Reproduced from BGIS Website

Government is moving swiftly to ensure that the public is fully apprised of the contents of its Green Paper on Immigration.

To this end, the Ministry of Labour and Immigration will be holding a series of Town Hall Meetings across the country, beginning next week Thursday, January 14, to explain the policy as contained in the Green Paper, and to seek input from the public.

Four Town Hall Meetings will be held at the following locations:  Solidarity House, Barbados Workers’ Union, January 14; Christ Church Parish Church, Church Hall, January 28; Alexandra School, February 4; and, Princess Margaret Secondary School, February 11.

All meetings will begin at 7:30 p.m., and Prime Minister David Thompson is scheduled to address the first one at Solidarity House.

Senator Arni Walters, the Minister of State in the Ministry of Labour and Immigration, along with senior Immigration Department officials, will be present at each meeting.

It is expected that the public will be better informed about Government’s policy position on immigration matters, which will form the nucleus of the proposed White Paper and any revised legislation.

The Green Paper is currently available for perusal at the Immigration Department, Wharf Road, and the Government Printery on Bay Street, in addition to the main Public Library on Fairchild Street, the City, opposite Independence Square, and at all branch libraries across the island.

Persons may also view it on the Barbados Government Information Service’s web site, http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb

Meanwhile, the Immigration Department is still inviting written input and comments from interested persons and public and private institutions as well as the wider public.

331 responses to “Town Hall Meetings To Discuss Green Paper On Immigration”

1. Islander don’t play that card with me …… It aint working yes I try to be as compassionate for people of all different races but all the things that I have mentioned in a previous post is what I stand for….

I have mentioned this on previous posts but because you are a recent blogger you would not have known that I have hired Guyanese and have gotten cursed on this very blog for it. Moreover, my daughter’s family look more indo-guyanese than some Indo Guyanese.

However, I prefer not to be like Cortez and the Aztecs and call it like I see it!

WHEREVER PEOPLE OF MIXED RACES ARE SITUATED ….. THERE IS ALWAYS RACISM AND MORESO TO THE BLACKS.

I vehemently refuse to be an ass to the reality of Fiji, Trinidad and Tobago and YES I SAID IT RACIST GUYANA! To many of their black natives are crying out for racism for it not to be a reality!

Islander, you think that when these people come here to Barbados in droves that they will not bring their beliefs cultures and oh yeah THEIR HATRED OF BLACKS!

Let me give you a perfect example recently, one of my friend’s cars was struck while parked. It was struck by this brittle looking white lady. You believe that although she was wrong she asked a carwasher to lift her car from my friend’s car! because he said no and informed my friend about what had happened. The woman cursed him so stink telling him to keep his big mouth out of her affairs and that he should not be allowed to wash cars in the car park and a whole heap of derogatory statements. All because he wouldn’t do as she said….. and to make matters worst …. when the police came she asked if the carwasher could be removed from the car park!

I said all of this to say that these people after as you would say 350 years still think WE ARE SHIT! NOT A THING HAS CHANGED ON THEIR PLAYING FIELD!!!

Therefore, as much as I TRY TO respect each blogger since everyone is entitled to their opinion ……. I refuse to be an ass when this is every black man’s reality!

You can call me racist bigot all the nasty things that most black people who think that their are kinder than Jesus Christ himself call me. But we live this reality everyday; furthermore it might sound crazy but it hurts when you show people kindness and they have the pleasure to inform you that you will always be hated, laughed at and scorned!!!!!!!

I aint playing that! So you have failed miserably in your arguments since as a realist the facts are to blatant not to be be TRUE!

2. @ islander

How much longer must we, as black people, turn the other cheek? We have been doing this for centuries because we want to be liked by everyone……wake up and smell the coffee, as a race we are not “liked” by the other races, individuals may forge friendships but “THEY DON”T LIKE US”. They like our money, yes, we spend lots of it in their shops,but that’s it. If the influx of Indians continue , unchecked, eventually what’s occurring in Trinidad will happen here. They are racists, money grabbing and do not give a damn about the country. Do you think that the money they make is put back into the economy? These people take, and take and take but don’t put back!

I am not a racist, “I have Indian friends”, but I love Barbados and would not like to see such a beautiful country destroyed by racial tensions. If this continues, you will wake up one morning to Indian music on the radio, flags planted in the yards, Indian towns, Indian political party, Indian wants, Indian needs….then chaos! Believe me…I know what I am talking about, and it should no be allowed to happen here. Historically, Turning the other cheek has got us nowhere…..let us stand up for what is rightfully ours! Barbados is our country, and wanting to preserve our lifestyle for our future generations is our right!

“Education should wipe out bigotry and ignorance in the long run”….in a perfect world!

3. Islander where the hell a jack ass like you now come from.Do not come here and try to ridicule the contributions of Mash Up & Buy Back,JC & the rest.They were on this issue of illegal immigration for many years on this blog and no johnny come-lately jack ass like you will ever come and belittle the contribution of those individuals.

Islander we black people in Barbados do not want the Indo-Guyanese scums & human waste individuals from blighted Guyana into Black Barbados.Indo Guyanese are intrinsically racist and have deep seated hatred for Black People.

Islander why the hell an idiot like you do not wake up and see the destruction those miscreants have done to Guyana & Trinidad, two of the richest Caribbean countries with an abundance of natural resources ,but two of the poorest countries in the region with a high level of poverty.Blame that situation on the clannish,selfish and racist attitude of the stinking Indians.

Islander.the recent history of Guyana will reveal a shocking display of political tribalism by the racist Bharat Jagdeo Indian dominated government..Political persecution of black Guyanese,the removal of Black Guyanese public officers and replacement of those public officers with Indian Guyanese.The brutal killing of hundreds of Black Guyanese men & boys by the ruthless Guyana Police Force & the Guyana Defence in association with some notorious drug pushers such as Roger khan who is now serving a jail sentence in the USA.

Islander,Barbados is Black dominated country with over 90% of the population of Black African descent.Do you want the Black people of Barbados to stand idle and allow those racist bastards to take over this country and subject us to the horrible treatment my unfortunate Black Guyanese brothers & sisters must endure daily in Guyana?

Islander,the clannish racist behavior of Indo-Guyanese are being manifested daily in Barbados.Indo-Guyanese owned businesses in Barbados are employing only Indo-Guyanese.Islander,I want you to tell me if you know of any Indo-Guyanese business in Barbados that is employing Black People.There is a situation that I have mentioned on a few occasions and I will mention it again.An Indo-Guyanese who came into Barbados about 5 or 6 years has set up a construction company and he has the gall and the temerity to write to our immigration department requesting work permits ONLY FOR INDO-GUYANESE.Some of those Indo-Guyanese are illegal and that individual is trying to bribe many of the senior officers in the ministry of immigration

Barbados has developed into a relatively cohesive society after the post 1937 riots and we have progressed as a nation admirably.The national security of Barbados is at stake with the high influx of non-nationals especially the human pests in the Indo-Guyanese scums & degenerates.We Black people of Barbados do not want the progress we have as made a race of people to be threatened by the presence of the Indo-Guyanese human waste and we will defend the honour of every Black Barbadian by any means necessary including making the ultimate sacrifices.

4. @ JC and VOR

Agreed agreed agreed….to a point , yes we cant keep turning the other cheek, yes there are some like the little old white lady who are trapped in a time zone and believe in some warped way that they are entitled to this world and we are not, yes we dont live in a perfect world, and lolol… no i am not “kinder than jesus”…..however my point is simply this !

How can we then point fingers at these wrongs if we practice the same vile behaviors ? what is the difference between what the little white lady did and said, and us calling the “indo guyanese” and indians and for that matter black jamaicans/guyanese immigrants names and saying all these harsh things ? tell me , what then differentiates us from THEM ? or are u saying “f” that , we are no different lets fight fire with fire and vilify another race or ethnic demographic because we think they shouldnt be here or that we dont understand them…circa 1565 an unnamed slaver ” these creatures have little or nothing to offer us, see how they cling to each other ? therein lies no foundation for improvement, let them wild among us and they will spread like parasite, wilting our very race to nought” compare said statement to the folly that we spout of flags on every corner.

Listen I understand the strains on our social care network, ie school, hospitals ,i understand the strain on our job market, our prisons, our society in general, but answer me , when we were building barbados and we needed the immigrant labor we welcomed them with open arms, see Canada of the 80s and the panama canal, guyana gold rush in the fifties, the west indian migration to britain post war and to the usa when they lost generations to the world and vietnam war ? what if they kicked us (black people) back out when the need was no longer there ?

It is not WHAT YOU DO, IT IS HOW YOU DO IT !

PS. i am not trying to “win” a debate, i crave neither ur acceptence or even ur indulgence, in the end what u do to other human is judged by the creator, who ever so u think he/she is, and the harshest judge in the end is ur inner being ? I dont live in a perfect world, but i dont plan to make it worst by emulating what i know is wrong.

@ BU I have a whole side of my family in Nigeria careful what u read, and the whole immigrant issue in benin especially, but thats a whole other topic, furthermore what do u propose ? Reinhard Heydrich’s final solution ..lolol sorry i dont mean to be tongue and cheek but are you saying that unless there is a perfect world we cant live together ? blacks with blacks, whites with whites, indo guyanese stay in guyana ??? I am curious of ur opinion on mixed race marriages and same sex relationships, actually i may just write an article if u allow me.

5. Negroman

Don’t you trust this Gov’t to sort the immigration problem out?

6. Notice i did not reply to negroman ( i wish he would use a different name by the way ) i am black bro , and I am thank god nothing like you ! u need help brother ! and please dont procreate, u will be doing our race a disservice !!!

Mash and BB, JC VOR am not discounting what u said , all i am saying is that a stament like
    ” Islander we black people in Barbados do not want the Indo-Guyanese scums & human waste individuals from blighted Guyana into Black Barbados”

has no place in an intelligent conversation and, by the way this blog is read by my son and his friends from school, and they have made a special point to ridicule ur bigoted statements, actually u would be pleased to know they used some of ur posts on this blog as discussion points on reverse racism and ancestral conciousness as it relates to deep seated hatred of inverse plantocratic behaviors, i would be delighted for u to tell these teenage history majors why they should dislike each other based on the fact that 1 is indo guyanese 12 are black and 3 are white ….people like you drag me into the gutter to respond but here goes nothing

Negroman i have been reading this blog for yearsssssssss, and i have commented on this issue before, and johnny come lately may have brought a dose of common sense to u and this blog, its called my opinion, and even if its not worth what paddy shot at ? excuse the term cause i am not sure if paddy was white or black (in ur interpretation he may have been shooting at a little black boy) it is my opinion and last i check BU allowed a public forum, not a Nazi like gathering of hatemongers who does bun fyah pun all that is indian, white, asian and polka “f” ing dot …who the hell do u think u are to incite race division in a society that prides itself on being educated and a christain one at that ? how dare u use my race as a flag to spout hatred and bigotry ? how dare u waste the education i paid my hard earned tax dollars to give u, how dare u tell me i dont matter , my voice doesnt count ? ITS EXACTLY AS I SAID, PEOPLE LIKE YOU, SADDAM, ADOLF, MUGABE AND DE HEAD TEACHER FROM THE GARRISON SCHOOL SHOULD NEVER BE LEADERS IF NOT WE ALL WOULD SUFFER….bye now, i am headed back to the high road.

7. Islander

simple question: Do you think that it would be a “good” thing, an undesirable thing or of no consequence, if a large number of persons of Indian ethnicity were to immigrate into Barbados?

8. ahhhhhhh, a civilized post..

@anonymous

As i said before its not what u do, its how u do it …My answer to ur question is that it would not be a good thing for the peacefulness of the society, or it would not be a good thing if we want to keep barbados as “bajan” anytime u displace the demographics of a society, be it with indians or african snails we will have a problem, so NO ( u find that suprising JC?) i wouldnt think it would be a good thing ! however i dont think it would be a good thing for a large number of negro ethnicity to migrate to say, switzerland/denmark ( see african migration issues of eastern europe) or a large group of the causican persuasion to migrate here….

All i am saying anonymous, is that we need to treat these people better, even if we are asking them to leave, the mark of a true leader is one who can feed u bitters that taste like lemonade, dont burst into homes at 3.30 am and grab people, dont call them indian scum like negro man , just be human, and treat them like humans, thats all i am saying, balance not heavyhandedness thats all i am preaching…its not what u do, its how u do it !

9. Islander

so you really are in agreement with Negroman i.e. “No more Indians in Barbados” but would rather we said it politely!

10. Islander
    Negroman has openly stated his dislike for Indians. That has made some (you included ?) label him a racist ignorant hatemonger. Anyway, given his openly stated visceral dislike of Indians, he logically disapproves of an increased emigration of Indians to Barbados. So what in your opinion is wrong with Indians that makes you also disapprove of increasing numbers of Indians here?

11. It is a shame that your children are just that CHILDREN! When they grow up and travel abroad and here in Barbados they will certainly know the harsh reality of being seen as nothing but BLACK!

Not kind, not tolerant but just black! Talking to you and your kind is like pulling a tooth that is deeply rooted and no matter how hard the dentist tries the damn tooth comes out in pieces!

You all remind me of the Empreor who had no clothes but no dared tell him that he was naked!

When your children are reading and debating about this blog …Tell them to debate Alice in Wonderland because that is what you and your kind are!

Stupes Silly lot!

12. lololol….hhahaha

thats a bit childish anonymous, and pointless i must add, no i am not agreement with that bigot, I said any any displacement of a countrys’ demographic is bad, i never said no more indians in barbados, i actually have a close friend who is indian, born bajan, and by hanging out with him i noticed the major cultural differences we have, he however is only attracted to black women, lolol… i wonder what his son will do when he gets older and people like negro man tell him he has to make a choice between he father and his mother in our ongoing “race war”

a simple question for u anonymous

Do u think all those west indians who migrated to britain should be repatriated, or kicked out unceremoniously ? while all the while being called negro scum and waste ? see negroman’s comments ?

13. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Negroman my boy,

They come on this site ever so often usually with different names but saying the same thing:

1.That BU is racist for allowing us to speak out against the large influx of racist indians who are running from their country filled with deep seated prjudice against blacks;

2.That Negroman ,Mash Up and others are vile for pointing out the racist behaviour of indians even when they have come here penniless and are now flourishing thanks to this ‘open door policy’.

3. That we black bajans should live and let live with these indo implants even though they don’t practise same in their home country.

Check out Annalee Davis,Thomas Greesham aka Avinash Persaud,Sister Baby,and others.

They take on different incarnations;now we have another incarnation – Islander – who wants to educate us’foolish blacks who cannot see his point of view’.

If not for BU,Negroman,Jc and others like myself this influx of immigrants would have been in real crisi proportion,if it isn’t already.

14. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

W e need to keep fighting the good fight because like David said above this Government seem to have put the Immigration matter on the back burner.

Lord help us!

15. @ JC

First u need to settle urself and calm down, high blood pressure and heart disease is brought on by stress, necessary and unnecessary .

I am sure u have no idea of what time I spent in a white majority ruled country where i was seen as nutin but de black boy from Barbados ( where is that ? is that in jamaica?)
    stupes, shut up with dat victim mentality BS, I went thru all dat BS and what ? I ain never leaving out my grand mother teachings ” do unto others as u will have them do unto u”

“Alice in Wonderland” ? hahhaa ( nice movie by the way) no not at all, i have forgiven and released all those who have hurt our race from my bonds of hatred ( and trussssssst me, when yuh eating plain pasta for a week and still gotta play bball every day 2wce a day, study and get call coconut too?) yuh does hate ! nuff !

I will not travel into my old age as a cynical old man, or like negro man a hate filled racist bigot, I advocate for change in this world my fren, and i start where i know i can make a change, with me !

JC release urself and ur cynicism will go with ur hatreds…

OH AND BY THE WAY a little lesson to u, children of the information age(the age we live in) are not just children, that my fren is one of the fundamental issues with our society, we are not evolving ….times have changed, people have changed..yes mi fren, the playing field is a changing one also !

16. I certainly do not advocate for the removal of West Indians from Britain nor do I advocate for restricted emigration of West Indians or Africans or Indians to Britain. You however have stated that “it would not be a good thing for the peacefulness of the society, or it would not be a good thing if we want to keep barbados as “bajan” anytime u displace the demographics of a society, be it with indians or african snails we will have a problem”. (By the way did you have to compare Indians to African snails?) So you have nice words, an Indian friend or two but really are no different from Negroman just more “polished”.

17. Islander,

I used to be like you. I used to get very nervous when I noticed that anti immigrant sentiment, especially anti Indian sentiment, was growing in Barbados. Because of some things I have experienced and read lately, I have seen the light and think the time has come to close the gate to most immigrants.

You should have your son and his friends read up on the story about an Indian man who hired a hit man to murder his African American daughter-in-law, because he felt it was shameful to have a Black person in the family. His daughter-in-law was stabbed over a dozen times, strangled, and had her throat slit, all because that Indian man who migrated to her country doesn’t like Blacks. Note, he worked as a professor at a historically Black college and ran a supermarket in or near a Black neighborhood. He wanted money from Blacks, but didn’t want any in the family. Read the following article and others about the case online.

http://www.nriinternet.com/NRI_Murdered/USA/A_Z/R/Chiman_Rai/index.htm

18. Man you are putting your foot in your mouth, “reverse racism” that is what you are teaching your children and their friends LOL. That is ignorant beyond belief. It is SIMPLY RACISM if anything lol, “reverse racism” lol lol lol. American tv really teaches you a lot foolish phrases. hahahahahhahhaha. Lost me at that point with your argument about intelligent conversation.

But continue, you are saying the same thing, and anonymous is playing devil’s advocate very well. I suppose he is really trying to get to the bottom or your reasoning as oppose to your talk.

19. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Islander sounds just like a poster called Thomas greesham.

He is not I believe a black person.

Notice NO OTHER RACE takes the approach that they insist black people adopt: that is,turn the other cheek,live and let live,while all the while the other racial groups,poking out your eye.

But then,we will we ‘nice,educated, black people if we do that’.

Of course the other races will say nice things about us and may even invite us occasionaly to a social event.

To be liked to some people,seem more important than to BE RIGHT!

20. tsk tsk tsk, here we go ! the usually generation of the issues into a childish incantation of hey it me against the world, us against them, stupse !!!! its actually the same way u deal with all the issues on this thread once u greet any opposition, anyway go ahead, band together now form a circle like custer ( he lost his head by the way) do u really want me to educate u ? ok…..

this particular type of behavior has been psychoanalyzed by (BLACK) psychologists as a type of victim mentality which seems to be etched into (OUR) psychi , so we blame everything on the system and being black… it has been further expounded that this was actually done purposely to keep our people down and control our minds , thus instead of looking for solutions we lash out using base reactions like violence , hatemongering etcetc .. we even then when placed in a position of superiority perpetuate the same sins unto another race !

“The second step was to implant in the bondsmen [slaves] themselves a consciousness of personal inferiority. They had to know and keep their places, to feel the difference between master and slave, to understand that bondage [slavery] was their natural status. They had to feel that African ancestry tainted them, that their colour was a badge of degradation.” [Plantation and Frontier, pp108-11, De Bow’s Review V11, 1849]

“We must understand where we are, and why we are here and what was done in the process, it is by understanding the behavioural conditioning involved, we can regain what we have lost and not see “blackness” as a negative condition but a reason to help others of like kind.”

Negro man have u misunderstood or misinterpreted this statement ?

“The “crux” of the matter is, should we hate anyone because of the foregoing? NO! hate involves a waste of emotional energy. What we should endeavour to do is help our brothers, there are many ways. Be prudent where and with whom you spend your hard earned cash, encouragement in business, support their businesses, emotional support, it is with these activities and positive interactions help can be offered. Do not expect reciprocity just remember you are dealing with hundreds of years of conditioning”.

SO WE CAN SHED THE SHACKLES AND ENFRANCHISE OURSELVES, TEACH OUR CHILDREN TO BE VIGILANT AND REMEMBER BUT NOT TO HATE AS IT EATS FROM WITHIN AND WILL ! HOLD U BACK IN THEIR ENDEAVORS …Be quick to find solutions and not point fingers of blame

21. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Young Bajan

Thank you for that article.

I wish a lot more black bajans,especially young black bajans would read it.

Indians although black skinned themselves don’t see them self as blacks.

You hear story after story of indians refusing to allow their children to marry a person of african descent,because they consider them inferior.

22. lololol @ Young bajan …yes yes yes …i heartily agree with u about that phrase “reverse racism” and i only adopted it for the purpose of this forum ( notice no one else attacked that) i felt that it would have saved me some typing as they would readily understand what i mean..lolol u r right my fren, dey ain nuttin called reverse racism, its racism regardless…. and i did point this out to my son and his frens

however my point is that I will at no time become a racist ( as i know what it feels like to be dicriminated against) i will at no point practice class segregation based on wealth, education or any other basis ( i remember being called one of the “wild boys from the village” as a youngster and not being able to play with a good school fren for his parents t o know )

and i will continue to say that anyone who generalizes a whole race as scum, or waste is astutely ignorant and needs help..

and yes i actually enjoyed sparring with anonymous, and yes i do see him/her trying to play devils advocate but i have a few hours to use up…

23. mash and buy back i have a fren whose dad didnt allow them to date white girls and disowned his son for getting one pregnant…ur point ?

i know a white school fren who shot his asian girl fren ?

i know indians in barbados hwo are married to black men, and some who r not because they family didnt allow it..

i know black parents who dont want their children to hang out with poor children or in some case black children for that matter…

godddd ! where does it end ? for each story of some indian killing or disowning some black, or some white, i can quote the reverse !

do u know why ?

because we all ain nuh different from de udder !

de BLP ain nuh different from de DLP ! a st george student ain nuh different from a cawmerian ..one just get more opportunity and treat different by society…all we is de same ?

tell me wuh is de diffrerence between the KKK doctrine of a white america and what negro man saying ?

24. Settle myself stupse listen man when I first started this conversation I made sure to say that although I sometimes don’t agree with what is said by fellow bloggers I must respect their opinions!

I didn’t even think about you at lunch; therefore, I could not have stress not over you and your children’s opinion of me and my so called racist kind!

Stupse don’t worry about me sweetie, you remind me of Mandela who forgave Boltha but not Winnie! Stupse!

Devils advocate at its best MURDER LOL! LOLOLOL

25. hope u had a good lunch though, mandela ? wow ! u people have some deep seated issues,

26. ( u find that suprising JC?) i wouldnt think it would be a good thing ! however i dont think it would be a good thing for a large number of negro ethnicity to migrate to say, switzerland/denmark ( see african migration issues of eastern europe) or a large group of the causican persuasion to migrate here….

Ha hahahahah you remember recently that in Russia that blacks were being beaten for being there????? hahahahahaha

At least we are being ‘disciplined and humane’ unlike Russia where BLACKS are beaten just for showing there faces!!!!!!!

I guess you would say cud dear!!!!!!!!!!!

Typical Anti black!!!!!!

You are indeed silly!!!!!!

27. btw, there is a technique in debating called “the reverse trap” it constitute u allowing urself to be drawn into a dicourse leading one direction(the trap) only to use the situation to expose a blatant flaw in ur ooponents argument

Anonymous:I certainly do not advocate for the removal of West Indians from Britain nor do I advocate for restricted emigration of West Indians or Africans or Indians to Britain

then why would u advocate for the removal of the indo guyanese population of barbados

28. islander // March 9, 2010 at 2:32 PM

Typical you to run with just the Mandela part LOL as my daughter would say “I did that on purple/purpose.” Murder lOLOLOLOLOL

HAHHAHAHAH!

29. Ha hahahahah you remember recently that in Russia that blacks were being beaten for being there????? hahahahahaha

At least we are being ‘disciplined and humane’ unlike Russia where BLACKS are beaten just for showing there faces!!!!!!!

I guess you would say cud dear!!!!!!!!!!!

Typical Anti black!!!!!!

You are indeed silly!!!!!!

Thats my point

ITS NOT WHAT U DO, ITS HOW U DO IT !

30. THATS THE POINT I AM TRYING SOOO VERY HARD TO MAKE
    i dont agree that any society should have to deal with a group of any ethnicity invading their country ! however u dont beat them and curse them and treat them like dogs, u do unto others as… ?

everyone deserves to be treated humanely

31. Are you referring to the Russians when you say ………..

ITS NOT WHAT U DO, ITS HOW U DO IT !

LOL!

I love BU these people loving those who don’t give a shit about them!

Ask Bizzy’s wife oh lord murder!!!!!!!!

32. Wait Islander you hear me say that I should treat people like shite? Or like how they treat us EVERY DAY!!!!!!

I am saying that if there is no managed migration policy we will regret it!!!!!

I will never condone bullshit NEVER!

33. With all due respect, this discussion is losing the focus of what is to be done in regard to the implementation of an immigration policy and it’s impacts.

34. and JC i agree with u on the latter, however not on the former, we do need a managed immigration policy and it cant include the maltreatment of indo guyanese because they are indo guyanese, and lolol no i do not condone what is going on in russia…and lolol i definitely ain getting in between bizzy and he wife and who love who and who doan like she fuh he …dat is 2 people bizness dat in a relationship who am i to judge dem….look a girl tell me de udda day, “my marriage can never work cause my wife is jamaican, and she gine mek me smell shite” lol..she has never met my wife ….all i am say JC is that yes we need action, but the way the immigration dept handles things and the level of bigotry that we have arising in this country is scary as hell ! and beleive it or not (besides negroman) i actually was the one playing the devils advocate here, and what did it show me ? that we have lots of deep seated hatred between races lying latent like snakes in de grass and it is also shameful that adults and leaders show this same path to our children, who as u know are only too happy to grab a flag and run !

35. @islander

All of your comments so far have been built on a flawed premise. The reason why there was rising anti-Indo Guyanese sentiment was linked to the open immigration policy of the previous government. The people became fearful as you would expect. That is why the BU family has been advocating for a managed migration policy and the reason why the white paper on immigration was born.

36. YB You are correct I willl not continue on my path I will just deal strictly with the Immigration Policy!

Sorry Just having some fun!!!

37. Here is something interesting to get the conversation back on track. I said recently under an “anonymous” posting that I was through with this issue, but it is kind of hard to move away from it.

A White woman from the UK who has been married to a White Bajan man for nearly two years posted a comment on Britishexpats.com today stating that she has been issued a three year work permit to work in Barbados pending getting citizenship.

In the past, if I am not mistaken, an immigrant married to a Bajan had to wait until the granting of citizenship to start working. I think the Green Paper, which I haven’t read in a while, states that the government is contemplating allowing people to work while completing the two year marriage requirement. This woman said the Immigration officer told her citizenship won’t be granted until the three year work permit expires.

I have attached the link that contains the woman’s comment about what transpired when she went to Immigration.

http://britishexpats.com/forum/showthread.php?t=658572

The government is saying and doing a lot of conflicting things.

In the future if you want to see what some White immigrants are saying about Bajans, go to Britishexpats.com, click on “Discussion Forum,” scroll down to “Rest of the World,” click on “Caribbean,” and then click on “Barbados.” They often say things that aren’t nice and usually ban Bajans who try to defend Bajans on the site. They say the site is for expats. They don’t hesitate to tell Bajans what to do in Barbados, though. lol

38. @Bim Girl

You are correct that the parties will be allowed to work during the period of cohabitation now recommended at two years.

BU is familiar with that website. It is run by an iron moderator named Serendipity we think.

39. Serendipity was just deported, according to her. I think she is back in the UK. I don’t feel sorry for her.

On one hand, I think allowing people who are married to Bajans to start working right away is a good thing, because many couples can’t afford to live on one income today. On the other hand, however, I know many con men and women will use this new rule to get a work permit easily.

Something that struck me though is that the government presented the Green Paper as something they wanted Bajans to read and give them feedback on before they implemented new rules, when in reality they started implementing new rules that are recommendations in the Green Paper before the town hall meetings started. The woman on Britishexpats.com said she received a letter dated in January stating she could start working. The town hall meetings started in January.

What was the point of the town hall meetings if the government had already decided what would be done? Why didn’t the government just announce the new rules and skip the town hall meetings?

40. There is a rising melancholy at each passing Tow Hall Meeting that is is simply window dressing. One just has to compare the promotion of the Constituency Council and Constituency meeting to the Tow Halls on immigration. The writing is clear, come election we will see what the people feel about the over promise on this issue.

41. Correction. I shouldn’t have said Serendipity was deported. Her work permit was not renewed and she had to leave. There is a difference.

42. It makes me wonder if it is too late when I read articles like this in what is suppose to be a BARBADOS newspaper……….

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/Hindu-Phagwah-celebrations-copy-for-web

HINDUS IN BARBADOS want to spread their religion and customs throughout the country to the point of convincing Government to grant national holidays for the observance of Hindu festivals.

On Sunday at Phagwah celebrations, organised by the Guyana Hindu Society in Barbados at the Hindu Temple, Welches, St Michael, the priest of the temple Thakoor Prashad told the DAILY NATION: “In future, if Barbadians learn about this culture how it can bring about peace, unity and prosperity in this country, I would be very happy as a priest to join with all the people in Barbados to celebrate this festival with love.”

He said it was the sixth consecutive year that the temple had put on festivities to commemorate the Hindu festival of spring, which celebrates the triumph of good over evil. It is also observed by Buddhists and Sikhs.

“It started 40 days ago and continued until this day. Actually, we are supposed to play with ash, the ash from the burning of the Holika, which signifies the burning away of the evils.

“We are supposed to rejoice and play with the ash and the red colour which we call abeer [red power] and water,” Prashad said.

Considering that Phagwah was a national holiday in Guyana, for example, Prashad said the Guyana Hindu Society here was yet to approach the local Government for such a concession. (SR)”
    ———————————————–

I want to say emphatically that this “Guyana society” must be absolutely nuts to try something like this.If you want your “observance” why not go where it is already recognized……in Guyana.It makes me wonder if this is being done on purpose to hurt the image of Barbados & to have a more conciliatory Government.Just like what has happen currently in Australia.They can already observe the day,why is a “national holiday required” ?

http://english.people.com.cn/90001/90777/90851/6908042.html

43. Islander
    I am amazed at the confused state you are in.What kind of a man are you?

Islander,you came on site with your stated point of view on this illegal immigration issue and because of criticism and the exposure of your weak,nonsensical position on the issue,you have made a 360 degree turn around.Man you must defend your point of views.

Anonymous,I have no confidence whatsoever in David Thompson & Democratic Labour Party ever getting it right on this illegal immigration issue.This government has sent too many mixed signals on this issue for me to even contemplate thinking that anything effective will ever be done to combat the influx of illegals in Barbados.

Anonymous,an amnesty was offered last year for those illegals who came into Barbados prior to January 1998 or in other words illegal Caribbean immigrants who were here for ten years or more were eligible for the amnesty.Fierce opposition was raised by many people in this society such as Norman Faria,David Comissiong,Ricky Singh,Annalee Davis & others.David Comissiong was very vocal on the point of the previous government had a policy in place that once an illegal was able to live in Barbados for a period of 5 years or more then some level of status must be given to that individual.Comissiong laboured on that point continuously and he was able to eventually force the present inept,confused government to honour that agreement.I know what I am talking about because a very senior government official who works with immigration matters and particularly with the drafting of the new immigration policy has outlined to me that his hands are practically tied and there is little or nothing he can do to deny status to many of the applications he received daily.He said the 5 year period was agreed on by this present administration when David Thompson had talks with David Comissiong & Norman Faria.I said it before and I will say it again the amnesty that was proposed last year was altered by David Thompson and it is now a 5 year period for illegal immigrants to benefit from that amnesty.

I WANT DAVID THOMPSON AND HIS GOVERNMENT TO DENY THAT ALTERATIONS WERE MADE TO THE AMNESTY PROPOSED LAST YEAR & THE QUALIFYING PERIOD IS NOW 5 YEARS DAVID THOMPSON COME & DENY THIS CHARGE.

David Thompson is a weak knee leader who has to sing for his supper that is being supply by the rat catcher/mango seller Indians in Barbados such as the Chief Rat Catcher Mrs Ram of Furniture Limited fame,Peter Harris,Abdul Pandor,Chatrani & the rest of Indians.He also has to dance to the tunes that are being supply by the expatriate whites of Barbados and the local Barbadian white population.

David Thompson is a gutless,expatriate,half caste mutant Prime Minister of Barbados.He has no backbone.

44. David Thompson just made the crappiest appointment,that of harry husbands as minister with responsibility for Immigration.

Harry husabands and norman faria are buddy-buddy,and faria was boasting just the other day of how far they go back.

Harry husbands is so shallow and has not demonstrated that he is on the side of the majority of bajans on this immigration issue.

This is utter crap.

Esther suckoo is a lightweight and cannot handle a ministry especially a difficult one as the ministry of labour.

One thing I am glad is that chris sinckler is now the leader of government business,ronald jones has not been coming up to scratch.

But harry husbands having responsibility for immigration,with corrupt Gilbert greaves at his side my goodness.

Let’s hope when they rearrange permanent secrataries next week,that they move out Gilbert greaves from defence and secretary and immigration.

45. @ negroman …my man i dun wid u and dis foolishness, u have serious issues…

Yes apparently this is the course the Bdos Gov is going by issuing 3 year work and resides ….i think its a very fair position to take while they investigate each particular situation..Here is how the system works

U pay ur 800 dollars and make application for citizenship by marriage
    Apparently this application is then left for one year purposely to be sure that this isnt a marriage of convenience, during this time no investigation or processing is done..
    after year is up they start to process the app… and it does take approx 3 years to come to fruition.

i think this maybe a good way to operate as some legitimate couple do need the 2 incomes and the opportunities to exist.

On another point, can Prime Minister Thompson’s reshuffling of his cabinet not be seen as being proactive to a cabinet not working up to optimum performance ? or will anyone who just supports another party see it as reactive and incompetent…i think (as an A-Political barbadian ) that he is being pro active…

dont get me wrong , i am not a blinded DT supporter, as I can tell u i hate how he has handled the Immigration issue.

46. @ BU

what can be more flawed than supporting or fighting against any initiative based on which political party one supports ? i mean are u saying that the other side is always wrong ? lololol…

47. Here is David Comissiong’s latest position writing in his capacity as head of the People’s Empowerment Movement (PEP)

THE GREAT IMMIGRATION HOAX!

In this era of recession, economic contraction and deflation, what the Barbados economy most desperately needs is a concrete and practical strategy for economic growth. And it is clear that the most likely arena in which Barbados can pursue such a growth strategy is in relation to the pan-Caribbean market and economy. Yet, this is precisely the time that the myopic Government of Barbados has chosen to turn its back on the Caribbean, to engage in an anti-CARICOM immigration policy, and to evict hundreds of hard working and productive workers and consumers from Barbados!

At present, the Immigration Department of Barbados is pursuing the most rigid and heartless policy against undocumented CARICOM migrants, and is routinely rejecting the applications of virtually all CARICOM migrants who have applied for Immigrant Status.

Just last year, the Prime Minister gave undocumented CARICOM migrants who came to Barbados after the 1st of January 1998, the assurance that if they filed applications for Immigrant Status that they would be treated fairly and every application would be judged on its individual merit.

Well, it is said that "a promise is a comfort to a fool” and our Immigration Department is in the process of turning the hundreds of CARICOM citizens who took the Prime Minister at his word into fools. The harsh reality is that the applications are not being judged on merit, and that the Immigration Department is simply rejecting the applications out of hand.

This is resulting in persons who have been living in Barbados for as long as eleven years, and who are gainfully employed and have children who were born in Barbados, being ordered to pack up their children and leave this country! How any of this is helping Barbados only God knows!

It seems as though the members of the present Administration have some-how gotten it into their heads that they can alleviate Barbados’ economic woes by expelling the so-called undocumented Caribbean "foreigners" among us. They seem to believe that the best way to solve the unemployment problem and to deal with the fiscal dilemma is to evict Caribbean "foreigners" who work in Barbados and access education, health care and housing.

Indeed, they seem to be so enamoured of this anti-CARICOM migrant strategy that they have even drawn up a "Green Paper" on Immigration Reform, in which they are proposing to alter the Barbados Constitution in order to deny citizenship to the children of certain categories of migrants who are born in Barbados, and to the spouses of native born Barbadians.

All of this constitutes a foolish and unintellectual approach to economic management, and a tragic repudiation of Barbados’ shining and unrivalled reputation as a leader in the Caribbean integration movement . Economic development is not a ‘zero sum game’ in which in order for one person to gain a job, another person must necessarily lose a job! Indeed, the typical scenario is that migrants enter the work force and help to grow the economy, to increase the ‘Gross Domestic Product’, and to play a catalytic role in the multiplication of job opportunities.

It is not surprising therefore that the period of the greatest influx of CARICOM migrants to Barbados was the period of Barbados’ most robust economic growth, and the era in which unemployment sunk to its lowest level in the history of Barbados.

It is not surprising either that with the continuing departure of hundreds of CARICOM migrants that a large number of Barbadian shops, small supermarkets, landlords and private schools are beginning to feel the pinch and have started to suffer from a significant loss of business.

Simply put, our anti-CARICOM migrant policy is causing a further contraction or deflation in the Barbados economy, at a time when what we desperately need are anti-deflation, pro-growth policies! Thus, the Government is going in the wrong direction, and is doing far more harm than good to the Barbadian economy and society.

Our anti-CARICOM immigration policies are also going to make it much more difficult for Barbados to reach out to and engage with other Caribbean countries in a pro-growth regional economic strategy from which Barbados will derive the lion’s share of benefits.

As our government continues to paint Barbados into a small, isolated anti-CARICOM corner, the government of Trinidad & Tobago continues to reach out to its Eastern Caribbean neighbours, and to pursue a pro-Caribbean migrant strategy that may eventually lead to a lock in of the Eastern Caribbean economies with Trinidad & Tobago. Barbados could very well find itself on the outside looking in.

Truly, where there is no vision the people perish!

DAVID A. COMISSIONG

48. LOL. Read today’s Nation newspaper online. There are two articles about different groups of Nigerians who can’t seem to get out of Barbados. David Commissiong has been unsuccessful in getting the nine Nigerians he asked the government to release from prison after they overstayed their time on flights home. Now a Nigerian woman who worked as a nurse at the Queen Elizabeth hospital just dropped off her 3 Nigerian children at the Barbados Child Care Board, because she claims she can’t care for them.

Now, not only do Bajan have to come up with money to get the original 9 Nigerians home, but now have to look for money to get this Nigerian woman and her 3 children home.

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/LEADnigerian–children-in-custody-copy-for-web

http://www.nationnews.com/news/local/nine-nigerians-still-here-FRONT-PAGE-OTHER

I don’t have a problem with some Nigerians living and working in Barbados, but they need to come through proper channels.

49. Does this mean the credibility of Commissiog is through the window and the public should not take him seriously?

How about a blog titled ;Commisiong Continues To Over-promise And Under-deliver’

50. How about a blog titled ;Commisiong Continues To Over-promise And Under-deliver’

I for sure, will not have a problem reading such a blog.

By the way, where in your archives can I find the one titled; “Thompson Continues To Over-promise And Under-deliver”? 🙂