Submitted by Terence Blackett

One of the greatest historical deceptions of all times is the refusal of mainstream Christianity as well as secular society to accept and advocate the original Black pre-eminence and presence in the Bible. This historical seismic rift created a fabrication of diabolical proportions which has ebbed and flowed for the last 4000 years right up to our present time.

Jesusโ€™ First Advent came at a critical time when the final 2000 year epoch of human history was to begin the process of bringing home the lost sons and daughters of Israel back into a harmonious relationship with their God (Yah) – that they had long forgotten and had rebelled against for centuries. This process would eventually culminate with the sealing of 144,000 โ€“ 12,000 from each of the 12 Tribes who will not see death, but will be translated at the end of human history โ€“ when Jesus will appear the second time in the eastern sky with over a trillion angels enshrouded with majesty that no eye has ever beheld.

Meantime, the house of God remains in a pile of rubble. The walls broken down. No agreement to be found. The sanctuary defiled. The priests and prophets lie โ€“ preaching and teaching to their own means and the followers seem to like it so. While the vast throng of Godโ€™s people are living in deception, apathy and disbelief because godliness and righteousness is enshrouded (wrapped up) in fickle, baseless religiosity with no real knowledge of God in the land.

In the Christian world, 11 oโ€™clock on Sunday morning is still the most segregated time of the week. The division within the church world is split down the middle between the Black church and the White church. The sad reality is that the division is not based on issues that are fundamentally theological in nature but rather on a lack of acceptance of the historical connotations and the legacy of a supremacist exegetical form of Christianity that was unleashed on Blacks in an attempt to scientifically control and manipulate a nation of people into a position of subservience and socioeconomic control. This divide, conquer and rule principle has even dulled the appetites of many who merely see Christianity as a tool the White man has used as a sabre of oppression to subjugate and force control of the minds of Black folks โ€“ a successful form of intrigue which still bears damnable fruit today.

This vicious lie took on dimensions long before the evolution of Christian religious modernity. The modern Ashkenazim Jew โ€“ PALESKIN converts (as far as 1100 years ago) a people (from the cold tundra-lands of Western/Eastern Europe) worked feverishly to assimilate and control all the nations of world (as far back as the Crusades) and to finally say they were whole again (with the formation of the state of Israel in 1948) โ€“ but that has been a colossal deception of gargantuan proportions swallowed by well-meaning Christians (both Black and White alike) and held up as a totem pole to be revered and worshipped like Mosesโ€™ serpent which was held up in the wilderness. Yet the 10 Tribes of millions of true Jewish/Israelite peoples are still very much scattered at large in every nook and cranny of earth (people particularly of Black ethnic origins) covering the landscape of earth โ€“ many still living under the weight of servitude and oppression.

Jesus had warned that upon โ€œthis Rockโ€ He would build His Church (many still believe it is the Catholic Church) โ€“ who through Satanโ€™s insidious work for thousands of years has built a counterfeit, corrupt, subversive monolith which tries to resemble the real thing and would fool the world into accepting the phony for the authentic. Moses was warned in Exodus 20: 25 that โ€œif thou wilt make me an altar of stone, thou shalt not build it of hewn stone: for if thou lift up thy tool upon it, thou hast polluted it.โ€ Every since then man has sought to carve out their own altar of stone in the hope that it would be acceptable to God โ€“ not realising that God wonโ€™t accept anything other than the genuine or what He has asked for.

Samuel L. Williams, former pastor of the 650-member Friendship Baptist Church and former chairman of Atlanta’s Human Relations Committee who was also academic dean at Morehouse College in Atlanta said – “White America would rather see this nation destroyed than give up white racism. The worst institution in America today is the white church. It has more hypocrisy per square inch than any other. And no impression I have received in the past five years has made any difference.”

C. Eric Lincoln defines in his book โ€œThe Black Church in the African American Experienceโ€ (Durham Duke University Press, 1990) – how โ€œthe Black Churchโ€ in America is seen as the independent, historic, and completely black-controlled denominations founded during slavery. Although there have been African-American believers in denominations governed by white Americans – the Catholic, Presbyterian, Methodist, and Lutheran churches, for instance – Lincolnโ€™s definition includes 7 major historic Black denominations: the African Methodist Episcopal (A.M.E.) Church; the African Methodist Episcopal Zion (A.M.E.Z.) Church; the Christian Methodist Episcopal (C.M.E.) Church; the National Baptist Convention, U.S.A., Incorporated (N.B.C.); the National Baptist Convention of America, Unincorporated (N.B.C.A.); the Progressive National Baptist Convention (P.N.B.C.); and the Church of God in Christ (C.O.G.I.C.).

I however believe that as was aforementioned in my opening remarks on this issue that writers, theologians and academics are still blind-sided as to the part that ethnicity played in the Holy Scriptures from its inception โ€“ given that “Miriam and Aaron spoke against Moses because of the Cushite woman whom he had married, for he had married an Ethiopian woman.” God then struck Miriam with leprosy. Why? Consider this possibility. In Godโ€™s anger at Miriam, (Mosesโ€™ sister), God says in effect, “how would you like to be pale-skinned Miriam? Then, Iโ€™ll make you pale-skinned.” So we read, “When the cloud removed from over the tent, behold, Miriam was leprous, like snow” (Num. 12:10). The question we must all ask โ€“ โ€œHow does God view color?โ€ Also, in determining any religious orthodoxy, what part does race, gender or social creed play in its makeup?

Racism in any form is still a difficult โ€œrealityโ€ to define far less comprehend given the fact that we are all potentially โ€“ โ€˜human beingsโ€™. In the book of the Acts of the Apostles, God convicted Peter of his religious racism in a vision and told him to accept the Gentiles as brothers in Christ. โ€œPeter opened his mouth and said: โ€œTruly I understand that God shows no partiality, but in every nation anyone who fears him and does what is right is acceptable to him.โ€ (Acts.10: 34-35). Paul also wrote that โ€œThere is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is neither male nor female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus.โ€ (Galatians 3:28). God made us and He made the color of our skins, and He saw that His work was good.

Even outside of mainstream Christianity, denominations like the Mormon church have long held that a visible code of religious bias and bigotry towards people of color even though the Bible reveals that Abraham married an Egyptian; Joseph, the son of Jacob (later called Israel) married an Egyptian woman Asenath and bore Ephraim and Manasseh; Moses married โ€œan Ethiopian womanโ€; and most importantly Judah married a Canaanite (BLACK) woman that Jesus Himself is a direct descendant of. So for me what beggars belief is – how can Mormons say that Hamites couldnโ€™t have the priesthood when the Israelites themselves were at least (for the sake of anthropological argument sake) ONE-THIRD Hamitic?

In the closing phases of a post-Apartheid South Africa, it was interesting to see the Dutch Reformed Church offer a public apology for the devilish curse of religious racism towards the oppressed majority โ€“ words that still echo some 20 years later but where little has really been done to heal an age-old rift between two altars of stones where the sacrifices of religious ceremony is still being offered to appease a God who wants nothing more than for all men to come into the unity of the faith.

I close with those famous words offered to the peoples of South Africa but words echoed down through the hallowed hallways of 400 years of separation, segregation and ethnic sanction of a race of people who continue to still be maligned because of the color of their skin: – ”We confess with humility and sorrow the participation of our church in the introduction and legitimation of the ideology of apartheid and the subsequent suffering of people..”

In conclusion, let me also echo the words of Jesus as they came forth from the mouth of Abraham Lincoln on June 16, 1858, where more than 1,000 Republican delegates met in the Springfield, Illinois, statehouse for the Republican State Convention.

At 5 p.m. they chose Abraham Lincoln as their candidate for the U.S. Senate, running against Democrat Stephen A. Douglas. At 8 p.m. Lincoln delivered his address to his Republican colleagues in the Hall of Representatives. The title of his speech came from a sentence in the speech’s introduction, “A House Divided Against Itself Cannot Stand,” which paraphrases a statement by Jesus in Matthew 12:25.

Lincoln’s friends believed the speech was too radical for the occasion. His law partner, William H. Herndon, thought that Lincoln was morally courageous but politically incorrect and possibly suicidal. Herndon said Lincoln told him he was looking for a universally known figure of speech that would rouse people to the peril of the times.

The speech began:

โ€œMr. President and Gentlemen of the Convention.

If we could first know where we are, and whither we are tending, we could then better judge what to do, and how to do it. We are now far into the fifth year, since a policy was initiated, with the avowed object, and confident promise, of putting an end to slavery agitation. Under the operation of that policy, that agitation has not only, not ceased, but has constantly augmented. In my opinion, it will not cease, until a crisis shall have been reached, and passed. โ€˜A house divided against itself cannot stand.โ€™ I believe this government cannot endure; permanently half slave and half free. I do not expect the Union to be dissolved – I do not expect the house to fall – but I do expect it will cease to be divided. It will become all one thing or all the other. Either the opponents of slavery, will arrest the further spread of it, and place it where the public mind shall rest in the belief that it is in the course of ultimate extinction; or its advocates will push it forward, till it shall become alike lawful in all the States, old as well as new – North as well as South. Have we no tendency to the latter condition?

The question the modern Church must now ask โ€“ can we ill-afford another hundred years of the same old divisions or isnโ€™t time to heal the rift and have one altar upon which we offer our sacrifices?

365 responses to “Two Altars Of Stone:- The Black Church Versus The White Church – A House Divided Against Itself”

1. my belief is my belief and
    your belief is your belief
    in the new age people
    determine their own
    spiritual philosophy
    if they want to be
    friends with god

religious education should cover all
    main religions

2. Bad Boy Bubby

That is the way to go my brother.I endorsed every single point you made in your excellent post.

Black people must rid themselves of the big fraud that was and is still being played on us,that foolishness that we call christianity.Chistianity A BIG STINKING LIE perpetrated by that disease ,killing,mercenary race of people the mass murderers stinking,half make,semi-retarded,disease filled,bulling,boy lovers Europeans.

Bad Boy Buddy,we must continue to expose the bullshit in that fraudulent “religion”christianity.How can our loving,merciful,caring heavenly father sit idle and watch his so-called children suffer like hell and do nothing about it?That boggles my thinking.

Christianity is a waste of time and the sooner we Black People distance ourselves from the nonsense,then we will be in a position to reclaim our past glories.

Down with christianity and let us deal with real spirituality.No more christianity for Black People.

3. @ Negroman // January 26, 2010 at 4:40 PM
    So what are you suggesting to replace Christianity?………Vodun??

4. It’s about to hit the fan!!

5. @TerrenceBlackett
    I hope you have not bite off more than you can chew on this topic.The tag team of Zoe and Gp not going to let you get away easily
    Question : Does the seventh day religious
    material by use of pictures use black people .
    There was a time when friends of the family who were devout seventh day adventist and in they quest to teach us
    their doctrine would use religious slide
    and i never would see black people in
    them. Strangely enough all of the people
    were white and going to Heaven.

6. The Zee Said:
    “PLAGAIRISM, remains plagairism,”
    +
    unless people are saying the same thing
    i.e. agreeing with each other

7. @ Technician // January 26, 2010 at 4:56 PM

Itโ€™s about to hit the fan!!
    ……………………………………………….
    Yeah, Techie, and I can’t wait for the fireworks to start. I here on the sidelines just watching on!

8. nowhere in the bible is there a reference to people called christians. They were Jews and Gentiles.

9. Techie,
    When the roll is called up yonder Zoe, GP & Dictionary ain’t gonna hear a thing! Dem going still be too busy “dividing the word”!

10. nowhere in the bible is there reference to
    people called christians. There were Jews and Gentiles.

11. I try to stay away far from these topics but this one really bothers me, both the articale and comments made by some bloggers. Barbados seems to be going down a very dangerous road, sometimes too much so-called education and commonsense can warp ones ability to think properly. All I would comment on this is ” the road that Barbados is travelling might cause us to experience the warth of God. In fact if God spares Barbados, he might have to apologise to Sodom and Gomorrah. The immorality of barbadians is sending to stench up to the Creator. Be warned.

12. And so the vitriol, name-calling, hecklers, hagglers, soothsayers and naysayers continue…

This is GREAT STUFF!!!

You cannot pay for this…

Now, if ZOE & CO. expect a retort on the tripe and spurious innuendo being thrown about – PLEASE DON’T HOLD YOUR BREATH!!!

I stated for the record (BUT CLEARLY NONE OF THESE RELIGIOUS PONTIFFS WERE LISTENING) – again permit me to reiterate my religious position and maybe the others who are reading will at least have “no wool on their eyes” and will be visually competent and coherent enough to see that I said – “ALL THE MODERN-DAY RELIGIOUS DENOMINATIONS HAVE ALL* (emphasis on “ALL”) APOSTATIZED IN ONE WAY OR ANOTHER”….That includes the SDA Church for which I have been a part of for over 20 years…

So the rancor on the validity of “one” prophet as against another is frankly immaterial – and has no foundation or basis in this thread of argument…

You guys are like the prophets of Baal trying to disprove one person or another but at the same time your own creditability is “shot to pieces” because your arguments are self-seeking, full of PRIDE* and human wisdom…

To keep whining about whether or not I have an agenda is nonsensical – for what would that be; and who is cutting the cheque?

I am still awaiting a solid discourse on the social anthropological facts as well as the sociology on this issue of a divided church – Black v White…

Come on y’all…You guys went to school!!! Come on – a short essay of 500 words or less would be more than adequate – even some of our undergrads can close their eyes and do this….

It is clear that when social engineers and theorists like myself seek to question vociferously the status quo – we are given the wonderful label “reverse racists”, dissidents and anti-establishment-minded troublemakers…

It is time maybe for a lexicographic interpretation of the a coined concept entitled -“RELIGIOUS ANARCHISTS”… Maybe this could be a new “watch-lists” for the emerging “ANTICHRIST” and his cronies…

When you guys are ready to have a proper social, academic and religious discourse on this rather “niggardly” subject – I am fair game…

Until then, I will withdraw quietly and inconspicuously into the hallowed halls of academia, reason and sound logic…

Have a nice day!!!

13. @ ac
    Please read:-
    Acts 11:26 And when he had found him, he brought him unto Antioch. And it came to pass, that a whole year they aassembled themselves with the church, and taught much people. And the disciples were called bChristians first in cAntioch.
    Acts 26:28 Then Agrippa said unto Paul, Almost thou apersuadest me to be a bChristian.
    1 Peter 4:16 Yet if any man suffer as a aChristian, let him not be ashamed; but let him glorify God on this behalf.

14. Actually the word Christian apears three times in the King James Version it appears (Acts 11:26, Acts 26:28, and I Peter 4:16) thus…..

Acts 11:26, “and when he had found him, he brought him to Antioch. And it came about that for an entire year they met with the church, and taught considerable numbers; and the disciples were first called Christians in Antioch.”

Acts 26:28, “And Agrippa replied to Paul, “In a short time you will persuade me to become a Christian.”

1 Peter 4:16, “but if anyone suffers as a Christian, let him not feel ashamed, but in that name let him glorify God.”

As we know or ought to know, the New Testament manuscripts were written in Greek, originally not English as English did not exists at this point.

The Greek word for Christian found in these passages is: Christiano meaning a follower of Christos (Christ). Christos means anointed/Messiah.

The original disciples never had any formal “name” for themselves but were later called Christians by the Romans who occupied Antioch Greece in which the word had a very different meaning in those ancient days!

Originally, the word “Christian” was a term of derision that enemies of Jesus labeled his followers. It was intended as an insult or mockery. When the followers of Jesus were called “Christians” at Antioch, or when Paul was called a “Christian” by King Agrippa, it was not intended as a compliment!

This is the reason that Peter associates the name “Christian” with suffering. A person had to be seriously willing to follow Jesus as a disciple (someone who accepts Jesus’ teachings and follows his example), before he would be willing to be called a “Christian”!

Knowing these things, we must make a decision. Unless we’re simply going to ignore the issue, we must decide whose definition of “Christian” we are going to accept. We can choose the modern (often “politically correct”) concept, which will include just about anyone who wants to be called a “Christian” – regardless of what they believe or do. Or we can choose the New Testament concept which equates “Christian” with:
    โ€ข being a follower (disciple) of Jesus,
    โ€ข having a changed way of thinking and living,
    โ€ข having a willingness to accept what the Bible says, and
    โ€ข having with a willingness to suffer for Christ (along with an avoidance of sinful conduct which would result in deserved suffering).

If we accept the New Testament definition, we may discover that, not only will we have to revise our views about who is and who isn’t “Christian,” but we may need to make some changes in our own lives, before we can rightfully claim that name.

We will also discover that any suffering we may experience, because of those changes, will be worth the trouble – when we consider the wonderful outcome that God has in store for us!

15. @ the hood…

It off man..TB pull up stumps, tek up he bat and gone home….cha!

16. Consp. Theory
    The white man might be the degenerative inbred product of Dr. Yacob’s experiments, and that might make him a devil
    =
    โ€œTell us what and how the devil is made? Answer: The devil is made from the Original People by grafting (by separating the germs). In the Black man there exists two germs: One a black germ, and one a brown germ. Yacob, with his law on birth control, separated the brown germ from the black and grafted it into a white by destroying the black germ. After following this process for 600 years, the germ became white and weak and was no more original. Also by spinning the original blood, it became weak and wicked and it is no more the same. Thus, this is the way Yacob made the devil.โ€

17. @Technician // January 26, 2010 at 5:37 PM

@ the hoodโ€ฆ

It off man..TB pull up stumps, tek up he bat and gone homeโ€ฆ.cha!
    ………………………………………………….
    Oh well, I guess we’ll just have to wait a while for the fireworks, Techie! But it is sure to come!

18. just remember the lie is the truth for them.

19. @ Techie,
    Seriously though when you see how some of the so called “Christians” here on BU behave does it want you to wonder if Galatians 5:22 was a misprint in the KJV of the bible.

Galatians 5:22:- But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
    23 Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

20. @ Techie
    Also check out 2 Tim 2:24-26.

2Tim. 2: 24 And the servant of the Lord must not strive; but be gentle unto all men, apt to teach, patient,
    25 In meekness binstructing those that oppose themselves; if God peradventure will give them repentance to the acknowledging of the truth;
    26 And that they may recover themselves out of the snare of the devil, who are taken acaptive by him at his will.
    I rest my case!!

21. @GP,Zoe & TB
    Oh so heavenly!

@hood
    The word christian was used by the greeks and Romans as a reproach to the
    followers of Christ.However Jesus never
    refered to any of his followers as christians. He however refered to them
    as disciples. The word itself is only mentioned abot 3times twice in acts and once in Peter.

22. Blackett ma boy

Where is the vitriol, name-calling, hecklers, hagglers, soothsayers and naysayers. Sir

I have asked you some simple questions in my ignorance of this โ€œniggardlyโ€ subject . Being an unpublished academic I have sought to respond most humbly in order to facilitate โ€œa proper social, academic and religious discourse on this rather โ€œniggardlyโ€ subjectโ€ โ€“ but you have not responded to me Sir?

I do agree though that the information /quotations by Zoe on Ellen G Black & White โ€œThis is GREAT STUFF!!!โ€ I agree with you 100% Sir โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. โ€œYou cannot pay for thisโ€

Please kindly note Sir, that THESE RELIGIOUS PONTIFFS WERE LISTENING and we would concur that โ€œALL THE MODERN-DAY RELIGIOUS DENOMINATIONS HAVE ALL* (emphasis on โ€œALLโ€) APOSTATIZED IN ONE WAY OR ANOTHERโ€โ€ฆ.and that โ€œThat includes the SDA Churchโ€ Which after all began by apostatizing from the Baptist Church.

We all know this, but we didnโ€™t know that longstanding deep seated third generation SDAโ€™a had written in depth about the copying of Ellen G Black & White!

You see BU Bible Seminary does really teach a lot to its adherents Sir. You must agree.

Sir there is no rancor on the validity of โ€œoneโ€ FALSE prophet, Sir. Zoe has just revealed the truths that the SDAโ€™s have hidden for years about Ellen G Black & White! And he has not compared her to the true prophets in the word of God. Nor has he applied to test of a prophet to her as given in Deuteronomy 18 Sir.

Whereas exposing Ellen G Black & White may be to you โ€œfrankly immaterial โ€“ and has no foundation or basis in this thread of argumentโ€ฆโ€ Zoe has just gone the wicket flashing his bat as is the norm on nearly every thread on BU.

There you go calling names โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ. prophets of Baal Sir? -โ€RELIGIOUS ANARCHISTSโ€ Sir?

And where did the โ€œprophets of Baal trying to disprove one person or anotherโ€ Can you remind me of the reference? You are certainly not speaking of the incident at Mount Carmel when Elijah revealed that their God was a FALSE GOD JUST LIKE HOW ZOE HAS REVEALED THAT DEAR OLE ELLEN WAS AS FALSE AS A SEVEN DOLLAR NOTE. Are you?

No Terry ma boy
    Our arguments are neither self-seeking, full of PRIDE* or of human wisdomโ€ฆ We always give the Scripture references to support our little feeble thoughts, Sir

And we are still waiting for you to show the relevance of a solid discourse on the social anthropological facts as well as the sociology on this issue of a divided church โ€“ Black v Whiteโ€ฆ

Jesus taught that the church ought to ne UNIFIED in John 17. Paul taught in Ephesians 4: 11 et secq on how the church is equipped to do this. Stedman and Gene Gatz have written great books on the subject of Body Life, and you come spewing junk on BU?

Yes we went to school. And we can walk the hallowed halls of academia, reason and sound logic TOO!

And Mr social engineer and theorist, you can seek to question vociferously the status quo as much as you like. All I have done is ask you a few questions in response to your vociferous question Sir. And I have done so very politely Sir. And without calling you any names at all. As I know not if you are a โ€œโ€œreverse racistsโ€, a โ€œdissidentโ€ or โ€œ an anti-establishment-minded troublemaker.โ€

I ask you some questions in simple prose, cause I cant understand why it is in a little island where the population is composed of blacks, and where few white people of the already few white people on the island go to church why the white church/black church paradigm is relevant to Bajans.

Man Zoe bring on more info about Ellen Black &White, so that BU readers might learn more about the SDA cult.

23. Mr Hood

Isnt that what we are doing? Obeying 2 Tim 2:24-26.

Do you interpret the word to your convenience? Or do your RIGHTLY DIVIDE IT.

When I refused to respond to Rok for months and used this text appropriately I was cursed.

Now what about comparing scripture with scripture., and I am being patient here. Go look up 2 Peter 1:20 & Jude 3.

Then come back and tell the forum the meaning of CONTEND for the faith.

24. It wasn’t really Hopi that commented. Someone with access to my PC did that @ 5:50 pm but it looks like some spirit is calling me cause I trying real HARD to stay away from fire!

I think I love TB’s that term “Religious Anarchist”

But for people like the BU’s trinity ……”RELIGION IS KINDERGARTEN FOR PSYCHOPATHS.’

25. How many times must a word be used in the Bible for it to be important?

Jesus never called his followers Christians it was THIER ENEMIES.
    And they have kept that name by which even today thier enemies scoff at them and mock them.

How interesting

The word preeminent in to how

26. Thanks for your most kindremarks Hopi, my dear.

27. Yes hoodie

Galatians 5:22:- But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith,
    23 Meekness, temperance: against such there is no law.

It is with love and joy and peace and much longsuffering that one tries to share the Word on BU.

Any one can quote a text or two OUT OF CONTEXT and post on BU. But such as you can not EARNESTLY CONTEND FOR THE FAITH!

And yes the disciples were first called Christians as an insult by thier enemies. Today this term is still used with derision and in a derogatory fashion on BU.

Nothing that we say is not scoffed ad mocked at. It really takes a lot of goodness, and faith to post here on biblical issues. Ah lie?

28. @GP
    With all due respect, Sir, I prefer to defer to you on that.

Also GP, I notice you said thusly:-
    “Being an unpublished academic I have sought to respond most humbly in order to facilitate โ€œa proper social, academic and religious discourse on this rather โ€œniggardlyโ€ subjectโ€ โ€“ but you have not responded to me Sir?”

So you are now the “humble” one. However, was it not you who said to me,
    “……..that when one refers to one self as “humble” then maybe one is NOT?”
    That may not be the exact quote but I as sure words to that effect. Remember?

29. @ GP
    Suffer this fool yet awhile, Dr.
    But have you tried to consider that it is not WHAT one SAYS but HOW one says it that cause posters to get their hackles up and get their “knickers” all in a twist??

30. laud hav merci…………..

@terrence Blackett.
    What is your response to SDA using pictures of white people going to heaven in their pictorial as opposed to blacks?
    Isn”t that racist.

31. @ GP

“I didnt know that there was an โ€œAnglicanโ€ bible Hants.”

Sorry for the inaccuracy GP but I am sure you knew what I meant.

The only church I ever attended was an Anglican church and I do have a KJV bible in my house.

32. Mr Hood
    Man you love to split hairs and pick nits nuh.

I said that I responded most humbly……..in other words ‘In stead of giving him the whipping that he deserved I took the part of the little boy or novice. And asked questions. Insead of taking the attack to him, I asked him pointed, pertinent and poignant questions. LOL

If you can condone (note I am not saying that it has not or does not exist) a black / white church paradigm, why then have debates about racism.

As a black man I have had to suffer for my color. But I will not do so in a white church. I will not stay in a white church where I have no say, when I can go and have no say among my own.

On the humilty issue…
    I once heard J Vernon McGee say men may be humbleD but few are really humble. I know that I have been humbleD, but I dont know that I am humble. LOL

Also note that MEEKNESS is not WEAKNESS.

Jesus was decribed as meek but he was definitely not weaw
    ank or wishy washy.

Neither were Moses or Paul.

The idea that believers should not stand up and defend themselves or the faith is nonsense and is not at all scriptural.

33. Hants

โ€œI didnt know that there was an โ€œAnglicanโ€ bible Hants.โ€

Actually Hants, some denominations have thir own version of the Bible. e.g the JW’s have changed up much of the Bible to reflect thier Arian stance.

And by the way.
    I understand that there are interdenominational meetings where they meet to discuss what should be taught to children at various age groups.

Educational psychologists and others in the US meet to determine what a Grade 1- 12 child ought to be able to understand about the flood, Babel et ect

Then each denomination with dwas to thier own printing presses and prepare thier “quarterlies” or Sunday School materials. Up here the Sunday School or Church School is a big thing in most churches and it follows the same age structure as in secular school.

Holders of the Master of Christian or Religious Education can get up to US 40,000 pa for directing the Sunday School.

34. @ GP
    Please note, I do not remember ever saying…….quote GP “that believers should not stand up and defend themselves or the faith……”
    It is not WHAT is said, but HOW it is said that causes problems sometimes.

35. We must rid ourselves of these bible thumpers and sky pilots. It is religion which keeps us in such a sedated state. While we look to the heavens looking for our pie in the sky, the Vatican has raped civilisation and the bishops et al continue to use little boys as catamites. Was it Marx who said that “religion was the opium of the people”?

36. Hoodie

I did not say that you said that.
    I was pointing out that with respect to the issue of meekness that this seems often to be the position of non Christians.

whereas it is true that “It is not WHAT is said, but HOW it is said that causes problems sometimes” the listener or reader can not always discernthe intent of the speaker or writer…….especially when using or fairly inexact language……or online when one can not acurately guage the person’s emotion etc

Like I am usually here laughing when I engage others on BU. Its often more entertaining than tv.

What can you do for example when you start a thread on the Doctrine of the Second Coming and it is hijacked? YOu laugh man…….inter alia

37. Do I believe in god? Of course I don’t! I don’t believe in the Easter bunny either…

38. @GP
    “If you can condone (note I am not saying that it has not or does not exist) a black / white church paradigm, why then have debates about racism.”
    ……………………………………………….
    GP,
    Don’t get apoplectic when I say I agree with you wholeheartedly when you say that a black/white church paradigm cannot apply to Barbados.
    The reason for this is that out of a population of say 270,000, the “bajan white” averages something like less than 5% (say 13/14,000 souls?) out of that number how many “bajan whites” attend church? 5,000? 7,000? 10,000? I would guess it’s more like 5,000 if so many.
    So where’s da beef……….? As some say.

39. Why does Terrence M. Blackette remind me so much of Dictionary?

40. Techie

With respect to comments between us yesterday. I have now been reliably informed that the 1985 version of “The Kingdom of the Cultsโ€ by the late Dr. Walter Martin only dealt with the SDA church in the Appendix Section. This means that the copy I read in the early 70โ€™s probably didnโ€™t say much about it at all. LOL I READ THAT BOOK IN THE EARLY 70’S , LENT IT OUT AND NEVER GOT IT BACK AND HAVE FORGOTEN WHAT IT SAID ABOUT THE SDA’S

WE WERE ALWAYS TAUGHT BACK THEN, however THAT Ellen G. White’s WRITINGS WERE HERESY, but we never delved into their doctrine as Zoe seems to have. My style has always to seek to know the truth. Then other stuff is likely to be untrue. This is a general rule of mine.

Its like learning to listen to the heart. You concentrate on the first sound, than the second sound. Then you listen to any other sounds that might be present. If there are any deviations in any of the three, you should pick it up, if you know what the correct sound should be.

41. Hoodie

You joking man?

Man I have to run round the park in the cold when I get a fella like you to agree with me on one single jot…..or tittle. LOL

Wait! Rok now turn up now the fella gone home wid he bat and ball and stumps. He was looking for support from Mr King.

Rok why ya let down the man, nuh man?

42. And GP as far as I am concerned, no one , not one human being should ever have to suffer for their “colour”.
    Taking all into consideration, what is colour? Just a difference in the percentage of the melanin content of the SKIN of a human being! Why should this be a consideration in anything?
    When our Creator looks at any of us does he see colour or does he see what is in our hearts?

43. So ROKie,
    How much more we gotta fork out for electricity now, my good man?

44. Bad Boy Bubby // January 26, 2010 at 1:33 PM

I did exactly what you suggest, many years ago, and I have not been happier. The world is my oyster! No worries, no problems, no fears. With an adequate supply of funds I go where I want, do what I want, read and see what I want and religion be damned! god my left foot!

45. @ Pat
    If that is how you truly feel, you sincerely have my greatest sympathies!!

46. Hants // January 26, 2010 at 6:48 PM

Man, buy bible what. Just walk into any Salvation Army Office or Thrift Store and they will give you one. They dont resell them, for very good reason. I think they know, deep down inside, that they selling fairy tales, myths and legends.

47. I’ve heard about Osiris, Isis and Horus…now I’m hearing intimations about some BU trinity….

48. the hood // January 26, 2010 at 7:54 PM

@ Pat
    If that is how you truly feel, you sincerely have my greatest sympathies!!

No need my friend. I have stated my feelings in several threads on this blog. I based my belief on experience and not on a book of fairy tales.

49. Hoodie

Man you know dat aint true.
    End of last year I was invited to go teach a likkle Biochem in Aruba. On Thursday the men agreed on every thing. They definitely wanted me there no later than the Sunday for orientation……..till they sa my black fac in my photo they asked me to send.

Two days later they said the Orgamic Chemistry man will also teah the Biochem.

Yesterday I heard from a good friend who is working at the same school, He told me that the Orgamic Chemistry man could not make the grade, so they got the Pharm man deputizing, and they waiting to get a man from India.

Men of our colour suffer because we have this color…so I have come to expect it. I dont accept it but often you cant do anything about it. But there are times when you can……………..and you MUST! LOL!

I know a man millions in debt today because he took bread out of the mouth of a big belly black Bajan boy.

50. @ GP
    “Man you know dat aint true.”
    ……………………………………………….
    I am not trying to indicate that I am not aware of this. What I am trying to say is that it SHOULD NOT be this way. Especially in B’dos! Raisin d’etre, that after all the intermingling after some 300/400 years, all ah we is (should be?) one. Ah Lie??