Submitted by JUSTICE

Junior Christopher Worrell/ Advocate Newspaper

Is there Rastafari profiling in Barbados? The Royal Barbados Police Force has its work to accomplish. However, according to the democratic rule of law, when the actions of the State violate the constitutional rights of citizens, redress is due regardless of religious expression of the citizens.

More evidence of Rastafari profiling by the Royal Barbados Police Force was demonstrated in a public announcement concerning a man who is wanted for questioning in connection with serious criminal matters. This announcement, which is dated May 4, 2010 on the CBC Evening News and May 5, 2010 in the Barbados Advocate, unmistakably “profiles” this wanted man as “with Rastafarian hairstyle to shoulder length”. This is one general instance of Rastafari stigmatisation by a law enforcement agency.

The announcement categorically incites and perpetuates a suspicion on Rastafarians. There is no such thing as a Christian hairstyle, a Muslim hairstyle or a Police hairstyle! Why then does the Royal Barbados Police Force find it socially responsible to describe a wanted man as “with a Rastafarian hairstyle”?

Suppose the wanted man with the “Rastafarian hairstyle” is not Rastafarian by faith. Would his hairstyle be “Rastafarian” as asserted in the public announcement? Furthermore, when did the Royal Barbados Police Force question the wanted man about his “Rastafarian hairstyle”? It is imperative to report and address when overt actions from reputable institutions such as the Royal Barbados Police Force lack objectivity and bring dishonour to the name of Rastafari or any religious institution. The announcement was consumed by the public either consciously or subconsciously.

Whereas, the primary purpose of the announcement is acknowledged as in the public’s interest, the content was malicious, negligent and possibly intended to damage to Rastafarians’ image. It is expected proper that the Royal Barbados Police Force will redress the issue of implicating Rastafarians in its public announcement and, further, seek to mend its relations with the Rastafarian community.

It would have been less damaging to announce the wanted man as “wearing a dread-lock hairstyle”. The main reason is that no religious faith is trivial nor is any defamatory announcement attributed to the State. By explicitly profiling the wanted man as “with Rastafarian hairstyle to shoulder length”, the Royal Barbados Police Force has prejudiced the religious affiliation of the wanted man and breached the integrity of Rastafarians by directly associating the Rastafarian identity with criminal activity.

Our aim is not to cry shame on the Royal Barbados Police Force but to responsibly eliminate this scourge of Rastafari profiling. We propose a means to help implement good governance and to help foster a sustainable, justice-centred relationship between the Rastafarians and the Royal Barbados Police Force.

39 responses to “Rastafari Is Not The Wanted Man!”

1. eyes wide shut Avatar
    eyes wide shut

@JUSTICE” Why then does the Royal Barbados Police Force find it socially responsible to describe a wanted man as “with a Rastafarian hairstyle”?”

because there is a hair style called ‘dreadlocks or Rastafarian hairstyle and you know it. the police include everything possible to make it easy for the public to easily recognize the person being sought. What world are you trying to make yourself believe you live in? stupes

2. In the year 2010AD, this constant profiling by the RBPF [and by other sectors of the society] of the Rastafarian community speaks volumes to our ignorance and our still deep-rooted self-hatred. There’s a lot that your so-called developing/progressive society can learn from this ‘profiled’ community. The greatest respecters and preservers of all forms of life on this planet is the Rastafarian community.

Isn’t this the mother of all hypocrisy that we are willing to stop at nothing to eradicate this ‘phantasmic threat’ from amongst us while we pay homage to corrupt, dishonest lawyers and bankers who bring us nothing but defilement and pain?

——————————————————-

@How you doing Kiki?

@Bonny Peppa………that profiled man sound like your kinda man. Wha is your address?

3. What do you expect, have you ever listened to police speak?

4. Hopi I’m alright
    Have you got a box of matches?
    (to start a revolution)
    Bοβ Μαρλεψ

5. What the police should have said is a dreadlocked hair style. Dont get me wrong now I have nothing against Rastafarians but why does it seem that everytime a crime is committed in Bim that the person of interest is nearly always a `Rasta`.
    One more thing, why is it that 80% of the criminals in prison are also `Rastas`.
    Hmmm food for thought.

6. If this individual who is being seek out wants to disguise himself, and he does have that type of hairstyle mentioned by the RBPF, would he not get rid of it? Steupse. It is easier for a male to change his looks by going from long to short hair or a bald head and posing in a cap if he so desires than it is to go from a bald head to short or long hair. hahaha

Would it not have been more appropriate to say the individual has been known to wear the Rast… hairstyle.

7. SPRINGS // May 5, 2010 at 2:44 PM

What the police should have said is a dreadlocked hair style. Dont get me wrong now I have nothing against Rastafarians but why does it seem that everytime a crime is committed in Bim that the person of interest is nearly always a `Rasta`.
    One more thing, why is it that 80% of the criminals in prison are also `Rastas`.
    Hmmm food for thought.

If that was food for thought, your mind would starve and die!!!

This post has to be one for the record!!

What is a rasta?
    You highlight your ignorance Rastafari, first by saying you don’t have anything against them, yet you go one to make reckless and ignorant comments towards them.
    FYI, every one with dreadlocks are not Rastafari. There is a whole lot more to it than the hairstyle.
    My advice to you is to take a stroll through Temple Yard and ask one of the elders about it, sit and reason with the brethren and get an idea of what it is before you post more of this BS.
    Talk about profiling in the most ridiculous/ ignorant way, it is no wonder Rastafari is persecuted the way it is.

8. Dreadlocks in Moonlight

There are hypocritical laws that make some people outlaws

9. True Kiki….

Then there are hypocrites who make good people…..outlaws.

10. Hopi
    My dawlinks, I’m still here struggling amongst the strong. And I see that your flame is still burnin brite. Waste of time trying to knock you down Hopi. You strong one.
    He kinda cute but he too young fa me man. My last son is almost 30yrs. Lord hah mercyyyyyyy. I still got a lil ‘feelin’ fa Tech doe. He smart as shite man and he got me cafuffle ya.

Tech
    I would like to ‘locks’ up mine too just to be in sync wid you but my texture hair in gun ‘locks’ sa easy. Rite now I sporting a ‘bald’. YOu like bald too? Or i could sport a wig.
    Sweet thang ya.

11. I seemed to have struck a nerve Technician. My apologies to you and the Rastafarian community, I was merely trying to state that everytime I look in the papers and on my television the criminals protrayed are mainly dreadlocked men.

12. The most humble man is the RASTA MAN!

13. @SPRINGS…

Yes you struck a nerve!!…..but you are forgiven.

Whether it was by ignorance of Rastafari (which I hope) or deliberate, it is that type of attitude and profiling that stigmatizes innocent people.

A lot of the people you see in the papers or on your tv set are not Rastafari, just dreadlocked men .
    Ask them where the word Rastafari comes from and they are lost.
    Had they been really Rastafari, they would not be in that position to begin with.
    To some it is a hairstyle,especially those who want to look cool but to others it is a symbol of consciousness and strength in their beliefs and themselves as a person.

Any way you seem genuine, so the invitation to come and reason with the bretheren is still open anytime you are near Temple Yard, you will be pleasantly surprised.

@ Bonny…..

Ya don’t haffi dread to be Rasta it is not a dreadlock thing, it’s divine conception of the heart.
    Eventually the locks would come but it starts from within us.

14. Who here went reggae on the hill? I swear the police search every deadlock man down there, twice!! And left the bald heads that had all the weed.

Police actually go out of their way to persecute the dreadlocks hairstyle, but that cant stop Rastafarian.

15. @ Readydone……

LOL…..

I was there……I wore an army green military style shirt with my HIM and Bob Marley patches with the cannabis leaf in them. They even brought the dog to sniff my timberlands….lol. I laughed in amusement and an officer asked me if I think it was a joke….The joke was that the women in the next line took in all the weed. They even made me take off the ruffle and shake my locks. All this I realised was done to the dreadlocked men but what these people dont know is that Rastafari don’t walk around smoking weed for the fun of it….big difference!!
    Clean shaven men were patted down and let through, some I know for a fact with weed.
    The joke of that day was when it ‘took’ 6 strapping, heavily armed men to drag a dreadlocked youth (110 lbs) by his arms and legs through the crowd for having a spliff, because I laughed at the excessive force used, a plain clothes officer ( who was drinking all day and by now drunk) proceeded to buse me, after asking him if he had bused Bjerkham too, he moved and kept moving….lolol.
    They can never stop Rastafari because they don’t know what Rastafari is !!

16. Tech
    I would like ta ‘rip-off’ dah army green shirtttttttttttttt, military styleeeeeeeeeee.

What is your take on legalizing marijuana?

17. In the 60s,70s and 80s in the English-speaking Caribbean, there were three ideological political movements that would have played an important role in the anti-colonial anti-imperialist anti-western political struggle that had been developing in this region.

There were the Black Power Movement, Rastafarianism and Marxism.

Their own developments were interlinked and were also influenced and driven by the many cruel, inhuman and depressing social cultural political material financial conditions that had existed in the region, and by the many other international political events and activities, some of which were abominable.

These movements had also developed so-called revolutionary potential and had therefore rightly sought to challenge the political ideological psychological institutional foundations upon which the post-colonial state, the white dominated economy, and the race class stratified society in this region were configurated.

In the book – Pan Africanism in Barbados – An Analysis of the Activities of the Major 20th Century Pan African Formations in Barbados by Pan Africanist Mr. Rodney Worrell, there is much written evidence of what the Black Power Movement was centred on.

Worrell cites Walter Rodney’s view that black power is “a call to black peoples to throw off white domination and resume the handling of our destinies.”

Robert Greenwood, in his third book of the Caribbean Certificate History Series, remarked and most poignantly how, in the United States, the black protest (movement) was taken up by Martin Luther King and the Black churches and that how up to the 1960s the movement was non-violent, and that “Black Power” was really born when Blacks accepted violence as a legitimate means of helping them to achieve their goals.

Worrell outlines in this book “three closely related things” that defined black power in the West Indies:

1) the break with imperialism which is historically white and racist;

2) the assumption of power by the black masses in the islands;

3) the cultural reconstruction of the society in the image of Blacks.

Worrell credits the late Kwame Toure ( formerly Stokely Carmichael) with saying very importantly that “Black Power is a summons for Black people to unite, to recognize their heritage, to build a sense of community”, and with saying that “Black Power logically leads to Pan Africanism, and the highest political expression of black power is Pan Africanism.”

Marcus Garvey and Garveyism, it must be said, also contributed muchly to many ideas within the Black Power movement within the region in those decades.

So, in this region the Black Power Movement of the late 60s, 70s and 80s, saw that the existing white value systems, white educational systems, white power structures, the then white dominance in business and commerce in the then political societies of the region, and in external trade and investment, as being substantially responsible for the oppression exploitation of the Black masses, the miseducation of the Black man and the lack of a Black identity among many people of African descent across the world.

Thus, there were also many atrocious systems that helped to strengthen the resolve of the Black Power Movement in the US and beyond.

Such as the inhumanities and cruelties that were meted out to Blacks in the US under the system of racial segregation; in South Africa under a system of apartheid, and in Rhodesia under a similar oppressive evil system.

So, the response of the Black Power Movement to these damned cruelties, inequities, inequalities in the English-speaking Caribbean were several according to who within the Black Power Movement was speaking to or with whom, the ideologies, strategies, etc, of the person or group associated with and at what level they operated within the movement in the region and beyond.

For instance, Worrell cites that – in Barbados – the late Leroy Harewood was saying that the only way to move away from the then present situation was to change the prevailing economic and political system so as to enable the worker to benefit.

Calvin Alleyne, according to Worrell again, stressed enlightenment of the masses concerning the harsh realities of their situation as the first hurdle.

The People’s Progressive Movement/Black Star Newspaper which existed in Barbados, according to Worrell, did “espouse a form of revolutionary black nationalism.”

And, Revolutionary Black nationalism was seen as “a fusion of militant black nationalism and Marxism”.

Indeed, the latter movements were international ideological and political movements that helped to fashion the Black Power movement in the region.

Hence, this PPM/Black Star combination advocated the nationalization of all public utilities in Barbados, and the giving of land to land less agricultural workers under a strict cooperative system directed by trained agricultural officers – among other things, and so, therefore, their socialist orientations.

Wikipedia.org, describes the Rastafari movement as a monotheistic Abrahamic new religious movement that arose in a Christian culture in Jamaica in the 1930s.

Leonard Barrett saw Ethiopianism as central to the formation of the Rastafarian movement in Jamaica.

In his book: The Rastafarians, Leonard Barrett, prompts that Rastafarianism must be seen as a continuation of the concept of Ethiopianism in Jamaica as early as the eighteen century; that the “enchantment with the land and people of Ethiopia has had a long and interesting history”; that “from biblical writings through Herodotus to the medieval fantasy with the mythic King Prester John right down to our day, Ethiopia has had a hypnotic influence on history, which has been retained by the imagination of Blacks in Diaspora.”, and furthermore that “the concept of Ethiopianism has remained a part of black religious thought.”

Also, of great note is that Marcus Garvey’s prophetic words in 1927: “Look to Africa for the crowning of a Black King; he shall be the Redeemer,” and the actual crowning in the 1930 of Ras Tafari Makonnen as Emporer Selassie 1 – wherefore “many Jamaicans saw the coronation as a fulfillment of Biblical prophesy and Haile Selassie as the Messiah of African redemption.”, such that among them were to be found some Jamaicans who took the crowning so that they ended up being some of the original founders of the Rastafarian movement in Jamaica in the 30s – Leonard Howell, Joseph Hibbert, Archibald Dunkley, and Robert Hinds ( original Garveyites ) – and as such are seen by Barrett and many others as events and happenings that did have profound significance in the helping to bring about of the movement in the 1930s.

Wheras, Greenword in his said book saw the emergence of Rastafarianism as a poular reaction to the poor working class conditions in Jamaica, Barrett posited that those like Howell, Hibbets, Dunkley, who travelled a lot overseas at the time, and saw that there were social and economic developments in some other places, were likely inspired by these developments in their later desire to help found Rastafari as an expression of frustration “with the colonial stranglehold which existed in Jamaica.” (Barrett: The Rastafarians)

Grenwood stated that in Jamaica in the 1930s, Rastafarians rejected the way in which blacks copied whites.

Hence, they became “anti-white and adopted an African culture, with their own black ideals and goals.”

Throughout the late 60s, 70s and 80s, in this region, many Rastafari also viewed Western society as their living in Babylon – a place of damnation and oppression – inspite of the achievement of political independence by many territories in the region – and how they therefore sought repatriation to the motherland – Africa – Ethiopia.

Barrett went on in his book to state that there are at least six basic beliefs that can be identified as uniquely Rastafarian:

1) Haile Selassie is the living God
    2) The Black person is the reincarnation of ancient Israel, who, at the hand of the White person, has been in exile in Jamaica.
    3) The White person is inferior to the Black person
    4) The Jamaican situation is a hopeless hell; Ethiopia is heaven.
    5) The invincible Emperor of Ethiopia is now arranging for expatriated persons of African origin to return to Ethiopia.
    6) In the near future Blacks shall rule the world.

Today, though, there have been other long standing, central features symbols of the movement which have been highlighting many – though NOT with as much strength dramatics as in the earlier times – anti-western anti-colonial stances, and which have helped to define Rastafarianism NOT just as a collective social, political cultural response to colonialism imperialism state oppression, BUT ALSO as a way of life – BUT – as in the Black Power Movement in the aforementioned decades – NOT WITHOUT the involvement of many natural differences in individual and sectarian adherents’ perspectives and NOT WITHOUT much syncretism and overlapping of many other principles/ideas.

Hence,

1) Millenarianism – Zion – Africa.
    2) Repatriation to the Motherland – Africa – the Shashamane Initiative in the 50s – the donation of lands by the Emperor for resettlement.
    3) Marijuana – use of a God-given herb as a holy religious sacrament.
    4) The Lion – as a symbol of majesty, power, dominance.
    5) Use of many Biblical references as a means of explaining many events or as spiritual social guidance – crowning of the Emperor – the Nazarite vows.
    6) Red, Gold and Green.
    7) Food – Ital Natural Foods unprocessed chemicalized foods l – Vegetarians.
    8) Locks ( NO DAMN DREADLOCKS)
    9) Use of African Languages – Amharic – neologisms and other great expressions – Jah – Irie – I and I – One Love – downpression as opposed to oppression – overstanding rather than understanding.
    10) Rituals and Taboos.
    11) Music- Reggae – Greatest Exponent Late Great Bob Marley – Once King of Reggae – Crown Prince of Reggae late Great Dennis Brown – Reggae Dance Hall – Luciano, Capelton, Anthony B, Sizzla, Luciano, Drum beating – chanting.
    12) Communal business meetings – Rastafari Church – binghi – “ises”.
    13) Devotion to family.

One major thing must be said about Rastafari today is that since the Emperor made his speech before the United Nations in the 60s, denouncing racism racial class superiority – and which are themes that have been immortalized in Bob Marley song – War – and which have been represented in another Marley great classic – One Love – the notions of Black supremacy and superiority have been replaced by a philosophy of spreading universal peace and love and harmony among many races and classes.

According to Wikipedia.org, Marxism is “a particular political philosophy, economic and sociological worldview based upon a materialist interpretation of history, a Marxist analysis of capitalism, a theory of social change, and an atheist view of human liberation derived from the work of Karl Marx and Friedrich Engels.’

It further states that the three primary aspects of Marxism are:

1) A dialectical and materialist concept of history.
    2) A critique of Capitalism
    3) Advocacy of a proletarian revolution.

As has been the case, Marxism was subjected to much interpretation by Lenin – the late Soviet Leader – via-a-vis the doctrine that politics came before economics and via a vis the concept of dictatorship of the proletariat by a disciplined vanguard party, with such a party being seen by Lenin as paramount in leading the working class ( read as peasants ) in any so-called political revolution in the Soviet Union – as was really seen when he led the Bolsheviks in the second Russian Revolution the October Revolution of 1917, which later itself led to the founding of the Soviet Union in the 1920s.

In his book Imperialism – the Highest Stage of Capitalism – Lenin took a look at how imperialism operated globally at the time, esp. as capitalism expanded into so-called underdeveloped countries.

For instance, how capital was exported by capitalists to many other parts of the world because of the overripe nature of capitalism in the capitalist countries, but for purposes of exploiting the resources of those other so-called underdeveloped countries .

For instance, too, how the major capitalist powers, cartels, asociations were able to further divide up many countries of this world for purposes of creating markets for their own goods and for extracting raw materials and other thing

Another interpretation of Marxism/lLeninism was provided by Stalin who looked at the thesis of Socialism in one country – which held “that given the defeat of all communist revolutions in Europe from 1917–1921 except in Russia, the Soviet Union should begin to strengthen itself internally.” (Wikipedia.org).

Stalin – also when he was Leader of the Soviet Union – promoted totalitarianism, state terrorism, but presided over the Soviet Union rise to an industrial military super power.

However, the fact that both Marxism and Leninism, were anchored in Europe and the Soviet Union respectively, meant that for those people who lived in the English-Speaking Caribbean ( mainly meaning later CARICOM countries ) but who were Marxist Leninist adherents they had to find ways and means through which these ideologies were properly transplanted to the region, given that for them Marxist notions like class, profit, exploitation, alienation and such like were relevant to the understanding by many others of their and many others’ colonial/post-colonial experiences in the region, and to their own understanding of their respective social class status positions in the same 60s, 70s and 80s.

So, therefore many intellectuals like the late Walter Rodney and Ralph Gonsalves used academics ( as UWI scholars and lecturers ) and their beliefs in Marxism Leninism, the Dependency School, etc, to describe and explain the oppressive conditions of NOT just Blacks but Indians and others and those of the working classes in the social political systems of the respective countries – and how many local and international capitalists, the elite power classes and even the petite bourgeois in institutional settings esp. were operating to the detriment of the working classes in the region.

Also, many persons who were trade unionists did use the trade union movements in many of the relatively newly independent countries, and also did use many of their international trade union connections, regional international worker solidarity conferences, etc. to plan to coordinate and to help make sure that the social conditions of the working classes were made less demeaning through making use of many political constitutional devices available to them like demonstrating protesting against labouring conditions, as a means of forcing the capitalists the monied classes to bargaining table in order to secure better wages and salaries and working conditions for many of the employed.

In regard of the era of militancy in those same decades, the reactions and responses to these tough social conditions, white racism, white hegemony and so-called capitalist exploitation also involved the search for a so-called non-capitalist path of development in the region.

In this regard, it was very clear the very important role that the Cubans and Fidel Castro would have played in making sure that alternative modals paths to development were at least aspired for by many leaders and their supporters who were fed up with the challenges hardships that were presented by so-called liberal democracy and capitalism in this region.

As such these reactions and responses significantly incorporated Manley’s democratic socialism in the 70s, Burnham’s cooperative socialism in the 70s and 80s, and Bishop’s so-called Grenada Revolution in the late 70s and early 80s, the attempted but unsuccessful insurrection in Trinidad and Tobago in 1970, the attempt to overthrow the Dominica Government in the late 70s, the Union Island uprising in St. Vincent and the Grenadines in the same time, and also incorporated the many different so-called leftist political movements and formations and the so-called leftist led disturbances that came into being then to fight for the rights of the marginalized and disenfranchised in these Western societies.

In conclusion, such a period in the history of Caribbean politics and society must go down as one of the most politically exciting and yet one of most morally disappointing, esp. at such a time when the forces of globalization and trade liberalization, neo-liberalism, neo-liberal politics, one world government, of a new world order, etc. were already seeking in alliance with certain local conservative elements in the English Speaking region to guarantee and ascertain net greater flows of profits out of the region, to deepen the impoverished state of millions within the region, and to greater corrupt the native local cultures with alien ideas and beliefs .

So, with the black power movement in the US and the region having been made to falter under systematic coercive attack from many reactionary conservative political and financial and police leaders in the US, UK and in this region – who saw members of this movement as political threats to their power and support bases even to the system of thuggery, conspiracy, corruption, white elite hand outs, respectively, – and with the Soviet Union having collapsed under great American pressure, and with socialism communism in the region therefore losing total momentum in the 90s up to now, it is of little consolation that the Rastafari movement in the region today has been the only one of those originally anti-colonial anti-imperialist anti-western protest movements that has been able to adapt and grow and survive in many ways, esp. against a modicum of anti-Rastafarian forces in the region who are clearly LOSING the battle to still see the movement destabilized and dedeveloping here in Barbados and elsewhere.

The Rastafarian movement has made it this far – we think, principally because it is a way of life – a great culture involving a wide cross section of various people races classes statuses spirits – it is like an amorphous smaller nation within a wider nation – very much unlike the other befallen movements.

But, we in the PDC must tell our brothers and sisters in this movement in Barbados that one way through which they can strengthen themselves and the wider movement and in the eyes of many many Barbadians is through the formation of a political party to represent Rastafari and non-Rastafari interests in Barbados, and with a view of contesting elections to win state power in the country.

As that, it is our fundamental belief that every social political institution in Barbados must represent every Black-oriented philosophy culture or practice in Barbados – which is made up of a very sizable component of people in Barbados. – and such as part of the continual development of the state and nation building process in this Barbados society.

Thus, Rastafari must become law enforcement officers in this country too as well as soldiers in this country.

For, Rastafari still have got some more distance to travel to achieve greater growth and development.

Thank You

18. Paragraph, 22, line 9 – part of the line of words should have been read as “were seen by Barrett and many others…” and NOT as “and as such are seen by Barrett and many others………”

Thank You.

19. @ PDC….

I realised that you have omitted the one, most important of Rastafari in your list which I think should be high, if not first on your list.
    It was one on the issues HIM Haile Sellassie 1, thought was of utmost importance and paramount to the progression of the African.

That is Education.

20. @ Bonny….

My take on the legalization of Cannabis can be found on BU somewhere but for you I will say it again ;).

First I call it by its true name, as marijuana is the slang term which originated in Mexico.
    To argue for the legalization, first we have to go back to see why it was made illegal and by whom and on what premise.
    There is a sticker I like…..Man made booze, God created weed, who do you trust!!

21. Tech
    ya still in gimme your take on legalizing de ting man. You playing games wid me areddy? I like games, hear?
    My take on it is this, whether it is legalized or not, those not interested in it will still not use it even though it’s no longer a crime. Just like alcohol. I’m a teetotaller. Neither do I smoke. It is said that marijuana has its health benefits.Be that true as it may, how do we know the correct medicinal proportion to use at a time ? Help meh.

22. ~¿~ (The Stoner Emoticon)
    ——————————————————————————————————
    Then God said, “I give you every seed-bearing plant on the face of the whole earth and every tree that has fruit with seed in it. They will be yours for food.
    PETER BROGGS – INTERNATIONAL FARMER

23. Bonny, this is where GP might be able to help 😉

24. Kid Cudi – Day ‘N’ Nite
    ‘Cause day n nite,
    the lonely stoner seems to free his mind at nite.
    He’s all alone through the day n nite.
    The lonely loner seems to free his mind at nite, ah ah at nite.
    Day n nite.
    The lonely stoner seems to free his mind at nite.
    He’s all alone, some things will never change.
    The lonely loner seems to free his mind at nite, ah ah at nite
    Kid Cudi Ft. Collie Budz & Jim Jones – Day N Night remix

call it weed

25. They got to legalize it

26. Raymond
    Then the supply n demand won’t be so great man.
    ‘Pass de dutchie(sp) on de leff han side’.
    Pull up Kiki de selecta.

27. 4 Bonny ♡

Posts from the ‘weed’ Category
    ❀ Rasta Communication

28. @PDC

Let us cut to the chase shall we. Are principals of the PDC of the Rastafari movement and in the context of the discussion how do you see your message penetrating the Barbados electorate if the answer is yes.

29. Technician,

OK,

Very true.

Helped to lay the foundation for agricultural progress in Ethiopian as well. And for public service development.

We are NOT A Rastafari organization.

Nor are we a Pan Africanist organization.

We are a political party that seeks to represent many of the interests of the masses and middle classes in this country and many of those of the country.

There are many members who are of different religious persuasions in our party.

There are also members who are devoutly Pan-Africanist – Afro-centric, whilst some are not.

One of our strongest policies in NOT to debate religious issues in a political environment except that there is a political legal solution being begged for somewhere along the line or some political issue being raised therein that needs addressing primarily in a political legal sense.

But, we deplore the actions of any persons seeking to promote religious intolerance and strife and inter-denominational inter-religious conflict.

But, religion does have a serious role to play in the Barbadian society.

30. If Rastafari follows ther religion, then they are persecuted for smoking their holy sacrament
    Damian Marley & Chew Stick – Carnal Mind

31. (thread needs a kick to get it rolling..)
    Rick James – Mary Jane

32. the only “crime” a rasta commits, is the smoking and distribution of marijuana. but cultural norms at least. the rastafarian community does not promote violendce of any sort, as a matter of fact, most rastas will tell you that rastafari for them means love. in barbados, the rastaman is targetted similarly to how the black man is targeted in the U.S. some of you may not see it as relavant, but in a country where blacks are “monorities” i find it hard to believe that they committ most of the crimes. then evidently it would appear to someone looking from the outside, in, it would appear that the rastaman in barbados or in caricom in general, whom is the minority, is being targeted just like the black man in my place of residence, the U.S. also if any of you on this blog, law abiding or not, were to come here to the u.s and be in either a white area, or a black area, u will be profiled by the police, simply for being black similarly to rastafarians being profiled for being rastas. i read earlier that most of the people who commit the crimes are not of the rastafarian faith, but people with dreadlocks. other’s certainly will get on the defensive side when i say that the greater majority of the crimes of the world. especially the western world were committed by ‘christians’ or people of the christian faith. regardless of how you put it, majority of crimes in the western world were committed by peope affiliated with the christian community because most of the nations in the western hemisphere are christian nations.so why then do we profile the few rastas that we for the most part despise because they choose to live closer to nature than we do. and we who proclaim to be christian or of the christian faith, still kiss the law’s ass. proclaiming that God is all powerful and perfect, and made this earth perfect for us to live on and still have a law banning the growth and consumption of one of God’s many crations is strictly hypocritical at the least. havn’t we some nerve to label marijuana as a drug? either God’s not as perfect as we claim he is, or we’re all fighting against God’s creation. my opinion is, drugs are manufactured, not created.