roosevelt_king
BANGO Secretary General, Roosevelt O. King

Recently BU family member ROK was mentioned not in a very favourable light on another blog site. BU family members would have expected ROK not to cower but instead to react in the true tradition of his alma mater by Fighting Back!

Read what this is all about by visiting his most recent blog!

280 responses to “BU Family Member Roosevelt King Makes A Stand!”

1. BU has develop a quiet confidence, Issuing a clarion call to all and sundry to bring their questions, comments and concerns here to be discuss, debated, and argued upon. Fearing not redicule or wanting adulation, but steadfastly focus on learning, imparting knowledge, and winning the argument.

BFP?????? defaming others, being censored, banning commentators, copying articles from other Blogs. But there are still Barbados “best” blog. A title that no one competed for and they infer on themselves. I think they should keep it.

2. People, beware the Ebenezers of this world. Master manipulators everyone. Reminds me of one Pied Piper from BFP.

3. Adrian, do voters vote in opposition parties or vote out goverments? That is the answer to your question.

4. Veritas,
    Dah is a multichoice question or wah? You smart ya kno. Aighttttttttttt.

Adrian,
    I still hay tryin ta behave myself Sweets.

Pat,
    Wait , you mean de Pied Piper dat drown all de children or it did rats he drown. I chan rememba now but I kno dat a serious drownin went down. Jack de human rat, be careful wid ya friends since ya kno all ya enemies, hear?

5. @ Bonny Peppa

So how comes yuh en gih muh a holla, Bonny?
    Or is only when is time to buse muh is den yuh does notice muh??

Your friend,
    bruno.

6. @Pat
    I figured that person out long time now. nauseating to say the least. Theres is a history of cause disrepute wherever they go online.

@Veritas
    They end up doing both by completing one. But the perennial sentiment is that they vote out a government.

7. John

• agree divisions have always existed and Barbados like any other country has never been fair.
    …. but I differ from you in that I think that the divisions and unfairness were based on class rather than colour.
    At the risk of being over simplistic, perhaps you were not around in pre 1970’s : Pickwick, Wanderers and Carlton; nor you were not around when all the faces at the Banks on Broad Street were of one colour, nor when the only black faces at Geddes Grant were the porters or messengers. I would venture to say that you weren’t around when EW Barrow removed the “Royal” from the Barbados Yacht Club nor were you around for the letter from one of the members of the Yacht Club to the Advocate following Barrow’s action. I could go on but I think that my point has been made

There are always divisions based on class but to say that the divisions in Barbados were based mainly on class is to willfully ignore the evidence.

8. I wasn’t around … well I was around just a little young probably.

What exactly happened with the Yacht Club?

Why was Royal such an offensive word for Erroll Barrow and how does it relate to colour?

What did the letter say?

Do you know if the three clubs, Wanderers, Carlton and Pickwick were comprised of people from the same class?

“White” has many shades in Barbados!!!

I know one or two persons from Pickwick who would probably have been around in the 1960’s and they aren’t really “White”!!!

9. Robin Hood,
    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwww,my apologies dawlink.

Guten morgan
    (not too good at writin de German lingo)

10. Yardbroom // September 14, 2009 at 12:01 PM

It is not the “Black” politicians who divided Barbadians and led them into “distinct sections” as you said.

For you or anyone to say that it is “they” who have, can only be if they have not got a full grasp of Barbados History.

I meant to leave this alone but just couldn’t.

I wondered all night if I had imagined being told what the late Erroll Walton Barrow had said about the sinking of the Lord Combermere.

So, I googled “Lord Combermere” and “Errol Barrow” to see if anyone else had used a similar set of words.

There were not many instances but here is an example of what I found.

“Royalrumble // October 22, 2007 at 1:53 pm | Reply

It is with profound disdain for you and your type, Yellow Belly Racist Loveridge that I have broken my self-imposed mandate never to ever respond to anything that you say on any of these blogs. I have no regards, respect or time for you.

You have been proven time and time again to be nothing more than just an idiot. Only the driftwoods in the new DLP would have accommodation for you. How a black conscience man like Freundel Stuart can tolerate you as an advisor to that party is beyond comprehension. In fact I see and understand why the Rt. Excellent Errol Barrow said that he would like to put all you yellow belly dogs on the Lord Combermere and set you adrift on the sea.”

This is part of a comment taken from the blog site of the Barbados Labour Party …. when they held the reins of Government.

This comment has stood for two years and a day.

On the banner, smiling for all the world to see are, Owen Arthur, Mia Mottley, Dame Billie Miller and Sir Henry Forde.

http://labourparty.wordpress.com/2007/10/18/thompson-unbelievable/

11. @ John September 15, 2009 at 12:29pm

In taking you to task on Barbados “History” and seeking to engage you on the reasons why there are divisions in Barbados based on race.

I use academic research, contemporananeous reports or scholarship which has been well referenced.

What you have now brought to the debate does not alter my original position:

It is not Black politicians – or black people in general – who “started” the division between the black and white races in Barbados.

I rest my case.

12. …. guess we’ll have to agree to disagree as I have said before I think it is illogical to talk of the White Race and Black Race.

13. @John
    It might be “illogical” to talk about the white and black races however the whole world does; we can “pretend” we are not part of this world…but we are.

Barbados’ History was built on that division.

14. John dare to show a pic of yourself? I can easily tell if you would past for black or white. It is simply base on skin tone. Obama is black and Derick Jeter is white, so goes the opinions of millions.
    Logic is not reality.
    The sentence ‘All that glitters is not gold’ is used in logic text books.

15. Adrian

You don’t need a picture …. just do as Royalrumble does,

…. here is another instance of the mention of the Lord Combernere and Errol Barrow.

Royalrumble
    June 27, 2007 at 1:19 pm Ladies and Gentlemen let me take this opportunity to inform you that I do not define one’s race by the colour of his skin but by the quality of his thoughts. I have not determined that Thompson is white from the colour of his skin but from the mindset he holds towards persons of black skin.

This is a charge that has been leveled at Thompson for years from both inside and outside of the DLP. You listen to some of the comments made about Mascoll during Thompson’s quest to oust him and you will know what I am speaking of. Speak to those persons who were forced to leave the DLP under Thompson’s leadership and you will understand why I have determined his race.

Not that I agree with him but is it not the Rt. Excellent Errol W. Barrow who, in the heat of an election campaign, said that he would ship out all of the white people to sea on the Lord Combermere.

Was Barrow displaying political elements from Zimbabwe?

BFP Comments…

So there are black thoughts and white thoughts, Royalrumble? Thanks for further solidifying your image as a racist

http://barbadosfreepress.wordpress.com/2007/06/26/barbados-government-blp-agent-plays-race-card-calls-opposition-leader-white-equates-with-british-slave-owners/

16. Yardbroom // September 15, 2009 at 1:57 PM

It might be “illogical” to talk about the white and black races however the whole world does; we can “pretend” we are not part of this world…but we are

…. phew ….. for one moment I was dreading you were going to ask me if I thought it was illogical then how could I write what you wrote that I wrote.

17. Yardbroom

You have done more harm to racial relations in Barbados by you insistence to defend positions that cannot reasonably be defended

I have tried my level best to stick to facts and logically deduce the positions I have proposed and yet you tell me I have done harm to racial relations.

It bothered me alot last night because I could not see that I was doing anything illogical.

What do you think about what Royalrumble had to say compared with what I had to say?

18. John BFP needs you.

19. John

This is a very important issue for some Black Barbadians, we will not be fooled by lots of information and being directed to a variety of links for subterfuge…intended or otherwise.

The problem I have with your reasoning is that the white people in Barbados only a few decades ago. Who were in charge of the Aquatic Club, The Yacht Club, Pickwick Cricket Club, Wanderers Cricket Club, St Winifreds School and other such places never had the difficulty you seem to have, about a division between Whites and Blacks in Barbados.

Black Barbadians had to contend with their racist practices, regardless of what you John say now, that is a reality; to pretend that a racial divide was instigated a few decades ago by Black politicians is reasoning that does not stand up to close scrutiny…the facts are all around us.

20. Yardbroom

In that list you quote I can only say that:

Wanderer’s Club …. I went to a cricket match one Saturday in my teens to watch Maple play Wanderers ….. I would guess the late 60’s.

Pickwick Club …. never been, but know someone who was a member as I said before.

Have been to Kensington Oval to watch 2 days of test cricket in my life ….. preferred to listen on the radio.

Aquatic Club …….. Never been …. remember being “taught” to swim by Alonzo Best (??) off the pier, …. once was enough for me.

The water was too deep.

Yacht Club …. been there a few times in my life as a guest, …. the sea and boats don’t appeal to me so I have no desire to go back, ….. but will if invited to a meal.

The food is good.

St. Winifred’s School ….. served on a Government board with a member of the board of St. Winifred’s in the 1990’s, …… never experienced anything like you say from him …. the board on which I sat I would guess most members would say they were “black” and he was “white”.

Got to hear some tales about St. Winifreds of what the board had to deal with that would curl your hair

…. my lips are sealed.

I know children who went there in the 90’s and any time I picked them up I would see all colours present.

As a teenager going to school however, I don’t think I noticed colour when the car I was a passenger in passed so can’t say!!!!

21. Yardbroom

….. my grandfather told me he could not initially go to Foundation School when his time came because he was not a poor “white” boy and the school had been built, prior to the 1831 hurricane for poor “white” boys.

He ended up going, doing well and then for a short time teaching there.

All of his children however, in the 1930’s, went, some even to HC and QC.

I was not there so I do not know but can understand the mechanics of how it worked from my reading of early Barbados History.

… doubt very much if you were around at the time, c. 1905.

22. The rules are changing day to day.
    Racism is a legacy from the past which is
    slowly being eroded. Doors are beginning
    to open for blacks, brown, reds and
    yellows. Not all whites are racist some
    are. The fight continues for the children.

23. John
    Let us not go around the houses, in the 1990’s at St Winifreds would have been too late, let us be “specific” to the establishments I have mentioned. Anyone who knows of Barbados would know that previously they had a racist policy. I remember well as a boy when Wanderers Cricket Club was at the Bay Land, the attitude of some the members then.

You have a habit of bringing in things only you have mentioned and then asking someone to defend those. Did I mention HC, QC or Foundation. If you believe that racism and the separation of Whites and Blacks in Barbados is as a result of Black politicians in particular – and black people in general –
    so be it, “History” documents otherwise.

Sleep better tonight than you did last night, the “facts” are on my side.

24. ha ha ha Yarkie I love that last sentence. You horn de John???
    He may sleep better, but on the morrow he will arise a lonely man, not in the company of “facts”. lol!

25. Yardbroom

… the historical facts are that Foundation was built for poor “white” boys …..

Harrison College was for the “not so poor” or rich ….

…….. I hesitate to say “white” because Bobby Morris’s article would illustrate that descendants of slaves were winning Barbados Scholarships in the early 1900’s at Harrison College.

Here is a quote.

“Jacob’s son Renn Belgrave (1807-1876) married Mary Frances
    Hinds (1816-1901). Renn’s son George Gordon Belgrave was a
    curio dealer of Bay Street. He married Mary Ann Herbert and their
    son Herbert Allen Belgrave attended Harrison College and was a
    1912 Barbados Scholar. He died in World War I.”

These are historic facts …… you went to school and were separated according to your class, or what your parents could afford.

The rest took pot luck.

Colour was not the determining factor.

The poor fended for themselves ……

… and females were largely exluded from an education, not because they were “black” but because they were female ….

…… if you feel inclined, go to the Foundation School website and read its history.

You will see that what was left over of the budget went to educating girls, ………. there were 12 places!!!

Adrian, if you read this, did you notice a Hinds in the genealogy?

…. put that there specially for you as there were two other examples I could have used!!

26. They say that I won’t get no where
    So they say, that’s what they say
    They say that I won’t reach my goal
    So they say, that’s what they say
    Now they are saying my mission is
    impossible
    They are saying that I just can’t make it
    But I know they are wrong
    My Missions Are Possible

http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/08/13/mission-is-possible/

27. @John

How could you post links on a blog that has removed such links? Almost, if not, offensive.

I have to ask, exactly who are you? Why would you come to BU to try to draw bloggers to BFP?

28. Whats in a name? In so many ways I am not a Hinds. The one way that you would understand;…my Father changed his last name to Hinds, got married to my Mother, then produce me, and gave me that name.

29. In my opinion, John is one of the staunchest supporters of BFP. Imagine him using BFP to justify his arguments. It is laughable. A blog that was censored by its hosts.

Who is he? According to Veritas and Anon, an insider at BFP. At least, that is my interpretation of their comments.

John is being pig headed. We have white family and near white family who disowned us.

30. Pat Alleyne told a similar story in the Nation news a while back. We all know the truth. John playing he doesn’t.

31. ROK // September 15, 2009 at 7:12 PM

How could you post links on a blog that has removed such links? Almost, if not, offensive.

I have to ask, exactly who are you? Why would you come to BU to try to draw bloggers to BFP?

… Que?

… anyway, tomorrow is another day.

32. Adrian Hinds // September 15, 2009 at 7:29 PM

Whats in a name? In so many ways I am not a Hinds. The one way that you would understand;…my Father changed his last name to Hinds, got married to my Mother, then produce me, and gave me that name

I had a Great Great Grand father did the same thing.

Understand.

33. Pat // September 15, 2009 at 8:11 PM

John is being pig headed. We have white family and near white family who disowned us.

Check Bobby Morris’s article and you will see (in his concluding remarks) I am just heeding his exhortation:

“The task of reconstruction of the lives of coloured and black leaders
    is part of the nation building exercise which is necessary in small
    developing nations. The mature middle class, secure in a legacy of
    property ownership, higher education and social, confidence should
    be expected to play important societal roles. Frank Appleton
    Collymore chose literacy and intellectual pursuits to make his
    contribution to our country’s development. He stands out as the most
    significant recent scion of these three elite coloured families.
    The task of preparing papers on the lives of other coloured and
    black families which made an impact on our country must be pursued
    in earnest.”

34. …. and that’s why I participate vigourously in any “race” talk!!

35. Talk about men of courage. A brave man got to regain some degree of freedom today.

Muntadeer Al-Zaidi..the Iraqi who, after stepping in the blood of the innocent and the violated retaliated by throwing those same shoes at the same blood-letter.

Those shoes should be enshrined!

36. @John

“Que?

“… anyway, tomorrow is another day.”

Yes John, it is a question of character and broughtupsy. It is also a question of decency that you would not bring a man’s enemies to lunch with you because you are invited to lunch at his house.

So what? Tomorrow is another day for you to post another link? The point is that we over here because we don’t want to be over there and you come bringing over there, here.

You obviously think you have a right to do that… but you have the right to jump in the path of a speeding train too… so please do.

I know, you ain’t man enough or brave enough. Of course you will probably translate that as foolish enough. So what? You foolish enough to bring over there, here though?

I could excuse a stranger but not you. That was deliberate and you know it. Calculatedly so. I see you being loyal to them because they start a Barbados blog first. That is like a man keeping his afterbirth because it is what brought him into this world; or keeping eggshells because they had in the egg; or potato peels because they had in the potato.

37. I’s a Mount gay dah don’ mine a lil’ Cock spur… wann gun run me…?

AAAAAAAAAAghhhhhhhhh

38. “Yesterday is History, Tomorrow is a Mystery … Today is a Gift … which is why it’s called the Present.” – Bill Keane.

39. @David
    When I first read:
    David // September 13, 2009 at 9:16 AM
    ‘@BU family
    Remember the mantra, stay focussed!

There are some who have close relationships with traditional media in Barbados i.e. calling the callin shows, sitting on talk show panels, writing in the Nation as a columnist etc. Their agenda is exposed.’ I thought this was just fuzzy logic. But on further thought it seems like a series of things that make no sense.

So, we have Hartley Henry and Peter Wickham (relations with traditional media in Barbados).

We have Tony Best, Rickey Singh, Elombe Mottley, Dennis Kellman and many more identifiables (calling the call in programs).

We have Doug Skeete, David Commissiong, Sue Springer, Tony Johnson and many more (sitting on talk show panels).

We have Peter Wickham again, De Market Vendor, Richard Hoad, B.C. Pires, Al Gilkes and several more (Writing in the Nation as columnists).

What is their agenda–or that of any who happen to deal with the media–and what have you exposed?

If you are trying to deal with people and help them think through issues to solutions, help us all along this tight rope.

40. Dave, I asked u before. Perhaps, u did n’t notice so I’ll ask again; am I a ‘family member’ or is that privilege reserved for a seleck few!! an, how may I join!! I would like to be a family member, please, David!!

41. Damage

CHORUS:
    You don’t have to say you are sorry
    For all the wrongs that you have done
    I don’t wanna hear a sad story
    Cuz the damage already done
    Oh the damage already done

VERSE 1:
    Broken bones and wounds need tender
    repair
    Hang on brother man don’t despair
    (Hold on)
    Although we forgive
    Seven times seven
    Still the damage already done
    So much damage already done
    Stop and listen a while to meditation
    style
    Going straight to your mind through ya
    wicked and wile
    Only way you can deal with this vibes is
    to free up ya soul and mind
    Yagga Yagga Yagga Yagga Yoi

http://555dubstreet.wordpress.com/2009/09/16/damage/

42. Wha dis kiki tauking bout?!!

43. Rok,
    Sort Bim out for me
    thanks

44. I am bored of ROK
    Please ROK ! STOP POSTING SO MUCH on every thread.

You bore me ROK
    Please ROK
    REMOVE THAT OFFENDING PHOTO
    STOP using ROK and use your name -Roostervelt or Roossevelt or whatever your name is
    STOP ! posting so regular
    Go rest your brain -it is lacking power,

EBeeNEZER——–Frig you —Your brain lacks power—-
    Bored of ROK and his wannabe side kick -BONNY PEPPA -and some more posters who I will name at a later date–PAT is one of them.

45. @BU Family…

BRAIN POWER’s post above reminds me of a young child threatening to hold their breath until they pass out…

I’ve got a roll of duct tape to help you along BRAIN POWER…

Step right up….

46. Brain Power (Bare Pupp)
    Ya got ma cryinnnnnnnnnnnnnnn.

You run outta toys? Well go n play widya self. OK?

ROK,
    You’re so handsome. Oh my Godddddd. You make me wanna ………………………

47. @ Brain Power

With all the BRAIN POWER, is that the best you can do? Why not write a brainy article for the blog. We eagerly await your epistle.

48. Pat,
    U mean e-‘piss’-le. Not epistle.

49. Hi Bonny,

Check out the latest thread now at the top of BU tonight.

bruno. :>))