Submitted by Doc Georgie Porgie

Cranberry juice, obtained from the berries of the plant Vaccinium macrocarpon Ait.,[Ericaceae] has long been advocated by folklorists for the prevention of urinary tract infections [UTI’S].

Originally, it was thought that the juice acted by increasing the acidity of the urine. However, it is currently thought that cranberry possesses “anti-adherence “properties, which prevent bacteria from attaching to the lining of the urinary tract. Two compounds have been isolated from cranberry , which inhibit the adhesion of E. coli to cells of the urinary tract. In addition, an as yet unidentified compound [found only in cranberry and blueberry juice] along with fructose [which is found in all fruit juices ] have been shown to inhibit E.coli fimbrial adhesions.

In a recent randomized, double – blind, placebo-controlled clinical trial involving 153 elderly women who ingested 300 mL of commercially available cranberry or placebo daily for 6 months it was demonstrated that the frequency of bacteriuria with pyuria was significantly decreased [after 4 to 8 weeks] in the cranberry group in comparison with the placebo group. In addition, there was a decrease in the rate of antibiotics prescribed by doctors to treat UTI’S in the cranberry group, suggesting a relevant effect of ingesting cranberry juice. Another small,[n=7] randomized, controlled cross-over trial confirms these findings.

Although no side effects, contraindications or drug interactions are associated with the use of cranberry juice, it is imperative to note that cranberry juice should not be used as a substitute for antibiotics in the treatment of acute urinary tract infections

For the prevention of urinary tract infections cranberry juice may be given in a dose of 150 mL to 600 mL daily or as 300 to 400 mg concentrated cranberry juice capsules twice daily

TURMERIC [Curcuma longa Linn ] Family Zingiberacea

Turmeric is a member of the ginger family which has been used historically for both its flavour [it is a major ingredient in curry powder] and its colour [it is used in the preparation of mustard ].

The primary and secondary rhizomes have been used traditionally in China and India for flatulence, jaundice menstrual difficulties bruises and colic. The active agent in turmeric which is responsible for its characteristic yellow colour and pharmacological activity is curcumin, a phenylpropanoid derivative Circumin is reported to be a potent anti-inflammatory agent, to have significant anti-oxidant activity,to increase bile secretion and flow and to have a variety of other direct effects including inhibition of leukotriene formation,and platelet aggregation as well as increasing the breakdown of fibrin and promoting liver function in many ways.

Among the mechanisms postulated for the action of tumeric as an anti-inflammatory agent are that 1 it has an indirect action via the adrenal cortex, 2- it inhibits cortisone metabolism in the liver, thus increasing the amount of circulating cortisone 3- it inhibits 5-lipoxygenase and 4 it inhibits lipopolysaccharide induced production of tumour necrosis factor [ TNF ] and interleukin-1b[IL-1]..

With respect to its use in rheumatoid arthritis, one clinical study which used the postoperative inflammation model for evaluating NSAIDS found that 400 mg of curcumin was as effective as 100 mg phenylbutazone. Another found that symptoms such as joint swelling, walking speed and morning stiffness were improved to the same degree in patients taking either curcumin 1200 mg daily or phenylbutazone 300mg daily

Tumeric has been traditionally used for a number of liver diseases. Although there are no available human clinical studies which have investigated the efficacy of tumeric in these indications, evidence from experimental studies on animals reveal that it increases bile flow and may play a role in protecting the liver from toxins and that it also provides protection from hepatoxin-induced liver damage

Several animal studies have demonstrated that curcumin may have an inhibitory effect on a variety of experimentally induced cancers because of curcumin’s antioxidant action by inhibition of superoxide production, but the clinical significance of these findings remains uncertain.

Circumin has been reported to decrease cholesterol and lipid levels as well as to have antioxidant properties in animal studies

No drug interactions or adverse effects have been found when tumeric has been used in a dose of 400 mg curcumin three times daily or 1.5 to 3 g tumeric daily. However, prolonged use may sometimes cause gastrointestinal upset, and safety in pregnancy and lactation has not yet been established Individuals with blockage of the common bile duct or gallstones are advised not to use tumeric, because of its reputed ability to increase bile flow. It is note worthy that the German Commission E has approved the use of tumeric as an effective cholagogue and digestive aid

A WORD OF CAUTION

Clinical studies on humans have clearly demonstrated that tumeric has a potent inflammatory action comparable to that of phenylbutazone ,a pain killer which has been discontinued in most countries for almost twenty years. It would seem that tumeric can safely be used in the recommended doses as an adjunct to prescribed arthritis pain killers. Perhaps one can use the tumeric as the mainstay, since it is not reported to have any adverse effects or drug interactions and add your prescribed painkillers only when the pain is unbearable even with the use of tumeric. However it does not seem that there is any clinical evidence which suggests that tumeric can be used for the other indications as advocated in the publications emitting from the folklorists.

One has always to consider a few things when using any extract. What are the active ingredients in the extract ? What are the other constituents of the extract ? Are these ingredients all safe ? What are there adverse effects ? Will they interact with prescribed drugs ? “

180 responses to “The Use Of Cranberry Juice In the Treatment And Prevention Of Urinary Tract Infections”

1. @Seewt &Healthy
    I now what i say is true look at how quick
    you are to repond about your weight .
    You have no shame peddling your what-
    ever . Yeah fiddle alright that is”the mother Fiddle”.As for me buying that junk you are peddling don’t hold yuh breath. I ain’t that stupid. Now that you
    have been “busted” Leaveus on BU alone
    and go find another sucker klown.

2. @Dr GP

“You have certainly brought some facts and information to this debate. And I commend you for this because the quality of your contribution is far above the usual bovine excrement that is infused into BU waters offered for drink on this blog”

Boy you weren’t lying when you said some of these folk on BU could infuse some bovine excrement into a conversation. Hahahahaha!

3. S & W would tell you she pees gold and diamonds if it meant she would get a commission on a sale of one of those water systems.

4. @ac stop behaving like a child. If you don’t want to read what I’m posting, leave the topic and join another.

5. @SOIT & Healthiefy

I know you would like for me to go away
    so you can peddle more of that gargage
    on this blog. from your first comment i
    had detected an measure of insincerity about you peddling that garbage.
    Now to save your face you need to take your crap elsewhere before you get more negative publicity from me.

6. @NF

Apparently you did not see my earlier post. Here it is again.

LOL the last place I would sell anything is around Bajans. For them, health is minor compared to huge houses, the lastest cars and gear.

7. GP
    You very quiet Sir? Wuh happen man? Sound yuh voice nuh?
    You don’t usually let any one come on BU with (to quote you bovine excrement) on health issues or misquoting the Bible.

@ Sweet&Healthy
    Im sure you know that the Public Health Lab in Bridgetown checks water samples from all over Barbados weekly.

We don’t use recycled water in Barbados. We use some desalinized water—which is more likely to be alkaline than acid. Wuh you think?

I suggested that city authorities should acidify water slightly to kill microbes BEFORE neutralizing the water being sending it for human consumption.” i.e AFTER the microbes are killed the water could be brought to ph 7 or so by neutralization.

What is science 101?
    How could the body be at its healthiest when it’s 80% alkaline and 20% acidic, when there are buffers to keep body fluids close to pH 7.4?

Who says that “nowadays, most of us are 20% alkaline and 80% acidic” ?. science 101?

There is nothing wrong with taking vitamin supplements everyday. After all the vitamins are most often co- enzymes and co factors necessary to help the enzymes in our bodies do their work efficiently.

Who drinks bush tea in Barbados any more?

Are you trying to say that the high rates of cancer in Barbados is due to acidity in our water that is filtered through calcium carbonate limestone? And that ionized water will reduce cancer rates in Barbados?

Is it not more accurate to say that those folk who didn’t die from infectious diseases because of the advent of antibiotics, or child hood illnesses because of the advent of vaccines have lived long enough to succumb to cancer?

Maybe we should get the good doctor, who seems to be lost somewhere, to put up one of his power points on how cancers generally develop.

8. @ac

Your negative publicity will not, and I repeat will not stop kangen water ionizers from selling. You can write it across the sky and these machines will still continue to sell.

@Dr GP

How much acid does the body produce when one is being negative?

9. only guillable and weak minded people
    would fall for such crap
    Water ! Water! every way
    Stop selling that crap to drink

10. @Pat

Don’t wait for the the price of the machine to sky rocket to US$10,00 before you decide to purchase one. Trust me, you’ll be needing such a machine in the near future given the state of drinking water everywhere.

11. & also @ac

12. S & H
    Seriously can you explain how ionized water works….and how it is (on the basis of what we have been taught by the good doctor) that the body’s buffer systems does not negate the ionization by these machines?

After all, the ionization of water is a natural thing in the body according to slides 21-23 and slide 26 of Slides 21-23 in GP’s presentation.

Is the Dr wrong? Has he lost his Biochemical marbles?

13. ac kicking taday.. kickin’..! I waatching Autralian Open down under so ah slippin in an’ out…!

14. @ac

Dr GP and I are meeting to drink some ionized water, seems like you might need to tag along. Your body pH might be way below 7.0 with all of that negative ranting.

15. @ suiot & Hefty
    That product is a big hoax on people.And
    as far as talking about bajans and how we spend our money .At least we have enuff sense not to be suckered into one of
    your water scams.GULP! GULP!

16. AC is resorting to personal attacks. Is that how you debate?

You know, I’m forgetting where I am. A Bajan blog, I don’t need to say anymore.

17. S&H

If you can’ cook man stay out de kic’hen… hahaha

18. @soit & Hefty
    and while yuh at it forget selling dat wata
    Now go concentrate on losing dem extra
    pounds dat wuld do yuh sum good.
    Too many con artist out da we dn need another one.Next yuh would be telling people they need to special cup to piss the water fuh it to work.

19. @BAFBFP

This isn’t a kitchen, it’s a barnyard.

20. SweetHealthyKind&Compassionate Avatar
    SweetHealthyKind&Compassionate

Sorry I have to give up on this tic for tac with you tonight, but I am watching Hope for Haiti.

Hope to pursue this debate at a later date. Have a good night!

21. @ Sweet&Healthy

You are aware that the bloggers at BU can use Google or Bing and find useful information simply by typing words like ionization,ionized water.

We are also fortunate to have good Bajan brainiacs like GP who gives us the benefit of his knowledge of Biochemistry.

There are others like Pat who knows that you are not credible when you invent a Canadian government ministry.

Last but not least is ac who smell a rat from the beginning.

If the Kangen machine is as good as you say why does it need to be sold in a mutilevel marketing scheme?

22. @SOit &Hefty
    SLIPPERY WHEN WET!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

23. @HANTS
    I love your sense of humour”buddy”yuh had me lafing .

24. Anyone seen Lowdown today?

DURING HURRICANE JANET, an old Bajan was reportedly bracing his chattel house with a pole. Just then the wind whipped up, causing him to send up a reminder up to Heaven. “Lord,” he declared, “ah ain’t resisting; ah only propping, okay?”
    In those days many Bajans appended “God willing” or “if the Lord spares life” to every future promise, acknowledging that there are forces greater than man, forces we should be ever mindful not to think we can conquer.
    The world was in wonderful balance. There were crops and crop eaters; prey and predators. Everybody got a piece of the action. Man ruled the roost but the lowly mosquito drank his blood, the pests took some of his crops, the mongoose some chickens.
    “Yuh can’t get all!” was a popular Bajan consolation, and even the much-maligned planters followed the biblical injunction to leave the gleanings for the poor, the stranger, the fatherless and the widow. Many who would otherwise have gone hungry made a meal for their family by sprouting potatoes.
    Our animals and crops were in harmony with their environment. Milch cows with a bit of Zebu blood in them had built-in resistance to tick-borne diseases. Yard fowls thrived without having their feed laced with low-level antibiotics. The well-covered ears on our local corn didn’t need spraying nor did other crops.
    Alas, just as “hell and destruction are never full, so too the eyes of man are never satisfied”. Change came rapid. Cane holes which hoarded precious water, gave way to furrows which hustled it into the road. Mules fed on local grass, cane tops and molasses were replaced by trucks and tractors. Hand weeding, by sprays and more sprays.
    We imported Canadian milch cows, American hybrid corn seed and varieties of a range of vegetables which vastly outyielded anything we had before.
    But, oh God, we paid a price. The new varieties needed spraying with ever stronger chemicals againsts pests and diseases. And you had to import seed for planting each time. Resistant weeds took over. Tick fevers became a never-ending battle.
    But agriculture is just one small aspect of a wider phenomenon: the man-gods. Humans who want to have a perfect man-controlled world where there are no mosquitoes, diseases, disasters or, if they had their way, death. And all these man-gods ask is that we forget God and Nature and put our future in their hands.
    One can almost imagine Mother Nature chuckling in her rocking-chair. She just loves challenges like the “un-sinkable” Titanic or the “un-breakable” cell phone which a BBC reporter smashed last week. She’s tickled pink by terms like ‘hurricane-proof’ or ‘earthquake-proof’.
    I am no fan of scientists and professionals. Not, mind you, that I don’t envy some of their research experiences. Like the King’s College London team who checked 1 800 young women to conclude there is no G-spot. Or those who discovered there are 35 sexy places for a woman to touch a man. (“Okay, Sandra, touch there one more time. Aieee! Yesss! Yee-haw!”)
    But what gets me about these man-god jokers is that they want to enforce their particular agendas by law. Countries must accept genetically-modified foods. A doctor this week on BBC called for a law against eating butter. Some want to outlaw meat consumption. Control freaks at every turn.
    Now Tony Marshall is declaring that a building code as a guide for construction isn’t enough. He wants it rammed down our throats by law. A waste of time, Marsh!
    Stop by any house-building site. You will most likely see no architect, no engineer, no town planning officer. You will see workmen. You may see improperly mixed concrete; blocks left unfilled or no steel used although so specified.
    Tell me, Marsh, who is going to police these aspects? Who is going to take down a building if the specifications weren’t followed? The court system is already choked with a log-jam of untried cases. And you want to bring in something else to be enforced by law? And saddle poor people with supporting man-god engineers and architects?
    By all means encourage home-owners to follow the building code. But that heavy-handed approach sets up bad vibes. And Mother Nature will take note.

25. @ sweet n healthy

As Jamaicans say, den keep yuh rass out we yard.

Yuh like yuh tink we be sub-literate or sumting.

26. aweet &hefty in some of she comments have bad mouth bajans spending habits
    Talk about kicking a gift horse in the mouth .Then she got de nerve to promote
    that bilgy water of herson the bajan web-site.De only compassion she has is for she bank bookwhile laughing allthe way too.

27. […] The Use Of Cranberry Juice In the Treatment And Prevention Of … […]

28. I found some great products that helped me increased my bust line. Check out my blog for info on how I did it.

Breast Enlargement Cream,Breast Enlargement Without Surgery, Herbal Breast Enlargement

29. […] The Use Of Cranberry Juice In the Treatment And Prevention Of Urinary Tract Infections – ,[Ericaceae] has long been advocated by folklorists for the prevention of urinary tract infections [UTI’S … were improved to the same degree in patients taking either curcumin 1200 mg daily or phenylbutazone 300mg daily Tumeric has been … […]