Reproduced from BGIS Website

Government is moving swiftly to ensure that the public is fully apprised of the contents of its Green Paper on Immigration.

To this end, the Ministry of Labour and Immigration will be holding a series of Town Hall Meetings across the country, beginning next week Thursday, January 14, to explain the policy as contained in the Green Paper, and to seek input from the public.

Four Town Hall Meetings will be held at the following locations:  Solidarity House, Barbados Workers’ Union, January 14; Christ Church Parish Church, Church Hall, January 28; Alexandra School, February 4; and, Princess Margaret Secondary School, February 11.

All meetings will begin at 7:30 p.m., and Prime Minister David Thompson is scheduled to address the first one at Solidarity House.

Senator Arni Walters, the Minister of State in the Ministry of Labour and Immigration, along with senior Immigration Department officials, will be present at each meeting.

It is expected that the public will be better informed about Government’s policy position on immigration matters, which will form the nucleus of the proposed White Paper and any revised legislation.

The Green Paper is currently available for perusal at the Immigration Department, Wharf Road, and the Government Printery on Bay Street, in addition to the main Public Library on Fairchild Street, the City, opposite Independence Square, and at all branch libraries across the island.

Persons may also view it on the Barbados Government Information Service’s web site, http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb

Meanwhile, the Immigration Department is still inviting written input and comments from interested persons and public and private institutions as well as the wider public.

331 responses to “Town Hall Meetings To Discuss Green Paper On Immigration”

1. Enuff

Please point your detractors to the number of constituencies in St. Micahel and Christ Church, and then have them compare them to the rest of the country. Man looka space is not the problem, again it is resource planning…!

2. Yes there is space, but that space is not available to or reserved for the average Bajan or Caricom immigrant.

That would therefore mean that you will have to cram them into the existing occupied areas, unless I am mistaken and your focus is not on the average Caricom immigrant.

Then we would still have a problem, since the wealthy residents tend not to buy localgoods.

3. Yes there is space, but that space is not available to or reserved for the average Bajan or Caricom immigrant.

That would therefore mean that you will have to cram them into the existing occupied areas, unless I am mistaken and your focus is not on the average Caricom immigrant.

Then we would still have a problem, since the wealthy residents tend not to buy local goods.

4. There is a Resolution tabled by Barbados’ Prime Minister in Waiting – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P., – calling on Government to debate Greame Hall.

The record will show that when the BLP left ofice it had reduced unemployment from 24.2% to 6.7%.

You create jobs by growing the economy. There must be relationship between the creation of enterprise and entitlements.

Here is more – Foreign Direct Investment, an Offshore Oil Exploration Programme, a sugar cane industry, a gree economy, and revise financial services sector.

I will go on the BLP’s webpage and post Miss Mottley’s vision next.

Hold on for the link:

5. Mia’s Vision

“Re-imagining Our Future”

“At our Party’s recently concluded Annual Conference, our Political Leader Mia Amor Mottley laid out her vision for Barbados over the next two decades. Today we present some of the highlights of her address.

“The Barbados economy has been well shepherded for most of the past forty years, but past success no longer foretells future success…the world has changed. It will no longer be enough for us as Barbadians to keep our house in order. We must now contend with the success of other countries.

For forty years we delivered 3-4% growth in economic activity and this was enough to sparkle in our neck of the woods.

Our levels of growth compared well to the large, developed economies of both hemispheres.

But recently something has happened. In the last few years emerging markets have shifted a couple gears.

China and India, once desperately poor countries, now post 10% growth rates per year every year.

Today our 3-4% growth remains above par within the Caribbean, but is now below par relative to the rest of the world. This means three new things.

First, our image as a successful developing economy is being usurped.

Second, the image of dynamic, fast growing opportunities elsewhere will lure our youth and talent abroad.

Third, the example of other developing countries has redrawn the possible and demands that we re-imagine our future.

Our development strategy needs to be adapted to reflect our reality.

We import $3.4 billion in goods each year and earn only about $2.3 billion leaving a deficit each year of over $1 billion.

We have financed that deficit largely through the attraction of foreign private capital for real estate-based tourism projects.

While that approach has worked reasonably well for us and will continue to do so for about another decade, there is a finite amount of land that can generate the sustained attraction of that capital.

Tourism will face a limit on the basis of our carrying capacity and it is likely that this will be in our lifetime.

We therefore need to broaden our productive base, be it the offshore energy sector, a diversified international business sector with more opportunities for our artistes and sportsmen, our educators, our health practitioners and generally our professionals.

And in doing so, we must create real opportunities for the creation of wealth for as many Barbadians as we can.

The nurturing of small businesses, especially in the services sector, will be critical to our future.

Exploiting these new initiatives will take as much as a decade so we have no time to waste if there is not to be a hiatus in our development.

Our politics must be strategic and less tribal, must not be so conceived as to dismiss 50% of the population in the course of nation building.

We cannot have a 20th century government and 20th century politics catering to the needs of a 21st century population.

By far however the biggest challenge of our generation will be to engage in a National Conversation designed to boost our individual self-confidence and self-esteem. This has traditionally not been seen as a priority for governments.

However, it affects whether we are prepared to take the risk to invest overseas.

It affects how we treat each other in the workplace, it affects how much we produce, it affects how we care for each other, it affects our levels of confidence whether we like ourselves and by extension other people.

We must resolve it in order to progress.

This is not a trial run, a practice match, a dress rehearsal, this is the real thing and Barbados needs and Barbadians deserve an active, pro-active government with a strategy to put us back on par with the best, not with the rest.” – Mia Amor Mottley, Q.C., M.P.,

6. David,
    Apologies for the double post, but what is it about Chromium that you do not like? Every single post is moderated

I switched to Firefox after the moderation notice and the same post that was being moderated went through immediately.

7. We have now reach a stage in Barbados when the DLP is accusing the BLP for all and any mold found on any building anywher is barbados.

This is only slightly worst than Suckoo saying to Barbadians that in order to save electricy – they should pull out the fridge plug when not in use.

8. LOL LOL, still does explain why your party has not created any jobs, or you “waiting and seeing” ??
    Yes your statistics are fantastic but pointless if you are not providing any hard numbers to work with. And on the other pointless note, those thing were accomplished in a very big boom time not ” the worst recession since 1930″.

As for GHNS, waiting for a debate, why debate now. Why wasn’t that debated 15 years ago?? After all UWI and school in Barbados use it for research and tour, generating the same economic growth you are talking about, and tourist visited it too. So you comment on that is simply a waste of time and more hot air. But researchers from overseas would not have wanted to spend money doing research there in collaboration with UWI, guess not huh??

Try again. Not impressed.

FDI, hmmmm, we see how dependency on that gets us. Lots of projects dried up real fast, don’t mind that the DLP seems to be getting some started again. No i am not a DLP wig.

OIL, don’t make me laugh. Look how far that gets many countries. The ones that own it benefit more than those who have it in their back yard, but how can you promote green and OIL all in the same sentence. Choose what you are pursuing and choose wisely. Short term investment gets this country no where fast, there have to be long term goals.

After all you had a debate with me about global warming and it’s impact on SIDS. So is oil really the way we want to go?? Fishermen should pack up their boats and we should import a little more water?? we know full well how these oil companies behave when there is not strict oversight and a desire to reap monetary rewards quickly.

I’m young DON’T bring short sighted aspirations to me.

9. Alex Fergusson // January 15, 2010 at 5:29 PM

Mia’s Vision

“Re-imagining Our Future”

————————————————-

Who’s future Alex. The only body’s future Mia envisions is hers, and so far no matter how many makeovers she undergoes it seems like so many people and things are against her.

Church to fight against Bashment culture : Mia endorses the bashment culture with her BLP candidate in Hammie Lah’s constituency

The Medical Fraternity, is concern with the level of obesity in Barbados. Mia, well she losing weight right?

The Surgion general declared that smoking causes cancer. Has Mia given up smoking or cut back somewhat?

Everybody knows that this latest Mia Mottley commentry is coming from a document delivered to her since 2004. Meaning she sat on it for 4 and now thinks that she can resurrect it on the pretence of helping Barbadians when it is clear it helps her only. Rhetoric only; Mia Mottley is not “fit” to lead anyone anywhere.

10. Read again, Sir.

11. @ Adrain Hinds,

With the economy in perilous crisis, we have now reach a stage in Barbados where the DLP is accusing the BLP of being responsible for all and any mold found on any building anywhere in Barbados.

He is not a doctor, a nurse, an engineer, a counsellor or trained in search and rescue – yet thompson goes on tour in Haiti, just for a photo op and you blame the leader of her Majesty’s Loyal Opposition – The Hon. Mia Amor Mottley Q.C., M.P., for his bad political gimmick, which is in poor taste.

How could you Adrain Hinds

12. @ Adrian Hinds,

I do not ever recall Thompson having a vision, do you?

13. The Nation article on that guyanese woman who was asked to leave is so full of unlawful stuff that it is no wonder she was asked to leave. I thought a company would have to file for a work permit and if successful, that permit is only for the particular employer. Then why should a lawyer have to file for a work permit , unless it was for that particulr lawyer? Is she the first wife/woman whose husband/man is working in a country while the spose is living in another? Or school system is being filled with many guyanese children, just now or very own children will be forced out of our school system. We are going down the wrong road.

14. @Alex Fergusson

The next time I see the PM. I will tell him that you were looking for him.

15. @Xman

“What are the population densities of Antigua, Grenada, and the other eastern Caribbean islands?”

Grenada is 132/sq mile; St.Lucia 672/sq mile; Antigua & Barbuda 793/sq mile; Dominica 272/sq mile.

They all boast far lower population densities than Barbados AND smaller economies (GDP, income per capita) and of course rank lower on the UN HDI.

It is worthy to note that after Barbados, comes Antigua, St. Lucia then Dominica with regards to HDI ranking.

Is there a correlation between density and rank? What about topography and densities?

“Comparing Singapore with Barbados is ludicrous.”

Now on to why Singapore– small land mass (smaller than DOMINICA by the way); services economy; no natural resources; relatively flat; higher HDI rank than us even though we were ahead in previous years.

Why should I compare Barbados with islands that are mountainous, whose economies are smaller, less developed and rank way below us on the UN HDI?

It is clear you know not of what you speak, and lack a progressive mind.

You are standing prostrate in a bygone era where comparison to the islands around us predominated and bred complacency.

I prefer to think big since I firmly believe that being better than our neighbours should not and can not be the basis for determining whether or not we have achieved our true potential as a country.

16. @ Scout

Right now private schools are burgeoning and it has little to do with the Guyanese.

The young black professional class now in their 30’s who went to public primary schools are lining up to send their kids to St. Angela’s, St. Gabriel’s, St. Cyprian’s, St. Winifred’s, Providence i.e. private, and such schools will continue to be established.

Parents are putting their child’s name on a waiting list as soon as they enter the world.

Furthermore, any day the government decides to scrap the CE for comprehensive zoning, more private secondary schools will crop up with the same students filling their classrooms and trumping the traditional top schools except maybe Queens College given its catchment area.

There will be able to attract better teachers, offer a more expansive curriculum (Baccalaureate etc) and more than likely will have superior facilities.

So it may very well be the norm in the future for Guyanese (as if they are the only children of illegal immigrants here) to make up a large percentage of the school population.

We want to develop, but ignore the obvious changes that come with it.

17. David, i don’t see my last comment, can i have some assistance with that?

18. @ ac

Sorry ac, I am not looking for the PM – just his vision for Barbados.

By the way – where would you look for the PM?

Are you going to Haiti or do you have his tour, fete and travel schedule?

Do you fly private jets?

19. Let them accuse then, the point i am making is that you are not acting big enough to prove to anyone that you deserve to run this country in 3 years time. Still going on with the petty arguments and complaints, learn something from them and your party’s past. Do it differently and impress Bajans, and the Caribbean at that. Stop with the little boy blame games and pointing fingers, man/woman up and stand up for something.

Be a new BLP, that Bajans will want to lead, and don’t wait until 2012 to start cause it is 2010 and we only hearing belittling coming from your camp and nothing new or productive. Don’t simply just talk either, put some action behind the talk.

Being in opposition does not mean you can’t do something. I am telling you to do something, not just print, talk, appear on tv. Provide some opportunity and jobs that you are claiming your leader will provide when elected, we want them now, you have a plan, and claim the DLP don’t, implement yours and make this place the place you all envisage.

Don’t wait to 2012, it’s a new year, start fresh.

20. Here are more DLP 100 day promised. Note that 731 days have now gone but nothing:

+++++++++++++++

Environment: – page 42, DLP’s 2008 Manifesto

 In the first 100 days introduce the Agriculture protection Act that will require a 2/3 majority of both houses of parliament for a change of use of land from agriculture.

We will reserve 30,000 acres for agricultural use.

 Introduce legislation, programmes and facilities like mechanization to get young people into education.

 Introduce legislation that makes it mandatory that any change of zoning of land be approved by Parliament.

 Introduce amendments to the land Acquisition Act that will require government to pay compensation on the replacement value rather than the market value of properties being acquired.

 Provide a subsidy of $2.50 per sq ft to first time landowners with lots up to 5000 sq ft throughout urban and rural Barbados. This policy will go beyond the tenantry land transfer scheme.

 Make it mandatory that all land for sale in major developments be advertised with prices on the local market prior to promotion and sale on the international market to non-Barbadians.

Proof of advertising must be supplied when applying for transfer to non-Barbadian interest.

21. Come on dems, answer the question:

Exactly why did our WAIT-AND-SEE Prime Minister decide to TRAVEL-To-SEE, when he could have seen on CNN and BBC World like the rest of us who may even care more?

What an unjustified wastage in the face of a disaster when the funds wasted could have been donated in food, water and medical supplies.

22. “Provide some opportunity and jobs that you are claiming your leader will provide when elected, we want them now, you have a plan, and claim the DLP don’t, implement yours and make this place the place you all envisage.”

lol

23. The DLP made promises it knew it was not going to keep and no one seems concern.

Why not ask the DLP to hold true to the integrity and good governance they promised?

What about their promised of “change?” Is that no longer important?

All that has changed is that Barbados now has a cash flow problem and a serious fiscal crisis.

24. @Alex Fergusson

Oops! yuh Minister of Finance too
    Congratulations !

25. Alex i am dealing with you and the BLP, the DLP in the spotlight showing us what they are and are not doing. WE want to know what you are doing for the betterment of this country, don’t deflect my enquiries. If you are uncertain, say so i rather that than foolishness and long talk.

26. Young Bajan, you really listening to yourself. What can the Opposition do in our system of government?

27. What can’t they do, and is it really that they can’t do it??

28. @ Young Bajan

I now understand why Christopher Sinckler said that Barbadians who do not know anything about politics or how government works – still managed to change the government.

The DLP is the government.

heartly henry said that DLP Ministers were brimming with bright ideas and that they had hit the ground running.

Two years later – apart from TOURS, TALK, TRAVELLING, PROMISES, FETES AND GIMMICKS, what?

Thompson – who promised change, accountability, transparency, financial prudence, good governance and integrity – is now telling Barbadians to lower their expectations, shut-up and stop complaining.

Now, what is good governance?

And if Barbadians should shut-up, what is the DLP Constituency Conferences all about?

29. I know they are brimming with ideas, like you i am still waiting to see them though. i am not confused just very interested in something not the ” same old”. that is what i am trying to relate to you, don’t bring the same old.

30. What same old?

Read the National Strategic Plan 2006-2025!

Read the superior policies in the BLP’s 2008 manifesto?

Why not direct your frustration and disappointment at the DLP, which has not reduce the cost of living, has caused over 6000 to lose their jobs so far, has run-up million in debt and is now borrowing to finance consumption.

31. Read between the lines.

Come your turn, all i am telling you is not to make the same promises and mistakes without knowing what the situation is at the time you are entering government.

32. @ Young Bajan

Thank you for your sound advice. You are indeed a patriotic Barbadian.

I might call on you yet, given your desire to see Barbados succeed.

33. @ Young Bajan

“I know they are brimming with ideas, like you I am still waiting to see them though.”

That statement gives legitimacy to Alex Fergusson’s premise.

34. Sorry that sarcasm cannot be written so it can be read.

35. @Alex Fergusson
    I don’t think any party would make yuh happy ,You need to start yuh own

36. @BAFBFP

Sweetie we need to have a town hall meeting.

37. AC

Do like aretha franklyn says and get some R-E-S-P-E-C-T.

The joke is over .

Enough already.

38. @Anonymous

Whats your problem?
    WHY DON”T YOU MIND YOUR OWN BUSINESS. YUH JEALOUS FOOL.
    You must have a miserable life.

39. NO DAVID THOMPSON!

SINCE YOU ARE NOT A NURSE, A DOCTOR OR A COUNSELLOR – YOU CANNOT LAND IN HAITI – GO HOME.

THIS IS NOT A PLACE FOR PHOTO OPS! GO HOME.

EVER SO WELCOME WAIT FOR A CALL.

40. The first town hall meeting will be held at the Christ Church Hall tonight.

41. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Are you sure that meeting is on tonight?

What about that first meeting where the prime minister was supposed to attend?

Thompson does not seem too interested in this immigration matter and is probably hoping that the people forget all about these town hall meetings.

42. @mash up

check the GIS website

http://www.gisbarbados.gov.bb/

It is all very low keyed.

43. Bajans are being taken for a ride, both parties are in this immigration thing together, the only losers will be bajans, if we sit down and take it we can only blame ourselves. Too much long talk.

44. A brief report on the first town hall to discuss the green paper on immigration:

An audience of 50-60 people were in attendance at the Christ Church town hall building.

The head table was manned by MC Permanent Secretary Gilbert Greaves, Chief Immigration Officer, Minister with responsibility for immigration and labour, Arni Walters, and another gentleman from the PMs office.

About 5 people asked questions with 3 out of the 5 asking multiple question. Of the 5 Annalee Davis took the opportunity to stress proposed guest worker program in the green paper runs counter  that article 44 of the treaty of Chaguramus because it facilitated the breakup of families. Chief Immigration Officer Griffith countered her argument by saying a guest worker program is nothing new; workers visit, work and leave after a reasonable period.

Most of the other arguments centered around assigning numbers to immigrant workers so that they can be monitored by the government, not necessarily immigration department; whether the penalty of 50,000 to employers who employ illegals should be the same for individuals. It was a little funny to find out that there appears to be only 1 immigration officer who has responsibility for monitoring the construction sites. One member of the audience made the point that the recommended 2 year cohabitation period should be increased to 5-10 years because the Barbados legislation should send a clear message that citizenship is ‘valued’

All in all the meeting was not widely publicized and maybe explains the mediocre crowd. Gilbert Greaves was very militant in how he managed the meeting and there was a view that the atmosphere did not facilitate or welcome open feedback. There was one incident where a white couple who felt they were being taken advantage of by the immigration department vented at the meeting (something to do with being asked for payment). The Chief Immigration Officer asked her to visit the immigration department this morning to have a chat with Miss Farrell who is in charge of that section.

The minister promised to have the PM visit a town hall meeting to be held possibly at Solidarity House.

This report was emailed by a BU family member.

45. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Who is the chief immigration officer?

Why was gilbert greaves even asked to take such an up front role at these town hall meetings when the minister for Immigration and the chief immigration officer were there?

Does this Permanent Secretary above all others have more power and authority than the Minister himself?

Why is David Thompson giving Gilbert Greaves soooooooooo much power?

Thompson does not want to persue stricter immigration laws but because the people are not backing down he has to go through the motions.

He cancelled the immigration debate to rush off to Jamaica to discuss Haiti and with what result?

We can’t give up people,WE ARE ALL WE HAVE.

The politicians we elected do not have the same interests as us they are only telling us what they think we want to hear.

46. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Could you explain what you mean by gilbert greaves was very militant in how he managed the crowd?

Do you realise that the pro-immigration activists like Annalee Davis were very aware of that meeting and did not fail to show up.

This is why we have to be at these town hall meetings in large numbers and put forward our objections to open immigration and 2 year citizenship after marriage etc

The next one is at princess margaret I believe.

47. I was there and it seems as if the white couple mentioned were accusing the IOs of wanting to take their money (bribe).

In my opinion, GG told the public that the white man (Mr. Snide/Knight) not sure if I got the name correct, was cursing him and threatening to go to the PM to discuss what was happening to him and his wife. It was an embarassing moment indeed. They left early and they didn’t go to Ms. Farrell as directed by the CIO or PS!

48. Mash Up & Buy Back

Prime Minister David Thompson is in New York wining & dining at a bashment gala organised by an organisation calling itself the American Foundation for the University of the West Indies and he is also meeting with rating agencies & investors.

Prime Minister David Thompson is not keen at all on any comprehensive immigration policy.He is fooling us Barbadians.I must painfully admit that I must agree with Alex Fergusson & Royal Rumble on the point that David Thompson is a pathetic LIAR.Both Alex Fergusson & Royal Rumble are correct.David Thompson is a schemer,trickster & a LIAR.He talks with a forked tongue.He cannot be trusted.It is not surprising because he has the disease,poisonous,stinking white man’s blood in his vein and like Barrack Obama,he is a monumental letdown .

I suspect there is no real genuine effort on the part of this government to really get the views of Barbados and to take those views into consideration in the creation of a new immigration policy.These Town Hall meetings are going to very low key with not much publicity.

This meeting in Christ Church,I believe was a deliberate attempt not to get the full views on many Barbadians

Christ Church Parish Church Hall was not a very good location for that meeting.The lighting in that area is very poor,Persons wishing to attend who do not have transportation and would have to depend on public transportation were at a disadvantage because no buses travel that road.Those persons would have either had to take an Oistin’s bus and get off in Oistins and then walk over that dangerous Oistin’s hill or would had to use the Silver Hill minibuses and walk from the old Club Randall building along that dark & also dangerous road by Foundation School.I think the location was a definite problem.

On another issue,a Guyanese business located in Carrington Village St Michael was the recipient 0f a decent sum of money from the government of Barbados for services provided at the Independence Gala & Parade last year.
    I am not going to mention the business name but it provided artificial grass for the Gala & Parade and was rewarded rather handsomely.Even on one of the most significant days in the recent history of Barbados Guyanese are benefiting.

Mash Up,JC,Scout,David & the rest,this government is making a lot of sport at us. There is no serious attempt to regulate the inflow of non-national into Barbados.Believe me.Permanent residency,work & reside & other levels of status are still be given freely to non-nationals in Barbados especially Guyanese.

49. @mash up

The CIO is Irene Griffith.

Permanent Secretary Greaves is senior to the CIO in the civil service pecking order.

PS Greaves adopted an autocratic approach to the chair which appeared to tick off a few people and maybe turned off a few people from approaching the mike.

Faria was seen as well making notes pony tail and all.

50. You see this crap ……. are these people serious! NM your facts are normally correct ……..