Chief Education Officer Dr. Wendy Griffith-Watson

Earlier this week CADRES compiled the 2009 Final Barbados National Survey On Corporal Punishment And Educational Issues Report which measured the opinions of Barbadians regarding the use of corporal punishment in schools and homes. The report has attracted the ire of the outspoken Garrison Secondary School educator Mathew Farley and others; who believe the principals of CADRES have been co-opted by UNECEF to foist their agenda on Barbados and others in the region.

The educational system in Barbados is not perfect, far from, BUT the systems in the USA and other developed countries are not perfect either. Couple days ago we read about a fifteen year old boy in Chicago who called 911 because his parents punished him by taking away his Xbox. The idea of a Barbadian child doing the same thing at first thought seems alien to our culture. Barbadian children and should we stretch to say West Indian are not socialized in this neck of the woods to behave like the 15 year old Chicago boy. We could mention those students, usually boys who take to school guns and mow-down fellow students like how a butcher would spray flies in the market. It is clear we are encountering a value-set which has devalued human life.

Now that we have established the US system produces bad eggs; Barbadians should dissuade themselves from being washed away by yet another lobby from the North. Let us focus on home-grown solutions which are influenced by our peculiar experiences. Admittedly our educational system is in need of overhaul. BU encourages our local educators who are not only trained but understand the nuances of our market to get involved and lobby for change. The fact Peter Wickham et al have a forum where they can shout loudly to become opinion shapers exposes the passive society we have become and the lack of confidence we have in home-grown methods. Let us do our own research and build our own solutions to the problems which are affecting our educational system. Such an undertaking can be easily funded if Sir Hilary Beckles were to shave 5% from his ongoing capital works program at UWI, Cave Hill.

Barbados has and continue to invest too much money in education in the post-independence era for a body of research not to be available to our decision makers. For example, on the subject of whether co-ed education has affected the performance of boys in Barbados should NOT be argued from the seat of the pants. The fact that we do belies the billions spent on educating Barbadians to date.

BU is aware of primary schools in Barbados where the principals have dumped all the duncy children in one class and given to the most inexperience of teachers on staff to teach. BU is also aware of a leading private school which has concluded co-ed has negatively affected boys and the school is currently working to establish boys and girls classes i.e. revert to the status quo.

In the absence of research needed we know at a different level that our children learn differently i.e visual (verbal and non-verbal, auditory, and kinesthetic. Most people familiar with the Barbados school environment would agree our class rooms are not set up to teach multiple styles conterminously. Most of our schools cope to deliver on the mixed abilities approach sanctioned by the ministry of education. If we drill down even further and the BU family would have discuss this before; as boys we read different books e.g. Biggles, Hardy Boys, Louis L’amour etc and the girls read Nancy Drew, Enid Blyton, Mills & Boons etc. Why if boys and girls are studying in the same class their desires to read, play sports etc would be usually be on different ends of the scale? Doesn’t this suggest our young girls and boys are wired differently and by implication should be taught differently? We need to get that body of research in place, NOW. We need for the stakeholders in education to release the data so that the debate can be informed and remove from being politicised.

Hopefully Dr. Griffith-Watson, Dr. Isamay Denny and the team at the  Ministry of Education will understand the need to shift paradigms.

54 responses to “Children Go To School And Learn Well…”

1. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Interesting information.

Sept. 2009

Children Who Are Spanked Have Lower IQs, New Research Finds

Children who are spanked have lower IQs worldwide, including in the United States, according to new groundbreaking research by University of New Hampshire professor Murray Straus. The research results will be presented Friday, Sept. 25, 2009, at the 14th International Conference on Violence, Abuse and Trauma, in San Diego, Calif.

“All parents want smart children. This research shows that avoiding spanking and correcting misbehavior in other ways can help that happen,” Straus says. “The results of this research have major implications for the well being of children across the globe.”

“It is time for psychologists to recognize the need to help parents end the use of corporal punishment and incorporate that objective into their teaching and clinical practice. It also is time for the United States to begin making the advantages of not spanking a public health and child welfare focus, and eventually enact federal no-spanking legislation,” he says.

2. The study quoted above was mentioned in our blog back in September.

3. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Professor Straus who is 83 years and has been studying corporal punishment since 1969 also stated:

” it’s most common among African-American families, Southern families, parents who were spanked as children themselves and those who identify themselves as conservative Christians.”

There are a few similarities between what his research has unearth and what takes place in Barbados.

Barbados’ population is predominately of African decent, most of them will tell you as children they were beaten by their parents, and most profess to be Christians.

4. Another worry we did not mentioned in the blog but is equally troubling is the need to comprehensively trained teachers. Many of our teachers especially in the primary system cannot diagnose problems of the students which maybe preventing them from learning.

5. @ David

Timely blog.

But is there not a much more fundamental weakness in our national education model?
    What EXACTLY is it that we are trying to achieve?
    How does a mixed up, unproductive, passive, indebted society (albeit one of the best in the world) ‘educate’ its young people?
    What are we seeking to impart to these youth?

If it is just the ability to pass some academic tests, then it is no wonder that we have so many youth on the block, driving ZRs, and liming on the beach……..while we cannot find policemen, good teachers, nurses, or even laborers…except from China and Guyana…

Like everything important, Education needs to have a strategic concept. One that defines a purpose, a vision, a path to success, and a system of measureing performance.

Right now, from what most intelligent children in our schools come to see, we are nothing but a bunch of mixed up adults with no clear idea of who or what we are, or where we want to go.

A case of the blind leading the young…

…is it any wonder that they are confused, rebellious and deviant?

Who in the individual or team responsible for our national vision for education? and what is that vision?

6. Isn’t Ronald Jones in charge of education AND human resources? Suppose that is where the buck stops.

7. I was afraid you would say that….

8. …by the way Carson, most pollsters and statisticians are not your regular brain surgeon /MME types….

Anyone who goes around adding up the opinions of multitudes and then seeking to derive or establish some absolute position from the results should be living in padded rooms.

Any idiot can derive why “Children who are spanked have lower IQs worldwide”…
    …it is obviously because children who have lower IQs tend to be the ones least likely to respond to intellectual and other soft means of discipline -and therefore most like to advance to the spanking stage.

In other words, it is not that spanking causes lower IQ, but that lower IQ may more likely lead to the need for spanking.

Another favorite ploy of the ‘pollidiots’ is to say something like ‘a majority of university educated Bajans are against flogging…’

….SO WHAT! Almost all Americans were behind Bush when he first went to Iraq… Did that make it right?!

…in short order an even bigger majority was behind him – kicking his a$$.

Polling is a complex form of sheep mentality, where the ‘leader’ scientifically determines where the majority of sheep want to go – and ‘leads’ them there.

What leadership what?!!

That is IDIOCY, not leadership.

Leadership is about wisdom, commonsense and love – not polls….

9. @BT

Given the size of the budget allocation for health and education the ministers, PS’s should be out of the top drawer. Too much at stake!

On the subject of poll, CADRES as part of the poll commissioned by the DLP recently did a supplementary for the Prime Minister’s eyes only on the perceived performance of ministers. Suspect the PM is working on a reshuffle soon, he must because a few of the ministries are going no where including education.

10. In today’s Nation, the Principal of Queen’s College, Dr David Brown, is quoted as supporting the common entrance but with continuous assessment. He has no problem with the idea of selection and streaming of children. However, he is also quoted as recommending that it would be best if children go to schools near their homes. He does not address these seemingly contradictory views i.e. selection and streaming of students according to perceived academic ability and restricting students to schools in the vicinity of their homes. It would not surprise me if Dr Brown is appointed the next Chief Education Officer.

11. Anonymous may be right about the next CEO. However, Bush Tea has long maintained that the best person to fill that role is Dr. Nobody.
    What CEO what?!
    let the Principals and their Boards run their schools- BUT HAVE TO publish ALL operating statistics annually.

@ David,
    The problem with our brand of government is the need for politicians to get themselves re-elected every 5 years. This means that for at least three of these years, customer satisfaction (what the people think that they want) is more important that good sense and pragmatism….. so I guess that Cadres will do well, while our economy will collapse…

12. There are primary schools which are also experimenting with girl classes and boy classes. Lawrence T Gay is one of them.They have it on a very small scale (2 or 3 classrooms).

Dr. Brown did not contradict himself. He did say that students would benefit from going to a school closer to their home however he ALSO said that the Common Entrance would provide a form of assessment and allocation. After all, there may be more than one possible secondary school for a student to attend when we stick to the zoning process.

Students need to be assessed as they progress so that they receive meaningful feedback on their educational development.

I fear that if we do away with Common Entrance, we’ll start looking to do away with CXCs and eventually CAPE. What’s the point? CXC and CAPE are even greater perpetrators of the evils which are placed on Common Entrance. Don’t forget that employers often require a certain number of CXCs before they even consider granting an interview. CXCs are exams which are each held on 1 day and evaluate the information which the student has gained over 5 yrs (except for advanced students)!! Doesn’t the fact that these CXCs influence the professional development of persons FOR THE REST OF THEIR LIVES also strike a tone with the Common Entrance abolitionists? I think it does or eventually will.

CAPE is similarly worse since they immediately override any good performance the student may have exhibited a few years prior when completing the CXCs, provide less time for preparation and influence the choice of place for tertiary education as well as the choice of degrees which a student may pursue.

My point is that Common Entrance is not nearly the evil which people are making it out to be. However, if it was proven to be, then surely our entire educational system is unfair and needs to be remodelled.

13. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar
    Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados)

@Bush Tea
    “How does a mixed up, unproductive, passive, indebted society (albeit one of the best in the world)…?” [This seems like an oxymoron, all those negative leading to ‘best’. What am I missing? What then would one see in the ‘worse’ or even ‘worst’ categories?]

“In other words, it is not that spanking causes lower IQ, but that lower IQ may more likely lead to the need for spanking.” [Agreed that lower IQ could cause learning problems; that seems like a tautology. The use of ‘need’ seems too casual. ‘Want’ or ‘urge’ I could go with, and then the motives would be clearer, perhaps. But then, why ‘spanking’? It seems like beating on a log and that has never been known to produce much change.’]

14. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

More generally, it would be easy to argue that Barbados is not educating its population for life and work in the late 20th/21st century. Human resources are the country’s greatest general asset and it should be developed as a major earner of foreign exchange, unless the country is suddenly going to be come self-sufficient. So, less emphasis on learning that is about ‘taking in your own washing’ (ie focused on meeting domestic needs) and more focus on skills that can be exported (which does not mean that people leave, but that work flows to nationals of this island). Given the population size, it would be better to try to target certain sectors. Ironically, that was what Barbados had going in its favour 20-30 years ago, albeit with ‘exportable’ services such as nursing and policing.

15. Children are our link to the future
    What you put in is what you get out

16. @ Dennis Jones
    “What am I missing? ”
    What Oxymoron what DJ?!!

This just speaks to the complete chaotic mess that represents the world’s education systems.
    Even our most brilliant and highly educated minds which represent the ultimate ‘successes’ of the world’s education systems are frustrated and lost in simple matters of purpose, direction, economics and basic meaning.
    nothing works….. and we have no answers.

Barbados stands out by any measure in the above scenario.

HOWEVER, when we analyze our local situation, it is clear that we too are lost, adrift and definitely ‘mixed up, unproductive, passive, indebted … just not as lost… LOL.

Dennis Jones said:
    “But then, why ‘spanking’? It seems like beating on a log and that has never been known to produce much change.’]”
    Jones, The man did a survey which linked the relationship between children spanked and their IQs. He tried to draw a self-serving conclusion – that spanking CAUSED low IQ.

A Bushman explained why that conclusion is rubbish.
    …. what has this discussion got to do with spanking a log?

Bush Tea’s attitude to those of you who are anti-spanking is for you to disclose how many children you have raised and what became of them….

…but most of the people that I know who are examples of the kind of people who make Barbados stand out (including many who claim to be anti-spanking) are products of parents who resorted to corporal punishment when needed…. not speaking of ‘beating’ and bullying, but of ‘strong parental correction ‘…

With respect to your thesis at 5.56 a.m. Education is about much more than becoming self sufficient or being able to ‘earn foreign exchange’. This is exactly my point earlier. People who seek to reduce Education to some kind of economic resource are the ones responsible for the Ponzi approach to modern life.
    …this is why Lowdown Hoad is a special Bajan.

Education should be about learning the strategic purpose of being alive; It should be about coming to grips with one’s true talents and developing these to their max; It should be about learning to co-exist with others who are different; and about learning to appreciate and value the TRUE happiness of life.

…but we can only teach these things to our children if we know them ourselves – so it is much easier to see people as units of economic commerce…

17. But Bush Tea

isn’t our “education(?)” system matching perfectly the requirements of our economy and wider societal structures?

Why would you want to produce large numbers of people who have developed their “true talents.. to their max”; have learnt to “co-exist with others who are different; and… appreciate and value the TRUE happiness of life”?!

Come on, there are marinas to be built and sold, BMW’s to be sold, Crop-Overs (without the crop) to be celebrated, celebrities to be worshiped (even home grown but not home developed) and orgies of every kind to participate in. I think our schooling got it just right.

18. Living in Barbados Avatar
    Living in Barbados

@Bush Tea
    Oxymoron: a combination of contradictory or incongruous words. Citation: ‘…mixed up, unproductive, passive, indebted…’ set as ‘one of the best in the world’.

The stand out in education has never been based on any facts. This statement was made publicly by Prof. Andrew Downes, when addressing the Barbados Statistical Society. This was not challenged by Minister Estwick or the head of BSS then or since. So, an oft repeated statement has become an ‘accepted fact’, but it’s not based on any survey.

I’m not challenging that Barbados has done well with little.

Spanking: If you are dealing with any ‘dense’ material one needs to use methods that will penetrate. Spanking fails that test.

I have raised 3 children (one still in progress): 2 are graduates, one is now doing pre-med, the other just started an internship. My parents raised me without flogging. That may not satisfy you but it responded to your plea. I’ve also worked with children as a teacher and never seen the need for corporal punishment. Discipline is ultimately about learning to control yourself, not being controlled by others. Not beating takes a lot more patience and understanding. We need not agree.

I agree with your notion about education and its strategic role. But, ultimately, it is an investment and its returns must be clear. In a measurable sense we can say that the sustained growth of the economy can be attributed to making good on educational investment. Developing talents to the max. can mean that you develop a society of highly talented dependents (at its worst the ‘perennial student’).

However, in the specific case of a small open economy that growth cannot be sustained if it is mainly internal; goods and services must be sold abroad (and be competitive in so doing). If your ‘education’ is not part of that then the investment is not paying off properly. Put otherwise, we do not want the education to merely serve consumption, otherwise we are dependent on paying for it with earnings from somewhere else.

19. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Anonymous // November 22, 2009 at 8:52 AM
    “isn’t our “education(?)” system matching perfectly the requirements of our economy and wider societal structures?” [I would say no to economy requirement but probably yes to societal structures.]

My next observation is meant to be a statement of fact.

In a sense your contribution, like many others made anonymously, is testimony to the societal structures aspect. The society is still deeply constrained and people have oddly not yet developed a strong sense of being able to stand up and speak freely and bear the wind without fear of…[whatever].

20. @ anonymous

Point taken…..

21. In today’s local press Mottley has her say on flogging. A little surprise to learn from her admission it was the first time she was giving an opinion on the much discussed St.Leonards flogging. A politically correct statement perhaps? 🙂

22. my response is also a statement of fact

LIB

you want fame and recognition, I don’t. This is just a blog, reading the comments and posting a few myself are pleasant pastimes for me.

23. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@ Anonymous // November 22, 2009 at 9:54 AM
    It never ceases to amaze me that anyone would think that writing on this blog would bring fame and recognition.

You say “reading the comments and posting a few myself are pleasant pastimes for me.” Pastimes one can pursue without an audience; you can post to your hearts content to yourself and have a ton of fun. Think about it.

24. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

Linking ‘fame and recognition’ and education, it’s worth seeing today’s Sunday Sun Extra, pages 10-11, which features BANGO’s closing statement at the BL&P hearing. I’m not sure if either of Messrs. King or Halsall were seeking fame and recognition, but the presentation was very educational. One hopes that similar presentations on major issues would appear regularly.

25. cuh dear LIB

self-titillation (intellectual or otherwise) was never a fetish or habit of mine as it has been (it seems) for you!

26. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

Anonymous // November 22, 2009 at 10:35 AM As I said, think about it. Pastimes that involve taking issue with people personally in public from the comfort of ‘deep’ cover are not mere pastimes.

27. David // November 22, 2009 at 9:48 AM

In today’s local press Mottley has her say on flogging. A little surprise to learn from her admission it was the first time she was giving an opinion on the much discussed St.Leonards flogging. A politically correct statement perhaps? 🙂
    ————————————————-
    I responded to that article as soon as I saw it.

That response conflicts with her liberal views, but is in tune with a social conservative posture which Barbadians are said to have.

This comming from a woman whose response to domestic abuse is for Bajan men to learn to take a horn.

Looks like a politically calculated response.

Is the nationnews new strategy, to have Mia in the news whenever they are force to publish Thompson?

28. Many of these persons that shouting against corporal punishment in schools, got their backside cut in school and that has contributed to them being “good” citizens today. Why must we now look at following some american standard;we all know what the typical american child is like.; very indisclipined. Is this what we want for the future of Barbados? Must we become so whipish to allow every and any one to be now telling us what is “best” for us. Where is our culture?

29. The DLP made some very aggressive promises in their manifesto last election on the matter of education reform. If only we can get political parties to deliver on promises. Next election BU will definitely be asking what kind of progress the touted National Consortium on Education would have achieved.

30. Dennis Jones (aka Living in Barbados) Avatar

@The Scout. “Why must we now look at following some american standard.”? It is a straw man to put up the US to be whipped. Corporal punishment is less and less the norm, internationally. For a quick view, look at the information on Wikipedia (assuming it is largely accurate), http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Corporal_punishment. As it states, ‘Corporal punishment in school is still legal in some parts of the world, including 20 of the States of the USA, but has been outlawed in other places, including Canada, Japan, South Africa, New Zealand, and nearly all of Europe…Judicial corporal punishment has virtually disappeared from the western world but remains in force in many parts of Africa and Asia.’ So there is a worldwide trend, and it depends on whether you believe Barbados will move with it or against it.

31. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I remember growing up as a boy. One sure way of knowing that it was Friday night or Saturday night was by the screams of women as they were being beaten by their men for one reason or the other. At that time it was considered the correct thing to beat women who were “own way”. Thankfully that way of thinking is long in the past.

Now that women are no longer beaten as descipline, we still continue to beat the “stuffing” out of our children. Maybe one day some one in Barbados will realise that it is not the correct thing to do, just as they came to the realisation that beating women is wrong.

What surprises me most is the fact that women who were beaten to desipline them are now in the fore front of beating children and are fighting tooth and nail for the retention of corporal punishment.

The victim has now become the perpatrator.

32. Its OK for many of us on the blogs to be Monday morning quarterbacks or instant experts on every subject under the sun but Mia’s comments on this subject takes the cake. As usual Mia like the artful dodger she is bobs and weaves, feints and dances around this subject. Mia is not like us, for the past several years she held several positions in Gov’t with increasing authority (including Minister of Education and Attorney General) rising to the level of Deputy PM.

Is flogging new? The only difference is this incident occurred in the public arena and everyone became aware of it, away from the camera lens it would have been business as usual. Mia had every opportunity to change the culture when she was the Minister responsible for the education of our young people but did she? I suppose that the only change she affected was the same as when she was the Attorney General and everyone knows what happened at Glendairy. Oh I forgot, she wasn’t even called as a witness at the Inquiry, but that’s another story.

33. @Anonymous

“CXC and CAPE are even greater perpetrators of the evils which are placed on Common Entrance.” I have to disagree, there is one huge difference between CXC/CAPE and The Common Entrance. The factor of time, you can do as many CXC’s as you want from now until die and accumulate as many as you desire for whichever job you would like. Common Entrance is a one off occurrence (you may get a second chance if you are lucky but that’s it). Such a life changing event at such a young age is simply unjust. Along with the prestige and stigmas attached to various schools it can be all quite overwhelming depreciating a student’s self image and the most critical moment when it needs to be built up.

34. @RE Engineer

It’s silly to think that because the child has gone to a ‘low’ school (for instance: St. Leonard’s Boys) instead of Harrison College that they have been unfaired.

I know teachers and students from St. Leonard’s and there is proof that there are MANY students who went through that school and continued to tertiary education and beyond, some became wealthy contractors and so on. How would you say that they were unfaired by the Common Entrance?

The prestige and stigma attached to the schools are given by the parents. If the government truly believed that the ‘low’ schools were indeed unimportant then those schools would not receive the enormous funding they receive in terms of renovations and the expansions to their school laboratories!

Nonetheless, even if the prestige and stigma exists as a reality and not a concept in everyone’s mind then what of students who cannot perform during the CXCs when they first take the exam and are forced to resit while their peers continue to CAPE? Aren’t they facing a life changing event?
    After all, they will be seen as “too duncey” and will most likely expense their parents further as they pay to resit the exams (and most likely not through the same school they did it with in the first instance).

CXC and CAPE affect FAR more of a person’s professional and educational progress than the Common Entrance does. Good parenting is all that is required for any child to understand that they can achieve anything irregardless of the secondary school which they attend. Do not take scholarship numbers as an assessment of the quality of the schools because most of the ‘low’ schools do not have a 6th form so their bright students continue into UWI at an early age or into BCC; both of which we know garner scholarship students.

I reiterate: It doesn’t matter what marks the child gets in the Common Entrance or the secondary school which they attend. They will still end up doing the SAME CXCs as those from Harrison College and Queeen’s College.

What may matter is whether the PARENTS and SOCIETY will make the child feel like a failure for going to a ‘low’ school. No matter the school which they attend, children need guidance in order to recognize the importance of their education and therefore succeed (which is usually only defined as gaining good grades).

I would like persons to research and reveal the numbers of persons who attend Harrison College and eventually enter professions like teaching or contracting. Even worse, I personally know of those who dropped out and never attended tertiary education since I went to Harrison College.

There are brilliant children everywhere. Stop making the Common Entrance seem like such a hurdle without looking at the bigger picture.

35. Anonymous // November 22, 2009 at 1:41 PM

@RE Engineer

It’s silly to think that because the child has gone to a ‘low’ school (for instance: St. Leonard’s Boys) instead of Harrison College that they have been unfaired.
    ————————————————

Wait wait we don’t think so nuh more. Low school? Do you know that the current principle of Harrison’s college went to St.Leonards? And St.Leonards boys just beat Harrison college in some bebate competition? well yes lol!

36. @Anonymous

I never once talked about ‘low’ schools; this said, I am in 100% agreement with you that the school a child goes to should not matter and that many students perform equally well despite the institution they attended. But as you said “What may matter is whether the PARENTS and SOCIETY will make the child feel like a failure for going to a ‘low’ school.” And let’s be realistic, to this day there is still stigmas attached to schools and these are caused by parents and societies. I saw some children in my neighbourhood in tears because they were going to St James Secondary, a school that excels in sports, industrial arts and music as well as academics (combinations that some of the ‘so-called top schools do not achieve). However, their parents were hoping for them to attend Alexandra. Now is this fair to a child at 10 or 11 years old? So what do we do? Flog the parents? Or do we do away with the antiquated Common Entrance so a school actually becomes a school since you would no longer be able to differentiate what grade a child got in the Math and English combo by the uniform he or she wears. Since, as you said, everyone will be doing the same CXC’s. I am not saying this is a cure for the attitudes of the parents but it would reduce societal pressures and at least lighten the load.

As for the CXC and CAPE thing, yes good parenting is key and inculcating good study habits etc. But what we all have to realise is not everyone is meant to be a doctor, lawyer or bank manager. There are some good at academics and there are some that are good with their hands or music etc. Each individual has their own race to run some get their quicker than others and secondary school is about finding your route and by the age of CXC/CAPE a student should have some semblance of where he or she is going or would like to go (which is often not the case proving a clear need for aptitude testing and diversification). My biggest issue with the current education system is that the focus on academics is still far too strict. But what do you recommend as the school leaving benchmark? As an employer I would like some form of proof that my potential employee has acquired all the requisite knowledge needed for the business environment (please note that often this does not extend only to academics). There must be some form of unbiased standardised testing to show us where certain individuals excel and where they do not or what level an individual is at in a given area. I would like to hear your views on this.

37. The Scout // November 22, 2009 at 11:29 AM “Many of these persons that shouting against corporal punishment in schools, got their backside cut in school and that has contributed to them being “good” citizens today.”

Many of us, be it Barbadian/West Indian/American or other cultures, got ass whippings at school and more so at home, but not all who received such punishment turned out to be model citizens. There are some who did not get any ass whippings and turned out to be model citizens as well.

Children at some point decide if and/or what they want to make of themselves. I do not believe their success and/or positive image or their failure and/or misbehavior has anything to do with the punishment that may have been meted out at school or at home.

38. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Arguments in favour of allowing cellphones in schools and using them for learning

(We excluded I-Phones, Blackberries etc as teachers in this area said most pupils do not have them) –

* Is cost effective for schools
    * Reduces the need for all students to have access to computers in classroom
    * Need less equipment like digital cameras, camcorders, mics etc
    * If pupils are going to have them in schools anyway, irrespective of whether it is officially allowed, they may as well be exploited for learning. Overcomes some of the problems of ‘distraction’ etc.
    * Uses cheap and familiar technology
    * They are a good vehicle for teaching about ‘use-and-abuse’ issues such as digital identities, protocols, bullying, net safety etc
    * Can be used as data collection and recording devices – audio, pics and video – for recording experiments, field work, voice memos etc
    * Can be used as creative tool – making podcasts, picture blogs, twittering etc
    * Can use the phone itself as learning aid – creating ringtones, wallpaper etc (more on this later)
    * Pupils can ask questions of the teacher they may be too embarrassed to ask publicly.
    * Encourages engagement e.g SMS polling can ensure every pupils voice is heard.
    * SMS polling (e.g using Wiffiti or PollEverywhere) can be used for formative assessment
    * Can be used for collaborative learning and communication (see below)
    * Pupils are encouraged to use general reference books so why not phones – as dictionary, spell checker, thesaurus, encyclopaedia etc
    * As specific research tool via web access

http://www.pontydysgu.org/2009/11/25-practical-ideas-for-using-mobile-phones-in-the-classroom

39. How about a student exchange program with some african schools
    (you can build a school for a couple of grand)

african roots
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/african-roots/

African Roots Dub
    http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/11/23/african-roots-dub-2/

40. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

If spanking is so good and it is used by the majority of Black people in Barbados, then explain to me why ninety nine percent of inmates in prison in Barbados are Black?

41. Carson,
    Smacking and Shouting is extremely
    distressing for children

42. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

I know.

43. Anonymous // November 22, 2009 at 1:41 PM

I reiterate: It doesn’t matter what marks the child gets in the Common Entrance or the secondary school which they attend. They will still end up doing the SAME CXCs as those from Harrison College and Queeen’s College.

Should teachers at the lower secondary schools not be paid more than they colleagues at the older secondary schools, since they would have worked twice as hard preparing those students, that the common entrance exam determined were of lesser intellect, to take the CXC exams at the same time as they more academically gifted peers?

What does this anomaly say about the common entrance exam?

44. As a youngster growing up, how many of you thanked your parents or teachers for flogging you?

45. Carson C. Cadogan Avatar

Not me.

46. W I R Duncy // November 23, 2009 at 5:50 PM “As a youngster growing up, how many of you thanked your parents or teachers for flogging you?”

Why would I thank my parents furthermore a teacher for hitting me? That would definitely prove that I am a dolt and need some serious help. Sadly, many teachers & parents way of help would be to cut my as² more. That form of punishment is what most of them do to children that may have done wrong in their estimation. Steupse

Teachers and parents should and need to help children who misbehave or start to go astray, not hurt them.

47. Just thought I’d add a little humor…

A little boy’s parents transferred him to a Catholic school because no matter where they sent him he kept failing Math. Attending this school, the parents saw a change in their son’s grade; he was starting to get A’s for Math on his report card.

When he was questioned by his parents what the nuns or teachers did to him, if it had to do with the text books being used, or if it had to do with the new curriculum, the little chap said none of those.

He then said to his parents, “it was on that first day of school that I walked through the front door and saw that man they had nailed to the “Plus Sign,” I just knew they meant business!”

48. @Scout

The reason we are shouting against the “ass whipping” is because it is a cruel and barbaric form of punishment.

Many people have raised very good kids without ever beating them.
    On the other hand I know of people who have raised “bums” and thes kids were beaten .
    You need t look up the meaning of the word”beat” and “Flog”.
    I know you wouldn’t be happy if some one beat on you for any reason.