by Loose Canon (Reproduced from Botswana’s Sunday Standard)

Click image to watch – Nelson Mandela anniversary: ANC march to mark the release of Mandela

I hope black people will learn a lesson from the earthquake that hit Haiti.
If they don’t learn anything from it, then I throw up my hands in despair and give up.

Let’s start with a few basic facts.

Until the earthquake, I never knew there was a place called Haiti. I was taught geography at school but I cannot remember a time when the mistress told us about Haiti. It must have been one of those insignificant countries that we had no reason to know about.

I was fairly good at geography because I knew which country was on which continent. I also knew many capital cities. But as for Haiti I was clueless.

Now the whole world, including myself, knows about Haiti. I heard news of the earthquake on the radio. I wondered where Haiti was and what sort of people lived there.

Finally, when I switched on the television, I was informed that Haiti is an island out in the Caribbean. Television pictures revealed a place populated by black people.

From the non-stop television coverage of the earthquake, I got to learn about the history of Haiti. It was not a good history lesson. It would seem throughout its existence Haiti has suffered a series of natural calamities. In the process it has sunk even deeper into poverty and deprivation.

Like all places populated by black people, Haiti is poor. As I watched the television images, I felt very sorry for that forsaken place. Then I was hit by a thunderbolt. I wondered what if there were no white people. You see, when the earthquake hit Haiti somebody had to come to its assistance. There had to be a rescue effort. The Haitians who survived of course did their fair bit by digging out their families from the collapsed ramshackle buildings.

But such was the scale of the devastation and the loss of human life that a bigger effort was needed. For that sort of work, you need heavy lifting gear and other sophisticated rescue equipment. I have been following the story of the earthquake keenly. I can attest to the fact that the first people to arrive with sniffer dogs were white crews from all over the world.

The aero planes that set off carrying water and food were from white countries. Not only that, the teams of volunteer doctors that I saw on television comprised white people from across the world. As the sniffer dogs went into action, the organized rescue teams that carried the stretchers were made up of white people.

It was announced that a mobile hospital was on the way. It was coming from a white country. For all intents and purposes in the aftermath of the earthquake, Haiti was literally swarming with white people. They had all arrived to save the poor blacks. And the locals were so happy to see them. Granted there were teams from the Orient such as the Chinese and Japanese. They too had quickly left their homes and families to go and assist the stricken people of Haiti. It is obvious to everyone that this was a devastating earthquake and the work to repair Haiti and return it to a modicum of normalcy will take many years. Somebody had to commit funds to this effort. Most of the countries that have committed funds to aid the recovery are white. In fact, it would seem the whites are running the show in Haiti.

What is my point?

My point is that ever since Haiti was hit by the earthquake I have not seen any of my folks from Africa. Unless the television cameras deliberately ignored them, I never saw a rescue team from my motherland. Nor did I see any sniffer dogs from down here. Heck, I never saw a single traditional doctor busy divining where to find people buried under the rubble.

Haiti is a land of black people. I would have expected the place to be swarming with black people helping their own. They were nowhere to be seen. I never saw any ships from black countries pulling into the harbour.

As the air traffic circled above the small airport, none of the planes was reported as coming from Africa. The blacks were nowhere to be found. They issued tepid statements of condolence to the people of Haiti and a few of the African countries donated small amounts of cash.

Granted that was better than nothing. But I must say I was disappointed. I was sad because the blacks did not behave as I had expected. You see, for far too long black countries have been insolent to the point of being abusive. They have a tendency of insulting the white man and telling him to keep out of their countries. In Fact, black people have the temerity to tell white people they can perfectly survive on their own. So I had expected the black countries to be consistent and behave true to form. Why didn’t black countries tell white countries to stay away from Haiti because we were quite capable of leading the rescue effort? We should have insulted them as we often do at international forums.

There, our countries insult white countries and accuse them of imperialism and neo colonialism. I was extremely disappointed when our countries failed to accuse white people of practicing imperialism and neo colonialism by coming to rescue the blacks of Haiti.

We should have told them we have better sniffer dogs that have been taught only to rescue black people. We should have told their ships to stay away and their planes not to overfly Haiti because we were up to the job with our own ships and aeroplanes.

We should have brought in our traditional food instead of the strange rations the Haitians are not accustomed to.

I am so disappointed by the black leaders that I hope never to hear them again bleating about how bad white people are. The earthquake in Haiti was the most opportune time to show the whites, once and for all, that we don’t need them.

From now onwards, I want black leaders to shut up and never accuse ever white people of being bad. I am sick and tired of big words such as imperialism and neo colonialism which are unable to rescue victims of the earthquake.

I hope this is not the last earthquake that hits a black country. I want the next one to specifically hit the residence of Old Man in Harare. Then we will see if he will abuse the white crew coming to rescue him and Pretty Face!

59 responses to “Haiti And The Blacks!”

1. BU was asked earlier to state a position on the Barbados government’s response to the request from Haiti to medevaced  a few Haitians to Barbados. Senator McClean speaking on behalf of the government said no, we just don’t have the capacity to accommodate the request. The Barbados response has disappointed the BU household no end. Yes we are experiencing economic challenges but geeze didn’t we just listen to the PM say our problems are manageable?  Accepting 5 injured Haitians how could it hurt? Link others have opined it is times like now when ones underbelly is exposed. Unfortunately after the PM setup the country by telling them to stop bellyaching and show sympathy to Haiti his government takes a decision which is contrary.

Thanks to those who submitted the links to support this blog post.

2. The author admitted that he/she only became aware of Haiti and her history recently so this post should be viewed as a request for lessons in Black history.

3. When Loose Canon and “trumpeters” like white Zimbabwean (who now lives in South Africa) Jan Lamprecht & Co; begin a tirade of ANTI-Black propaganda – it is clear that their motivation is suspect.

Have we forgotten 2005 and the HURRICANE KATRINA aftermath….

Who were the ones suffering in New Orleans and elsewhere in that great state?

Who were the ones laying dead in the waters, houses and on the streets while the other masses were stacked like sardines in a stadium without even basic rations?

Who were carrying the guns, briefcases and the bad social policies?

Who profited from the New Orleans tragedy right up until today?

Who was charging the US government 5 to 10 times more for things (from the taxpayers coffers) for simple construction and engineering work – notwithstanding the exorbitant consultancy fees misappropriated for non-existent work???

What is the current state of affairs almost 5 years after Katrina?

Let us be more culturally and politically cognizant of patterns which bear long historical tentacles!!!

The question is in HAITI* now is – who will ultimately profit from this tragedy?

Where will all the billions go – and when the cameras are switched off – will accountability leave as well?

Will there still be a few FAMILIES* (Mafioso) running this beautiful country as a puppet regime at the behest of the White power establishment?

Regardless of the questions (and there are always more questions than answers) – folks must recognize that the simplicity and the randomization of speculative info must not be treated as “GOSPEL” until all the facts are in and we have had time to look at all the relevant evidence.

I will admit (and I am sure any spiritually and intellectually honest person will do the same) in recognizing that as a people, we have to see the necessity of taking the lead in taking care of our own…

That is a PREGIVEN!!!!

In the process, we cannot go around looking to crack a peanut with a sledge hammer because we got our “knickers” in a twist…

Black unity and solidarity must be paramount regardless of what happens…

On the anniversary of “MADIBA’s” ascent from prison on Robin’s Island after 27 years – with all the fuss and fanfare – South Africa is still griped by tribalism (ZULU v XHOSA) and where Jacob Zuma is struggling to even untie the “latchet” of Saint Nelson* shoes as he continues to grapple with tribal and cultural demons in his own political life…

Our brothers & sisters in the townships of S.A. are still gripped in the jaws of poverty and marginalization as murder and mayhem wreaks havoc upon our people – but let us not forget that these are the spiritual and structural results of POST_APARTHEID* seismology!!!

The earthquakes which continue to destroy our people have NOT* been of their own making. The process of undoing centuries of spiritual tectonic activity will probably take sometime yet – but in the end it will come…

4. In Haiti’s [518 years] historical timeline – what is so different about its history that cannot be said about any other country where BLACK FOLKS have inhabited?

A culture of seismology – not of our own choosing!!! But if you believe the religious argument – this has all been part of the curse upon the “SONS OF HAM”…

You judge for yourself….

1492 – Dec. 5, Columbus lands on a large island he names Isla Española (Spanish Island), later changed to Hispaniola. It is inhabited by Taino and Arawak Indians.

1503 – First Africans brought to Hispaniola for labor after pleas from a Spanish priest who wants to save the Indians from extinction (from being killed out).

1592 – Spanish governor executes Queen Anacaona, the last Taino chief.

1659 – First official settlement on Tortuga (off the coast of Haiti) by French buccaneers who hunt wild cattle and by pirates who attack ships sailing from South America to Europe.

1664 – French West India Company takes control of Western third of the island and names it Saint-Domingue.

1670 – First French settlement on the main island, named Cap Francois, later Cap-Français and now Cap-Haitien, the second largest city in Haiti. Settlers grow cacao, coffee, tobacco and indigo and begin importing slaves as labor.

1685 – Louis XIV enacts the Code Noir, which regulates the treatment of slaves and sets obligations for owners. Corporal punishment is allowed, sanctioning brutal treatment.

1697 – Spain formally cedes the Western third of the island to France via the Treaty of Ryswick.

1749 – Port-au-Prince is founded.

1758 – Rebel leader Mackandal, born in Guinea, is captured and burned alive in Cap-Francois after seven years of leading an insurrection.

1777 – French officers lead a regiment of 750 free blacks from Saint-Domingue to help the fledgling U.S. fight British troops at Savannah, Georgia. The unit includes several future leaders of Haiti.

1780 – Saint-Domingue is France’s richest colony, producing 40 percent of all sugar and 60 percent of all coffee consumed in Europe.

1789 – When the French Revolution starts, the colony has 500,000 slaves, 32,000 whites (45,000 as of January’s earthquake) and 25,000 people of color (mixed-race), many of whom have inherited wealth and slaves from their white fathers.

1791 – August 22 – Slave revolt begins. Tradition says it starts with a voodoo ceremony led by Dutty Boukman (This is where that mythology of the “CURSE” upon Haiti started). He is captured and executed but revolt spreads and plantations are torched.

1794 – February 4 – French Assembly abolishes slavery in all its colonies, ratifying what is already reality in Saint-Domingue.

1801 – Toussaint L’Ouverture (The greatest military general ever, since Hannibal) defeats British and Spanish troops that invaded Santo Domingo and controls the entire island.

1802 – Napoleon sends 40,000 troops under his brother-in-law, Gen. Charles Leclerc, to re-establish slavery in the colonies. Leclerc deceives and captures Toussaint (sold out by his own people – the divide and rule principle) and ships him to France, where he dies in prison.

1804 – Jan. 1 – After defeating the French forces, Jean-Jacques Dessalines declares Haiti an independent nation, taking an Arawak name meaning country of mountains.

1806 – Dessalines is assassinated and Haiti splits into two states, a northern state led by an emperor, Henri Christophe, and a southern republic led by president Alexandre Pétion.

1820 – After the deaths of Pétion and Christophe, Jean-Pierre Boyer unifies Haiti into one nation and takes control of Santo Domingo as well.

1825 – France’s King Charles X recognizes Haiti’s independence but demands 150 million francs in indemnity, backing his conditions with a fleet of warships.

1844 – Dominican Republic declares its independence from Haiti.

1863 – U.S. President Abraham Lincoln recognizes Haiti and allows trade for the first time.

1904 – Haiti celebrates 100 years of independence.

1915 – U.S. forces occupy Haiti; they will stay until 1934. (Read the history during this period – fascinating reading, almost symbolic of CUBA).

1930 – First full democratic elections in Haiti; Stenio Vincent elected.

1937 – Dominican dictator Rafael Trujillo orders the expulsion of Haitians working in his country.
    Between 17,000 and 35,000 are killed.

1957 – Francois Duvalier, a doctor, is elected president. “Papa Doc” establishes one of the most brutal dictatorships in Haitian history. His rule is enforced by a militia commonly – known as Tonton Macoutes.

1971- Duvalier dies; his son takes power and is proclaimed President-for-Life, like is father.(Here begins DY-NASTY* rule)

1974 – The Haitian national soccer team participates in the World Cup.

1986 – Unrest leads the military to oust “Baby Doc” and his kleptocratic clan.
    1990 – Jean-Bertrand Aristide, a former Catholic priest is elected with 67% of the vote.

1991 – Aristide is ousted in a coup that many Haitians believe was financed by the business elite.

1994 – Backed by a UN resolution, the Clinton Administration restores Aristide to power.

1996 – René Préval elected President; he is seen as a stand-in for Aristide.

2000- Aristide elected President again after much-disputed parliamentary elections.

2004 – Aristide leaves under pressure of an armed rebellion; he claims the U.S. kidnapped him and shipped him out.

2006 – Préval elected again. A UN peacekeeping force in Haiti since 2003 grows to 9,000 troops.

2008 – Unrest erupts as Haitians riot against high food prices.

2010 – January 12 – An earthquake with a magnitude of 7.0 devastates Port-au-Prince and damages much of Haiti.

My question to “Loose Canon” – what is your excuse for IGNORANCE? The historical facts were always there for well over 500 years – but I guess like most of us, we still wait for our teachers to turn on the lights in a dark room!!!

SAD!

5. @ Loose Canon

No amount of penance done by the white establishment will attest, repine or ameliorate for the centuries old legacy and stigmatization done to Black folks…

If we apply the laws of PHYSICS* to this argument (maybe Chris Halsall can have some torque on this one) – the laws of “inverse-square law” would apply here aptly – which states that when some force, energy, or other conserved quantity is radiated outward radially from a “source”…

Since the surface area of a sphere (which is 4πr 2) is proportional to the square of the radius, as the emitted radiation gets farther from the source, it must spread out over an area that is proportional to the square of the distance from the source.

Hence, the radiation passing through any unit area is inversely proportional to the square of the distance from the source.

But for the sake of some serious humor, I would interject Coulomb’s law – which states that:-

“The magnitude of the electrostatic force between two point electric charges is directly proportional to the product of the magnitudes of each of the charges and inversely proportional to the square of the total distance between the two charges”.

So in sociopolitical terms –

Kevin Rudd (OZ’s PM) must cede all ABORIGINAL lands to the Aborigines (or the modern worth thereof)…

OBAMA must cede all Native American lands or their worth to0 native peoples & tribes…

All the lands, minerals and wealth of Africa must be duly recompensated to its peoples to obliterate the scandalous nature of such abject poverty which has marred this continent for over 400 years…

African Americans & Families must be given REPARATIONS backdated 200 years at market value….

Afro-West Indians too must be given REPARATIONS based on the displacement and the historical legacy of torture, ethnocide and the slavery of 40 million Blacks dragged from their homelands as human cargo (most dying at sea from disease & murder)…

If (Askenazi) JEWS* – who are en-grafted Israelites (based on conquest) demanded global recognition for 6 million dying at the hands of their own people (Nazi persecutors) – what about BLACKS, GYPSIES & ROMANIES???

Until these issues are rebalanced – NO PENANCE can compensate!!!

6. Now that’s correct children Haiti is not in Africa
    Go to school to learn the rules
    History helps us understand where we’re from
    Geography helps us understand where we are
    Science helps us understand where we’re going
    Don’t Play That Song
    Peter Tosh 1979 Montreux Jazz Festival in Switzerland

7. Loose Cannon are you stupid? How has the white man helped us?

TB tek care of him man!!!!!

This is totalllll shite!

8. @Loose Cannon

Some people dont like to see the truth written down in black and white!

No one has answered your question BUT among the Americans British and Cubans helping in Haiti there must be many representatives of the black race but more importantly they are members of the HUMAN RACE united in the humanitarian act of helping these unfortunate people.

9. “Hmnnn!!”

10. The GENERAL is correct in that need for lessons in BLACK history.

TMB has clearly delineated a substantive part of this cancer.

Is the author of this ‘freedom-of-speech hit piece’ aware of the fact that the ‘Nobility’ of Europe and the ‘EMPIRE’ of Amerika owe their position of wealth and ‘so-called ist world’ status to the enslavement and butchery of BLACK and other indigenous people all over this planet?

Does the author realise that the Industrial Revolution was fueled by blood, sweat and tears of BLACKS?

Is the author aware that the survival of the Capitalist Beast is solely dependent upon Terrorism, Torture and Subjugation of BLACKS and indigenous peoples everywhere?

Is the author aware that these oil wars we are witnessing today is the fuel that runs the Empire’s ships and planes?

Can the author answer his own question….”I WONDER WHAT IF THERE WERE NO WHITE PEOPLE?”

11. ”I WONDER WHAT IF THERE WERE NO WHITE PEOPLE?”
    ——————————————-

Look at the greater part of Africa and it will give you an idea.

12. Until the earthquake, I never knew there was a place called Haiti. I was taught geography at school but I cannot remember a time when the mistress told us about Haiti. It must have been one of those insignificant countries that we had no reason to know about.
    ————————————————–

In 2010, an obvious avid blogger and this is the best this person can come with? Talk about selective interests!!

I was fairly good at geography because I knew which country was on which continent. I also knew many capital cities. But as for Haiti I was clueless.
    ————————————————–

Fairly good?

Man you would have to be deaf, dumb and blind to be “fairly good” and still miss one of the biggest land masses in the Caribbean!
    Then again, this writer was speaking to people in Africa, not the Caribbean…..stupse!

13. This author did not even know of Haiti until the earthquake struck,i can’t even say they are clueless..brainwashed is more like the word to use here,this author is obviously lost..and lost bad,i forgive them for this nonsense written though.

14. @ ru4real // February 12, 2010 at 10:41 AM

You can’t be FOR REAL!!!!!!!!!

By any chance …….. Do you work at LIME cause I know that you have selective memory choice!!!!!!

15. @David

Why have you subjected us to this meaningless and torturous article?

16. @ TM Black. I love your analogy of the laws of physics and sociology.

17. Excellent article and progamme about Hiati.

http://www.thenation.com/doc/20100301/klein

18. Some people dont like to see the truth written down in black and white!

@ru4real….

Can you please direct me to, or highlight, the TRUTH in this article, by sentences or paragraph?

19. Look where this nonsense is coming from and who is giving wings to it:-

http://www.rense.com/general89/brll.htm

If you “Google” Jan Lamprecht – it is clear why this kind of propaganda is being given traction…

The motivation is clearly subliminal – but as Black folks are open-minded we are NOT* afraid to debate the issues…

And thank you DAVID* (again) for not being reluctant or afraid to stir up a “red ant’s nest”…

20. I would like to comment on the first 6 or so paragraphs of the well written piece that started this thread.

The author first expresses the hope that his readers learn a lesson from the earthquake that hit Haiti. He himself points out that he learned somewhat about its geographical location and a bit about its sad history.

I did very little Geography at school, and know little geography. I have discovered that I the USA where I live that Americans generally know very little world geography, and that many of them know very little about the geography of their own country and even their state. It was not very long ago that Bajans went to the distant corners of our speck of an island only on the occasion of the annual bus excursion.

Yet this man has been drawn and quartered by biased commenters because he dared to ask where the blacks from here there and everywhere to help their fellow black folk in the calamity in Haiti.

If he was taught geography at school but not taught about Haiti, was this his fault?
    Did he not live his life up to now with out such a knowledge?
    He was taught the geography at school that his educational system deemed that he know.

At least he wrote a clear cohesive piece of narrative, which seems quite impossible for most folk who opine daily on BU.

And he asked a good question. Why have not black people come to the aid of Haiti as the white folk have?

Surely the answer does not lie in the nonsensical rhetoric purveyed on BU in response to his essay.

If a youngster like me can understand this why cant all the BU baby boomers understand too.

Or is it that the truth hurts so badly.

I look forward to your rantings and ravings in response.

21. What most don’t know is that haiti has a proud historic as a people who fight for there rights … Starting with being the first Caribbean nation to overthrown their colonial masters, the French… That have paid the price for that ever since…. And most don’t know that…. There has literally been no international investment in Haiti… DR on the other half of the island has resorts etc why not Haiti … I’ll telll you why they are black… Keeping it real …

22. @Anon…….Hey imp! Good to see that you just got a break from the plantation, but you should have left that mindset right there where you will be needing it to get you thru another weekly grind.

Yet another loose canon!

23. @Xman

Don’t you find we can learn more when there is an opposing view to consider?

24. If they were no white people Africa would be a modern metropolis. It was the advent of white people into Africa that under developed it. That blogger is an ass. The reasoning is so damn simplistic it makes one want to puke.

25. @ David
    Without question. However that article was extremely bizzare.

26. No amount of black countries in the world have the resources to tackled the Hiatian calamity. The small economies of the caribbean even though having a higher GDP per capita than most African countries donot have the economic capacity to lead the restoration of Hiati. Most black countires south of the Sahara are just learning about democracy and governance. Take for example the two largest black nation by nominal GDP- South Africa($270 billion) and Nigeria (207 billion) yet still they are characterised as developing countries. Nigeria GDP per capita is one of the lowest in the world.These countries can hardly provide a decent quality of life for its avereage citizens much less taking on the travails of Hiati.

I hope that for Mr Jacob Zuma sake he do not follow in the footstep of Mugabe as we all know African politicians have a penchant for self -destruction. Let me be quite frank and say that the Hiatian political and economic problems are not the making of the black world but rather it is the making of the good old USA and France and to some degree the Hiatian themselves.Hiati is their baby they must shoulder the responsibility. While we empathised with the their suffering and plight and our meagre resource is just a drop in the bucket make no mistake that their should be no “black guilt” on our path .

27. 1 Loose Canon wrote “Like all places populated by black people, Haiti is poor.”

Is this a true statement or not? If it is true why is this so? IS WHITEY ONLY TO BLAME?

2 Loose Canon wrote “………the first people to arrive with sniffer dogs were white crews from all over the world.” Is this a true statement or not? If it is true why is this so? DON’T BLACKS HAVE SNIFFER DOGS TOO?

3- Loose Canon wrote “………The aero planes that set off carrying water and food were from white countries. Not only that, the teams of volunteer doctors that I saw on television comprised white people from across the world. As the sniffer dogs went into action, the organized rescue teams that carried the stretchers were made up of white people.

It was announced that a mobile hospital was on the way. It was coming from a white country. For all intents and purposes in the aftermath of the earthquake, Haiti was literally swarming with white people. They had all arrived to save the poor blacks. And the locals were so happy to see them. Granted there were teams from the Orient such as the Chinese and Japanese. They too had quickly left their homes and families to go and assist the stricken people of Haiti.”

Are these things true or not? If these things are indeed true why is this so? IS WHITEY TO BE BLAMED FOR THIS HOPI? Why have the black nations not turned up? Certainly all we do in the Caribbean is TALK! What did our black country do? How much? How quickly?

4- Loose Canon wrote “………since Haiti was hit by the earthquake I have not seen any of my folks from Africa. Unless the television cameras deliberately ignored them, I never saw a rescue team from my motherland. Nor did I see any sniffer dogs from down here. Heck, I never saw a single traditional doctor busy divining where to find people buried under the rubble.
    Haiti is a land of black people. I would have expected the place to be swarming with black people helping their own. They were nowhere to be seen. I never saw any ships from black countries pulling into the harbour.
    As the air traffic circled above the small airport, none of the planes was reported as coming from Africa. The blacks were nowhere to be found. They issued tepid statements of condolence to the people of Haiti and a few of the African countries donated small amounts of cash.”

Are these things true or not? If these things are indeed true why is this so? IS WHITEY TO BE BLAMED FOR THIS HOPI? Why have the black nations not turned up?

Should the man say that sniffer dogs and rescue teams or ships or planes or traditional doctors came from Africa or other black nations WHEN CLEARLY DID NOT? THE MAN REPORTED WHAT HE SAW. THE MAN REPORTED THE FACTS AND THE TRUTH AND BAJANS WITH THEIR 98% LITERACY RATE CUSS THE MAN AS IF HE IS A LIAR!

5- Loose Canon wrote “………I must say I was disappointed. I was sad because the blacks did not behave as I had expected. You see, for far too long black countries have been insolent to the point of being abusive. They have a tendency of insulting the white man and telling him to keep out of their countries. In Fact, black people have the temerity to tell white people they can perfectly survive on their own. So I had expected the black countries to be consistent and behave true to form. Why didn’t black countries tell white countries to stay away from Haiti because we were quite capable of leading the rescue effort? We should have insulted them as we often do at international forums.
    There, our countries insult white countries and accuse them of imperialism and neo colonialism. I was extremely disappointed when our countries failed to accuse white people of practicing imperialism and neo colonialism by coming to rescue the blacks of Haiti.
    We should have told them we have better sniffer dogs that have been taught only to rescue black people. We should have told their ships to stay away and their planes not to overfly Haiti because we were up to the job with our own ships and aeroplanes.
    We should have brought in our traditional food instead of the strange rations the Haitians are not accustomed to.”

Is it true that the black nations DID NOT BEHAVE AS ONE WOULD REASONABLY EXPECT? ( that is if one really don’t know blacks LOL). If so why?

Is it true that the black nations have been insolent to the point of being abusive. And that they have a tendency of insulting the white man and telling him to keep out of their countries? If these things are true in Africa or elsewhere, is this man WRONG TO SAY SO? If it is not so CONDEMN HIM AS A LIAR. But if he is telling the TRUTH WHY THE OUTRAGE BY BLACKETT WHO IS SUPPOSED TO BE HIGHLY EDUCATED? WHY THE OUTRAGE BY ALL AH WUNNAH THAT 985 LITERATE AND HAD THE FREE EDUCATION THAT WE LIKE TO BOAST BOUT?.

Is it true that black people does tell white people they can perfectly survive on their own?
    If the things that Loose Canon say is true, why didn’t black countries tell white countries to stay away from Haiti because we were quite capable of leading the rescue effort?

Why didn’t they insult them as they often do at international fora, and call them imperialists and neo colonialists by coming to rescue the blacks of Haiti?
    Why didn’t they tell them that we had better equipment and better doctors and better sniffer dogs?
    Why did they not bring in the foods the Haitians are accustomed to, but brought strange rations instead?
    Why didn’t they tell them to go back with their hospitls and ships and planes with supplies?

THE MAN HAS ASKED REASONABLE AND VIABLE QUESTIONS? HAS HE NOT? HE HAS SHOWN BLACK FOLK OUT TO BE THE REAL HYPOCRITES THAT THEY ARE< AND WUNNUH DON’T LIKE IT ONE BIT! IT IS HILARIOUS TO HEAR THE SILLY EMOTIONAL OUTBURSTS!!

IT SEEMS THE MAN IS NOT POLITICALLY CORRECT!
    WUNNAH EVEN CUSS DAVID AND CALLED THE MAN’S ARTICLE TORTUROUS! Next he will be called a TERRORIST AND A PERSECUTOR! JUST FOR TELLING THE TRUTH AND FOR ASKING SIMPLE QUETIONS

I have to agree with the man that “The earthquake in Haiti was the most opportune time to show the whites, once and for all, that we don’t need them.” WHAT YOU SAY HOPI?

I gone bosie.

28. All the lands, minerals and wealth of Africa must be duly recompensated to its peoples to obliterate the scandalous nature of such abject poverty which has marred this continent for over 400 years…

African Americans & Families must be given REPARATIONS backdated 200 years at market value….

Afro-West Indians too must be given REPARATIONS based on the displacement and the historical legacy of torture, ethnocide and the slavery of 40 million Blacks dragged from their homelands as human cargo (most dying at sea from disease & murder)…
    ——————————————
    Dont hold your breath waiting.
    Peoples alive today are not responsible for slavery.
    History is past, gone finito.
    What you doing for the Haitians apart from using their terrible plight as a soap box to air your own grievances.
    Aint the time or the place people are dying and people black white whatever are helping them.When a man gives you food or water or treats your pain you dont ask him the colour of his skin you say thanks friend.
    So what you done to help the Haitians?

29. @Anon….This is the most Sensible and TRUE statement you have ever made on BU…You are CORRECT, WE DO NOT NEED the whites! And a good, honest lesson in BLACK history would teach you that. The rest of your drivel can be drooled out back on the plantation come Monday morning. Because BU is no plantation as you are well aware!

@ hey moron…..did you see that good thiefing jew bastard donned in a yarmulkie with 3 aliases wanted by Interpol and the DR ? What is he doing in Haiti? Does anyone sense child molester/paedophile/trafficking? Nasty religious criminals!

30. People will believe whatever they want. As long as the message fits thier purpose they will run with it, it does not then they will not.

Just google “Haiti and the Blacks” take note of who finds it to be well written and agreeable.

Then google “re-distribute white women” and note who does not like it.

So predictable.

Does Loose Cannon really exist and for what purpose? chuspe.

http://www.africancrisis.co.za/Article.php?ID=20885

http://blogs.iol.co.za/insideiol/2006/11/11/botswana-columnist-misunderstood-says-editor/

31. It was not very long ago that Bajans went to the distant corners of our speck of an island only on the occasion of the annual bus excursion.

Man Anon, you have to be either a liar or retarded.
    Whether you went there on excursions or not, every “baby boomer in Bim HAD to know of the 11 parishes. It was MANDATORY!!
    They were even plastered on the back of the Hibiscus excercise books, just before you got to the tables along with the flags and the Prime Ministers of the islands.

32. Well well well…propaganda at it’s finest..white people portrayed as the saviours of black people..really..the same white people that MUST rule everything worldwide and it’s either their way or noway at all??..really..i chupseing so long right now it ain’t funny.

33. the article does however forget to mention the blood sweat and tears of the many blacks who have made sacrifices in donating food and money to haiti.
    The writer not knowing of haiti must not
    have been well schooled.Not seeing black people in the earthquake zone does not mean they were not there.His/
    her questions are full of racist ranting.
    I hope the writer takes not to all the child trafficking by the whites if he chooses to write another article.Black people owes no one anything .The guilt
    of the black people is on the minds of the
    white that is why the are so quick to response to some of the tragedies which
    we deal with . America and te European
    countries knows that they have not been kind to Haiti. It is only GUILT that make
    them respond in kind.Haiti has been a
    country in need for many years and now
    it takes the eartquake for them to give after pretending not to notice the plight
    of the haitian people for all these years.
    The writer to me is a SELF HATING BLACK.

34. The writer may not be black at all. Or they are but writes sensational stuff to sell papers. I feel very certain that there is no real concern for what they try to portray with this article.

35. This a Botswana newspaper based in Africa we presume?

36. Yeh David but it is not certain that this Loose Cannon is a real person or a black person at all. At any rate they are cast by the editor of the same paper as Satirist, and as a person who has had a go at everyone.

http://www.iol.co.za/index.php?set_id=1&click_id=13&art_id=vn20061111085751655C336881#more

37. Technician
    You seem to be lacking in comprehension and to be quite young.

It is indeed a fact that “It was not very long ago that Bajans went to the distant corners of our speck of an island only on the occasion of the annual bus excursion.”

Maybe you were not yet born.
    It is true that every “baby boomer in Bim HAD to know of the 11 parishes.

However when the baby boomers in Bim were growing up plastered on the back of the excercise books, were pictures of the QUEEN, OK?

When I went to school I was taught from a book called Southern Continents and then one called Northern Continents. In those days we were not tyaugh Caribbean Geography or History OK?

It is stupid to say that if a man has not heard about Haiti that he is not well read. He just has not heard or been taught about Haiti. Is haiti heaven that one must hear thereof?

It amuses me that the predictable rants have emerged. BUT NO ONE HAS CONSIDERED WHETHER OR NOT LOSSE CANON HAS INDEED SAID THE TRUTH ABOUT THE LACK OF CONTRIBUTION BY THE BLACK NATIONS.

Speculating on my origins on the plantation is also moronic, seeing that a few generations ago most black Bajans were plantation workers.

But what does that have to do with the issues that Loose Canon raised. Swept under the carpet.

We do not want to acknowledge our incometence and inability. ha ha ha

38. Adrian Hinds wrote “The writer may not be black at all. Or they are but writes sensational stuff to sell papers. I feel very certain that there is no real concern for what they try to portray with this article.”

So what? Does he tell the truth? Does he make statements that are true or not?
    Must a man be black to make correct observations about black folk , black attitudes and black nations?

How do you know that the man has no real concern for what he portrays in this article?
    How do we know that you are concerned or sincere?
    Who decides? You?

Adrian Hinds wrote “it is not certain that this Loose Cannon is a real person or a black person at all.”

Is he not a real person because he uses a nomme de plume?
    Does he have to be black to have an opinion or TELL THE TRUTH ABOUT BLACKS?
    THE TRUTH IS THAT BLACKS WERE CONSPICUOUS BY THEIR RELATIVE ABSENCE . And it gauls wunnah that a man dared to say so.

Rant and rave some more now
    Its so very funny.

BIM JUST REFUSED TO TAKE SOME OF THE INJURED NOT SO?

Forgot BIM is a white nation filled with white folk. Wuh you say Hopi? ha ha

39. The black psyche is to discuss and argue issues amongst each other and ignore any white noise.

40. Once bitten twice shy

41. Black people owes no nobody anything we were and are still slaves to the white man’s way of thinking and way life .Far be it forany one to suggest that we are insensitive to the plight of the haitian people in time of trouble.The article itself is full of hate and a digusting racist
    attitude .He must not have learnt any nthing much in school in reference to Black History. The truth in that article is that the writer only wants to see his side of the picture for they are hundreds of black voluntaneers who have given up their jobs to go to haiti to help in the danger Zone.only a person with racist thoughts would have been capable of protraying blacks in such a negative light. Those of you who want to agree with his nauseating article are showing your true colours.

42. JEWISH REPARATIONS AFTER THE HOLOCAUST!!!

http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/Holocaust/claims1.html

Listen to George Brewer statements in
    “The Myth of Holocaust Compensation”:-

“…While the interests of Jews in this matter are being addressed, such justification for reparations is studiously ignored elsewhere. Here we don’t mean merely the equally legitimate claims of other Europeans. We have in mind rather the situation in the United States, where 20 million African Americans had their labor exploited during the days of slavery. If the principle of reparations is consistently followed, they too deserve compensation. For that matter, so do the Native Americans whose lands the White Man stole Come to think of it, those of us descended from the indentured laborers of the pre-Revolutionary days should theoretically be entitled to file a class action suit against the British Crown. It appears that some of these Jewish agencies are blind to all this: one of them recently announced its intention to recoup all Jewish property lost as a result of the Russian Revolution! Of course, the previous owners of this property will no doubt be hard to locate, but not to worry, the agency in question will simply accumulate the capital in an interest-bearing account and doubtless figure out ways to spend it later.”

“Calls for reparations and compensation constitute a myth because the implication is that in this way things will be put right and justice achieved. But in Modern Europe, everyone has a grievance. The mechanism of reparation and compensation is only justifiable insofar as it allows for a controlled means of redistributing wealth, a means that will avoid the inequalities that lead to war and revolution in the first place. But to abuse the process, such that the truly needy or deserving are ignored, with the result that only those with the power to extract such retribution in the first place merely increase their wealth and power, is neither just nor fair. It also is bound to create ideological tensions that will serve no one’s interests.”

So for all those who feel or believe that the concept of REPARATIONS* is not a legitimate penchant upon which to hang a claim – remember that the next time you hang out your laundry – take some clothes pegs, as you may very well need ’em….

43. @Anon

My so-called intelligence as you deem it ain’t got “JACK” to do with the facts in this discussion…

We have a lot of educated “nincompoops” who for the sake of a shred of commonsense can’t even save themselves out of a shower of rain…

When we refuse to see how social and spiritual seismology has affected BLACK FOLKS* ( and through it all we continue to survive – though some wish they could have made us extinct) – how could you want to start arguing about the fallacious anecdotes in some trivial print media where you have a WHITE* born Zimbabwean ( of South African lineage) supporting an article by some personage who is trying to insinuate that they are BLACK* and trying to heap scorn upon a race of people because TV cameras ain’t showing us in the same way they are showing their own… C’mon man!!!

What kinda’ logic is that?

This whole thing is suspect at least and downright “dodgy” at worst…

One thing is clear – Black folks will argue and cuss out one another over personal grievances but when the rubber hits the road and issues of the “STRUGGLE” become center-stage given the em-battlement against NASTY* historical forces and insidious modern social barriers – we come together (forgetting our differences) to stand shoulder to shoulder in the CAUSE*…

Could it be that is why BU is such a powerful BLOG* on the internet???

44. Yup black people don’t read either. Remember that one?

These arguments are disingenuous. They take black societies as they are and make comparisons to their own society and thereby come to a very false conclusion, a self serving one at that. Societies have stages in their development, and it is not always a forward march of progress. Sometimes they are setbacks whether deliberately man-made or due to natural disasters.

History tells us that a lot of develop societies in Meso-America and Africa were invaded, destroyed and pillage.

A lot of the early development of some of today’s leading societies can be traced directly to the cold blooded events that took place back then.

Some decedents of European tribes are fond of making these bogus comparisons, as if their societies were always at their current state of development. One only has to read the history of the Indo-European tribes or the more recent history of, lets say, the “five-point district” of Manhattan in the 19th century.

Modern Black societies are young in comparison, and in this ultra competitive world, they are faced with the daunting challenge to progress in a world system that makes it extremely difficult for this to occur.

45. TB an argument can be made thru-out Meso-America and Africa that they were doing just fine until your Christian God visited them .

46. @MR. HINDS
    “TB an argument can be made thru-out Meso-America and Africa that they were doing just fine until your Christian God visited them …”

Withal due respect my dear brother, my GOD* is neither Christian, Muslim, Jew or any other stereotypical label you would seek to ascribe to HIM*…

Men teach damnable doctrines (which are clearly the commandments of men) deluding folks that there are the COMMANDMENTS* of GOD*…

If in your finite wisdom my dear sir you choose to believe that coswobble – then that’s on you!!!

47. Man TB sorry man! I thought your God was the same as the God of the conquistadors, Crusaders, etc. lol!

48. @Adrian

TOUCHE….

LOL!!!

49. This goes out to all the Loose Canon’s of the world. First off what does it matter the race of the people who helped. Help is help, we’re all human we should be kind to all man kind race should never play apart. What rock have you been under to have never heard of Haiti before now, crawl back under it please. The reason as you stated white people was able to do so much more is because they have more resource’s via slavery , and such. Are you familar with slavery a-hole or is this your first time hearing about it.