Lincoln Lewis, General Secretary Guyana Trades Union Congress.
Submitted by Lincoln Lewis, General Secretary Guyana Trades Union Congress

September 19, 2009

Dear Mr. Norman Faria,

This is an open letter with a copy forwarded to Barbadian and Guyanese Media. I have chosen to communicate with you both privately and publicly since the issue that prompted this engagement emanated from public statements made by you in condemnation of several positions I have taken on contemporary issues and more so those pertaining to Guyana. Today I wish to reiterate my position that I stand on the side of justice and fair play regardless of who heads the government. I stood against what I perceived to be unjust actions of all former governments, and I shall continue to stand against any form of injustice at this time when it is clear that those who are given the privilege to lead consider the country their personal property and the citizens their subjects.

As Honourary Consul to Barbados it is your responsibility to, among other diplomatic tasks, represent the rights and dignity of Guyanese citizens in Barbados. This is however not without serious concerns for your obvious willingness to export and advance the partisan, racist and corrupt politics of the PPP government, whose disregard for human rights is being exposed daily. I am concerned that while you seek to tell us about transgression of Guyanese rights in Barbados at the same time you are silent or embrace programs of rights violations and slow genocide by the Guyana Government against some Guyanese. This is a double standard.

I am sure you are aware that the Government of Guyana continues to refuse to disburse to the Critchlow Labour College monies budgeted and approved by Parliament, and more so seeks to deny the college any future allocations. The funding that I am referring to belongs to the taxpayers and was given to the college from its inception in 1968. This college provides training and education for taxpayers some of whom are prepared to upgrade their skills and desire a second chance to complete a high school education. The fact that this denial affects a student population which is predominantly African, feeds the Social Sciences programmes at the University of Guyana, and was the subject of discussion by a current government minister who said the College is “established to put black people in the University of Guyana through the back-door” leaves one to conclude that the Government’s decision is a deliberate racist act to limit the development of the African community. Additionally, the Government has also refused to disburse to the Guyana Trades Union Congress a grant approved by Parliament, and has since established a parallel trade union federation to validate its human rights abuses. This grant was in place since independence and was never denied even though there were instances when the trade unions and former governments were at logger-heads.

You are also aware that there were many state agencies that had in their employ a dominant African labour force, which over the years were either closed, or significantly downsized and no efforts made to create employment opportunities for those affected or protect their pension plans in as much as proposals have been offered by the trade union community and other interest groups. Juxtaposed this with the government’s continued investments in the Indian economy, such as in sugar and rice, among others, and the impact of our concerns become even more disconcerting.

The repeated attacks on Dr. Kean Gibson, UWI Lecturer, even going the distance to attempt to silence her by writing the General Manager, CBC-TV,  was nothing short of denying her the right to freedom of speech, in an attempt to prevent her from giving her understanding of the racial and political oppression in Guyana. Similar attempts have also been made to silence or demonise others in and out of Barbados who have taken not un-liked position to Dr. Gibson in speaking out against the transgressions inflicted on Guyanese at home. This assumed role is inconsistent with the mandate of Honourary Consul since no government should be involved in attacking its citizens’ rights regardless of where they are located.

Within recent years law and order in Guyana have been under siege. There have been many murders where guilt and reasons for such actions remain a mystery. Many have fallen victims to mass murders, drive-by shooting, profiling, single executions, violence, robberies and justice is yet to be served. Persons deemed to be criminals have been murdered by the police and army and no inquest held consistent with the law. Hundreds have died at the hands of the death/phantom squad(s) supported by officialdom and rouge elements in the Guyana Police Force and Guyana Defence Force. Mr. Faria, you will agree had a civilized approach been taken the appropriate investigations would have been conducted; those identified would have been charged; evidence presented in court; found guilty; and the victims’ families would have received justice, having been clear in their minds who were responsible for the demise of their loved ones. The society too would have been better served from these experiences.

As a Guyanese I share the concerns of those desirous of seeing the country returns to normalcy, where our laws are respected and, everyone, regardless of race, creed or political persuasion, can have equal access to the country’s resources. Guyana is in crisis and every citizen who believes in a just society is expected to uphold the Constitution and laws. The Government and its representatives have a greater responsibility and as such your voice is needed to speak out against the lawlessness, injustices and inequity committed daily.

86 responses to “Open Letter To Norman Faria, Guyana's Honourary Consul To Barbados”

1. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Did anyone hear VOB’s 5:30 p.m. News yeasterday where norman ‘reddy’,emancipation day message’ Faria was heard saying that the guyanese are not waiting until the amnesty is up in December but they are going home now?

Now any self respecting journalist or media house would have asked norman faria – for concrete proof of this.

Instead VOB accepted this crap statement because as faria pointed out – since a number of persons have come to him asking about the relocation process that the guyanese government have for their nationals,that this equates to guyanese going back home in droves.

VOB at its best.

Norman faria did not give us any number of the persons who have approached him for information,he has not given us any information on the numbers who have actually left and the numbers who are still here – numbers which he can get from his people at the guyana foreign office in Georgetown.

I suspect that like what Scout has told us,norman faria is probably hearing or suspects that the illegal guyanese are intending to go underground when the amnesty is up,so that by lulling us into a false sense of security,that illegal guyanese in droves are going back to Guyana,he is hoping that bajans believing this will, not put pressure on the government in December to search out these illegal immigrants who are in hiding.

2. X-Man
    Black Barbadians are a pathetic lot.Black Barbadians are of the belief that the problems other countries in the world are experiencing would never affect us.

X_Man all the warning signs are there but like the proverbial ostrich Black Barbadians are prepare to bury their heads in the sand and pretend that everything is okay.

X-Man I do not know if you are a Barbadian or know about the role Barbados played in the slave trade.Barbados was a pivotal point in the slave trade for this region.The role that Barbados played resulted in the passive nature of Black Barbadians.The influence of the church plays a very important role in our passiveness.The other ethnic groups now residing in Barbados understand fully well the nature of the average Black Barbadian and they know fully well how to control us.
    Barbados is the only country in the world where the minority rules the majority.The Barbadian White People along with the rat catcher/mango seller Indians are the dominant ethnic groups dictating government policy in Barbados.Blacks in Barbados have only the power to change governments and nothing else..

X-Man the relative peace and questionable prosperity that Black Barbadians have achieved have caused many unsuspecting Black Barbadians to fall into a false sense of comfort.

X-Man there were some incidences in Barbados that have led me to come to the conclusion that Back Barbadians are a hopeless lot
    A White Barbadian lawyer and his son beat a Black Barbadian little boy unmercifully because that little boy ventured through his district at Highgate Gardens,Collymore Rock St Michael.Black Barbadians did not offered any support to that unfortunate little boy and a march organised in support of that boy did not even attract 10 Barbadians.That reinforced the view that we are a conquered people.A second case occurred where a local rat catcher/mango seller Indian who owns the Royal Shop in Broad Street dismissed Black Barbadian workers wrongfully.The Union protested and then that protest petered out and nothing else has been heard about that matter.That business is still in operation and Black Barbadians patronize that business.There was also another incidence with a store that name The Shaft where a Black female Barbadian worker was racially abused by the Indian owner and as usual nothing came out of that incidence.There was yet another incidence with another store owned by another rat catcher/mango seller Indian in Tudor Street where a white lady who was in a long line of Black Barbadian customers waiting to be served was asked to come out of the line and escorted to the front of the line and her purchases checked and bagged while the long line of Black customers remained in the line.That business is still in operation in Barbados today.

X-Man when things like what I mentioned occurred and are occurring in Barbados and Black Barbadians who are in the majority are remaining silent and allowing those things to continue,I do not think there is much hope for Black Barbadians.I have come to the firm conclusion that Black Barbadians are a conquered people and there is no hope for us.I am plucking away but I believe my effort and the efforts of a few us like Scout,Carson Cadogan,JC,Mash Up & Buy Back,ROK,Bonny Peppa,Pat,Bush Tea,Yard Broom & the rest are practically in vain.

The battle has been lost and it is only a matter of time before the fate of Black Barbadians is the same for the Black folks of Guyana & Trinidad & Tobago.

3. Breaking NEWs
    There have been marked increase in bajan/ guyanese marriage in Barbados recently. I hope the authorities take note as the bajans being used are being coached to admit that they are really marriages of love. It is difficult and it would take some time to investigate these cases, while in the mean time these Guyanese will remain in barbados.

4. Somebody is paying these bajans as i understand they are being oaid well.

5. PAID

6. Negro,
    You see that incident in Highgate Gdns?I often wonder if these victims don’t have family. If that boy was a 9th cousin of my uncle nephew, it would have been resolved at a different level. I don’t understand why my people are so docile and stupid.

Bro Scout,
    All dese pissy, naked, igrant-ass bajans dat marrying dese GTBanna piss-pots want slowwwww-poisoning fa selling daself short. Pissy bitches.
    Any f^*king time I know of de whereabouts of any GTBannas ’bout hay illegal, I calling immigration fa dem skhunt faster dan dem cud blink.

Ga ta rasttole long home wunna cess-pits.

I waiting ta see wah de PM plan ta do wid dem.

Amnesty, my assssssssssss……….. LEFT.

Wunna parasitesssssssss.

7. @ Negro man

Your reply has left me in a coma of depression. For the record my parents are black born Bajans whose ancestors shed many litres of blood on that piece of coral rock.

The incidents that you recalled, if true, are deeply shocking. For the record I do not have a problem with other groups living in Barbados; after all some have been living there for well over fifty years. Added to this some have contributed to the greater good of Barbados.

The Afro-Bajan would do well to live abroad for a three to five year period. There would learn very quickly that as a people they would be largely despised, detested, stereotyped, institutionalised (blacks in Europe account for a disproportionate number of those who reside in prisons and mental hospitals – bearing in mind their small numbers) and generally given fewer opportunities in life.

Those early migrants from the fifties and sixties and their children had to take hell. What saved them was that they became fighters and became politically astute. It has generally been accepted that it was the Jamaican immigrants who played the biggest role in acting as the defender of black rights in England. During this period Indian and Pakistani immigrants were having their houses burnt down or were been physically assaulted or abused on the streets. They were a spineless bunch who refused to fight back and hid in the shadows. However they benefitted from the struggles of the black man. After the great race riots of the mid-1980’s, legislation was passed that benefitted all ethnic groups; even those cowards who hid in the shadows.

Imagine my disappointment coming to Barbados and seeing those cowards again looking to benefit on the backs of my black brothers and sisters. Factor in all those other groups purchasing land, houses and gaining citizenship in Barbados.

Negro man I only hope that those reading this will take note. The Afro-Bajan has to take Barbados. Certain groups should be expelled. Foreigners should not have the right to purchase land or property. The government should look at reclaiming land and property from those ethnic groups or nationalities that cannot do any harm to Barbados. The Americans and the English will have to be handled with care.

Somebody has to take the first step.

8. The leaders & Government of Guyana are clearly hypocritical when just recently there closest neighbour deported quite a number of Guyanese nationals for various offences including capturing a Priest wanted for Drug trafficking.The Barbados Government should continue to implement as many restrictive immigration policies in the new Immigration Act as possible to slow the deluge of crimes that could enter into our country.Barbados removes 53 nationals & is chided by most Caricom offendors,but when Suriname deports ~60 Guyana nationals among several days there is not one word.Talk about the HYPOCRISY !
    http://www.caribbeannetnews.com/news-19006–36-36–.html

“PARAMARIBO, Suriname — Law enforcement officials in Suriname here have disclosed that over the past several days a large number of illegal Guyanese nationals were deported to Guyana. Also at least four were detained for various offences ranging from drug trafficking to violation of the Foreign Currency Act.

‘Operation Koetai’, a wide-scale security operation, netted a total of sixty-five Guyanese nationals who entered the country illegally, police spokesman, under-inspector Humphrey Naarden, said. In an invited comment the police officer noted, that while most of the illegal immigrants could show valid identification and travel documents they didn’t enter the country at an official point of entry.

The joint-operation by army and police is aiming at curbing criminal activities and illegal immigration in the western districts of Suriname. Most deportees were held at a checkpoint in Burnside in the Coronie district while traveling from the border town Nieuw-Nickerie en route to the capital Paramaribo.

In one incident, two Guyanese were arrested in a boat on the Corentyne River with a large quantity of goods in an attempt to smuggle these items to Suriname. During another raid one Guyanese man, a Brazilian woman and two Chinese men were arrested on the same river.

According to the police spokesman, the Brazilian woman and the Chinese were trying to cross the border illegally. A peculiarity is that the Chinese men were in possession of two brand new Surinamese passports, which during the investigation proved to be false.

“These cases have been handed over to the Fraud Squad,” said Naarden.

On Tuesday, police arrested a 25-year old Guyanese man who entered the country legally at the South Drain ferry crossing, but failed to report a large sum of foreign currency with the immigration authorities. The suspect was accompanied by 21-year old Surinamese woman. In their possession they had US$35,000 and GY$326,000. Both have been detained and charged with violation of the Foreign Currency Act.

In two separate cases, two Guyanese men, one of whom claimed to be a preacher, were arrested for drug trafficking. They respectively had one kilogram and one pound of marijuana in their possession. While being searched by police officers the alleged preacher dashed into the mangrove woods alongside the road, but with assistance of public spirited citizens this suspect was arrested and detained by police several hours later.”

9. I’D LIKE REDDY TO COMMENT ON THIS ARTICLE. This serves to demonstrate the psyche of the so called INDIAN intellectual in Guyana.

UG fires lecturer for inappropriate behaviour
    September 26, 2009

Evan Persaud

The University of Guyana Council (UGC) has fired one of its lecturers for inappropriate behaviour following a meeting Wednesday night.
    Although it was unclear last evening whether the lecturer was told of the decision, a top source of the university confirmed that the decision has been taken and the lecturer, Evan Persaud, will have to go.
    This was after months of an official inquiry and statements by students over the allegedly sexually-perverted behaviour of Persaud.
    A report was made and handed over to the management of the university and the decision was taken following the Council’s meeting. The Faculty of Technology lecturer is the head of the Advisory Committee on Broadcasting (ACB) and a prominent member of the Indian Arrival Committee (IAC).
    It is unclear what kind of repercussions his sacking will have on the other two organisations.
    Kaieteur News was unable to make contact with him last evening. Among other things, Persaud reportedly took the students to a hotel to write exams and is known to use inappropriate language with students.
    It was not clear last night whether the university had investigated any allegations of sexual misconduct.
    Registrar of UG, Vincent Alexander, would not comment or confirm that any decision was taken but acknowledged that a report was made regarding the lecturer.

10. It is sad that we have politician who seek popularity at the citizens expense. Mr. Prime Minister we cannot allow our sovereignty to be determined by our Caricom brothers. You and your cabinet will be judged hard.. do not make the same mistake as the BLP.

The time may be right for a new political party as the BLP and DLP modus operandi is similar.

11. @Kammie

You have made some telling points on BU this morning.

12. Still awaiting your comments Faria! This is one of the PPP’s well connected BLUE EYED BOYS!

Fired lecturer leaked exams papers to selected students-report
    September 27, 2009

…writes to foreign sponsor seeking termination of students’ scholarships

A stunning report prepared by a Panel of Inquiry at the University of Guyana (UG) has found evidence that a lecturer victimised and threatened students. This lecturer even held an exam off-campus.
    The report, which may have far reaching consequences now forcing management of the campus to rethink oversight strategies as far as its staffers are concerned, also spoke of inappropriate language and an erratic teaching style in classrooms by Evan Persaud, a Faculty of Technology lecturer.
    Persaud was fired Wednesday but it is unclear if he was told officially. The lecturer also heads the Advisory Committee on Broadcasting (ACB) and is a prominent member of the Indian Arrival Committee.
    Nearly two dozen students, the lecturer and Dean of the Faculty of Technology, Sherwood Lowe, were interviewed before the report was prepared and handed to the UG Council where the decision to terminate him was made.
    The report was done at the request of UG’s Registrar, Vincent Alexander, who appointed Deputy Registrar, Dr Theodosius Velloza, and Department of Law lecturer, Alicia Elias-Roberts, to the Panel of Inquiry.
    According to the report, the panel listened to a CD recording of the lecturer during one of his classes in which he was heard cursing and planning to victimise a student who had reported his behaviour to the UG management.
    Recommendations
    The panel found Persaud guilty of grave misconduct for using profanity in the classroom and in addition, of violating the rights of students by writing directly to Prometheus Resources, a company which sponsors a few students, to terminate their scholarships.
    These students were said to be the same ones who reported his misconduct to UG administration, the report says. UG administrators are saying that Persaud bypassed procedures by writing directly to the company.
    It was also found that the lecturer acted “in a matter which can be considered inimical to the university’ by holding final exams off campus, “which would affect the quality of the degree offered by the university.”
    In its recommendations, the panel called for the termination of Persaud’s contract of employment because he had violated the University Statutes and Code of Conduct for Staff which urges staffers to be aware of their responsibilities and discharge them efficiently and conscientiously.
    “Clause 5 states that a staff should speak quietly and courteously and eschew aggressive, vile and abusive language or expression. Mr. Persaud has violated both of these clauses,” the report said.
    Evidence
    According to the report, the interviews with the students were divided in two parts- questions regarding Persaud’s method of teaching and his general conduct.
    Of the 21 students questioned, 17 said they never received any course outline and were referred to a website for it.
    “Five students mentioned that Mr. Persaud occasionally gave notes in class.”
    The panel found that no course outline was found on the website for the three courses lectured by Persaud. Although final grades were calculated based on course work submitted and final exams marks, many students in their statements to the panel said they were unclear what their actual grades were prior to the final exam.
    They were only told they passed or failed.
    Regarding assignments and exams, 18 students said Persaud would usually give “surprise” tests but was never consistent in collecting or assessing them. “Students said that Mr. Persaud sometimes gave assignments. Of those submitted, some were graded and returned while at other times they were returned unmarked.”
    Eighteen students disclosed that they had done at least one exam at the Russian Embassy, Kitty. However, three students of the 21 said they took part in that and exams were held on campus.
    The eighteen students said that they had done “fake” final exams on campus but were told by the same three students who had denied writing the exams off-campus that they would meet at another location to “make modifications to their examinations papers.”
    According to the report, students said that for this off-campus test, they were given examination questions in advance.
    “They said that these examinations were usually open-book type exams with wide sharing of answers and students would spend several hours or even a few days making their corrections.
    The examinations were described as mini-novels, the more booklets they filled with information, the higher their grade will be.”
    Conduct unbecoming
    All of the 21 students said that Persaud used expletives in the classroom but never to abuse any particular ones.
    Two students claimed that they heard the lecturer using racist remarks in the classroom.
    Seventeen students said that he talked about sex all the time in the classroom.
    While several of these agreed that sex was sometimes used to illustrate points, they felt it was highly inappropriate for the classroom and the majority of times never in relation to the exercise.
    According to the report, Persaud would talk “constantly about his sexual experiences and in particular how to perform oral sex. He would talk about the ‘three laws of suckery’ and his knowledge of 365 ways to please a woman.
    Students reported that the lecturer’s nick name on campus was “Sex Man”….
    One female student told the panel that Persaud asked during a class “what size c#@k you like?”
    Eighteen students told the panel that Persaud bragged about his affiliations with top government officials “which was to give the students the impression that he was ‘untouchable’. They also said that Mr. Persaud criticised the PNC and praised the PPP party.
    One student said that Mr. Persaud handed out membership applications for the PPP during one class.
    According to the report of the Panel of Inquiry, students were asked to rate the lecturer’s level of professionalism on a scale of 1-5 with 1 being poor and 5 excellent.
    Some 18 students rated him poorly with 2.5 being the highest.
    “They felt that even though Mr. Persaud had a wealth of knowledge to impart to them, they were deprived of it as a result of his poor professional conduct.

13. Reddy take note of the nature of the beast!

Eighteen students told the panel that Persaud bragged about his affiliations with top government officials “which was to give the students the impression that he was ‘untouchable’. They also said that Mr. Persaud criticised the PNC and praised the PPP party.
    One student said that Mr. Persaud handed out membership applications for the PPP during one class.

14. LET ME GET YOUR RESPONSE fARIA!

Diary of a tax-evading, sleaze-ball named Frederick Kissoon.
    September 27, 2009 – Columnist Freddie Kissoon

I am still at a loss to find out why President Bharrat Jagdeo used the term “sleaze-ball” to describe me at one of his press conferences. Apart from my public appearance in Kaieteur News, I am hardly a society person.
    I have been married to the same woman for 31 years, raised a philosophically inclined 20-year-old daughter, never touched any form of alcohol, never used any type of tobacco, do not club, party or socialize and have done the market since I got married in the seventies; all the staff at Nigel’s Supermarket have come to know me very well.
    I have worked in the same job as a teacher for 23 years. A telephone call to my home will find me there every night after 20.00 hours, perhaps with the exception of Saturday and Sunday nights when I touch down at Kaieteur News to poke fun at Uncle Adam, Uncle Glenn and my Kaieteur News colleagues.
    How is my sleaze-ball status doing compared to Kwame Mc Coy who works directly and closely with Mr. Jagdeo? Mr. Mc Coy has asked the Ethnic Relations Commission (ERC) to investigate me for what he says is unbecoming commentary on him by me. The ERC called me last week to come in. I don’t have time with Bishop Edghill’s outfit. I believe it is illegal.
    I have never been charged by the police; Kwame Mc Coy has been twice. At the moment, Mc Coy seems to be heading for trouble. I wonder if the President thinks I am still a sleaze-ball.
    How is my sleaze-ball status doing in comparison to Evan Persaud, the UG lecturer facing dismissal for sexually inappropriate behaviour? This is the same Evan Persaud who wrote me this year threatening libel if I did not apologize for saying he and his Indian Arrival Committee (IAC) get PPP money for their organization’s activities.
    I ignored Persaud and his nonsense because the whole of Guyana knows that the IAC is a PPP front group. Persaud is a member of the PPP because he was selected to be a delegate at the PPP’s congress in August last year.
    Mr. Jagdeo is the Minister of Information and had to approve the appointment of Persaud as the Chairman of the Advisory Committee on Broadcasting. Persaud is the only member of that body because the private sector representative is ill, and the PNC’s has withdrawn.
    Both Mc Coy and Persaud are in serious trouble involving use of sexual vocabulary. Does President Jagdeo still believe I am a sleaze-ball?
    Hundreds of millions of persons throughout history have probably asked God if he has deserted them when with faced with adverse situations. I have worked at UG for 23 years. My wife has worked for 26 years. Together we saved our money in the bank after paying PAYE and after the bank would have paid withholding tax on the interest the bank gives.
    Now Khurshid Sattaur, Head of the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA), has requested that for the past nine years I submit property tax. For those who don’t know, property tax means all assets including furniture, cars, jewellery, homes and bank account.
    So Thursday, I declared all of these things, thanks to generous offers of good lawyers and good accountants who care about justice. Not that I had much assets. But I had to pay a big sum from my savings, the very savings my wife and I paid taxes on since the middle of the eighties. So we are taxed twice.
    My plan to buy a laptop has now been dashed – the money gone to Sattaur. The Guyana Government is about to receive trillions of dollars. If Sattaur could go after a PAYE income-earner like me, then think of when he extends the net to those thousands and thousands that have huge assets, at the incredible sums the GRA will collect.
    But will he go after the sharks? This is Guyana where an elected dictatorship, which is worse than the Burnham Government, can do what it wants.
    My diary cannot be completed without the mention of Dr. Walter Ramsahoye. He goes on Channel 6 daily and says all manner of things about me. He sued me for libel. You should see the court affidavit. It says that I libeled a man of national importance. But he is now charged with violent assault and abduction.
    Remember Tony Vieira and his unceasing attacks on me? Well, he abandoned Guyana and lives in a quiet town in New York where no one looks at him. By the way, I am very much in love with my wife and would never dare attempt to put her out. Am I really a sleaze-ball?

15. Juan Gabriel, Can you please tell me if that man Mr. Faria is a Guyanese, no one seems to know in Barbados. I don’t understand why he is so interested in Guyana if he is born in Barbados. Secondly, we need to know the ethnic make of the class taught by Evan Persaud, and I might add that when the Jagans ruled in the 60’s the UG Professors attacked religion during their lectures. Finally, the PPP is very affraid of Suriname, very afraid, afterall, it was Surinamese gunboats that chased off the CSX-Canadian Oil Compay rig from off the coast of Guyana. When I was young I use to hear that the boundary line between Guyana and Suriname was in the middle of the Suriname River, but now I hear the entire river is in Suriname, so technically if you step in the river say at Corriverton you are in Suriname, that is Suriname power for you.

16. I need state that the Porfesssors attacked the Christian religion, and the Holy Bible.

17. This man Faria has been appointed by the PPP to overlook Guyanese’s interest in Barbados. Why? I have no idea. However, it is quite evident that he has taken a cue from his masters and has so far fortified himself well.
    Regarding Suriname, that country has decided to take liberties after the PPP came to power. The PPP systematically destroyed the Guyana Defense Force. They replaced it with the Police Force which is their weapon of oppression against the citizens of Guyana.
    Surinamese soldiers were KICKED out of the new river triangle when they attempted to seize same when Burnham was alive. They could not have expelled the oil rig if the idiots who run the government were cognizant of the true role of the GDF.

18. I want all right thinking bajans to take a look at this list of the office holders of all the senior positions in guyana,appointed by bharat jagdeo.

Notice how all these top position bar 2 are held by indians like himself.

Think as Mac Fingall sang in his calypso of Barbados in 2009 or 2029 and where black bajans will be with these racist guyanese indians who would have left their country and flooded Barbados:

Indian appointments: Blatant racism by the PPP
    Sunday, 27 September 2009

Let’s hope that the very “active” Chairman of the Ethnic Relations Commission would see it fit to question President Jagdeo and the PPP on this blatant act of racism in Guyana.

Auditor General: —————————————————————— Deodat Sharma
    Accountant General: ————————————————————- Hardatt Outar
    Registrar Supreme Court: ——————————————————- Sita Ramlall
    Director of Georgetown Hospital: ——————————————— Michael Khan
    Chief Medical Officer: ———————————————————— Shamdeo Persaud
    Director Regional Health Services: ——————————————– K Jaipersaud

Director General Civil Aviation Authority: ———————————– Zulficar Mohammed
    Chairman Guyana Elections Commission: ———————————– Steve Surijbally
    Chief Elections Officer: ———————————————————– Gocool Budhoo
    Chairman Guyana Energy Agency: ——————————————– Mahander Sharma
    Chairman Guyana Forestry Commission: ———————————— Tarachand Balgobin
    Head, Customs Anti Narcotics Unit: ——————————————- Girvam Singh
    Commissioner Guyana Forestry Commission: ——————————- James Singh
    CEO Guyana Lands and Surveys Commission: ——————————- Doorga Persaud
    Commissioner General, Guyana Revenue Authority: ———————- Kurshid Sattaur
    CEO, Guyana Water Inc: ———————————————————- Yuri Chandisingh
    Chief Hydrometerological Officer: ——————————————— Bhaleka Seula
    Chairman Public Service Commission: —————————————- Ganga Persaud
    Pro Chancellor University of Guyana: —————————————– Prem Misir
    Chairman Guyana Power & Light: ———————————————- Mike Brassington
    CEO Guyana Power & Light: —————————————————– Bharrat Dindial
    Chairman Guyana Sugar Corporation: —————————————- Ronald Ali
    CEO Berbice River Bridge: ——————————————————- Geeta Singh
    Chief Labour Officer: ————————————————————- Mohammed Akeel
    Chairman Police Complaints Authority: ————————————- Cecil Kenard
    Chairman Public Utilities Commission: ————————————– Prem Persaud
    Chairman Teaching Service Commission: ———————————– Leila Ramson
    Programme Director National Communcation Network: ————— Martin Goolsaran
    CEO National Communications Network: ———————————- Mohammed Sattaur
    Head Government Information News Agency: ————————— Neaz Subhan
    Head National Frequency Management Unit: —————————- Valmikki Singh
    Speaker of the National Assembly: —————————————— Ralph Ramkarran
    Chief Fisheries Officer: ——————————————————— Nigel Dharamlall
    Director of Youth & Sports: ————————————————— Neil Kumar
    CEO Cheddi Jagan International Airport: ———————————- Ramesh Gheir
    Minister of Agriculture: ——————————————————- Robert Persaud
    Minister of Culture, Youth & Sports: ————————————– Frank Anthony
    Minister of Education: ——————————————————– Sheik Baksh
    Minister of Finance: —————————————————- ——-Ashni Singh
    Minister of Health: ————————————————————- Leslie Ramsammy
    Minister of Housing & Water: ———————————————– Irfaan Ali
    Minister of Labour: ———————————————————— Manzoor Nadir
    Minister of Human Services: ———————————————— Priya Manikchand
    Minister of Legal Affairs: —————————————————– Charles Ramson
    Minister of Local Government: ——————————————— Kellowan Lall
    Minister of Tourism, Industry & Commerce: —————————- Maniram Prashad

19. Now read the comments about that post from the Guyana Observer news.

These are the people Ruel Daniel has been telling us about – indo guyanese who say the worst things about afro guyanese on a site owned by an afro guyanese.

Minister of Local Government: ——————————————— Kellowan Lall
    Minister of Tourism, Industry & Commerce: —————————- Maniram Prashad

Comments
    #51 Dave Smith
    2009-09-2811:17:31
    Don’t look at the PPP as being racist. Slap yourself in the head and remember the PNC and LFS Burnam – the DICTATOR of the past. Examine that then think and try understand. This thing about leaving a comment is serious because anybody can use my name and your name and leave any comment. Benschop is making CN Sharma looks like a scholar. Benschop should be rearrested for trying to damage the OP. If it was burnam he would have known the times.

#52 MIKE
    2009-09-2812:21:24
    Dave Smith, i solute you you are the only Black man that tell the truth and have shown so much respect for our Indian Government, may be you can teach those black jackasses some respect for me, i don’t mind having a few Blacks around some body have to do labor work but the must have respect for Indians and know that we are in charge.

#53 El Cid
    2009-09-2815:10:46
    Correct Mike. These niggers must know who is in charge. We need the blacks as labourers, no matter if they are educated.

#54 Mike
    2009-09-2816:34:14
    El Cid, these niggers in Guyana will have to feel if they can’t hear. Rohee was right to say those words. They must understand that we cannot give Guyana back to them, they must all be exiled. The niggers are lazy and want to live on the progessive Indians. President Jagdeo, they must not handle any important positions in Guyana.
    Let them be security guards, work in the fields and fsat foods outlets. slaves should always be slaves.

#55 Apeepinu
    2009-09-2816:59:34
    Mike,,,,,STOP BLOGGING WITH SOMEONE ELSES NAME…WE ALL KNOW THIS IS NOT MIKE WITH THE BIKE OK, SO STOP.

#56 Apeepinu
    2009-09-2817:00:45
    EL CID,,,,,STOP USING THE N WORD. THIS IS YOUR LAST WARNING, AND STOP BLOGGING WITH SOMEONE ELSES NAME, LAST CHANCE…

#57 Apeepinu
    2009-09-2817:02:34
    Dave Smith, where is the connect between your rants and the subject at hand???.

#58 observer
    2009-09-2819:29:01
    Quoting Dave Smith:
    Don’t look at the PPP as being racist. Slap yourself in the head and remember the PNC and LFS Burnam – the DICTATOR of the past. Examine that then think and try understand. This thing about leaving a comment is serious because anybody can use my name and your name and leave any comment. Benschop is making CN Sharma looks like a scholar. Benschop should be rearrested for trying to damage the OP. If it was burnam he would have known the times.

Thank you Dav
    Quoting Dave Smith:

Thank you Dave, its been a while since educated and people with common sense came on this site…
    This topic has the Indians alone in another they display the Africans…tell me what do they really want out of all this???

#59 El Cid
    2009-09-2819:48:13
    haul you black [censored], Apeein yu. say, I piss on you.

20. Aren’t the forementioned blogs enough for EVERY BLACKMAN to take a stand? Today it’s me a GUYANESE, tomorrow it’s you A BAJAN. They are only grinning in your face in your country because they have not found a way to take TOTAL CONTROL. It is time you get rid of the COCKROACHES before they build a colony that you will be unable to eradicate. They will slowly eat you from the inside out until there is nothing left, then you will bnecome their slaves. REFUSE THEM ENTRY TO YOUR COUNTRY. Let their LOVING, CARING PRESIDENT Jagdeo take care of their welfare.

21. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

Yet BFP and their team pied piper/ebenezer and bowman and the others will have us believe that negroman,Hopi and Rok are the worst thing pon God’s earth.

BFP has never addressed racist indian behaviour against blacks in Guyana from Jagdeo right down.

See in those comments above how indians really feel about blacks.

They behave the same way in Fiji,Madagascar,Trinidad,Surinam etc.

22. How come no coolie is on Mark’s Webiste saying we should all try to work togther and we can get along, but when I tried to say how the coolie poeple are some coolie supposedly from Uganda or Kenya but living in Canada or so he said, but I know it was some coolie from Guyana, came here and started in on me on how I judging them and how I am awful, that I got scared and had to post an no entitty. I was not even saying anything like we seeing on Mark’s website, just saying how coolie man will show up on chats with Cassanda and how they will plant rice fields in front yards. They like that everywhere, NO only where there is black people they like that, they don’t carry on like in Singapore, now sir, they would get some good licks from the chinee that running Singapore, well don’t worry they day coming and they will give back Guyana to black people sooner than they think.

23. Read This and tell me Keane Gibson was not on the Ball with her analysis of Indian racism in Guyana.
    ###########################

Major Debates Over Caste Discrimination Continue in Indian Society

Another major debate has erupted in Indian political and civil society circles after the October 6, 2005, United States Congressional Sub-Committee hearings in Washington, DC, on the issue of caste discrimination in India. Some questions raised as a result of this hearing are: “Why has it taken so long for the world to hear about the persistent problem of caste discrimination in India? We thought the caste system was abolished in India? Why is it that we have not been told about the connection between caste discrimination and the 25 million bonded child laborers, the girl trafficking, the prostitution trade, the illiteracy and poverty, the constant rape and abuse of women, and the plight of the landless laborers?”

Following the hearings in the USA, there was also an extensive debate on the Dalit issue in the British Parliament on November 22, 2005.

For the Christian community around the world the issue is, “Why is it that we have not heard about the serious nature and scope of caste discrimination within the Church in India – no matter the denominational affiliation, whether Catholic, mainline Protestant or Evangelical?”

The blunt answer to the above questions is that until now the Indian reality has been interpreted and articulated within India and around the world through the worldview of the dominant castes in larger society and also in the Church. For all practical purposes, the dominant castes rule, control and articulate the Indian reality.

Without a “Caste Analysis” India Can Not be Understood

The dominant upper castes have been quite content with a “class analysis” of India (focusing attention on the rich, the new middle-class and the poor), knowing very well that it is only a “caste analysis” of India that can uncover the true but hidden reality at the heart of India – the India of the majority masses. One cannot understand India without understanding the complete nature and scope of the caste system in Indian life. Caste considerations dominate people’s lives from birth to death. This understanding of the caste system and how it controls and regulates social, economic, political and religious life is absolutely essential to interpreting the Indian reality. Add to this the “corruption factor” in Indian society and the Dalits and other oppressed people who are poor are left in a completely hopeless situation. India is not a homogenous society where there is a level playing field on which everyone can prosper.

Caste continues to dominate Indian society despite the fact that the draftsman of the Constitution, the redoubtable Dalit thinker and lawyer Dr. Bhim Rao Babasaheb Ambedkar, wrote his prophetic work “Annihilation of Caste” to reveal to the world the brutal stranglehold of the caste system. The Indian Constitution, taking the best out of American and British statutes, outlawed untouchability, one of the manifestations of caste discrimination, but stopped well short of abolishing caste.

Dalit-Bahujan leaders across India refer to caste discrimination as “ India’s silent apartheid” of 3,000 years against its majority peoples – a full 70% of the population. It is a religiously sanctioned racism that has maimed, dehumanized and destroyed hundreds of millions of people through the ages. The horrendous fact is that we continue to destroy millions of people through this system even today in the 21 st century.

The Inhuman Discrimination Against Dalits Continues Unabated

Here is what the former President of India, Dr. K.R. Narayanan, recently stated regarding caste:

“ An empowered India bereft of the respect for women, values of civilized existence and morality will collapse in the face of the disaffection and discontent of those who have suffered for centuries. Day in and day out we take pride in claiming that India has a 5,000-year-old civilization. But the way the Dalits and those suppressed are being treated by the people who wield power and authority speaks volumes for the degradation of our moral structure and civilized standards.

“Dr. B.R. Ambedkar, the principal architect of the Constitution, had said political equality devoid of economic and social equality would bring about contradictions in our democratic set-up which if not rectified will lead to its doom. In the dark cloud of inequality and social injustice the silver lining represented by the assertion of the hitherto suppressed and exploited sections for their rights inspire confidence for their future empowerment. Their struggle for empowerment represents empowerment of India.

“As the struggle gains momentum and gets accentuated, there is bound to be reluctance and resistance on the part of the high and mighty to accept their upward rise. The killing of Dalits, their exploitation and the brutality they face is a negation of the empowered India.”

Who are the Dalit-Bahujans?

The Dalit-Bahujans make up what are known in India as the Scheduled Castes, the Scheduled Tribes and the Backward Castes. Together these groups are classically known as the Sudras or the slave / “vassal” castes. (“Scheduled” means they are listed in a special “index” appended to the Constitution. “Backward Castes” are those whose rank and occupational status are above that of Dalits, but who still remain socially and economically depressed.) The Scheduled Castes were until recently also known as the “Untouchables” because they were deemed literally untouchable by the upper castes. The Scheduled Tribes were defined as “Criminal Tribes” because they occasionally challenged, with arms, the dominance of the local landlords.

The word “dalit” means “broken” or “crushed” and the word “bahujan” indicates membership in the majority people or the larger population.

Combined, these groups make up 67% of the population of India.

Among this suffering humanity of Dalit-Bahujans, it is the Scheduled Castes and the Scheduled Tribes who continue to bear the brunt of caste discrimination and oppression. Plainly stated, caste is modern religiously sanctioned slavery – a slavery that has been overlooked by the world for hundreds of years.

Caste discrimination has an immediate impact on 250 million Dalits. It also affects hundreds of millions more from the Backward Caste communities.

Nature of the Revolt Against the Caste System: Caste Upheaval Influences Indian Politics

Caste turmoil and upheaval fully exploded on the national scene when the recommendations of the Mandal Commission were implemented in the mid-1990s. The Mandal Commission indicated that the Backward Castes were no better socio-economically because of the consequences of the caste system. The Supreme Court supported the view of the Commission and granted affirmative action benefits to the Backward Castes. Upper caste mobs resisted the judgment and anarchy prevailed in major cities for many weeks. Indian politics changed dramatically after the Mandal issue hit the national consciousness. Caste politics became a dominant factor in Indian society, and caste loyalties began to determine elections across the nation. The north Indian states of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar saw dramatic movements of the political empowerment of the Sudras, or Backward Castes. Dalit politics, too, was established with the emergence of the Bahujan Samaj Party as a major player in Uttar Pradesh and the surrounding north Indian States in the so-called “Cow Belt”. Consistent with the larger caste assertion by the Backward Castes, the Dalits also began to increasingly assert themselves.

The Religious Revolt

Caste had the sanction of religion, and as the extremist and fascist Hindu Right made a bid for political power in Federal India, open calls were given to Dalits to exit the caste-based Hindu society to more egalitarian faiths and communities.

Dalit and Backward Caste ideologues launched a full-fledged attack against the caste system and Brahminism maintaining and pushing forward the movement first launched by Mahatma Phule, fine-tuned by Periyar in the South, and finally polished by Ambedkar.

These anti-Brahminical movements kept the Hindutva brigade from expanding in the northern bases of Uttar Pradesh and Bihar even at a time when the arch-Hindu Ayodhya Temple movement was at its zenith.

History Vindicates Ambedkar’s Stand Versus Gandhi

Increasingly, the Dalit-Bahujan emancipation movement began to gather more strength across the nation. Ambedkar’s true contribution to the nation, his work for the depressed castes, was progressively more greatly understood and appreciated. Even the upper caste movements and political leaders began to co-opt Ambedkar’s legacy and brand name as their own.

Ambedkar’s bitter disagreement with Mahatma Gandhi was no longer locked in archival documents. Suddenly, Ambedkar’s opposing sentiment became common knowledge. Ambedkar wanted the abolishment of caste itself, which then would result in abolishing untouchability and the inhuman discrimination against the Dalits. Gandhi’s proposal to simply deal with the symptom of untouchability and not touch the issue of the caste system was a major mistake and has marred his otherwise great legacy. Perhaps he was influenced by the orthodox upper caste people who surrounded him, telling him that Hinduism as they knew it would not survive the demise of caste, its foundation, steel frame and bonding force.

Fifty years after Independence, caste prejudice and discrimination continue as a persistent disease. Ambedkar was correct in his thinking that caste must be “annihilated” if untouchability is to be genuinely eliminated.

Ambedkar also concluded that conversion was the ultimate solution if Hinduism was not able to reform itself and annihilate caste. He did not see much hope that this cataclysmic reformation would take place.

Again, fifty years later, nothing of the needed reformation has taken place. If anything, with the emergence of the extremist right-wing Hindu movement, caste discrimination and oppression have increased.

The modern-day increase of caste-based oppression is the reason why the Vice President of the world Hindu federation known as the Vishwa Hindu Parishad (VHP) can say on national television that the life of a cow is more valuable than the lives of five Dalits after five Dalit young people in north India were lynched near New Delhi, when they were found skinning the carcass of a dead cow.

This is why a Shankaracharya (major community leader) said that Dalits should learn to live in the position in which they were born. This leader was more brutal in his statement than was Gandhi who simply said people must be happy and perform to the best of their ability in their given occupation – scavenging, tanning, sweeping, etc.

The movement for emancipation of the depressed classes kept pace with the freedom movement Ghandi led. While Kabir and Phule’s folk teachings influenced the masses, Dr. B.R. Ambedkar made a frontal assault on caste, using the brilliance of his legal training and his access to the political negotiating tables in London and New Delhi in the days preceding the transfer of power from Imperial Britain to Independent India.

Ambedkar was an intellectual giant and India’s great reformer. Born a Dalit in Maharashtra, he had experienced caste’s depravity first-hand. He bitterly disagreed with Mahatma Gandhi’s cosmetic solution to the problem of untouchability.

History has proven Ambedkar right. The Indian Constitution should have banned the caste system along with the problem of untouchability. Trying to remove untouchability without removing the caste system was like dealing with mere symptoms rather than combating the root disease.

Ambedkar Champions Freedom of Conscience for the Oppressed Castes

Ambedkar championed religious freedom for the Dalits, thereby leading hundreds of thousands of Dalits into Buddhism in 1956 at a public ceremony in Nagpur. Still today, Dalit and Backward Castes have seen an exit to egalitarian faiths as a way out of caste-based bondage. Religious freedom and spiritual rights remain a fundamental component of the Dalit struggle for emancipation.

In a counter-move, the upper caste political leaders have devised and passed several anti-conversion laws during the past few decades in the dubious name of “freedom of religion”. These laws have been a deliberate move to keep the Dalit-Bahujans locked in the dehumanizing caste system.

With the rise and the destructive specter of right-wing Hindu fundamentalism and fascism (which advocates a return to a so-called “Hindu India” where the caste structure dominates and rules), Ambedkar’s struggle and thoughts become hugely relevant, not only for the oppressed sections of India, but also for Indian nationalism itself.

During the recent rule of the right-wing Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), the extremist right-wing groups distributed huge quantities of the book the “Manusmriti” which codified and imposed the caste system on the Indian masses. This book was written by the law-giver, Manu, whose statue is installed in the premises of the High Court of Rajasthan. This is the same book which states that if a low caste person hears the word of God, he should have molten lead poured into his ears. Articulating the name of the Lord invites having his tongue cut off. Other infringements of caste laws carry the death penalty. Is it any wonder that the powerful upper castes perpetuate violence against Dalit women, Dalit men, and Dalit children with such impunity?

WHAT IS THE DALIT-BAHUJAN EMANCIPATION STRUGGLE ALL ABOUT?

1. Building a Worldwide Alliance for Dalit Emancipation

It is the process of building a broad-based, pan-Indian alliance of individuals and groups to bring an end to caste discrimination and exploitation. It is a national and global struggle for the human rights of the Dalits and other oppressed sections of our society. The movement seeks to build both a national and global union against the caste system and the ensuing inhuman oppression and discrimination.

The movement works with everyone who is committed to ending the dehumanizing caste system. Caste, creed, nationality and economic standing are no bar in building this alliance for ending India’s silent apartheid of 3,000 years. We believe in a better future for all Indians.

2. Ending Caste Discrimination Around the World

It is the process of building a global alliance to end caste discrimination around the world. Caste discrimination is not limited to India alone. It is rampant in South Asia and extends to wherever the people of the sub-continent live. It is present among Indians living in the United Kingdom, USA, Canada and other places.

The right wing Hindutva movement has now spread across the world with offices in all of the major Western nations including North America, the Caribbean, the UK, and the nations of the European Union. These organizations in the West have financed the violent, caste-based, right-wing Hindu fundamentalist groups in India.

Caste discrimination should be a legitimate item on the UN agenda and on the agenda of global human rights movements and organizations.

Without the active collaboration and support of all global entities that believe in the intrinsic dignity of all humans, caste discrimination will not end. Taking the line of abolitionists like William Wilberforce and Dr. Ambedkar, this movement seeks to end the modern religiously sanctioned slavery produced by caste once and for all.

3. Eliminating and Prosecuting Caste-Based Violence

It is a movement seeking to end caste-based violence against people of depressed castes. The constant rape of Dalit women, the burning of Dalit homes and the blatant physical attacks on Dalits is not acceptable. Year after year physical attacks against Dalits are reported and documented, but fewer than 2% ever reach conviction in a court of law. According to one conservative estimate there are over 50,000 major atrocities committed against Dalits every year. We work towards applying the rule of law to those who perpetrate these crimes.

24. Quote:
    The right wing Hindutva movement has now spread across the world with offices in all of the major Western nations including North America, the Caribbean, the UK, and the nations of the European Union. These organizations in the West have financed the violent, caste-based, right-wing Hindu fundamentalist groups in India.
    ###########################

This upholds the central thesis of Doctor Gibson’s argument. That Guyanese Indian prejudice and racism is religious based.

25. Ruel, Their religion is part of it, I am sure, but my dear I know nothing about Hindusim, except to say I did allow my Christain Holiness eyes to view a Hindu religious service on NCN TV and I was scared to see them in front of those ugly ill painted white flesh tones stautes ringing bells burning a fire, and they all sitting on the floor chanting in some strange Indo European language to these statues. In our case they want to take this country away and turn into some Hinduvata state and then chase us all out to Babados, they don’t want to share Guyana and live peacefully with black people. You saw what they wrote on Mark’s blog, but don’t worry they going to run into trouble and that is when we will take back our country. Remember now they never know anything, they don’t see, they don’t hear and they don’t speak, coolie man never know any thing, all he want is money, he only sees money. And the ones in Guyana are the worst, these are real cultureless low lives that flocking to Barbados and the US and Canada. I heard you should see New York where they have set up, well thanks for the above, I read, and that is their problem india, afterall these are the same people that worship their white skinned blue eyes movie stars. Well everybody in Guyana who is black and mixed black should take a good look at Guyana and see what the PPP rulers are like and what is their motive and vote them out once and for all.

26. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Did anyone hear about the 20 illegal guyanese who were raided at the Crane hotel and deported?

You really believe that owner of the Crane Hotel did not know that all these indo guyanese were illegal?

Yeah right.

So tell us norman reddy faria the guyanese still all going back home?

27. If memory serves correctly Negroman mentioned repeatedly illegals were known to be employed on the Crane site. Seems the authorities and beginning to do their job.

28. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

That’s the report I am now getting.

That the illegal guyanese working at the Crane for years was an open secret.

The owner is saying it is a subcontractor hiring these illegals,so then tell us who is this subcontractor?

We can never rely on our journalists to do a thorough job.Tell us the name of the Employer who breached the law,or is he being made a scape goat by the crane hotel canadian owner?

In the 12:30 VOB news,the news reader said a number of the 20 illegals were guyanese,do you know by the time the 4:30 and 5:30 p.m. news came around that bit of information was left out and the news report was altered.

The guyanese roxanne gibbs at the Nation and vic Fernandes at VOB are calling the shots in barbados.

Mum is the word as far as identifying guyanese who have broken the law are concerned.

2 indians stole chicken from a farm in st george last month and were sentenced yet we were not told their nationality.

The public must push back against this selective reporting by the media houses of One Caribbean Media.

29. Under the immigration act we understand there is a penalty for employers to hire illegals. Why have we not heard of a charge being laid against the contractor? We will wait for a reasonable period for our journalist to bring the news to the people. Who is the contractor working at the Crane who hired these illegals?

Question: Who made the Crane type denial before? Does anybody remember?

Answer: It was former Prime Minister who blamed the contractor as well when admitting to hiring illegals at his West Terrace home.

30. Mash Up & Buy Back Avatar
    Mash Up & Buy Back

Good point David.

Did not remember that our then ‘esteemed’ leader Owen Arthur also blamed the contractor for hiring illegals to work on his house.

Can you imagine over in England right now,Baroness Scotland – Britain’s first Attorney General of African descent -was fined and almost lost her job for hiring an illegal nanny from Tonga,yet the Prime minister of Barbados,Owen Arthur, was not even censored, rebuked nor fined.

However to my mind he lost a lot of political capital from that incident, and that marked the descent into utter dislike and anger from the public for he and his party.

This anger and hatred remains to this day almost 2 years after elections.

Just check the lack of response by BU regulars and other commenters by the post by the BLP politicians masquerading as an alex fergusson and royal rumble and that will tell the story of how disgusted people are with the BLP.

We warned you David.Lol (had to stick that one in david lol).

31. @mash up

While family members may not comment they read. You will find as elections or some significant political event approaches people will comment. It is important to read the views of the Opposition, we live in a democracy.

32. David
    Yes I said so repeatedly and it is not only the Crane Hotel but at at almost all the construction sites in Barbados.Homex owned by Guyanese Tempro,JADA,Rotherley,and many more are deliberately hiring illegal Indo-Guyanese.The building in St John that our Prime Minister has interest in has Indo-Guyanese working on it.I will repeat I want Prime Minister David Thompson to come and dispute that fact.

I hope Barbadians will not be fooled with the raid at the Crane Resort.This could be an effort into fooling us that the authorities are clamping down on illegal workers especially the Indo-Guyanese scums & dirt bags.

I hope everyone has read Anonymous post @ 8.21pm.It shows the utter contempt and hatred those rat catchers have for Black People.

I will never be satisfied until Barbados is rid of all the rat catcher/mango sellers Indians.

The Black Hitlers of Barbados please prepare yourselves for action.

33. mash up & buy back Avatar
    mash up & buy back

I believe it is very telling that the regulars refused to participate on any discussion in any post by the BLP on this site.

Nothing the BLP have to say is done with anything other than their getting back into office.

Aren’t they barbadians first?

Yet they support nothing done for the good of the country.

I know I don’t visit or participate on this site to read any contributions by neither BLP nor DLP,so if this is how BU is going to go in the future with these weekly partisan political contributions then it will certainly affect MY interest.

Remember BFP,although different,there is a lesson to be learnt there.

Just my humble opinion.

Just as I strongly defend this site I see it as my duty to speak out when I think you have erred.

I will try to refrain from saying anything more on the subject.

34. @MUBB

Why would you not want to discuss this matter? It maybe Barbadians because of our conservative disposition feel comfortable in the mindset of avoiding certain issues. A BU position or philosophy is to engage ALL even if we disagree with the positions. Barbadians must begin to learn that in the national interest we have to set aside differences for the common good.

BU agrees with your point that BOTH political parties so far have demonstrated little interest in operating on a bi-partisan manner regarding some issues such as managing the economy in an unprecedented global recession, immigration, etc. By exposing the positions of the parties on the blog it gives the BU family the opportunity to engage these political surrogates. It is a process which could yield positive results if the point is accepted that a large class of Barbadians want more for the political directorate; we are not going to find out unless we try.

BU has no fear about pioneering ideas. If BU has to suffer or die because of an ideal we would be satisfied that we tried. We are comforted in the knowledge that nothing is forever.

35. the day not finish and the indian girl that bring in to barbados another indian to mash up a bajan and afro-guyanese marriage still here illegal,I waiting to see what immigration action is,bajan blacks stick to your own,a black could never be a hindu.this poor bajan idiot leaves his black queen for this tricky indian who got him playing hindu chants real idiot stuuuuuuuuuupes.

36. ☝WHITE UP POINTING INDEX UNIDENTIFIED SPAM ALERT ☣BIOHAZARD SIGN
    World
    Home > Breaking News > World > Story
    May 10, 2010
    Twitter ‘terror threat’ bombs