Submitted by Yardbroom

rastaprofilingMy attention was drawn to an article in the Nation News by Yvette Best 5-27-2009 in which she reported that Ras Kudos Sage had said “Rasta profiling in Barbados should stop”…he further asserted…”they – Rastafari – are constantly being persecuted by the way we practice our worship and for the very things that define us Rastafari.”

The writer did not state a position but honestly reported the facts as she understood the opinions of Ras Kudos Sage.  I will assume that Ras Kudos Sage has gathered information from his brothers and has personal experiences to justify that statement.  His plea was also addressed to other faiths from whom he sought support.

Should we advance his entreaty by asking:

(1) Is profiling of Rastafari in Barbados a reality? – If it is.

(2) Who is doing the profiling?

(a) The general population.

(b) The police.

(c) Employers

(3) What effect has this perceived profiling on the Rastafarian community?

(d) How can they assist in its prevention.

(4) Is this possible.

If we accept that Rasta profiling is occurring in the general population, there must be reasons, are those reasons justified?  If they are not, what can Rastafarians do to allay any perceived fears in the general population. The police interact with the Rastafarian community, as they naturally do with other sections of society, what are their experiences of those interactions?

Employers will always employ those who are of benefit to their enterprise, in terms of company image and profitable return for their monetary investment. What does Rasta profiling do to the self-image of the Rastafarian community? Do they interact with others expecting a negative reaction and are therefore aggressive…a self-fulfilling prophesy.

It is sometimes helpful to ask, not only what can a society do for us but what can we do for society.  At times there is such a dichotomy between what society requests of us and what it is reasonable to deliver, that there is an unbridgeable gap.  It is then we realize there are opposing forces at work but it has not got to be this way.  It is only when we speak to each other we understand each other’s thinking, for this has proven to be the best way of solving perceived problems.

I have not ventured on the issues surrounding the death of l’Akobi Tacuma Maloney out of respect for his family and friends.  I have always taken that position from the inception and I will not deviate now, as it surely will not address this “current” perceived problem…others will disagree, I respect that.

1. The question is simple: do u want the enduring image which people have when they think of Bim, as one of Rastafarians or of normal-looking people, of decent character and behaviour!! Dah is all!! It’s as simple as 123!!

2. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

199:

Why you trying to entertain me so, this Thursday morning? LOL

‘normal-looking people, of decent character and behaviour’???

Hitler didn’t look normal, or sort of?

We have a lot of ‘normal’ looking people here who are wicked as the day is light, who would sell us all out for a penny.

Judge not the book by its cover, but by its intent and actions.

Normal-looking, jeez 199, you know better than that statement, surely.

I’ll give you the benefit, its past one in London already, so maybe you been in the pub having one pint too many lagers or bitter?

3. what race are you 199?

you loveing the attention?

4. SBD, I in worried bout Hitler!! He ded a long time ago!! I worried bout MY PEOPLE Bajans!! LOL!!

We have a lot of ‘normal’ looking people here who are wicked as the day is light, who would sell us all out for a penny.

Sir, but d pint is dat, at lease, duh does LOOK!! normal!! It’s unacceptable enough to be evil but also, to LOOK evil, even befo yuh begin is even more wicked!! People, vis. the wider Barbadian public, have the right to be considered NORMAL from people’s firse impression of dem, not as from another planet – planet Jah!! I have mo respek fuh my Bajan people dan dat!!

Judge not the book by its cover, but by its intent and actions.

Sir, first impressions matter!! U must uh hear dat one before!! Firse impressions!! People caan guh roung looking like junk on legs an it considered normal!! No man!! Tink man!! Tink!!

Normal-looking, jeez 199, you know better than that statement, surely.

I most certainly, do NOT, Sir!! Nuhbody could LOOK at me an say dat I doan look normal!! An dat’s d pint!! To BEGIN pun d right footing!! As you know, if u make the correct start, you’re more likely to achieve the correct finish!!

Sir, I write dat piece long before d pubs open, as far as I know, plus I doan waise my precious time gine tuh nuh pubs, I prefer to spen it chasing nice black chicks, WIV afros!!

I c one dis marning but, she din seem to like me!!

Laaaaadddddddddddddddd!!!!

RD, I is d same race as u! Now stop d foolishniss!!

5. Wait, RD, leh me get dis straight right, cause if yuh answer ‘yes’, den I gun jes give up pun d Bajans once and fer all, an have done!! So, RD, r u telling me dat u doan mine when people tink of Barbados, d firse ting duh tink of is rastafarians!!

RD, jes answer dat one for me, please!! yes or no!! cause, if d answer is yes, den I gun finish wid Bajans right hay an now!! If d answer in no, den yuh mus be able to see my point!!

6. @199…….the answer is YES!

7. 199, yuh irredeemable

8. Man, if wunna can say ‘yes’ to dah question den wunna in got na pride man!! How wunna can say yes to dah!!

Steupse, I jes waiting tuh hear wha RD has to say cause maybe d two uh wunna is rastafarians, anyway!! I caan beleive dat my Barbadians could b suh stupid!! All I can say is dat wunna mus be d only people in duh worle who would want to identify wunnaselves wid someting looking like dem!!

9. Look at d one in d pic!! Wha he look like?!! I jes glad d policemen keeping an eye on e!!

Steupse!! What is the use of dum!!

10. I am not a Rasta as yet because i believe you should turn from bald head > Rasta when you is ya own man.

I still live with my parents.

When most international people are asked about Barbados they usually think of Jamaica and the Rastafarian community anyways.

Rasta is what is bring in the tourist anyways.

As for me normal black people are Rasta people. After reaching a certain level of understanding you should locks your hair.

Until every police, fireman, politician, teacher is a Rasta we would never realise the true potential of rasta,
    WHEN every one is a rasta and gives each other the respect they deserve as a rasta, then it wouldn’t make a difference what nonbelievers say.

11. AH i want to edit that

that > dont belong there
    it should be the other way around

Rasta > baldhead

Rasta is greater

12. So, basically, what ur saying is dat duh battle’s already lost and dat Bim’s already a rasta-country!! Well, if dat’s duh case, I give-up, den!!

13. Good.

This topic brings to the light other issues that need addressing, like the fact that the police has the ‘profile’ of being above the law. Not only by the general public but more surprisingly by themselves.

Has a police ever been locked up for misuse of force?

I wonder if a applause should be given to the force for being so humane in their actions for such a long time.

14. Interesting point RD in light of the recent report coming out of Jamaica this week that a few policemen named in a Director of Public Prosecutor report were persuaded to resign by the Commissioner of Police

Can’t imagine the Old Boys Club would allow same thing to happen in Barbados.

15. It does not amaze me that Rastafarians are being profiled in Barbados. As a statement of fact, Barbadian society promotes xenophobia. Anyone that is perceived or viewed to be different are singled out, be they Rasta, foreigner, or otherwise.
    Barbadians in general are close minded about those they deem to be outsiders. Certainly, profiling of Rastafarians will continue as long as closeminded people have a perception of them as being the so called blackheart men of society.
    For my part I am a Rastafarian, without apology. For the past 23 years, I have never smoked, do not promote smoking, but recognize each and every one’s right to smoke as they choose to. Are the ever present bar room drunks being harassed as well?. Why then should a person be subjected to a certain behavior because of the way of life that they choose to live.
    Most definitely, Rastas are not the only one in Barbados who partake of marijuana. so stop the hypocrisy. It is always easy to blame the victim, to take the focus off of what is ailing a society.
    Because a person chooses a simple way of life does not make them worthless or a bum. I wonder what many of the profilers and decriers of Rastas would have done to Jesus the Christ in his day. Maybe I err when I view him as a humble man, and revolutionary.
    It would be more productive to work together to build Bimshire, instead of being distracted by crab in a barrel attitude towards fellow born and bred Bajans.

16. Bonita, who Jesus steal from!! An I caan recall any accounts of him looking like rubbish pun legs!!

Bonita, admit it!! U do it fuh the attention, don’t it!! U reckon it’ll get u d little bit uh attention in life which yuh would n’t ordinarily get, so u enjoy people looking at u an pointing an making their remarks!! Makes u feel important, don’t it!! LOL!! Well, if dah is wha it takes to mek wunna feel important den ‘good luck to wunna’ however, I pray the Barbados police will continue to do their job and teach wunna respek fuh law and order!! and, in every case possible, sen wunna long back to Jamaica!!

17. A cut and past from wiki

Xenophobia is a dislike and/or fear of that which is unknown or different from oneself.

It comes from the Greek words ξένος (xenos), meaning “stranger,” “foreigner,” and φόβος (phobos), meaning “fear.”

18. I feel a rasta man teck way 199 wife that is why he is get on so.

A Rasta that don’t smoke? One strength of rasta is that there is no set rules to follow like in other religions where you have to go through a enishiation of some sort, where as with Rasta you don’t have to go through any enishiation, this is also a BIG weakness because any one can call them self a Rasta.

That gives rise to a whole other host of problems when it comes to people that don’t know what Rasta is about. They don’t know which is rasta there fore a man with locks is assumed as a rasta.

I notice no body but David ent touch my comment about the police, as expected!

19. RD, given the high quality of the girls who I go for, the possibility of a rasta ‘taking away my girl’ is absolutely, NIL!! Lol!! U musse joking bro!!

I notice no body but David ent touch my comment about the police, as expected!

RD, u know ur own people, don’t u!!

LOL!!

20. Everyone is first and foremost an individual onto themselves regardless of what entity they belong, be it a family, club, organization, church etc. As such, not every Rasta is going to practice each and every tenet universally.
    As for your comment 199, yes I do it for the attention ( I know you’re bright enough to recognize that bit of sarcasm). In my view, kudos to anyone who finds something in their life that they are willing to stand up and be ostracized for. What is your something? I am not going to get into a pissing match with you, because I already see through you. You get your attention by being antagonistic, and I don’t think even you believe what you are saying. I bet that if I search other areas of the site I will see you taking similar positions on other topics. Either way, I hope your need for attention is being met.

21. Leh we bun fire pun dat bald head 199!

22. Bonita, u do it fuh d attention, man!! Stop pretending!!

In my view, kudos to anyone who finds something in their life that they are willing to stand up and be ostracized for.

The damning evidence!! Pure attention-seeking!!

What is your something?

Honesty and decency!! U hear of it?!!

Bonita, I ‘get my attention’ from sweet-looking, Bajan chicks like u!! I assume ur a chick, uddawise, fuhget it!!

Lord!! I in one uh dem!!

P.S. But yuh would have to get a decent haircut first, doe!!

Laaaaaddddddddddddddddddd!!

23. Poor Great, I would prefer to be poor great dan poor rakey, especially if I knew what they meant!!

24. well the tread needs you 199 because you are the only anti- rasta view at the present moment, That speaks volumes for us.

25. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

Bonita,

Well said, truly.

199:

Loss man, you never know what cjicks are thinking.

And, a ‘rasta’ fella might be a jolly good poet and musician who will waltz away wid on’a you chicks, jess so!

What wunna talkkin bout,’quality chick’ can get tek way?

Yuh hear bout chemistry? Nuttin cyan stop dat, deng.

But den, agreed, dey got quality and ‘quality’.

I did know a few supposed fancy looking chicks who did like a bit of rough fella.

But deng, you are pre-supposing dat a rasta is a rough fella, not necessarily so.

Also, sooner or later really learn what a quality chick is.

But what has that got to do wid she preferring a rasta fella over you?

He might jess be a quality fella hisself.

Jeez man, 199, yuh raving man!

26. Moving on to a forum where a more serious discourse can be had. 199 like I said, not even you believe what you’re saying. Take care.

27. SD, it seem dat Bim is already a nation uh rastas, so I give up boa!! Good luck to wunna. I know ull need it!!

Sir, talking bout quality-chicks an rough fellas – uh gun tell yuh a little story!! U wun believe it but years ago, I used to live beside dis hot JA chick (mixed-raceish an pretty as hell) who had dis JA rasta fella!! Whenever he feel like it he used to beat de *hit out uh dis pretty girl who many a man would pay to get tuh know betta!! An, poor me, I used to b d one calling d police to save she backside cause I din want nutten to do wid d long-haired piece uh *hit, muhself!!

Anyway, u would tink dis chick would get rid uh he, would n’t yuh!! Well, he would disappear for maybe a month or two and then, looka dis ting fuh muh!! he would be back day!! fuh only a few hours tuh begin wid, den a day, den a night, den fuh longer and before yuh know it he’d be cutting her ass again and I’d be on d phone again!! D poor girl, pretty as she was, jes wun learn!!

Tuh make matters worse, she deduced it wus me who would call d cops to her aid an would make an excuse tuh come up an knock at my door an ask tuh use my phone!! dis wus in the 80s before everybudy had a mobile phone, ova hay!! Tell yuh d trufe, I was tempted an she looked intrested but, notwithstanding d rasta idiot, yuh know how some girls suh pretty day just spell one ting!! Money and trouble?!! Well, dah wus d kind a girl she wus an although we were both intrested I decide, well, boy yuh betta try hard, hard, hard an leave dat one alone!! It was n’t easy but, tank d merciful, I succeeded!! Anyway, I had a girlfren at d time, anyway but sometimes two loaves r betta dan one!!

Laaaddddddddddddddddddd!!

Bonita!! I mene it!! I mene it!! an BTW, how about a date?!!

28. Sir Bentwood Dick Avatar
    Sir Bentwood Dick

199:

LOL!!! Interesting story in trute man.

I know, sadly some dem girls got ‘trubble’ writtin ova dey forehead in BOLD, but look like wuh goash, man…dripping hotness!!

The initial thouht is, HMMM, the second and right should be…RUN like hell!!!

But, yuh know, two loaves might be too much, yuh cud choke!

29. Yeah, Sir, but what a sweet way tuh go!! 🙂

30. Have u had any similar experiences SBD, or am I d only one pun hay to have had an interesting sexual-life!!

As an aside, I’ve just, for some reason, remembered living in a house, here in England, some years ago, with an Indo-Jamaican couple. Very nice and pretty girl who I fancied myself. Unfortunately, I was too young and inexperienced to quite sort it, although we’d, more or less, made arrangements! Anyhow, the thing which I’ll always remember about this guy is that he left his pregnant-big wife/girlfriend, the morning, when the child was obviously, on its way, and went to work as usual and left it to the rest of us in the household to deliver he child!! Up to now, I can hardly believe this happened!! Poor, the other women in the house!! When the girls screams got too much to bear an cries of “de baby coming”!! tried to intervene but they were n’t too sure what to do themselves!! They’d only also HAD babies!! They had n’t DELIVERED any! an so, somebody had to run out the road to a public phone and call for an ambulance!! Poor baby’s haead was coming-through and everything and the idiot went off to work and left the girl in that state!! Nice girl, too!! I’m soo sorry that I was too young to consumate our plans!! and, you know, I can’t clearly recall the idiot-man ever clearly thanking us for helping him out!! What a prat!! An, before somebody suggest it, no, he did n’t know anyting about our plans!!

31. 199 i hope because A rasta man had this pretty girl, that you did want, you don’t hate every rasta man that come round the place.

lol you was saving a girl that don’t want save she self? women are strange,lol, that is what is make then so sweet. but i doubt a real man would every fully understand a real woman. lol

i believe money and trouble is 2 things doe.lol & to loaves are OK, for breakfast,nut ya is really got to eat to be healthy.

199 you is a comedian?

32. 199, after 400 yrs of rape ,murder and brainwashing by people like u ( look in a mirror) the African people were freed,according to u the rapist and liars u are,but not free to us the black people from Africa because being freed into full proverty,and our childrens taught only the things of a killer an liar,they were a people lost not knowing who they are and placed into a nex type of slavery u called freedom having not known the things that were taken away,but the things u taught under the gun ,whip,shackles and stress of human slavery that exits up till this very day,in this style of goverment and system we live in. 199 so any time black people go against this human form of goverment that the slave master create u willsay ,write and behave the way u do ,but one day as u prayer in the Lords prayer ,”for thine kingdom to come and for Gods will to be done on earth as it is in heaven,u will seethat it shall come to pass and this unjust form of govt will pass away and the folly u stand for will be judge by JESUS and his perfect govt,i will prayer that one day ur eyes behold the things that are equal.

33. RD, my opposition to d rastas has nothing to do with that. Fortunately, I’ve had pleenty of pretty girls. I regret, to a small extent, missing out on dat one, yes, but it’s no big deal. I made up for her with others. My opposition is solely because they won’t dress and behave properly!! I still don’t fully onstan dum, RD, but I ‘plan tuh keep trying boe’!! lol!!

No, RD, just some interesting experiences I’ve had. It doan seem dat any udda Barbadians had any so I will have to stop day, boe!!

740, I is a black Bajan like u so I doan know wha u mean, boa!!

Regards!!

34. Ready-Done // June 5, 2009 at 7:26 am

Good.

This topic brings to the light other issues that need addressing, like the fact that the police has the ‘profile’ of being above the law. Not only by the general public but more surprisingly by themselves.

Has a police ever been locked up for misuse of force?

I wonder if a applause should be given to the force for being so humane in their actions for such a long time.