Submitted by George Brathwaite

James Paul MP ((l) Hamilton Lashley MP (r) – Credit: Nigel Browne

I still find it amusing that persons would want to characterise Hamilton Lashley’s move from the BLP to an Independent and now DLP as being motivated by (a) a love and desire for the ordinary man and woman; (b) a need to rid himself of Mia Mottley and thus disassociate himself from a party that gave him numerous opportunities to market himself (to me his sole purpose for remaining actively engaged in politics; and (c) to go back home and thus by doing so, live out his remaining days in the bosom of the party that gave him succour in electoral politics in Barbados.

I wish to say nothing bad about Lashley and I shall not. However, one must truly listen to many other persons than those attempting to aggrandise him now or those who now recognise his community-spiritedness but failed to do so up to January 2008. Lashley has been a tormentor for the BLP and in particular the BLP Branch of St. Michael South East that he represents in Parliament. While he has done some things worthy of commendation, for the most part and in the shadows of a chosen few, many of his actions were clandestine and infelicitous to say the least. As a former President and still a member of that Branch, I can not encourage persons to support him, nor can I endorse any scent of opportunism to rise above the needs of the ordinary man and woman in that constituency.

Enough said, there may be another platform to reveal what I know as fact and what is not libelous. As one human being to another, I truly wish him well although I cannot extend that to his future success as a parliamentarian — B, D, I, none of these suits the man — he is about Hammie la.

37 responses to “Oh Hammie-La!”

1. Don’t know much about Hammie la except to say he seems to be a very popular politician at the grass-roots level, or is he a politician?

His grasshopper antics in recent years shows up the need for reform within the system. A member of parliament elected on one party ticket should not be able to exploit such by switching allegiance at an individual level. The arguments around Lashley’s switching seems to be rooted in partisan nonsense.

2. Hammie La is an opportunistic politician ( aren’t they all?), however when he crossed the floor to the BLP their leader in his public statements was full of praise for the “grass roots” politician- though in his private offerings his words were less charitable ( this from the horse’s mouth). Now that he has shown his true nature the BLP faithful and the George Brathwaites of the world would paint him as self serving and not to be trusted.

Didn’t they know all this before? Why the silence then and criticism now? Past actions are a good predictor of future behaviour. If you look up the word “hypocrite” in the dictionary you would see the pictures of many of the BLP operatives there.

3. If you heard Hamilton Lashley on in Profile on VOB on Sunday you would recognise that he is not a politician. He is a community organiser and therefore his actions are purely to give service to his community. The DLP and BLP made him into a politician. Community organisers are always courted by political parties when election comes around because these are persons who carry some say in communities.

4. If Hammie is not a politician, and you could have fooled me, how come he is smart enough to always be on the winning side? Look up the words “quisling”, “fair-weather friend” and “opportunist” and you’ll see Hammie’s picture…

5. We can believe what we will about Lashley but will he be able to win at the polls? Peter Wickam seems to think not.

6. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C.Brathwaite

Indeed there is much merit to what Peter Wickham has said in relation to Lashley. In my book, politics is about perception that is often times showered in myth. Can Lashley play down and overcome the labels that appear to be somewhat a departure from his stellar years on either side of the political fence? I think not.

7. The opinions of Peter W and whomever else that objects to Hammie Lah latest move do not count for more than one vote each.

Hammie lah has only to answer to his constituents, and if reports are correct, a majority of them backs him.

8. Is George C Braithwaite candidate for a PHD thinking of becoming George C Braithwaite candidate for the BLP? Pray tell um aint so. Oh lord what a match up this would be. Would the Academic condescendingly view Hammie lah as a light weight and defeating him as elementary? lol!

fuh me it would be the Ugly man vs. de Rastaman, and Grynner wouldn’t be too happy.

9. George Brathwaite, this is politic as we both know am from Golden Rock and do not give to shits what Hammie-La cause at the end of the day he is just like you and the blasted rest about wanna #^$#&%$ self so please those who live in a glass house should never pelt rocks.

10. Thank you @ Fair Play // May 12, 2010 at 8:41 AM

I have been hearing my MOM say that about Hammie for the longest time now and she do not know in gods name how he can let the B’s & D’s get him ought up in the foolishness.

11. Donald Duck Esq Avatar
    Donald Duck Esq

Could someone tell me what is meant by a poltical prostitute?

12. Hammie La is going with those who control the money and that’s all. He’s not going the funds he need for work in his constituency by being an Independent or being with the Opposition. The there’s no party philosophy that is driving him…just the means to an end.

13. That should have read:

He’s not going to get things done for his constituency by being an Independent or being with the Opposition.

14. Donald Duckie
    Ask Clyde Mascoll (Mallet wid teet). He should know. I doan know. But you could ask he. He is a brite fella.
    How you uddawise?

15. anybody hear the rumour that the PM is in hospital?

I’m not saying that he is or isn’t just that I’ve heard the rumour, anyone know if it’s true or not?

16. The recent general election results in the UK, aptly demonstrate some major weaknesses in the West Minster Model of Government that is practiced there and supposedly in some other places like Barbados.

Those results show that the Conservative Party gained 96 more seats than they would have had at the last dissolution of the British Parliament, thus its achieving a total of 305 seats.

The Conservative Party also received 10, 683 787 votes, or 36.1% of the total valid votes cast.

Meanwhile, the Labour Party would have lost 91 seats thus lowering its total number of seats to 258.

It also received 8, 604, 358 votes, or 29.0 % of the total valid votes cast.

The Liberal Democrats had 6 seats fewer than they would have had at the announcement of the general election date, thus seeing a reduction in its total seats to 57.

They too received 6, 827, 938 of the valid votes cast, or 22.1 % of the total valid votes cast.

At the end of the general election before in 2005 the three major parties had, respectively, 198 seats – 32.3% of the valid votes cast; 356 seats – 35.3% of the valid votes cast; and 62 seats – 22.1% of the total valid votes cast.

The 2010 UK general election – as like many general elections before – was conducted on the basis of the first past the post system.

So, even though the Conservative Party won the majority plurality of the valid votes cast part of the election results was a hung parliament.

Not only was there a hung parliament but there was also the result that the Conservative Party did NOT win an outright majority.

So what that situation therefore meant was that – with some of the above statistics in mind – there had to be formed a coalitional government between either the Conservative Party and the Liberal Democratic Party, or the Labour Party and the Liberal Democratic Party.

Well, as has realized since Tuesday, 11 th May 2010, there has been formed a coalitional government between the Conservative Party and the Liberal Democratic Party – but which was not brought into being without many hurdles for both parties to jump and differences to sort out and with out much political anxiety among many people in the UK over how the government would look once configured.

But, as is the case now the Prime Minister of the United Kingdom is Mr. David Cameron, Political Leader of the Conservative Party, and the Deputy Prime Minister is Mr. Nick Clegg, Political Leader of the Liberal Democratic Party.

Both have promised stable and secure government and in the national interest.

However, we will identify just two fundamental weaknesses – and there a many more – of the British Westminster Model of Government.

1) The Cabinet is formed out of the British Parliament, and therefore is collectively responsible to the Parliament. This fusion of the Cabinet with the Legislature is a centralling defining feature of the West Minister Model of Government. Not all ministers though in the United Kingdom are in the Cabinet.

Just as there are elected members of the UK parliament representing Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland, there are three Cabinet ministers each having responsibility for each of these regions.

And there are different levels of government in the UK – devolved government in Scotland, devolved Government in Wales, and a type of Executive government in Northern Ireland, local government, etc.

The Queen is titular head of the Parliament which is the political institutuion exercising the most sovereignty over the affairs of the UK people in this country.

However, given the fact that the Prime Minister is first among equals – primus inter pares – in the Cabinet – hence the notion of prime ministerial dictatorship – given the fact that the Cabinet is the principal ultimate policy making and coordinating agency for the government and nation of people of the United Kingdom, and too given that the Prime Minister is leader of the party in governmental office and is the person who commands the confidence of the majority in the House of Commons, and that the constitutional political thrust is towards a single party presenting itself to the Monarch as backing the leader with the majority support in the House of Commons, these elements of Westminsterism promote much political stability and unity in the UK government.

But, what is deplorable about this model of government is that it is in stark opposition to the doctrine of seperation of powers of government – a doctrine which when put into proper practice helps to check and balance the powers of the different arms of government in any country where such a doctine is found and practiced.

As such the Westminster model of government concentrates too much power – and even responsibility – in the hands of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet in the government of the country.

By way of the Prime Minister and the Cabinet being in control of the UK Parliament, it has meant that with other pieces of legislation being put in place over the years (the Reform Act 1832 – the Parliament Acts 1911/1949 – the House of Lords Act 1999 – and various proposals at this juncture – before this last general election – to see it being evolved into a Senate ) to lessen the powers and political significance of the House of Lords over the House of Commons, the Parliament of the UK has become but a rubberstamp of the policies and programs of the Prime Minister and Cabinet.

The same foolishness happens in Barbados.

Thus, there is also no direct responsibility of the Prime Minister and Cabinet to the people of the UK, but of them so-called to the Parliament of the UK.

Worst still is that there is no recall system of elected parliamentarians in place in the UK, or in Barbados.

Such essential features have serious implications for the ushering in of a UK democracy and for greater civil society development in that country and in other places that hold firm to some Westminster traditions – and when it is clear they do not hold firm to other obvious Westminster practices and traditions.

But, with British membership of the European Union (member of the EC in 1976 ) there have been serious and fundamental changes affecting many of the functions of the Westminster Model of Government – with the UK parliament having to cede much sovereignty to various supranational EU bodies like the EU Parliament/ the Council of the European Union (Council of Ministers ), under various treaties like the Treaty of Rome, the Maastricht Treaty (Wikipedia.org).

2) The type of electoral system that saw the national election of members to the House of Commons is the first past the post electoral system. Such a system is also an essential feature of the Westminster Model of Government.

However, as it relates to some other elections in the UK, there are other types of election systems used. For example, elections to the Scottish Parliament which are based on the Additional Member System which is a hybrid of the single plurality system and the Party List (Wikipedia.org)

However, the first past the post system that – as said before – was in operation in the recent UK general election, is a winner takes all system based on a national geographic constuency being divided up into several smaller constituencies – In Barbados’s case 30 – in the UK 650.

What this system ensures is that the candidate – party or non-party, independent – getting the majority of valid votes cast in that particular consituency election/contest, wins the seat and – barring some judicial challenge, death or whatever, becomes the member duly chosen by the majority of voters to so-called represent the constituency in the next Parliament.

Now, having regard to the above posted electoral results of the UK general election it shows that while this system has some perceived/real advantages of its own – like making sure that constituents have a say in who will represent them in the Parliament – its perceived/real disadvantages far out weigh the perceived/real advantages provided by itself.

Hence, one of the greatest and most valid criticisms made against the first past post system is that it exaggerates the support given to esp. the winning party, when looking at the number of seats it would have got in the election, and when examining the total number of votes it would have got in that election too and when realizing what the other party and other candidates got in terms of seats and vote shares.

This contention is clearly borne out in proper analysis of the UK electoral results.

Another strong and valid criticism too is that it favours the party with the most candidates consistently – therefore the biggest electoral machineries, the greatest resources at the time of the election. Thus, the parties with the backing of the most monied people and corporations who wish to see the status quo remain will make sure that the parties and their proxy political groups that best represent their interests will get a lot of their income and wealth to support their political electoral campaigns in return for government support when any party that they support wins the general election.

These situations then to some extent correlate with – positively or negatively – the ways how the majority of constituents are socialized to vote according to how these parties appear to be the most organized – with the most money to give out to many constituents – the most glitzy emotive electioneering razzmatazz and such like. Such facts were evident in the last election in Barbados in 2008.

Therefore, it is clear that NOT ONLY in the recent UK general election, but in that 2008 general election in Barbados that the first past the post system is inherently a most unfair, deficient and disadvantageous system of voting, and therefore has to be the electoral system – when as many as possible relevant considerations are made about it and conclusions drawn – that breaches the principle of free and fair elections being held in a country.

No wonder the political leader of the Liberal Democrats has stressed the need for electoral reform away from the first past the post electoral system to a proportional representational one as a fundamental condition of entering any coalitional government with any of the two bigger parties.

Therefore, in concluding this piece, the PDC will continue its efforts at letting the majority of voters in Barbados understand that there are three fundamental political things – out of so many more – that will have to take place in this country in order to help make it a better, fairer and more egalitarian one – thus far less Westminsterish.

1) That establishment of a nationally elected coalitional excutive government in this country in the forseeable future – and by a future PDC Government.

2) Greater adherence to the seperation of powers principle so to as much as possible in this country realize greater desired levels of growth and development in the politics and government of the country – therefore a future PDC Government will make sure that the Cabinet will be taken out of the parliament of this country.

3) Movement towards the replacement of the first past the post electoral system with a variant of the proportional representational electoral system – which is what a future PDC Government will do.

So, there you have it!!

Down with the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP!!

17. You tell them PDC. Nothing will change in Barbados in fundamental way until there is electorial, governmental and parliamentary reform. Been preaching it for more than a decade now.

18. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C.Brathwaite

The PDC sorry to say is not a political party. It is not even a pressure group. It is the closest thing to vanity in Barbados. There are some things that I would rather not comment upon; but the writer of the PDC commentaries is a university graduate, how dare he enters a forum where he should be enlightening and use the term ‘West Minster’? This is abominable. No support now or ever. Straight from the heart, and you can say, straight from this horse’s mouth.

19. Straight from the horse’s mouth? your mouth G.C.Brathwaite? lol!

20. G.C.Brathwaite Avatar
    G.C.Brathwaite

@Adrian Hinds

Hahahahahaha. At least everything under the sun is worthy of a laugh. On this we can agree.

21. To: Adrian Hinds

Tell them we must and we will continue to do so on here – on BU – on BA – Barbados Allegiance – on and off the political platform, in many of the streets in Bridgetown, Speightstown, Oistins, Holetown, in the many shops and restaurants, in the constituencies, in many of the nooks and crannies, the heights and terraces, to the young and the old, to the poor, politically weak and dis-spirited, to the fairly well to do, to fairly strong, to the many professionals, to all kinds of religious faith carrying persons, to the great number of people of sporting activity, and the list goes on, altogether in and even outside of this country called Barbados.

And there will continue to be one very IMPORTANT message in the same areas and to the same people: that both the Damned DLP and the Blasted BLP must be kicked to hell out of the Parliament of our country in seven years time.

And at the same time another very IMPORTANT message: that the way too must be paved by the broad masses and middle classes in Barbados for assisting in the greater growth and development of serious progressive parties that are and will be focussed on the greatest development possible of the affairs of the people of this country and of the country itself.

So that there will come a time at the end of the next seven years in this country when some, if not all, of these parties will be in positions to be seen by the majority of the voters in this country as so-called credible alternatives to these old archaic foolish stupid discredited DLP and BLP factions – who continue to do a lot of foolishness jackassistry in this country – and who must therefore be stopped once and for all by the majority of people in this country.

Note that at this juncture there are two newer parties in Barbados: the PDC and the PEP.

Mr. Hinds, if you too are serious about a new way forward for this country, help with the creation of another people centered nationalist developmentalist party; and if you do not wish to take such an active personal role in the creation of such a party, you can at least inspire or continue to inspire others to do so.

But, do continue to use a lot of your time wisely, Sir.

So long.

22. Wuh PDC I don’t know wuh tuh mek of your end comments to me?

Whats up with the “Use your time wisely” caution? are you saying that I do and that I should continue??

I will never join a politcal party in a formal way. I will never be a card carrying member of a political party. I am an independent politically active voter citizen and so I shall remain.

I will never support the PE party , its leader is a socialist of the Castro/Chavez kind. That said however I would encourage more persons outside of the two main and two fringe parties to continue to throw their hat in the ring for elective office as independents.

23. @PDC

You said to Adrian, “But, do continue to use a lot of your time wisely, Sir”, and even that he finds confusing and difficult to appreciate. Are you sure this is the type of person you want to recruit into politics? LOL

He calls himself “an independent politically active voter citizen “, but obviously he doesn’t know what it means to be “politically active”…and only God knows when last he voted in Barbados. He doesn’t live here and hasn’t visited in eons. What he really means is that he’s a non-partisan politically opinionated bajan living in Boston.

Hi Adri. How yuh doing fella? Have a great day.

24. @Adrian Hinds

Man the only reason you don’t like the leader of PEP is because he horned you many years ago. You could hold a grudge real long doah. LOL

25. Shanelle White Avatar
    Shanelle White

@ The Political Operatives

Do you know what is funny about all of you? You all have no intestinal fortitude. You sit behind your desk using pseudonyms to get your points across.

Be man enough to say my name is X and this is my belief and this is why I support this party.

Tired of your gutter politics. It is time for a change

Barbados first! party after

26. Who is Shanelle White? Does anyone know her? Could that name not simply be another pseudonym? Get real!

27. A nonemus
    I agree wid you man. Dis Shanelle White humbuggin people all de f*&king time bout using dah real name. She undastan de term n conditions a dis blog? I doan feel so. She mekkin me sick wid dat shoite bout use ya real name, use ya real name. I feel she name Shanelle Shite not White. 🙂
    Ease offa people back do woman. stupseeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

28. Shanelle White Avatar
    Shanelle White

When you have nothing good to say you slip into the gutter.

Will never stoop to your level.

Your behaviour is why politicians feel they can behave the same way.

WIV/Bonny Peppa.

29. Shanelle White Avatar
    Shanelle White

By the way I will ease off the people backs.

People like you who have no intelligent thought in their heads. Who highjack the blogs with nonsense and are never chastised for it. Who try to make people’s post insignificant because they can come up with nothing else.

Are you so unhappy in your life?

@Everyone I have taken Bonny Peppa’s advice.

Signing out after less than a day.

30. Shanelle White
    Wait, you feel dat by insulting my intelligence dat you could ruffle my feathers? Look, Bonny isn’t that thin-skinned woman. I am a bubbly, sexy, charasmatic character. It takes more than your sticks n stones to brek my bones, so just chill and ease off de set. If you do go,as stated, there’ll be no tears in heaven Boo.

By the way I am not WIV. I think that person is male. I’m all fe…..male.

Still was nice meeting ya.

31. Bonny Peppa like poonka, ‘she’ all over the place. ‘She’ in St James Central yet always on the bumpy road from Brighton to Halton. Bare jokes.

32. Dare I Say It Avatar

I agree with Shanelle White. What could have been a worthwhile discussion has alas (and as usual) gone awry.

33. Enuff
    so wait, because I in St.James Central does that restrict my movements?look, doan mek ma cry.Have you ever heard of the word ‘work’? Well that particular word is my reason for travelling through dat bumpy road to earn a daily living. Broaden ya horizon man. Na jokes.

34. SW man you too thin skinned! Give as good as you get!

Don’t mind BP she is something else LOL she just giving her opinon give back yours mannnn!!! hahahahahalolololo

35. Ms Peppa I just say yuh does be all over the place. Nothing more.

36. Enuff
    Oh Lawddddddddd, an I just xplane ta ya dat me wuk teks ma all ova de place. Nutton moe.
    You is a sa-warrior? Me too. LOLLLLLLLLLLLLL