbados.(and I mean that honestly) People with guts. People who work hard for their money; …have you seen how, many of them interact with care with the poor and weak in our society -sometimes defying the law to do so?)

We spend millions educating these people and then, DUE TO THE INCOMPETENCE of the establishment, we DEFINE them into a corner (the boys from the block/ the ZR people etc) and dismiss them as beyond hope.

Do you want to know where the real hopelessness lie…?
    …in the jokers who lead us……

Case in point is the Commissioner’s call.

What program does he have in place to recruit school leavers into a productive career in the RBPF?

….may be we first have to ask – what is the atmosphere that exists within the RBPF under his leadership.. and is it a welcoming one for young school leavers…?

During his tenure I seem to have noticed ongoing public conflicts with his senior people – especially those with well known names who should be role models for potential recruits…. Are you aware of the word on the street about working in the RBPF under his command?

Is that good leadership?

So if a leader operates like a bull in a china shop who do we blame for the lack of applicants to work in that shop?
    It is well known that poor leaders usually seek to recruit people from ‘away’ who are forced to comply with unreasonable demands or can be easily shipped back home.

But back to your ‘boys on the block’ question.

Bush tea has always said – WHATEVER the state of our young people, they are OUR young people and it is OUR responsibility to acknowledge them, to work with them and to include them.

only a fool cuts his own nose to spite his face.

13. The above anonymous comment was “ac”

14. @Bush Tea

The tugawar between Deputy Bertie and the Commish is an open secret. It has brought great disservice to the RBPF at a time the country can afford it. The next challenge will be the flood of US deportees which have been reported to be soon on their way from the US. What has successive AGs done about it? You have been reading the BFS blog which shows an unwanted consistency.

Who is responsible to build pride in the RBPF? Is the Commish responsible for paying the scratch grain salaries leading to unprecedented moonlighting?

Leadership you say?

15. Put country first. That will be the day Money talks bullsh..t walks. A s for putting religious people in place they love money too much and they would eventually become corrupt . The only way out is for the people become more proactive and stop having a mindset of one in believing that the leaders would look out for the countrys best interest.

16. brute force is the only answer

2000 whites controlled 40, 000 Blacks through brute force in barbados

it can work

bring in the force but ……………..

17. @ Bush Tea // June 20, 2010 at 1:50 PM “Hundreds of young educated bajans liming on the block looking for a little pick, and he talking bout bringing foreigners bout here to boss we bout.”

BT, many years ago, police officers did not have to be viewed as “educated” to join the force; many simply had a passion for that type of work upon leaving school, and deemed it as an honor to become part of the RBPF.

And yes, there are many people without jobs but there are those that do not have an interest in joining the Police Force even if it were only to be a clerk. There are certain jobs and titles that do not attract the masses, even if the salary were above and beyond.

Imo, once there is justification for going beyond our boundaries, there is nothing wrong in going beyond our borders to pursue qualified applicants. The man has to do what he has to do.

You damn if you do, you damn if you don’t. What is the alternative?

18. @ Bush Tea // June 20, 2010 at 2:22 PM
    “What program does he have in place to recruit school leavers into a productive career in the RBPF?”

Was there ever a program to recruit? Even looking back during the 50’s/60’s, I can’t remember there being one but that doesn’t mean there wasn’t some other form of recruitment.

Nonetheless, there were and still is some fine men (not young anymore) who served law enforcement well. Some of them without any of the impressive certificates that now hold the key to most jobs just to show or suppose to prove the applicants have book sense and only that.

Maybe it would be worthwhile if some of the top guns in the force were to visit schools to inform senior students of what the RBPF is all about and possibly to seek out students that are interested in the profession when she or he is getting ready to leave school.

19. @ EyeSpy

Your position is understood. However I believe that if you look more below the surface you will see a very different story.

First of all, you need to recognize that our world is an extremely complex place. many things are far more intricately balanced that at first appears – especially when there is dynamic equilibrium (oops, i mean when things going steady)…

You see the uncharacteristic peace and stability that we have enjoyed in this little place? …… trust me on this, – ONE of the reasons is that practically every Bajan has some family member, close friend or neighbor in the police force.
    We identify with our police force – despite occasional challenges.

…bring large numbers of foreigners to do the job of policing bout here and wait for the fireworks….Have you ANY idea of the completely different approach to policing that obtains in Trinidad, Jamaica and Guyana for example?

Do you know what a ‘qualified’ applicant for policing in Barbados is?
    …high on the list must be someone who LOVES Barbados.
    …high on the list must be someone who understands Barbadians…
    …and way up there must be someone who Barbadians respect.

…..and you need not be damn if you do or damn for any reason….

Policing is a very respected profession in Barbados. It is just as underpaid as teaching, nursing etc. Salary is not the major problem here.

The solution is actually VERY obvious.

Management of all organizations MUST be held accountable for all of the results of the organization. When the VITAL regular assessment is done and the organization is found wanting, then NEW management MUST be installed that car get the required results. This way idiots would not fight they way to the top of organizations solely for the perks.

I challenge you to look at internationally outstanding organizations and you will see that in every case the top management IS HELD ACCOUNTABLE for results.

Look at Barbados and see that everyone else gets blamed, fired, demoted, accused – except for top managers who just get more perks and benefits for themselves….

Of course the challenge is to find someone to bell the cat. The persons who would need to take the step to hold management of public organizations accountable cannot afford to lay down the kind of criteria that the bushman is proposing – since they too would likely fall fowl of the rule…

This is why it is becoming increasingly obvious to me that peace and prosperity will only come to our world when someone is in a position of authority to DICTATE that nothing less than righteous management will be accepted in every sphere of public life.

20. @BT

You obviously don’t understand governance. It is just a modern day word with democracy as its basis. Transparency etc is just one of the issues it addresses, but mostly governance is about informed policy decision and decision making and there are massive benefits to society. You see, Apart from the transparency, etc., when you are part of a decision it makes a difference about how that decision is policed. If the society is therefore part of the decisions made, it makes life for the police and other authorities easy.

The question of self interests is part of the problem not the basis of the problem. When there is no governance and people find that if they don’t get up and do something for themselves, they will surely starve. Hence the materialistic, self-interest attitude that prevails. You will see that any time people come together in a spirit of cooperation, the materialistic self interest stops. Of course, this self-interest I speak of is a bit different to greed.

However, there will never be good governance, otherwise we would see an end to the discrimination that exists which is part of the reason for the problems too… but good governance would mean an end to the unavailability of finance for small business. It would mean jobs. It would bring an end to the monopolising that the private sector does. It would mean that Austin would get his contracts and that we would not have to go overseas to recruit policemen because our education system would cater to our labour needs… etc.

What Governance what? If it is left up to the powers that exist, I totally agree with you… but you see, when the people speak we should listen. See how Jamaicans found some type governance in gangs? out of complete disregard for the government and economy of Jamaica. So long as this autocratic style of government continues, crime will soar. Say what you like, but just watch it.

21. Some may think we are digressing by discussing the RBPF but it is such a central plank to the kind of society we want to build. A couple week ago BU received the tip-off about the wire tapping of the phones of certain Barbadians and it had a political component to it. We made a judgement not to run with it using our best judgement. If what we have been told is correct there is a lot more to come out of this story if it is not squashed like the FBI Report.

22. Let me say that while the Constituency Councils may help address some of the problems of Governance, they do not go far enough at this time because they are limited by Government control, but systems like these are to be welcomed. Give them a few years and I am sure that you will see some difference; especially when each constituency has a Council.

23. @David,

I must say that with respect to wire tapping, I have found that in very recent times, my telephone has a lot of “fine” noises on it. Sounds like we have gone fully VoIP. Makes it easier to tap.

24. Thank yer ac

Now to the RBPF. They could do a hell of a lot better with a leader that at least looks the part… The RBPF was formed the day after slavery was abolished.. hmmm.. should say something

25. @ ROK

…long time no see, …thought for a while that Georgie Porgie (pudding and pie) had mistook you for a girl and planted a kiss on your puckers…..Bush tea won’t want to see the ROK cry….LOL

What scene you on now ROK? How you mean the bush tea don’t understand governance? Are you saying that the bushman can’t read Wikipedia like everyone else…? LOL!!

you said:
    “It is just a modern day word with democracy as its basis”
    Not exactly Mr ROK,
    Governance can refer to ANY activity of governing a collective group, not only a democratic processes.

…well alright – if you want to get technical, my particular focus is on the PROCESSES of ‘good’ governance – processes such as audits, reports, other checks and balances etc

You seem to have this slant that suggest that if everything is ‘transparent’ then all will be well. You have great faith in ‘the masses’…

ROK, …..the masses are mostly…… – well it rhymes!!

Did we all not know that valuable national resources were leaking from the ABC highway scam; The VECO projects; Greenland etc?

Does everyone on earth (with the possible exception of the trinity boys) not KNOW of the illegal, wicked acts being perpetrated on the poor people of Gaza for years now????

How does this ‘transparency’ help? ever heard of ‘special interest’ and ‘hidden agendas’?

Did we not just have a FULLY transparent rate case in which you were involved? – did that ‘involvement’ ensure that there was justice in your opinion?

Listen to a bushman ROK…..The real problem is the wicked, selfish nature of human beings.
    Solve that problem and you have guaranteed successful governance at all levels.

26. @BT

We will agree to disagree on this one. Note that in doing so I am not discounting the greed, but human beings have been known to cooperate and do cooperate. It is just a question of the system. Take a clue from BAFBFP’s post. The police force was formed after slavery ended. The system we presently live under was established to support greed.

27. @ac

Thank you very much. Thought it was you but I was a little reserved in responding to “Anonymous” as it came out.

28. @ ROK
    Man what agree to disagree what??!!

We is We ROK – we come her to argue and expound. not leave things hanging…

…anyway if you done wid dat, I cool.

If

29. @BT

BTW, we have come to tolerate so much of the BS and so much believe that it the norm, that it is pinned on to the nature of man; but that is only by use victims. A closer examination of what is transpiring will reveal that man is a survivor and will take whatever action is necessary in order to stay alive. The system preys on this.

30. @BT

Take industrial relations. Management offends the workers so much that they go on strike, yet the protocol is that workers must go back to work for management to sit and talk. Foolishness! The worker is wronged but must humble.

31. I not leaving it hanging. I have my convictions and you have yours, that is all I meant. I am not a believer in the saying that man is evil by nature. That is a convenience to allow the corruption to go on; good for those with the hidden agendas.

We imbibe a lot of myths & lies to support the system that we live under and those that put out the lies know just what they are doing.

32. Everybody keeps talking about accountability and transparency.,The politicians couldn’t careless about what the people think .Didn’t the leadership of Barbados promised to do just that? It hasn’t happened and the leadership knows that the people not going to hold it against them. .

33. @ ROK
    I like you!
    I think that you are an effective NGO leader BECAUSE you are a genuine, emotionally involved, and caring human being.
    That is so valuable an asset that you are really a gem and definitely a blessing to Barbados.

But logic is not your strong point ROK.

You tend to argue emotionally and you have to be careful that you may open yourself to attack from a purely logical and pragmatic angle.

…take the point about the natural state of human nature.

You don’t think that it is evil by nature??!! YOU SERIOUS?!! (as Mac Fingall says about the ‘mock bott’…LOL)

ROK – ALL of recorded history, traditional tales, lifetime observation, and even Hollywood fiction says that you are wrong.

The natural nature of man is not necessarily ‘EVIL’ but it is surely not saintly. We are naturally selfish, racist, competitive, unfeeling and unkind.

I don’t get your point about workers and management. BOTH sides are often at fault – because they are both selfish, unkind and wicked. You think that ‘workers’ are saints?

I have lived long enough to know that if you interchanged the two sides, after a short time, you will have the IDENTICAL problems. The classic case is the Jews. Who would have thought after their well documented and celebrated treatment by Hitler, that given the opportunity to ‘lord’ it over another people they would treat the Palestinians even WORST that they were treated…?

…wicked, selfish, hateful nature ROK.!!!

34. @Bush Tea

If man is all of the above mentioned because of nature . MYquestion to you :Is there not a choice between Good and evil. I submit to you that it is all about choice.

35. @ac
    How you expect to ask such a complex and critical question in one little sentence like that? You don’t see how Terence does frame his points with such academic brilliance and such precise verbosity? LOL – i joking sweetness!!

I submit to you that you are EXACTLY right. It IS a direct choice between good and evil and we are required to choose.

When BT speak of righteousness it has not one thing to do with church or even God, it refers to one’s disposition to CHOOSE to do good rather than evil.
    Such a disposition is what we call character.
    The whole purpose of living for 70 years in this Cauldron called earth is to have a chance to develop the only thing that CANNOT be created – character.

In order to build character, the cauldron builder needed to provide a number of things:
    – The cauldron
    – a constant supply of potential ‘characters’
    – Free will for the potential characters to choose as they wish
    – …and he HAD to provide opportunity for GOOD choices as well as opportunities for EVIL choices. ( So a Devil was a critical factor in the cauldron package)

The ‘Devil’ is therefore the mechanism through which we can exercise our choice to ‘do bad’….
    The other ‘choice’ was also provided up front – but you may recall that from the beginning, mankind (following a woman as usual lol) chose to follow his own natural instincts (eat of the tree of the knowledge of good and evil) rather that willingly choose the way offered as the good choice by the cauldron builder.

…the rest is history. However our ancestors’ “natural instincts” were essentially provided by ‘the snake’ up front, and have shown themselves to be wicked, etc throughout history -to the point where we are seriously looking at destroying the very planet on which we live through GREED.

That is the simple answer to your question ac.
    …it is women fault! LOL

36. @BT

You know, when the doctors and lawyers get in here and expound, their pronouncements are taken as “gospel”. I just want you to know that when I am in my territory, I expound based on observation not logic. There is nothing “logical” about the existence of man except when placed in context. Anything else is abstract.

This mad, self-interest, exploitative society that we live in was not always like this. Even as a youngster, I saw cooperative efforts among people that was not based on exploitation, selfishness or material. As a matter of fact, if any of these three kicked in from anybody, there was ostracism.

less than 2000 years ago, there were societies that could not conceive of the idea of ownership. This is the bottom line. The basis of this society is the concept of ownership. If you don’t own, you can’t have… but what a joke! It really is, if you don’t allow me to have, I will take. If I don’t take, I will die. Man is about survival first and foremost.

Take the Indians from North America who sold their lands without understanding what they did. The had no idea that selling lands meant that they could no longer go on the lands. The idea of ownership amounted to blasphemy to them and they perceived the sale as trickery. How could you own what belongs to the Gods? You were merely the caretaker and being the caretaker did not prevent trespass because everybody else were caretakers too.

A man behaves according to his philosophy. If you believe that you own land, then it becomes your right to say who comes onto that land. If you believe that the land is a god-given thing to be shared with and among every man, then you do not have that right.

I remember the times when the Rastas were mocked for saying that one cannot steal fruit, that the fruit belongs to Jah. Well, how right they are. We condemn it because it goes against the grain of ownership and control, which is the basis of this society. So it is not a question that their concept is “wrong”, it is just that it cannot be accepted in a society with ownership as its basis.

Take also the Jews that you mentioned. If you believe that you are the “chosen people” then it goes without saying that you have ownership and control over the rest of the world in the absence of God. If you squarely fix your mind on the concept of a basic philosophy, you will grasp what I am saying.

How does the child who is favoured behave towards his siblings who are not so favoured by the parents? How then would a “Chosen People” behave? You see, their concept is so firmly etched in their minds that they defy anybody, Why? They are the chosen people, not the Palestinians, the Americans, the British; none of them. As the Chosen People, they have the right to exterminate any race, not just the Palestinians; so Americans better be careful. All that adds up to genocide; very predictable.

Furthermore, they have the right to the enjoyment of all the earth and they do it through the fallacy of money. They control the money of the earth. There was something about the Jews that obviously incensed Hitler. In looking at all the evidence, there is nothing to suggest that Hitler was a madman. He was very rational in his behaviour as anybody who would have studied Lenin could see.

Lenin espoused total state control as a basic philosophy. It meant that no Jew could own land… the Jews will tell you that they buy land, they don’t sell land. What does that mean? How will they fare in a place where individual ownership is not allowed and when the state determines that land is a national resource?

It is all in the mind, BT. A person who is made to feel privileged will behave as one who is privileged. A person who is made to feel that they are the scum of the earth, will behave like the scum of the earth. There are a set of people in Barbados who have been relegated to poverty in a society that has become very selfish and materialistic.

One thing I know about mankind, once alive, Man will find a way to live. If downpressed will lash back where it hurts; like a cornered cat. It equates to crime. As my grandfather would always say, “A long division sum that start off wrong, can’t end up right.” Not that this start off “wrong”, but if the idea is social and economic justice, we are simply on the wrong path. This harsh capitalist system will simply not work. We will end up saying that crime will always be with us just as we say about poverty, but that is only true in a society like this.

Governance, my dear BT is about participation in the society and not a privileged few deciding for the rest (all tied up with the fear of the masses). True leadership is therefore the management and coordination of governance; which is what Government should be doing. The principle on which Government presently operates is not based on governance, but on political control against its citizens who are calling for social and economic justice. They just don’t add up because political control is manifested as the privileged few deciding for the rest.

37. @BT

“to the point where we are seriously looking at destroying the very planet on which we live through GREED.”

This is about the very point I am making. Whose greed? Then we take that greed and transpose it onto all humanity. It suits them to do that because it gives them the excuse to continue to do what they do, as we throw up our hands in the air saying, “Mankind”. No BT, it is not mankind, but those who would want you to think that it is mankind.

Take a school that has only a few bad boys in it. Yet the whole school get branded as bad. Out of a population of 270,000, we have less than one percent in jail. Yet man is evil by nature. If that was so, 50% or more would be in jail.

38. @all

For the last couple weeks we have had an imposter who uses the names of BU family members.

BU will delete such comments when they appear. We have an idea who is the culprit.

That person whom we have dubbed Dave ‘no balls’ has been doing his best to disrupt the flow on BU.

Others before him have tried and we have overcome.

It will only make the BU unit stronger.

Time is longer than twine!

39. @BT

“However our ancestors’ “natural instincts” were essentially provided by ‘the snake’ up front, and have shown themselves to be wicked, etc throughout history…”

Whose story? Man that is a false statement. You cannot believe all the propaganda you are fed. The only recorded wickedness is that of the privileged few, not the masses. History is replete with the masses fighting the privileged few.

40. @ROK // June 21, 2010 at 5:33 AM

Possibly the most profound piece I have read on this blog. I agree with you totally.

41. OFF MESSAGE>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

NORTH KOREA GOT NUKED BY PORTUGAL….

THE BEST GAME OF THE WORLD CUP SO FAR…….

7 LUV AS OF 14:25 GMT….

WHAT A BOMBSHELL!!!

42. Israelis’ claim to fame may be that Jews and Christians consider them to be God’s chosen.. but for an Atheist like me I prefer to say that as a state it would disappear in a flash without the ongoing financial support of the most powerful country in the history of the world, the country where greed is king and rightness and wrongness is based on who is being accused, a place that we in this part of the world affectionately refer to as Amer’ca…

43. Good people doing nothing, is the recipe for degradation and the flourishing of evil. Politicians love ignorant people and use p.r. to perpetuate lies, smoke and mirrors. As long as we the people do not recognise individually our responsibility to speak up, speak out; insist and example what right living is all about and demand good governance, w ewill keep getting what we are getting.

as long as poeple think partisan politics and it influences their thinking and decisions, we will never get change. Floating voters are the ebst thign for a democracy, it forces those who govern to live up to some standard. If good people do not offer themselves for the politcal and antional services, we will constantly have to choose between the lesser of two evils, and this is not good enough. If the media plays politics and higlights the negatives of the side they don’t like, and seek to influence the vote of the population as exists in B’dos and America as the most glarinng examples, then the fourth estate cannot play its role in keeping the democracy storng and healthy. The state of the society and the governance is ony the collective will or lack thereof to build and guard what is theirs.

44. Thanks David. I realized it, and I am watching it too, they have used my name.

The discussions on BU are priceless. The brain power here makes comments elsewhere look so amateurish. No wonder the attempts to disrupt.

45. Georgie Porgie Avatar

BAFBFP

Re I prefer to say that as a state it would disappear in a flash without the ongoing financial support of the most powerful country in the history of the world, the country where greed is king and rightness and wrongness is based on who is being accused, a place that we in this part of the world affectionately refer to as Amer’ca…

You are partially correct. You are aware I am sure that the funds coming from Amer’ca… are coming from Jews themselves. You are aware I am sure that it has been estinated that there are more Jews in NY state alone than in Israel

Since you are an atheist, I perhaps ought not to suggest that God is still on the throne and that he can care for his own.

46. GP
    If it is that the money eminates from the Jewish population in the Amer’ca it is still the institution of Amer’ca (in which of course the Jews play a major role, Goldman, Lehman etc.) that provides the funding. If your God is “on the throne and that he can care for his own” he is sure as hell doing it at the expense of a lot of very very good people… But then again there really is NO God….

47. Lehman Brothers gone… Praise de Lard…

48. @David,

I think it would be hard for anybody to use my handle without suspicion. For those with pics, even if not of themselves, or even graphics that are exclusive to them, it will be hard. So Bonny Peppa my darlinks, take a photo of that pepper with a bonnet on the head and put it up. I can’t deal with imposters when it comes to you. You are the only true one… so tek you picture hear? And put it up.

49. @Check-it-out,

I am grateful for your kind words and assessment. I would go on and say that we need to know the state of play, even if there are no changes. As a matter of fact, before there can be any real change, we have to be conscious of who we are and where we stand in this world. Only with a true picture can there be any meaningful movement forward.