Forwarded from Ras Simba of African Heritage Foundation by Ras Jahaziel.

While the government of Barbados continues to deny Rastafari their constitutional right to use cannabis within their spiritual observances; in the privacy of their homes, Rastafari are still being harassed and penalized for cannabis possession.

Today I read a local news article informing of a 61 year old Rastafari man charged with possession of the cannabis plant and also cultivating the cannabis plant. Although his lawyer made mention of the constitutional matter I, along with several members of the Rastafari community have against the Attorney General, Chief Magistrate Ian Weeks failed to recognize the constitutional rights of Ras Michael Blackman. The article reports that Magistrate Weeks while stressing that even under the sacrament act laws and regulations had to be followed. Ras Blackman’s lawyer, Reco Blackman should be challenging the state on its infringing on his client’s constitutional rights when in the privacy of his home. One would think that magistrates, judges and other such practitioners of the law would be the first to defend the rights of individuals and the power of the Barbados constitution, as it is the highest law of this land. Sadly, this is does not seem to be the case.

No Rastafari in 2024 should be charged for possession or cultivation without a constitutional challenge. Barbadian lawyers are not doing their work or maybe they are!

Recently, I listened in abject disbelief and disgust to a radio program speaking about Medical Marijuana and the industry here in Barbados. Featured on the program where two Rases I know well.

Ras Bongo Spear gave information on the history of the cannabis plant, its prohibition: with those roots stemming from colonialism and apartheid. It was ‘on point’ and well received by listeners including myself. However, Sister Sheba who spoke on the traditional usage of the cannabis plant and who sits on the board of the Barbados Medicinal Cannabis Licensing Authority BMCLA, that denies the people of Barbados inclusive of Rastafari the right to use the plant as medicine as they have traditionally done for years, her contribution I found wanting. While she serves the BMCLA her brothers and sisters face tribulation daily over the cultural medicinal use of the cannabis plant. This seems to be an ethical contradiction in the eyes of the Rastafari community. We must not serve those who so blatantly oppress us.

The CARICOM Conference of Heads of Government at its Twenty-Fifth Inter- Sessional Meeting convened in St. Vincent and the Grenadines, 10 -11 March 2014, mandated the establishment of a Commission to interrogate the issue of possible reform to the legal regimes regulating cannabis/ marijuana in CARICOM countries. One of the things reported in the findings of that commission was, that for years, Caribbean citizens had promoted the value of marijuana for its medicinal properties. This means cannabis has a medicinal history in the region long before money seeking politicians came on the scene speaking about Medical marijuana industries.

Recently, I asked, “Why consideration of a policy shift to include “smokables” was on the table and why not traditional cannabis use?” I was told by the head of the BMCLA to bring in something that speaks to my assertions that cannabis has a medicinal place within a traditional framework. Why should I do that when CARICOM has a report that speaks to this? As the head of the BMCLA she would know this. The findings of that commission also include suggestions that before entering into medical marijuana industries, governments should relax some of its draconian marijuana laws. Every other island involved with Medical Cannabis has seen the morality and ethical substance of these findings and giving its citizens some legal access to the plant. Every other CARICOM citizen in related island can cultivate and possess legal amounts of the cannabis plant. NOT BOUT HERE!. Here in Barbados we are fined or charged for the seed, stem, leaf or root.

Rastafari must reject all cannabis offers by government until we are given our cannabis freedom. Non Rastafari Barbadians should do likewise. We must call for a national boycott of the BMCLA and the colonial marijuana industry established here.

Finally no other plant of natural origin carries the title of DRUGS. If the standing of the cannabis plant is to change the media must stop calling cannabis DRUGS in its reporting.

24 responses to “No Respect for RASTAFARI”

1. Wait! All Rasta still want is some right to smoke ganga?

Wha bout all the rasssoul money and power this industry has spawned on stock markets throughout the world?

Wha bout the wider health industries, cultures, that Rasta has made universal, these have no values beyond some personal shiiite right to smoke weed?

Is it not time to come to know truths beyond Rasta and the Bible foolishness?

Are these values not beyond some dubious claim to be high when in communion when such states of consciousness are available without such a substance.

Is there not evidence that health outcomes for Rastas are worse than those for Baldheads?

2. Smoking, is not natural, like drinking alcohol is dangerous, what about the many other compounds that are medicinal? Ras Jahazial,are you aware of the proliferation of the many varieties with extremely high THC concentrations and their mind altering impact?

3. In the West, inspired by enlightenment ideals, as they are, a lot of time is spent and so much energy seeking rights.

This is not the preoccupation of others.

In China, the central occupation is feeding a population of 1.5 billion people. With all that means. And they too have had a recent century of humiliation.

In Russia, the national determination is not about petite bourgeoise rights but about keeping the country together, keeping Russians as a nation, keeping the largest country contiguous, frustrating age old efforts at colonialism.

And we may go on and on.

Where has these notions about rights gotten us in real terms? Are we not to consider the limits of this rights ethos? Have these enlightenment ideals not contributed to social ills?

Maybe there are lessons for the Global South or the Global Majority as it’s now better known.

4. Two things to consider:

1. Racism of marijuana prohibition
    2. Level of Brainwashing required to make Barbadian Africans compliant Slaves

>>
    Cannabis was first cultivated in Central Asia for medicinal purposes as early as 500 B.C

Despite its roots in medicinal usage, smoking cannabis to get high was practiced as early as 800 A.D. in the form of hashish, a purified form of weed smoked with a pipe

>>

Harry Anslinger, commissioner of the Federal Bureau of Narcotics during and after the prohibition era, created a false narrative around weed due to the lack of science surrounding it.

Harry J. Anslinger Quotes

Reefer makes darkies think they’re as good as white men.

The primary reason to outlaw marijuana is its effect on the degenerate races.

There are 100,000 total marijuana smokers in the US, and most are Negroes, Hispanics, Filipinos and entertainers. Their Satanic music, jazz and swing, result from marijuana usage. This marijuana causes white women to seek sexual relations with Negroes, entertainers and any others.

Marijuana is taken by musicians. And I’m not speaking about good musicians, but the jazz type.

I wish I could show you what a small marihuana cigarette can do to one of our degenerate Spanish-speaking residents. That’s why our problem is so great; the greatest percentage of our population is composed of Spanish-speaking persons, most of who are low mentally, because of social and racial conditions.

Marijuana is an addictive drug which produces in its users insanity, criminality, and death.

You smoke a joint and you’re likely to kill your brother.

Marijuana is the most violence causing drug in the history of mankindMost marijuana smokers are Negroes, Hispanics, Filipinos and entertainers.

Colored students at the University of Minnesota partying with (white) female students, smoking [marijuana] and getting their sympathy with stories of racial persecution. Result: pregnancy.

Marihuana leads to pacifism and communist brainwashing.

>>

5. Terence M Blackett Avatar
    Terence M Blackett

THE BASTARDIZATION OF CANNABINOIDAL MEDICINAL PLANTS HAS BEEN AN HEALTHCARE INJUSTICE TO HUMANITY ON SEVERAL LEVELS – SADLY BEING USED TODAY AS A SOCIAL/RELIEGIOUS/RECREATIONAL ILLUMINISTIAL ARTISTISTIC ESCAPE FROM THE RIGORS OF MODERN LIFE & ITS OMINOUS REALITIES

As someone who treated my late daughter with my own self-made “CANNABIS MEDICINE” – I extol the “PHARMACOKENETIC VIRTUES” of the plants & can attest to the fact that it works in getting the job done by “CLOSING THE PAIN GATE” when it comes to “SERIOUS ILLNESS”!!!

As someone who has also used the said medicant as a physiological arbiter to deal with the severe “STRESS” of caring for a “SICK LOVED ONE” – I can equally vouchsafe for its sanative nature in balancing mind, heart & body!!!

What is so regrettable is the fact that “GOVs” believe that they can “DICTATE” & “PROSCRIBE” & “LEGISLATE” lucidity based on what grows on God’s “GREEN” earth v the “ALCHEMY” manufactured in a lab!!!

THIS IS TYRANNY – BOTANICAL TYRANNY OF THE HIGHEST ORDER!!!

Let those “DIRTY BASTERDS” either decide to “MONETIZE” the “WEED” by “LICENSE” & “TAXATION” or simply do what Switzerland & other countries do – “ALLOW INDIVIDUALS LIKE MYSELF TO GROW [5] PLANTS INDOORS”!!!

#ButWeKnowWhy

6. The space we live is a complex environment. Many decisions made by government will have long lasting consequences regarding what the society transforms to.

Allowing boys to wear their hair in traditional girl styles.

Allowing music on PSVs to go unhindered has contributed to a subculture that has become meshed with mainstream.

Allowing citizens to go unpunished breaking traffic stops etc.

What are the consequences for decriminalizing cannabis or in this case recognizing rights claimed by the rastafari?

7. Sometimes, it is best to keep it short. Don’t just throw in words to fill space.

“Allowing boys to wear their hair in traditional girl styles”

What does that do? Makes them homosexual? Make them trans? Don’t start the week with foolishness.

8. You have your opinion and the blogmaster has one also. Feel free to state yours without feeling to rubbish the opinions of others.

9. I too would like to know what allow the boys to wear to wear their hair in traditional girls styles does and if there is a law against it like in the other cases mentioned

10. PM MIA has a nice short hairstyle.

11. Many of you asking about hair probably do not observe the unkempt state of many of our boys in school uniforms. What separated Barbados from others was the discipline associated with how we use to insist on a uniform regimen in our schools. The society is falling apart because we are following North American and other foreign ways of doing things.

The irony is that it is mainly children who are struggling at school carrying unkempt hairstyles. As a country we have to stick with what has served us well over the years before dismantling it at the whim and fancy of a rh politician. Many of us had to attend Sunday school which served a purpose. We have moved away from practices which served us well and replaced them with what again. Nothing!

12. @ David

The problem is, there seems to be an overall disregard for discipline.

When my son was attending St. Stephen’s Primary School, it had a roll of over 600 children. Several parents found the time to take their children to school and collect them afterwards at 3:00 pm.

Some women accompanied their children to school, dressed in ‘tights’ that exposed the ‘camel toe’ and blouses through which ‘de bubbies’ and nipples could be clearly seen.
    It became so ridiculous that the principal sent letters to parent and posted signs outside the school, asking parents to desist from such acts of ‘indecent exposure.’

Yet, the same 40 parents attended PTA or form level meetings.

Those same 40 parents attended the ‘11+ exam meeting’ held by the principal, during which he explained the exam and demonstrated the procedure how secondary schools should be selected.

Ironically, the last form level meeting I attended at my son’s secondary school, the principal commented on the several parents and pupils who were absent, saying it was those children who usually ‘give the most trouble.’

Now, before the ‘anti talking ‘bout yuh son’ squad ‘come out swiping wild,’ I acknowledge the fact that my attending PTA and form level meetings; teaching him discipline and to be a ‘leader and not a follower,’ and never had to ‘administer corporal punishment,’ or that his teachers always write encouraging remarks on his reports and chose him to be a ‘Prefect,’ does not necessarily mean he will ‘turn out to be a model citizen.’

However, I’m satisfied that, so far, he has not succumbed to ‘peer pressure’ and remains respectful.

13. @ David

We have households in which women ‘walk around naked’ in front of, or bathe with their male children.
    Or allow their teenage daughters’ boyfriends to spend the night.

Yes, I’m old fashioned or from ‘the old school.’

Although I love my son, I’m not one of those parents who go around saying their daughter/son is their ‘best friend.’

I believe in setting boundaries

What I’m trying to ‘say,’ David, is if we allow children to flout the school rules, they will take that behaviour into the workplace and society in general.

There aren’t any fundamental differences between how children wear their school uniforms and how they dress for work (or even church), when they become adults.

If a youngster cusses his parents and teachers, he’ll obviously believe that’s the norm and would cuss the police, priest and his employer.

14. @Artax

The blogmaster couldn’t have stated it better. We seem to be in a hurry to run with what is popular. We seem in a hurry to compromise values that have served us well. We seem resigned to let the tail wag the dog. Imagine living in an era where many teachers are scared to reprimand children. Not to mention those who are running from the service on pre retirement.

15. Sanctimonious Bumpkins Warning / Fact Check Required
    There is a very dubious and tenuous link between the puff and school children
    that’s what universities are for for young adults to experiment & experience life

Freeing up the outdated prohibitive backward weed laws is for the adults
    who partake irregardless

Snakes and Ladders,
    You Can’t Stop Natty Dread,
    Hotta Claps

16. An attempted save followed by a ‘thank you’ for trying to help out.

The ‘A guy’ has great insights, but sadly he has some difficulty in connecting the final dot.

His [does not necessarily mean he will ‘turn out to be a model citizen] should have forced him to realize that some ‘model’ citizens may emerge from homes where parents [walk around naked’ in front of, or bathe with their male children].

Hitting a few well known notes and playing for a few old timers will not solve any of the problems of Barbados. Some may feel that I ‘swipe’ and that I bash needlessly, but getting in the crease, poking and only taking sure singles is even worse.

He needs to stop believing that contributing to BU is a contest in niceness and popularity. I have studied this guy carefully and know that he sees what I see. The courage to face and speak of the ugly future is lacking. Just once, leave the crease, run down the pitch and make a gigantic swipe. Niceness/politeness is not going to save Barbados.

I will disengage now.

17. Some people are comfortable with their bodies. Didn’t stop my parents from setting serious boundaries or me from respecting them.

Nothing wrong with being your child’s friend either. Special friend with a twist. Not one of the little friends, but definitely a friend.

Worked for me!

It’s not a one size fits all sort of thing.

18. William Skinner Avatar

We submit that parents should set the tone for their children’s behaviour and discipline . We went to a high school with Asian/Indian children who incorporated their traditional way of dress with the school’s uniform. We did not hear anything about forcing them to conform. While we agree that the school rules must be followed, we also submit that Black people should not be inhibited from expressing their natural hair in any style we choose, once it is tidy and not offensive to anyone because it is unkept.
    We first observed relatives , who lived in England, being completely naked in front of their young children way back in the 70s . We asked why they did so and were told it was a way of getting children to admire and respect their bodies from early. We , on the other hand ,through religion, teach our children to be mortally afraid of their bodies and some girls become women and carry that fear throughout their lives , often leading to failed relationships. It’s virtually impossible to love oneself without loving one’s body.
    We need to have a modern bureau exclusively dealing with the rights of children and within that bureau a well appointed advice facility for parents, who are struggling with parenting.
    Anybody who believes that parenting today is the same as four or five decades ago maybe living in a dangerous bit of fantasy. Parents today need to realise that communication is the key; returning to” spare the rod and spoil the child” cannot work.
    Our grandchildren have taught us the different personalities that each carry and the vast difference between the three year old and the ten year old. Parenting cannot be an easy task with the heavy influence of technology.
    Parents who maintain a good communication environment with their kids and a productive closeness should be congratulated. Children responds better to chatting and humour to acquaint them with right and wrong. We learnt that from the grands.
    Ironically children are the best teachers when it comes to parenting but we must learn to observe, talk and listen to them.

19. I worked for an organisation in which discipline was paramount, and as such, some of my opinions are based on personal experiences I gained therefrom.

I NEVER mentioned anything to suggest children of mothers who either walk about front of them naked or bathe with them, would not ‘turn out to be model citizens.’

Far from it.

I know of criminals who come from what people describe as ‘decent homes.’

The problem is, some people seem to believe we should respond to issues HOW they want us to respond.
    As I mentioned on another thread, they NEED to ACCEPT people respond to issues differently and how ‘they see fit.’

There aren’t any rules of any ‘official response template’ I am obligated or mandated to adhere to.

If being your child’s ‘best friend’ works for you, so be it. I don’t have any problem with that. It’s YOUR personal choice.

However, it does not necessarily it has to be the generally accepted norm.

I prefer to set boundaries, and it WORKED for ME.

That’s MY choice.

As he blogmaster ‘said’ on another thread, “Suggestion is to keep it simple by sharing YOUR perspective which others will agree or disagree.”

20. Should be:

***** it does necessarily MEAN……

***** As THE blogmaster ‘said….

21. Imagine In Dub
    Imagine five o clock in da morning
    A cop gave I a tunin
    Like Im some ol mini-van
    And hear it boy we know you have it
    Boy if we ever find it
    X amount a licks and kicks and fliks

Officer but see ya
    Officer ya out of order
    Officer but see ya
    Officer out of order

Is only me and me one and only
    No sausage no baloney
    Raid dont frighten me
    Informie say Im usin Uzi
    And keys and glocks like movie
    Spread ya legs for me what

Officer but see ya

Why am I a suspect in ya case
    Why do I get caught in ya rat race
    Why am I a suspect in ya case
    And why am I just caught in ya rat race
    Lord o mercy