Recently Mr. Richard Cox, Head of News and Current Affairs at the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) passed away. Last week BU learned that veteran Nation newspaper journalist Albert Brandford was put out to pasture and is currently freelancing at the Nation (seems a little strange). Despite BU’s disagreement with many Brandford’s positions on political matters, we concede that his ineffectiveness over the years may have been caused by the lack of support from his colleagues. Wow, if David Ellis were to exit the profession next, the talent level of the Fourth Estate would be less than mediocre. As if to support the point BU read a story which was reprinted by the Nation from the Associated Press (AP) which questioned Tiger Woods proclivity for fraternizing with White women.

For sometime BU has been discussing race issues and we have been labeled racist by some. It is interesting the Nation newspaper would highlight the Tiger story verbatim from the AP wire, but would hesitate to publish local stories which highlight the hypocrisy around race relations in Barbados. The conspiracy to prop up the status quo maybe?

Our journalists today seem happy to run with stories which appeal to the fast food diet of readers. Recently, a caller to a talk show made the analogy of patients doing research before visiting the doctor and consequently keeping the doctor’s diagnosis honest. The same is occurring within the media sphere. A knowledgeable and discerning public now has access to news and information on the Internet more than ever before. There is the current readership who will continue to prop up the membership of the local media but BU sees it declining overtime with a changing demographic.

Ongoing discussions about economic partnership agreements and global treaty signings ,and how they will impact our societies in the future continue to escape the scrutiny of local media. For example, at a recent meeting in October 2009 held in Brussels  under the auspice of the Technical Centre for Agriculture and Rural Cooperation (CTA), the media in the African Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries discussed The Role of Media in Agriculture and Rural Development in ACP countries:

One of the recommendations coming out of the seminar was for a greater effort to be made by the media, as well as other stakeholders involved in the agriculture sector and rural development, to capitalize on the different types of knowledge, expertise and experiences  available. The seminar also recommended that issues relating to agricultural and rural development, whatever medium is being used, must serve local interests and be used as a gauge for validating political orientations, techniques and technologies.

Interestingly, the composition of the media represented at the Brussels meeting was mainly from Africa. Should we conclude that the paucity of representation by the local media at such an important conference to do with agriculture was of no interest to the local media? Is the Fourth Estate in Barbados not concerned about our food security? The most farcical news to come out of the conference was –  journalism in general in the region was seen as setting an example for other regions of the world. According to Trinidadian media consultant, Dr Krishendaye Rampersad, the Caribbean is noted for having quality journalists. She noted that journalists in this part of the world cover a range of issues from crime to entertainment and provide in-depth coverage/ analysis on such issues within the mainstream media. The foregoing makes the saying in the land of the blind, the one-eye man is king.

It is apparent that our media has now become slave and puppeteer to the sponsors and governments by mobilizing agendas. As long as the accommodation and the sell out continues by the Forth Estate, the struggle for truth will continue.

44 responses to “Fourth Estate Surrender”

1. Maybe with Readership numbers down and hurting The Nation maybe restyling their approach towards the delivery of News and Current Affairs and giving Brandford the chop was prudent to achieve this goal.

The Nation has many question to answer to the people of Barbados one simply put is what was the reasoning for attempting to give Barbadians a positive view of Mottley with a corrupted poll??

Also re VOB they to are hurting it has been reported to me that their morning listenship has fallen off to the point that it has become a real concern for the management of the station, with Dennis Johnson’s morning show sufferring the worse, they have recently had a poll done but they have nothing to boast about and todate they have not released these results, some there even suggest that these results may never be fed to the public as they are way to damaging to their egos.

2. “Recently Mr. Richard Cox, Head of News and Current Affairs at the Caribbean Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) passed away.”

I respect the fact that he died, but did he actually contribute something of value to local media? Seriously, if he did, let me know.

3. @Anonymous

BU’s conclusion was the Fourth Estate is becoming less than mediocre. The bigger point in the blog is the surrender of the Fourth Estate to business and government lobby. There is also the point raised in the link coming out of the Brussels Declaration that the Fourth Estate in the ACP coutries, that includes the Caribbean should do more to highlight the issues in agriculture.

4. @WIV:

Propaganda is a strange craft. The worst practitioners are those who believe their own!
    The recent survey done by Systematic reveals:
    From 05:30 to 09:00 a.m.
    HOTT 95.3 20%
    98 The One 17%
    VOB 14%
    CBC 900 11%
    Q100.7 8%

VOB’s audience GREW to 16, 931

What exactly is your reoccupation with me? I pose no threat to your empire. In plain old Caribbean parlance: leff me out nah!!!!

Dennis Johnson

5. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Sorry Dennis Johnson

Larry mayers and CBC q100.7 f.m. in last place in the morning according to that survey,well all I will say is somebody mekkin sport on VOB.

Larry mayers show according to all word of mouth account is that he is ranks at the top in the morning shows as it relates to listenership.

Now I know surveys can be manipulated to say anything,so…

6. @ mash-up:

Did not design the survey, did not conduct it, nor did I do the analysis. I was responding to WIV’s statement that the recent survey showed a fall off in listnership.
    We could discuss our belief or non-belief in surveys and how they are conducted; but that would be another topic.
    If you crow when a survey says you are #1, you cannot say you will not cry when they say you are not, because “surveys can be manipulated”

Dennis Johnaon

7. No need to quarrel over the polls.

During a recession peoples habits change so listenership will vary.

Don’t raise yuh presshuh Dennis. You do your job very well.

8. Anonymous // December 12, 2009 at 7:46 AM

“I respect the fact that he died, but did he actually contribute something of value to local media? Seriously, if he did, let me know.”

I wid you…! As far the need to mention David Ellis…! For What..?

I understand the wider point that David is making but again David, you are guilty of throwing a spanner or two into the works..!

9. Next week Wednesday the Fair Trading Commission will return to the public with its findings on the application for a rate increase by the Barbados Light and Power Co after a few months of deliberation. Voice of Barbados looked the other way in not entertaining formal discussion on the proceeding after the hearings were closed.

There was so much to talk about, so many truths were brought to light, so many decisions and actions by the company were ripe for questioning and the whole activity (which incidentally cost consumers millions of dollars, tax payers millions of dollars, and the international current account millions of dollars) was left to die an unfortunate death in the eyes of the public.

Now, to add insult to injury, the company has made it impossible to use their facilities to discuss the issue when the finding of the Commission is announced on Wednesday as they have summarily decided to close down all discussion programs for the rest of the year (odd, normally the evening program continues on even after the midday program is halted). Now tell me, do you not smell a rat too? My Gad it stinks…!

10. Johnson I noticed that you skillfully did not mention the date of what you deem a recent poll, the conern is not mine my friend as it matters nothing to me if you sink or if you swim, the concern is that one being aired from within your own organisation by your own management by your own top brass.

Simple and plain that is.

11. @BAFBFP

You make a good point about the lack of opportunity for the public to use the talk shows to feedback on the FTC decision but remember the decision would have been made anyway. Christmas is the money time for most businesses, why would you deny VOB the opportunity to pad its revenues especially in these hard times man? Do you want the group to send home more people?

12. @WIV
    your concern is touching!
    the date is November 2009

13. David at least Hartley is a Barbadian a son of the soil who provides professional advice to political parties and its leadership, why would we not ask the question why under the thumb of the BLP corrupt regime they hired a Trinidadian to run their campaign in the person of Borke and then off loaded the cost of the campaign onto the taxpayers by providing him with a consultancy, his fees were then charged thru to the taxpayers to advise the Gov’t on the GIS Department.

The cost of Mr Henry’s work has been paid by the DLP not the taxpayers of Barbados, there is strike number one against the BLP.

14. @David

I am all tears for VOB. Media houses have two sets of customers, the listenership and the advertisers. So perhaps you are suggesting that it is possible to maintain a listernership that is prepared to hear only advertising…! I suppose you would be right if VOB had interesting broadcasters and the right amount of music for atmosphere and so on, but what your topic is on is the fourth estate..!

Firstly, it is usual for the evening discussion program to continue straight through till the end of the year. What harm could possible be done by broadcasting it till at least the 20th Dec. (as was the case last year?). Secondly the media houses (all) saw no relevance in keeping the hearing and the pending decision in the public’s eye. The real issue here is that they are all (as are political parties) quite comfortable catering to a dumb-down population where they can make virtuous and glorious proclamations, and do nothing more.

The decision by the FTC to save the bringing of this most important decision for the middle of the Yuletide shopping month is questionable. The abrupt decision (both the decision and the nature in which it was done) to halt discussion programs is also questionable… to me! I am a cynic, and not without justification. Tell me, do you think that there is any chance that the FTC will NOT grant the BL&P want it wants, any chance at all?

15. @David,

If we take your suggestion seriously, it would not be hard to deduce that the newspapers have now become an advertising tabloid and broadcasting is now a platform for advertising announcements; for both the private and public sectors.

Has anything changed? Maybe the fortitude of the practitioners to mix these with the interest of the people? Or is it that government and the private sector now own the media rather than the practitioners? Why do they have such influence on the media?

Maybe the stalwarts that are seen moving on one way or another have already conformed and even with their presence their hands were tied; as can be seen. Their passing is probably only ceremonial. The die is cast.

The question is whether or not all is lost. I would suggest that as long as there is a civil society sector all is not lost and, as a matter of fact, the best gatekeepers of professional journalism is the non-profit sector. Out of necessity, civil society is being forced to implement or create media. Right now we are doing it through networks and for sure those networks will grow and expand.

Some are saying that it will cost too much money, but I say to you that the Nation Newspaper grew from scratch and there is nothing to stop us from doing the same. Coming from civil society any media would be better trusted as an honest source and one that will carry and examine the critical issues without fear of being muzzled. Let us now invest in ourselves.

16. Newspapers depend mostly on advertising revenue because the public is moving to radio,television and computers to get their news.

The Nation and The Advocate may have to give some of their papers for free.

In Toronto you get a free Toronto Star if you buy a McDonalds coffee and muffin.

The Nation and The Advocate need to improve the quality of their online versions and generate more ad revenue.

17. @ROK

The current newspaper climate is ripe for competition. Both newspapers, the Advocate and the Nation are run by people whose focus is ONLY the bottomline. Yes the media houses must be run as businesses but the mission of the media houses must be linked to a purpose/vision. What concerns us is the absence of a culture of excellence which exist in the Fourth Estate. We have no standards for the profession. If another newspaper is established it would have to function in such an environment which is not currently conducive to excellence.

18. Isn’t it shameful how VOB ditches its listeners for the sole pursuit of money at this christmas time.

How difficult would it be to re-adjust their programming to allow the talk show to continue but the haste with which they drop these programmes for nauseating horrible advertising at the malls,is a clear indication that vic fernandes and vob does not appreciate what their broadcasting license suggests as it relates to why a radio license is given.

Perhaps we need a broadcasting authority with some teeth.

I see the Nation is now begging people to buy 6 months newspaper up[ front and they will get a 25% discount.

That is one newspaper I want to see shut down.

David ellis is on air complaining about the lack of callers to his sunday feel good programme.

VOB avoids the tough issues on their call-ins like the Barbados Light & power’s request for an increase .Other than having their guru avinash persaud on their call-in show to cry doom on barbados,that is the extent to which economic issues are analysed..

19. Anonymous,

I take it that you saw first hand the hurt that was inflicted onto Barbadian Taxpayers by so called EXPERTS in Ecomomics etc in the form of Owing See Thru Arthur, Mottley and Company, I also take it that you saw the extent of the corruption masterminded by these same EXPERTS,.

Why then do you feel any different about another EXPERT in Avinash Persaud ?????

20. The thing about Avinash Persaud is that he has the ear of both the British and Canadian Governments and he lives here in Bim. Now I call that an asset waiting for appropriately utilised and deployed…!

21. @ BAFBP

I dont know about having the ear of the Canadian government. I understand this man is a computer hardware engineer not an economist. He could not jaw-jaw with Stephen Harper, Prime Minister and former economics prof. I live in the Capital and never heard of him until I read about him on BU.

22. Pat

Thank you for enlighteningus the citizens.

Always thought something was fishy about this new boy wonder called one avinash persaud.

Suddenly after the financial fall out he had all the answers and we are told he was advising G8 countries etc.

Boy what a laugh.

23. People the man in his early forties has retired (somewhat) to a massive house in St George. To be honest he is by far and away the most interesting public speaker on macro economic policy that I have experienced in my short time on this Earth. Now if he is unable to converse with the likes of the Prime Ministers of the UK and Canada, let me tell yah, that is their loss. (Dennis aka LIB I nevah hear you in public other than on a call in, and you neva disagree wid de Professor yet…!) Anonymous, I am sorry, but in this part of the world it is so easy to cry down those of us who seek to stand up with an opinion and can boast of a track record.

24. Persaud has a BSc in Monetary Economics from the LSE.

@ Pat

Ottawa is the Capital of Canada but…

Toronto, Canada’s largest city is a recognized finance hub, the 3rd largest financial centre in North America behind New York and Chicago and Canada’s financial and business capital.

In 2008, Forbes ranked Toronto as the world’s 10th most economically powerful city. Toronto accounts for over 10% of Canadian economic activity, at $123 billion, and boasts 205,000 people working in the financial services sector.

25. Barnabas Collins Avatar

@ DJ

Sir, politicians like to be able to be in control of what is said at every turn. I think you should just let citizens that promote the agenda of both political sides to continue to denegrade each other by drawing unsound conclusions and making less than prudent statements. Your station which I may add has its own problems has been trying its utmost (to my mind) to be fair to the citizens of Barbados by giving both sides of the political divide. The other station will now be hailed as the best thing since cheese by the government and its surrogates and Ted Bundy by the opposition but we know the news get manipulated over there to favour of one side. And before Mr/Ms WIV starts calling me names that my mother would be ashamed, it also happened when the other side was in power. It has become more so now this side is in power because as any first political student would know, politics is about perceptions. And as a party that has been in the wilderness far too long, they are trying to promote themselves and their agenda.

Therefore, Sir please don’t reduce your reputation to engaging in mud slinging. It makes no sense especially, when we are operating under the cloak of anonimity.

BC

26. @Barnabas Collins

You are correct and case in point is the recent resignation of Dean St.Hill who reacted badly to the appointment of known DLP supporter Ruedon Eversley.

27. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@BAFBFP “Dennis aka LIB I nevah hear you in public other than on a call in, and you neva disagree wid de Professor yet…!)” [Hearing me in public or not doesn’t say very much, especially as I am not in any business of public pronouncement–it’s incidental. You note that Avinash Persaud has the ‘ears’ of governments, and you wont hear what he says in public about that either.

Whether two economists agree or not is not really as important as why they agree, and if they are right or not in the views they hold. I agree with Rawdon Adams a lot too. We three, though unconnected, have common links, not least that we are all trained in a certain brand of economics, and we have worked in the financial sector for many years, so we tend to see many issues from a similar viewpoint. We have also spent a huge amount of time analysing economic activities in a world much larger than the Caribbean. Maybe that all explains a lot.

Avi and I do disagree on a lot but then again we have most of our discussions mainly out of the public gaze.]

28. You got to admit LIB that the Bajan-Englishman is a world class public speaker…!

29. @ David,

You may have a technical point. If the Fourth Estate was efficient, then hartley henry’s hogwash about corruption would not take root.

They would have told the people that the DLP’s allegation of corruption is yet another in its never-ending-series of big lies

++++++++++++++++++++++

How could the DLP constantly accuse the former administration of corruption, especially when at that time Transparency International was telling the world that ALL of the countries which hartley henry was advising – were far more corrupt than Barbados, which – then under BLP stewardship – was the least corrupt in the Caribbean?

Let me put that another way: Does hartley henry only advise corrupt countries or is it that shortly after his advice starts – they all seem to become? Dominica was clean under Mrs. Charles but according to TI, it is not today.

The truth is, despite the aggressive efforts of Denis Lowe, George Bispham and others within the last two years to dominate and feed at the trough, which have resulted in a Cabinet reshuffle and the holding of two retreats – their efforts are still not enough to cause Barbados to lose its prestigious rating as the least corrupt country in the Caribbean – according to Transparency International. Why?

Because in terms of bribery, collusion and corruption, Barbados under the stewardship of Team Barbados Labour Party – was crystal clear and squeaky clean. This therefore points to the folly of the allegation by the DLP.

It must also be note that it was Team BLP, which amended the Financial Administration and Audit (Financial) Rules, 1971 Cap. 5 of the laws of Barbados to make Minister personally liable for all public funds misspent or wasted, where the PS warned in writing against them (Ministers) doing such.

30. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Dean st Hill I am told was a card carrying member of the BLP.

I don’t have a problem with that unless he let that political affiliation get in the way of his professional duty.

I can not say that he did or he did not; but I am disappointed to learn that he reacted badly to reudon eversley a seasoned professional getting the job.

Did dean st hill also react badly when the Danish non national was appointed general- manager?

CBC has been trying in recent times to lift their standards in some areas and this effort should be commended.

31. MU&BB

Some areas..? Wah areas you talkin’ ’bout…?

32. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

BAFBFP

I am talking about the customer service section of their multi choice for e.g.,and limited sections of their radio programming.

I think they are aware that privitisation is always hanging over their heads and eventually the money well will dry up.

33. @ Hants;

Hats off to hogtown.

However, I have never heard the Governor of the Bank of Canada, nor the Minister of Finance mention or refer in any way to this Avinash Persaud. I worked in Industry and we along with TB brought in “outside” speakers to stimulate us silly servants and give a different perspective. Sometimes you get tunnel vision. He was never a speaker and I was forced to attend all the lectures. Dont know if he was invited after I retired, but I doubt it.

By the way, he cant hold a candle to our Kevin Lynch.

34. Pat you retire..? And I had you hey visualise in a micra mini and boob tube..? I shame now..!

35. Barnabas Collins Avatar

Let me first apologise to all I may offend by my comments but how can anyone with any part of a brain not have a problem with the Head of communications of any political party being the head of news and current affairs at the only TV station on the island. Am I alone in this? That reeks of conflict of our interests. And every night the first 20 minutes or so is devoted to bringing comments from one minister to another and they are saying the same thing they said the night before. While I am happy to hear my government officials this has not become ridiculous. God help us if the government ministers start playing sports then it would not make any sense watching that TV station.

In Barbados, when you become a “card bearing member” of a political party it seems that COMMON SENSE goes thru the door. The party officials show you a “goat” and say that it is a “car” then all members must shake their heads in unison and agree. Is this how we see ourselves? AND MY COMMENTS ARE FOR ANY POLITICAL PARTY who thinks that to disagree with them sometimes means that you are against them. Stupse…..O me miserum!!

BC

36. When Prime Minister Thompson said that he cannot wait to see the US economy rebound, the Fourth Estate should have been all over that comment – were they as alert as David (here on BU) rightly thinks they should be.

Had the Fourth Estate been alert, they would be aware that once the US economy rebounds, demand will increase and a barrel of oil on the world market will also increase over US$100 dollars a barrel.

That will have extremely serious implecations for our foreign exchange position, which is already gloomy.

Also, recognising the link between high oil prices and high food prices – especialy now that the DLP has a serious cash-flow problem, we would be in ducks-guts as the $2.4 billion left by the BLP would simply not be enought.

The cost of living would have gone through the roof even more, as the price at the pump locally would be double what it is now, by now.

Again, this is more evidence that the DLP does not know what it is doing.

37. Barnabas Collins

When you bite Barnabas, I does alright Barnabas, oh bite all night Barnabas, till daylight. Hole in one Barnabas Collins.

Now will someone tell me was it not the 15th of December 2009 that the Fair Trading Comm was to have retured with their finding on the BL&P application? Aren’t these guys being paid by the hour? Did I get the Year wrong?

38. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

BU

Consider this ruling by the Canadian courts -note – canada is part of the Commonwealth.

Jeff Cumberbatch

Can the local barbadian courts use this decision as a precedent here and do you think they will do so?

January 1, 2010
    In a welcome move toward increased freedom of expression, the Supreme Court of Canada has issued two rulings that will give reporters a new legal defense for “responsible communication.”

Freedom of Speech and ExpressionLibel law in Canada has long been heavily tilted against the news media. It has been far too easy for corporations and rich individuals in Canada to sue over news reports they do not like. Canadian journalists have had to worry far more than their American counterparts about being hit with large damage awards.

Last month, the Canadian Supreme Court changed the rules. One of the cases involved a lawsuit by a forestry executive who won a judgment of about $1.5 million against The Toronto Star, a newspaper that published an article suggesting that he had used political connections to get approval for a golf course expansion.

The Supreme Court ruled that the judgment against the newspaper was improper because it had failed to give adequate weight to the value of freedom of expression. The court announced a new defense of “responsible communication on matters of public interest.” Journalists and other speakers can avoid liability, the court ruled, if they can show that the information they communicated — whether it turned out to be true or false — was of public interest and they were diligent in trying to verify it.

In the second case, a lawsuit by a former Ontario police officer against The Ottawa Citizen newspaper, the court reached a similar result. It reversed a jury award of $100,000 to the officer, who objected to the newspaper’s reports that claimed he had misrepresented his search-and-rescue work at ground zero in New York City after the attacks of Sept. 11, 2001.

In its opinions, the Supreme Court recognized the importance of free speech and a robust news media to a functioning democracy. That is good news for Canadians and all people who respect and value Canada’s press.

39. jeff cumberbatch Avatar
    jeff cumberbatch

MU&BB,

I believe that Sargeant posted a report of these decision earlier. The short answer to your question is yes, in fact there are precedents for the ruling in at least 2 Jamaican decisions already…

I cannot see how a Barbadian judge could in good conscience refuse to apply the ruling in an appropriate case if it is relied on by counsel…but of course the operative word is “appropriate” and that assessment depends solely on the judge. Remember the publication must have acted responsibly and this is for the court to determine ultimately.

40. mash up, Jeff beat us to it. Bottomline the Fourth Estate has demonstrated cowardice when dealing with the hard issues. The part of the media in Barbados owned by T&T is motivated by profit (BTW how much does one of those Audi vehicles Fernandes is driving cost?) The CBC is government owned, what more can be said. Perhaps Reudon Eversley who frequents the blog can be bold and pull stories from the blogs with credit given. It would spice up their programming for sure.

41. “How much does one of those Audi vehicles Fernandes is driving cost” The Q7 costs the same as an average three bedroom two bathroom house. It was bought (leased) just after the staff in the sports department was sent packing!

jeff cumberbatch

Let’s talk about the quality of judges in Barbados. Says allot when a PM has to turn to his own cabinet to chose a chief over the existing compliment…!

42. @BAFBFP

Why are putting Jeff on the spot?

The question you should be asking is WHO is qualified to replace Sir David from the local legal cadre? Sir David is on his way out isn’t he?

43. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Thank you very much Jeff Cumberbatch and David/BU.

I didn’t realise that sargeant had highlighted the case earlier but I am grateful for your explanation.

Hope the media houses and their counsel are reading this.

Enough of this yellow journalism and hiding under some non existent obstacle in the current local libel laws.

44. Touché Davey;

The question of filling the CJ post is as valid now as it was then, though I must admit that there are two magistrates (not judges) that I have taken a shine too (awright awright, I know them personally).. Worrel and Chris Birch; but to leap frog over the judges to promote either of the two …well, how it gun look? Parliament got ova seventeen Lawyers who would love a pick…! Which move gun look worse?